Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
jk_c

Backsplash with Taj Mahal

Joanna Cucchi
5 years ago

I know that this topic has been discussed to death so sorry for the additional post. Most backsplashes I have found or that have been discussed for Taj Mahal are in the white or cream category. I was looking at using a color but since I can't really find pictures of kitchens that have Taj and a colored backsplash I am wondering if I am creating something that just doesn't work. We have a couple of slabs on hold but haven't make the final slab decision. Out kitchen cabinets will be white.

I am hoping to use fireclay and think that Silver Haze works to bring in both the grey of the Taj as well as some color (green). The tiles on the top are silver haze and I have a lot of them to try to understand the variation.

However, I am far from a color expert and maybe it just doesn't work. Does anyone have any ideas of other colors (fireclay or other) that might work with Taj?

Comments (22)

• Zalco/bring back Sophie!
    5 years ago

Pretty colors. Seems good to me. But I like color!

Joanna Cucchi thanked Zalco/bring back Sophie!
  • mark_rachel
    5 years ago

It could work, but maybe not. slabs of TM vary so much. I would personally wait till you have the counter installed to finalize. TM is so beautiful that you don’t want to take away from that or clash with it. Fireclay & Encore both have great tiles & lots of colors to choose from.

• cpartist
    5 years ago

Also when you look at tile and stone, look at them how you'll actually view them. So the tile needs to be vertical and the stone horizontal.

Joanna Cucchi thanked cpartist
  • Joanna Cucchi
    Original Author
    5 years ago
    Thanks everyone! I will definitely look at them once the slab is in. I guess my more general question is if taj and colored tile can go together. I like the warmth that the color brings.
  • chispa
    5 years ago