SHOP BY DEPARTMENT
philip_langley

Sir Walter

Philip Langley
5 years ago

Slightly sloped area with new Sir Walter approx. 15x3 area. Half is in mostly shade and the other half good. "Other half" is fine at a mow of 6. Shaded section is a bit patchy, dead looking. I've been cutting that half at 8.
Should I cut that part at 6 also to promote horizontal growth instead of 8 for horizontal growth ?
Thanks.
Phil

Comments (3)

• dchall_san_antonio
    5 years ago

For those of us north of Oz, Sir Walter is a variety of St Augustine grass grown in Australia as buffalo grass.

I've been growing a different variant of your grass for 35 years in different locations around San Antonio and other places. The only thing that seems to help it spread is the air temperature. I have grown this stuff mowed down to 4cm up to almost a full meter tall and it still only spreads when temps are in the range from 21 to 26 degrees C. What I do is find the runners already out over top of the soil and drop organic fertilizer (alfalfa pellets (rabbit chow), corn meal, soybean meal, etc.) along the runners. I lightly moisten that with a sprayer on my hose and then leave it alone.

Can you take a picture of the grass in the shady areas where it's not doing well? If you can get one of the greenish grass on the edge of the bad grass and take it from an altitude of about 8-10 cm, that would be great. And also maybe a picture standing up looking out over the shady area would help.

Where are you in AU? What is your daily high temp this week?

What is your watering schedule? How often and for how long do you water?

How long has the grass been down?

Did the grass sit on the pallet very long before installation?

Have you inadvertently left anything on top of the grass that would cut off the air flow? A piece of cardboard, blanket, toys, yard clippings, or anything like that?

Philip Langley thanked dchall_san_antonio
  • Philip Langley
    Original Author
    5 years ago