Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
paintingfool_gw

Painted Tissue Box

paintingfool
13 years ago

I purchased this box at a yard sale for 25 cents. I have a video of Ros Stallcup painting one similar so hers was my inspiration. I am still working on hydrangeas, haven't got the knack of painting them yet. I may change what I am doing this weekend so I can get a more realistic look. I hope these few postings inspire you to get painting!

B

Comments (10)

• Vique_Pa
    13 years ago

I think your flowers are beautiful. I am still having a hard time making roses. Vique.

• paintingfool
    Original Author
    13 years ago

Hi Vique, I think roses are a hard flower to paint but I have been painting these particular stroke roses for more than 20 years. Sometimes they look good and sometimes I struggle with them. I love the way Jeanne Downing paints her roses (www.rosecote.com) and I love Ros Stallcup (www.gransgarden.com). Check out their website and also, check out "painting roses" on YouTube. You can get a pretty good idea on how to paint them by watching the videos. Then it is practice, practice, practice.
    Thanks for the compliment.
    B

• luvstocraft
    13 years ago

That's really pretty Bebe. I always watch for those boxes when I go "treasure shopping" too. You really got that one at a bargain price. I did one of the long ones with One Stroke flowers one time, but gave it away.

I keep trying to get myself back in the painting room, would help if I had a bunch of pieces already basecoated so I could just start painting. By the time I let the basecoat dry, I'm doing something else or the mood has passed! LOL

Glad you've been in a painting mood. Are you still working at clearing out some of your stash? How's the redo of your craft room coming along?

Luvs

• pezabelle
    13 years ago

Your Hydrangaes look great and who would have thought, roses and looking as good as ever.