Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
gpolcha1991

Kraftmaid Vantage vs Waypoint cabinets

Heidi Geniviva
6 years ago

I am remodeling my kitchen and have narrowed my selection down to kraftmaid vantage or waypoint. Both are full plywood with soft close doors. Do you have an opinion as to which one is the better choice? Any info is much appreciated.

Comments (24)

• User
    6 years ago

Neither. Move up the food chain. Buzzwords isn’t quality.

• bobkook
    6 years ago

Sophie, I've seen you trash Kraftmaid more than once, but with no explanation. I am no cabinet expert but have done a little homework, and the Kraftmaid cabinets seem good to me. I hope to not make a mistake, so I (and likely others reading this thread) would love to hear your thoughts behind your comments. Thanks in advance...

• Annette Holbrook(z7a)
    6 years ago

I put Kraftmaid cabinets in our basement kitchenette. I think they are now about 10 years old. They have held up very well, but this is a secondary kitchen that sees occasional use. The drawers still glide nicely, doors shut evenly and quietly. Having said that, I’ve been researching cabinets for the new(to us) cabin that we are going to update and am finding better options for not much more money.

I would love to know which brands Sophie would suggest that are rung or two up the food chain.

• hjk73
    6 years ago

Sophie, I’d also be interested in finding out what you consider better than KraftMaid for the price. You seem ok with ikea (for the price), but only if you assemble and install yourself. Whats a value buyer to do?

• P McG
    4 years ago
    last modified: 4 years ago

Here it is 24 months later and I too would like for you Sophie Wheeler to please give us a reason behind your response about Kraftmaid cabinets. Which cabinets did everyone end up purchasing and what do you think? Thanks!

• darbuka
    4 years ago