Search results for "Services alike" in Home Design Ideas

Stuart Wade, Envision Virtual Tours
The second-largest and most developed of Georgia's barrier islands, St. Simons is approximately twelve miles long and nearly three miles wide at its widest stretch (roughly the size of Manhattan Island in New York). The island is located in Glynn County on Georgia's coast and lies east of Brunswick (the seat of Glynn County), south of Little St. Simons Island and the Hampton River, and north of Jekyll Island. The resort community of Sea Island is separated from St. Simons on the east by the Black Banks River. Known for its oak tree canopies and historic landmarks, St. Simons is both a tourist destination and, according to the 2010 U.S. census, home to 12,743 residents.
Early History
The earliest
St. Simons Island Village
record of human habitation on the island dates to the Late Archaic Period, about 5,000 to 3,000 years ago. Remnants of shell rings left behind by Native Americans from this era survive on many of the barrier islands, including St. Simons. Centuries later, during the period known by historians as the chiefdom era, the Guale Indians established a chiefdom centered on St. Catherines Island and used St. Simons as their hunting and fishing grounds. By 1500 the Guale had established a permanent village of about 200 people on St. Simons, which they called Guadalquini.
Beginning in 1568, the Spanish attempted to create missions along the Georgia coast. Catholic missions were the primary means by which Georgia's indigenous Native American chiefdoms were assimilated into the Spanish colonial system along the northern frontier of greater Spanish Florida. In the 1600s St. Simons became home to two Spanish missions: San Buenaventura de Guadalquini, on the southern tip of the island, and Santo Domingo de Asao (or Asajo), on the northern tip. Located on the inland side of the island were the pagan refugee villages of San Simón, the island's namesake, and Ocotonico. In 1684 pirate raids left the missions and villages largely abandoned.
Colonial History
As
Fort Frederica
early as 1670, with Great Britain's establishment of the colony of Carolina and its expansion into Georgia territory, Spanish rule was threatened by the English. The Georgia coast was considered "debatable land" by England and Spain, even though Spain had fully retreated from St. Simons by 1702. Thirty-one years later General James Edward Oglethorpe founded the English settlement of Savannah. In 1736 he established Fort Frederica, named after the heir to the British throne, Frederick Louis, prince of Wales, on the west side of St. Simons Island to protect Savannah and the Carolinas from the Spanish threat.
Between 1736 and 1749 Fort Frederica was the hub of British military operations along the Georgia frontier. A town of the same name grew up around the fort and was of great importance to the new colony. By 1740 Frederica's population was 1,000. In 1736 the congregation of what would become Christ Church was organized within Fort Frederica as a mission of the Church of England. Charles Wesley led the first services. In 1742 Britain's decisive victory over Spain in the Battle of Bloody Marsh, during the War of Jenkins' Ear, ended the Spanish threat to the Georgia coast. When the British regimen disbanded in 1749, most of the townspeople relocated to the mainland. Fort Frederica went into decline and, except for a short time of prosperity during the 1760s and 1770s under the leadership of merchant James Spalding, never fully recovered. Today the historic citadel's tabby ruins are maintained by the National Park Service.
Plantation Era
By the start of the American Revolution (1775-83), Fort Frederica was obsolete, and St. Simons was left largely uninhabited as most of its residents joined the patriot army. Besides hosting a small Georgia naval victory on the Fort Frederica River, providing guns from its famous fort for use at Fort Morris in Sunbury, and serving as an arena for pillaging by privateers and British soldiers, the island played almost no role in the war.
Following the war, many of the townspeople, their businesses destroyed, turned to agriculture. The island was transformed into fourteen cotton plantations after acres of live oak trees were cleared for farm land and used for building American warships, including the famous USS Constitution, or "Old Ironsides." Although rice was the predominant crop along the neighboring Altamaha River, St. Simons was known for its production of long-staple cotton, which soon came to be known as Sea Island cotton.
Between
Ebos Landing
the 1780s and the outbreak of the Civil War (1861-65), St. Simons's plantation culture flourished. The saline atmosphere and the availability of cheap slave labor proved an ideal combination for the cultivation of Sea Island cotton. In 1803 a group of Ebo slaves who survived the Middle Passage and arrived on the west side of St. Simons staged a rebellion and drowned themselves. The sacred site is known today as Ebos Landing.
One of the largest owners of land and slaves on St. Simons was Pierce Butler, master of Hampton Point Plantation, located on the northern end of the island. By 1793 Butler owned more than 500 slaves, who cultivated 800 acres of cotton on St. Simons and 300 acres of rice on Butler's Island in the Altamaha River delta. Butler's grandson, Pierce Mease Butler, who at the age of sixteen inherited a share of his grandfather's estate in 1826, was responsible for the largest sale of human beings in the history of the United States: in 1859, to restore his squandered fortune, he sold 429 slaves in Savannah for more than $300,000. The British actress and writer Fanny Kemble, whose tumultuous marriage to Pierce ended in divorce in 1849, published an eyewitness account of the evils of slavery on St. Simons in her book Journal of a Residence on a Georgian Plantation in 1838-1839 (1863).
Another
Retreat Plantation
large owner of land and slaves on St. Simons was Major William Page, a friend and employee of Pierce Butler Sr. Before purchasing Retreat Plantation on the southwestern tip of the island in 1804, Page managed the Hampton plantation and Butler's Island. Upon Page's death in 1827, Thomas Butler King inherited the land together with his wife, Page's daughter, Anna Matilda Page King. King expanded his father-in-law's planting empire on St. Simons as well as on the mainland, and by 1835 Retreat Plantation alone was home to as many as 355 slaves.
The center of life during the island's plantation era was Christ Church, Frederica. Organized in 1807 by a group of island planters, the Episcopal church is the second oldest in the Diocese of Georgia. Embargoes imposed by the War of 1812 (1812-15) prevented the parishioners from building a church structure, so they worshiped in the home of John Beck, which stood on the site of Oglethorpe's only St. Simons residence, Orange Hall.
The first Christ Church building, finished on the present site in 1820, was ruined by occupying Union troops during the Civil War. In 1884 the Reverend Anson Dodge Jr. rebuilt the church as a memorial to his first wife, Ellen. The cruciform building with a trussed gothic roof and stained-glass windows remains active today as Christ Church.
Civil War and Beyond
The
St. Simons Island Lighthouse
outbreak of the Civil War in 1861 put a sudden end to St. Simons's lucrative plantation era. In January of that year, Confederate troops were stationed at the south end of the island to guard the entrance to Brunswick Harbor. Slaves from Retreat Plantation, owned by Thomas Butler King, built earthworks and batteries. Plantation residents were scattered—the men joined the Confederate army and their families moved to the mainland. Cannon fire was heard on the island in December 1861, and Confederate troops retreated in February 1862, after dynamiting the lighthouse to keep its beacon from aiding Union troops. Soon thereafter, Union troops occupied the island, which was used as a camp for freed slaves. By August 1862 more than 500 former slaves lived on St. Simons, including Susie King Taylor, who organized a school for freed slave children. But in November the ex-slaves were taken to Hilton Head, South Carolina, and Fernandina, Florida, leaving the island abandoned.
After the Civil War the island never returned to its status as an agricultural community. The plantations lay dormant because there were no slaves to work the fields. After Union general William T. Sherman's January 1865 Special Field Order No. 15 —a demand that former plantations be divided and distributed to former slaves—was overturned by U.S. president Andrew Johnson less than a year later, freedmen and women were forced to work as sharecroppers on the small farms that dotted the land previously occupied by the sprawling plantations.
By
St. Simons Lumber Mills
1870 real economic recovery began with the reestablishment of the timber industry. Norman Dodge and Titus G. Meigs of New York set up lumber mill operations at Gascoigne Bluff, formerly Hamilton Plantation. The lumber mills provided welcome employment for both blacks and whites and also provided mail and passenger boats to the mainland. Such water traffic, together with the construction of a new lighthouse in 1872, designed by architect Charles B. Cluskey, marked the beginning of St. Simons's tourism industry. The keeper of the lighthouse created a small amusement park, which drew many visitors, as did the seemingly miraculous light that traveled from the top of the lighthouse tower to the bottom. The island became a summer retreat for families from the mainland, particularly from Baxley, Brunswick, and Waycross.
The island's resort industry was thriving by the 1880s. Beachfront structures, such as a new pier and grand hotel, were built on the southeastern end of the island and could be accessed by ferry. Around this time wealthy northerners began vacationing on the island.
Twentieth Century
The
St. Simons Island Pier and Village
opening in 1924 of the Brunswick–St. Simons Highway, today known as the Torras Causeway, was a milestone in the development of resorts in the area. St. Simons's beaches were now easily accessible to locals and tourists alike. More than 5,000 automobiles took the short drive from Brunswick to St. Simons via the causeway on its opening day, paving the way for convenient residential and resort development.
In 1926 automotive pioneer Howard Coffin of Detroit, Michigan, bought large tracts of land on St. Simons, including the former Retreat Plantation, and constructed a golf course, yacht club, paved roads, and a residential subdivision. Although the causeway had brought large numbers of summer people to the island, St. Simons remained a small community with only a few hundred permanent residents until the 1940s.
The
St. Simons Island
outbreak of World War II (1941-45) brought more visitors and residents to St. Simons. Troops stationed at Jacksonville, Florida; Savannah; and nearby Camp Stewart took weekend vacations on the island, and a new naval air base and radar school became home to even more officers and soldiers. The increased wartime population brought the island its first public school. With a major shipyard for the production of Liberty ships in nearby Brunswick, the waters of St. Simons became active with German U-boats. In April 1942, just off the coast, the Texas Company oil tanker S. S. Oklahoma and the S. S. Esso Baton Rouge were torpedoed by the Germans, bringing the war very close to home for island residents.
Due in large part to the military's improvement of the island's infrastructure during the war, development on the island boomed in the 1950s and 1960s. More permanent homes and subdivisions were built, and the island was no longer just a summer resort but also a thriving community. In 1950 the Methodist conference and retreat center Epworth by the Sea opened on Gascoigne Bluff. In 1961 novelist Eugenia Price visited St. Simons and began work on her first works of fiction, known as the St. Simons Trilogy. Inspired by real events on the island, Price's trilogy renewed interest in the history of Georgia's coast, and the novelist herself relocated to the island in 1965 and lived there for thirty-one years. St. Simons is also home to contemporary Georgia writer Tina McElroy Ansa.
Since
Epworth by the Sea
1980 St. Simons's population has doubled. The island's continued status as a vacation destination and its ongoing development boom have put historic landmarks and natural areas at risk. While such landmarks as the Fort Frederica ruins and the Battle of Bloody Marsh site are preserved and maintained by the National Park Service, and while the historic lighthouse is maintained by the Coastal Georgia Historical Society, historic Ebos Landing has been taken over by a sewage treatment plant.
Several coastal organizations have formed in recent years to save natural areas on the island. The St. Simons Land Trust, for example, has received donations of large tracts of land and plans to protect property in the island's three traditional African American neighborhoods. Despite its rapid growth and development, St. Simons remains one of the most beautiful and important islands on the Georgia coast.

Stuart Wade, Envision Virtual Tours
The second-largest and most developed of Georgia's barrier islands, St. Simons is approximately twelve miles long and nearly three miles wide at its widest stretch (roughly the size of Manhattan Island in New York). The island is located in Glynn County on Georgia's coast and lies east of Brunswick (the seat of Glynn County), south of Little St. Simons Island and the Hampton River, and north of Jekyll Island. The resort community of Sea Island is separated from St. Simons on the east by the Black Banks River. Known for its oak tree canopies and historic landmarks, St. Simons is both a tourist destination and, according to the 2010 U.S. census, home to 12,743 residents.
Early History
The earliest
St. Simons Island Village
record of human habitation on the island dates to the Late Archaic Period, about 5,000 to 3,000 years ago. Remnants of shell rings left behind by Native Americans from this era survive on many of the barrier islands, including St. Simons. Centuries later, during the period known by historians as the chiefdom era, the Guale Indians established a chiefdom centered on St. Catherines Island and used St. Simons as their hunting and fishing grounds. By 1500 the Guale had established a permanent village of about 200 people on St. Simons, which they called Guadalquini.
Beginning in 1568, the Spanish attempted to create missions along the Georgia coast. Catholic missions were the primary means by which Georgia's indigenous Native American chiefdoms were assimilated into the Spanish colonial system along the northern frontier of greater Spanish Florida. In the 1600s St. Simons became home to two Spanish missions: San Buenaventura de Guadalquini, on the southern tip of the island, and Santo Domingo de Asao (or Asajo), on the northern tip. Located on the inland side of the island were the pagan refugee villages of San Simón, the island's namesake, and Ocotonico. In 1684 pirate raids left the missions and villages largely abandoned.
Colonial History
As
Fort Frederica
early as 1670, with Great Britain's establishment of the colony of Carolina and its expansion into Georgia territory, Spanish rule was threatened by the English. The Georgia coast was considered "debatable land" by England and Spain, even though Spain had fully retreated from St. Simons by 1702. Thirty-one years later General James Edward Oglethorpe founded the English settlement of Savannah. In 1736 he established Fort Frederica, named after the heir to the British throne, Frederick Louis, prince of Wales, on the west side of St. Simons Island to protect Savannah and the Carolinas from the Spanish threat.
Between 1736 and 1749 Fort Frederica was the hub of British military operations along the Georgia frontier. A town of the same name grew up around the fort and was of great importance to the new colony. By 1740 Frederica's population was 1,000. In 1736 the congregation of what would become Christ Church was organized within Fort Frederica as a mission of the Church of England. Charles Wesley led the first services. In 1742 Britain's decisive victory over Spain in the Battle of Bloody Marsh, during the War of Jenkins' Ear, ended the Spanish threat to the Georgia coast. When the British regimen disbanded in 1749, most of the townspeople relocated to the mainland. Fort Frederica went into decline and, except for a short time of prosperity during the 1760s and 1770s under the leadership of merchant James Spalding, never fully recovered. Today the historic citadel's tabby ruins are maintained by the National Park Service.
Plantation Era
By the start of the American Revolution (1775-83), Fort Frederica was obsolete, and St. Simons was left largely uninhabited as most of its residents joined the patriot army. Besides hosting a small Georgia naval victory on the Fort Frederica River, providing guns from its famous fort for use at Fort Morris in Sunbury, and serving as an arena for pillaging by privateers and British soldiers, the island played almost no role in the war.
Following the war, many of the townspeople, their businesses destroyed, turned to agriculture. The island was transformed into fourteen cotton plantations after acres of live oak trees were cleared for farm land and used for building American warships, including the famous USS Constitution, or "Old Ironsides." Although rice was the predominant crop along the neighboring Altamaha River, St. Simons was known for its production of long-staple cotton, which soon came to be known as Sea Island cotton.
Between
Ebos Landing
the 1780s and the outbreak of the Civil War (1861-65), St. Simons's plantation culture flourished. The saline atmosphere and the availability of cheap slave labor proved an ideal combination for the cultivation of Sea Island cotton. In 1803 a group of Ebo slaves who survived the Middle Passage and arrived on the west side of St. Simons staged a rebellion and drowned themselves. The sacred site is known today as Ebos Landing.
One of the largest owners of land and slaves on St. Simons was Pierce Butler, master of Hampton Point Plantation, located on the northern end of the island. By 1793 Butler owned more than 500 slaves, who cultivated 800 acres of cotton on St. Simons and 300 acres of rice on Butler's Island in the Altamaha River delta. Butler's grandson, Pierce Mease Butler, who at the age of sixteen inherited a share of his grandfather's estate in 1826, was responsible for the largest sale of human beings in the history of the United States: in 1859, to restore his squandered fortune, he sold 429 slaves in Savannah for more than $300,000. The British actress and writer Fanny Kemble, whose tumultuous marriage to Pierce ended in divorce in 1849, published an eyewitness account of the evils of slavery on St. Simons in her book Journal of a Residence on a Georgian Plantation in 1838-1839 (1863).
Another
Retreat Plantation
large owner of land and slaves on St. Simons was Major William Page, a friend and employee of Pierce Butler Sr. Before purchasing Retreat Plantation on the southwestern tip of the island in 1804, Page managed the Hampton plantation and Butler's Island. Upon Page's death in 1827, Thomas Butler King inherited the land together with his wife, Page's daughter, Anna Matilda Page King. King expanded his father-in-law's planting empire on St. Simons as well as on the mainland, and by 1835 Retreat Plantation alone was home to as many as 355 slaves.
The center of life during the island's plantation era was Christ Church, Frederica. Organized in 1807 by a group of island planters, the Episcopal church is the second oldest in the Diocese of Georgia. Embargoes imposed by the War of 1812 (1812-15) prevented the parishioners from building a church structure, so they worshiped in the home of John Beck, which stood on the site of Oglethorpe's only St. Simons residence, Orange Hall.
The first Christ Church building, finished on the present site in 1820, was ruined by occupying Union troops during the Civil War. In 1884 the Reverend Anson Dodge Jr. rebuilt the church as a memorial to his first wife, Ellen. The cruciform building with a trussed gothic roof and stained-glass windows remains active today as Christ Church.
Civil War and Beyond
The
St. Simons Island Lighthouse
outbreak of the Civil War in 1861 put a sudden end to St. Simons's lucrative plantation era. In January of that year, Confederate troops were stationed at the south end of the island to guard the entrance to Brunswick Harbor. Slaves from Retreat Plantation, owned by Thomas Butler King, built earthworks and batteries. Plantation residents were scattered—the men joined the Confederate army and their families moved to the mainland. Cannon fire was heard on the island in December 1861, and Confederate troops retreated in February 1862, after dynamiting the lighthouse to keep its beacon from aiding Union troops. Soon thereafter, Union troops occupied the island, which was used as a camp for freed slaves. By August 1862 more than 500 former slaves lived on St. Simons, including Susie King Taylor, who organized a school for freed slave children. But in November the ex-slaves were taken to Hilton Head, South Carolina, and Fernandina, Florida, leaving the island abandoned.
After the Civil War the island never returned to its status as an agricultural community. The plantations lay dormant because there were no slaves to work the fields. After Union general William T. Sherman's January 1865 Special Field Order No. 15 —a demand that former plantations be divided and distributed to former slaves—was overturned by U.S. president Andrew Johnson less than a year later, freedmen and women were forced to work as sharecroppers on the small farms that dotted the land previously occupied by the sprawling plantations.
By
St. Simons Lumber Mills
1870 real economic recovery began with the reestablishment of the timber industry. Norman Dodge and Titus G. Meigs of New York set up lumber mill operations at Gascoigne Bluff, formerly Hamilton Plantation. The lumber mills provided welcome employment for both blacks and whites and also provided mail and passenger boats to the mainland. Such water traffic, together with the construction of a new lighthouse in 1872, designed by architect Charles B. Cluskey, marked the beginning of St. Simons's tourism industry. The keeper of the lighthouse created a small amusement park, which drew many visitors, as did the seemingly miraculous light that traveled from the top of the lighthouse tower to the bottom. The island became a summer retreat for families from the mainland, particularly from Baxley, Brunswick, and Waycross.
The island's resort industry was thriving by the 1880s. Beachfront structures, such as a new pier and grand hotel, were built on the southeastern end of the island and could be accessed by ferry. Around this time wealthy northerners began vacationing on the island.
Twentieth Century
The
St. Simons Island Pier and Village
opening in 1924 of the Brunswick–St. Simons Highway, today known as the Torras Causeway, was a milestone in the development of resorts in the area. St. Simons's beaches were now easily accessible to locals and tourists alike. More than 5,000 automobiles took the short drive from Brunswick to St. Simons via the causeway on its opening day, paving the way for convenient residential and resort development.
In 1926 automotive pioneer Howard Coffin of Detroit, Michigan, bought large tracts of land on St. Simons, including the former Retreat Plantation, and constructed a golf course, yacht club, paved roads, and a residential subdivision. Although the causeway had brought large numbers of summer people to the island, St. Simons remained a small community with only a few hundred permanent residents until the 1940s.
The
St. Simons Island
outbreak of World War II (1941-45) brought more visitors and residents to St. Simons. Troops stationed at Jacksonville, Florida; Savannah; and nearby Camp Stewart took weekend vacations on the island, and a new naval air base and radar school became home to even more officers and soldiers. The increased wartime population brought the island its first public school. With a major shipyard for the production of Liberty ships in nearby Brunswick, the waters of St. Simons became active with German U-boats. In April 1942, just off the coast, the Texas Company oil tanker S. S. Oklahoma and the S. S. Esso Baton Rouge were torpedoed by the Germans, bringing the war very close to home for island residents.
Due in large part to the military's improvement of the island's infrastructure during the war, development on the island boomed in the 1950s and 1960s. More permanent homes and subdivisions were built, and the island was no longer just a summer resort but also a thriving community. In 1950 the Methodist conference and retreat center Epworth by the Sea opened on Gascoigne Bluff. In 1961 novelist Eugenia Price visited St. Simons and began work on her first works of fiction, known as the St. Simons Trilogy. Inspired by real events on the island, Price's trilogy renewed interest in the history of Georgia's coast, and the novelist herself relocated to the island in 1965 and lived there for thirty-one years. St. Simons is also home to contemporary Georgia writer Tina McElroy Ansa.
Since
Epworth by the Sea
1980 St. Simons's population has doubled. The island's continued status as a vacation destination and its ongoing development boom have put historic landmarks and natural areas at risk. While such landmarks as the Fort Frederica ruins and the Battle of Bloody Marsh site are preserved and maintained by the National Park Service, and while the historic lighthouse is maintained by the Coastal Georgia Historical Society, historic Ebos Landing has been taken over by a sewage treatment plant.
Several coastal organizations have formed in recent years to save natural areas on the island. The St. Simons Land Trust, for example, has received donations of large tracts of land and plans to protect property in the island's three traditional African American neighborhoods. Despite its rapid growth and development, St. Simons remains one of the most beautiful and important islands on the Georgia coast.

Bois Du Chandon
Extravaganza floor Collection By DC
www.deco27.net
Deco27, is one of Florida’s largest and most recognized company specialized in hardwood flooring , doors , porcelains , stairs, wood walls and wine cellars . Our goal is to provide the finest quality products, at competitive market prices, while maintaining the highest standards in service.
Deco27 offers a wide array line of products in a domestic and imported essential natural elements from the world’s most prestigious manufacturers, as well our private collections customized to your request.
Deco27 offer innovative product line discerning buyers more choices of fine and luxurious alternatives, striking colors, diversity of rich styles, and unsurpassed durability.
Deco27 prides itself in offering unparalleled customer satisfaction by delivering solutions to the most creative interior designs and challenging installation alternatives.
Deco27 is conveniently located in the heart of Miami, rendering our business an ideal destination for designers, architects and clients alike with high quality personalized attention to detail that have made us the leader in our field for more than 35 yrs.
Magnificent Interior design, "Miami modern" “Contemporary Interior Designers” “Modern Interior Designers” “Coco Plum Interior Designers” “Sunny Isles Interior Designers” “Pinecrest Interior Designers” "deco27””allwoods” "South Florida designers" “Best Miami Designers” "Miami interiors" "Miami decor" “Miami Beach Designers” “Best Miami Interior Designers” “Miami Beach Interiors” “Luxurious Design in Miami” "Top designers" "Deco Miami" "Luxury interiors" “Miami Beach Luxury Interiors” “Miami Interior Design” “Miami Interior Design Firms” "Beach front" “Top Interior Designers” "top decor" “Top Miami Decorators” "Miami luxury condos" "modern interiors" "Modern” "Pent house design" "white interiors" “Top Miami Interior Decorators” “Top Miami Interior Designers” “Modern Designers in Miami”
Bathroom, Bathrooms, House Interior Designer, House Interior Designers, Home Interior Designer, Home Interior Designers, Residential Interior Designer, Residential Interior Designers, Modern Interior Designers, Miami Beach Designers, Best Miami Interior Designers, Miami Beach Interiors, Luxurious Design in Miami, Top designers, Deco Miami, Luxury interiors, Miami modern, Interior Designer Miami, Contemporary Interior Designers, Coco Plum Interior Designers, Miami Interior Designer, Sunny Isles Interior Designers, Pinecrest Interior Designers, Interior Designers Miami, deco27, South Florida designers, Best Miami Designers, Miami interiors,Miami décor, Miami Beach Luxury Interiors, Miami Interior Design, Miami Interior Design Firms, Beach front, Top Interior Designers, top décor, Top Miami Decorators, Miami luxury condos, Top Miami Interior Decorators, Top Miami Interior Designers, Modern Designers in Miami, modern interiors, Modern, Pent house design, white interiors, Miami, South Miami, Miami Beach, South Beach, Williams Island, Sunny Isles, Surfside, Fisher Island, Aventura, Brickell, Brickell Key, Key Biscayne, Coral Gables, CocoPlum, Coconut Grove, Pinecrest, Miami Design District, Golden Beach, Downtown Miami, Miami Interior Designers, Miami Interior Designer, Interior Design Miami modern, Contemporary Interior Designers, Modern Interior Designers, Coco Plum Interior Designers, Sunny Isles Interior Designers, Pinecrest Interior Designers, J Design Group interiors, South Florida designers, Best Miami Designers, Miami interiors, Miami décor, Miami Beach Designers, Best Miami Ocean front, Luxury home in Miami Beach - Living Room. MiamiMiami Interior Designers Miami Interior Designer Interior Designers Miami Interior Designer Miami Modern Interior Designers Modern Interior Designer Modern interior decorators Modern interior decorator Contemporary Interior Designers Contemporary Interior Designer Interior design decorators Interior design decorator Interior Decoration and Design Black Interior Designers Black Interior Designer Interior designer Interior designers Interior design decorators Interior design decorator Home interior designers Home interior designer Interior design companies Interior decorators Interior decorator Decorators Decorator Miami Decorators Miami Decorator Decorators Miami Decorator Miami Interior Design Firm Interior Design Firms Interior Designer Firm Interior Designer Firms Interior design Interior designs homedecorators Interior decorating Miami Best Interior DesignersMagnificent Interior design, "Miami modern" “Contemporary Interior Designers” “Modern Interior Designers” “Coco Plum Interior Designers” “Sunny Isles Interior Designers” “Pinecrest Interior Designers” "deco27 interiors" "South Florida designers" “Best Miami Designers” "Miami interiors" "Miami decor" “Miami Beach Designers” “Best Miami Interior Designers” “Miami Beach Interiors” “Luxurious Design in Miami” "Top floors” 33010 33146 33012 33147 33013 33149 33014 33150 33015 33154 33016 33155 33018 33156 33030 33157 33031 33158 33032 33160 33033 33161 33034 33162 33035 33165 33054 33166 33055 33167 33056 33168 33109 33169 33122 33170 33125 33172 33126 33173 33127 33174 33128 33175 33129 33176 33130 33177 33131 33178 33132 33179 33133 33180 33134 33181 33135 33182 33136 33183 33137 33184 33138 33185 33139 33186 33140 33187 33141 33189 33142 33190 33143 33193 33178 33166 33126 33175 33144 33194 33145 33196 34141 DORAL, MEDLEY, HIALEAH, SWEETWATER, WESTCHESTER, SINGLE FAMILY, BACKYARD, YARD, GREAT LOCATION, PRIVATE, ENJOY, STAINLESS STEEL, HARDWOOD FLOORS, BEAUTIFUL, SPACIOUS, LUXURY, ELEGANT, VAULTED CEILINGS, YOUR DREAM HOME, GRANITE COUNTERTOPS, POOL, PRICED TO SELL, FRENCH DOORS, MOVE-IN READY, BRAND NEW, WELL MAINTAINED, GREAT ROOM, MUST SEE, GREAT VIEWS, CONVENIENTLY LOCATED, CLOSE TO SCHOOLS, WET BAR, FRESHLY PAINTED, GREAT STARTER HOME, ENTERTAINING, LOTS OF STORAGE, QUIET, PRIVATE, ENJOY, CROWN MOLDINGS, DESIGN DISTRICT, WASHER AND DRYER, POOL AND SPA, HIGH CEILINGS, ATTACHED GARAGE, BUILD YOUR DREAM, WALL OF WINDOWS, CATHEDRAL CEILINGS, DESIGN DISTRICT, ALLAPATTAH, BRICKELL, BUENA VISTA, CIVIC CENTER, COCONUT GROVE, CORAL WAY, DESIGN DISTRICT, DOWNTOWN, JEWELRY DISTRICT, LUMMUS PARK, OMNI, PARK WEST, EDGEWATER, FLAGAMI, GRAPELAND HEIGHTS, LIBERTY CITY, LITTLE HAITI, LITTLE HAVANA, LUMMUS PARK, MIDTOWN, EDGEWATER, WYNWOOD, OVERTOWN, PARK WEST, THE ROADS, UPPER EAST SIDE, MAGNOLIA PARK, VENETIAN ISLANDS, VIRGINIA KEY, WEST FLAGLER, WYNWOOD, OWNER WILL FINANCE, SELLER FINANCE, FINANCING, 4 BEDROOMS, ISLAND KITCHEN, INVESTMENT PROPERTY, INVESTORS, HOME FOR SALE, REHABBER, FIXER UPPER, CASH DEALS, INCOME PROPERTY, SHORT SALE, FORECLOSURE, RENTAL PROPERTY, INCOME PRODUCING PROPERTIES, BRICKELL REAL ESTATE, MIAMI LUXURY HOMES, LUXURY CONDO, CONDO FOR SALE IN BRICKELL, NEO, BRICKELL HOUSE, THE YORKER, OCEAN FIVE, WIND BY NEO, AVENTURA TOWNHOMES VILLAS, WILLIAMS ISLAND, DOWNTOWN MIAMI, MIDTOWN MIAMI, SOUTH BEACH, SUNNY ISLES, HALLANDALE, HOLLYWOOD, CORAL GABLES, COCONUT GROVE, MIAMI BEACH, NORTH BAY VILLAGE, EDGE WATER, BAYSIDE, BRICKELL, DOWNTOWN, ART DISTRICT, BAL HARBOUR, UPTOWN LOFTS, TEN MUSEUM, CONDOS FOR RENT, MIAMI, THE BOND BRICKELL, 600 BISCAYNE, PELORO MIAMI BEACH, FAENA HOUSE, BELLINI WILLIAMS ISLAND, THE GRAND, BELLE PLAZA, MET, VIZCAYNE, VILLAS DE VIZCAYA, VILLA REGINA, VICEROY, CONDO, LOFT, ICON, VENETIA, VENETIAN ISLAND, TWO TEQUESTA POINT, TURNBERRY VILLAGE, TEN ARAGON, THE MARK, RAZIBUL, SUNNY ISLES BEACH CONDO, STAR LOFTS, 5997, BRICKELL ON THE RIVER, SKYLINE, FOUR SEASON, PONCE DE LEON, POINT VIEW, PLAZA ON BRICKELL, PARC LOFTS, ONYX, ONE COSMOPOLITAN, CONTINUUM SOUTH BEACH, CITY 24, CITE ON THE BAY, CARBONELL BRICKELL KEY, BRISTOL TOWER, BRICKELL WAY CONDOS, BRICKELL TOWNHOUSE, BRICKELL VISTA, METROPOLITAN, BRICKELL KEY TWO, BRICKELL KEY, BRICKELL 33131, 33132, 33130, 33129, 33127, 33137, 305
Find the right local pro for your project

The renovated Lowell “barn” is a landmark to residents and visitors alike and houses the offices of Scott Lowell, LOWELL CUSTOM HOMES & LOWELL MANAGEMENT SERVICES, INC., LAKE GENVA, WI..,

The Denver area’s best fireplace store is just a short drive from downtown Denver, right in the heart of Conifer CO. We have over 40 burning displays spread throughout our expansive 3,000 sq ft showroom area. Spanning 5 full rooms, our Denver area hearth store showcases some of the best brands in the industry including a wide selection of fireplaces, fireplace inserts, wood stoves, gas stoves, pellet stoves, gas fireplaces, gas log sets, electric fireplaces, fire pits, outdoor fireplaces and more!
Beyond just fireplaces & heating stoves, we also stock a great supply of hearth accessories, including hearth pads, tool sets, fireplace doors, grates, screens, wood holders, ash buckets, and much more. Homeowners & Contractors alike turn to us for all of their hearth and heating needs, including chimney venting pipe, like Class A Chimney, Direct Vents, Pellet Vents, and other chimney systems.
At Inglenook Energy Center, you can count on full service customer care from the moment you walk in the door. Our trained & knowledgeable experts can help you select the perfect fireplace, stove, or insert for your needs then set up installation with our trusted group of licensed independent sub-contractors. We also have a fireplace & stove parts department that can help with all of your fireplace & stove repairs and maintenance needs, too.
We only carry & offer quality products from top name brands & manufacturers so our customers will get the most out of their new heating unit. Stop by our showroom and store today to view your favorite models side by side and get inspired to design & build a beautiful new hearth area, whether that is indoors or outdoors.

The renovated Lowell “barn” is a landmark to residents and visitors alike and houses the offices of Scott Lowell, LOWELL CUSTOM HOMES & LOWELL MANAGEMENT SERVICES, INC., LAKE GENVA, WI..,

Stuart Wade, Envision Virtual Tours
The second-largest and most developed of Georgia's barrier islands, St. Simons is approximately twelve miles long and nearly three miles wide at its widest stretch (roughly the size of Manhattan Island in New York). The island is located in Glynn County on Georgia's coast and lies east of Brunswick (the seat of Glynn County), south of Little St. Simons Island and the Hampton River, and north of Jekyll Island. The resort community of Sea Island is separated from St. Simons on the east by the Black Banks River. Known for its oak tree canopies and historic landmarks, St. Simons is both a tourist destination and, according to the 2010 U.S. census, home to 12,743 residents.
Early History
The earliest
St. Simons Island Village
record of human habitation on the island dates to the Late Archaic Period, about 5,000 to 3,000 years ago. Remnants of shell rings left behind by Native Americans from this era survive on many of the barrier islands, including St. Simons. Centuries later, during the period known by historians as the chiefdom era, the Guale Indians established a chiefdom centered on St. Catherines Island and used St. Simons as their hunting and fishing grounds. By 1500 the Guale had established a permanent village of about 200 people on St. Simons, which they called Guadalquini.
Beginning in 1568, the Spanish attempted to create missions along the Georgia coast. Catholic missions were the primary means by which Georgia's indigenous Native American chiefdoms were assimilated into the Spanish colonial system along the northern frontier of greater Spanish Florida. In the 1600s St. Simons became home to two Spanish missions: San Buenaventura de Guadalquini, on the southern tip of the island, and Santo Domingo de Asao (or Asajo), on the northern tip. Located on the inland side of the island were the pagan refugee villages of San Simón, the island's namesake, and Ocotonico. In 1684 pirate raids left the missions and villages largely abandoned.
Colonial History
As
Fort Frederica
early as 1670, with Great Britain's establishment of the colony of Carolina and its expansion into Georgia territory, Spanish rule was threatened by the English. The Georgia coast was considered "debatable land" by England and Spain, even though Spain had fully retreated from St. Simons by 1702. Thirty-one years later General James Edward Oglethorpe founded the English settlement of Savannah. In 1736 he established Fort Frederica, named after the heir to the British throne, Frederick Louis, prince of Wales, on the west side of St. Simons Island to protect Savannah and the Carolinas from the Spanish threat.
Between 1736 and 1749 Fort Frederica was the hub of British military operations along the Georgia frontier. A town of the same name grew up around the fort and was of great importance to the new colony. By 1740 Frederica's population was 1,000. In 1736 the congregation of what would become Christ Church was organized within Fort Frederica as a mission of the Church of England. Charles Wesley led the first services. In 1742 Britain's decisive victory over Spain in the Battle of Bloody Marsh, during the War of Jenkins' Ear, ended the Spanish threat to the Georgia coast. When the British regimen disbanded in 1749, most of the townspeople relocated to the mainland. Fort Frederica went into decline and, except for a short time of prosperity during the 1760s and 1770s under the leadership of merchant James Spalding, never fully recovered. Today the historic citadel's tabby ruins are maintained by the National Park Service.
Plantation Era
By the start of the American Revolution (1775-83), Fort Frederica was obsolete, and St. Simons was left largely uninhabited as most of its residents joined the patriot army. Besides hosting a small Georgia naval victory on the Fort Frederica River, providing guns from its famous fort for use at Fort Morris in Sunbury, and serving as an arena for pillaging by privateers and British soldiers, the island played almost no role in the war.
Following the war, many of the townspeople, their businesses destroyed, turned to agriculture. The island was transformed into fourteen cotton plantations after acres of live oak trees were cleared for farm land and used for building American warships, including the famous USS Constitution, or "Old Ironsides." Although rice was the predominant crop along the neighboring Altamaha River, St. Simons was known for its production of long-staple cotton, which soon came to be known as Sea Island cotton.
Between
Ebos Landing
the 1780s and the outbreak of the Civil War (1861-65), St. Simons's plantation culture flourished. The saline atmosphere and the availability of cheap slave labor proved an ideal combination for the cultivation of Sea Island cotton. In 1803 a group of Ebo slaves who survived the Middle Passage and arrived on the west side of St. Simons staged a rebellion and drowned themselves. The sacred site is known today as Ebos Landing.
One of the largest owners of land and slaves on St. Simons was Pierce Butler, master of Hampton Point Plantation, located on the northern end of the island. By 1793 Butler owned more than 500 slaves, who cultivated 800 acres of cotton on St. Simons and 300 acres of rice on Butler's Island in the Altamaha River delta. Butler's grandson, Pierce Mease Butler, who at the age of sixteen inherited a share of his grandfather's estate in 1826, was responsible for the largest sale of human beings in the history of the United States: in 1859, to restore his squandered fortune, he sold 429 slaves in Savannah for more than $300,000. The British actress and writer Fanny Kemble, whose tumultuous marriage to Pierce ended in divorce in 1849, published an eyewitness account of the evils of slavery on St. Simons in her book Journal of a Residence on a Georgian Plantation in 1838-1839 (1863).
Another
Retreat Plantation
large owner of land and slaves on St. Simons was Major William Page, a friend and employee of Pierce Butler Sr. Before purchasing Retreat Plantation on the southwestern tip of the island in 1804, Page managed the Hampton plantation and Butler's Island. Upon Page's death in 1827, Thomas Butler King inherited the land together with his wife, Page's daughter, Anna Matilda Page King. King expanded his father-in-law's planting empire on St. Simons as well as on the mainland, and by 1835 Retreat Plantation alone was home to as many as 355 slaves.
The center of life during the island's plantation era was Christ Church, Frederica. Organized in 1807 by a group of island planters, the Episcopal church is the second oldest in the Diocese of Georgia. Embargoes imposed by the War of 1812 (1812-15) prevented the parishioners from building a church structure, so they worshiped in the home of John Beck, which stood on the site of Oglethorpe's only St. Simons residence, Orange Hall.
The first Christ Church building, finished on the present site in 1820, was ruined by occupying Union troops during the Civil War. In 1884 the Reverend Anson Dodge Jr. rebuilt the church as a memorial to his first wife, Ellen. The cruciform building with a trussed gothic roof and stained-glass windows remains active today as Christ Church.
Civil War and Beyond
The
St. Simons Island Lighthouse
outbreak of the Civil War in 1861 put a sudden end to St. Simons's lucrative plantation era. In January of that year, Confederate troops were stationed at the south end of the island to guard the entrance to Brunswick Harbor. Slaves from Retreat Plantation, owned by Thomas Butler King, built earthworks and batteries. Plantation residents were scattered—the men joined the Confederate army and their families moved to the mainland. Cannon fire was heard on the island in December 1861, and Confederate troops retreated in February 1862, after dynamiting the lighthouse to keep its beacon from aiding Union troops. Soon thereafter, Union troops occupied the island, which was used as a camp for freed slaves. By August 1862 more than 500 former slaves lived on St. Simons, including Susie King Taylor, who organized a school for freed slave children. But in November the ex-slaves were taken to Hilton Head, South Carolina, and Fernandina, Florida, leaving the island abandoned.
After the Civil War the island never returned to its status as an agricultural community. The plantations lay dormant because there were no slaves to work the fields. After Union general William T. Sherman's January 1865 Special Field Order No. 15 —a demand that former plantations be divided and distributed to former slaves—was overturned by U.S. president Andrew Johnson less than a year later, freedmen and women were forced to work as sharecroppers on the small farms that dotted the land previously occupied by the sprawling plantations.
By
St. Simons Lumber Mills
1870 real economic recovery began with the reestablishment of the timber industry. Norman Dodge and Titus G. Meigs of New York set up lumber mill operations at Gascoigne Bluff, formerly Hamilton Plantation. The lumber mills provided welcome employment for both blacks and whites and also provided mail and passenger boats to the mainland. Such water traffic, together with the construction of a new lighthouse in 1872, designed by architect Charles B. Cluskey, marked the beginning of St. Simons's tourism industry. The keeper of the lighthouse created a small amusement park, which drew many visitors, as did the seemingly miraculous light that traveled from the top of the lighthouse tower to the bottom. The island became a summer retreat for families from the mainland, particularly from Baxley, Brunswick, and Waycross.
The island's resort industry was thriving by the 1880s. Beachfront structures, such as a new pier and grand hotel, were built on the southeastern end of the island and could be accessed by ferry. Around this time wealthy northerners began vacationing on the island.
Twentieth Century
The
St. Simons Island Pier and Village
opening in 1924 of the Brunswick–St. Simons Highway, today known as the Torras Causeway, was a milestone in the development of resorts in the area. St. Simons's beaches were now easily accessible to locals and tourists alike. More than 5,000 automobiles took the short drive from Brunswick to St. Simons via the causeway on its opening day, paving the way for convenient residential and resort development.
In 1926 automotive pioneer Howard Coffin of Detroit, Michigan, bought large tracts of land on St. Simons, including the former Retreat Plantation, and constructed a golf course, yacht club, paved roads, and a residential subdivision. Although the causeway had brought large numbers of summer people to the island, St. Simons remained a small community with only a few hundred permanent residents until the 1940s.
The
St. Simons Island
outbreak of World War II (1941-45) brought more visitors and residents to St. Simons. Troops stationed at Jacksonville, Florida; Savannah; and nearby Camp Stewart took weekend vacations on the island, and a new naval air base and radar school became home to even more officers and soldiers. The increased wartime population brought the island its first public school. With a major shipyard for the production of Liberty ships in nearby Brunswick, the waters of St. Simons became active with German U-boats. In April 1942, just off the coast, the Texas Company oil tanker S. S. Oklahoma and the S. S. Esso Baton Rouge were torpedoed by the Germans, bringing the war very close to home for island residents.
Due in large part to the military's improvement of the island's infrastructure during the war, development on the island boomed in the 1950s and 1960s. More permanent homes and subdivisions were built, and the island was no longer just a summer resort but also a thriving community. In 1950 the Methodist conference and retreat center Epworth by the Sea opened on Gascoigne Bluff. In 1961 novelist Eugenia Price visited St. Simons and began work on her first works of fiction, known as the St. Simons Trilogy. Inspired by real events on the island, Price's trilogy renewed interest in the history of Georgia's coast, and the novelist herself relocated to the island in 1965 and lived there for thirty-one years. St. Simons is also home to contemporary Georgia writer Tina McElroy Ansa.
Since
Epworth by the Sea
1980 St. Simons's population has doubled. The island's continued status as a vacation destination and its ongoing development boom have put historic landmarks and natural areas at risk. While such landmarks as the Fort Frederica ruins and the Battle of Bloody Marsh site are preserved and maintained by the National Park Service, and while the historic lighthouse is maintained by the Coastal Georgia Historical Society, historic Ebos Landing has been taken over by a sewage treatment plant.
Several coastal organizations have formed in recent years to save natural areas on the island. The St. Simons Land Trust, for example, has received donations of large tracts of land and plans to protect property in the island's three traditional African American neighborhoods. Despite its rapid growth and development, St. Simons remains one of the most beautiful and important islands on the Georgia coast.

Stuart Wade, Envision Virtual Tours
The second-largest and most developed of Georgia's barrier islands, St. Simons is approximately twelve miles long and nearly three miles wide at its widest stretch (roughly the size of Manhattan Island in New York). The island is located in Glynn County on Georgia's coast and lies east of Brunswick (the seat of Glynn County), south of Little St. Simons Island and the Hampton River, and north of Jekyll Island. The resort community of Sea Island is separated from St. Simons on the east by the Black Banks River. Known for its oak tree canopies and historic landmarks, St. Simons is both a tourist destination and, according to the 2010 U.S. census, home to 12,743 residents.
Early History
The earliest
St. Simons Island Village
record of human habitation on the island dates to the Late Archaic Period, about 5,000 to 3,000 years ago. Remnants of shell rings left behind by Native Americans from this era survive on many of the barrier islands, including St. Simons. Centuries later, during the period known by historians as the chiefdom era, the Guale Indians established a chiefdom centered on St. Catherines Island and used St. Simons as their hunting and fishing grounds. By 1500 the Guale had established a permanent village of about 200 people on St. Simons, which they called Guadalquini.
Beginning in 1568, the Spanish attempted to create missions along the Georgia coast. Catholic missions were the primary means by which Georgia's indigenous Native American chiefdoms were assimilated into the Spanish colonial system along the northern frontier of greater Spanish Florida. In the 1600s St. Simons became home to two Spanish missions: San Buenaventura de Guadalquini, on the southern tip of the island, and Santo Domingo de Asao (or Asajo), on the northern tip. Located on the inland side of the island were the pagan refugee villages of San Simón, the island's namesake, and Ocotonico. In 1684 pirate raids left the missions and villages largely abandoned.
Colonial History
As
Fort Frederica
early as 1670, with Great Britain's establishment of the colony of Carolina and its expansion into Georgia territory, Spanish rule was threatened by the English. The Georgia coast was considered "debatable land" by England and Spain, even though Spain had fully retreated from St. Simons by 1702. Thirty-one years later General James Edward Oglethorpe founded the English settlement of Savannah. In 1736 he established Fort Frederica, named after the heir to the British throne, Frederick Louis, prince of Wales, on the west side of St. Simons Island to protect Savannah and the Carolinas from the Spanish threat.
Between 1736 and 1749 Fort Frederica was the hub of British military operations along the Georgia frontier. A town of the same name grew up around the fort and was of great importance to the new colony. By 1740 Frederica's population was 1,000. In 1736 the congregation of what would become Christ Church was organized within Fort Frederica as a mission of the Church of England. Charles Wesley led the first services. In 1742 Britain's decisive victory over Spain in the Battle of Bloody Marsh, during the War of Jenkins' Ear, ended the Spanish threat to the Georgia coast. When the British regimen disbanded in 1749, most of the townspeople relocated to the mainland. Fort Frederica went into decline and, except for a short time of prosperity during the 1760s and 1770s under the leadership of merchant James Spalding, never fully recovered. Today the historic citadel's tabby ruins are maintained by the National Park Service.
Plantation Era
By the start of the American Revolution (1775-83), Fort Frederica was obsolete, and St. Simons was left largely uninhabited as most of its residents joined the patriot army. Besides hosting a small Georgia naval victory on the Fort Frederica River, providing guns from its famous fort for use at Fort Morris in Sunbury, and serving as an arena for pillaging by privateers and British soldiers, the island played almost no role in the war.
Following the war, many of the townspeople, their businesses destroyed, turned to agriculture. The island was transformed into fourteen cotton plantations after acres of live oak trees were cleared for farm land and used for building American warships, including the famous USS Constitution, or "Old Ironsides." Although rice was the predominant crop along the neighboring Altamaha River, St. Simons was known for its production of long-staple cotton, which soon came to be known as Sea Island cotton.
Between
Ebos Landing
the 1780s and the outbreak of the Civil War (1861-65), St. Simons's plantation culture flourished. The saline atmosphere and the availability of cheap slave labor proved an ideal combination for the cultivation of Sea Island cotton. In 1803 a group of Ebo slaves who survived the Middle Passage and arrived on the west side of St. Simons staged a rebellion and drowned themselves. The sacred site is known today as Ebos Landing.
One of the largest owners of land and slaves on St. Simons was Pierce Butler, master of Hampton Point Plantation, located on the northern end of the island. By 1793 Butler owned more than 500 slaves, who cultivated 800 acres of cotton on St. Simons and 300 acres of rice on Butler's Island in the Altamaha River delta. Butler's grandson, Pierce Mease Butler, who at the age of sixteen inherited a share of his grandfather's estate in 1826, was responsible for the largest sale of human beings in the history of the United States: in 1859, to restore his squandered fortune, he sold 429 slaves in Savannah for more than $300,000. The British actress and writer Fanny Kemble, whose tumultuous marriage to Pierce ended in divorce in 1849, published an eyewitness account of the evils of slavery on St. Simons in her book Journal of a Residence on a Georgian Plantation in 1838-1839 (1863).
Another
Retreat Plantation
large owner of land and slaves on St. Simons was Major William Page, a friend and employee of Pierce Butler Sr. Before purchasing Retreat Plantation on the southwestern tip of the island in 1804, Page managed the Hampton plantation and Butler's Island. Upon Page's death in 1827, Thomas Butler King inherited the land together with his wife, Page's daughter, Anna Matilda Page King. King expanded his father-in-law's planting empire on St. Simons as well as on the mainland, and by 1835 Retreat Plantation alone was home to as many as 355 slaves.
The center of life during the island's plantation era was Christ Church, Frederica. Organized in 1807 by a group of island planters, the Episcopal church is the second oldest in the Diocese of Georgia. Embargoes imposed by the War of 1812 (1812-15) prevented the parishioners from building a church structure, so they worshiped in the home of John Beck, which stood on the site of Oglethorpe's only St. Simons residence, Orange Hall.
The first Christ Church building, finished on the present site in 1820, was ruined by occupying Union troops during the Civil War. In 1884 the Reverend Anson Dodge Jr. rebuilt the church as a memorial to his first wife, Ellen. The cruciform building with a trussed gothic roof and stained-glass windows remains active today as Christ Church.
Civil War and Beyond
The
St. Simons Island Lighthouse
outbreak of the Civil War in 1861 put a sudden end to St. Simons's lucrative plantation era. In January of that year, Confederate troops were stationed at the south end of the island to guard the entrance to Brunswick Harbor. Slaves from Retreat Plantation, owned by Thomas Butler King, built earthworks and batteries. Plantation residents were scattered—the men joined the Confederate army and their families moved to the mainland. Cannon fire was heard on the island in December 1861, and Confederate troops retreated in February 1862, after dynamiting the lighthouse to keep its beacon from aiding Union troops. Soon thereafter, Union troops occupied the island, which was used as a camp for freed slaves. By August 1862 more than 500 former slaves lived on St. Simons, including Susie King Taylor, who organized a school for freed slave children. But in November the ex-slaves were taken to Hilton Head, South Carolina, and Fernandina, Florida, leaving the island abandoned.
After the Civil War the island never returned to its status as an agricultural community. The plantations lay dormant because there were no slaves to work the fields. After Union general William T. Sherman's January 1865 Special Field Order No. 15 —a demand that former plantations be divided and distributed to former slaves—was overturned by U.S. president Andrew Johnson less than a year later, freedmen and women were forced to work as sharecroppers on the small farms that dotted the land previously occupied by the sprawling plantations.
By
St. Simons Lumber Mills
1870 real economic recovery began with the reestablishment of the timber industry. Norman Dodge and Titus G. Meigs of New York set up lumber mill operations at Gascoigne Bluff, formerly Hamilton Plantation. The lumber mills provided welcome employment for both blacks and whites and also provided mail and passenger boats to the mainland. Such water traffic, together with the construction of a new lighthouse in 1872, designed by architect Charles B. Cluskey, marked the beginning of St. Simons's tourism industry. The keeper of the lighthouse created a small amusement park, which drew many visitors, as did the seemingly miraculous light that traveled from the top of the lighthouse tower to the bottom. The island became a summer retreat for families from the mainland, particularly from Baxley, Brunswick, and Waycross.
The island's resort industry was thriving by the 1880s. Beachfront structures, such as a new pier and grand hotel, were built on the southeastern end of the island and could be accessed by ferry. Around this time wealthy northerners began vacationing on the island.
Twentieth Century
The
St. Simons Island Pier and Village
opening in 1924 of the Brunswick–St. Simons Highway, today known as the Torras Causeway, was a milestone in the development of resorts in the area. St. Simons's beaches were now easily accessible to locals and tourists alike. More than 5,000 automobiles took the short drive from Brunswick to St. Simons via the causeway on its opening day, paving the way for convenient residential and resort development.
In 1926 automotive pioneer Howard Coffin of Detroit, Michigan, bought large tracts of land on St. Simons, including the former Retreat Plantation, and constructed a golf course, yacht club, paved roads, and a residential subdivision. Although the causeway had brought large numbers of summer people to the island, St. Simons remained a small community with only a few hundred permanent residents until the 1940s.
The
St. Simons Island
outbreak of World War II (1941-45) brought more visitors and residents to St. Simons. Troops stationed at Jacksonville, Florida; Savannah; and nearby Camp Stewart took weekend vacations on the island, and a new naval air base and radar school became home to even more officers and soldiers. The increased wartime population brought the island its first public school. With a major shipyard for the production of Liberty ships in nearby Brunswick, the waters of St. Simons became active with German U-boats. In April 1942, just off the coast, the Texas Company oil tanker S. S. Oklahoma and the S. S. Esso Baton Rouge were torpedoed by the Germans, bringing the war very close to home for island residents.
Due in large part to the military's improvement of the island's infrastructure during the war, development on the island boomed in the 1950s and 1960s. More permanent homes and subdivisions were built, and the island was no longer just a summer resort but also a thriving community. In 1950 the Methodist conference and retreat center Epworth by the Sea opened on Gascoigne Bluff. In 1961 novelist Eugenia Price visited St. Simons and began work on her first works of fiction, known as the St. Simons Trilogy. Inspired by real events on the island, Price's trilogy renewed interest in the history of Georgia's coast, and the novelist herself relocated to the island in 1965 and lived there for thirty-one years. St. Simons is also home to contemporary Georgia writer Tina McElroy Ansa.
Since
Epworth by the Sea
1980 St. Simons's population has doubled. The island's continued status as a vacation destination and its ongoing development boom have put historic landmarks and natural areas at risk. While such landmarks as the Fort Frederica ruins and the Battle of Bloody Marsh site are preserved and maintained by the National Park Service, and while the historic lighthouse is maintained by the Coastal Georgia Historical Society, historic Ebos Landing has been taken over by a sewage treatment plant.
Several coastal organizations have formed in recent years to save natural areas on the island. The St. Simons Land Trust, for example, has received donations of large tracts of land and plans to protect property in the island's three traditional African American neighborhoods. Despite its rapid growth and development, St. Simons remains one of the most beautiful and important islands on the Georgia coast.

The renovated Lowell “barn” is a landmark to residents and visitors alike and houses the offices of Scott Lowell, LOWELL CUSTOM HOMES & LOWELL MANAGEMENT SERVICES, INC., LAKE GENVA, WI..,

Bathroom Renovation: How Allreno Simplifies Your Remodel – Save Time and Money
When it comes to bathroom renovation, creating a space that’s functional, stylish, and tailored to your needs can feel like a daunting task. But with Allreno, the process becomes streamlined, efficient, and remarkably simple. Whether you’re planning a small update or a full-scale remodel, Allreno’s cutting-edge app and services are designed to help you achieve your dream bathroom with ease.
Why Choose Allreno for Your Bathroom Renovation?
Allreno stands out in the renovation industry by leveraging advanced artificial intelligence to automate complex processes, cutting down the time and cost typically associated with bathroom remodels. Through our platform, homeowners and professionals alike can design, plan, and execute renovations in a fraction of the time it takes with traditional methods.
Our innovative approach focuses on:
• Custom Designs: With Allreno, you can visualize your bathroom renovation in real-time, experimenting with layouts, finishes, and fixtures to find the perfect fit.
• Cost Efficiency: Our AI technology optimizes material use and labor planning, saving you money without compromising on quality.
• Seamless Execution: From selecting a bathroom vanity to finalizing the layout, Allreno simplifies every step of the process.
Comparing Allreno to Leading Competitors
When exploring bathroom renovation options, it’s important to consider the services and value offered by different providers. Here’s how Allreno stacks up against major players like Home Depot, Houzz, Block Renovation, and Angi.com:
• Home Depot: Known for its wide range of DIY and contractor-friendly products, Home Depot offers accessibility but lacks the personalized design and AI-powered planning that Allreno provides.
• Houzz: While Houzz excels in inspiration and connecting homeowners with professionals, its platform does not streamline the actual renovation process like Allreno’s app does.
• Block Renovation: Specializing in high-quality bathroom remodels, Block offers comprehensive services but often at a premium price. Allreno delivers comparable results with significant cost savings.
• Angi.com: Angi connects homeowners with contractors but doesn’t offer the integrated design-to-execution experience that sets Allreno apart.
Bathroom Vanity: The Centerpiece of Your Renovation
A bathroom vanity is often the focal point of any bathroom design. Choosing the right vanity can elevate the entire look and feel of your space. With Allreno, selecting the perfect bathroom vanity becomes an enjoyable experience. Our app allows you to browse a curated collection of high-quality vanities, customize dimensions, and visualize how they’ll look in your remodeled space.
Allreno’s vanities combine style, functionality, and durability, ensuring they not only look great but also stand the test of time. Whether you prefer a modern minimalist design or a classic, timeless aesthetic, Allreno has options to suit every taste.
Expert Tips for Bathroom Renovation
Renovating a bathroom requires careful planning and attention to detail. Here are some expert tips to keep in mind:
1. Set a Realistic Budget: Determine how much you’re willing to spend and allocate funds for unexpected expenses.
2. Plan the Layout: Consider functionality and flow when designing the space. Allreno’s app makes this step easy with AI-generated layouts tailored to your needs.
3. Choose Durable Materials: Bathrooms face moisture and wear, so opt for high-quality, water-resistant materials.
4. Focus on Lighting: Proper lighting enhances both the functionality and ambiance of your bathroom.
5. Hire Professionals: While DIY can be tempting, working with experienced contractors ensures the job is done right.
Explore Our Complete Guide to New York Bathroom Remodels
For New York homeowners, bathroom renovations come with unique challenges and opportunities. Explore our complete guide to New York bathroom remodels, with expert tips on bathroom renovation and a breakdown of costs to help you plan. From navigating small spaces to complying with building codes, our guide provides all the insights you need for a successful project.
Why Allreno is the Future of Bathroom Renovation
With Allreno, you’re not just renovating a bathroom—you’re transforming the way renovations are done. Our app eliminates the stress and inefficiency of traditional methods, empowering you to achieve stunning results in less time and with less hassle.
Ready to start your bathroom renovation journey? Download the Allreno app today and experience the difference for yourself. Whether it’s finding the perfect bathroom vanity or planning a complete remodel, Allreno is here to make your dream bathroom a reality.
Tags: ai design, bathroom renovation, renovation, bathroom design, interior design

A Luxury Condo Renovation In Pelican Bay, Naples, FL
Nestled in the heart of beautiful Pelican Bay in Naples, Florida, a luxury condo renovation is underway. This multi-phase renovation project will bring a unique and luxurious living experience to its future inhabitants. Let's take a look at some of the special features that will make this condo stand out from the rest.
Custom Ceiling Design
The main feature of this renovation is the custom ceiling design. This one-of-a-kind design includes an intricate pattern with recessed lighting that creates a unique atmosphere to match the condo’s luxurious vibe. Not only does the custom ceiling add visual appeal to the space, but it also illuminates light throughout the entire room creating an inviting and warm ambiance for all to enjoy.
Custom Lighting
The custom lighting in this luxury condo renovation creates a cozy and inviting feel for those who enter. With soft yet bright surrounds that illuminate every corner of each room, visitors will feel like they are home as soon as they set foot inside. Along with providing ample lighting for activities such as reading or cooking, these lights can also be adjusted to create a romantic and intimate atmosphere when needed.
Open Kitchen
For those who love to cook and entertain, the open kitchen is perfect for hosting friends and family gatherings alike. The layout features top-of-the-line appliances along with plenty of countertop space for meal preparation or baking projects. To complete this kitchen oasis is an eat-in island equipped with plush seating for four making it easy to enjoy meals together while overlooking stunning views of Pelican Bay outside the window.
Custom Sliding Doors
If you love outdoor living then you will appreciate these custom sliding doors that open up onto your own private balcony overlooking Naples’ breathtaking shoreline. Whether you choose to sit outside and relax or entertain guests under the stars, these sliding doors are designed to maximize your views while still providing maximum privacy when closed and locked securely shut when not in use.
Walk-In Tub Shower Combo
Last but certainly not least is this spa-inspired walk-in tub shower combo featuring a built-in steam system perfect for relaxing after long days spent exploring all that Naples has to offer. From its adjustable jets to its marble accents, this modern bathtub offers everything you need to escape from reality in style!
All in all, this multi-phased luxury condo renovation in Pelican Bay promises something special for anyone looking for their dream home within Naples' finest neighborhood. From its custom ceiling design and custom lighting options down to its walk-in tub shower combo—every aspect has been carefully crafted with one goal in mind—to provide luxury living like no other! So if you're looking for an exquisite place where you can relax and unwind surrounded by beauty, then look no further than here!
About Pelican Bay
Pelican Bay, located in Naples, Florida, is an upscale planned community and country club. Spanning three miles of pristine shoreline along the Gulf of Mexico, Pelican Bay offers its residents and visitors a stunning selection of amenities. Residents have access to shopping and dining at the impressive Waterside shops as well as enjoying one of two premier luxury golf courses within the development. The beachfront location allows for sunbathing on some of the prettiest beaches in Florida. Away from the ocean waters, visitors can explore the two parks that are situated within the community or take advantage of kayaking or canoeing around its coves. Pelican Bay is a perfect destination for those looking for a luxurious escape to paradise combined with natural beauty and convenience.
Award-Winning House Builders in Florida
For Florida homeowners looking for award-winning house builders to build their dream home, look no further than Signal House. Boasting a long track record of best-in-class construction services, our dedicated professionals have gone above and beyond to earn the trust of homeowners throughout the region.
Taking pride in our work, we make sure that every project is completed with precision and efficiency and meets the highest industry standards. Offering consultation, design, planning and execution services, we are ready and willing to take on any challenge. Whether it’s upgrading an existing property or creating something entirely new from scratch, you can be sure that your home project won’t just meet expectations but exceed them. With experienced teams of talented interior designers, architects and construction experts, you’re guaranteed a project that stands apart from the crowd and brings out the best in your home.

The renovated Lowell “barn” is a landmark to residents and visitors alike and houses the offices of Scott Lowell, LOWELL CUSTOM HOMES & LOWELL MANAGEMENT SERVICES, INC., LAKE GENVA, WI..,

The renovated Lowell “barn” is a landmark to residents and visitors alike and houses the offices of Scott Lowell, LOWELL CUSTOM HOMES & LOWELL MANAGEMENT SERVICES, INC., LAKE GENVA, WI..,

This coastal interior design project in NC by Lavish wraps an entire home in warm, breezy, collected style made for relaxed coastal living.
Our clients wanted a home that felt light and natural but still refined — a place that welcomed sandy feet and dinner parties alike. Lavish's interior design team layered organic textures, soft blues, and natural woods throughout, tying the rooms together with rattan, grasscloth, and coastal-inspired art.
Highlights include a sunlit kitchen and dining great room framed by reclaimed wood beams and a floor-to-ceiling stone fireplace, an airy grasscloth-wrapped dining room with a rattan chandelier, a serene blue guest bedroom, and a bright staircase with a graphic runner. Every space balances comfort and polish, with layered lighting and natural materials carrying the coastal palette from room to room.
Lavish provides full-service interior design across the North Carolina coast and the Triangle, from Wilmington and Wrightsville Beach to Raleigh.
Dreaming of a coastal home like this? Contact Lavish to start your project on the coast.

Stuart Wade, Envision Virtual Tours
The second-largest and most developed of Georgia's barrier islands, St. Simons is approximately twelve miles long and nearly three miles wide at its widest stretch (roughly the size of Manhattan Island in New York). The island is located in Glynn County on Georgia's coast and lies east of Brunswick (the seat of Glynn County), south of Little St. Simons Island and the Hampton River, and north of Jekyll Island. The resort community of Sea Island is separated from St. Simons on the east by the Black Banks River. Known for its oak tree canopies and historic landmarks, St. Simons is both a tourist destination and, according to the 2010 U.S. census, home to 12,743 residents.
Early History
The earliest
St. Simons Island Village
record of human habitation on the island dates to the Late Archaic Period, about 5,000 to 3,000 years ago. Remnants of shell rings left behind by Native Americans from this era survive on many of the barrier islands, including St. Simons. Centuries later, during the period known by historians as the chiefdom era, the Guale Indians established a chiefdom centered on St. Catherines Island and used St. Simons as their hunting and fishing grounds. By 1500 the Guale had established a permanent village of about 200 people on St. Simons, which they called Guadalquini.
Beginning in 1568, the Spanish attempted to create missions along the Georgia coast. Catholic missions were the primary means by which Georgia's indigenous Native American chiefdoms were assimilated into the Spanish colonial system along the northern frontier of greater Spanish Florida. In the 1600s St. Simons became home to two Spanish missions: San Buenaventura de Guadalquini, on the southern tip of the island, and Santo Domingo de Asao (or Asajo), on the northern tip. Located on the inland side of the island were the pagan refugee villages of San Simón, the island's namesake, and Ocotonico. In 1684 pirate raids left the missions and villages largely abandoned.
Colonial History
As
Fort Frederica
early as 1670, with Great Britain's establishment of the colony of Carolina and its expansion into Georgia territory, Spanish rule was threatened by the English. The Georgia coast was considered "debatable land" by England and Spain, even though Spain had fully retreated from St. Simons by 1702. Thirty-one years later General James Edward Oglethorpe founded the English settlement of Savannah. In 1736 he established Fort Frederica, named after the heir to the British throne, Frederick Louis, prince of Wales, on the west side of St. Simons Island to protect Savannah and the Carolinas from the Spanish threat.
Between 1736 and 1749 Fort Frederica was the hub of British military operations along the Georgia frontier. A town of the same name grew up around the fort and was of great importance to the new colony. By 1740 Frederica's population was 1,000. In 1736 the congregation of what would become Christ Church was organized within Fort Frederica as a mission of the Church of England. Charles Wesley led the first services. In 1742 Britain's decisive victory over Spain in the Battle of Bloody Marsh, during the War of Jenkins' Ear, ended the Spanish threat to the Georgia coast. When the British regimen disbanded in 1749, most of the townspeople relocated to the mainland. Fort Frederica went into decline and, except for a short time of prosperity during the 1760s and 1770s under the leadership of merchant James Spalding, never fully recovered. Today the historic citadel's tabby ruins are maintained by the National Park Service.
Plantation Era
By the start of the American Revolution (1775-83), Fort Frederica was obsolete, and St. Simons was left largely uninhabited as most of its residents joined the patriot army. Besides hosting a small Georgia naval victory on the Fort Frederica River, providing guns from its famous fort for use at Fort Morris in Sunbury, and serving as an arena for pillaging by privateers and British soldiers, the island played almost no role in the war.
Following the war, many of the townspeople, their businesses destroyed, turned to agriculture. The island was transformed into fourteen cotton plantations after acres of live oak trees were cleared for farm land and used for building American warships, including the famous USS Constitution, or "Old Ironsides." Although rice was the predominant crop along the neighboring Altamaha River, St. Simons was known for its production of long-staple cotton, which soon came to be known as Sea Island cotton.
Between
Ebos Landing
the 1780s and the outbreak of the Civil War (1861-65), St. Simons's plantation culture flourished. The saline atmosphere and the availability of cheap slave labor proved an ideal combination for the cultivation of Sea Island cotton. In 1803 a group of Ebo slaves who survived the Middle Passage and arrived on the west side of St. Simons staged a rebellion and drowned themselves. The sacred site is known today as Ebos Landing.
One of the largest owners of land and slaves on St. Simons was Pierce Butler, master of Hampton Point Plantation, located on the northern end of the island. By 1793 Butler owned more than 500 slaves, who cultivated 800 acres of cotton on St. Simons and 300 acres of rice on Butler's Island in the Altamaha River delta. Butler's grandson, Pierce Mease Butler, who at the age of sixteen inherited a share of his grandfather's estate in 1826, was responsible for the largest sale of human beings in the history of the United States: in 1859, to restore his squandered fortune, he sold 429 slaves in Savannah for more than $300,000. The British actress and writer Fanny Kemble, whose tumultuous marriage to Pierce ended in divorce in 1849, published an eyewitness account of the evils of slavery on St. Simons in her book Journal of a Residence on a Georgian Plantation in 1838-1839 (1863).
Another
Retreat Plantation
large owner of land and slaves on St. Simons was Major William Page, a friend and employee of Pierce Butler Sr. Before purchasing Retreat Plantation on the southwestern tip of the island in 1804, Page managed the Hampton plantation and Butler's Island. Upon Page's death in 1827, Thomas Butler King inherited the land together with his wife, Page's daughter, Anna Matilda Page King. King expanded his father-in-law's planting empire on St. Simons as well as on the mainland, and by 1835 Retreat Plantation alone was home to as many as 355 slaves.
The center of life during the island's plantation era was Christ Church, Frederica. Organized in 1807 by a group of island planters, the Episcopal church is the second oldest in the Diocese of Georgia. Embargoes imposed by the War of 1812 (1812-15) prevented the parishioners from building a church structure, so they worshiped in the home of John Beck, which stood on the site of Oglethorpe's only St. Simons residence, Orange Hall.
The first Christ Church building, finished on the present site in 1820, was ruined by occupying Union troops during the Civil War. In 1884 the Reverend Anson Dodge Jr. rebuilt the church as a memorial to his first wife, Ellen. The cruciform building with a trussed gothic roof and stained-glass windows remains active today as Christ Church.
Civil War and Beyond
The
St. Simons Island Lighthouse
outbreak of the Civil War in 1861 put a sudden end to St. Simons's lucrative plantation era. In January of that year, Confederate troops were stationed at the south end of the island to guard the entrance to Brunswick Harbor. Slaves from Retreat Plantation, owned by Thomas Butler King, built earthworks and batteries. Plantation residents were scattered—the men joined the Confederate army and their families moved to the mainland. Cannon fire was heard on the island in December 1861, and Confederate troops retreated in February 1862, after dynamiting the lighthouse to keep its beacon from aiding Union troops. Soon thereafter, Union troops occupied the island, which was used as a camp for freed slaves. By August 1862 more than 500 former slaves lived on St. Simons, including Susie King Taylor, who organized a school for freed slave children. But in November the ex-slaves were taken to Hilton Head, South Carolina, and Fernandina, Florida, leaving the island abandoned.
After the Civil War the island never returned to its status as an agricultural community. The plantations lay dormant because there were no slaves to work the fields. After Union general William T. Sherman's January 1865 Special Field Order No. 15 —a demand that former plantations be divided and distributed to former slaves—was overturned by U.S. president Andrew Johnson less than a year later, freedmen and women were forced to work as sharecroppers on the small farms that dotted the land previously occupied by the sprawling plantations.
By
St. Simons Lumber Mills
1870 real economic recovery began with the reestablishment of the timber industry. Norman Dodge and Titus G. Meigs of New York set up lumber mill operations at Gascoigne Bluff, formerly Hamilton Plantation. The lumber mills provided welcome employment for both blacks and whites and also provided mail and passenger boats to the mainland. Such water traffic, together with the construction of a new lighthouse in 1872, designed by architect Charles B. Cluskey, marked the beginning of St. Simons's tourism industry. The keeper of the lighthouse created a small amusement park, which drew many visitors, as did the seemingly miraculous light that traveled from the top of the lighthouse tower to the bottom. The island became a summer retreat for families from the mainland, particularly from Baxley, Brunswick, and Waycross.
The island's resort industry was thriving by the 1880s. Beachfront structures, such as a new pier and grand hotel, were built on the southeastern end of the island and could be accessed by ferry. Around this time wealthy northerners began vacationing on the island.
Twentieth Century
The
St. Simons Island Pier and Village
opening in 1924 of the Brunswick–St. Simons Highway, today known as the Torras Causeway, was a milestone in the development of resorts in the area. St. Simons's beaches were now easily accessible to locals and tourists alike. More than 5,000 automobiles took the short drive from Brunswick to St. Simons via the causeway on its opening day, paving the way for convenient residential and resort development.
In 1926 automotive pioneer Howard Coffin of Detroit, Michigan, bought large tracts of land on St. Simons, including the former Retreat Plantation, and constructed a golf course, yacht club, paved roads, and a residential subdivision. Although the causeway had brought large numbers of summer people to the island, St. Simons remained a small community with only a few hundred permanent residents until the 1940s.
The
St. Simons Island
outbreak of World War II (1941-45) brought more visitors and residents to St. Simons. Troops stationed at Jacksonville, Florida; Savannah; and nearby Camp Stewart took weekend vacations on the island, and a new naval air base and radar school became home to even more officers and soldiers. The increased wartime population brought the island its first public school. With a major shipyard for the production of Liberty ships in nearby Brunswick, the waters of St. Simons became active with German U-boats. In April 1942, just off the coast, the Texas Company oil tanker S. S. Oklahoma and the S. S. Esso Baton Rouge were torpedoed by the Germans, bringing the war very close to home for island residents.
Due in large part to the military's improvement of the island's infrastructure during the war, development on the island boomed in the 1950s and 1960s. More permanent homes and subdivisions were built, and the island was no longer just a summer resort but also a thriving community. In 1950 the Methodist conference and retreat center Epworth by the Sea opened on Gascoigne Bluff. In 1961 novelist Eugenia Price visited St. Simons and began work on her first works of fiction, known as the St. Simons Trilogy. Inspired by real events on the island, Price's trilogy renewed interest in the history of Georgia's coast, and the novelist herself relocated to the island in 1965 and lived there for thirty-one years. St. Simons is also home to contemporary Georgia writer Tina McElroy Ansa.
Since
Epworth by the Sea
1980 St. Simons's population has doubled. The island's continued status as a vacation destination and its ongoing development boom have put historic landmarks and natural areas at risk. While such landmarks as the Fort Frederica ruins and the Battle of Bloody Marsh site are preserved and maintained by the National Park Service, and while the historic lighthouse is maintained by the Coastal Georgia Historical Society, historic Ebos Landing has been taken over by a sewage treatment plant.
Several coastal organizations have formed in recent years to save natural areas on the island. The St. Simons Land Trust, for example, has received donations of large tracts of land and plans to protect property in the island's three traditional African American neighborhoods. Despite its rapid growth and development, St. Simons remains one of the most beautiful and important islands on the Georgia coast.

A Luxury Condo Renovation In Pelican Bay, Naples, FL
Nestled in the heart of beautiful Pelican Bay in Naples, Florida, a luxury condo renovation is underway. This multi-phase renovation project will bring a unique and luxurious living experience to its future inhabitants. Let's take a look at some of the special features that will make this condo stand out from the rest.
Custom Ceiling Design
The main feature of this renovation is the custom ceiling design. This one-of-a-kind design includes an intricate pattern with recessed lighting that creates a unique atmosphere to match the condo’s luxurious vibe. Not only does the custom ceiling add visual appeal to the space, but it also illuminates light throughout the entire room creating an inviting and warm ambiance for all to enjoy.
Custom Lighting
The custom lighting in this luxury condo renovation creates a cozy and inviting feel for those who enter. With soft yet bright surrounds that illuminate every corner of each room, visitors will feel like they are home as soon as they set foot inside. Along with providing ample lighting for activities such as reading or cooking, these lights can also be adjusted to create a romantic and intimate atmosphere when needed.
Open Kitchen
For those who love to cook and entertain, the open kitchen is perfect for hosting friends and family gatherings alike. The layout features top-of-the-line appliances along with plenty of countertop space for meal preparation or baking projects. To complete this kitchen oasis is an eat-in island equipped with plush seating for four making it easy to enjoy meals together while overlooking stunning views of Pelican Bay outside the window.
Custom Sliding Doors
If you love outdoor living then you will appreciate these custom sliding doors that open up onto your own private balcony overlooking Naples’ breathtaking shoreline. Whether you choose to sit outside and relax or entertain guests under the stars, these sliding doors are designed to maximize your views while still providing maximum privacy when closed and locked securely shut when not in use.
Walk-In Tub Shower Combo
Last but certainly not least is this spa-inspired walk-in tub shower combo featuring a built-in steam system perfect for relaxing after long days spent exploring all that Naples has to offer. From its adjustable jets to its marble accents, this modern bathtub offers everything you need to escape from reality in style!
All in all, this multi-phased luxury condo renovation in Pelican Bay promises something special for anyone looking for their dream home within Naples' finest neighborhood. From its custom ceiling design and custom lighting options down to its walk-in tub shower combo—every aspect has been carefully crafted with one goal in mind—to provide luxury living like no other! So if you're looking for an exquisite place where you can relax and unwind surrounded by beauty, then look no further than here!
About Pelican Bay
Pelican Bay, located in Naples, Florida, is an upscale planned community and country club. Spanning three miles of pristine shoreline along the Gulf of Mexico, Pelican Bay offers its residents and visitors a stunning selection of amenities. Residents have access to shopping and dining at the impressive Waterside shops as well as enjoying one of two premier luxury golf courses within the development. The beachfront location allows for sunbathing on some of the prettiest beaches in Florida. Away from the ocean waters, visitors can explore the two parks that are situated within the community or take advantage of kayaking or canoeing around its coves. Pelican Bay is a perfect destination for those looking for a luxurious escape to paradise combined with natural beauty and convenience.
Award-Winning House Builders in Florida
For Florida homeowners looking for award-winning house builders to build their dream home, look no further than Signal House. Boasting a long track record of best-in-class construction services, our dedicated professionals have gone above and beyond to earn the trust of homeowners throughout the region.
Taking pride in our work, we make sure that every project is completed with precision and efficiency and meets the highest industry standards. Offering consultation, design, planning and execution services, we are ready and willing to take on any challenge. Whether it’s upgrading an existing property or creating something entirely new from scratch, you can be sure that your home project won’t just meet expectations but exceed them. With experienced teams of talented interior designers, architects and construction experts, you’re guaranteed a project that stands apart from the crowd and brings out the best in your home.

Classic Construction completely transformed this basement as a functional space for a growing family that was spending more and more time at home for family time and work alike.

Classic Construction completely transformed this basement as a functional space for a growing family that was spending more and more time at home for family time and work alike.

When your pipes burst, a toilet overflows, or you notice suspicious dampness, you need more than a plumber—you need an emergency plumber in Atlanta
you can trust. Meet Atlantis Plumbing, a family-owned, trusted local company serving the greater Atlanta area with fast, friendly, and reliable plumbing services 24/7.
Decades of Experience Rooted in the Community
Established over 60 years ago and now with thousands of satisfied customers, Atlantis Plumbing has built a reputation on steady, dependable service. Their licensed professionals bring years of experience to every job, giving you peace of mind when you're dealing with urgent, unexpected plumbing disasters.
24/7 Availability When You Need It Most
Emergencies don't wait for business hours—and neither does Atlantis. With around-the-clock service, including live operators ready to take your call, they ensure help is just a phone call away. Whether it’s the middle of the night or a busy weekend, Atlantis is on call and on site fast.
Upfront Pricing and Honest Communication
A plumbing emergency shouldn't add financial stress. Atlantis offers transparent, upfront pricing so you're never blindsided. Before any work begins, they'll provide a clear estimate—no hidden fees, no surprises.
Speed Meets Expertise
Emergencies demand swift action—but not at the cost of quality. Atlantis strikes the perfect balance: rapid response paired with the skilled, licensed professionals who understand the complexity of modern plumbing systems.
Fully Equipped to Handle Any Crisis
From burst water lines to sewer backups and leaking water heaters, Atlantis’s team carries the tools and know-how to address your emergency promptly:
• Water leaks: Quick diagnosis and repair, including high water bill analysis.
• Clogged drains and sewer issues: Advanced solutions ranging from snaking to hydro-jetting or camera inspection.
• Sewer repair & replacement: Trenchless methods available to minimize disruption.
• Water heaters: Repair or replacement—gas, electric, or tankless.
• Polybutylene pipes: Experts in identifying and replacing this outdated material.
• Gas leaks: Safe, professional response (after gas company clearance).
Trusted Service with a Personal Touch
Emergencies are stressful. Atlantis eases the burden with professional, courteous technicians who get the job done with respect and care for your home. Their approach is old-fashioned in the best way—friendly, honest, and dedicated to customer satisfaction.
Multiple local voices have recommended them as the one plumber they’d always call. It's that level of trust that assures homeowners and businesses alike in times of crisis.
Comprehensive Coverage Throughout Metro Atlanta
Whether you're in Atlanta proper or surrounding areas—like Marietta, Smyrna, Roswell, or Lawrenceville—Atlantis covers it. Their reach spans Fulton, Cobb, Gwinnett, Dekalb, Cherokee, and more, ensuring emergency plumbing help isn't far when you need it most.
Value Beyond the Emergency
Atlantis doesn’t just put out fires—they help prevent them. With services like free high water bill analysis and long-term maintenance options, they add value that stretches well beyond the immediate fix.
They offer senior and military discounts, plus financing with approved credit—helping ease the financial burden of unavoidable plumbing repairs.
Hiring an Emergency Plumber: Why Atlantis Stands Out
1. 24/7 live support—get help when it counts.
2. Licensed, experienced plumbers—quality you can rely on.
3. Transparent pricing—know what you're paying.
4. Quick, efficient responses—fast relief without sacrificing standards.
5. Wide range of services—from leaks to sewers to water heaters.
6. Easy scheduling and flexible payment options—designed for your convenience.
Sample Emergency Scenarios & How Atlantis Helps
Your Basement Is Flooding at 2 AM
A frozen pipe has burst, sending water everywhere. You call Atlantis. Their team answers immediately, dispatches licensed plumbers within the hour, stops the leak, assesses the damage, and begins cleanup and pipe repair—all before breakfast.
Sewer Backup During Dinner Party
Your main sewer line backs up, and your guests are greeting more than your cooking. Atlantis arrives pronto, uses a camera inspection to pinpoint the blockage, resolves it with hydro-jetting or replacement, and gets everything draining again—without using your yard as a trench.
Unexplained Spike in Your Water Bill
You notice a huge spike in your bill—but no visible leak. Atlantis sends a tech for a free high water bill analysis, finds a small underground leak, and repairs it promptly—saving you money on unnecessary wastage.
Water Heater Fails on a Winter Morning
No hot water on a chilly morning? Atlantis arrives, diagnoses the heater issue, and either repairs it or replaces it with a similarly warranted unit—serving gas, electric, or tankless systems with equal confidence.
Outdated Polybutylene Pipes Start Failing
You suspect your home has older polybutylene piping prone to leaks. Atlantis offers specialized inspection and replacement options, bringing your plumbing system back up to modern safety and reliability standards.
Final Thought
In crisis situations, you don’t want to waste time or money. Atlantis Plumbing delivers fast, knowledgeable, and compassionate emergency plumbing services across Atlanta. With fair pricing, skilled professionals, and full-service capabilities—from leak detection to sewer repair to water heater replacement—you’re not just hiring a plumber. You’re hiring peace of mind.
When plumbing emergencies strike, remember: Atlantis Plumbing is standing by, 24/7, ready to restore order to your home or business.

Stuart Wade, Envision Virtual Tours
The second-largest and most developed of Georgia's barrier islands, St. Simons is approximately twelve miles long and nearly three miles wide at its widest stretch (roughly the size of Manhattan Island in New York). The island is located in Glynn County on Georgia's coast and lies east of Brunswick (the seat of Glynn County), south of Little St. Simons Island and the Hampton River, and north of Jekyll Island. The resort community of Sea Island is separated from St. Simons on the east by the Black Banks River. Known for its oak tree canopies and historic landmarks, St. Simons is both a tourist destination and, according to the 2010 U.S. census, home to 12,743 residents.
Early History
The earliest
St. Simons Island Village
record of human habitation on the island dates to the Late Archaic Period, about 5,000 to 3,000 years ago. Remnants of shell rings left behind by Native Americans from this era survive on many of the barrier islands, including St. Simons. Centuries later, during the period known by historians as the chiefdom era, the Guale Indians established a chiefdom centered on St. Catherines Island and used St. Simons as their hunting and fishing grounds. By 1500 the Guale had established a permanent village of about 200 people on St. Simons, which they called Guadalquini.
Beginning in 1568, the Spanish attempted to create missions along the Georgia coast. Catholic missions were the primary means by which Georgia's indigenous Native American chiefdoms were assimilated into the Spanish colonial system along the northern frontier of greater Spanish Florida. In the 1600s St. Simons became home to two Spanish missions: San Buenaventura de Guadalquini, on the southern tip of the island, and Santo Domingo de Asao (or Asajo), on the northern tip. Located on the inland side of the island were the pagan refugee villages of San Simón, the island's namesake, and Ocotonico. In 1684 pirate raids left the missions and villages largely abandoned.
Colonial History
As
Fort Frederica
early as 1670, with Great Britain's establishment of the colony of Carolina and its expansion into Georgia territory, Spanish rule was threatened by the English. The Georgia coast was considered "debatable land" by England and Spain, even though Spain had fully retreated from St. Simons by 1702. Thirty-one years later General James Edward Oglethorpe founded the English settlement of Savannah. In 1736 he established Fort Frederica, named after the heir to the British throne, Frederick Louis, prince of Wales, on the west side of St. Simons Island to protect Savannah and the Carolinas from the Spanish threat.
Between 1736 and 1749 Fort Frederica was the hub of British military operations along the Georgia frontier. A town of the same name grew up around the fort and was of great importance to the new colony. By 1740 Frederica's population was 1,000. In 1736 the congregation of what would become Christ Church was organized within Fort Frederica as a mission of the Church of England. Charles Wesley led the first services. In 1742 Britain's decisive victory over Spain in the Battle of Bloody Marsh, during the War of Jenkins' Ear, ended the Spanish threat to the Georgia coast. When the British regimen disbanded in 1749, most of the townspeople relocated to the mainland. Fort Frederica went into decline and, except for a short time of prosperity during the 1760s and 1770s under the leadership of merchant James Spalding, never fully recovered. Today the historic citadel's tabby ruins are maintained by the National Park Service.
Plantation Era
By the start of the American Revolution (1775-83), Fort Frederica was obsolete, and St. Simons was left largely uninhabited as most of its residents joined the patriot army. Besides hosting a small Georgia naval victory on the Fort Frederica River, providing guns from its famous fort for use at Fort Morris in Sunbury, and serving as an arena for pillaging by privateers and British soldiers, the island played almost no role in the war.
Following the war, many of the townspeople, their businesses destroyed, turned to agriculture. The island was transformed into fourteen cotton plantations after acres of live oak trees were cleared for farm land and used for building American warships, including the famous USS Constitution, or "Old Ironsides." Although rice was the predominant crop along the neighboring Altamaha River, St. Simons was known for its production of long-staple cotton, which soon came to be known as Sea Island cotton.
Between
Ebos Landing
the 1780s and the outbreak of the Civil War (1861-65), St. Simons's plantation culture flourished. The saline atmosphere and the availability of cheap slave labor proved an ideal combination for the cultivation of Sea Island cotton. In 1803 a group of Ebo slaves who survived the Middle Passage and arrived on the west side of St. Simons staged a rebellion and drowned themselves. The sacred site is known today as Ebos Landing.
One of the largest owners of land and slaves on St. Simons was Pierce Butler, master of Hampton Point Plantation, located on the northern end of the island. By 1793 Butler owned more than 500 slaves, who cultivated 800 acres of cotton on St. Simons and 300 acres of rice on Butler's Island in the Altamaha River delta. Butler's grandson, Pierce Mease Butler, who at the age of sixteen inherited a share of his grandfather's estate in 1826, was responsible for the largest sale of human beings in the history of the United States: in 1859, to restore his squandered fortune, he sold 429 slaves in Savannah for more than $300,000. The British actress and writer Fanny Kemble, whose tumultuous marriage to Pierce ended in divorce in 1849, published an eyewitness account of the evils of slavery on St. Simons in her book Journal of a Residence on a Georgian Plantation in 1838-1839 (1863).
Another
Retreat Plantation
large owner of land and slaves on St. Simons was Major William Page, a friend and employee of Pierce Butler Sr. Before purchasing Retreat Plantation on the southwestern tip of the island in 1804, Page managed the Hampton plantation and Butler's Island. Upon Page's death in 1827, Thomas Butler King inherited the land together with his wife, Page's daughter, Anna Matilda Page King. King expanded his father-in-law's planting empire on St. Simons as well as on the mainland, and by 1835 Retreat Plantation alone was home to as many as 355 slaves.
The center of life during the island's plantation era was Christ Church, Frederica. Organized in 1807 by a group of island planters, the Episcopal church is the second oldest in the Diocese of Georgia. Embargoes imposed by the War of 1812 (1812-15) prevented the parishioners from building a church structure, so they worshiped in the home of John Beck, which stood on the site of Oglethorpe's only St. Simons residence, Orange Hall.
The first Christ Church building, finished on the present site in 1820, was ruined by occupying Union troops during the Civil War. In 1884 the Reverend Anson Dodge Jr. rebuilt the church as a memorial to his first wife, Ellen. The cruciform building with a trussed gothic roof and stained-glass windows remains active today as Christ Church.
Civil War and Beyond
The
St. Simons Island Lighthouse
outbreak of the Civil War in 1861 put a sudden end to St. Simons's lucrative plantation era. In January of that year, Confederate troops were stationed at the south end of the island to guard the entrance to Brunswick Harbor. Slaves from Retreat Plantation, owned by Thomas Butler King, built earthworks and batteries. Plantation residents were scattered—the men joined the Confederate army and their families moved to the mainland. Cannon fire was heard on the island in December 1861, and Confederate troops retreated in February 1862, after dynamiting the lighthouse to keep its beacon from aiding Union troops. Soon thereafter, Union troops occupied the island, which was used as a camp for freed slaves. By August 1862 more than 500 former slaves lived on St. Simons, including Susie King Taylor, who organized a school for freed slave children. But in November the ex-slaves were taken to Hilton Head, South Carolina, and Fernandina, Florida, leaving the island abandoned.
After the Civil War the island never returned to its status as an agricultural community. The plantations lay dormant because there were no slaves to work the fields. After Union general William T. Sherman's January 1865 Special Field Order No. 15 —a demand that former plantations be divided and distributed to former slaves—was overturned by U.S. president Andrew Johnson less than a year later, freedmen and women were forced to work as sharecroppers on the small farms that dotted the land previously occupied by the sprawling plantations.
By
St. Simons Lumber Mills
1870 real economic recovery began with the reestablishment of the timber industry. Norman Dodge and Titus G. Meigs of New York set up lumber mill operations at Gascoigne Bluff, formerly Hamilton Plantation. The lumber mills provided welcome employment for both blacks and whites and also provided mail and passenger boats to the mainland. Such water traffic, together with the construction of a new lighthouse in 1872, designed by architect Charles B. Cluskey, marked the beginning of St. Simons's tourism industry. The keeper of the lighthouse created a small amusement park, which drew many visitors, as did the seemingly miraculous light that traveled from the top of the lighthouse tower to the bottom. The island became a summer retreat for families from the mainland, particularly from Baxley, Brunswick, and Waycross.
The island's resort industry was thriving by the 1880s. Beachfront structures, such as a new pier and grand hotel, were built on the southeastern end of the island and could be accessed by ferry. Around this time wealthy northerners began vacationing on the island.
Twentieth Century
The
St. Simons Island Pier and Village
opening in 1924 of the Brunswick–St. Simons Highway, today known as the Torras Causeway, was a milestone in the development of resorts in the area. St. Simons's beaches were now easily accessible to locals and tourists alike. More than 5,000 automobiles took the short drive from Brunswick to St. Simons via the causeway on its opening day, paving the way for convenient residential and resort development.
In 1926 automotive pioneer Howard Coffin of Detroit, Michigan, bought large tracts of land on St. Simons, including the former Retreat Plantation, and constructed a golf course, yacht club, paved roads, and a residential subdivision. Although the causeway had brought large numbers of summer people to the island, St. Simons remained a small community with only a few hundred permanent residents until the 1940s.
The
St. Simons Island
outbreak of World War II (1941-45) brought more visitors and residents to St. Simons. Troops stationed at Jacksonville, Florida; Savannah; and nearby Camp Stewart took weekend vacations on the island, and a new naval air base and radar school became home to even more officers and soldiers. The increased wartime population brought the island its first public school. With a major shipyard for the production of Liberty ships in nearby Brunswick, the waters of St. Simons became active with German U-boats. In April 1942, just off the coast, the Texas Company oil tanker S. S. Oklahoma and the S. S. Esso Baton Rouge were torpedoed by the Germans, bringing the war very close to home for island residents.
Due in large part to the military's improvement of the island's infrastructure during the war, development on the island boomed in the 1950s and 1960s. More permanent homes and subdivisions were built, and the island was no longer just a summer resort but also a thriving community. In 1950 the Methodist conference and retreat center Epworth by the Sea opened on Gascoigne Bluff. In 1961 novelist Eugenia Price visited St. Simons and began work on her first works of fiction, known as the St. Simons Trilogy. Inspired by real events on the island, Price's trilogy renewed interest in the history of Georgia's coast, and the novelist herself relocated to the island in 1965 and lived there for thirty-one years. St. Simons is also home to contemporary Georgia writer Tina McElroy Ansa.
Since
Epworth by the Sea
1980 St. Simons's population has doubled. The island's continued status as a vacation destination and its ongoing development boom have put historic landmarks and natural areas at risk. While such landmarks as the Fort Frederica ruins and the Battle of Bloody Marsh site are preserved and maintained by the National Park Service, and while the historic lighthouse is maintained by the Coastal Georgia Historical Society, historic Ebos Landing has been taken over by a sewage treatment plant.
Several coastal organizations have formed in recent years to save natural areas on the island. The St. Simons Land Trust, for example, has received donations of large tracts of land and plans to protect property in the island's three traditional African American neighborhoods. Despite its rapid growth and development, St. Simons remains one of the most beautiful and important islands on the Georgia coast.
5


