Search results for "Master webs" in Home Design Ideas

Stuart Wade, Envision Virtual Tours
The second-largest and most developed of Georgia's barrier islands, St. Simons is approximately twelve miles long and nearly three miles wide at its widest stretch (roughly the size of Manhattan Island in New York). The island is located in Glynn County on Georgia's coast and lies east of Brunswick (the seat of Glynn County), south of Little St. Simons Island and the Hampton River, and north of Jekyll Island. The resort community of Sea Island is separated from St. Simons on the east by the Black Banks River. Known for its oak tree canopies and historic landmarks, St. Simons is both a tourist destination and, according to the 2010 U.S. census, home to 12,743 residents.
Early History
The earliest
St. Simons Island Village
record of human habitation on the island dates to the Late Archaic Period, about 5,000 to 3,000 years ago. Remnants of shell rings left behind by Native Americans from this era survive on many of the barrier islands, including St. Simons. Centuries later, during the period known by historians as the chiefdom era, the Guale Indians established a chiefdom centered on St. Catherines Island and used St. Simons as their hunting and fishing grounds. By 1500 the Guale had established a permanent village of about 200 people on St. Simons, which they called Guadalquini.
Beginning in 1568, the Spanish attempted to create missions along the Georgia coast. Catholic missions were the primary means by which Georgia's indigenous Native American chiefdoms were assimilated into the Spanish colonial system along the northern frontier of greater Spanish Florida. In the 1600s St. Simons became home to two Spanish missions: San Buenaventura de Guadalquini, on the southern tip of the island, and Santo Domingo de Asao (or Asajo), on the northern tip. Located on the inland side of the island were the pagan refugee villages of San Simón, the island's namesake, and Ocotonico. In 1684 pirate raids left the missions and villages largely abandoned.
Colonial History
As
Fort Frederica
early as 1670, with Great Britain's establishment of the colony of Carolina and its expansion into Georgia territory, Spanish rule was threatened by the English. The Georgia coast was considered "debatable land" by England and Spain, even though Spain had fully retreated from St. Simons by 1702. Thirty-one years later General James Edward Oglethorpe founded the English settlement of Savannah. In 1736 he established Fort Frederica, named after the heir to the British throne, Frederick Louis, prince of Wales, on the west side of St. Simons Island to protect Savannah and the Carolinas from the Spanish threat.
Between 1736 and 1749 Fort Frederica was the hub of British military operations along the Georgia frontier. A town of the same name grew up around the fort and was of great importance to the new colony. By 1740 Frederica's population was 1,000. In 1736 the congregation of what would become Christ Church was organized within Fort Frederica as a mission of the Church of England. Charles Wesley led the first services. In 1742 Britain's decisive victory over Spain in the Battle of Bloody Marsh, during the War of Jenkins' Ear, ended the Spanish threat to the Georgia coast. When the British regimen disbanded in 1749, most of the townspeople relocated to the mainland. Fort Frederica went into decline and, except for a short time of prosperity during the 1760s and 1770s under the leadership of merchant James Spalding, never fully recovered. Today the historic citadel's tabby ruins are maintained by the National Park Service.
Plantation Era
By the start of the American Revolution (1775-83), Fort Frederica was obsolete, and St. Simons was left largely uninhabited as most of its residents joined the patriot army. Besides hosting a small Georgia naval victory on the Fort Frederica River, providing guns from its famous fort for use at Fort Morris in Sunbury, and serving as an arena for pillaging by privateers and British soldiers, the island played almost no role in the war.
Following the war, many of the townspeople, their businesses destroyed, turned to agriculture. The island was transformed into fourteen cotton plantations after acres of live oak trees were cleared for farm land and used for building American warships, including the famous USS Constitution, or "Old Ironsides." Although rice was the predominant crop along the neighboring Altamaha River, St. Simons was known for its production of long-staple cotton, which soon came to be known as Sea Island cotton.
Between
Ebos Landing
the 1780s and the outbreak of the Civil War (1861-65), St. Simons's plantation culture flourished. The saline atmosphere and the availability of cheap slave labor proved an ideal combination for the cultivation of Sea Island cotton. In 1803 a group of Ebo slaves who survived the Middle Passage and arrived on the west side of St. Simons staged a rebellion and drowned themselves. The sacred site is known today as Ebos Landing.
One of the largest owners of land and slaves on St. Simons was Pierce Butler, master of Hampton Point Plantation, located on the northern end of the island. By 1793 Butler owned more than 500 slaves, who cultivated 800 acres of cotton on St. Simons and 300 acres of rice on Butler's Island in the Altamaha River delta. Butler's grandson, Pierce Mease Butler, who at the age of sixteen inherited a share of his grandfather's estate in 1826, was responsible for the largest sale of human beings in the history of the United States: in 1859, to restore his squandered fortune, he sold 429 slaves in Savannah for more than $300,000. The British actress and writer Fanny Kemble, whose tumultuous marriage to Pierce ended in divorce in 1849, published an eyewitness account of the evils of slavery on St. Simons in her book Journal of a Residence on a Georgian Plantation in 1838-1839 (1863).
Another
Retreat Plantation
large owner of land and slaves on St. Simons was Major William Page, a friend and employee of Pierce Butler Sr. Before purchasing Retreat Plantation on the southwestern tip of the island in 1804, Page managed the Hampton plantation and Butler's Island. Upon Page's death in 1827, Thomas Butler King inherited the land together with his wife, Page's daughter, Anna Matilda Page King. King expanded his father-in-law's planting empire on St. Simons as well as on the mainland, and by 1835 Retreat Plantation alone was home to as many as 355 slaves.
The center of life during the island's plantation era was Christ Church, Frederica. Organized in 1807 by a group of island planters, the Episcopal church is the second oldest in the Diocese of Georgia. Embargoes imposed by the War of 1812 (1812-15) prevented the parishioners from building a church structure, so they worshiped in the home of John Beck, which stood on the site of Oglethorpe's only St. Simons residence, Orange Hall.
The first Christ Church building, finished on the present site in 1820, was ruined by occupying Union troops during the Civil War. In 1884 the Reverend Anson Dodge Jr. rebuilt the church as a memorial to his first wife, Ellen. The cruciform building with a trussed gothic roof and stained-glass windows remains active today as Christ Church.
Civil War and Beyond
The
St. Simons Island Lighthouse
outbreak of the Civil War in 1861 put a sudden end to St. Simons's lucrative plantation era. In January of that year, Confederate troops were stationed at the south end of the island to guard the entrance to Brunswick Harbor. Slaves from Retreat Plantation, owned by Thomas Butler King, built earthworks and batteries. Plantation residents were scattered—the men joined the Confederate army and their families moved to the mainland. Cannon fire was heard on the island in December 1861, and Confederate troops retreated in February 1862, after dynamiting the lighthouse to keep its beacon from aiding Union troops. Soon thereafter, Union troops occupied the island, which was used as a camp for freed slaves. By August 1862 more than 500 former slaves lived on St. Simons, including Susie King Taylor, who organized a school for freed slave children. But in November the ex-slaves were taken to Hilton Head, South Carolina, and Fernandina, Florida, leaving the island abandoned.
After the Civil War the island never returned to its status as an agricultural community. The plantations lay dormant because there were no slaves to work the fields. After Union general William T. Sherman's January 1865 Special Field Order No. 15 —a demand that former plantations be divided and distributed to former slaves—was overturned by U.S. president Andrew Johnson less than a year later, freedmen and women were forced to work as sharecroppers on the small farms that dotted the land previously occupied by the sprawling plantations.
By
St. Simons Lumber Mills
1870 real economic recovery began with the reestablishment of the timber industry. Norman Dodge and Titus G. Meigs of New York set up lumber mill operations at Gascoigne Bluff, formerly Hamilton Plantation. The lumber mills provided welcome employment for both blacks and whites and also provided mail and passenger boats to the mainland. Such water traffic, together with the construction of a new lighthouse in 1872, designed by architect Charles B. Cluskey, marked the beginning of St. Simons's tourism industry. The keeper of the lighthouse created a small amusement park, which drew many visitors, as did the seemingly miraculous light that traveled from the top of the lighthouse tower to the bottom. The island became a summer retreat for families from the mainland, particularly from Baxley, Brunswick, and Waycross.
The island's resort industry was thriving by the 1880s. Beachfront structures, such as a new pier and grand hotel, were built on the southeastern end of the island and could be accessed by ferry. Around this time wealthy northerners began vacationing on the island.
Twentieth Century
The
St. Simons Island Pier and Village
opening in 1924 of the Brunswick–St. Simons Highway, today known as the Torras Causeway, was a milestone in the development of resorts in the area. St. Simons's beaches were now easily accessible to locals and tourists alike. More than 5,000 automobiles took the short drive from Brunswick to St. Simons via the causeway on its opening day, paving the way for convenient residential and resort development.
In 1926 automotive pioneer Howard Coffin of Detroit, Michigan, bought large tracts of land on St. Simons, including the former Retreat Plantation, and constructed a golf course, yacht club, paved roads, and a residential subdivision. Although the causeway had brought large numbers of summer people to the island, St. Simons remained a small community with only a few hundred permanent residents until the 1940s.
The
St. Simons Island
outbreak of World War II (1941-45) brought more visitors and residents to St. Simons. Troops stationed at Jacksonville, Florida; Savannah; and nearby Camp Stewart took weekend vacations on the island, and a new naval air base and radar school became home to even more officers and soldiers. The increased wartime population brought the island its first public school. With a major shipyard for the production of Liberty ships in nearby Brunswick, the waters of St. Simons became active with German U-boats. In April 1942, just off the coast, the Texas Company oil tanker S. S. Oklahoma and the S. S. Esso Baton Rouge were torpedoed by the Germans, bringing the war very close to home for island residents.
Due in large part to the military's improvement of the island's infrastructure during the war, development on the island boomed in the 1950s and 1960s. More permanent homes and subdivisions were built, and the island was no longer just a summer resort but also a thriving community. In 1950 the Methodist conference and retreat center Epworth by the Sea opened on Gascoigne Bluff. In 1961 novelist Eugenia Price visited St. Simons and began work on her first works of fiction, known as the St. Simons Trilogy. Inspired by real events on the island, Price's trilogy renewed interest in the history of Georgia's coast, and the novelist herself relocated to the island in 1965 and lived there for thirty-one years. St. Simons is also home to contemporary Georgia writer Tina McElroy Ansa.
Since
Epworth by the Sea
1980 St. Simons's population has doubled. The island's continued status as a vacation destination and its ongoing development boom have put historic landmarks and natural areas at risk. While such landmarks as the Fort Frederica ruins and the Battle of Bloody Marsh site are preserved and maintained by the National Park Service, and while the historic lighthouse is maintained by the Coastal Georgia Historical Society, historic Ebos Landing has been taken over by a sewage treatment plant.
Several coastal organizations have formed in recent years to save natural areas on the island. The St. Simons Land Trust, for example, has received donations of large tracts of land and plans to protect property in the island's three traditional African American neighborhoods. Despite its rapid growth and development, St. Simons remains one of the most beautiful and important islands on the Georgia coast.

The Design Collective & JLV Creative;
Carson Photography
Example of a beach style freestanding desk medium tone wood floor study room design in Charleston with blue walls
Example of a beach style freestanding desk medium tone wood floor study room design in Charleston with blue walls

Geri cruickshank Eaker
Small minimalist master gray tile and ceramic tile porcelain tile bathroom photo in Charlotte with a vessel sink, dark wood cabinets, a one-piece toilet and gray walls
Small minimalist master gray tile and ceramic tile porcelain tile bathroom photo in Charlotte with a vessel sink, dark wood cabinets, a one-piece toilet and gray walls
Find the right local pro for your project

New for 2014: American Olean Laurel Heights Gray Summit 12 x 24 in a brick pattern on the floor and 12 x 18 on the wall, with 2 x 4 brick-joint mosaics on the wall.. Photo courtesy of American Olean.

Arrow Timber Framing
9726 NE 302nd St, Battle Ground, WA 98604
(360) 687-1868
Web Site: https://www.arrowtimber.com

Rainfall Shower head, steam shower, multi spray handheld shower head.
Photo: Kathryn MacDonald Photography | Web Marketing
Inspiration for a huge timeless master stone tile marble floor corner shower remodel in San Francisco with furniture-like cabinets, dark wood cabinets, beige walls, an undermount sink, marble countertops and an undermount tub
Inspiration for a huge timeless master stone tile marble floor corner shower remodel in San Francisco with furniture-like cabinets, dark wood cabinets, beige walls, an undermount sink, marble countertops and an undermount tub

Photography: Jeff Cate
Example of a trendy bedroom design in Miami with white walls
Example of a trendy bedroom design in Miami with white walls

Sponsored
Columbus, OH
Hope Restoration & General Contracting
Columbus Design-Build, Kitchen & Bath Remodeling, Historic Renovations

Bedroom - AFTER
Bedroom - 1950s bamboo floor bedroom idea in San Francisco with beige walls
Bedroom - 1950s bamboo floor bedroom idea in San Francisco with beige walls

LIz Daly
Mid-sized trendy master gray tile marble floor walk-in shower photo in San Francisco with an undermount sink, flat-panel cabinets, medium tone wood cabinets, marble countertops, a one-piece toilet and gray walls
Mid-sized trendy master gray tile marble floor walk-in shower photo in San Francisco with an undermount sink, flat-panel cabinets, medium tone wood cabinets, marble countertops, a one-piece toilet and gray walls

Doug Hill Photography
Inspiration for a large mediterranean gender-neutral carpeted walk-in closet remodel in Los Angeles with white cabinets and open cabinets
Inspiration for a large mediterranean gender-neutral carpeted walk-in closet remodel in Los Angeles with white cabinets and open cabinets

Pancho Via TV lift furniture cabinet is by "Best of Houzz 2014" for service, Cabinet Tronix. This Designer grade made to order TV lift cabinet's dimensions will be based on your TV size and other technology component needs. This retractable TV lift furniture shows a component section bottom door open so you can see where your components go. You can select from over 120 of our TV lift cabinet designs and let us know if you would like them set up for the foot of the bed, against a wall/window or center of the room configurations. You can also opt to include our optional 360 TV lift swivel system.
With 12 years-experience specializing TV lift cabinet furniture, Cabinet Tronix US made designer grade furniture is perfectly married with premium US made TV lift system.
This custom Pancho Via TV lift cabinet furniture comes in 16 amazing designer finishes. Custom finishing, configuration and sizing available.
All designs are finished on all 4 sides with the exact same wood type and finish. All Cabinet Tronix TV lift cabinet models come with HDMI cables, Digital display universal remote, built in Infrared repeater system, TV mount, wire web wrap, component section and power bar.
All our Furniture systems come with a 5 year warranty. http://www.cabinet-tronix.com/other.html
Phone: 619-422-2784
California, New York, Texas, Florida, North Carolina, Maryland, Manhattan, Michigan, Virginia, Chicago, Boston, San Diego, Orange County

Custom Surface Solutions (www.css-tile.com) - Owner Craig Thompson (512) 430-1215. This project shows a master bathroom remodel with porcelain 12 x 24 white and gray veined marble on walls and floors, custom multi-shelf shower niche with marble shelves. and gray hexagon penny tile shower floor.

Bathroom - large contemporary master white tile limestone floor bathroom idea in San Francisco with flat-panel cabinets, white cabinets, an integrated sink, solid surface countertops and brown walls

Sponsored
Sunbury, OH
J.Holderby - Renovations
Franklin County's Leading General Contractors - 2X Best of Houzz!

Stuart Wade, Envision Virtual Tours
Mountain Reflections on Lake Burton
Recently renovated both inside and out, this 5 bedroom, 5.5 bath home with sweeping views of Lake Burton is fit for entertaining large crowds. The open floor plan features a spacious great room with a 2-story stacked stone fireplace, abundant natural ligthing, dining for 10+ and a large chef's kitchen with granite countertops, custom cabinets to house every utensil, exposed beams and access to a lakeside porch. Three sets of french doors open to a magnificent curved veranda accented by columns. Western sunsets make this the place to be in the cool evenings watching the sun reflect off the jewel tone water. A private master bedroom on the main floor provides access to the covered porch. The master bath features a double vanity with granite countertops, built-in storage drawers and cabinets, jetted tub and seperate shower. Spacious guest bedrooms feature private baths and lake views. Mature landscaping including an incredible array of pink and purple rhododendron, eyebrow windows, columns and curved porches highlight the newly painted exterior.
The terrace level features a second family room/rec room with a stacked stone fireplace, wet bar, and a wall of triple french doors that open to a lakeside stone terrace. Two additional guest bedrooms with full baths also have access to the terrace patio. A large laundry room and gym/art studio with outside entrance, double sink and ample storage completes the terrace level.
Lake Burton is a unique Life Style. Cherry Lane is a paved street accessed by 4 single family homes. This home features a private, gated driveway off Cherry Lane. There is not a homeowner’s association, there are no fees or dues. Over 800 lake properties are managed and leased by the Georgia Power Company.
Location is a major advantage for this property with close proximity to Clayton, the hospital, Waterfall Country Club, the Appalachian Trail, shopping, quaint restaurants and only about a 45 minute drive to Highlands, N.C. This house is located on deep water and has breathtaking lake and mountain views that will capture your heart!
General Information:
• 5 bedrooms and 5 ½ baths
• All bathrooms have new updated granite counter tops.
• 2 fireplaces ( 1 gas non vent logs and 1 wood burning with gas starter and built in wood storage)
• Both fireplaces have raised hearths.
• House has poured concrete walls with reinforced steel.
• All Floor trusses were engineered for proper application.
• During construction the house and grounds were pre-treated for termites. The house is inspected for termites annually. To date, no termites have been found. The termite bond is with American Pest control out of Toccoa, GA.
• The main entrance has double Mahogany leaded glass door. All other exterior doors and windows are deluxe Anderson thermo pane. All Anderson windows are tilt out for easy inside cleaning. Windows have Planter shutter and/or wood blinds.
• All lake side doors are 8 feet. Doors have triple locks and are adjustable for the best fit.
• All exterior walls have house wrap and heavy insulation- R-17 for walls and R 30 in the attic.
• House has 3 levels. Each level has its own Trane High Efficiency Weathertron heat pump XE 1200. The 2 units for the main and basement levels also have dual fuel, propane gas for extra heat if needed.
• Beam Central Vacuum system for all 3 levels.
• All 3 levels are wired for Stereo speakers as well as the main level outside deck.
• All ceilings are 10 ft. or higher.
• Bar sinks have granite counter tops
*Brand new (2014) roof with HD architectural shingles has transferable lifetime warranty
Entry Foyer:
-Double Mahogany lead glass doors
-2 lead glass side windows
-Marble floor, heavy moldings, tray ceiling
Great Room:
-Vaulted wood ceiling with multi light chandelier
-Doors can be adjusted in many different positions for easy operations
-Anderson Windows and doors
-All doors facing lake side are 8 ft. doors
-Planter shutters in all windows on main floor
Kitchen:
-Vaulted ceiling with beadboard and exposed beams
-Custom Gillespie cabinets with space for every utensil
-Large kitchen island with breakfast bar
-Walk-in pantry
-Granite counter tops with plenty of prep space
-Breakfast nook
-Access to lakeside porch
-Central Vac and crumb catcher
-GE Monogram Fridge
-Kitchenaid built in oven and microwave
-Jen-air 4 burner gas stove with exhaust
-Kitchenaid trash compactor
-Scotsman Ice Machine
-Over and under counter accent lighting
Master Bedroom:
-Heavy Molding, hardwood flooring,
-Plantation shutters on bedroom French doors opening to deck
-4 closets
Master Bath:
-Granite counter tops with double sinks
-Separate shower with glass door and delta shower system
-Jetted Tub
-14 drawer built-in cabinets for clothing
Upstairs level:
-Two bedrooms, each with full baths, tile floors, double vanities, granite countertops, ample closets and linen closets
Terrace Level:
-Spacious family room with stone fireplace and wet bar
-Guest bedroom with full bath
-Office with full bath
-Art studio or exercise room with double sink
-Separate tool room
-Laundry room/utility room with tile floors and cabinets
-Covered stone terrace with access to boathouse
Boat House:
-Two stall for up to 25 ft. boat
-2 electric boat lifts
-Large deck on top of boathouse with ½ covered roof
-Large storage area for boat supplies
-Swim dock

Bedroom - mid-sized traditional master carpeted bedroom idea in Boston with yellow walls, a standard fireplace and a brick fireplace

Michael Baxter, Baxter Imaging
Powder room - small mediterranean blue tile terra-cotta tile powder room idea in Phoenix with furniture-like cabinets, wood countertops, beige walls, a drop-in sink, dark wood cabinets and brown countertops
Powder room - small mediterranean blue tile terra-cotta tile powder room idea in Phoenix with furniture-like cabinets, wood countertops, beige walls, a drop-in sink, dark wood cabinets and brown countertops

Mark Hoyle
Originally, this 3700 SF two level eclectic farmhouse from the mid 1980’s underwent design changes to reflect a more colonial style. Now, after being completely renovated with additional 2800 SF living space, it’s combined total of 6500 SF boasts an Energy Star certification of 5 stars.
Approaching this completed home, you will meander along a new driveway through the dense buffer of trees until you reach the clearing, and then circle a tiered fountain on axis with the front entry accentuating the symmetrical main structure. Many of the exterior changes included enclosing the front porch and rear screened porch, replacing windows, replacing all the vinyl siding with and fiber cement siding, creating a new front stoop with winding brick stairs and wrought iron railings as will as other additions to the left and rear of the home.
The existing interior was completely fro the studs and included modifying uses of many of the existing rooms such as converting the original dining room into an oval shaped theater with reclining theater seats, fiber-optic starlight ceiling and an 80” television with built-in surround sound. The laundry room increased in size by taking in the porch and received all new cabinets and finishes. The screened porch across the back of the house was enclosed to create a new dining room, enlarged the kitchen, all of which allows for a commanding view of the beautifully landscaped pool. The upper master suite begins by entering a private office then leads to a newly vaulted bedroom, a new master bathroom with natural light and an enlarged closet.
The major portion of the addition space was added to the left side as a part time home for the owner’s brother. This new addition boasts an open plan living, dining and kitchen, a master suite with a luxurious bathroom and walk–in closet, a guest suite, a garage and its own private gated brick courtyard entry and direct access to the well appointed pool patio.
And finally the last part of the project is the sunroom and new lagoon style pool. Tucked tightly against the rear of the home. This room was created to feel like a gazebo including a metal roof and stained wood ceiling, the foundation of this room was constructed with the pool to insure the look as if it is floating on the water. The pool’s negative edge opposite side allows open views of the trees beyond. There is a natural stone waterfall on one side of the pool and a shallow area on the opposite side for lounge chairs to be placed in it along with a hot tub that spills into the pool. The coping completes the pool’s natural shape and continues to the patio utilizing the same stone but separated by Zoysia grass keeping the natural theme. The finishing touches to this backyard oasis is completed utilizing large boulders, Tempest Torches, architectural lighting and abundant variety of landscaping complete the oasis for all to enjoy.

Sponsored
Columbus, OH
Wannemacher Interiors
Customized Award-Winning Interior Design Solutions in Franklin Cnty OH

Stuart Wade, Envision Virtual Tours
Mountain Reflections on Lake Burton
Recently renovated both inside and out, this 5 bedroom, 5.5 bath home with sweeping views of Lake Burton is fit for entertaining large crowds. The open floor plan features a spacious great room with a 2-story stacked stone fireplace, abundant natural ligthing, dining for 10+ and a large chef's kitchen with granite countertops, custom cabinets to house every utensil, exposed beams and access to a lakeside porch. Three sets of french doors open to a magnificent curved veranda accented by columns. Western sunsets make this the place to be in the cool evenings watching the sun reflect off the jewel tone water. A private master bedroom on the main floor provides access to the covered porch. The master bath features a double vanity with granite countertops, built-in storage drawers and cabinets, jetted tub and seperate shower. Spacious guest bedrooms feature private baths and lake views. Mature landscaping including an incredible array of pink and purple rhododendron, eyebrow windows, columns and curved porches highlight the newly painted exterior.
The terrace level features a second family room/rec room with a stacked stone fireplace, wet bar, and a wall of triple french doors that open to a lakeside stone terrace. Two additional guest bedrooms with full baths also have access to the terrace patio. A large laundry room and gym/art studio with outside entrance, double sink and ample storage completes the terrace level.
Lake Burton is a unique Life Style. Cherry Lane is a paved street accessed by 4 single family homes. This home features a private, gated driveway off Cherry Lane. There is not a homeowner’s association, there are no fees or dues. Over 800 lake properties are managed and leased by the Georgia Power Company.
Location is a major advantage for this property with close proximity to Clayton, the hospital, Waterfall Country Club, the Appalachian Trail, shopping, quaint restaurants and only about a 45 minute drive to Highlands, N.C. This house is located on deep water and has breathtaking lake and mountain views that will capture your heart!
General Information:
• 5 bedrooms and 5 ½ baths
• All bathrooms have new updated granite counter tops.
• 2 fireplaces ( 1 gas non vent logs and 1 wood burning with gas starter and built in wood storage)
• Both fireplaces have raised hearths.
• House has poured concrete walls with reinforced steel.
• All Floor trusses were engineered for proper application.
• During construction the house and grounds were pre-treated for termites. The house is inspected for termites annually. To date, no termites have been found. The termite bond is with American Pest control out of Toccoa, GA.
• The main entrance has double Mahogany leaded glass door. All other exterior doors and windows are deluxe Anderson thermo pane. All Anderson windows are tilt out for easy inside cleaning. Windows have Planter shutter and/or wood blinds.
• All lake side doors are 8 feet. Doors have triple locks and are adjustable for the best fit.
• All exterior walls have house wrap and heavy insulation- R-17 for walls and R 30 in the attic.
• House has 3 levels. Each level has its own Trane High Efficiency Weathertron heat pump XE 1200. The 2 units for the main and basement levels also have dual fuel, propane gas for extra heat if needed.
• Beam Central Vacuum system for all 3 levels.
• All 3 levels are wired for Stereo speakers as well as the main level outside deck.
• All ceilings are 10 ft. or higher.
• Bar sinks have granite counter tops
*Brand new (2014) roof with HD architectural shingles has transferable lifetime warranty
Entry Foyer:
-Double Mahogany lead glass doors
-2 lead glass side windows
-Marble floor, heavy moldings, tray ceiling
Great Room:
-Vaulted wood ceiling with multi light chandelier
-Doors can be adjusted in many different positions for easy operations
-Anderson Windows and doors
-All doors facing lake side are 8 ft. doors
-Planter shutters in all windows on main floor
Kitchen:
-Vaulted ceiling with beadboard and exposed beams
-Custom Gillespie cabinets with space for every utensil
-Large kitchen island with breakfast bar
-Walk-in pantry
-Granite counter tops with plenty of prep space
-Breakfast nook
-Access to lakeside porch
-Central Vac and crumb catcher
-GE Monogram Fridge
-Kitchenaid built in oven and microwave
-Jen-air 4 burner gas stove with exhaust
-Kitchenaid trash compactor
-Scotsman Ice Machine
-Over and under counter accent lighting
Master Bedroom:
-Heavy Molding, hardwood flooring,
-Plantation shutters on bedroom French doors opening to deck
-4 closets
Master Bath:
-Granite counter tops with double sinks
-Separate shower with glass door and delta shower system
-Jetted Tub
-14 drawer built-in cabinets for clothing
Upstairs level:
-Two bedrooms, each with full baths, tile floors, double vanities, granite countertops, ample closets and linen closets
Terrace Level:
-Spacious family room with stone fireplace and wet bar
-Guest bedroom with full bath
-Office with full bath
-Art studio or exercise room with double sink
-Separate tool room
-Laundry room/utility room with tile floors and cabinets
-Covered stone terrace with access to boathouse
Boat House:
-Two stall for up to 25 ft. boat
-2 electric boat lifts
-Large deck on top of boathouse with ½ covered roof
-Large storage area for boat supplies
-Swim dock

Stuart Wade, Envision Virtual Tours
Mountain Reflections on Lake Burton
Recently renovated both inside and out, this 5 bedroom, 5.5 bath home with sweeping views of Lake Burton is fit for entertaining large crowds. The open floor plan features a spacious great room with a 2-story stacked stone fireplace, abundant natural ligthing, dining for 10+ and a large chef's kitchen with granite countertops, custom cabinets to house every utensil, exposed beams and access to a lakeside porch. Three sets of french doors open to a magnificent curved veranda accented by columns. Western sunsets make this the place to be in the cool evenings watching the sun reflect off the jewel tone water. A private master bedroom on the main floor provides access to the covered porch. The master bath features a double vanity with granite countertops, built-in storage drawers and cabinets, jetted tub and seperate shower. Spacious guest bedrooms feature private baths and lake views. Mature landscaping including an incredible array of pink and purple rhododendron, eyebrow windows, columns and curved porches highlight the newly painted exterior.
The terrace level features a second family room/rec room with a stacked stone fireplace, wet bar, and a wall of triple french doors that open to a lakeside stone terrace. Two additional guest bedrooms with full baths also have access to the terrace patio. A large laundry room and gym/art studio with outside entrance, double sink and ample storage completes the terrace level.
Lake Burton is a unique Life Style. Cherry Lane is a paved street accessed by 4 single family homes. This home features a private, gated driveway off Cherry Lane. There is not a homeowner’s association, there are no fees or dues. Over 800 lake properties are managed and leased by the Georgia Power Company.
Location is a major advantage for this property with close proximity to Clayton, the hospital, Waterfall Country Club, the Appalachian Trail, shopping, quaint restaurants and only about a 45 minute drive to Highlands, N.C. This house is located on deep water and has breathtaking lake and mountain views that will capture your heart!
General Information:
• 5 bedrooms and 5 ½ baths
• All bathrooms have new updated granite counter tops.
• 2 fireplaces ( 1 gas non vent logs and 1 wood burning with gas starter and built in wood storage)
• Both fireplaces have raised hearths.
• House has poured concrete walls with reinforced steel.
• All Floor trusses were engineered for proper application.
• During construction the house and grounds were pre-treated for termites. The house is inspected for termites annually. To date, no termites have been found. The termite bond is with American Pest control out of Toccoa, GA.
• The main entrance has double Mahogany leaded glass door. All other exterior doors and windows are deluxe Anderson thermo pane. All Anderson windows are tilt out for easy inside cleaning. Windows have Planter shutter and/or wood blinds.
• All lake side doors are 8 feet. Doors have triple locks and are adjustable for the best fit.
• All exterior walls have house wrap and heavy insulation- R-17 for walls and R 30 in the attic.
• House has 3 levels. Each level has its own Trane High Efficiency Weathertron heat pump XE 1200. The 2 units for the main and basement levels also have dual fuel, propane gas for extra heat if needed.
• Beam Central Vacuum system for all 3 levels.
• All 3 levels are wired for Stereo speakers as well as the main level outside deck.
• All ceilings are 10 ft. or higher.
• Bar sinks have granite counter tops
*Brand new (2014) roof with HD architectural shingles has transferable lifetime warranty
Entry Foyer:
-Double Mahogany lead glass doors
-2 lead glass side windows
-Marble floor, heavy moldings, tray ceiling
Great Room:
-Vaulted wood ceiling with multi light chandelier
-Doors can be adjusted in many different positions for easy operations
-Anderson Windows and doors
-All doors facing lake side are 8 ft. doors
-Planter shutters in all windows on main floor
Kitchen:
-Vaulted ceiling with beadboard and exposed beams
-Custom Gillespie cabinets with space for every utensil
-Large kitchen island with breakfast bar
-Walk-in pantry
-Granite counter tops with plenty of prep space
-Breakfast nook
-Access to lakeside porch
-Central Vac and crumb catcher
-GE Monogram Fridge
-Kitchenaid built in oven and microwave
-Jen-air 4 burner gas stove with exhaust
-Kitchenaid trash compactor
-Scotsman Ice Machine
-Over and under counter accent lighting
Master Bedroom:
-Heavy Molding, hardwood flooring,
-Plantation shutters on bedroom French doors opening to deck
-4 closets
Master Bath:
-Granite counter tops with double sinks
-Separate shower with glass door and delta shower system
-Jetted Tub
-14 drawer built-in cabinets for clothing
Upstairs level:
-Two bedrooms, each with full baths, tile floors, double vanities, granite countertops, ample closets and linen closets
Terrace Level:
-Spacious family room with stone fireplace and wet bar
-Guest bedroom with full bath
-Office with full bath
-Art studio or exercise room with double sink
-Separate tool room
-Laundry room/utility room with tile floors and cabinets
-Covered stone terrace with access to boathouse
Boat House:
-Two stall for up to 25 ft. boat
-2 electric boat lifts
-Large deck on top of boathouse with ½ covered roof
-Large storage area for boat supplies
-Swim dock

Stuart Wade, Envision Virtual Tours
The second-largest and most developed of Georgia's barrier islands, St. Simons is approximately twelve miles long and nearly three miles wide at its widest stretch (roughly the size of Manhattan Island in New York). The island is located in Glynn County on Georgia's coast and lies east of Brunswick (the seat of Glynn County), south of Little St. Simons Island and the Hampton River, and north of Jekyll Island. The resort community of Sea Island is separated from St. Simons on the east by the Black Banks River. Known for its oak tree canopies and historic landmarks, St. Simons is both a tourist destination and, according to the 2010 U.S. census, home to 12,743 residents.
Early History
The earliest
St. Simons Island Village
record of human habitation on the island dates to the Late Archaic Period, about 5,000 to 3,000 years ago. Remnants of shell rings left behind by Native Americans from this era survive on many of the barrier islands, including St. Simons. Centuries later, during the period known by historians as the chiefdom era, the Guale Indians established a chiefdom centered on St. Catherines Island and used St. Simons as their hunting and fishing grounds. By 1500 the Guale had established a permanent village of about 200 people on St. Simons, which they called Guadalquini.
Beginning in 1568, the Spanish attempted to create missions along the Georgia coast. Catholic missions were the primary means by which Georgia's indigenous Native American chiefdoms were assimilated into the Spanish colonial system along the northern frontier of greater Spanish Florida. In the 1600s St. Simons became home to two Spanish missions: San Buenaventura de Guadalquini, on the southern tip of the island, and Santo Domingo de Asao (or Asajo), on the northern tip. Located on the inland side of the island were the pagan refugee villages of San Simón, the island's namesake, and Ocotonico. In 1684 pirate raids left the missions and villages largely abandoned.
Colonial History
As
Fort Frederica
early as 1670, with Great Britain's establishment of the colony of Carolina and its expansion into Georgia territory, Spanish rule was threatened by the English. The Georgia coast was considered "debatable land" by England and Spain, even though Spain had fully retreated from St. Simons by 1702. Thirty-one years later General James Edward Oglethorpe founded the English settlement of Savannah. In 1736 he established Fort Frederica, named after the heir to the British throne, Frederick Louis, prince of Wales, on the west side of St. Simons Island to protect Savannah and the Carolinas from the Spanish threat.
Between 1736 and 1749 Fort Frederica was the hub of British military operations along the Georgia frontier. A town of the same name grew up around the fort and was of great importance to the new colony. By 1740 Frederica's population was 1,000. In 1736 the congregation of what would become Christ Church was organized within Fort Frederica as a mission of the Church of England. Charles Wesley led the first services. In 1742 Britain's decisive victory over Spain in the Battle of Bloody Marsh, during the War of Jenkins' Ear, ended the Spanish threat to the Georgia coast. When the British regimen disbanded in 1749, most of the townspeople relocated to the mainland. Fort Frederica went into decline and, except for a short time of prosperity during the 1760s and 1770s under the leadership of merchant James Spalding, never fully recovered. Today the historic citadel's tabby ruins are maintained by the National Park Service.
Plantation Era
By the start of the American Revolution (1775-83), Fort Frederica was obsolete, and St. Simons was left largely uninhabited as most of its residents joined the patriot army. Besides hosting a small Georgia naval victory on the Fort Frederica River, providing guns from its famous fort for use at Fort Morris in Sunbury, and serving as an arena for pillaging by privateers and British soldiers, the island played almost no role in the war.
Following the war, many of the townspeople, their businesses destroyed, turned to agriculture. The island was transformed into fourteen cotton plantations after acres of live oak trees were cleared for farm land and used for building American warships, including the famous USS Constitution, or "Old Ironsides." Although rice was the predominant crop along the neighboring Altamaha River, St. Simons was known for its production of long-staple cotton, which soon came to be known as Sea Island cotton.
Between
Ebos Landing
the 1780s and the outbreak of the Civil War (1861-65), St. Simons's plantation culture flourished. The saline atmosphere and the availability of cheap slave labor proved an ideal combination for the cultivation of Sea Island cotton. In 1803 a group of Ebo slaves who survived the Middle Passage and arrived on the west side of St. Simons staged a rebellion and drowned themselves. The sacred site is known today as Ebos Landing.
One of the largest owners of land and slaves on St. Simons was Pierce Butler, master of Hampton Point Plantation, located on the northern end of the island. By 1793 Butler owned more than 500 slaves, who cultivated 800 acres of cotton on St. Simons and 300 acres of rice on Butler's Island in the Altamaha River delta. Butler's grandson, Pierce Mease Butler, who at the age of sixteen inherited a share of his grandfather's estate in 1826, was responsible for the largest sale of human beings in the history of the United States: in 1859, to restore his squandered fortune, he sold 429 slaves in Savannah for more than $300,000. The British actress and writer Fanny Kemble, whose tumultuous marriage to Pierce ended in divorce in 1849, published an eyewitness account of the evils of slavery on St. Simons in her book Journal of a Residence on a Georgian Plantation in 1838-1839 (1863).
Another
Retreat Plantation
large owner of land and slaves on St. Simons was Major William Page, a friend and employee of Pierce Butler Sr. Before purchasing Retreat Plantation on the southwestern tip of the island in 1804, Page managed the Hampton plantation and Butler's Island. Upon Page's death in 1827, Thomas Butler King inherited the land together with his wife, Page's daughter, Anna Matilda Page King. King expanded his father-in-law's planting empire on St. Simons as well as on the mainland, and by 1835 Retreat Plantation alone was home to as many as 355 slaves.
The center of life during the island's plantation era was Christ Church, Frederica. Organized in 1807 by a group of island planters, the Episcopal church is the second oldest in the Diocese of Georgia. Embargoes imposed by the War of 1812 (1812-15) prevented the parishioners from building a church structure, so they worshiped in the home of John Beck, which stood on the site of Oglethorpe's only St. Simons residence, Orange Hall.
The first Christ Church building, finished on the present site in 1820, was ruined by occupying Union troops during the Civil War. In 1884 the Reverend Anson Dodge Jr. rebuilt the church as a memorial to his first wife, Ellen. The cruciform building with a trussed gothic roof and stained-glass windows remains active today as Christ Church.
Civil War and Beyond
The
St. Simons Island Lighthouse
outbreak of the Civil War in 1861 put a sudden end to St. Simons's lucrative plantation era. In January of that year, Confederate troops were stationed at the south end of the island to guard the entrance to Brunswick Harbor. Slaves from Retreat Plantation, owned by Thomas Butler King, built earthworks and batteries. Plantation residents were scattered—the men joined the Confederate army and their families moved to the mainland. Cannon fire was heard on the island in December 1861, and Confederate troops retreated in February 1862, after dynamiting the lighthouse to keep its beacon from aiding Union troops. Soon thereafter, Union troops occupied the island, which was used as a camp for freed slaves. By August 1862 more than 500 former slaves lived on St. Simons, including Susie King Taylor, who organized a school for freed slave children. But in November the ex-slaves were taken to Hilton Head, South Carolina, and Fernandina, Florida, leaving the island abandoned.
After the Civil War the island never returned to its status as an agricultural community. The plantations lay dormant because there were no slaves to work the fields. After Union general William T. Sherman's January 1865 Special Field Order No. 15 —a demand that former plantations be divided and distributed to former slaves—was overturned by U.S. president Andrew Johnson less than a year later, freedmen and women were forced to work as sharecroppers on the small farms that dotted the land previously occupied by the sprawling plantations.
By
St. Simons Lumber Mills
1870 real economic recovery began with the reestablishment of the timber industry. Norman Dodge and Titus G. Meigs of New York set up lumber mill operations at Gascoigne Bluff, formerly Hamilton Plantation. The lumber mills provided welcome employment for both blacks and whites and also provided mail and passenger boats to the mainland. Such water traffic, together with the construction of a new lighthouse in 1872, designed by architect Charles B. Cluskey, marked the beginning of St. Simons's tourism industry. The keeper of the lighthouse created a small amusement park, which drew many visitors, as did the seemingly miraculous light that traveled from the top of the lighthouse tower to the bottom. The island became a summer retreat for families from the mainland, particularly from Baxley, Brunswick, and Waycross.
The island's resort industry was thriving by the 1880s. Beachfront structures, such as a new pier and grand hotel, were built on the southeastern end of the island and could be accessed by ferry. Around this time wealthy northerners began vacationing on the island.
Twentieth Century
The
St. Simons Island Pier and Village
opening in 1924 of the Brunswick–St. Simons Highway, today known as the Torras Causeway, was a milestone in the development of resorts in the area. St. Simons's beaches were now easily accessible to locals and tourists alike. More than 5,000 automobiles took the short drive from Brunswick to St. Simons via the causeway on its opening day, paving the way for convenient residential and resort development.
In 1926 automotive pioneer Howard Coffin of Detroit, Michigan, bought large tracts of land on St. Simons, including the former Retreat Plantation, and constructed a golf course, yacht club, paved roads, and a residential subdivision. Although the causeway had brought large numbers of summer people to the island, St. Simons remained a small community with only a few hundred permanent residents until the 1940s.
The
St. Simons Island
outbreak of World War II (1941-45) brought more visitors and residents to St. Simons. Troops stationed at Jacksonville, Florida; Savannah; and nearby Camp Stewart took weekend vacations on the island, and a new naval air base and radar school became home to even more officers and soldiers. The increased wartime population brought the island its first public school. With a major shipyard for the production of Liberty ships in nearby Brunswick, the waters of St. Simons became active with German U-boats. In April 1942, just off the coast, the Texas Company oil tanker S. S. Oklahoma and the S. S. Esso Baton Rouge were torpedoed by the Germans, bringing the war very close to home for island residents.
Due in large part to the military's improvement of the island's infrastructure during the war, development on the island boomed in the 1950s and 1960s. More permanent homes and subdivisions were built, and the island was no longer just a summer resort but also a thriving community. In 1950 the Methodist conference and retreat center Epworth by the Sea opened on Gascoigne Bluff. In 1961 novelist Eugenia Price visited St. Simons and began work on her first works of fiction, known as the St. Simons Trilogy. Inspired by real events on the island, Price's trilogy renewed interest in the history of Georgia's coast, and the novelist herself relocated to the island in 1965 and lived there for thirty-one years. St. Simons is also home to contemporary Georgia writer Tina McElroy Ansa.
Since
Epworth by the Sea
1980 St. Simons's population has doubled. The island's continued status as a vacation destination and its ongoing development boom have put historic landmarks and natural areas at risk. While such landmarks as the Fort Frederica ruins and the Battle of Bloody Marsh site are preserved and maintained by the National Park Service, and while the historic lighthouse is maintained by the Coastal Georgia Historical Society, historic Ebos Landing has been taken over by a sewage treatment plant.
Several coastal organizations have formed in recent years to save natural areas on the island. The St. Simons Land Trust, for example, has received donations of large tracts of land and plans to protect property in the island's three traditional African American neighborhoods. Despite its rapid growth and development, St. Simons remains one of the most beautiful and important islands on the Georgia coast.
5