Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
paroses

Is Anyone in Zone 6 Pruning Yet?

Terri S
7 years ago
last modified: 7 years ago

Well I went out today in 60 degrees to prune clematis and guess what? The roses are leafing out. Now we expect a lot of temps at 20 at night. Should I be pruning roses now?

Here is in south central PA this is the Winter that never was.

Comments (9)

• Vaporvac Z6-OhioRiverValley
    7 years ago

I'm definitely waiting. It happens every year. Those first leaves get frozen off sometimes, but there are at least two sets behind. If you prune now, and there's an extended hard freeze, it will die back from that shorter length. Also, since pruning pushes new growth, you'd also lose that. I'm just a newbie, but I've grown New Dawn for many years and that's been my observation.

Terri S thanked Vaporvac Z6-OhioRiverValley
  • Terri S
    Original Author
    7 years ago

The forsythia are definitely not in bloom. That is a really good way to tell. Thanks.

This Winter has been so messed up. Daylilies are never up right now yet here they are. In fact, the daylilies are further along than the daffodils! Almost all perennials have broken dormancy. I have annuals from last year that are still alive!

• jim1961 / Central Pennsylvania / Zone 6
    7 years ago

In a normal year I prune later March to early April depends...I'm more North than you though so it's colder here....Best wishes!

• Khalid Waleed (zone 9b Isb)
    7 years ago

Very interesting topic. I am following.

A question.

Is temperature the only criterion to decide when to prune? I ask this because temperature doesn't effect the growth of roses too much in my climate (zone 9b). So pruning in my area is basically to enhance vigor and not to save roses from extreme cold. A rose bush will survive without pruning in my area, however, it will not bloom that well next year if not pruned.