Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
being_breeze

How late can hostas emerge in spring?

Being Breeze
2 years ago

I'm new to growing hostas, but planted a variety in a new shade bed last spring. I'm seeing small new shoots from most of the hostas planted, but my Wu-La-La (similar to the Empress Wu) shows no signs of growth. I can see where the plant was (where old stalk was cut) but nothing else. She is planted in a rather shady part of the garden, but my Sum & Substance planted near her is already awake.

Is she a lost cause, or is she perhaps just really slow to emerge??

Comments (12)

• tsugajunkie z5 SE WI ♱
    2 years ago
    last modified: 2 years ago

Where are you located? My Empress Wu is up, in fact all of mine are up at least a little except On Stage which is always last.

tj

• ken_adrian Adrian MI cold Z5
    2 years ago

carefully dig it up and find out

always include your big city location... it really helps

ken

• tsugajunkie z5 SE WI ♱
    2 years ago

BTW- even though Wu-la-la is a sport of Empress Wu they may not emerge at the same time. On Stage is a sport of montana Aureomarginata which is the first of mine to emerge.

Not sure I’d dig it up, maybe just clear off the top first.

tj

• Being Breeze
    Original Author
    2 years ago

Sorry - I'm Zone 6 in Eastern WA

May wait a week or two and then dig up if still nothing :/

Edit - gave the top of the plant a little tug and seems to still be rooted. Added some fresh compost on top...will see if that helps.

2 years ago

frankly.. im concerned it planted too deep ... and thats why its late .. so heeping more stuff on top wouldnt be my first choice ..

dig it up and find out ..

it would be no different than buying anew hosta today and planting it.. so just do it ...

to repeat.. dig it up and do it .. lol ..

ken

• steve duggins(Z6a) - Central Ohio
    2 years ago