sandyslopes

Aruncus dioicus (Goat's Beard) Fall cleanup?

Do you cut down your Aruncus in Fall or wait until Spring? I've been waiting, but it looks like a big mess when the snow melts, so I'd like to get it cleaned up now. .... But one time I cut just one of them down, and it didn't come back!

I cut it down to about 6-8", and may have cut it too far into winter instead of fall, but I seem to remember the stem being hollow? This was a few years ago, so I'm not sure if I'm remembering the details right. But I thought rain and snow may have rotted it. ..........What's your experience with Aruncus and fall cleanup?

Comments (12)

• peren.all Zone 5a Ontario Canada
    8 months ago

I always cut mine back to a couple of inches from the ground once it has gone completely dormant. The foliage turns brown and the stems darken and start to wither a bit. I have been doing it this way for almost 20 yrs. on the same plant. I am sure I did it from the time it was first planted. Sometimes if a plant is first year I will leave it alone the first fall.

sandyslopes z5b n. UT thanked peren.all Zone 5a Ontario Canada
  • ken_adrian Adrian MI cold Z5
    8 months ago

personally.. i always considered a plants detritus to be a self mulching effect ... why in the world .... i got it in my head.. to cut it all off.. and then pile ground up leaves on everything .. eventually led to me figuring out.... i seemed to be going against ma nature ... though there was no downside to the mulch ...

but if you have consistent snow cover all winter.. there are no odds of winter sun thawing bare soil repeatedly all winter ... get them dormant.. keep them dormant.. and act to insure such ... in our cold areas ...

anyway ... do whatever you want.. it probably doesnt matter ... and the plant should probably still not be considered babe ...and the old event may not be related to whatever you did ...