Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
natikia_robinson

Help with curb appeal

Natikia Robinson
6 years ago
last modified: 6 years ago

Hi everyone,

This is my first time posting. I'm looking for some help on the exterior of my home.

I have a 1970s ranch, and I would like to improve it's curb appeal. I have made some minor changes, but feel I could make it better.

1. We painted the trim around the door white ( it was a peachy color).

2. Removed the dead shrubs lining either side of the sidewalk

3. Removed azalea bushes. (missing grass areas). I want to do something that will add some interest. I'm strongly considering painting the brick a light grey/tan. You can't see it in this picture, but there was an addition to the back of the house and the brick difference is very noticeable. Any suggestions on what could be done to improve it?

Comments (8)

• PRO
    Beth H. :
    6 years ago

forget painting the brick. you need some serious landscaping and the house will look just fine. Doug's design has shown you how gorgeous it could be. Break up all of the grass w/some hardscape and flower beds and some trees. The posts are a nice addition.

• Natikia Robinson
    Original Author
    6 years ago

Doug that is something I could not have come up with on my own. Thank you so much for the sketch. It really gave some perspective to the possibilities.

• Natikia Robinson
    Original Author
    6 years ago

Beth! Thank you for your comment as well. I did not really want to pant the brick, but I was at a loss. I'll will update with pictures once we are able to get some of these projects completed!

• PRO
    Beth H. :
    6 years ago

Natikia, I would advise you to consider painting your door black to help tie in w/the shutters. I also think doing something w/the garage doors would help. as of now, they look like a white separate entity!

red brick w/black doors/white trim

or you could switch to a blue and cream.