Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
dmorsino

Silgranit or fireclay sink?

dmorsino
8 years ago
We are doing a full kitchen remodel gutting everything. I can't decide between an Fireclay apron front sink or a Silgranit. I see that prices really vary widely with the Fireclay. Does brand matter? What should I consider? The reason I'm considering the Silgranit is because our family is clumsy and I'm worried about the Fireclay cracking or chipping. Any advice?

Comments (33)

• Carolyn
    8 years ago

I have the same exact dilemma; will be watching to see any suggestions! :)

• karemore55
    8 years ago
    I'm not sure how much help I'll be, but I have had a silgranit sink for three years now and just love it. I love that it is "softer" than SS, and doesn't sound so clunky when rinsing dishes. It cleans easily as well (microfibre cloth - no scouring).

Having said that, I can't yet attest to its durability, since it's only been three years. And, I have no experience with fireclay sinks to compare.

I hope more people weigh in with a little more data for you - good luck to you both (OP and first commenter)!
  • carolt924
    8 years ago

I also have a silgranit sink for going on three years. No regrets, love the color, ease of cleaning, a little bar keepers friend and your done.

• Ariel Palmieri
    7 years ago

What did you decide? I am now faced with this decision. Thanks!

• jhmarie
    7 years ago

Ariel - Look at the Kohler Whitehaven cast iron apron front sink - easier to install and more durable than fireclay. I love mine.

• PRO
    Quality Bath
    7 years ago

Ariel, both are great choices, but if you want the full scoop we recently did a blog post on fireclay sinks that will be really helpful: https://www.qualitybath.com/discover/post/14533/fireclay-sinks-everything-you-need-to-know