Search results for "Forcing" in Home Design Ideas

Photo: Bonnie McCarthy © 2015 Houzz
Living room - traditional living room idea in Los Angeles
Living room - traditional living room idea in Los Angeles

Joe Nuess Photography
Eat-in kitchen - mediterranean galley medium tone wood floor and brown floor eat-in kitchen idea in Seattle with a farmhouse sink, white cabinets, granite countertops, beige backsplash, stainless steel appliances, shaker cabinets, a peninsula and wood backsplash
Eat-in kitchen - mediterranean galley medium tone wood floor and brown floor eat-in kitchen idea in Seattle with a farmhouse sink, white cabinets, granite countertops, beige backsplash, stainless steel appliances, shaker cabinets, a peninsula and wood backsplash

We were excited when the homeowners of this project approached us to help them with their whole house remodel as this is a historic preservation project. The historical society has approved this remodel. As part of that distinction we had to honor the original look of the home; keeping the façade updated but intact. For example the doors and windows are new but they were made as replicas to the originals. The homeowners were relocating from the Inland Empire to be closer to their daughter and grandchildren. One of their requests was additional living space. In order to achieve this we added a second story to the home while ensuring that it was in character with the original structure. The interior of the home is all new. It features all new plumbing, electrical and HVAC. Although the home is a Spanish Revival the homeowners style on the interior of the home is very traditional. The project features a home gym as it is important to the homeowners to stay healthy and fit. The kitchen / great room was designed so that the homewoners could spend time with their daughter and her children. The home features two master bedroom suites. One is upstairs and the other one is down stairs. The homeowners prefer to use the downstairs version as they are not forced to use the stairs. They have left the upstairs master suite as a guest suite.
Enjoy some of the before and after images of this project:
http://www.houzz.com/discussions/3549200/old-garage-office-turned-gym-in-los-angeles
http://www.houzz.com/discussions/3558821/la-face-lift-for-the-patio
http://www.houzz.com/discussions/3569717/la-kitchen-remodel
http://www.houzz.com/discussions/3579013/los-angeles-entry-hall
http://www.houzz.com/discussions/3592549/exterior-shots-of-a-whole-house-remodel-in-la
http://www.houzz.com/discussions/3607481/living-dining-rooms-become-a-library-and-formal-dining-room-in-la
http://www.houzz.com/discussions/3628842/bathroom-makeover-in-los-angeles-ca
http://www.houzz.com/discussions/3640770/sweet-dreams-la-bedroom-remodels
Exterior: Approved by the historical society as a Spanish Revival, the second story of this home was an addition. All of the windows and doors were replicated to match the original styling of the house. The roof is a combination of Gable and Hip and is made of red clay tile. The arched door and windows are typical of Spanish Revival. The home also features a Juliette Balcony and window.
Library / Living Room: The library offers Pocket Doors and custom bookcases.
Powder Room: This powder room has a black toilet and Herringbone travertine.
Kitchen: This kitchen was designed for someone who likes to cook! It features a Pot Filler, a peninsula and an island, a prep sink in the island, and cookbook storage on the end of the peninsula. The homeowners opted for a mix of stainless and paneled appliances. Although they have a formal dining room they wanted a casual breakfast area to enjoy informal meals with their grandchildren. The kitchen also utilizes a mix of recessed lighting and pendant lights. A wine refrigerator and outlets conveniently located on the island and around the backsplash are the modern updates that were important to the homeowners.
Master bath: The master bath enjoys both a soaking tub and a large shower with body sprayers and hand held. For privacy, the bidet was placed in a water closet next to the shower. There is plenty of counter space in this bathroom which even includes a makeup table.
Staircase: The staircase features a decorative niche
Upstairs master suite: The upstairs master suite features the Juliette balcony
Outside: Wanting to take advantage of southern California living the homeowners requested an outdoor kitchen complete with retractable awning. The fountain and lounging furniture keep it light.
Home gym: This gym comes completed with rubberized floor covering and dedicated bathroom. It also features its own HVAC system and wall mounted TV.
Find the right local pro for your project

In the hills of San Anselmo in Marin County, this 5,000 square foot existing multi-story home was enlarged to 6,000 square feet with a new dance studio addition with new master bedroom suite and sitting room for evening entertainment and morning coffee. Sited on a steep hillside one acre lot, the back yard was unusable. New concrete retaining walls and planters were designed to create outdoor play and lounging areas with stairs that cascade down the hill forming a wrap-around walkway. The goal was to make the new addition integrate the disparate design elements of the house and calm it down visually. The scope was not to change everything, just the rear façade and some of the side facades.
The new addition is a long rectangular space inserted into the rear of the building with new up-swooping roof that ties everything together. Clad in red cedar, the exterior reflects the relaxed nature of the one acre wooded hillside site. Fleetwood windows and wood patterned tile complete the exterior color material palate.
The sitting room overlooks a new patio area off of the children’s playroom and features a butt glazed corner window providing views filtered through a grove of bay laurel trees. Inside is a television viewing area with wetbar off to the side that can be closed off with a concealed pocket door to the master bedroom. The bedroom was situated to take advantage of these views of the rear yard and the bed faces a stone tile wall with recessed skylight above. The master bath, a driving force for the project, is large enough to allow both of them to occupy and use at the same time.
The new dance studio and gym was inspired for their two daughters and has become a facility for the whole family. All glass, mirrors and space with cushioned wood sports flooring, views to the new level outdoor area and tree covered side yard make for a dramatic turnaround for a home with little play or usable outdoor space previously.
Photo Credit: Paul Dyer Photography.

Facing the street, the perforated window screens are all small sections of the larger pattern, offering an abstract, fragmented glimpse of the feature inside.

Force Building Company
Mid-sized arts and crafts blue two-story mixed siding house exterior photo in Other with a shingle roof
Mid-sized arts and crafts blue two-story mixed siding house exterior photo in Other with a shingle roof

Stuart Wade, Envision Virtual Tours
The second-largest and most developed of Georgia's barrier islands, St. Simons is approximately twelve miles long and nearly three miles wide at its widest stretch (roughly the size of Manhattan Island in New York). The island is located in Glynn County on Georgia's coast and lies east of Brunswick (the seat of Glynn County), south of Little St. Simons Island and the Hampton River, and north of Jekyll Island. The resort community of Sea Island is separated from St. Simons on the east by the Black Banks River. Known for its oak tree canopies and historic landmarks, St. Simons is both a tourist destination and, according to the 2010 U.S. census, home to 12,743 residents.
Early History
The earliest
St. Simons Island Village
record of human habitation on the island dates to the Late Archaic Period, about 5,000 to 3,000 years ago. Remnants of shell rings left behind by Native Americans from this era survive on many of the barrier islands, including St. Simons. Centuries later, during the period known by historians as the chiefdom era, the Guale Indians established a chiefdom centered on St. Catherines Island and used St. Simons as their hunting and fishing grounds. By 1500 the Guale had established a permanent village of about 200 people on St. Simons, which they called Guadalquini.
Beginning in 1568, the Spanish attempted to create missions along the Georgia coast. Catholic missions were the primary means by which Georgia's indigenous Native American chiefdoms were assimilated into the Spanish colonial system along the northern frontier of greater Spanish Florida. In the 1600s St. Simons became home to two Spanish missions: San Buenaventura de Guadalquini, on the southern tip of the island, and Santo Domingo de Asao (or Asajo), on the northern tip. Located on the inland side of the island were the pagan refugee villages of San Simón, the island's namesake, and Ocotonico. In 1684 pirate raids left the missions and villages largely abandoned.
Colonial History
As
Fort Frederica
early as 1670, with Great Britain's establishment of the colony of Carolina and its expansion into Georgia territory, Spanish rule was threatened by the English. The Georgia coast was considered "debatable land" by England and Spain, even though Spain had fully retreated from St. Simons by 1702. Thirty-one years later General James Edward Oglethorpe founded the English settlement of Savannah. In 1736 he established Fort Frederica, named after the heir to the British throne, Frederick Louis, prince of Wales, on the west side of St. Simons Island to protect Savannah and the Carolinas from the Spanish threat.
Between 1736 and 1749 Fort Frederica was the hub of British military operations along the Georgia frontier. A town of the same name grew up around the fort and was of great importance to the new colony. By 1740 Frederica's population was 1,000. In 1736 the congregation of what would become Christ Church was organized within Fort Frederica as a mission of the Church of England. Charles Wesley led the first services. In 1742 Britain's decisive victory over Spain in the Battle of Bloody Marsh, during the War of Jenkins' Ear, ended the Spanish threat to the Georgia coast. When the British regimen disbanded in 1749, most of the townspeople relocated to the mainland. Fort Frederica went into decline and, except for a short time of prosperity during the 1760s and 1770s under the leadership of merchant James Spalding, never fully recovered. Today the historic citadel's tabby ruins are maintained by the National Park Service.
Plantation Era
By the start of the American Revolution (1775-83), Fort Frederica was obsolete, and St. Simons was left largely uninhabited as most of its residents joined the patriot army. Besides hosting a small Georgia naval victory on the Fort Frederica River, providing guns from its famous fort for use at Fort Morris in Sunbury, and serving as an arena for pillaging by privateers and British soldiers, the island played almost no role in the war.
Following the war, many of the townspeople, their businesses destroyed, turned to agriculture. The island was transformed into fourteen cotton plantations after acres of live oak trees were cleared for farm land and used for building American warships, including the famous USS Constitution, or "Old Ironsides." Although rice was the predominant crop along the neighboring Altamaha River, St. Simons was known for its production of long-staple cotton, which soon came to be known as Sea Island cotton.
Between
Ebos Landing
the 1780s and the outbreak of the Civil War (1861-65), St. Simons's plantation culture flourished. The saline atmosphere and the availability of cheap slave labor proved an ideal combination for the cultivation of Sea Island cotton. In 1803 a group of Ebo slaves who survived the Middle Passage and arrived on the west side of St. Simons staged a rebellion and drowned themselves. The sacred site is known today as Ebos Landing.
One of the largest owners of land and slaves on St. Simons was Pierce Butler, master of Hampton Point Plantation, located on the northern end of the island. By 1793 Butler owned more than 500 slaves, who cultivated 800 acres of cotton on St. Simons and 300 acres of rice on Butler's Island in the Altamaha River delta. Butler's grandson, Pierce Mease Butler, who at the age of sixteen inherited a share of his grandfather's estate in 1826, was responsible for the largest sale of human beings in the history of the United States: in 1859, to restore his squandered fortune, he sold 429 slaves in Savannah for more than $300,000. The British actress and writer Fanny Kemble, whose tumultuous marriage to Pierce ended in divorce in 1849, published an eyewitness account of the evils of slavery on St. Simons in her book Journal of a Residence on a Georgian Plantation in 1838-1839 (1863).
Another
Retreat Plantation
large owner of land and slaves on St. Simons was Major William Page, a friend and employee of Pierce Butler Sr. Before purchasing Retreat Plantation on the southwestern tip of the island in 1804, Page managed the Hampton plantation and Butler's Island. Upon Page's death in 1827, Thomas Butler King inherited the land together with his wife, Page's daughter, Anna Matilda Page King. King expanded his father-in-law's planting empire on St. Simons as well as on the mainland, and by 1835 Retreat Plantation alone was home to as many as 355 slaves.
The center of life during the island's plantation era was Christ Church, Frederica. Organized in 1807 by a group of island planters, the Episcopal church is the second oldest in the Diocese of Georgia. Embargoes imposed by the War of 1812 (1812-15) prevented the parishioners from building a church structure, so they worshiped in the home of John Beck, which stood on the site of Oglethorpe's only St. Simons residence, Orange Hall.
The first Christ Church building, finished on the present site in 1820, was ruined by occupying Union troops during the Civil War. In 1884 the Reverend Anson Dodge Jr. rebuilt the church as a memorial to his first wife, Ellen. The cruciform building with a trussed gothic roof and stained-glass windows remains active today as Christ Church.
Civil War and Beyond
The
St. Simons Island Lighthouse
outbreak of the Civil War in 1861 put a sudden end to St. Simons's lucrative plantation era. In January of that year, Confederate troops were stationed at the south end of the island to guard the entrance to Brunswick Harbor. Slaves from Retreat Plantation, owned by Thomas Butler King, built earthworks and batteries. Plantation residents were scattered—the men joined the Confederate army and their families moved to the mainland. Cannon fire was heard on the island in December 1861, and Confederate troops retreated in February 1862, after dynamiting the lighthouse to keep its beacon from aiding Union troops. Soon thereafter, Union troops occupied the island, which was used as a camp for freed slaves. By August 1862 more than 500 former slaves lived on St. Simons, including Susie King Taylor, who organized a school for freed slave children. But in November the ex-slaves were taken to Hilton Head, South Carolina, and Fernandina, Florida, leaving the island abandoned.
After the Civil War the island never returned to its status as an agricultural community. The plantations lay dormant because there were no slaves to work the fields. After Union general William T. Sherman's January 1865 Special Field Order No. 15 —a demand that former plantations be divided and distributed to former slaves—was overturned by U.S. president Andrew Johnson less than a year later, freedmen and women were forced to work as sharecroppers on the small farms that dotted the land previously occupied by the sprawling plantations.
By
St. Simons Lumber Mills
1870 real economic recovery began with the reestablishment of the timber industry. Norman Dodge and Titus G. Meigs of New York set up lumber mill operations at Gascoigne Bluff, formerly Hamilton Plantation. The lumber mills provided welcome employment for both blacks and whites and also provided mail and passenger boats to the mainland. Such water traffic, together with the construction of a new lighthouse in 1872, designed by architect Charles B. Cluskey, marked the beginning of St. Simons's tourism industry. The keeper of the lighthouse created a small amusement park, which drew many visitors, as did the seemingly miraculous light that traveled from the top of the lighthouse tower to the bottom. The island became a summer retreat for families from the mainland, particularly from Baxley, Brunswick, and Waycross.
The island's resort industry was thriving by the 1880s. Beachfront structures, such as a new pier and grand hotel, were built on the southeastern end of the island and could be accessed by ferry. Around this time wealthy northerners began vacationing on the island.
Twentieth Century
The
St. Simons Island Pier and Village
opening in 1924 of the Brunswick–St. Simons Highway, today known as the Torras Causeway, was a milestone in the development of resorts in the area. St. Simons's beaches were now easily accessible to locals and tourists alike. More than 5,000 automobiles took the short drive from Brunswick to St. Simons via the causeway on its opening day, paving the way for convenient residential and resort development.
In 1926 automotive pioneer Howard Coffin of Detroit, Michigan, bought large tracts of land on St. Simons, including the former Retreat Plantation, and constructed a golf course, yacht club, paved roads, and a residential subdivision. Although the causeway had brought large numbers of summer people to the island, St. Simons remained a small community with only a few hundred permanent residents until the 1940s.
The
St. Simons Island
outbreak of World War II (1941-45) brought more visitors and residents to St. Simons. Troops stationed at Jacksonville, Florida; Savannah; and nearby Camp Stewart took weekend vacations on the island, and a new naval air base and radar school became home to even more officers and soldiers. The increased wartime population brought the island its first public school. With a major shipyard for the production of Liberty ships in nearby Brunswick, the waters of St. Simons became active with German U-boats. In April 1942, just off the coast, the Texas Company oil tanker S. S. Oklahoma and the S. S. Esso Baton Rouge were torpedoed by the Germans, bringing the war very close to home for island residents.
Due in large part to the military's improvement of the island's infrastructure during the war, development on the island boomed in the 1950s and 1960s. More permanent homes and subdivisions were built, and the island was no longer just a summer resort but also a thriving community. In 1950 the Methodist conference and retreat center Epworth by the Sea opened on Gascoigne Bluff. In 1961 novelist Eugenia Price visited St. Simons and began work on her first works of fiction, known as the St. Simons Trilogy. Inspired by real events on the island, Price's trilogy renewed interest in the history of Georgia's coast, and the novelist herself relocated to the island in 1965 and lived there for thirty-one years. St. Simons is also home to contemporary Georgia writer Tina McElroy Ansa.
Since
Epworth by the Sea
1980 St. Simons's population has doubled. The island's continued status as a vacation destination and its ongoing development boom have put historic landmarks and natural areas at risk. While such landmarks as the Fort Frederica ruins and the Battle of Bloody Marsh site are preserved and maintained by the National Park Service, and while the historic lighthouse is maintained by the Coastal Georgia Historical Society, historic Ebos Landing has been taken over by a sewage treatment plant.
Several coastal organizations have formed in recent years to save natural areas on the island. The St. Simons Land Trust, for example, has received donations of large tracts of land and plans to protect property in the island's three traditional African American neighborhoods. Despite its rapid growth and development, St. Simons remains one of the most beautiful and important islands on the Georgia coast.

Sponsored
Delaware, OH
Buckeye Basements, Inc.
Central Ohio's Basement Finishing ExpertsBest Of Houzz '13-'21

Stuart Wade, Envision Virtual Tours
The second-largest and most developed of Georgia's barrier islands, St. Simons is approximately twelve miles long and nearly three miles wide at its widest stretch (roughly the size of Manhattan Island in New York). The island is located in Glynn County on Georgia's coast and lies east of Brunswick (the seat of Glynn County), south of Little St. Simons Island and the Hampton River, and north of Jekyll Island. The resort community of Sea Island is separated from St. Simons on the east by the Black Banks River. Known for its oak tree canopies and historic landmarks, St. Simons is both a tourist destination and, according to the 2010 U.S. census, home to 12,743 residents.
Early History
The earliest
St. Simons Island Village
record of human habitation on the island dates to the Late Archaic Period, about 5,000 to 3,000 years ago. Remnants of shell rings left behind by Native Americans from this era survive on many of the barrier islands, including St. Simons. Centuries later, during the period known by historians as the chiefdom era, the Guale Indians established a chiefdom centered on St. Catherines Island and used St. Simons as their hunting and fishing grounds. By 1500 the Guale had established a permanent village of about 200 people on St. Simons, which they called Guadalquini.
Beginning in 1568, the Spanish attempted to create missions along the Georgia coast. Catholic missions were the primary means by which Georgia's indigenous Native American chiefdoms were assimilated into the Spanish colonial system along the northern frontier of greater Spanish Florida. In the 1600s St. Simons became home to two Spanish missions: San Buenaventura de Guadalquini, on the southern tip of the island, and Santo Domingo de Asao (or Asajo), on the northern tip. Located on the inland side of the island were the pagan refugee villages of San Simón, the island's namesake, and Ocotonico. In 1684 pirate raids left the missions and villages largely abandoned.
Colonial History
As
Fort Frederica
early as 1670, with Great Britain's establishment of the colony of Carolina and its expansion into Georgia territory, Spanish rule was threatened by the English. The Georgia coast was considered "debatable land" by England and Spain, even though Spain had fully retreated from St. Simons by 1702. Thirty-one years later General James Edward Oglethorpe founded the English settlement of Savannah. In 1736 he established Fort Frederica, named after the heir to the British throne, Frederick Louis, prince of Wales, on the west side of St. Simons Island to protect Savannah and the Carolinas from the Spanish threat.
Between 1736 and 1749 Fort Frederica was the hub of British military operations along the Georgia frontier. A town of the same name grew up around the fort and was of great importance to the new colony. By 1740 Frederica's population was 1,000. In 1736 the congregation of what would become Christ Church was organized within Fort Frederica as a mission of the Church of England. Charles Wesley led the first services. In 1742 Britain's decisive victory over Spain in the Battle of Bloody Marsh, during the War of Jenkins' Ear, ended the Spanish threat to the Georgia coast. When the British regimen disbanded in 1749, most of the townspeople relocated to the mainland. Fort Frederica went into decline and, except for a short time of prosperity during the 1760s and 1770s under the leadership of merchant James Spalding, never fully recovered. Today the historic citadel's tabby ruins are maintained by the National Park Service.
Plantation Era
By the start of the American Revolution (1775-83), Fort Frederica was obsolete, and St. Simons was left largely uninhabited as most of its residents joined the patriot army. Besides hosting a small Georgia naval victory on the Fort Frederica River, providing guns from its famous fort for use at Fort Morris in Sunbury, and serving as an arena for pillaging by privateers and British soldiers, the island played almost no role in the war.
Following the war, many of the townspeople, their businesses destroyed, turned to agriculture. The island was transformed into fourteen cotton plantations after acres of live oak trees were cleared for farm land and used for building American warships, including the famous USS Constitution, or "Old Ironsides." Although rice was the predominant crop along the neighboring Altamaha River, St. Simons was known for its production of long-staple cotton, which soon came to be known as Sea Island cotton.
Between
Ebos Landing
the 1780s and the outbreak of the Civil War (1861-65), St. Simons's plantation culture flourished. The saline atmosphere and the availability of cheap slave labor proved an ideal combination for the cultivation of Sea Island cotton. In 1803 a group of Ebo slaves who survived the Middle Passage and arrived on the west side of St. Simons staged a rebellion and drowned themselves. The sacred site is known today as Ebos Landing.
One of the largest owners of land and slaves on St. Simons was Pierce Butler, master of Hampton Point Plantation, located on the northern end of the island. By 1793 Butler owned more than 500 slaves, who cultivated 800 acres of cotton on St. Simons and 300 acres of rice on Butler's Island in the Altamaha River delta. Butler's grandson, Pierce Mease Butler, who at the age of sixteen inherited a share of his grandfather's estate in 1826, was responsible for the largest sale of human beings in the history of the United States: in 1859, to restore his squandered fortune, he sold 429 slaves in Savannah for more than $300,000. The British actress and writer Fanny Kemble, whose tumultuous marriage to Pierce ended in divorce in 1849, published an eyewitness account of the evils of slavery on St. Simons in her book Journal of a Residence on a Georgian Plantation in 1838-1839 (1863).
Another
Retreat Plantation
large owner of land and slaves on St. Simons was Major William Page, a friend and employee of Pierce Butler Sr. Before purchasing Retreat Plantation on the southwestern tip of the island in 1804, Page managed the Hampton plantation and Butler's Island. Upon Page's death in 1827, Thomas Butler King inherited the land together with his wife, Page's daughter, Anna Matilda Page King. King expanded his father-in-law's planting empire on St. Simons as well as on the mainland, and by 1835 Retreat Plantation alone was home to as many as 355 slaves.
The center of life during the island's plantation era was Christ Church, Frederica. Organized in 1807 by a group of island planters, the Episcopal church is the second oldest in the Diocese of Georgia. Embargoes imposed by the War of 1812 (1812-15) prevented the parishioners from building a church structure, so they worshiped in the home of John Beck, which stood on the site of Oglethorpe's only St. Simons residence, Orange Hall.
The first Christ Church building, finished on the present site in 1820, was ruined by occupying Union troops during the Civil War. In 1884 the Reverend Anson Dodge Jr. rebuilt the church as a memorial to his first wife, Ellen. The cruciform building with a trussed gothic roof and stained-glass windows remains active today as Christ Church.
Civil War and Beyond
The
St. Simons Island Lighthouse
outbreak of the Civil War in 1861 put a sudden end to St. Simons's lucrative plantation era. In January of that year, Confederate troops were stationed at the south end of the island to guard the entrance to Brunswick Harbor. Slaves from Retreat Plantation, owned by Thomas Butler King, built earthworks and batteries. Plantation residents were scattered—the men joined the Confederate army and their families moved to the mainland. Cannon fire was heard on the island in December 1861, and Confederate troops retreated in February 1862, after dynamiting the lighthouse to keep its beacon from aiding Union troops. Soon thereafter, Union troops occupied the island, which was used as a camp for freed slaves. By August 1862 more than 500 former slaves lived on St. Simons, including Susie King Taylor, who organized a school for freed slave children. But in November the ex-slaves were taken to Hilton Head, South Carolina, and Fernandina, Florida, leaving the island abandoned.
After the Civil War the island never returned to its status as an agricultural community. The plantations lay dormant because there were no slaves to work the fields. After Union general William T. Sherman's January 1865 Special Field Order No. 15 —a demand that former plantations be divided and distributed to former slaves—was overturned by U.S. president Andrew Johnson less than a year later, freedmen and women were forced to work as sharecroppers on the small farms that dotted the land previously occupied by the sprawling plantations.
By
St. Simons Lumber Mills
1870 real economic recovery began with the reestablishment of the timber industry. Norman Dodge and Titus G. Meigs of New York set up lumber mill operations at Gascoigne Bluff, formerly Hamilton Plantation. The lumber mills provided welcome employment for both blacks and whites and also provided mail and passenger boats to the mainland. Such water traffic, together with the construction of a new lighthouse in 1872, designed by architect Charles B. Cluskey, marked the beginning of St. Simons's tourism industry. The keeper of the lighthouse created a small amusement park, which drew many visitors, as did the seemingly miraculous light that traveled from the top of the lighthouse tower to the bottom. The island became a summer retreat for families from the mainland, particularly from Baxley, Brunswick, and Waycross.
The island's resort industry was thriving by the 1880s. Beachfront structures, such as a new pier and grand hotel, were built on the southeastern end of the island and could be accessed by ferry. Around this time wealthy northerners began vacationing on the island.
Twentieth Century
The
St. Simons Island Pier and Village
opening in 1924 of the Brunswick–St. Simons Highway, today known as the Torras Causeway, was a milestone in the development of resorts in the area. St. Simons's beaches were now easily accessible to locals and tourists alike. More than 5,000 automobiles took the short drive from Brunswick to St. Simons via the causeway on its opening day, paving the way for convenient residential and resort development.
In 1926 automotive pioneer Howard Coffin of Detroit, Michigan, bought large tracts of land on St. Simons, including the former Retreat Plantation, and constructed a golf course, yacht club, paved roads, and a residential subdivision. Although the causeway had brought large numbers of summer people to the island, St. Simons remained a small community with only a few hundred permanent residents until the 1940s.
The
St. Simons Island
outbreak of World War II (1941-45) brought more visitors and residents to St. Simons. Troops stationed at Jacksonville, Florida; Savannah; and nearby Camp Stewart took weekend vacations on the island, and a new naval air base and radar school became home to even more officers and soldiers. The increased wartime population brought the island its first public school. With a major shipyard for the production of Liberty ships in nearby Brunswick, the waters of St. Simons became active with German U-boats. In April 1942, just off the coast, the Texas Company oil tanker S. S. Oklahoma and the S. S. Esso Baton Rouge were torpedoed by the Germans, bringing the war very close to home for island residents.
Due in large part to the military's improvement of the island's infrastructure during the war, development on the island boomed in the 1950s and 1960s. More permanent homes and subdivisions were built, and the island was no longer just a summer resort but also a thriving community. In 1950 the Methodist conference and retreat center Epworth by the Sea opened on Gascoigne Bluff. In 1961 novelist Eugenia Price visited St. Simons and began work on her first works of fiction, known as the St. Simons Trilogy. Inspired by real events on the island, Price's trilogy renewed interest in the history of Georgia's coast, and the novelist herself relocated to the island in 1965 and lived there for thirty-one years. St. Simons is also home to contemporary Georgia writer Tina McElroy Ansa.
Since
Epworth by the Sea
1980 St. Simons's population has doubled. The island's continued status as a vacation destination and its ongoing development boom have put historic landmarks and natural areas at risk. While such landmarks as the Fort Frederica ruins and the Battle of Bloody Marsh site are preserved and maintained by the National Park Service, and while the historic lighthouse is maintained by the Coastal Georgia Historical Society, historic Ebos Landing has been taken over by a sewage treatment plant.
Several coastal organizations have formed in recent years to save natural areas on the island. The St. Simons Land Trust, for example, has received donations of large tracts of land and plans to protect property in the island's three traditional African American neighborhoods. Despite its rapid growth and development, St. Simons remains one of the most beautiful and important islands on the Georgia coast.

This Boulder, Colorado remodel by fuentesdesign demonstrates the possibility of renewal in American suburbs, and Passive House design principles. Once an inefficient single story 1,000 square-foot ranch house with a forced air furnace, has been transformed into a two-story, solar powered 2500 square-foot three bedroom home ready for the next generation.
The new design for the home is modern with a sustainable theme, incorporating a palette of natural materials including; reclaimed wood finishes, FSC-certified pine Zola windows and doors, and natural earth and lime plasters that soften the interior and crisp contemporary exterior with a flavor of the west. A Ninety-percent efficient energy recovery fresh air ventilation system provides constant filtered fresh air to every room. The existing interior brick was removed and replaced with insulation. The remaining heating and cooling loads are easily met with the highest degree of comfort via a mini-split heat pump, the peak heat load has been cut by a factor of 4, despite the house doubling in size. During the coldest part of the Colorado winter, a wood stove for ambiance and low carbon back up heat creates a special place in both the living and kitchen area, and upstairs loft.
This ultra energy efficient home relies on extremely high levels of insulation, air-tight detailing and construction, and the implementation of high performance, custom made European windows and doors by Zola Windows. Zola’s ThermoPlus Clad line, which boasts R-11 triple glazing and is thermally broken with a layer of patented German Purenit®, was selected for the project. These windows also provide a seamless indoor/outdoor connection, with 9′ wide folding doors from the dining area and a matching 9′ wide custom countertop folding window that opens the kitchen up to a grassy court where mature trees provide shade and extend the living space during the summer months.
With air-tight construction, this home meets the Passive House Retrofit (EnerPHit) air-tightness standard of

Modern and Open Concept were the driving forces behind this gorgeous kitchen remodel. We removed the wall that previously separated the kitchen and the dining room, and expanded the kitchen's functionality by adding custom cabinetry, by San Francisco based modern cabinetry manufacturer, Sozo Studio, tailored to fit the space and the homeowners needs perfectly. The ultra-matte finish of the charcoal cabinetry contrasts beautifully with the existing hardwood flooring and bright white quartz counters and backsplash.

In the hills of San Anselmo in Marin County, this 5,000 square foot existing multi-story home was enlarged to 6,000 square feet with a new dance studio addition with new master bedroom suite and sitting room for evening entertainment and morning coffee. Sited on a steep hillside one acre lot, the back yard was unusable. New concrete retaining walls and planters were designed to create outdoor play and lounging areas with stairs that cascade down the hill forming a wrap-around walkway. The goal was to make the new addition integrate the disparate design elements of the house and calm it down visually. The scope was not to change everything, just the rear façade and some of the side facades.
The new addition is a long rectangular space inserted into the rear of the building with new up-swooping roof that ties everything together. Clad in red cedar, the exterior reflects the relaxed nature of the one acre wooded hillside site. Fleetwood windows and wood patterned tile complete the exterior color material palate.
The sitting room overlooks a new patio area off of the children’s playroom and features a butt glazed corner window providing views filtered through a grove of bay laurel trees. Inside is a television viewing area with wetbar off to the side that can be closed off with a concealed pocket door to the master bedroom. The bedroom was situated to take advantage of these views of the rear yard and the bed faces a stone tile wall with recessed skylight above. The master bath, a driving force for the project, is large enough to allow both of them to occupy and use at the same time.
The new dance studio and gym was inspired for their two daughters and has become a facility for the whole family. All glass, mirrors and space with cushioned wood sports flooring, views to the new level outdoor area and tree covered side yard make for a dramatic turnaround for a home with little play or usable outdoor space previously.
Photo Credit: Paul Dyer Photography.

The interior of the home went from Colonial to Classic Lodge without changing the footprint of the home. Columns were removed, fur downs removed that defined space, fireplace relocated, kitchen layout and direction changed, breakfast room and sitting room flip flopped, study reduced in size, entry to master bedroom changed, master suite completely re-arranged and enlarged, custom hand railing designed to open up stairwell, hardwood added to stairs, solid knotty alder 8’ doors added, knotty alder crown moldings added, reclaimed beamed ceiling grid, tongue and groove ceiling in kitchen, knotty alder cabinetry, leather finish to granite, seeded glass insets, custom door to panty to showcase an antique stained glass window from childhood church, custom doors and handles made for study entry, shredded straw added to wall texture, custom glazing done to all walls, wood floor remnants created an antique quilt pattern for the back wall of the powder bath, custom wall treatment created by designer, and a mixture of new and antique furnishing were added, all to create a warm, yet lived in feeling for this special family.
A new central stone wall reversed with an over scaled fireplace and reclaimed flooring from the East became the anchor for this level of the home. Removing all the “divisions” of space and using a unified surface made unused rooms, part of the daily living for this family. The desire to entertain large group in a unified space, yet still feel like you are in a cozy environment was the driving force for removing divisions of space.
Photos by Randy Colwell

Brad Haines knows a thing or two about building things. The intensely creative and innovative founder of Oklahoma City-based Haines Capital is the driving force behind numerous successful companies including Bank 7 (NASDAQ BSVN), which proudly reported record year-end earnings since going public in September of last year. He has beautifully built, renovated, and personally thumb printed all of his commercial spaces and residences. “Our theory is to keep things sophisticated but comfortable,” Brad says.
That’s the exact approach he took in his personal haven in Nichols Hills, Oklahoma. Painstakingly renovated over the span of two years by Candeleria Foster Design-Build of Oklahoma City, his home boasts museum-white, authentic Venetian plaster walls and ceilings; charcoal tiled flooring; imported marble in the master bath; and a pretty kitchen you’ll want to emulate.
Reminiscent of an edgy luxury hotel, it is a vibe conjured by Cantoni designer Nicole George. “The new remodel plan was all about opening up the space and layering monochromatic color with lots of texture,” says Nicole, who collaborated with Brad on two previous projects. “The color palette is minimal, with charcoal, bone, amber, stone, linen and leather.”
“Sophisticated“Sophisticated“Sophisticated“Sophisticated“Sophisticated
Nicole helped oversee space planning and selection of interior finishes, lighting, furnishings and fine art for the entire 7,000-square-foot home. It is now decked top-to-bottom in pieces sourced from Cantoni, beginning with the custom-ordered console at entry and a pair of Glacier Suspension fixtures over the stairwell. “Every angle in the house is the result of a critical thought process,” Nicole says. “We wanted to make sure each room would be purposeful.”
To that end, “we reintroduced the ‘parlor,’ and also redefined the formal dining area as a bar and drink lounge with enough space for 10 guests to comfortably dine,” Nicole says. Brad’s parlor holds the Swing sectional customized in a silky, soft-hand charcoal leather crafted by prominent Italian leather furnishings company Gamma. Nicole paired it with the Kate swivel chair customized in a light grey leather, the sleek DK writing desk, and the Black & More bar cabinet by Malerba. “Nicole has a special design talent and adapts quickly to what we expect and like,” Brad says.
To create the restaurant-worthy dining space, Nicole brought in a black-satin glass and marble-topped dining table and mohair-velvet chairs, all by Italian maker Gallotti & Radice. Guests can take a post-dinner respite on the adjoining room’s Aston sectional by Gamma.
In the formal living room, Nicole paired Cantoni’s Fashion Affair club chairs with the Black & More cocktail table, and sofas sourced from Désirée, an Italian furniture upholstery company that creates cutting-edge yet comfortable pieces. The color-coordinating kitchen and breakfast area, meanwhile, hold a set of Guapa counter stools in ash grey leather, and the Ray dining table with light-grey leather Cattelan Italia chairs. The expansive loggia also is ideal for entertaining and lounging with the Versa grand sectional, the Ido cocktail table in grey aged walnut and Dolly chairs customized in black nubuck leather. Nicole made most of the design decisions, but, “she took my suggestions seriously and then put me in my place,” Brad says.
She had the master bedroom’s Marlon bed by Gamma customized in a remarkably soft black leather with a matching stitch and paired it with onyx gloss Black & More nightstands. “The furnishings absolutely complement the style,” Brad says. “They are high-quality and have a modern flair, but at the end of the day, are still comfortable and user-friendly.”
The end result is a home Brad not only enjoys, but one that Nicole also finds exceptional. “I honestly love every part of this house,” Nicole says. “Working with Brad is always an adventure but a privilege that I take very seriously, from the beginning of the design process to installation.”

Family room - mid-sized industrial open concept light wood floor family room idea in San Francisco with white walls, a standard fireplace and a plaster fireplace

Transitional l-shaped kitchen photo in Philadelphia with an island

Originally built in 1929 and designed by famed architect Albert Farr who was responsible for the Wolf House that was built for Jack London in Glen Ellen, this building has always had tremendous historical significance. In keeping with tradition, the new design incorporates intricate plaster crown moulding details throughout with a splash of contemporary finishes lining the corridors. From venetian plaster finishes to German engineered wood flooring this house exhibits a delightful mix of traditional and contemporary styles. Many of the rooms contain reclaimed wood paneling, discretely faux-finished Trufig outlets and a completely integrated Savant Home Automation system. Equipped with radiant flooring and forced air-conditioning on the upper floors as well as a full fitness, sauna and spa recreation center at the basement level, this home truly contains all the amenities of modern-day living. The primary suite area is outfitted with floor to ceiling Calacatta stone with an uninterrupted view of the Golden Gate bridge from the bathtub. This building is a truly iconic and revitalized space.

From cut up and cut off to open, functional, and beautiful. Another complete kitchen gut by Hatfield Builders & Remodelers. This kitchen was cut off from the dining room by a wall and had an odd angled wall that forced the kitchen into an awkward shape. The awkward wall was removed and a new large opening was created to the dining room and front living area. This creates a dramatic view of the kitchen as you enter the home. The large eat in island provides great prep area. Floorplan design by Chad Hatfield, CR, CKBR. Interior Design by Lindy Jo Crutchfield, Allied ASID, our on staff designer. Photography by Lauren Brown of Versatile Imaging.

Ryan Salisbury
Mid-sized transitional u-shaped light wood floor and beige floor eat-in kitchen photo in Toronto with an undermount sink, shaker cabinets, blue cabinets, quartz countertops, white backsplash, subway tile backsplash, stainless steel appliances, an island and white countertops
Mid-sized transitional u-shaped light wood floor and beige floor eat-in kitchen photo in Toronto with an undermount sink, shaker cabinets, blue cabinets, quartz countertops, white backsplash, subway tile backsplash, stainless steel appliances, an island and white countertops
91

