Search results for "Repeated short" in Home Design Ideas

Powder room - mid-sized coastal white tile and subway tile mosaic tile floor and white floor powder room idea in Other with flat-panel cabinets, white cabinets, a two-piece toilet, a vessel sink and wood countertops

This remodel is a stunning 100-year-old Wayzata home! The home’s history was embraced while giving the home a refreshing new look. Every aspect of this renovation was thoughtfully considered to turn the home into a "DREAM HOME" for generations to enjoy. With Mingle designed cabinetry throughout several rooms of the home, there is plenty of storage and style. A turn-of-the-century transitional farmhouse home is sure to please the eyes of many and be the perfect fit for this family for years to come.
Spacecrafting
Find the right local pro for your project

Stuart Wade, Envision Virtual Tours
The second-largest and most developed of Georgia's barrier islands, St. Simons is approximately twelve miles long and nearly three miles wide at its widest stretch (roughly the size of Manhattan Island in New York). The island is located in Glynn County on Georgia's coast and lies east of Brunswick (the seat of Glynn County), south of Little St. Simons Island and the Hampton River, and north of Jekyll Island. The resort community of Sea Island is separated from St. Simons on the east by the Black Banks River. Known for its oak tree canopies and historic landmarks, St. Simons is both a tourist destination and, according to the 2010 U.S. census, home to 12,743 residents.
Early History
The earliest
St. Simons Island Village
record of human habitation on the island dates to the Late Archaic Period, about 5,000 to 3,000 years ago. Remnants of shell rings left behind by Native Americans from this era survive on many of the barrier islands, including St. Simons. Centuries later, during the period known by historians as the chiefdom era, the Guale Indians established a chiefdom centered on St. Catherines Island and used St. Simons as their hunting and fishing grounds. By 1500 the Guale had established a permanent village of about 200 people on St. Simons, which they called Guadalquini.
Beginning in 1568, the Spanish attempted to create missions along the Georgia coast. Catholic missions were the primary means by which Georgia's indigenous Native American chiefdoms were assimilated into the Spanish colonial system along the northern frontier of greater Spanish Florida. In the 1600s St. Simons became home to two Spanish missions: San Buenaventura de Guadalquini, on the southern tip of the island, and Santo Domingo de Asao (or Asajo), on the northern tip. Located on the inland side of the island were the pagan refugee villages of San Simón, the island's namesake, and Ocotonico. In 1684 pirate raids left the missions and villages largely abandoned.
Colonial History
As
Fort Frederica
early as 1670, with Great Britain's establishment of the colony of Carolina and its expansion into Georgia territory, Spanish rule was threatened by the English. The Georgia coast was considered "debatable land" by England and Spain, even though Spain had fully retreated from St. Simons by 1702. Thirty-one years later General James Edward Oglethorpe founded the English settlement of Savannah. In 1736 he established Fort Frederica, named after the heir to the British throne, Frederick Louis, prince of Wales, on the west side of St. Simons Island to protect Savannah and the Carolinas from the Spanish threat.
Between 1736 and 1749 Fort Frederica was the hub of British military operations along the Georgia frontier. A town of the same name grew up around the fort and was of great importance to the new colony. By 1740 Frederica's population was 1,000. In 1736 the congregation of what would become Christ Church was organized within Fort Frederica as a mission of the Church of England. Charles Wesley led the first services. In 1742 Britain's decisive victory over Spain in the Battle of Bloody Marsh, during the War of Jenkins' Ear, ended the Spanish threat to the Georgia coast. When the British regimen disbanded in 1749, most of the townspeople relocated to the mainland. Fort Frederica went into decline and, except for a short time of prosperity during the 1760s and 1770s under the leadership of merchant James Spalding, never fully recovered. Today the historic citadel's tabby ruins are maintained by the National Park Service.
Plantation Era
By the start of the American Revolution (1775-83), Fort Frederica was obsolete, and St. Simons was left largely uninhabited as most of its residents joined the patriot army. Besides hosting a small Georgia naval victory on the Fort Frederica River, providing guns from its famous fort for use at Fort Morris in Sunbury, and serving as an arena for pillaging by privateers and British soldiers, the island played almost no role in the war.
Following the war, many of the townspeople, their businesses destroyed, turned to agriculture. The island was transformed into fourteen cotton plantations after acres of live oak trees were cleared for farm land and used for building American warships, including the famous USS Constitution, or "Old Ironsides." Although rice was the predominant crop along the neighboring Altamaha River, St. Simons was known for its production of long-staple cotton, which soon came to be known as Sea Island cotton.
Between
Ebos Landing
the 1780s and the outbreak of the Civil War (1861-65), St. Simons's plantation culture flourished. The saline atmosphere and the availability of cheap slave labor proved an ideal combination for the cultivation of Sea Island cotton. In 1803 a group of Ebo slaves who survived the Middle Passage and arrived on the west side of St. Simons staged a rebellion and drowned themselves. The sacred site is known today as Ebos Landing.
One of the largest owners of land and slaves on St. Simons was Pierce Butler, master of Hampton Point Plantation, located on the northern end of the island. By 1793 Butler owned more than 500 slaves, who cultivated 800 acres of cotton on St. Simons and 300 acres of rice on Butler's Island in the Altamaha River delta. Butler's grandson, Pierce Mease Butler, who at the age of sixteen inherited a share of his grandfather's estate in 1826, was responsible for the largest sale of human beings in the history of the United States: in 1859, to restore his squandered fortune, he sold 429 slaves in Savannah for more than $300,000. The British actress and writer Fanny Kemble, whose tumultuous marriage to Pierce ended in divorce in 1849, published an eyewitness account of the evils of slavery on St. Simons in her book Journal of a Residence on a Georgian Plantation in 1838-1839 (1863).
Another
Retreat Plantation
large owner of land and slaves on St. Simons was Major William Page, a friend and employee of Pierce Butler Sr. Before purchasing Retreat Plantation on the southwestern tip of the island in 1804, Page managed the Hampton plantation and Butler's Island. Upon Page's death in 1827, Thomas Butler King inherited the land together with his wife, Page's daughter, Anna Matilda Page King. King expanded his father-in-law's planting empire on St. Simons as well as on the mainland, and by 1835 Retreat Plantation alone was home to as many as 355 slaves.
The center of life during the island's plantation era was Christ Church, Frederica. Organized in 1807 by a group of island planters, the Episcopal church is the second oldest in the Diocese of Georgia. Embargoes imposed by the War of 1812 (1812-15) prevented the parishioners from building a church structure, so they worshiped in the home of John Beck, which stood on the site of Oglethorpe's only St. Simons residence, Orange Hall.
The first Christ Church building, finished on the present site in 1820, was ruined by occupying Union troops during the Civil War. In 1884 the Reverend Anson Dodge Jr. rebuilt the church as a memorial to his first wife, Ellen. The cruciform building with a trussed gothic roof and stained-glass windows remains active today as Christ Church.
Civil War and Beyond
The
St. Simons Island Lighthouse
outbreak of the Civil War in 1861 put a sudden end to St. Simons's lucrative plantation era. In January of that year, Confederate troops were stationed at the south end of the island to guard the entrance to Brunswick Harbor. Slaves from Retreat Plantation, owned by Thomas Butler King, built earthworks and batteries. Plantation residents were scattered—the men joined the Confederate army and their families moved to the mainland. Cannon fire was heard on the island in December 1861, and Confederate troops retreated in February 1862, after dynamiting the lighthouse to keep its beacon from aiding Union troops. Soon thereafter, Union troops occupied the island, which was used as a camp for freed slaves. By August 1862 more than 500 former slaves lived on St. Simons, including Susie King Taylor, who organized a school for freed slave children. But in November the ex-slaves were taken to Hilton Head, South Carolina, and Fernandina, Florida, leaving the island abandoned.
After the Civil War the island never returned to its status as an agricultural community. The plantations lay dormant because there were no slaves to work the fields. After Union general William T. Sherman's January 1865 Special Field Order No. 15 —a demand that former plantations be divided and distributed to former slaves—was overturned by U.S. president Andrew Johnson less than a year later, freedmen and women were forced to work as sharecroppers on the small farms that dotted the land previously occupied by the sprawling plantations.
By
St. Simons Lumber Mills
1870 real economic recovery began with the reestablishment of the timber industry. Norman Dodge and Titus G. Meigs of New York set up lumber mill operations at Gascoigne Bluff, formerly Hamilton Plantation. The lumber mills provided welcome employment for both blacks and whites and also provided mail and passenger boats to the mainland. Such water traffic, together with the construction of a new lighthouse in 1872, designed by architect Charles B. Cluskey, marked the beginning of St. Simons's tourism industry. The keeper of the lighthouse created a small amusement park, which drew many visitors, as did the seemingly miraculous light that traveled from the top of the lighthouse tower to the bottom. The island became a summer retreat for families from the mainland, particularly from Baxley, Brunswick, and Waycross.
The island's resort industry was thriving by the 1880s. Beachfront structures, such as a new pier and grand hotel, were built on the southeastern end of the island and could be accessed by ferry. Around this time wealthy northerners began vacationing on the island.
Twentieth Century
The
St. Simons Island Pier and Village
opening in 1924 of the Brunswick–St. Simons Highway, today known as the Torras Causeway, was a milestone in the development of resorts in the area. St. Simons's beaches were now easily accessible to locals and tourists alike. More than 5,000 automobiles took the short drive from Brunswick to St. Simons via the causeway on its opening day, paving the way for convenient residential and resort development.
In 1926 automotive pioneer Howard Coffin of Detroit, Michigan, bought large tracts of land on St. Simons, including the former Retreat Plantation, and constructed a golf course, yacht club, paved roads, and a residential subdivision. Although the causeway had brought large numbers of summer people to the island, St. Simons remained a small community with only a few hundred permanent residents until the 1940s.
The
St. Simons Island
outbreak of World War II (1941-45) brought more visitors and residents to St. Simons. Troops stationed at Jacksonville, Florida; Savannah; and nearby Camp Stewart took weekend vacations on the island, and a new naval air base and radar school became home to even more officers and soldiers. The increased wartime population brought the island its first public school. With a major shipyard for the production of Liberty ships in nearby Brunswick, the waters of St. Simons became active with German U-boats. In April 1942, just off the coast, the Texas Company oil tanker S. S. Oklahoma and the S. S. Esso Baton Rouge were torpedoed by the Germans, bringing the war very close to home for island residents.
Due in large part to the military's improvement of the island's infrastructure during the war, development on the island boomed in the 1950s and 1960s. More permanent homes and subdivisions were built, and the island was no longer just a summer resort but also a thriving community. In 1950 the Methodist conference and retreat center Epworth by the Sea opened on Gascoigne Bluff. In 1961 novelist Eugenia Price visited St. Simons and began work on her first works of fiction, known as the St. Simons Trilogy. Inspired by real events on the island, Price's trilogy renewed interest in the history of Georgia's coast, and the novelist herself relocated to the island in 1965 and lived there for thirty-one years. St. Simons is also home to contemporary Georgia writer Tina McElroy Ansa.
Since
Epworth by the Sea
1980 St. Simons's population has doubled. The island's continued status as a vacation destination and its ongoing development boom have put historic landmarks and natural areas at risk. While such landmarks as the Fort Frederica ruins and the Battle of Bloody Marsh site are preserved and maintained by the National Park Service, and while the historic lighthouse is maintained by the Coastal Georgia Historical Society, historic Ebos Landing has been taken over by a sewage treatment plant.
Several coastal organizations have formed in recent years to save natural areas on the island. The St. Simons Land Trust, for example, has received donations of large tracts of land and plans to protect property in the island's three traditional African American neighborhoods. Despite its rapid growth and development, St. Simons remains one of the most beautiful and important islands on the Georgia coast.

Meeka Van der Wal
Photo of a mid-sized transitional full sun front yard stone landscaping in New York for summer.
Photo of a mid-sized transitional full sun front yard stone landscaping in New York for summer.

Jarrett Design is grateful for repeat clients, especially when they have impeccable taste.
In this case, we started with their guest bath. An antique-inspired, hand-pegged vanity from our Nest collection, in hand-planed quarter-sawn cherry with metal capped feet, sets the tone. Calcutta Gold marble warms the room while being complimented by a white marble top and traditional backsplash. Polished nickel fixtures, lighting, and hardware selected by the client add elegance. A special bathroom for special guests.
Next on the list were the laundry area, bar and fireplace. The laundry area greets those who enter through the casual back foyer of the home. It also backs up to the kitchen and breakfast nook. The clients wanted this area to be as beautiful as the other areas of the home and the visible washer and dryer were detracting from their vision. They also were hoping to allow this area to serve double duty as a buffet when they were entertaining. So, the decision was made to hide the washer and dryer with pocket doors. The new cabinetry had to match the existing wall cabinets in style and finish, which is no small task. Our Nest artist came to the rescue. A five-piece soapstone sink and distressed counter top complete the space with a nod to the past.
Our clients wished to add a beverage refrigerator to the existing bar. The wall cabinets were kept in place again. Inspired by a beloved antique corner cupboard also in this sitting room, we decided to use stained cabinetry for the base and refrigerator panel. Soapstone was used for the top and new fireplace surround, bringing continuity from the nearby back foyer.
Last, but definitely not least, the kitchen, banquette and powder room were addressed. The clients removed a glass door in lieu of a wide window to create a cozy breakfast nook featuring a Nest banquette base and table. Brackets for the bench were designed in keeping with the traditional details of the home. A handy drawer was incorporated. The double vase pedestal table with breadboard ends seats six comfortably.
The powder room was updated with another antique reproduction vanity and beautiful vessel sink.
While the kitchen was beautifully done, it was showing its age and functional improvements were desired. This room, like the laundry room, was a project that included existing cabinetry mixed with matching new cabinetry. Precision was necessary. For better function and flow, the cooking surface was relocated from the island to the side wall. Instead of a cooktop with separate wall ovens, the clients opted for a pro style range. These design changes not only make prepping and cooking in the space much more enjoyable, but also allow for a wood hood flanked by bracketed glass cabinets to act a gorgeous focal point. Other changes included removing a small desk in lieu of a dresser style counter height base cabinet. This provided improved counter space and storage. The new island gave better storage, uninterrupted counter space and a perch for the cook or company. Calacatta Gold quartz tops are complimented by a natural limestone floor. A classic apron sink and faucet along with thoughtful cabinetry details are the icing on the cake. Don’t miss the clients’ fabulous collection of serving and display pieces! We told you they have impeccable taste!

Sponsored
Delaware, OH
Buckeye Basements, Inc.
Central Ohio's Basement Finishing ExpertsBest Of Houzz '13-'21

When it became apparent mid-pandemic that “working from home” was going to be more than a short-term gig, this repeat client decided it was time to seriously upgrade her professional digs. Having worked together previously, this owner-designer-builder team quickly realized that the dilapidated detached garage was the perfect She-Shed location, but a full-teardown was in order. Programmatically, the design team was tasked with accommodating sports equipment, stroller parking, an exercise bike, wine storage, a lounge area, and of course, a workstation for this busy mama.

When it became apparent mid-pandemic that “working from home” was going to be more than a short-term gig, this repeat client decided it was time to seriously upgrade her professional digs. Having worked together previously, this owner-designer-builder team quickly realized that the dilapidated detached garage was the perfect She-Shed location, but a full-teardown was in order. Programmatically, the design team was tasked with accommodating sports equipment, stroller parking, an exercise bike, wine storage, a lounge area, and of course, a workstation for this busy mama.

Alcove shower - mid-sized contemporary 3/4 white tile and porcelain tile porcelain tile, beige floor and single-sink alcove shower idea in San Francisco with shaker cabinets, white cabinets, a two-piece toilet, gray walls, an undermount sink, quartz countertops, a hinged shower door, gray countertops, a niche and a built-in vanity

Inspiration for a transitional patio remodel in Seattle with a roof extension and a fireplace

Photos by 205 Photography
Bathroom - mid-sized traditional master beige tile and stone tile marble floor bathroom idea in Birmingham with raised-panel cabinets, medium tone wood cabinets, beige walls, an undermount sink and marble countertops
Bathroom - mid-sized traditional master beige tile and stone tile marble floor bathroom idea in Birmingham with raised-panel cabinets, medium tone wood cabinets, beige walls, an undermount sink and marble countertops

A steeply sloping site posed considerable challenges for Morpurgo Architects’ expansion and renovation of this front to back split-level house. To provide a gradual transition for the family from their home, situated on a high plateau, to the brook and pool below, we designed numerous patios and decks at multiple levels.
The house features large, divided-light arched windows. Throughout the first floor, we created lit vaulted ceilings that give the living areas a spacious, open quality. A wide central hallway forms the spine of the house, opening onto a dining room, with columns that support a curved yoke-shaped header that is repeated in the entrance gate on the grounds.
Renovations were scheduled in four precisely planned construction phases that allowed the family to continue living in the house during the building process.
This elegant, yet informal home, in its serene setting, is the product of Morpurgo Architects’ seamless union of the house and the site.

We are so thankful for good customers! This small family relocating from Massachusetts put their trust in us to create a beautiful kitchen for them. They let us have free reign on the design, which is where we are our best! We are so proud of this outcome, and we know that they love it too!

This beautiful fireplace is made with Salem natural thin veneer from the Quarry Mill. Salem natural stone veneer brings a relaxing blend of granites sourced throughout New England. The stone is characterized as a castle rock style due to the large rectangular pieces of stone. This style is also referred to as square-rectangular or square-rec for short. The individual pieces can range from 4″-12″ in height allowing your mason to create a natural looking wall with non-repeating patterns. Salem thin stone veneer is most commonly found on large scale exterior projects. The stones will be snapped (a natural and still rustic looking edge created by breaking the stone with a hydraulic press) on all four sides. The castle rock is almost always installed with a mortar joint between the pieces of stone.

When it became apparent mid-pandemic that “working from home” was going to be more than a short-term gig, this repeat client decided it was time to seriously upgrade her professional digs. Having worked together previously, this owner-designer-builder team quickly realized that the dilapidated detached garage was the perfect She-Shed location, but a full-teardown was in order. Programmatically, the design team was tasked with accommodating sports equipment, stroller parking, an exercise bike, wine storage, a lounge area, and of course, a workstation for this busy mama.

Sponsored
Columbus, OH
Hope Restoration & General Contracting
Columbus Design-Build, Kitchen & Bath Remodeling, Historic Renovations

Salem natural thin stone veneer creates an elegant and high class retaining wall on this landscape of rolling hills. Salem natural stone veneer brings a relaxing blend of granites sourced throughout New England. The stone is characterized as a castle rock style due to the large rectangular pieces of stone. This style is also referred to as square-rectangular or square-rec for short. The individual pieces can range from 4″-12″ in height allowing your mason to create a natural looking wall with non-repeating patterns. Salem thin stone veneer is most commonly found on large scale exterior projects. The stones will be snapped (a natural and still rustic looking edge created by breaking the stone with a hydraulic press) on all four sides.

This queen size bed was naturally enhanced using multiple bed coverings. A custom shaped headboard genuinely compliments the space’s sloped ceilings. Using an off-white textured fabric places major emphasis on both the headboard itself, and the entire bed. The box pleated dust ruffle was constructed from a more distinct textured fabric, repeated from the draperies, corresponding with the headboard’s fabric. This addition of the box pleated dust ruffle further assists in accentuating the bed altogether. As a final accent, square decorative throw pillows were created using off-white damask fabric embellished with teal brush fringe, and tone on tone teal stripe fabric finished with teal & tan brush fringe. Each piece together creates a restful sleep area.

Walls which are two-story can be a challenge, but they can also be enjoyable to dress up. These full length rod pocket drapery panels, on short rods with decorative end caps incorporate all six windows together as whole, including enhancing the arch window. Contrast flip panels in gold fabric with contrast tabs repeated in drapery fabric stand out as the essential shape of the treatment. The beautifully embellished bouillon fringe along bottom edge of the flip panels complements their triangular shape. All of these pieces together create such an attractive & striking wall.
5



