Search results for "Firstly" in Home Design Ideas

Mid-sized arts and crafts formal and enclosed light wood floor and brown floor living room photo in Atlanta with a standard fireplace, white walls, a tile fireplace and no tv

Norton Homes
Spring 2017 Parade of Homes Twin Cities
Sunroom - transitional carpeted and gray floor sunroom idea in Minneapolis with a standard ceiling
Sunroom - transitional carpeted and gray floor sunroom idea in Minneapolis with a standard ceiling

2018 Artisan Home Tour
Photo: LandMark Photography
Builder: City Homes, LLC
Example of a classic l-shaped medium tone wood floor and brown floor kitchen pantry design in Minneapolis with open cabinets, white cabinets and brown countertops
Example of a classic l-shaped medium tone wood floor and brown floor kitchen pantry design in Minneapolis with open cabinets, white cabinets and brown countertops
Find the right local pro for your project

Builder: Great Neighborhood Homes, Inc.
Designer: Martha O'Hara Interiors
Photo: Landmark Photography
2017 Artisan Home Tour
Inspiration for a transitional single-wall gray floor laundry room remodel in Minneapolis with shaker cabinets, white cabinets, multicolored walls, a side-by-side washer/dryer and white countertops
Inspiration for a transitional single-wall gray floor laundry room remodel in Minneapolis with shaker cabinets, white cabinets, multicolored walls, a side-by-side washer/dryer and white countertops

Living room - transitional carpeted living room idea in Miami with green walls

Landmark Photography
Great Neighborhood Homes
ArtisanHomeTour.org
Single front door - traditional single front door idea in Minneapolis with a dark wood front door
Single front door - traditional single front door idea in Minneapolis with a dark wood front door

Michael Hsu
Large urban look-out carpeted and gray floor basement photo in Austin with gray walls
Large urban look-out carpeted and gray floor basement photo in Austin with gray walls

Sponsored
Columbus, OH
Trish Takacs Design
Award Winning & Highly Skilled Kitchen & Bath Designer in Columbus

Builder: Homes by Tradition
2017 Fall Parade of Homes
Elegant master gray tile multicolored floor freestanding bathtub photo in Minneapolis with shaker cabinets, white cabinets, white walls and an undermount sink
Elegant master gray tile multicolored floor freestanding bathtub photo in Minneapolis with shaker cabinets, white cabinets, white walls and an undermount sink

2011 NARI CAPITAL COTY GRAND AWARD WINNER
A single family home in Oakton, VA built in late 80’ was occupied by family of four for 10 years. The owner wishes to expand the living space, finish the basement, add a sunroom/breakfast area addition, eliminate the deck and put in a screen porch. Also convert the laundry room to office/mudroom area.
It took months of planning to get into the final design.
We have implemented a plan that had a two story back addition (both basement level and first level).
This required removing the cinder block wall of basement to add the seamless addition, and removing the entire first level back wall of kitchen to open up kitchen into sunroom.
The major challenge was to re-route all duct work going to second level, add ducts for basement and first level to existing system. Then add a second HVAC system in attic for entire second level. Then change all load structure for tow story addition to side wall and new walls to have entire width opened up.
The basement has gained a new bar area, a total new bathroom with shower and large vanities and all amenities, media area with gas fireplace and mantel surrounded with matching cherry bookcases and granite tops, recess lights, surround sound system, wood floor and steps, new sewer ejection system due to their difficult septic tank. The new French doors lead into back bricked patio
The first floor gained this new 16’x20’ cathedral ceiling sunroom/breakfast addition surrounded with large arched windows and French slider leading into new screen porch.
The kitchen lay-out gained three more feet in width. Also by removing partition wall between kitchen and existing family room. The first floor now has total open floor plan. The fireplace in existing family room was converted to gas and got marble surround and new mantel.
All bulkhead and part of partition walls contained massive plumbing and electrical that needed to be relocated in order to implement the new kitchen layout. This design has much more appliances and a beautiful large furniture style island that is the focal point of this kitchen done in espresso color cherry cabinetry and contrasting light color exotic stove top lighted by two crystal chandeliers.
The wrap around of cherry cabinetry in the kitchen with expended cabinetry into butler area and bookcases and bench in sunroom has given this couple lots to fill in.
The entire first floor and leading stairs to second floor and part of the second floor was all covered with new 5” wide exotic Santos Mahogany wood floors and new railings.
The powder room has been reconfigured to allow larger hallway and with new furniture style vanity this powder room even small than before but has better layout and space.
The old Laundry room and has been converted to a 10’x15’ area of multipurpose space. On the left wall there are locker style cabinetry and bench. One the left wall built in and desk area with tones of storage space. The washer and dryer are install into a closet, away from site. A set of French doors were installed into the new back deck and screen porch.
The large porcelain floors made the space look even larger and more utilitarian. Use of cherry cabinetry on deck and bookcase with recess lighting scaled up look of the space.
The new kitchen, family room and sun room with the rich cherry cabinetry and darker granite top, tumbled marble backsplash and wide board mahogany floors, upper scale stainless steel appliances and furniture style distressed look darker wood Island and light granite have made this project a breathtaking one.
The added side screen porch done with Trex decking and cathedral ceiling covered in beaded panel and corner gas fireplace all around covered with Ledgestone has given this family a place to retire in for all those autumn afternoons and much more.
The major overhaul of this home from replacement of all existing doors and windows, flooring, crown molding and trim, stairs, entire first floor reface, new siding , new roofing, new electrical, new HVAC, entire new basement, bathroom, mud room, screen porch and lots more makes these owner proud to stay in this home for years to come.

Design: Jules Duffy Design; This kitchen was gutted to the studs and renovated TWICE after 2 burst pipe events! It's finally complete! With windows and doors on 3 sides, the kitchen is flooded with amazing light and beautiful breezes. The finishes were selected from a driftwood palate as a nod to the beach one block away, The limestone floor (beyond practical) dares all to find the sand traveling in on kids' feet. Tons of storage and seating make this kitchen a hub for entertaining. Photography: Laura Moss

When a couple with young children decided to purchase their first Manhattan apartment, they called in designer Christopher Maya to create something livable and contemporary. In the Foyer, you are greeted by a phillip jeffries gold leaf ceiling that is adorned with two scalloped flush mounts from shades of light.
Photographer: Christian Harder

Artisan Home Tour, June 7-15th, 2014
Home #9 by Traditions by Donnay Homes
Jim Kruger, LandMark Photography
http://www.ArtisanHomeTour.org

With a desire to embrace deep wood tones and a more 'rustic' approach to sets the bar apart from the rest of the Kitchen - we designed the small area to include reclaimed wood accents and custom pipe storage for bar essentials.

Sponsored
Columbus, OH
Trish Takacs Design
Award Winning & Highly Skilled Kitchen & Bath Designer in Columbus

Tracy Herbert Interiors, LLC
Elegant u-shaped eat-in kitchen photo in Portland with a farmhouse sink, shaker cabinets, white cabinets, quartzite countertops, white backsplash, subway tile backsplash and stainless steel appliances
Elegant u-shaped eat-in kitchen photo in Portland with a farmhouse sink, shaker cabinets, white cabinets, quartzite countertops, white backsplash, subway tile backsplash and stainless steel appliances

The client was referred to us by the builder to build a vacation home where the family mobile home used to be. Together, we visited Key Largo and once there we understood that the most important thing was to incorporate nature and the sea inside the house. A meeting with the architect took place after and we made a few suggestions that it was taking into consideration as to change the fixed balcony doors by accordion doors or better known as NANA Walls, this detail would bring the ocean inside from the very first moment you walk into the house as if you were traveling in a cruise.
A client's request from the very first day was to have two televisions in the main room, at first I did hesitate about it but then I understood perfectly the purpose and we were fascinated with the final results, it is really impressive!!! and he does not miss any football games, while their children can choose their favorite programs or games. An easy solution to modern times for families to share various interest and time together.
Our purpose from the very first day was to design a more sophisticate style Florida Keys home with a happy vibe for the entire family to enjoy vacationing at a place that had so many good memories for our client and the future generation.
Architecture Photographer : Mattia Bettinelli

The custom entryway design blends style and function with a built-in bench, storage cubbies, and brass hardware details. A navy accent wall adds depth, while neutral cabinetry and soft textiles keep the look bright and inviting. Thoughtfully designed for a busy family, this entry sets the tone for the rest of the home.

Example of a huge trendy l-shaped medium tone wood floor and brown floor open concept kitchen design in San Francisco with a farmhouse sink, flat-panel cabinets, gray cabinets, marble countertops, white backsplash, marble backsplash, stainless steel appliances, an island and white countertops

Sponsored
Columbus, OH
Trish Takacs Design
Award Winning & Highly Skilled Kitchen & Bath Designer in Columbus

Susan Fisher Photography
In opening up the Kitchen to the rest of the apartment we created an open plan in a small pre-war NYC apartment.
Small trendy open concept medium tone wood floor living room photo in New York with blue walls and a wall-mounted tv
Small trendy open concept medium tone wood floor living room photo in New York with blue walls and a wall-mounted tv

Example of a mid-sized arts and crafts medium tone wood floor and brown floor entryway design in Atlanta with a dark wood front door and white walls

Stuart Wade, Envision Virtual Tours
The second-largest and most developed of Georgia's barrier islands, St. Simons is approximately twelve miles long and nearly three miles wide at its widest stretch (roughly the size of Manhattan Island in New York). The island is located in Glynn County on Georgia's coast and lies east of Brunswick (the seat of Glynn County), south of Little St. Simons Island and the Hampton River, and north of Jekyll Island. The resort community of Sea Island is separated from St. Simons on the east by the Black Banks River. Known for its oak tree canopies and historic landmarks, St. Simons is both a tourist destination and, according to the 2010 U.S. census, home to 12,743 residents.
Early History
The earliest
St. Simons Island Village
record of human habitation on the island dates to the Late Archaic Period, about 5,000 to 3,000 years ago. Remnants of shell rings left behind by Native Americans from this era survive on many of the barrier islands, including St. Simons. Centuries later, during the period known by historians as the chiefdom era, the Guale Indians established a chiefdom centered on St. Catherines Island and used St. Simons as their hunting and fishing grounds. By 1500 the Guale had established a permanent village of about 200 people on St. Simons, which they called Guadalquini.
Beginning in 1568, the Spanish attempted to create missions along the Georgia coast. Catholic missions were the primary means by which Georgia's indigenous Native American chiefdoms were assimilated into the Spanish colonial system along the northern frontier of greater Spanish Florida. In the 1600s St. Simons became home to two Spanish missions: San Buenaventura de Guadalquini, on the southern tip of the island, and Santo Domingo de Asao (or Asajo), on the northern tip. Located on the inland side of the island were the pagan refugee villages of San Simón, the island's namesake, and Ocotonico. In 1684 pirate raids left the missions and villages largely abandoned.
Colonial History
As
Fort Frederica
early as 1670, with Great Britain's establishment of the colony of Carolina and its expansion into Georgia territory, Spanish rule was threatened by the English. The Georgia coast was considered "debatable land" by England and Spain, even though Spain had fully retreated from St. Simons by 1702. Thirty-one years later General James Edward Oglethorpe founded the English settlement of Savannah. In 1736 he established Fort Frederica, named after the heir to the British throne, Frederick Louis, prince of Wales, on the west side of St. Simons Island to protect Savannah and the Carolinas from the Spanish threat.
Between 1736 and 1749 Fort Frederica was the hub of British military operations along the Georgia frontier. A town of the same name grew up around the fort and was of great importance to the new colony. By 1740 Frederica's population was 1,000. In 1736 the congregation of what would become Christ Church was organized within Fort Frederica as a mission of the Church of England. Charles Wesley led the first services. In 1742 Britain's decisive victory over Spain in the Battle of Bloody Marsh, during the War of Jenkins' Ear, ended the Spanish threat to the Georgia coast. When the British regimen disbanded in 1749, most of the townspeople relocated to the mainland. Fort Frederica went into decline and, except for a short time of prosperity during the 1760s and 1770s under the leadership of merchant James Spalding, never fully recovered. Today the historic citadel's tabby ruins are maintained by the National Park Service.
Plantation Era
By the start of the American Revolution (1775-83), Fort Frederica was obsolete, and St. Simons was left largely uninhabited as most of its residents joined the patriot army. Besides hosting a small Georgia naval victory on the Fort Frederica River, providing guns from its famous fort for use at Fort Morris in Sunbury, and serving as an arena for pillaging by privateers and British soldiers, the island played almost no role in the war.
Following the war, many of the townspeople, their businesses destroyed, turned to agriculture. The island was transformed into fourteen cotton plantations after acres of live oak trees were cleared for farm land and used for building American warships, including the famous USS Constitution, or "Old Ironsides." Although rice was the predominant crop along the neighboring Altamaha River, St. Simons was known for its production of long-staple cotton, which soon came to be known as Sea Island cotton.
Between
Ebos Landing
the 1780s and the outbreak of the Civil War (1861-65), St. Simons's plantation culture flourished. The saline atmosphere and the availability of cheap slave labor proved an ideal combination for the cultivation of Sea Island cotton. In 1803 a group of Ebo slaves who survived the Middle Passage and arrived on the west side of St. Simons staged a rebellion and drowned themselves. The sacred site is known today as Ebos Landing.
One of the largest owners of land and slaves on St. Simons was Pierce Butler, master of Hampton Point Plantation, located on the northern end of the island. By 1793 Butler owned more than 500 slaves, who cultivated 800 acres of cotton on St. Simons and 300 acres of rice on Butler's Island in the Altamaha River delta. Butler's grandson, Pierce Mease Butler, who at the age of sixteen inherited a share of his grandfather's estate in 1826, was responsible for the largest sale of human beings in the history of the United States: in 1859, to restore his squandered fortune, he sold 429 slaves in Savannah for more than $300,000. The British actress and writer Fanny Kemble, whose tumultuous marriage to Pierce ended in divorce in 1849, published an eyewitness account of the evils of slavery on St. Simons in her book Journal of a Residence on a Georgian Plantation in 1838-1839 (1863).
Another
Retreat Plantation
large owner of land and slaves on St. Simons was Major William Page, a friend and employee of Pierce Butler Sr. Before purchasing Retreat Plantation on the southwestern tip of the island in 1804, Page managed the Hampton plantation and Butler's Island. Upon Page's death in 1827, Thomas Butler King inherited the land together with his wife, Page's daughter, Anna Matilda Page King. King expanded his father-in-law's planting empire on St. Simons as well as on the mainland, and by 1835 Retreat Plantation alone was home to as many as 355 slaves.
The center of life during the island's plantation era was Christ Church, Frederica. Organized in 1807 by a group of island planters, the Episcopal church is the second oldest in the Diocese of Georgia. Embargoes imposed by the War of 1812 (1812-15) prevented the parishioners from building a church structure, so they worshiped in the home of John Beck, which stood on the site of Oglethorpe's only St. Simons residence, Orange Hall.
The first Christ Church building, finished on the present site in 1820, was ruined by occupying Union troops during the Civil War. In 1884 the Reverend Anson Dodge Jr. rebuilt the church as a memorial to his first wife, Ellen. The cruciform building with a trussed gothic roof and stained-glass windows remains active today as Christ Church.
Civil War and Beyond
The
St. Simons Island Lighthouse
outbreak of the Civil War in 1861 put a sudden end to St. Simons's lucrative plantation era. In January of that year, Confederate troops were stationed at the south end of the island to guard the entrance to Brunswick Harbor. Slaves from Retreat Plantation, owned by Thomas Butler King, built earthworks and batteries. Plantation residents were scattered—the men joined the Confederate army and their families moved to the mainland. Cannon fire was heard on the island in December 1861, and Confederate troops retreated in February 1862, after dynamiting the lighthouse to keep its beacon from aiding Union troops. Soon thereafter, Union troops occupied the island, which was used as a camp for freed slaves. By August 1862 more than 500 former slaves lived on St. Simons, including Susie King Taylor, who organized a school for freed slave children. But in November the ex-slaves were taken to Hilton Head, South Carolina, and Fernandina, Florida, leaving the island abandoned.
After the Civil War the island never returned to its status as an agricultural community. The plantations lay dormant because there were no slaves to work the fields. After Union general William T. Sherman's January 1865 Special Field Order No. 15 —a demand that former plantations be divided and distributed to former slaves—was overturned by U.S. president Andrew Johnson less than a year later, freedmen and women were forced to work as sharecroppers on the small farms that dotted the land previously occupied by the sprawling plantations.
By
St. Simons Lumber Mills
1870 real economic recovery began with the reestablishment of the timber industry. Norman Dodge and Titus G. Meigs of New York set up lumber mill operations at Gascoigne Bluff, formerly Hamilton Plantation. The lumber mills provided welcome employment for both blacks and whites and also provided mail and passenger boats to the mainland. Such water traffic, together with the construction of a new lighthouse in 1872, designed by architect Charles B. Cluskey, marked the beginning of St. Simons's tourism industry. The keeper of the lighthouse created a small amusement park, which drew many visitors, as did the seemingly miraculous light that traveled from the top of the lighthouse tower to the bottom. The island became a summer retreat for families from the mainland, particularly from Baxley, Brunswick, and Waycross.
The island's resort industry was thriving by the 1880s. Beachfront structures, such as a new pier and grand hotel, were built on the southeastern end of the island and could be accessed by ferry. Around this time wealthy northerners began vacationing on the island.
Twentieth Century
The
St. Simons Island Pier and Village
opening in 1924 of the Brunswick–St. Simons Highway, today known as the Torras Causeway, was a milestone in the development of resorts in the area. St. Simons's beaches were now easily accessible to locals and tourists alike. More than 5,000 automobiles took the short drive from Brunswick to St. Simons via the causeway on its opening day, paving the way for convenient residential and resort development.
In 1926 automotive pioneer Howard Coffin of Detroit, Michigan, bought large tracts of land on St. Simons, including the former Retreat Plantation, and constructed a golf course, yacht club, paved roads, and a residential subdivision. Although the causeway had brought large numbers of summer people to the island, St. Simons remained a small community with only a few hundred permanent residents until the 1940s.
The
St. Simons Island
outbreak of World War II (1941-45) brought more visitors and residents to St. Simons. Troops stationed at Jacksonville, Florida; Savannah; and nearby Camp Stewart took weekend vacations on the island, and a new naval air base and radar school became home to even more officers and soldiers. The increased wartime population brought the island its first public school. With a major shipyard for the production of Liberty ships in nearby Brunswick, the waters of St. Simons became active with German U-boats. In April 1942, just off the coast, the Texas Company oil tanker S. S. Oklahoma and the S. S. Esso Baton Rouge were torpedoed by the Germans, bringing the war very close to home for island residents.
Due in large part to the military's improvement of the island's infrastructure during the war, development on the island boomed in the 1950s and 1960s. More permanent homes and subdivisions were built, and the island was no longer just a summer resort but also a thriving community. In 1950 the Methodist conference and retreat center Epworth by the Sea opened on Gascoigne Bluff. In 1961 novelist Eugenia Price visited St. Simons and began work on her first works of fiction, known as the St. Simons Trilogy. Inspired by real events on the island, Price's trilogy renewed interest in the history of Georgia's coast, and the novelist herself relocated to the island in 1965 and lived there for thirty-one years. St. Simons is also home to contemporary Georgia writer Tina McElroy Ansa.
Since
Epworth by the Sea
1980 St. Simons's population has doubled. The island's continued status as a vacation destination and its ongoing development boom have put historic landmarks and natural areas at risk. While such landmarks as the Fort Frederica ruins and the Battle of Bloody Marsh site are preserved and maintained by the National Park Service, and while the historic lighthouse is maintained by the Coastal Georgia Historical Society, historic Ebos Landing has been taken over by a sewage treatment plant.
Several coastal organizations have formed in recent years to save natural areas on the island. The St. Simons Land Trust, for example, has received donations of large tracts of land and plans to protect property in the island's three traditional African American neighborhoods. Despite its rapid growth and development, St. Simons remains one of the most beautiful and important islands on the Georgia coast.
5