Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
abornstein

Kitchen Cabinet Layout Help!

abornstein
10 years ago
I am having troubles deciding if I like the cabinet layout as shown in the attached diagrams for my new kitchen. My main concern is the lone single cabinets to the right of the hood vent over the stove and then to the right of the kitchen sink. They feel unconnected and just hanging out there in space. Do I build cabinets across the top of the two windows to connect them? Or will this make it feel to boxed in? I have never done this before, so I've never really thought about kitchen cabinet layout, any thoughts and advice is appreciated!

Comments (23)

• PRO
    OnePlan
    10 years ago
    yeah me too ! maybe join them up with small glazed cabinets ! there spears to be room on the elevations !!
    abornstein thanked OnePlan
  • PRO
    OnePlan
    10 years ago
    haha typo ! there appears to be ! no spears required !! lol !
  • PRO
    ProSource Memphis
    10 years ago
    Have you thought of moving the range down to the left a bit so there isn't such a skinny cabinet next to the window? Then use an EZ Reach L shaped corner cabinet in the corner. The thing about symmetry in a kitchen is that upper symmetry is more important to the eye than lower symmetry. You will never stand in the exact sightline to appreciate it in most homes. You will always be standing to the right or left of the center line.
    abornstein thanked ProSource Memphis
  • PRO
    Adrian J. Naquin Interior Design L.L.C.
    10 years ago
    A quick tip would be: You could keep the lone wall cabinets but use glass doors or open shelves to disjuncture them from the rest of the wall cabinets - 36" passage space is enough - 42" is standard but the island seems to be 4 .5 ft from the range and should be 42" - 45" - or will mean too many steps/ reach to island - use a french door frig.
    abornstein thanked Adrian J. Naquin Interior Design L.L.C.
  • abornstein
    Original Author
    10 years ago