Search results for "Forcing" in Home Design Ideas

This home was built in the early 2000’s. We completely reconfigured the kitchen, updated the breakfast room, added a bar to the living room, updated a powder room, a staircase and several fireplaces.
Interior Styling by Kristy Oatman. Photographs by Jordan Katz.
FEATURED IN
Colorado Nest

Photo By: Jude Parkinson-Morgan
Photo of a small traditional side yard stone garden path in San Francisco.
Photo of a small traditional side yard stone garden path in San Francisco.

Tiny downstairs powder was redone with a bold graphic tile from Marazzi, Toto toilet, and wall-mounted sink and high end Hansgrohe fixtures.
Walls in an inky midnight blue.
Find the right local pro for your project

What this Mid-century modern home originally lacked in kitchen appeal it made up for in overall style and unique architectural home appeal. That appeal which reflects back to the turn of the century modernism movement was the driving force for this sleek yet simplistic kitchen design and remodel.
Stainless steel aplliances, cabinetry hardware, counter tops and sink/faucet fixtures; removed wall and added peninsula with casual seating; custom cabinetry - horizontal oriented grain with quarter sawn red oak veneer - flat slab - full overlay doors; full height kitchen cabinets; glass tile - installed countertop to ceiling; floating wood shelving; Karli Moore Photography

Christopher Stark
Inspiration for a large contemporary galley light wood floor and beige floor enclosed kitchen remodel in San Francisco with an undermount sink, flat-panel cabinets, light wood cabinets, quartzite countertops, beige backsplash, porcelain backsplash, paneled appliances and an island
Inspiration for a large contemporary galley light wood floor and beige floor enclosed kitchen remodel in San Francisco with an undermount sink, flat-panel cabinets, light wood cabinets, quartzite countertops, beige backsplash, porcelain backsplash, paneled appliances and an island

Hewn cedar texture brings out the shadows on this garden corner retreat. We used the same oil-based semi transparent stain on the swing to create a "patina" effect.
Archadeck of the Foothills, Colorado

This contemporary bathroom features white marble look porcelain tile, navy blue shaker cabinets, an extra large shower with large subway tile in navy blue with mother of pearl accents.

Sponsored
Delaware, OH
Buckeye Basements, Inc.
Central Ohio's Basement Finishing ExpertsBest Of Houzz '13-'21

This modern farmhouse kitchen features a beautiful combination of Navy Blue painted and gray stained Hickory cabinets that’s sure to be an eye-catcher. The elegant “Morel” stain blends and harmonizes the natural Hickory wood grain while emphasizing the grain with a subtle gray tone that beautifully coordinated with the cool, deep blue paint.
The “Gale Force” SW 7605 blue paint from Sherwin-Williams is a stunning deep blue paint color that is sophisticated, fun, and creative. It’s a stunning statement-making color that’s sure to be a classic for years to come and represents the latest in color trends. It’s no surprise this beautiful navy blue has been a part of Dura Supreme’s Curated Color Collection for several years, making the top 6 colors for 2017 through 2020.
Beyond the beautiful exterior, there is so much well-thought-out storage and function behind each and every cabinet door. The two beautiful blue countertop towers that frame the modern wood hood and cooktop are two intricately designed larder cabinets built to meet the homeowner’s exact needs.
The larder cabinet on the left is designed as a beverage center with apothecary drawers designed for housing beverage stir sticks, sugar packets, creamers, and other misc. coffee and home bar supplies. A wine glass rack and shelves provides optimal storage for a full collection of glassware while a power supply in the back helps power coffee & espresso (machines, blenders, grinders and other small appliances that could be used for daily beverage creations. The roll-out shelf makes it easier to fill clean and operate each appliance while also making it easy to put away. Pocket doors tuck out of the way and into the cabinet so you can easily leave open for your household or guests to access, but easily shut the cabinet doors and conceal when you’re ready to tidy up.
Beneath the beverage center larder is a drawer designed with 2 layers of multi-tasking storage for utensils and additional beverage supplies storage with space for tea packets, and a full drawer of K-Cup storage. The cabinet below uses powered roll-out shelves to create the perfect breakfast center with power for a toaster and divided storage to organize all the daily fixings and pantry items the household needs for their morning routine.
On the right, the second larder is the ultimate hub and center for the homeowner’s baking tasks. A wide roll-out shelf helps store heavy small appliances like a KitchenAid Mixer while making them easy to use, clean, and put away. Shelves and a set of apothecary drawers help house an assortment of baking tools, ingredients, mixing bowls and cookbooks. Beneath the counter a drawer and a set of roll-out shelves in various heights provides more easy access storage for pantry items, misc. baking accessories, rolling pins, mixing bowls, and more.
The kitchen island provides a large worktop, seating for 3-4 guests, and even more storage! The back of the island includes an appliance lift cabinet used for a sewing machine for the homeowner’s beloved hobby, a deep drawer built for organizing a full collection of dishware, a waste recycling bin, and more!
All and all this kitchen is as functional as it is beautiful!
Request a FREE Dura Supreme Brochure Packet:
http://www.durasupreme.com/request-brochure

This Waukesha bathroom remodel was unique because the homeowner needed wheelchair accessibility. We designed a beautiful master bathroom and met the client’s ADA bathroom requirements.
Original Space
The old bathroom layout was not functional or safe. The client could not get in and out of the shower or maneuver around the vanity or toilet. The goal of this project was ADA accessibility.
ADA Bathroom Requirements
All elements of this bathroom and shower were discussed and planned. Every element of this Waukesha master bathroom is designed to meet the unique needs of the client. Designing an ADA bathroom requires thoughtful consideration of showering needs.
Open Floor Plan – A more open floor plan allows for the rotation of the wheelchair. A 5-foot turning radius allows the wheelchair full access to the space.
Doorways – Sliding barn doors open with minimal force. The doorways are 36” to accommodate a wheelchair.
Curbless Shower – To create an ADA shower, we raised the sub floor level in the bedroom. There is a small rise at the bedroom door and the bathroom door. There is a seamless transition to the shower from the bathroom tile floor.
Grab Bars – Decorative grab bars were installed in the shower, next to the toilet and next to the sink (towel bar).
Handheld Showerhead – The handheld Delta Palm Shower slips over the hand for easy showering.
Shower Shelves – The shower storage shelves are minimalistic and function as handhold points.
Non-Slip Surface – Small herringbone ceramic tile on the shower floor prevents slipping.
ADA Vanity – We designed and installed a wheelchair accessible bathroom vanity. It has clearance under the cabinet and insulated pipes.
Lever Faucet – The faucet is offset so the client could reach it easier. We installed a lever operated faucet that is easy to turn on/off.
Integrated Counter/Sink – The solid surface counter and sink is durable and easy to clean.
ADA Toilet – The client requested a bidet toilet with a self opening and closing lid. ADA bathroom requirements for toilets specify a taller height and more clearance.
Heated Floors – WarmlyYours heated floors add comfort to this beautiful space.
Linen Cabinet – A custom linen cabinet stores the homeowners towels and toiletries.
Style
The design of this bathroom is light and airy with neutral tile and simple patterns. The cabinetry matches the existing oak woodwork throughout the home.

Product: Authentic Thick Limestone Pool Coping elements for pool edge
Ancient Surfaces
Contacts: (212) 461-0245
Email: Sales@ancientsurfaces.com
Website: www.AncientSurfaces.com
The design of external living spaces is known as the 'Al Fresco' space design as it is called in Italian. 'Al Fresco' translates in 'the open' or 'the cool/fresh exterior'. Customizing a contemporary swimming pool or spa into a traditional Italian Mediterranean pool can be easily achieved by selecting one of our most prized surfaces, 'The Foundation Slabs' pool coping Oolitic planks.
The ease and cosines of this outdoor Mediterranean pool and spa experience will evoke in most a feeling of euphoria and exultation that on only gets while being surrounded with the pristine beauty of nature. This powerful feeling of unison with all has been known in our early recorded human history thought many primitive civilizations as a way to get people closer to the ultimate truth. A very basic but undisputed truth and that's that we are all connected to the great mother earth and to it's powerful life force that we are all a part of...

This awesome three level deck comes complete with it's own bluestone turret and gas fire feature. The elevated bluestone decking adds an unexpected natural texture; the mood of the setting is open air. The circular seating around the fire allows for conversation or quiet reflection.
The outdoor kitchen was added to streamline entertaining, while answering the need for everyday convenience.
EP Henry stone veneer topped with black granite countertops craft a rich kitchen setting likened to an upscale indoor design. The kitchen is complete with a Viking Grille, sink with a built in cutting board and built in storage. The island bar is built to party.

The diverse range of color hues in conjunction with the authenticity of each stone profile solidified George and Elizabeth Ruzzier's-- the driving force behind Foxwood Homes--decision to utilize Eldorado's stone in the design of their project. By applying Autumn Leaf Rough Cut on the home's exterior and Sierra Mountain Ledge on the fireplace, they created an aesthetically stunning residence with the implementation of texture, color, and natural elements, all of which is amplified by the use of stone.
Eldorado Stone Profile Featured: Autumn Leaf RoughCut
Eldorado Stone Profile Featured: Sierra Mountain Ledge
Accolades: 2013 Wake County NC Parade of Homes Bronze Winner
Mason: Stonehenge Masonry
Website: www.stonehengemasonry.com
Architect: Frazier Home Design
Website: www.frazierhomedesign.com
Phone: (919)424-7245
Interior Designer: Southern Studio Interior Design
Website: www.southernstudio.com
Phone: (919)362-5143
Builder/Photographer: Foxwood Builders
Website: www.foxwoodbuilders.com
Phone: (919)271-9132

A boring front lawn transformed into an explosion of color with drought tolerant perennials and grasses and an Idaho Fescue lawn. Warm, welcoming entry in this Urban garden.

The diverse range of color hues in conjunction with the authenticity of each stone profile solidified George and Elizabeth Ruzzier's-- the driving force behind Foxwood Homes--decision to utilize Eldorado's stone in the design of their project. By applying Autumn Leaf Rough Cut on the home's exterior and Sierra Mountain Ledge on the fireplace, they created an aesthetically stunning residence with the implementation of texture, color, and natural elements, all of which is amplified by the use of stone.
Eldorado Stone Profile Featured: Autumn Leaf RoughCut
Eldorado Stone Profile Featured: Sierra Mountain Ledge
Accolades: 2013 Wake County NC Parade of Homes Bronze Winner
Mason: Stonehenge Masonry
Website: www.stonehengemasonry.com
Architect: Frazier Home Design
Website: www.frazierhomedesign.com
Phone: (919)424-7245
Interior Designer: Southern Studio Interior Design
Website: www.southernstudio.com
Phone: (919)362-5143
Builder/Photographer: Foxwood Builders
Website: www.foxwoodbuilders.com
Phone: (919)271-9132

The informal seating area in the front yard invites the gardener to rest in vibrant Blu Dot 'Hot Mesh' furniture amidst lush columnar apple trees, ceramic pots, and custom sculptural Corten steel beds hosting vegetables and dwarf blueberry shrubs. A seatwall clad in 'Mt. Moriah' ledge stone contains the space, punctuated by a large 'Windsor' boulder with native Polypodium californicum ferns at its feet. Photo © Jude Parkinson-Morgan.

Stuart Wade, Envision Virtual Tours
The second-largest and most developed of Georgia's barrier islands, St. Simons is approximately twelve miles long and nearly three miles wide at its widest stretch (roughly the size of Manhattan Island in New York). The island is located in Glynn County on Georgia's coast and lies east of Brunswick (the seat of Glynn County), south of Little St. Simons Island and the Hampton River, and north of Jekyll Island. The resort community of Sea Island is separated from St. Simons on the east by the Black Banks River. Known for its oak tree canopies and historic landmarks, St. Simons is both a tourist destination and, according to the 2010 U.S. census, home to 12,743 residents.
Early History
The earliest
St. Simons Island Village
record of human habitation on the island dates to the Late Archaic Period, about 5,000 to 3,000 years ago. Remnants of shell rings left behind by Native Americans from this era survive on many of the barrier islands, including St. Simons. Centuries later, during the period known by historians as the chiefdom era, the Guale Indians established a chiefdom centered on St. Catherines Island and used St. Simons as their hunting and fishing grounds. By 1500 the Guale had established a permanent village of about 200 people on St. Simons, which they called Guadalquini.
Beginning in 1568, the Spanish attempted to create missions along the Georgia coast. Catholic missions were the primary means by which Georgia's indigenous Native American chiefdoms were assimilated into the Spanish colonial system along the northern frontier of greater Spanish Florida. In the 1600s St. Simons became home to two Spanish missions: San Buenaventura de Guadalquini, on the southern tip of the island, and Santo Domingo de Asao (or Asajo), on the northern tip. Located on the inland side of the island were the pagan refugee villages of San Simón, the island's namesake, and Ocotonico. In 1684 pirate raids left the missions and villages largely abandoned.
Colonial History
As
Fort Frederica
early as 1670, with Great Britain's establishment of the colony of Carolina and its expansion into Georgia territory, Spanish rule was threatened by the English. The Georgia coast was considered "debatable land" by England and Spain, even though Spain had fully retreated from St. Simons by 1702. Thirty-one years later General James Edward Oglethorpe founded the English settlement of Savannah. In 1736 he established Fort Frederica, named after the heir to the British throne, Frederick Louis, prince of Wales, on the west side of St. Simons Island to protect Savannah and the Carolinas from the Spanish threat.
Between 1736 and 1749 Fort Frederica was the hub of British military operations along the Georgia frontier. A town of the same name grew up around the fort and was of great importance to the new colony. By 1740 Frederica's population was 1,000. In 1736 the congregation of what would become Christ Church was organized within Fort Frederica as a mission of the Church of England. Charles Wesley led the first services. In 1742 Britain's decisive victory over Spain in the Battle of Bloody Marsh, during the War of Jenkins' Ear, ended the Spanish threat to the Georgia coast. When the British regimen disbanded in 1749, most of the townspeople relocated to the mainland. Fort Frederica went into decline and, except for a short time of prosperity during the 1760s and 1770s under the leadership of merchant James Spalding, never fully recovered. Today the historic citadel's tabby ruins are maintained by the National Park Service.
Plantation Era
By the start of the American Revolution (1775-83), Fort Frederica was obsolete, and St. Simons was left largely uninhabited as most of its residents joined the patriot army. Besides hosting a small Georgia naval victory on the Fort Frederica River, providing guns from its famous fort for use at Fort Morris in Sunbury, and serving as an arena for pillaging by privateers and British soldiers, the island played almost no role in the war.
Following the war, many of the townspeople, their businesses destroyed, turned to agriculture. The island was transformed into fourteen cotton plantations after acres of live oak trees were cleared for farm land and used for building American warships, including the famous USS Constitution, or "Old Ironsides." Although rice was the predominant crop along the neighboring Altamaha River, St. Simons was known for its production of long-staple cotton, which soon came to be known as Sea Island cotton.
Between
Ebos Landing
the 1780s and the outbreak of the Civil War (1861-65), St. Simons's plantation culture flourished. The saline atmosphere and the availability of cheap slave labor proved an ideal combination for the cultivation of Sea Island cotton. In 1803 a group of Ebo slaves who survived the Middle Passage and arrived on the west side of St. Simons staged a rebellion and drowned themselves. The sacred site is known today as Ebos Landing.
One of the largest owners of land and slaves on St. Simons was Pierce Butler, master of Hampton Point Plantation, located on the northern end of the island. By 1793 Butler owned more than 500 slaves, who cultivated 800 acres of cotton on St. Simons and 300 acres of rice on Butler's Island in the Altamaha River delta. Butler's grandson, Pierce Mease Butler, who at the age of sixteen inherited a share of his grandfather's estate in 1826, was responsible for the largest sale of human beings in the history of the United States: in 1859, to restore his squandered fortune, he sold 429 slaves in Savannah for more than $300,000. The British actress and writer Fanny Kemble, whose tumultuous marriage to Pierce ended in divorce in 1849, published an eyewitness account of the evils of slavery on St. Simons in her book Journal of a Residence on a Georgian Plantation in 1838-1839 (1863).
Another
Retreat Plantation
large owner of land and slaves on St. Simons was Major William Page, a friend and employee of Pierce Butler Sr. Before purchasing Retreat Plantation on the southwestern tip of the island in 1804, Page managed the Hampton plantation and Butler's Island. Upon Page's death in 1827, Thomas Butler King inherited the land together with his wife, Page's daughter, Anna Matilda Page King. King expanded his father-in-law's planting empire on St. Simons as well as on the mainland, and by 1835 Retreat Plantation alone was home to as many as 355 slaves.
The center of life during the island's plantation era was Christ Church, Frederica. Organized in 1807 by a group of island planters, the Episcopal church is the second oldest in the Diocese of Georgia. Embargoes imposed by the War of 1812 (1812-15) prevented the parishioners from building a church structure, so they worshiped in the home of John Beck, which stood on the site of Oglethorpe's only St. Simons residence, Orange Hall.
The first Christ Church building, finished on the present site in 1820, was ruined by occupying Union troops during the Civil War. In 1884 the Reverend Anson Dodge Jr. rebuilt the church as a memorial to his first wife, Ellen. The cruciform building with a trussed gothic roof and stained-glass windows remains active today as Christ Church.
Civil War and Beyond
The
St. Simons Island Lighthouse
outbreak of the Civil War in 1861 put a sudden end to St. Simons's lucrative plantation era. In January of that year, Confederate troops were stationed at the south end of the island to guard the entrance to Brunswick Harbor. Slaves from Retreat Plantation, owned by Thomas Butler King, built earthworks and batteries. Plantation residents were scattered—the men joined the Confederate army and their families moved to the mainland. Cannon fire was heard on the island in December 1861, and Confederate troops retreated in February 1862, after dynamiting the lighthouse to keep its beacon from aiding Union troops. Soon thereafter, Union troops occupied the island, which was used as a camp for freed slaves. By August 1862 more than 500 former slaves lived on St. Simons, including Susie King Taylor, who organized a school for freed slave children. But in November the ex-slaves were taken to Hilton Head, South Carolina, and Fernandina, Florida, leaving the island abandoned.
After the Civil War the island never returned to its status as an agricultural community. The plantations lay dormant because there were no slaves to work the fields. After Union general William T. Sherman's January 1865 Special Field Order No. 15 —a demand that former plantations be divided and distributed to former slaves—was overturned by U.S. president Andrew Johnson less than a year later, freedmen and women were forced to work as sharecroppers on the small farms that dotted the land previously occupied by the sprawling plantations.
By
St. Simons Lumber Mills
1870 real economic recovery began with the reestablishment of the timber industry. Norman Dodge and Titus G. Meigs of New York set up lumber mill operations at Gascoigne Bluff, formerly Hamilton Plantation. The lumber mills provided welcome employment for both blacks and whites and also provided mail and passenger boats to the mainland. Such water traffic, together with the construction of a new lighthouse in 1872, designed by architect Charles B. Cluskey, marked the beginning of St. Simons's tourism industry. The keeper of the lighthouse created a small amusement park, which drew many visitors, as did the seemingly miraculous light that traveled from the top of the lighthouse tower to the bottom. The island became a summer retreat for families from the mainland, particularly from Baxley, Brunswick, and Waycross.
The island's resort industry was thriving by the 1880s. Beachfront structures, such as a new pier and grand hotel, were built on the southeastern end of the island and could be accessed by ferry. Around this time wealthy northerners began vacationing on the island.
Twentieth Century
The
St. Simons Island Pier and Village
opening in 1924 of the Brunswick–St. Simons Highway, today known as the Torras Causeway, was a milestone in the development of resorts in the area. St. Simons's beaches were now easily accessible to locals and tourists alike. More than 5,000 automobiles took the short drive from Brunswick to St. Simons via the causeway on its opening day, paving the way for convenient residential and resort development.
In 1926 automotive pioneer Howard Coffin of Detroit, Michigan, bought large tracts of land on St. Simons, including the former Retreat Plantation, and constructed a golf course, yacht club, paved roads, and a residential subdivision. Although the causeway had brought large numbers of summer people to the island, St. Simons remained a small community with only a few hundred permanent residents until the 1940s.
The
St. Simons Island
outbreak of World War II (1941-45) brought more visitors and residents to St. Simons. Troops stationed at Jacksonville, Florida; Savannah; and nearby Camp Stewart took weekend vacations on the island, and a new naval air base and radar school became home to even more officers and soldiers. The increased wartime population brought the island its first public school. With a major shipyard for the production of Liberty ships in nearby Brunswick, the waters of St. Simons became active with German U-boats. In April 1942, just off the coast, the Texas Company oil tanker S. S. Oklahoma and the S. S. Esso Baton Rouge were torpedoed by the Germans, bringing the war very close to home for island residents.
Due in large part to the military's improvement of the island's infrastructure during the war, development on the island boomed in the 1950s and 1960s. More permanent homes and subdivisions were built, and the island was no longer just a summer resort but also a thriving community. In 1950 the Methodist conference and retreat center Epworth by the Sea opened on Gascoigne Bluff. In 1961 novelist Eugenia Price visited St. Simons and began work on her first works of fiction, known as the St. Simons Trilogy. Inspired by real events on the island, Price's trilogy renewed interest in the history of Georgia's coast, and the novelist herself relocated to the island in 1965 and lived there for thirty-one years. St. Simons is also home to contemporary Georgia writer Tina McElroy Ansa.
Since
Epworth by the Sea
1980 St. Simons's population has doubled. The island's continued status as a vacation destination and its ongoing development boom have put historic landmarks and natural areas at risk. While such landmarks as the Fort Frederica ruins and the Battle of Bloody Marsh site are preserved and maintained by the National Park Service, and while the historic lighthouse is maintained by the Coastal Georgia Historical Society, historic Ebos Landing has been taken over by a sewage treatment plant.
Several coastal organizations have formed in recent years to save natural areas on the island. The St. Simons Land Trust, for example, has received donations of large tracts of land and plans to protect property in the island's three traditional African American neighborhoods. Despite its rapid growth and development, St. Simons remains one of the most beautiful and important islands on the Georgia coast.

In the hills of San Anselmo in Marin County, this 5,000 square foot existing multi-story home was enlarged to 6,000 square feet with a new dance studio addition with new master bedroom suite and sitting room for evening entertainment and morning coffee. Sited on a steep hillside one acre lot, the back yard was unusable. New concrete retaining walls and planters were designed to create outdoor play and lounging areas with stairs that cascade down the hill forming a wrap-around walkway. The goal was to make the new addition integrate the disparate design elements of the house and calm it down visually. The scope was not to change everything, just the rear façade and some of the side facades.
The new addition is a long rectangular space inserted into the rear of the building with new up-swooping roof that ties everything together. Clad in red cedar, the exterior reflects the relaxed nature of the one acre wooded hillside site. Fleetwood windows and wood patterned tile complete the exterior color material palate.
The sitting room overlooks a new patio area off of the children’s playroom and features a butt glazed corner window providing views filtered through a grove of bay laurel trees. Inside is a television viewing area with wetbar off to the side that can be closed off with a concealed pocket door to the master bedroom. The bedroom was situated to take advantage of these views of the rear yard and the bed faces a stone tile wall with recessed skylight above. The master bath, a driving force for the project, is large enough to allow both of them to occupy and use at the same time.
The new dance studio and gym was inspired for their two daughters and has become a facility for the whole family. All glass, mirrors and space with cushioned wood sports flooring, views to the new level outdoor area and tree covered side yard make for a dramatic turnaround for a home with little play or usable outdoor space previously.
Photo Credit: Paul Dyer Photography.

Mountain style medium tone wood floor powder room photo in Minneapolis with white cabinets, an integrated sink, white countertops and a floating vanity
81

