Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
containertime

Did I go too far on peach pruning?

containertime
5 years ago

I attended a fruit tree workshop hosted by Texas A&M. They recommended that newly planted peach trees should be cut down to a single trunk about 24-26 inches from the ground and to cover the bottom part of the trunk with foil. I also found a TAMU website that suggests the same. About a month ago, I preformed the pruning, and there are no signs of budding of anywhere a leaf could grow out of currently. The bark is still has a green tint, so the tree is alive, but will be able to grow later this spring which is in a couple weeks for North Texas? Also, the cut end of the tree is molding. Did I go too far with the pruning?

https://aggie-horticulture.tamu.edu/fruit-nut/files/2015/04/peaches_2015.pdf

Is it possible for new leaves to grow from this part of the trunk?

Is the mold on the top worth worrying over?

I am new to peach growing, and any ideas are appreciated!

Comments (18)

• Kevin Reilly
    5 years ago

If the peach trunk was 3/4 inch caliper or greater it might not push a bud, time will tell. When you prune an upright branch/trunk cut it on more of an angle so water doesn’t sit on it. I don’t think that mold will be a problem

containertime thanked Kevin Reilly
  • Ike Stewart
    5 years ago

I suspect it is a bit early to see any real growth activity in north Texas, my peaches on the 8b/9a line in Louisiana have just started showing activity in the last week or two.

containertime thanked Ike Stewart
  • Smivies (Ontario - 5b)
    5 years ago

I'm pretty sure those instructions were for <3' nursery stock with lots of visible buds. Not large retail trees with branch structure already established that only have (hopefully) epicormic buds on the trunk.

Texas Peach Handbook

containertime thanked Smivies (Ontario - 5b)
  • ken_adrian Adrian MI cold Z5
    5 years ago