SHOP BY DEPARTMENT
joy_anderson38

Succulents: propagation leaves shriveling.

Joy Anderson
5 years ago

Hi,

I know there is already a thread on this topic but it's older so someone suggested I start another thread. Essentially, several of the leaves I am trying to propagate have turned black or have shriveled up. This is my first time growing succulents. I also

have to explain that a critter is eating some of them - I think it's a squirrel. So in the pics you'll see that the ends of some have been nibbled on - but the rooting end wasn't damaged.

You see the leaf withering in the top right? That's a graptoveria and that's what all of my propagation attempts have done. The other plant cuttings callous over but won't root - or haven't so far. I would guess for some of those it's been about 3 weeks.

Now the interesting thing is the stems I stuck in the dirt are growing. The bottom right was a sempervivum baby that the squirrel broke off - but it has grown. The other stem is what's left of a Sedeveria and it has a teeny baby on the side.

So here's my question. I'm in Oklahoma and it's very humid in this part of the state. Do you think they are withering because of watering? I've been barely drizzling drops of water into each little compartment. So I thought maybe misting them would be better? They are laying on top of succulent mix - in a window sill and the soil is totally dry when I drizzle it.

I'm experimenting with sticking the rooting end in the dirt as I've seen some do, to see if that works better here.

Sorry for the novel - I appreciate any suggestions you have. Until this year I have killed every plant of any kind that I've ever tried to grow. I got serious about it this year and all of my plants are thriving - so I *really* want these succulent babies to grow. Bottom picture is my little garden. :)

Comments (32)

• Kara 9b SF Bay Area CA
    5 years ago