Search results for "Master prove" in Home Design Ideas

This 100-year-old farmhouse underwent a complete head-to-toe renovation. Partnering with Home Star BC we painstakingly modernized the crumbling farmhouse while maintaining its original west coast charm. The only new addition to the home was the kitchen eating area, with its swinging dutch door, patterned cement tile and antique brass lighting fixture. The wood-clad walls throughout the home were made using the walls of the dilapidated barn on the property. Incorporating a classic equestrian aesthetic within each room while still keeping the spaces bright and livable was one of the projects many challenges. The Master bath - formerly a storage room - is the most modern of the home's spaces. Herringbone white-washed floors are partnered with elements such as brick, marble, limestone and reclaimed timber to create a truly eclectic, sun-filled oasis. The gilded crystal sputnik inspired fixture above the bath as well as the sky blue cabinet keep the room fresh and full of personality. Overall, the project proves that bolder, more colorful strokes allow a home to possess what so many others lack: a personality!

This 100-year-old farmhouse underwent a complete head-to-toe renovation. Partnering with Home Star BC we painstakingly modernized the crumbling farmhouse while maintaining its original west coast charm. The only new addition to the home was the kitchen eating area, with its swinging dutch door, patterned cement tile and antique brass lighting fixture. The wood-clad walls throughout the home were made using the walls of the dilapidated barn on the property. Incorporating a classic equestrian aesthetic within each room while still keeping the spaces bright and livable was one of the projects many challenges. The Master bath - formerly a storage room - is the most modern of the home's spaces. Herringbone white-washed floors are partnered with elements such as brick, marble, limestone and reclaimed timber to create a truly eclectic, sun-filled oasis. The gilded crystal sputnik inspired fixture above the bath as well as the sky blue cabinet keep the room fresh and full of personality. Overall, the project proves that bolder, more colorful strokes allow a home to possess what so many others lack: a personality!

This 100-year-old farmhouse underwent a complete head-to-toe renovation. Partnering with Home Star BC we painstakingly modernized the crumbling farmhouse while maintaining its original west coast charm. The only new addition to the home was the kitchen eating area, with its swinging dutch door, patterned cement tile and antique brass lighting fixture. The wood-clad walls throughout the home were made using the walls of the dilapidated barn on the property. Incorporating a classic equestrian aesthetic within each room while still keeping the spaces bright and livable was one of the projects many challenges. The Master bath - formerly a storage room - is the most modern of the home's spaces. Herringbone white-washed floors are partnered with elements such as brick, marble, limestone and reclaimed timber to create a truly eclectic, sun-filled oasis. The gilded crystal sputnik inspired fixture above the bath as well as the sky blue cabinet keep the room fresh and full of personality. Overall, the project proves that bolder, more colorful strokes allow a home to possess what so many others lack: a personality!
Find the right local pro for your project

Stuart Wade, Envision Virtual Tours
The second-largest and most developed of Georgia's barrier islands, St. Simons is approximately twelve miles long and nearly three miles wide at its widest stretch (roughly the size of Manhattan Island in New York). The island is located in Glynn County on Georgia's coast and lies east of Brunswick (the seat of Glynn County), south of Little St. Simons Island and the Hampton River, and north of Jekyll Island. The resort community of Sea Island is separated from St. Simons on the east by the Black Banks River. Known for its oak tree canopies and historic landmarks, St. Simons is both a tourist destination and, according to the 2010 U.S. census, home to 12,743 residents.
Early History
The earliest
St. Simons Island Village
record of human habitation on the island dates to the Late Archaic Period, about 5,000 to 3,000 years ago. Remnants of shell rings left behind by Native Americans from this era survive on many of the barrier islands, including St. Simons. Centuries later, during the period known by historians as the chiefdom era, the Guale Indians established a chiefdom centered on St. Catherines Island and used St. Simons as their hunting and fishing grounds. By 1500 the Guale had established a permanent village of about 200 people on St. Simons, which they called Guadalquini.
Beginning in 1568, the Spanish attempted to create missions along the Georgia coast. Catholic missions were the primary means by which Georgia's indigenous Native American chiefdoms were assimilated into the Spanish colonial system along the northern frontier of greater Spanish Florida. In the 1600s St. Simons became home to two Spanish missions: San Buenaventura de Guadalquini, on the southern tip of the island, and Santo Domingo de Asao (or Asajo), on the northern tip. Located on the inland side of the island were the pagan refugee villages of San Simón, the island's namesake, and Ocotonico. In 1684 pirate raids left the missions and villages largely abandoned.
Colonial History
As
Fort Frederica
early as 1670, with Great Britain's establishment of the colony of Carolina and its expansion into Georgia territory, Spanish rule was threatened by the English. The Georgia coast was considered "debatable land" by England and Spain, even though Spain had fully retreated from St. Simons by 1702. Thirty-one years later General James Edward Oglethorpe founded the English settlement of Savannah. In 1736 he established Fort Frederica, named after the heir to the British throne, Frederick Louis, prince of Wales, on the west side of St. Simons Island to protect Savannah and the Carolinas from the Spanish threat.
Between 1736 and 1749 Fort Frederica was the hub of British military operations along the Georgia frontier. A town of the same name grew up around the fort and was of great importance to the new colony. By 1740 Frederica's population was 1,000. In 1736 the congregation of what would become Christ Church was organized within Fort Frederica as a mission of the Church of England. Charles Wesley led the first services. In 1742 Britain's decisive victory over Spain in the Battle of Bloody Marsh, during the War of Jenkins' Ear, ended the Spanish threat to the Georgia coast. When the British regimen disbanded in 1749, most of the townspeople relocated to the mainland. Fort Frederica went into decline and, except for a short time of prosperity during the 1760s and 1770s under the leadership of merchant James Spalding, never fully recovered. Today the historic citadel's tabby ruins are maintained by the National Park Service.
Plantation Era
By the start of the American Revolution (1775-83), Fort Frederica was obsolete, and St. Simons was left largely uninhabited as most of its residents joined the patriot army. Besides hosting a small Georgia naval victory on the Fort Frederica River, providing guns from its famous fort for use at Fort Morris in Sunbury, and serving as an arena for pillaging by privateers and British soldiers, the island played almost no role in the war.
Following the war, many of the townspeople, their businesses destroyed, turned to agriculture. The island was transformed into fourteen cotton plantations after acres of live oak trees were cleared for farm land and used for building American warships, including the famous USS Constitution, or "Old Ironsides." Although rice was the predominant crop along the neighboring Altamaha River, St. Simons was known for its production of long-staple cotton, which soon came to be known as Sea Island cotton.
Between
Ebos Landing
the 1780s and the outbreak of the Civil War (1861-65), St. Simons's plantation culture flourished. The saline atmosphere and the availability of cheap slave labor proved an ideal combination for the cultivation of Sea Island cotton. In 1803 a group of Ebo slaves who survived the Middle Passage and arrived on the west side of St. Simons staged a rebellion and drowned themselves. The sacred site is known today as Ebos Landing.
One of the largest owners of land and slaves on St. Simons was Pierce Butler, master of Hampton Point Plantation, located on the northern end of the island. By 1793 Butler owned more than 500 slaves, who cultivated 800 acres of cotton on St. Simons and 300 acres of rice on Butler's Island in the Altamaha River delta. Butler's grandson, Pierce Mease Butler, who at the age of sixteen inherited a share of his grandfather's estate in 1826, was responsible for the largest sale of human beings in the history of the United States: in 1859, to restore his squandered fortune, he sold 429 slaves in Savannah for more than $300,000. The British actress and writer Fanny Kemble, whose tumultuous marriage to Pierce ended in divorce in 1849, published an eyewitness account of the evils of slavery on St. Simons in her book Journal of a Residence on a Georgian Plantation in 1838-1839 (1863).
Another
Retreat Plantation
large owner of land and slaves on St. Simons was Major William Page, a friend and employee of Pierce Butler Sr. Before purchasing Retreat Plantation on the southwestern tip of the island in 1804, Page managed the Hampton plantation and Butler's Island. Upon Page's death in 1827, Thomas Butler King inherited the land together with his wife, Page's daughter, Anna Matilda Page King. King expanded his father-in-law's planting empire on St. Simons as well as on the mainland, and by 1835 Retreat Plantation alone was home to as many as 355 slaves.
The center of life during the island's plantation era was Christ Church, Frederica. Organized in 1807 by a group of island planters, the Episcopal church is the second oldest in the Diocese of Georgia. Embargoes imposed by the War of 1812 (1812-15) prevented the parishioners from building a church structure, so they worshiped in the home of John Beck, which stood on the site of Oglethorpe's only St. Simons residence, Orange Hall.
The first Christ Church building, finished on the present site in 1820, was ruined by occupying Union troops during the Civil War. In 1884 the Reverend Anson Dodge Jr. rebuilt the church as a memorial to his first wife, Ellen. The cruciform building with a trussed gothic roof and stained-glass windows remains active today as Christ Church.
Civil War and Beyond
The
St. Simons Island Lighthouse
outbreak of the Civil War in 1861 put a sudden end to St. Simons's lucrative plantation era. In January of that year, Confederate troops were stationed at the south end of the island to guard the entrance to Brunswick Harbor. Slaves from Retreat Plantation, owned by Thomas Butler King, built earthworks and batteries. Plantation residents were scattered—the men joined the Confederate army and their families moved to the mainland. Cannon fire was heard on the island in December 1861, and Confederate troops retreated in February 1862, after dynamiting the lighthouse to keep its beacon from aiding Union troops. Soon thereafter, Union troops occupied the island, which was used as a camp for freed slaves. By August 1862 more than 500 former slaves lived on St. Simons, including Susie King Taylor, who organized a school for freed slave children. But in November the ex-slaves were taken to Hilton Head, South Carolina, and Fernandina, Florida, leaving the island abandoned.
After the Civil War the island never returned to its status as an agricultural community. The plantations lay dormant because there were no slaves to work the fields. After Union general William T. Sherman's January 1865 Special Field Order No. 15 —a demand that former plantations be divided and distributed to former slaves—was overturned by U.S. president Andrew Johnson less than a year later, freedmen and women were forced to work as sharecroppers on the small farms that dotted the land previously occupied by the sprawling plantations.
By
St. Simons Lumber Mills
1870 real economic recovery began with the reestablishment of the timber industry. Norman Dodge and Titus G. Meigs of New York set up lumber mill operations at Gascoigne Bluff, formerly Hamilton Plantation. The lumber mills provided welcome employment for both blacks and whites and also provided mail and passenger boats to the mainland. Such water traffic, together with the construction of a new lighthouse in 1872, designed by architect Charles B. Cluskey, marked the beginning of St. Simons's tourism industry. The keeper of the lighthouse created a small amusement park, which drew many visitors, as did the seemingly miraculous light that traveled from the top of the lighthouse tower to the bottom. The island became a summer retreat for families from the mainland, particularly from Baxley, Brunswick, and Waycross.
The island's resort industry was thriving by the 1880s. Beachfront structures, such as a new pier and grand hotel, were built on the southeastern end of the island and could be accessed by ferry. Around this time wealthy northerners began vacationing on the island.
Twentieth Century
The
St. Simons Island Pier and Village
opening in 1924 of the Brunswick–St. Simons Highway, today known as the Torras Causeway, was a milestone in the development of resorts in the area. St. Simons's beaches were now easily accessible to locals and tourists alike. More than 5,000 automobiles took the short drive from Brunswick to St. Simons via the causeway on its opening day, paving the way for convenient residential and resort development.
In 1926 automotive pioneer Howard Coffin of Detroit, Michigan, bought large tracts of land on St. Simons, including the former Retreat Plantation, and constructed a golf course, yacht club, paved roads, and a residential subdivision. Although the causeway had brought large numbers of summer people to the island, St. Simons remained a small community with only a few hundred permanent residents until the 1940s.
The
St. Simons Island
outbreak of World War II (1941-45) brought more visitors and residents to St. Simons. Troops stationed at Jacksonville, Florida; Savannah; and nearby Camp Stewart took weekend vacations on the island, and a new naval air base and radar school became home to even more officers and soldiers. The increased wartime population brought the island its first public school. With a major shipyard for the production of Liberty ships in nearby Brunswick, the waters of St. Simons became active with German U-boats. In April 1942, just off the coast, the Texas Company oil tanker S. S. Oklahoma and the S. S. Esso Baton Rouge were torpedoed by the Germans, bringing the war very close to home for island residents.
Due in large part to the military's improvement of the island's infrastructure during the war, development on the island boomed in the 1950s and 1960s. More permanent homes and subdivisions were built, and the island was no longer just a summer resort but also a thriving community. In 1950 the Methodist conference and retreat center Epworth by the Sea opened on Gascoigne Bluff. In 1961 novelist Eugenia Price visited St. Simons and began work on her first works of fiction, known as the St. Simons Trilogy. Inspired by real events on the island, Price's trilogy renewed interest in the history of Georgia's coast, and the novelist herself relocated to the island in 1965 and lived there for thirty-one years. St. Simons is also home to contemporary Georgia writer Tina McElroy Ansa.
Since
Epworth by the Sea
1980 St. Simons's population has doubled. The island's continued status as a vacation destination and its ongoing development boom have put historic landmarks and natural areas at risk. While such landmarks as the Fort Frederica ruins and the Battle of Bloody Marsh site are preserved and maintained by the National Park Service, and while the historic lighthouse is maintained by the Coastal Georgia Historical Society, historic Ebos Landing has been taken over by a sewage treatment plant.
Several coastal organizations have formed in recent years to save natural areas on the island. The St. Simons Land Trust, for example, has received donations of large tracts of land and plans to protect property in the island's three traditional African American neighborhoods. Despite its rapid growth and development, St. Simons remains one of the most beautiful and important islands on the Georgia coast.

New york plantings green roof top garden design nyc with custom built planters and landscape lights by newyorkplantings.
Greenroof is still in its infancy even though the concept has been around for a long time, even a hundred years or more.
NY plantings has the concept and business model to service the trade by providing expert contracting services, experienced professional staff and project management that effectively and efficiently gets the job done.
Who would be interested in working with nyp garden designers and landsp...nyc?
Landscape architects, designers, garden designers, landscape design professionals, general contractors, property owners, property management companies, project managers and anyone who requires a company that first is a master garden and NY landscaping company. Tree planting, garden installation and complete plantings installations including personalized design touches such as specimen shrubs, flowering trees, dwarf conifers and trees, landscape boulders and moss rock, flowers and climbers.
NY Plantings can work from a design concept only without requiring a detailed landscape drawing or garden plan. True enthusiasm and years of hands on experience mean that you don’t even need a detailed planting plan; in most cases lead designer, Todd Nappi makes suggestions or improvements to the typical NYC landscape Designer provided garden design plan that both achieve highly desirable results and can possibly even save money vs. the cost of the original rooftop garden design or traditional landscape.
A high technical aptitude with experience in building rooftop and terrace gardens from scratch, solving challenging issues onsite and the ability to make the right decisions prove that NY Plantings is a resource as a landscape or rooftop garden contractor to the Landscape Design trade.
Besides Gardening, Drip irrigation and landscape lighting NY Plantings has been also specializing in hard capes, outdoor construction such as decks, pergolas, custom built planter boxes, custom fence, lattice, trellis and living walls (vertical gardening)
Nyc terrace garden and custom built planter design by newyorkplantings. Greenroof design and construction is the new frontier for any urban epicenter and NY Plantings green roofing installers are up to the task.
As the green roof industry becomes more mature so will NY Plantings remain a resource as a contractor for providing and installing greenroof systems in Manhattan and the NY Metro areas.
#newyorkplantings
New York Plantings Garden Designers and Landscape contracting
432 E 14st
New York, NY 10009
Call: 347-558-7051
site url: http://www.newyorkplantings.com/
info@newyorkplantings.com

Stuart Wade, Envision Virtual Tours
The second-largest and most developed of Georgia's barrier islands, St. Simons is approximately twelve miles long and nearly three miles wide at its widest stretch (roughly the size of Manhattan Island in New York). The island is located in Glynn County on Georgia's coast and lies east of Brunswick (the seat of Glynn County), south of Little St. Simons Island and the Hampton River, and north of Jekyll Island. The resort community of Sea Island is separated from St. Simons on the east by the Black Banks River. Known for its oak tree canopies and historic landmarks, St. Simons is both a tourist destination and, according to the 2010 U.S. census, home to 12,743 residents.
Early History
The earliest
St. Simons Island Village
record of human habitation on the island dates to the Late Archaic Period, about 5,000 to 3,000 years ago. Remnants of shell rings left behind by Native Americans from this era survive on many of the barrier islands, including St. Simons. Centuries later, during the period known by historians as the chiefdom era, the Guale Indians established a chiefdom centered on St. Catherines Island and used St. Simons as their hunting and fishing grounds. By 1500 the Guale had established a permanent village of about 200 people on St. Simons, which they called Guadalquini.
Beginning in 1568, the Spanish attempted to create missions along the Georgia coast. Catholic missions were the primary means by which Georgia's indigenous Native American chiefdoms were assimilated into the Spanish colonial system along the northern frontier of greater Spanish Florida. In the 1600s St. Simons became home to two Spanish missions: San Buenaventura de Guadalquini, on the southern tip of the island, and Santo Domingo de Asao (or Asajo), on the northern tip. Located on the inland side of the island were the pagan refugee villages of San Simón, the island's namesake, and Ocotonico. In 1684 pirate raids left the missions and villages largely abandoned.
Colonial History
As
Fort Frederica
early as 1670, with Great Britain's establishment of the colony of Carolina and its expansion into Georgia territory, Spanish rule was threatened by the English. The Georgia coast was considered "debatable land" by England and Spain, even though Spain had fully retreated from St. Simons by 1702. Thirty-one years later General James Edward Oglethorpe founded the English settlement of Savannah. In 1736 he established Fort Frederica, named after the heir to the British throne, Frederick Louis, prince of Wales, on the west side of St. Simons Island to protect Savannah and the Carolinas from the Spanish threat.
Between 1736 and 1749 Fort Frederica was the hub of British military operations along the Georgia frontier. A town of the same name grew up around the fort and was of great importance to the new colony. By 1740 Frederica's population was 1,000. In 1736 the congregation of what would become Christ Church was organized within Fort Frederica as a mission of the Church of England. Charles Wesley led the first services. In 1742 Britain's decisive victory over Spain in the Battle of Bloody Marsh, during the War of Jenkins' Ear, ended the Spanish threat to the Georgia coast. When the British regimen disbanded in 1749, most of the townspeople relocated to the mainland. Fort Frederica went into decline and, except for a short time of prosperity during the 1760s and 1770s under the leadership of merchant James Spalding, never fully recovered. Today the historic citadel's tabby ruins are maintained by the National Park Service.
Plantation Era
By the start of the American Revolution (1775-83), Fort Frederica was obsolete, and St. Simons was left largely uninhabited as most of its residents joined the patriot army. Besides hosting a small Georgia naval victory on the Fort Frederica River, providing guns from its famous fort for use at Fort Morris in Sunbury, and serving as an arena for pillaging by privateers and British soldiers, the island played almost no role in the war.
Following the war, many of the townspeople, their businesses destroyed, turned to agriculture. The island was transformed into fourteen cotton plantations after acres of live oak trees were cleared for farm land and used for building American warships, including the famous USS Constitution, or "Old Ironsides." Although rice was the predominant crop along the neighboring Altamaha River, St. Simons was known for its production of long-staple cotton, which soon came to be known as Sea Island cotton.
Between
Ebos Landing
the 1780s and the outbreak of the Civil War (1861-65), St. Simons's plantation culture flourished. The saline atmosphere and the availability of cheap slave labor proved an ideal combination for the cultivation of Sea Island cotton. In 1803 a group of Ebo slaves who survived the Middle Passage and arrived on the west side of St. Simons staged a rebellion and drowned themselves. The sacred site is known today as Ebos Landing.
One of the largest owners of land and slaves on St. Simons was Pierce Butler, master of Hampton Point Plantation, located on the northern end of the island. By 1793 Butler owned more than 500 slaves, who cultivated 800 acres of cotton on St. Simons and 300 acres of rice on Butler's Island in the Altamaha River delta. Butler's grandson, Pierce Mease Butler, who at the age of sixteen inherited a share of his grandfather's estate in 1826, was responsible for the largest sale of human beings in the history of the United States: in 1859, to restore his squandered fortune, he sold 429 slaves in Savannah for more than $300,000. The British actress and writer Fanny Kemble, whose tumultuous marriage to Pierce ended in divorce in 1849, published an eyewitness account of the evils of slavery on St. Simons in her book Journal of a Residence on a Georgian Plantation in 1838-1839 (1863).
Another
Retreat Plantation
large owner of land and slaves on St. Simons was Major William Page, a friend and employee of Pierce Butler Sr. Before purchasing Retreat Plantation on the southwestern tip of the island in 1804, Page managed the Hampton plantation and Butler's Island. Upon Page's death in 1827, Thomas Butler King inherited the land together with his wife, Page's daughter, Anna Matilda Page King. King expanded his father-in-law's planting empire on St. Simons as well as on the mainland, and by 1835 Retreat Plantation alone was home to as many as 355 slaves.
The center of life during the island's plantation era was Christ Church, Frederica. Organized in 1807 by a group of island planters, the Episcopal church is the second oldest in the Diocese of Georgia. Embargoes imposed by the War of 1812 (1812-15) prevented the parishioners from building a church structure, so they worshiped in the home of John Beck, which stood on the site of Oglethorpe's only St. Simons residence, Orange Hall.
The first Christ Church building, finished on the present site in 1820, was ruined by occupying Union troops during the Civil War. In 1884 the Reverend Anson Dodge Jr. rebuilt the church as a memorial to his first wife, Ellen. The cruciform building with a trussed gothic roof and stained-glass windows remains active today as Christ Church.
Civil War and Beyond
The
St. Simons Island Lighthouse
outbreak of the Civil War in 1861 put a sudden end to St. Simons's lucrative plantation era. In January of that year, Confederate troops were stationed at the south end of the island to guard the entrance to Brunswick Harbor. Slaves from Retreat Plantation, owned by Thomas Butler King, built earthworks and batteries. Plantation residents were scattered—the men joined the Confederate army and their families moved to the mainland. Cannon fire was heard on the island in December 1861, and Confederate troops retreated in February 1862, after dynamiting the lighthouse to keep its beacon from aiding Union troops. Soon thereafter, Union troops occupied the island, which was used as a camp for freed slaves. By August 1862 more than 500 former slaves lived on St. Simons, including Susie King Taylor, who organized a school for freed slave children. But in November the ex-slaves were taken to Hilton Head, South Carolina, and Fernandina, Florida, leaving the island abandoned.
After the Civil War the island never returned to its status as an agricultural community. The plantations lay dormant because there were no slaves to work the fields. After Union general William T. Sherman's January 1865 Special Field Order No. 15 —a demand that former plantations be divided and distributed to former slaves—was overturned by U.S. president Andrew Johnson less than a year later, freedmen and women were forced to work as sharecroppers on the small farms that dotted the land previously occupied by the sprawling plantations.
By
St. Simons Lumber Mills
1870 real economic recovery began with the reestablishment of the timber industry. Norman Dodge and Titus G. Meigs of New York set up lumber mill operations at Gascoigne Bluff, formerly Hamilton Plantation. The lumber mills provided welcome employment for both blacks and whites and also provided mail and passenger boats to the mainland. Such water traffic, together with the construction of a new lighthouse in 1872, designed by architect Charles B. Cluskey, marked the beginning of St. Simons's tourism industry. The keeper of the lighthouse created a small amusement park, which drew many visitors, as did the seemingly miraculous light that traveled from the top of the lighthouse tower to the bottom. The island became a summer retreat for families from the mainland, particularly from Baxley, Brunswick, and Waycross.
The island's resort industry was thriving by the 1880s. Beachfront structures, such as a new pier and grand hotel, were built on the southeastern end of the island and could be accessed by ferry. Around this time wealthy northerners began vacationing on the island.
Twentieth Century
The
St. Simons Island Pier and Village
opening in 1924 of the Brunswick–St. Simons Highway, today known as the Torras Causeway, was a milestone in the development of resorts in the area. St. Simons's beaches were now easily accessible to locals and tourists alike. More than 5,000 automobiles took the short drive from Brunswick to St. Simons via the causeway on its opening day, paving the way for convenient residential and resort development.
In 1926 automotive pioneer Howard Coffin of Detroit, Michigan, bought large tracts of land on St. Simons, including the former Retreat Plantation, and constructed a golf course, yacht club, paved roads, and a residential subdivision. Although the causeway had brought large numbers of summer people to the island, St. Simons remained a small community with only a few hundred permanent residents until the 1940s.
The
St. Simons Island
outbreak of World War II (1941-45) brought more visitors and residents to St. Simons. Troops stationed at Jacksonville, Florida; Savannah; and nearby Camp Stewart took weekend vacations on the island, and a new naval air base and radar school became home to even more officers and soldiers. The increased wartime population brought the island its first public school. With a major shipyard for the production of Liberty ships in nearby Brunswick, the waters of St. Simons became active with German U-boats. In April 1942, just off the coast, the Texas Company oil tanker S. S. Oklahoma and the S. S. Esso Baton Rouge were torpedoed by the Germans, bringing the war very close to home for island residents.
Due in large part to the military's improvement of the island's infrastructure during the war, development on the island boomed in the 1950s and 1960s. More permanent homes and subdivisions were built, and the island was no longer just a summer resort but also a thriving community. In 1950 the Methodist conference and retreat center Epworth by the Sea opened on Gascoigne Bluff. In 1961 novelist Eugenia Price visited St. Simons and began work on her first works of fiction, known as the St. Simons Trilogy. Inspired by real events on the island, Price's trilogy renewed interest in the history of Georgia's coast, and the novelist herself relocated to the island in 1965 and lived there for thirty-one years. St. Simons is also home to contemporary Georgia writer Tina McElroy Ansa.
Since
Epworth by the Sea
1980 St. Simons's population has doubled. The island's continued status as a vacation destination and its ongoing development boom have put historic landmarks and natural areas at risk. While such landmarks as the Fort Frederica ruins and the Battle of Bloody Marsh site are preserved and maintained by the National Park Service, and while the historic lighthouse is maintained by the Coastal Georgia Historical Society, historic Ebos Landing has been taken over by a sewage treatment plant.
Several coastal organizations have formed in recent years to save natural areas on the island. The St. Simons Land Trust, for example, has received donations of large tracts of land and plans to protect property in the island's three traditional African American neighborhoods. Despite its rapid growth and development, St. Simons remains one of the most beautiful and important islands on the Georgia coast.

Designed By: Sarah Buehlman
Marc and Mandy Maister were clients and fans of Cantoni before they purchased this harbor home on Balboa Island. The South African natives originally met designer Sarah Buehlman and Cantoni’s Founder and CEO Michael Wilkov at a storewide sale, and quickly established a relationship as they bought furnishings for their primary residence in Newport Beach.
So, when the couple decided to invest in this gorgeous second home, in one of the ritziest enclaves in North America, they sought Sarah’s help in transforming the outdated 1960’s residence into a modern marvel. “It’s now the ultimate beach house,” says Sarah, “and finished in Cantoni from top to bottom—including new custom cabinetry installed throughout.”
But let’s back up. This project began when Mandy contacted Sarah in the midst of the remodel process (in December 2010), asking if she could come take a look and help with the overall design.
“The plans were being drawn up with an architect, and they opted not to move anything major. Instead, they updated everything—as in the small carpeted staircase that became a gorgeous glass and metal sculpture,” Sarah explains. She took photographs and measurements, and then set to work creating the scaled renderings. “Marc and Mandy were drawn to the One and Only Collection. It features a high-gloss brown and white color scheme which served as inspiration for the project,” says Sarah.
Primary pieces in the expansive living area include the Mondrian leather sectional, the Involution sculpture, and a pair of Vladimir Kagan Corkscrew swivel chairs. The Maisters needed a place to house all their electronics but didn’t want a typical entertainment center. The One and Only buffet was actually modified by our skilled shop technicians, in our distribution center, so it could accommodate all the couple’s media equipment. “These artisans are another one of our hidden strengths—in addition to the design tools, inventory and extensive resources we have to get a job done,” adds Sarah. Marc and Mandy also fell in love with the exotic Makassar ebony wood in the Ritz Collection, which Sarah combined in the master bedroom with the Ravenna double chaise to provide an extra place to sit and enjoy the beautiful harbor views.
Beyond new furnishings, the Maisters also decided to completely redo their kitchen. And though Marc and Mandy did not have a chance to actually see our kitchen displays, having worked with Sarah over the years, they had immense trust in our commitment to craftsmanship and quality. In fact, they opted for new cabinetry in four bathrooms as well as the laundry room based on our 3D renderings and lacquer samples alone—without ever opening a drawer. “Their trust in my expertise and Cantoni’s reputation were a major deciding factor,” says Sarah.
This plush second home, complete with a private boat dock right out back, counts as one of Sarah’s proudest accomplishments. “These long-time clients are great. They love Cantoni and appreciate high quality Italian furnishings in particular. The home is so gorgeous that once you are inside and open the Nano doors, you simply don’t want to leave.” The job took almost two years to complete, but everyone seems quite happy with the results, proving that large or small—and in cases necessitating a quick turnaround or execution of a long-term vision—Cantoni has the resources to come through for all clients.

Stuart Wade, Envision Virtual Tours
The second-largest and most developed of Georgia's barrier islands, St. Simons is approximately twelve miles long and nearly three miles wide at its widest stretch (roughly the size of Manhattan Island in New York). The island is located in Glynn County on Georgia's coast and lies east of Brunswick (the seat of Glynn County), south of Little St. Simons Island and the Hampton River, and north of Jekyll Island. The resort community of Sea Island is separated from St. Simons on the east by the Black Banks River. Known for its oak tree canopies and historic landmarks, St. Simons is both a tourist destination and, according to the 2010 U.S. census, home to 12,743 residents.
Early History
The earliest
St. Simons Island Village
record of human habitation on the island dates to the Late Archaic Period, about 5,000 to 3,000 years ago. Remnants of shell rings left behind by Native Americans from this era survive on many of the barrier islands, including St. Simons. Centuries later, during the period known by historians as the chiefdom era, the Guale Indians established a chiefdom centered on St. Catherines Island and used St. Simons as their hunting and fishing grounds. By 1500 the Guale had established a permanent village of about 200 people on St. Simons, which they called Guadalquini.
Beginning in 1568, the Spanish attempted to create missions along the Georgia coast. Catholic missions were the primary means by which Georgia's indigenous Native American chiefdoms were assimilated into the Spanish colonial system along the northern frontier of greater Spanish Florida. In the 1600s St. Simons became home to two Spanish missions: San Buenaventura de Guadalquini, on the southern tip of the island, and Santo Domingo de Asao (or Asajo), on the northern tip. Located on the inland side of the island were the pagan refugee villages of San Simón, the island's namesake, and Ocotonico. In 1684 pirate raids left the missions and villages largely abandoned.
Colonial History
As
Fort Frederica
early as 1670, with Great Britain's establishment of the colony of Carolina and its expansion into Georgia territory, Spanish rule was threatened by the English. The Georgia coast was considered "debatable land" by England and Spain, even though Spain had fully retreated from St. Simons by 1702. Thirty-one years later General James Edward Oglethorpe founded the English settlement of Savannah. In 1736 he established Fort Frederica, named after the heir to the British throne, Frederick Louis, prince of Wales, on the west side of St. Simons Island to protect Savannah and the Carolinas from the Spanish threat.
Between 1736 and 1749 Fort Frederica was the hub of British military operations along the Georgia frontier. A town of the same name grew up around the fort and was of great importance to the new colony. By 1740 Frederica's population was 1,000. In 1736 the congregation of what would become Christ Church was organized within Fort Frederica as a mission of the Church of England. Charles Wesley led the first services. In 1742 Britain's decisive victory over Spain in the Battle of Bloody Marsh, during the War of Jenkins' Ear, ended the Spanish threat to the Georgia coast. When the British regimen disbanded in 1749, most of the townspeople relocated to the mainland. Fort Frederica went into decline and, except for a short time of prosperity during the 1760s and 1770s under the leadership of merchant James Spalding, never fully recovered. Today the historic citadel's tabby ruins are maintained by the National Park Service.
Plantation Era
By the start of the American Revolution (1775-83), Fort Frederica was obsolete, and St. Simons was left largely uninhabited as most of its residents joined the patriot army. Besides hosting a small Georgia naval victory on the Fort Frederica River, providing guns from its famous fort for use at Fort Morris in Sunbury, and serving as an arena for pillaging by privateers and British soldiers, the island played almost no role in the war.
Following the war, many of the townspeople, their businesses destroyed, turned to agriculture. The island was transformed into fourteen cotton plantations after acres of live oak trees were cleared for farm land and used for building American warships, including the famous USS Constitution, or "Old Ironsides." Although rice was the predominant crop along the neighboring Altamaha River, St. Simons was known for its production of long-staple cotton, which soon came to be known as Sea Island cotton.
Between
Ebos Landing
the 1780s and the outbreak of the Civil War (1861-65), St. Simons's plantation culture flourished. The saline atmosphere and the availability of cheap slave labor proved an ideal combination for the cultivation of Sea Island cotton. In 1803 a group of Ebo slaves who survived the Middle Passage and arrived on the west side of St. Simons staged a rebellion and drowned themselves. The sacred site is known today as Ebos Landing.
One of the largest owners of land and slaves on St. Simons was Pierce Butler, master of Hampton Point Plantation, located on the northern end of the island. By 1793 Butler owned more than 500 slaves, who cultivated 800 acres of cotton on St. Simons and 300 acres of rice on Butler's Island in the Altamaha River delta. Butler's grandson, Pierce Mease Butler, who at the age of sixteen inherited a share of his grandfather's estate in 1826, was responsible for the largest sale of human beings in the history of the United States: in 1859, to restore his squandered fortune, he sold 429 slaves in Savannah for more than $300,000. The British actress and writer Fanny Kemble, whose tumultuous marriage to Pierce ended in divorce in 1849, published an eyewitness account of the evils of slavery on St. Simons in her book Journal of a Residence on a Georgian Plantation in 1838-1839 (1863).
Another
Retreat Plantation
large owner of land and slaves on St. Simons was Major William Page, a friend and employee of Pierce Butler Sr. Before purchasing Retreat Plantation on the southwestern tip of the island in 1804, Page managed the Hampton plantation and Butler's Island. Upon Page's death in 1827, Thomas Butler King inherited the land together with his wife, Page's daughter, Anna Matilda Page King. King expanded his father-in-law's planting empire on St. Simons as well as on the mainland, and by 1835 Retreat Plantation alone was home to as many as 355 slaves.
The center of life during the island's plantation era was Christ Church, Frederica. Organized in 1807 by a group of island planters, the Episcopal church is the second oldest in the Diocese of Georgia. Embargoes imposed by the War of 1812 (1812-15) prevented the parishioners from building a church structure, so they worshiped in the home of John Beck, which stood on the site of Oglethorpe's only St. Simons residence, Orange Hall.
The first Christ Church building, finished on the present site in 1820, was ruined by occupying Union troops during the Civil War. In 1884 the Reverend Anson Dodge Jr. rebuilt the church as a memorial to his first wife, Ellen. The cruciform building with a trussed gothic roof and stained-glass windows remains active today as Christ Church.
Civil War and Beyond
The
St. Simons Island Lighthouse
outbreak of the Civil War in 1861 put a sudden end to St. Simons's lucrative plantation era. In January of that year, Confederate troops were stationed at the south end of the island to guard the entrance to Brunswick Harbor. Slaves from Retreat Plantation, owned by Thomas Butler King, built earthworks and batteries. Plantation residents were scattered—the men joined the Confederate army and their families moved to the mainland. Cannon fire was heard on the island in December 1861, and Confederate troops retreated in February 1862, after dynamiting the lighthouse to keep its beacon from aiding Union troops. Soon thereafter, Union troops occupied the island, which was used as a camp for freed slaves. By August 1862 more than 500 former slaves lived on St. Simons, including Susie King Taylor, who organized a school for freed slave children. But in November the ex-slaves were taken to Hilton Head, South Carolina, and Fernandina, Florida, leaving the island abandoned.
After the Civil War the island never returned to its status as an agricultural community. The plantations lay dormant because there were no slaves to work the fields. After Union general William T. Sherman's January 1865 Special Field Order No. 15 —a demand that former plantations be divided and distributed to former slaves—was overturned by U.S. president Andrew Johnson less than a year later, freedmen and women were forced to work as sharecroppers on the small farms that dotted the land previously occupied by the sprawling plantations.
By
St. Simons Lumber Mills
1870 real economic recovery began with the reestablishment of the timber industry. Norman Dodge and Titus G. Meigs of New York set up lumber mill operations at Gascoigne Bluff, formerly Hamilton Plantation. The lumber mills provided welcome employment for both blacks and whites and also provided mail and passenger boats to the mainland. Such water traffic, together with the construction of a new lighthouse in 1872, designed by architect Charles B. Cluskey, marked the beginning of St. Simons's tourism industry. The keeper of the lighthouse created a small amusement park, which drew many visitors, as did the seemingly miraculous light that traveled from the top of the lighthouse tower to the bottom. The island became a summer retreat for families from the mainland, particularly from Baxley, Brunswick, and Waycross.
The island's resort industry was thriving by the 1880s. Beachfront structures, such as a new pier and grand hotel, were built on the southeastern end of the island and could be accessed by ferry. Around this time wealthy northerners began vacationing on the island.
Twentieth Century
The
St. Simons Island Pier and Village
opening in 1924 of the Brunswick–St. Simons Highway, today known as the Torras Causeway, was a milestone in the development of resorts in the area. St. Simons's beaches were now easily accessible to locals and tourists alike. More than 5,000 automobiles took the short drive from Brunswick to St. Simons via the causeway on its opening day, paving the way for convenient residential and resort development.
In 1926 automotive pioneer Howard Coffin of Detroit, Michigan, bought large tracts of land on St. Simons, including the former Retreat Plantation, and constructed a golf course, yacht club, paved roads, and a residential subdivision. Although the causeway had brought large numbers of summer people to the island, St. Simons remained a small community with only a few hundred permanent residents until the 1940s.
The
St. Simons Island
outbreak of World War II (1941-45) brought more visitors and residents to St. Simons. Troops stationed at Jacksonville, Florida; Savannah; and nearby Camp Stewart took weekend vacations on the island, and a new naval air base and radar school became home to even more officers and soldiers. The increased wartime population brought the island its first public school. With a major shipyard for the production of Liberty ships in nearby Brunswick, the waters of St. Simons became active with German U-boats. In April 1942, just off the coast, the Texas Company oil tanker S. S. Oklahoma and the S. S. Esso Baton Rouge were torpedoed by the Germans, bringing the war very close to home for island residents.
Due in large part to the military's improvement of the island's infrastructure during the war, development on the island boomed in the 1950s and 1960s. More permanent homes and subdivisions were built, and the island was no longer just a summer resort but also a thriving community. In 1950 the Methodist conference and retreat center Epworth by the Sea opened on Gascoigne Bluff. In 1961 novelist Eugenia Price visited St. Simons and began work on her first works of fiction, known as the St. Simons Trilogy. Inspired by real events on the island, Price's trilogy renewed interest in the history of Georgia's coast, and the novelist herself relocated to the island in 1965 and lived there for thirty-one years. St. Simons is also home to contemporary Georgia writer Tina McElroy Ansa.
Since
Epworth by the Sea
1980 St. Simons's population has doubled. The island's continued status as a vacation destination and its ongoing development boom have put historic landmarks and natural areas at risk. While such landmarks as the Fort Frederica ruins and the Battle of Bloody Marsh site are preserved and maintained by the National Park Service, and while the historic lighthouse is maintained by the Coastal Georgia Historical Society, historic Ebos Landing has been taken over by a sewage treatment plant.
Several coastal organizations have formed in recent years to save natural areas on the island. The St. Simons Land Trust, for example, has received donations of large tracts of land and plans to protect property in the island's three traditional African American neighborhoods. Despite its rapid growth and development, St. Simons remains one of the most beautiful and important islands on the Georgia coast.

This partially wooded, acre and a half lot in West Dundee presented many challenges.
The clients began working with a Landscape Architect in the early spring, but after not getting the innovative ideas they were seeking, the home builder and Architect suggested the client contact our landscape design/build firm. We immediately hit it off with the charismatic clients. They had a tall order for us: complete the design and implement the construction within a three month period. For many projects this would be a reasonable time frame. However construction delays and the coordination of multiple trades left a very short window to complete the work.
Beyond the tight time frame the site required specific care in preserving the many mature surrounding trees, as well as addressing a vast grade change. Over fifteen feet of grade change occurs from one end of this woodland property to the other.
All of these constraints proved to be an enormous challenge as we worked to include and coordinate the following elements: the drive layout, a dramatic front entry, various gardens, landscape lighting, irrigation, and a plan for a backyard pool and entertainment space that already had been started without a clear plan.
Fortunately, the client loved our design ideas and attention to detail and we were able to mobilize and begin construction. With the seamless coordination between our firm and the builder we implemented all the elements of this grand project. In total eight different crews and five separate trades worked together to complete the landscape.
The completed project resulted in a rewarding experience for our firm, the builder and architect, as well as the client. Together we were able to create and construct a perfect oasis for the client that suited the beautiful property and the architecture of this dream home.

Greenroof is still in its infancy even though the concept has been around for a long time, even a hundred years or more.
NY plantings has the concept and business model to service the trade by providing expert contracting services, experienced professional staff and project management that effectively and efficiently gets the job done.
Landscape architects, designers, garden designers, landscape design professionals, general contractors, property owners, property management companies, project managers and anyone who requires a company that first is a master garden and NY landscaping company. Tree planting, garden installation and complete plantings installations including personalized design touches such as specimen shrubs, flowering trees, dwarf conifers and trees, landscape boulders and moss rock, flowers and climbers.
NY Plantings can work from a design concept only without requiring a detailed landscape drawing or garden plan. True enthusiasm and years of hands on experience mean that you don’t even need a detailed planting plan; in most cases lead designer, Todd Nappi makes suggestions or improvements to the typical NYC landscape Designer provided garden design plan that both achieve highly desirable results and can possibly even save money vs. the cost of the original rooftop garden design or traditional landscape.
A high technical aptitude with experience in building rooftop and terrace gardens from scratch, solving challenging issues onsite and the ability to make the right decisions prove that NY Plantings is a resource as a landscape or rooftop garden contractor to the Landscape Design trade.
Besides Gardening, Drip irrigation and landscape lighting NY Plantings has been also specializing in hard capes, outdoor construction such as decks, pergolas, custom built planter boxes, custom fence, lattice, trellis and living walls (vertical gardening)
Greenroof design and construction is the new frontier for any urban epicentre and NY Plantings green roofing installers are up to the task.
As the green roof industry becomes more mature so will NY Plantings remain a resource as a contractor for providing and installing greenroof systems in Manhattan and the NY Metro areas.
#newyorkplantings
New York Plantings Garden Designers and Landscape contracting
432 E 14st
New York, NY 10009
Call: 347-558-7051
site url: http://www.newyorkplantings.com/
info@newyorkplantings.com

This 100-year-old farmhouse underwent a complete head-to-toe renovation. Partnering with Home Star BC we painstakingly modernized the crumbling farmhouse while maintaining its original west coast charm. The only new addition to the home was the kitchen eating area, with its swinging dutch door, patterned cement tile and antique brass lighting fixture. The wood-clad walls throughout the home were made using the walls of the dilapidated barn on the property. Incorporating a classic equestrian aesthetic within each room while still keeping the spaces bright and livable was one of the projects many challenges. The Master bath - formerly a storage room - is the most modern of the home's spaces. Herringbone white-washed floors are partnered with elements such as brick, marble, limestone and reclaimed timber to create a truly eclectic, sun-filled oasis. The gilded crystal sputnik inspired fixture above the bath as well as the sky blue cabinet keep the room fresh and full of personality. Overall, the project proves that bolder, more colorful strokes allow a home to possess what so many others lack: a personality!

Our client was a family with younger children that came to us through the recommendations of former customers. Their existing house had been remodeled by them 10 years earlier and was well-suited to the married couple. With the addition of two younger children, they realized that the house just didn’t function very well for their family. Fortunately, the husband and wife took their time thinking about what they wanted, and by the time they met with us, had their needs well laid out. We brought in local Architect, James Stroupe, and recommended him to the client as a collaborative professional who could help us achieve their goals. This proved to be the case. Jim quickly produced design drawings for them within six weeks that clearly reflected all of the client’s needs and preferences while at the same time dramatically re-creating the home in a beautiful contemporary design.
The new home required a complete reconstruction of the existing house that left only one bathroom unaltered. New square footage was added at the lower level to expand and reconfigure the living area, while an entirely new upstairs wing was constructed to create space for a new master suite with views out toward the ocean. The entire roof was rebuilt, all new windows and interior doors were added and the full exterior received a new modern looking stucco finish. Stainless steel cable railings were added to the decks to create an updated look, and fine hardwood accents were used to pull the design together.
Our efforts produced a new three bedroom, three bath home with a large and inviting ground floor patio area, wide open living areas on the first floor with new kitchen, bathroom and dining room. The photographs in this section show the striking results- clean lines, dramatic architectural touches, and light, open and airy interior spaces. Our client was very pleased with the results.

Hayden Estate Spa: The DTV Digital Command Center & Total Hydrotherapy
This close-up perspective dives into the high-tech core of the en-suite’s 18-head steam suite. This view demonstrates the sophisticated integration required to pull off a private, residential spa. By utilizing a central Kohler DTV digital command center, we provided the homeowner with total, computerized control over their hydrotherapy, steam, and environmental settings in one seamless, wall-mounted interface.
Advanced Technical & Design Specs:
DTV Digital Interface: This wall-mounted, computerized controller is the hub of the entire system. It orchestrates water temperature, flow, steam duration, integrated lighting, and the Bluetooth Polk Audio soundscape, all from a user-friendly digital display.
18-Outlet Command Matrix: The system manages an expansive array of 18 total water sources, including the visible column of high-pressure wall-mounted massaging body sprayers. Note the precision vertical alignment, engineered to provide a customizable full-body massage.
Racing-Grade Steam Suite: This view highlights the steam-tight glass enclosure, essential for maintaining the custom "racing-grade" steam generator's efficiency. The deep, radius-cornered LED-lit shampoo niche adds functionality while proving that technical spaces don’t sacrifice artisan finish.
Integrated Precision Lighting: The subtle linear LED lighting in the recessed niche and the computerized ambient light settings controlled by the DTV panel ensure the perfect atmosphere, from an energizing morning shower to a relaxing evening steam.
Material Integrity: The large-format Italian porcelain tile flows directly into the shower floor over the thermostat-controlled radiant heating system, providing a "cold-spot-free" transition into the hydrotherapy zone.

Sponsored
Sunbury, OH
J.Holderby - Renovations
Franklin County's Leading General Contractors - 2X Best of Houzz!

Garden Designers and Landscape Contractors rooftop garden specialists NYC sharing yet another of our great penthouse gardens where we planted, provide garden care services, terrace cleaning, drip irrigation installation and rooftop garden irrigation services, landscape lighting system LED upgrades and several other services here at this Manhattan Penthouse roof garden.
New York Plantings Irrigation and Landscape Lighting NYC has also helped to restore and setup a great copper custom built water feature adding remote control to an older installation.
For master garden and professional irrigation services from one NYC Landscape Design company that will prove to be experts in all facets of outdoor space design, construction and maintenance please contact NY Plantings Garden Designers NYC at 347-558-7051
New York Plantings
box 1229 335 E 14st
Manhattan, NY 10009
#landscapedesigner #roofgardens #dripirrigationnyc

No clutter on the countertop — that was the design brief from day one. This DIY custom ensuite vanity was built from scratch with in-drawer power integrated into the design, giving every styling tool a dedicated place to live, charge, and stay out of sight. A build that proves thoughtful planning and a clean countertop are not a compromise. Save this for your next custom vanity project. #bathroomdesign #customvanity #indraweroutlet

This 100-year-old farmhouse underwent a complete head-to-toe renovation. Partnering with Home Star BC we painstakingly modernized the crumbling farmhouse while maintaining its original west coast charm. The only new addition to the home was the kitchen eating area, with its swinging dutch door, patterned cement tile and antique brass lighting fixture. The wood-clad walls throughout the home were made using the walls of the dilapidated barn on the property. Incorporating a classic equestrian aesthetic within each room while still keeping the spaces bright and livable was one of the projects many challenges. The Master bath - formerly a storage room - is the most modern of the home's spaces. Herringbone white-washed floors are partnered with elements such as brick, marble, limestone and reclaimed timber to create a truly eclectic, sun-filled oasis. The gilded crystal sputnik inspired fixture above the bath as well as the sky blue cabinet keep the room fresh and full of personality. Overall, the project proves that bolder, more colorful strokes allow a home to possess what so many others lack: a personality!

This 100-year-old farmhouse underwent a complete head-to-toe renovation. Partnering with Home Star BC we painstakingly modernized the crumbling farmhouse while maintaining its original west coast charm. The only new addition to the home was the kitchen eating area, with its swinging dutch door, patterned cement tile and antique brass lighting fixture. The wood-clad walls throughout the home were made using the walls of the dilapidated barn on the property. Incorporating a classic equestrian aesthetic within each room while still keeping the spaces bright and livable was one of the projects many challenges. The Master bath - formerly a storage room - is the most modern of the home's spaces. Herringbone white-washed floors are partnered with elements such as brick, marble, limestone and reclaimed timber to create a truly eclectic, sun-filled oasis. The gilded crystal sputnik inspired fixture above the bath as well as the sky blue cabinet keep the room fresh and full of personality. Overall, the project proves that bolder, more colorful strokes allow a home to possess what so many others lack: a personality!

Sponsored
Delaware, OH
Buckeye Basements, Inc.
Central Ohio's Basement Finishing ExpertsBest Of Houzz '13-'21

This beautiful and exceptionally efficient 2-bed/2-bath house proves that laneway homes do not have to be compromised, but can be beautiful, light and airy places to live.
The living room, master bedroom and south-facing deck overlook the adjacent park. There are parking spaces for three vehicles immediately opposite.
Like the main residence on the same property, the house is constructed from pre-fabricated Structural Insulated Panels. This, and other highly innovative construction technologies will put the building in a class of its own regarding performance and sustainability. The structure has been seismically-upgraded, and materials have been selected to stand the test of time. The design is strikingly modern but respectful, and the layout is very practical.
This project has been nominated and won multiple Ovation awards.
Architecture: Nick Bray Architecture
Construction Management: Forte Projects
Photos: Martin Knowles

Our clients approached us to renovate their loved family home. The Main Floor needed a fresh update, and better functionality and storage to fit the needs of their growing family.
The existing Kitchen felt closed off from the rest of the Main Floor, and the layout did not allow for enough countertop or storage space. Each of their Bathrooms also needed an update and better storage.
Due to a previously bad experience with another contractor previously, it was important for our clients to work with a contractor who they could build trust with, and feel respected by and comfortable with.
Using space from an extra stairway in the side entry of the house, we were able to create a spacious mudroom, perfect for taking a seat to put on or take off coats and boots, and unique, hidden storage for seasonal and outdoor items.
We were able to create a more open concept Main Floor, by removing the walls between the Kitchen and Family Room. This allowed for a larger, more functional Kitchen. The new Kitchen is bright and welcoming with white quartz countertops that run seamlessly into a matching backsplash. Beautiful white cabinetry is complemented by brushed bronze pulls and faucets, and durable, contemporary flooring.
We transformed the Kitchen and Family Room areas with a vaulted ceiling, and a repaired and modernized Kitchen skylight. We also integrated a patio door entrance, which combined with both sloped and flat sections of the vaulted ceiling, proved to be quite a challenge!
This project involved skilled welding, roofing, and structural work, and it was important to maintain the structural integrity of the ceiling. As any mistakes could result in serious issues, communication between everyone involved was key! Regular team meetings, updates on progress, and addressing concerns promptly kept everyone on the same page and avoided misunderstandings. In the end, the raised ceiling, skylight, and patio door were well worth the work, as together they enhanced the airiness and visual spaciousness of the space.
On the Second Floor, we created a larger Master Ensuite by borrowing room from existing closet space. This allowed for a spacious walk-in shower, and separate bathtub. A prefabricated stylish vanity not only adds a pop of colour, but also provides plenty of useful storage. New marble tiling on the floor extends to the wall behind the bathtub, creating a luxurious accent wall.
The Shared Bathroom was updated to include a new walk-in shower, and a separate bathtub, surrounded by modern geometric wall tiles.
The removal of popcorn ceilings, an updated the Front Door, and a refinished Main Staircase with metal railings completed tying the home together, creating a fresh, updated space that this family can enjoy for years to come.

This 100-year-old farmhouse underwent a complete head-to-toe renovation. Partnering with Home Star BC we painstakingly modernized the crumbling farmhouse while maintaining its original west coast charm. The only new addition to the home was the kitchen eating area, with its swinging dutch door, patterned cement tile and antique brass lighting fixture. The wood-clad walls throughout the home were made using the walls of the dilapidated barn on the property. Incorporating a classic equestrian aesthetic within each room while still keeping the spaces bright and livable was one of the projects many challenges. The Master bath - formerly a storage room - is the most modern of the home's spaces. Herringbone white-washed floors are partnered with elements such as brick, marble, limestone and reclaimed timber to create a truly eclectic, sun-filled oasis. The gilded crystal sputnik inspired fixture above the bath as well as the sky blue cabinet keep the room fresh and full of personality. Overall, the project proves that bolder, more colorful strokes allow a home to possess what so many others lack: a personality!
30
