Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
lindsey_cusaac

Old Red Oak flooring (assuming) Finishing Ideas

L C
last year

Help! I have been working on redoing the flooring in my house. I’m assuming it’s old red oak (pre 1960). For reference, I have a child and two dogs and need something that can withstand that. I saw a post of someone talking about putting 2 coats of the Bona Nordic Seal and then 3 coats of Bona MegaONE (which I loved). On the other hand, I heard someone use the Bona Classic instead. I’m trying to avoid the floors being orange/yellow toned. I heard the Bona Nordic is difficult to DIY and can leave streaks, so I’m unsure of what to do! Photos of my unfinished floors are provided for reference.

Comments (10)

• PRO
    lisedv
    last year

I have no experience with the mentioned products but maybe consider this regarding your choice on the finish:

• PRO
    Patricia Colwell Consulting
    last year
    last modified: last year

IMO refinishing wood floors is not usually DIY and with a dog even less so. One dog hair will make you crazy when it is stuck in the finish. My advice first find out what wood that is .Then get some real help as to what finish to choose .What is the flooring in the kitchen it does not look the same and also why layed in a different direction?How are you going to handle the patch needed whare it looks like white whatever. Patches need to be woven in to look best . My advice get a pro to do this job since you have left the baseboard on to sand IMO you are not ready to DIY this . The basborads all need to be removed before sanding and refinishing .

• L C
    Original Author
    last year