Search results for "Timber industry" in Home Design Ideas

This rustic modern bedroom features a wood plank headboard, a wall of sliding glass doors opening to a private patio, and layered fur and pattern textiles for a cozy, mountain lodge feel. Reclaimed Wood Paneling covers the entire ceiling, bringing natural texture and warmth into this light filled, serene retreat.
Every piece of reclaimed wood at Manomin Resawn Timbers is salvaged from 19th and early 20th century barns, factories, and warehouses, structures built during the Industrial Revolution from old growth hardwoods that grew slower and denser than the trees available today. Through our detailed process of denailing, kiln drying, and precision milling, that history is preserved and prepared for a new life in modern homes.
Whether you are a homebuilder, a home remodeling contractor, a homeowner, or a designer planning a space like this one, Manomin Resawn Timbers has reclaimed wood paneling to fit your vision. Visit our showroom in Hugo, MN or reach out to us with a call or a message to discover the antique charm of reclaimed wood.

Stuart Wade, Envision Virtual Tours
The second-largest and most developed of Georgia's barrier islands, St. Simons is approximately twelve miles long and nearly three miles wide at its widest stretch (roughly the size of Manhattan Island in New York). The island is located in Glynn County on Georgia's coast and lies east of Brunswick (the seat of Glynn County), south of Little St. Simons Island and the Hampton River, and north of Jekyll Island. The resort community of Sea Island is separated from St. Simons on the east by the Black Banks River. Known for its oak tree canopies and historic landmarks, St. Simons is both a tourist destination and, according to the 2010 U.S. census, home to 12,743 residents.
Early History
The earliest
St. Simons Island Village
record of human habitation on the island dates to the Late Archaic Period, about 5,000 to 3,000 years ago. Remnants of shell rings left behind by Native Americans from this era survive on many of the barrier islands, including St. Simons. Centuries later, during the period known by historians as the chiefdom era, the Guale Indians established a chiefdom centered on St. Catherines Island and used St. Simons as their hunting and fishing grounds. By 1500 the Guale had established a permanent village of about 200 people on St. Simons, which they called Guadalquini.
Beginning in 1568, the Spanish attempted to create missions along the Georgia coast. Catholic missions were the primary means by which Georgia's indigenous Native American chiefdoms were assimilated into the Spanish colonial system along the northern frontier of greater Spanish Florida. In the 1600s St. Simons became home to two Spanish missions: San Buenaventura de Guadalquini, on the southern tip of the island, and Santo Domingo de Asao (or Asajo), on the northern tip. Located on the inland side of the island were the pagan refugee villages of San Simón, the island's namesake, and Ocotonico. In 1684 pirate raids left the missions and villages largely abandoned.
Colonial History
As
Fort Frederica
early as 1670, with Great Britain's establishment of the colony of Carolina and its expansion into Georgia territory, Spanish rule was threatened by the English. The Georgia coast was considered "debatable land" by England and Spain, even though Spain had fully retreated from St. Simons by 1702. Thirty-one years later General James Edward Oglethorpe founded the English settlement of Savannah. In 1736 he established Fort Frederica, named after the heir to the British throne, Frederick Louis, prince of Wales, on the west side of St. Simons Island to protect Savannah and the Carolinas from the Spanish threat.
Between 1736 and 1749 Fort Frederica was the hub of British military operations along the Georgia frontier. A town of the same name grew up around the fort and was of great importance to the new colony. By 1740 Frederica's population was 1,000. In 1736 the congregation of what would become Christ Church was organized within Fort Frederica as a mission of the Church of England. Charles Wesley led the first services. In 1742 Britain's decisive victory over Spain in the Battle of Bloody Marsh, during the War of Jenkins' Ear, ended the Spanish threat to the Georgia coast. When the British regimen disbanded in 1749, most of the townspeople relocated to the mainland. Fort Frederica went into decline and, except for a short time of prosperity during the 1760s and 1770s under the leadership of merchant James Spalding, never fully recovered. Today the historic citadel's tabby ruins are maintained by the National Park Service.
Plantation Era
By the start of the American Revolution (1775-83), Fort Frederica was obsolete, and St. Simons was left largely uninhabited as most of its residents joined the patriot army. Besides hosting a small Georgia naval victory on the Fort Frederica River, providing guns from its famous fort for use at Fort Morris in Sunbury, and serving as an arena for pillaging by privateers and British soldiers, the island played almost no role in the war.
Following the war, many of the townspeople, their businesses destroyed, turned to agriculture. The island was transformed into fourteen cotton plantations after acres of live oak trees were cleared for farm land and used for building American warships, including the famous USS Constitution, or "Old Ironsides." Although rice was the predominant crop along the neighboring Altamaha River, St. Simons was known for its production of long-staple cotton, which soon came to be known as Sea Island cotton.
Between
Ebos Landing
the 1780s and the outbreak of the Civil War (1861-65), St. Simons's plantation culture flourished. The saline atmosphere and the availability of cheap slave labor proved an ideal combination for the cultivation of Sea Island cotton. In 1803 a group of Ebo slaves who survived the Middle Passage and arrived on the west side of St. Simons staged a rebellion and drowned themselves. The sacred site is known today as Ebos Landing.
One of the largest owners of land and slaves on St. Simons was Pierce Butler, master of Hampton Point Plantation, located on the northern end of the island. By 1793 Butler owned more than 500 slaves, who cultivated 800 acres of cotton on St. Simons and 300 acres of rice on Butler's Island in the Altamaha River delta. Butler's grandson, Pierce Mease Butler, who at the age of sixteen inherited a share of his grandfather's estate in 1826, was responsible for the largest sale of human beings in the history of the United States: in 1859, to restore his squandered fortune, he sold 429 slaves in Savannah for more than $300,000. The British actress and writer Fanny Kemble, whose tumultuous marriage to Pierce ended in divorce in 1849, published an eyewitness account of the evils of slavery on St. Simons in her book Journal of a Residence on a Georgian Plantation in 1838-1839 (1863).
Another
Retreat Plantation
large owner of land and slaves on St. Simons was Major William Page, a friend and employee of Pierce Butler Sr. Before purchasing Retreat Plantation on the southwestern tip of the island in 1804, Page managed the Hampton plantation and Butler's Island. Upon Page's death in 1827, Thomas Butler King inherited the land together with his wife, Page's daughter, Anna Matilda Page King. King expanded his father-in-law's planting empire on St. Simons as well as on the mainland, and by 1835 Retreat Plantation alone was home to as many as 355 slaves.
The center of life during the island's plantation era was Christ Church, Frederica. Organized in 1807 by a group of island planters, the Episcopal church is the second oldest in the Diocese of Georgia. Embargoes imposed by the War of 1812 (1812-15) prevented the parishioners from building a church structure, so they worshiped in the home of John Beck, which stood on the site of Oglethorpe's only St. Simons residence, Orange Hall.
The first Christ Church building, finished on the present site in 1820, was ruined by occupying Union troops during the Civil War. In 1884 the Reverend Anson Dodge Jr. rebuilt the church as a memorial to his first wife, Ellen. The cruciform building with a trussed gothic roof and stained-glass windows remains active today as Christ Church.
Civil War and Beyond
The
St. Simons Island Lighthouse
outbreak of the Civil War in 1861 put a sudden end to St. Simons's lucrative plantation era. In January of that year, Confederate troops were stationed at the south end of the island to guard the entrance to Brunswick Harbor. Slaves from Retreat Plantation, owned by Thomas Butler King, built earthworks and batteries. Plantation residents were scattered—the men joined the Confederate army and their families moved to the mainland. Cannon fire was heard on the island in December 1861, and Confederate troops retreated in February 1862, after dynamiting the lighthouse to keep its beacon from aiding Union troops. Soon thereafter, Union troops occupied the island, which was used as a camp for freed slaves. By August 1862 more than 500 former slaves lived on St. Simons, including Susie King Taylor, who organized a school for freed slave children. But in November the ex-slaves were taken to Hilton Head, South Carolina, and Fernandina, Florida, leaving the island abandoned.
After the Civil War the island never returned to its status as an agricultural community. The plantations lay dormant because there were no slaves to work the fields. After Union general William T. Sherman's January 1865 Special Field Order No. 15 —a demand that former plantations be divided and distributed to former slaves—was overturned by U.S. president Andrew Johnson less than a year later, freedmen and women were forced to work as sharecroppers on the small farms that dotted the land previously occupied by the sprawling plantations.
By
St. Simons Lumber Mills
1870 real economic recovery began with the reestablishment of the timber industry. Norman Dodge and Titus G. Meigs of New York set up lumber mill operations at Gascoigne Bluff, formerly Hamilton Plantation. The lumber mills provided welcome employment for both blacks and whites and also provided mail and passenger boats to the mainland. Such water traffic, together with the construction of a new lighthouse in 1872, designed by architect Charles B. Cluskey, marked the beginning of St. Simons's tourism industry. The keeper of the lighthouse created a small amusement park, which drew many visitors, as did the seemingly miraculous light that traveled from the top of the lighthouse tower to the bottom. The island became a summer retreat for families from the mainland, particularly from Baxley, Brunswick, and Waycross.
The island's resort industry was thriving by the 1880s. Beachfront structures, such as a new pier and grand hotel, were built on the southeastern end of the island and could be accessed by ferry. Around this time wealthy northerners began vacationing on the island.
Twentieth Century
The
St. Simons Island Pier and Village
opening in 1924 of the Brunswick–St. Simons Highway, today known as the Torras Causeway, was a milestone in the development of resorts in the area. St. Simons's beaches were now easily accessible to locals and tourists alike. More than 5,000 automobiles took the short drive from Brunswick to St. Simons via the causeway on its opening day, paving the way for convenient residential and resort development.
In 1926 automotive pioneer Howard Coffin of Detroit, Michigan, bought large tracts of land on St. Simons, including the former Retreat Plantation, and constructed a golf course, yacht club, paved roads, and a residential subdivision. Although the causeway had brought large numbers of summer people to the island, St. Simons remained a small community with only a few hundred permanent residents until the 1940s.
The
St. Simons Island
outbreak of World War II (1941-45) brought more visitors and residents to St. Simons. Troops stationed at Jacksonville, Florida; Savannah; and nearby Camp Stewart took weekend vacations on the island, and a new naval air base and radar school became home to even more officers and soldiers. The increased wartime population brought the island its first public school. With a major shipyard for the production of Liberty ships in nearby Brunswick, the waters of St. Simons became active with German U-boats. In April 1942, just off the coast, the Texas Company oil tanker S. S. Oklahoma and the S. S. Esso Baton Rouge were torpedoed by the Germans, bringing the war very close to home for island residents.
Due in large part to the military's improvement of the island's infrastructure during the war, development on the island boomed in the 1950s and 1960s. More permanent homes and subdivisions were built, and the island was no longer just a summer resort but also a thriving community. In 1950 the Methodist conference and retreat center Epworth by the Sea opened on Gascoigne Bluff. In 1961 novelist Eugenia Price visited St. Simons and began work on her first works of fiction, known as the St. Simons Trilogy. Inspired by real events on the island, Price's trilogy renewed interest in the history of Georgia's coast, and the novelist herself relocated to the island in 1965 and lived there for thirty-one years. St. Simons is also home to contemporary Georgia writer Tina McElroy Ansa.
Since
Epworth by the Sea
1980 St. Simons's population has doubled. The island's continued status as a vacation destination and its ongoing development boom have put historic landmarks and natural areas at risk. While such landmarks as the Fort Frederica ruins and the Battle of Bloody Marsh site are preserved and maintained by the National Park Service, and while the historic lighthouse is maintained by the Coastal Georgia Historical Society, historic Ebos Landing has been taken over by a sewage treatment plant.
Several coastal organizations have formed in recent years to save natural areas on the island. The St. Simons Land Trust, for example, has received donations of large tracts of land and plans to protect property in the island's three traditional African American neighborhoods. Despite its rapid growth and development, St. Simons remains one of the most beautiful and important islands on the Georgia coast.

Conroy Tanzer
Inspiration for a mid-sized transitional u-shaped black floor open concept kitchen remodel in San Francisco with a farmhouse sink, shaker cabinets, gray cabinets, quartz countertops, white backsplash, stainless steel appliances, an island, marble backsplash and white countertops
Inspiration for a mid-sized transitional u-shaped black floor open concept kitchen remodel in San Francisco with a farmhouse sink, shaker cabinets, gray cabinets, quartz countertops, white backsplash, stainless steel appliances, an island, marble backsplash and white countertops
Find the right local pro for your project

Example of a large trendy backyard concrete patio design in Seattle with a fire pit and no cover

Mountain style kitchen photo in Other with recessed-panel cabinets, medium tone wood cabinets, wood countertops, gray backsplash, stone slab backsplash and stainless steel appliances

Catalogued dual flooring products and flagged terminology constraints
Catalogued dual flooring products and flagged terminology constraints
Got it — I'll confirm the specific Oak line per photo since this project mixes both. Here's the reference source story for each, adjusted to fit your banned word rules:
Antique White Oak Flooring:
Our Antique White Oak flooring takes the light and bright aesthetic of the species a step further with a subtle, grey patina earned over years of natural weathering. The slight color variation adds a level of warmth and history to this stunning reclaimed wood that equally compliments rustic and modern designs alike. Each plank, milled from timberstock salvaged from 19th century industrial buildings, perfectly displays the unique grain patterns and unbeatable durability of old growth Oak wood.
Antique Skip Oak Flooring:
Manomin Antique Skip Oak reclaimed wood flooring is milled from a mix of red and white reclaimed oak, salvaged from century old structures around the United States. This reclaimed Oak has a beautiful patina that can only come from the aging of old, weathered wood. Underneath that antique veneer are deep warm tones that drink up their surroundings and reflect a truly unique look, unobtainable without reclaimed wood. Our Antique Oak Planks are skip planed, a process where only enough wood is milled off the surface of the boards to level them out, leaving a distressed look that bears the marks of the milling on giant saws more than 100 years ago.
Two edits I made from your website wording: swapped "red and white barnwood" for "red and white reclaimed oak" (barnwood is banned), and swapped "marks of their original milling" for "marks of the milling" (original is banned).
Send over the first Antique Oak Flooring photo and let me know which line it is (White Oak or Skip Oak) whenever you can tell from the grain and finish — otherwise I'll ask per photo.
1783346259453_image.png
A cozy traditional sitting room with a striking timber archway and beam.
Existing keywords here are clean, just underdeveloped.
Question before I finalize: Is this White Oak or Skip Oak? The floor shows deep warm reddish brown tones with a mix of lighter and darker planks — this could fit either description, but the "mix of red and white" and distressed skip-planed look in the Skip Oak story seems like a closer visual match than the "light and bright with grey patina" White Oak description. Let me know which is correct.
Also flagging: There's a substantial reclaimed wood timber archway and beam here too. Is that Manomin as well, and if so, which product?
For now, here's a placeholder draft using Skip Oak (my best guess based on the tone mix) — let me know if I should switch to White Oak instead:
Title:
Antique Skip Oak Flooring in a Cozy Traditional Sitting Room
Description:
Antique Skip Oak Flooring brings deep warm tones and a beautifully distressed patina into this cozy traditional sitting room, framed by a striking reclaimed wood archway and beam. Manomin Antique Skip Oak reclaimed wood flooring is milled from a mix of red and white reclaimed oak, salvaged from century old structures around the United States.
Underneath that antique veneer are deep warm tones that drink up their surroundings and reflect a truly unique look, unobtainable without reclaimed wood. Our Antique Oak Planks are skip planed, a process where only enough wood is milled off the surface of the boards to level them out, leaving a distressed look that bears the marks of the milling on giant saws more than 100 years ago.
Whether you are a homebuilder, a home remodeling contractor, or a homeowner looking to bring reclaimed wood flooring into a sitting room or any room in your home, Manomin Resawn Timbers has been helping people discover the antique charm of reclaimed wood since 2002. Visit our showroom in Hugo, MN or reach out to us with a call or a message to get started.
Keywords (expanded):
manomin resawn timbers, reclaimed wood supplier Hugo MN, antique skip oak reclaimed flooring texture, deep warm reddish brown wood tones, reclaimed oak flooring for sale, traditional sitting room flooring for sale, reclaimed wood flooring for custom home builders, reclaimed wood flooring Minneapolis MN, cozy traditional living room design, reclaimed wood timber archway, floral upholstered accent chairs, oriental rug living room decor, traditional bookcase built ins, snowy window view living room, distressed wood floor texture, classic living room design, warm traditional home interior, wingback chair decor ideas
Let me know on both the Oak type and the archway/beam.
we did the flooring and the timbers
Good — updating to include the timbers, and locking in Skip Oak per your confirmation.
Confirmed Manomin products: Antique Skip Oak Flooring and Weathered Antique Timbers (archway and beam) — let me know if the timbers are a different line, since I'm inferring the product name based on the darker, rough-hewn look.
Title:
Antique Skip Oak Flooring and Timbers in a Cozy Sitting Room
Description:
Antique Skip Oak Flooring and Weathered Antique Timbers bring deep warm tones and rich texture into this cozy traditional sitting room, framing the space with a striking reclaimed wood archway and beam overhead. Manomin Antique Skip Oak reclaimed wood flooring is milled from a mix of red and white reclaimed oak, salvaged from century old structures around the United States.
Underneath that antique veneer are deep warm tones that drink up their surroundings and reflect a truly unique look, unobtainable without reclaimed wood. Our Antique Oak Planks are skip planed, a process where only enough wood is milled off the surface of the boards to level them out, leaving a distressed look that bears the marks of the milling on giant saws more than 100 years ago. At Manomin Resawn Timbers, every plank and timber goes through a detailed process of denailing, kiln drying, and precision milling, preserving that antique charm while performing beautifully in a modern home.
Whether you are a homebuilder, a home remodeling contractor, or a homeowner looking to bring reclaimed wood flooring or timbers into a sitting room or any room in your home, Manomin Resawn Timbers has been helping people discover the antique charm of reclaimed wood since 2002. Visit our showroom in Hugo, MN or reach out to us with a call or a message to get started.
Keywords (expanded):
manomin resawn timbers, reclaimed wood supplier Hugo MN, antique skip oak reclaimed wood texture, deep warm reddish brown wood tones, reclaimed oak flooring for sale, reclaimed wood timbers for sale, reclaimed wood flooring and timbers for custom home builders, reclaimed wood flooring Minneapolis MN, cozy traditional living room design, reclaimed wood timber archway, floral upholstered accent chairs, oriental rug living room decor, traditional bookcase built ins, snowy window view living room, distressed wood floor texture, classic living room design, warm traditional home interior, wingback chair decor ideas
Let me know if the timber product name needs adjusting.
1783346588088_image.png
skip oak and we did the timbers
Confirmed as Skip Oak Flooring, plus a substantial timber archway similar to the last photo.
Confirmed Manomin products: Antique Skip Oak Flooring and Timbers.
Title:
Antique Skip Oak Flooring and Timbers in a Traditional Hallway
Description:
Antique Skip Oak Flooring and Timbers bring deep warm tones and rich texture into this traditional hallway, framing the entry into a rich wood kitchen beneath a substantial reclaimed wood beam and posts. Manomin Antique Skip Oak reclaimed wood flooring is milled from a mix of red and white reclaimed oak, salvaged from century old structures around the United States.
Underneath that antique veneer are deep warm tones that drink up their surroundings and reflect a truly unique look, unobtainable without reclaimed wood. Our Antique Oak Planks are skip planed, a process where only enough wood is milled off the surface of the boards to level them out, leaving a distressed look that bears the marks of the milling on giant saws more than 100 years ago. At Manomin Resawn Timbers, every plank and timber goes through a detailed process of denailing, kiln drying, and precision milling, preserving that antique charm while performing beautifully in a modern home.
Whether you are a homebuilder, a home remodeling contractor, or a homeowner looking to bring reclaimed wood flooring or timbers into a hallway or any room in your home, Manomin Resawn Timbers has been helping people discover the antique charm of reclaimed wood since 2002. Visit our showroom in Hugo, MN or reach out to us with a call or a message to get started.
Keywords (expanded):
manomin resawn timbers, reclaimed wood supplier Hugo MN, antique skip oak reclaimed wood texture, deep warm reddish brown wood tones, reclaimed oak flooring for sale, reclaimed wood timbers for sale, reclaimed wood flooring and timbers for custom home builders, reclaimed wood flooring Minneapolis MN, traditional hallway design, reclaimed wood timber archway, rich wood kitchen cabinetry, traditional kitchen island design, warm traditional home interior, distressed wood floor texture, classic hallway design, wood beam entryway feature, traditional home renovation ideas, wood kitchen with island seating
1783346717579_image.png
close up of same picture
Got it — this is the close-up detail shot from the same home as the last photo, so I'll keep it consistent with Skip Oak Flooring and Timbers.
Confirmed Manomin products: Antique Skip Oak Flooring and Timbers.
Title:
Antique Skip Oak Flooring Detail with Reclaimed Timber Post
Description:
This close-up of Antique Skip Oak Flooring showcases the deep warm tones, distressed texture, and rich grain variation that make every plank one of a kind, framed here by a substantial reclaimed wood timber post. Manomin Antique Skip Oak reclaimed wood flooring is milled from a mix of red and white reclaimed oak, salvaged from century old structures around the United States.
Underneath that antique veneer are deep warm tones that drink up their surroundings and reflect a truly unique look, unobtainable without reclaimed wood. Our Antique Oak Planks are skip planed, a process where only enough wood is milled off the surface of the boards to level them out, leaving a distressed look that bears the marks of the milling on giant saws more than 100 years ago. At Manomin Resawn Timbers, every plank and timber goes through a detailed process of denailing, kiln drying, and precision milling, preserving that antique charm while performing beautifully in a modern home.
Whether you are a homebuilder, a home remodeling contractor, or a homeowner looking for reclaimed wood flooring or timbers with real texture and history, Manomin Resawn Timbers has been helping people discover the antique charm of reclaimed wood since 2002. Visit our showroom in Hugo, MN or reach out to us with a call or a message to get started.

In some ways, this room is so inviting it makes you think OMG I want to be in that room, and at the same time, it seems so perfect you almost don’t want to disturb it. So is this room for show or for function? “It’s both,” MaRae Simone says. Even though it’s so beautiful, sexy and perfect, it’s still designed to be livable and functional. The sofa comes with an extra dose of comfort. You’ll also notice from this room that MaRae loves to layer. Put rugs on top of rugs. Throws on top of throws. “I love the layering effect,” MaRae says.
MaRae Simone Interiors, Marc Mauldin Photography

Kitchen looking towards Dining Room and Living Room beyond. Photo by Clark Dugger
Small trendy galley medium tone wood floor and brown floor eat-in kitchen photo in Los Angeles with an undermount sink, flat-panel cabinets, dark wood cabinets, wood countertops, paneled appliances, brown backsplash, wood backsplash and no island
Small trendy galley medium tone wood floor and brown floor eat-in kitchen photo in Los Angeles with an undermount sink, flat-panel cabinets, dark wood cabinets, wood countertops, paneled appliances, brown backsplash, wood backsplash and no island

Stuart Wade, Envision Virtual Tours
The second-largest and most developed of Georgia's barrier islands, St. Simons is approximately twelve miles long and nearly three miles wide at its widest stretch (roughly the size of Manhattan Island in New York). The island is located in Glynn County on Georgia's coast and lies east of Brunswick (the seat of Glynn County), south of Little St. Simons Island and the Hampton River, and north of Jekyll Island. The resort community of Sea Island is separated from St. Simons on the east by the Black Banks River. Known for its oak tree canopies and historic landmarks, St. Simons is both a tourist destination and, according to the 2010 U.S. census, home to 12,743 residents.
Early History
The earliest
St. Simons Island Village
record of human habitation on the island dates to the Late Archaic Period, about 5,000 to 3,000 years ago. Remnants of shell rings left behind by Native Americans from this era survive on many of the barrier islands, including St. Simons. Centuries later, during the period known by historians as the chiefdom era, the Guale Indians established a chiefdom centered on St. Catherines Island and used St. Simons as their hunting and fishing grounds. By 1500 the Guale had established a permanent village of about 200 people on St. Simons, which they called Guadalquini.
Beginning in 1568, the Spanish attempted to create missions along the Georgia coast. Catholic missions were the primary means by which Georgia's indigenous Native American chiefdoms were assimilated into the Spanish colonial system along the northern frontier of greater Spanish Florida. In the 1600s St. Simons became home to two Spanish missions: San Buenaventura de Guadalquini, on the southern tip of the island, and Santo Domingo de Asao (or Asajo), on the northern tip. Located on the inland side of the island were the pagan refugee villages of San Simón, the island's namesake, and Ocotonico. In 1684 pirate raids left the missions and villages largely abandoned.
Colonial History
As
Fort Frederica
early as 1670, with Great Britain's establishment of the colony of Carolina and its expansion into Georgia territory, Spanish rule was threatened by the English. The Georgia coast was considered "debatable land" by England and Spain, even though Spain had fully retreated from St. Simons by 1702. Thirty-one years later General James Edward Oglethorpe founded the English settlement of Savannah. In 1736 he established Fort Frederica, named after the heir to the British throne, Frederick Louis, prince of Wales, on the west side of St. Simons Island to protect Savannah and the Carolinas from the Spanish threat.
Between 1736 and 1749 Fort Frederica was the hub of British military operations along the Georgia frontier. A town of the same name grew up around the fort and was of great importance to the new colony. By 1740 Frederica's population was 1,000. In 1736 the congregation of what would become Christ Church was organized within Fort Frederica as a mission of the Church of England. Charles Wesley led the first services. In 1742 Britain's decisive victory over Spain in the Battle of Bloody Marsh, during the War of Jenkins' Ear, ended the Spanish threat to the Georgia coast. When the British regimen disbanded in 1749, most of the townspeople relocated to the mainland. Fort Frederica went into decline and, except for a short time of prosperity during the 1760s and 1770s under the leadership of merchant James Spalding, never fully recovered. Today the historic citadel's tabby ruins are maintained by the National Park Service.
Plantation Era
By the start of the American Revolution (1775-83), Fort Frederica was obsolete, and St. Simons was left largely uninhabited as most of its residents joined the patriot army. Besides hosting a small Georgia naval victory on the Fort Frederica River, providing guns from its famous fort for use at Fort Morris in Sunbury, and serving as an arena for pillaging by privateers and British soldiers, the island played almost no role in the war.
Following the war, many of the townspeople, their businesses destroyed, turned to agriculture. The island was transformed into fourteen cotton plantations after acres of live oak trees were cleared for farm land and used for building American warships, including the famous USS Constitution, or "Old Ironsides." Although rice was the predominant crop along the neighboring Altamaha River, St. Simons was known for its production of long-staple cotton, which soon came to be known as Sea Island cotton.
Between
Ebos Landing
the 1780s and the outbreak of the Civil War (1861-65), St. Simons's plantation culture flourished. The saline atmosphere and the availability of cheap slave labor proved an ideal combination for the cultivation of Sea Island cotton. In 1803 a group of Ebo slaves who survived the Middle Passage and arrived on the west side of St. Simons staged a rebellion and drowned themselves. The sacred site is known today as Ebos Landing.
One of the largest owners of land and slaves on St. Simons was Pierce Butler, master of Hampton Point Plantation, located on the northern end of the island. By 1793 Butler owned more than 500 slaves, who cultivated 800 acres of cotton on St. Simons and 300 acres of rice on Butler's Island in the Altamaha River delta. Butler's grandson, Pierce Mease Butler, who at the age of sixteen inherited a share of his grandfather's estate in 1826, was responsible for the largest sale of human beings in the history of the United States: in 1859, to restore his squandered fortune, he sold 429 slaves in Savannah for more than $300,000. The British actress and writer Fanny Kemble, whose tumultuous marriage to Pierce ended in divorce in 1849, published an eyewitness account of the evils of slavery on St. Simons in her book Journal of a Residence on a Georgian Plantation in 1838-1839 (1863).
Another
Retreat Plantation
large owner of land and slaves on St. Simons was Major William Page, a friend and employee of Pierce Butler Sr. Before purchasing Retreat Plantation on the southwestern tip of the island in 1804, Page managed the Hampton plantation and Butler's Island. Upon Page's death in 1827, Thomas Butler King inherited the land together with his wife, Page's daughter, Anna Matilda Page King. King expanded his father-in-law's planting empire on St. Simons as well as on the mainland, and by 1835 Retreat Plantation alone was home to as many as 355 slaves.
The center of life during the island's plantation era was Christ Church, Frederica. Organized in 1807 by a group of island planters, the Episcopal church is the second oldest in the Diocese of Georgia. Embargoes imposed by the War of 1812 (1812-15) prevented the parishioners from building a church structure, so they worshiped in the home of John Beck, which stood on the site of Oglethorpe's only St. Simons residence, Orange Hall.
The first Christ Church building, finished on the present site in 1820, was ruined by occupying Union troops during the Civil War. In 1884 the Reverend Anson Dodge Jr. rebuilt the church as a memorial to his first wife, Ellen. The cruciform building with a trussed gothic roof and stained-glass windows remains active today as Christ Church.
Civil War and Beyond
The
St. Simons Island Lighthouse
outbreak of the Civil War in 1861 put a sudden end to St. Simons's lucrative plantation era. In January of that year, Confederate troops were stationed at the south end of the island to guard the entrance to Brunswick Harbor. Slaves from Retreat Plantation, owned by Thomas Butler King, built earthworks and batteries. Plantation residents were scattered—the men joined the Confederate army and their families moved to the mainland. Cannon fire was heard on the island in December 1861, and Confederate troops retreated in February 1862, after dynamiting the lighthouse to keep its beacon from aiding Union troops. Soon thereafter, Union troops occupied the island, which was used as a camp for freed slaves. By August 1862 more than 500 former slaves lived on St. Simons, including Susie King Taylor, who organized a school for freed slave children. But in November the ex-slaves were taken to Hilton Head, South Carolina, and Fernandina, Florida, leaving the island abandoned.
After the Civil War the island never returned to its status as an agricultural community. The plantations lay dormant because there were no slaves to work the fields. After Union general William T. Sherman's January 1865 Special Field Order No. 15 —a demand that former plantations be divided and distributed to former slaves—was overturned by U.S. president Andrew Johnson less than a year later, freedmen and women were forced to work as sharecroppers on the small farms that dotted the land previously occupied by the sprawling plantations.
By
St. Simons Lumber Mills
1870 real economic recovery began with the reestablishment of the timber industry. Norman Dodge and Titus G. Meigs of New York set up lumber mill operations at Gascoigne Bluff, formerly Hamilton Plantation. The lumber mills provided welcome employment for both blacks and whites and also provided mail and passenger boats to the mainland. Such water traffic, together with the construction of a new lighthouse in 1872, designed by architect Charles B. Cluskey, marked the beginning of St. Simons's tourism industry. The keeper of the lighthouse created a small amusement park, which drew many visitors, as did the seemingly miraculous light that traveled from the top of the lighthouse tower to the bottom. The island became a summer retreat for families from the mainland, particularly from Baxley, Brunswick, and Waycross.
The island's resort industry was thriving by the 1880s. Beachfront structures, such as a new pier and grand hotel, were built on the southeastern end of the island and could be accessed by ferry. Around this time wealthy northerners began vacationing on the island.
Twentieth Century
The
St. Simons Island Pier and Village
opening in 1924 of the Brunswick–St. Simons Highway, today known as the Torras Causeway, was a milestone in the development of resorts in the area. St. Simons's beaches were now easily accessible to locals and tourists alike. More than 5,000 automobiles took the short drive from Brunswick to St. Simons via the causeway on its opening day, paving the way for convenient residential and resort development.
In 1926 automotive pioneer Howard Coffin of Detroit, Michigan, bought large tracts of land on St. Simons, including the former Retreat Plantation, and constructed a golf course, yacht club, paved roads, and a residential subdivision. Although the causeway had brought large numbers of summer people to the island, St. Simons remained a small community with only a few hundred permanent residents until the 1940s.
The
St. Simons Island
outbreak of World War II (1941-45) brought more visitors and residents to St. Simons. Troops stationed at Jacksonville, Florida; Savannah; and nearby Camp Stewart took weekend vacations on the island, and a new naval air base and radar school became home to even more officers and soldiers. The increased wartime population brought the island its first public school. With a major shipyard for the production of Liberty ships in nearby Brunswick, the waters of St. Simons became active with German U-boats. In April 1942, just off the coast, the Texas Company oil tanker S. S. Oklahoma and the S. S. Esso Baton Rouge were torpedoed by the Germans, bringing the war very close to home for island residents.
Due in large part to the military's improvement of the island's infrastructure during the war, development on the island boomed in the 1950s and 1960s. More permanent homes and subdivisions were built, and the island was no longer just a summer resort but also a thriving community. In 1950 the Methodist conference and retreat center Epworth by the Sea opened on Gascoigne Bluff. In 1961 novelist Eugenia Price visited St. Simons and began work on her first works of fiction, known as the St. Simons Trilogy. Inspired by real events on the island, Price's trilogy renewed interest in the history of Georgia's coast, and the novelist herself relocated to the island in 1965 and lived there for thirty-one years. St. Simons is also home to contemporary Georgia writer Tina McElroy Ansa.
Since
Epworth by the Sea
1980 St. Simons's population has doubled. The island's continued status as a vacation destination and its ongoing development boom have put historic landmarks and natural areas at risk. While such landmarks as the Fort Frederica ruins and the Battle of Bloody Marsh site are preserved and maintained by the National Park Service, and while the historic lighthouse is maintained by the Coastal Georgia Historical Society, historic Ebos Landing has been taken over by a sewage treatment plant.
Several coastal organizations have formed in recent years to save natural areas on the island. The St. Simons Land Trust, for example, has received donations of large tracts of land and plans to protect property in the island's three traditional African American neighborhoods. Despite its rapid growth and development, St. Simons remains one of the most beautiful and important islands on the Georgia coast.

© Steve Freihon/ Tungsten LLC
Small trendy gender-neutral walk-in closet photo in New York with open cabinets and light wood cabinets
Small trendy gender-neutral walk-in closet photo in New York with open cabinets and light wood cabinets

Jack Thompson
Transitional galley kitchen photo in Houston with a farmhouse sink, recessed-panel cabinets, white cabinets and paneled appliances
Transitional galley kitchen photo in Houston with a farmhouse sink, recessed-panel cabinets, white cabinets and paneled appliances

Stuart Wade, Envision Virtual Tours
The second-largest and most developed of Georgia's barrier islands, St. Simons is approximately twelve miles long and nearly three miles wide at its widest stretch (roughly the size of Manhattan Island in New York). The island is located in Glynn County on Georgia's coast and lies east of Brunswick (the seat of Glynn County), south of Little St. Simons Island and the Hampton River, and north of Jekyll Island. The resort community of Sea Island is separated from St. Simons on the east by the Black Banks River. Known for its oak tree canopies and historic landmarks, St. Simons is both a tourist destination and, according to the 2010 U.S. census, home to 12,743 residents.
Early History
The earliest
St. Simons Island Village
record of human habitation on the island dates to the Late Archaic Period, about 5,000 to 3,000 years ago. Remnants of shell rings left behind by Native Americans from this era survive on many of the barrier islands, including St. Simons. Centuries later, during the period known by historians as the chiefdom era, the Guale Indians established a chiefdom centered on St. Catherines Island and used St. Simons as their hunting and fishing grounds. By 1500 the Guale had established a permanent village of about 200 people on St. Simons, which they called Guadalquini.
Beginning in 1568, the Spanish attempted to create missions along the Georgia coast. Catholic missions were the primary means by which Georgia's indigenous Native American chiefdoms were assimilated into the Spanish colonial system along the northern frontier of greater Spanish Florida. In the 1600s St. Simons became home to two Spanish missions: San Buenaventura de Guadalquini, on the southern tip of the island, and Santo Domingo de Asao (or Asajo), on the northern tip. Located on the inland side of the island were the pagan refugee villages of San Simón, the island's namesake, and Ocotonico. In 1684 pirate raids left the missions and villages largely abandoned.
Colonial History
As
Fort Frederica
early as 1670, with Great Britain's establishment of the colony of Carolina and its expansion into Georgia territory, Spanish rule was threatened by the English. The Georgia coast was considered "debatable land" by England and Spain, even though Spain had fully retreated from St. Simons by 1702. Thirty-one years later General James Edward Oglethorpe founded the English settlement of Savannah. In 1736 he established Fort Frederica, named after the heir to the British throne, Frederick Louis, prince of Wales, on the west side of St. Simons Island to protect Savannah and the Carolinas from the Spanish threat.
Between 1736 and 1749 Fort Frederica was the hub of British military operations along the Georgia frontier. A town of the same name grew up around the fort and was of great importance to the new colony. By 1740 Frederica's population was 1,000. In 1736 the congregation of what would become Christ Church was organized within Fort Frederica as a mission of the Church of England. Charles Wesley led the first services. In 1742 Britain's decisive victory over Spain in the Battle of Bloody Marsh, during the War of Jenkins' Ear, ended the Spanish threat to the Georgia coast. When the British regimen disbanded in 1749, most of the townspeople relocated to the mainland. Fort Frederica went into decline and, except for a short time of prosperity during the 1760s and 1770s under the leadership of merchant James Spalding, never fully recovered. Today the historic citadel's tabby ruins are maintained by the National Park Service.
Plantation Era
By the start of the American Revolution (1775-83), Fort Frederica was obsolete, and St. Simons was left largely uninhabited as most of its residents joined the patriot army. Besides hosting a small Georgia naval victory on the Fort Frederica River, providing guns from its famous fort for use at Fort Morris in Sunbury, and serving as an arena for pillaging by privateers and British soldiers, the island played almost no role in the war.
Following the war, many of the townspeople, their businesses destroyed, turned to agriculture. The island was transformed into fourteen cotton plantations after acres of live oak trees were cleared for farm land and used for building American warships, including the famous USS Constitution, or "Old Ironsides." Although rice was the predominant crop along the neighboring Altamaha River, St. Simons was known for its production of long-staple cotton, which soon came to be known as Sea Island cotton.
Between
Ebos Landing
the 1780s and the outbreak of the Civil War (1861-65), St. Simons's plantation culture flourished. The saline atmosphere and the availability of cheap slave labor proved an ideal combination for the cultivation of Sea Island cotton. In 1803 a group of Ebo slaves who survived the Middle Passage and arrived on the west side of St. Simons staged a rebellion and drowned themselves. The sacred site is known today as Ebos Landing.
One of the largest owners of land and slaves on St. Simons was Pierce Butler, master of Hampton Point Plantation, located on the northern end of the island. By 1793 Butler owned more than 500 slaves, who cultivated 800 acres of cotton on St. Simons and 300 acres of rice on Butler's Island in the Altamaha River delta. Butler's grandson, Pierce Mease Butler, who at the age of sixteen inherited a share of his grandfather's estate in 1826, was responsible for the largest sale of human beings in the history of the United States: in 1859, to restore his squandered fortune, he sold 429 slaves in Savannah for more than $300,000. The British actress and writer Fanny Kemble, whose tumultuous marriage to Pierce ended in divorce in 1849, published an eyewitness account of the evils of slavery on St. Simons in her book Journal of a Residence on a Georgian Plantation in 1838-1839 (1863).
Another
Retreat Plantation
large owner of land and slaves on St. Simons was Major William Page, a friend and employee of Pierce Butler Sr. Before purchasing Retreat Plantation on the southwestern tip of the island in 1804, Page managed the Hampton plantation and Butler's Island. Upon Page's death in 1827, Thomas Butler King inherited the land together with his wife, Page's daughter, Anna Matilda Page King. King expanded his father-in-law's planting empire on St. Simons as well as on the mainland, and by 1835 Retreat Plantation alone was home to as many as 355 slaves.
The center of life during the island's plantation era was Christ Church, Frederica. Organized in 1807 by a group of island planters, the Episcopal church is the second oldest in the Diocese of Georgia. Embargoes imposed by the War of 1812 (1812-15) prevented the parishioners from building a church structure, so they worshiped in the home of John Beck, which stood on the site of Oglethorpe's only St. Simons residence, Orange Hall.
The first Christ Church building, finished on the present site in 1820, was ruined by occupying Union troops during the Civil War. In 1884 the Reverend Anson Dodge Jr. rebuilt the church as a memorial to his first wife, Ellen. The cruciform building with a trussed gothic roof and stained-glass windows remains active today as Christ Church.
Civil War and Beyond
The
St. Simons Island Lighthouse
outbreak of the Civil War in 1861 put a sudden end to St. Simons's lucrative plantation era. In January of that year, Confederate troops were stationed at the south end of the island to guard the entrance to Brunswick Harbor. Slaves from Retreat Plantation, owned by Thomas Butler King, built earthworks and batteries. Plantation residents were scattered—the men joined the Confederate army and their families moved to the mainland. Cannon fire was heard on the island in December 1861, and Confederate troops retreated in February 1862, after dynamiting the lighthouse to keep its beacon from aiding Union troops. Soon thereafter, Union troops occupied the island, which was used as a camp for freed slaves. By August 1862 more than 500 former slaves lived on St. Simons, including Susie King Taylor, who organized a school for freed slave children. But in November the ex-slaves were taken to Hilton Head, South Carolina, and Fernandina, Florida, leaving the island abandoned.
After the Civil War the island never returned to its status as an agricultural community. The plantations lay dormant because there were no slaves to work the fields. After Union general William T. Sherman's January 1865 Special Field Order No. 15 —a demand that former plantations be divided and distributed to former slaves—was overturned by U.S. president Andrew Johnson less than a year later, freedmen and women were forced to work as sharecroppers on the small farms that dotted the land previously occupied by the sprawling plantations.
By
St. Simons Lumber Mills
1870 real economic recovery began with the reestablishment of the timber industry. Norman Dodge and Titus G. Meigs of New York set up lumber mill operations at Gascoigne Bluff, formerly Hamilton Plantation. The lumber mills provided welcome employment for both blacks and whites and also provided mail and passenger boats to the mainland. Such water traffic, together with the construction of a new lighthouse in 1872, designed by architect Charles B. Cluskey, marked the beginning of St. Simons's tourism industry. The keeper of the lighthouse created a small amusement park, which drew many visitors, as did the seemingly miraculous light that traveled from the top of the lighthouse tower to the bottom. The island became a summer retreat for families from the mainland, particularly from Baxley, Brunswick, and Waycross.
The island's resort industry was thriving by the 1880s. Beachfront structures, such as a new pier and grand hotel, were built on the southeastern end of the island and could be accessed by ferry. Around this time wealthy northerners began vacationing on the island.
Twentieth Century
The
St. Simons Island Pier and Village
opening in 1924 of the Brunswick–St. Simons Highway, today known as the Torras Causeway, was a milestone in the development of resorts in the area. St. Simons's beaches were now easily accessible to locals and tourists alike. More than 5,000 automobiles took the short drive from Brunswick to St. Simons via the causeway on its opening day, paving the way for convenient residential and resort development.
In 1926 automotive pioneer Howard Coffin of Detroit, Michigan, bought large tracts of land on St. Simons, including the former Retreat Plantation, and constructed a golf course, yacht club, paved roads, and a residential subdivision. Although the causeway had brought large numbers of summer people to the island, St. Simons remained a small community with only a few hundred permanent residents until the 1940s.
The
St. Simons Island
outbreak of World War II (1941-45) brought more visitors and residents to St. Simons. Troops stationed at Jacksonville, Florida; Savannah; and nearby Camp Stewart took weekend vacations on the island, and a new naval air base and radar school became home to even more officers and soldiers. The increased wartime population brought the island its first public school. With a major shipyard for the production of Liberty ships in nearby Brunswick, the waters of St. Simons became active with German U-boats. In April 1942, just off the coast, the Texas Company oil tanker S. S. Oklahoma and the S. S. Esso Baton Rouge were torpedoed by the Germans, bringing the war very close to home for island residents.
Due in large part to the military's improvement of the island's infrastructure during the war, development on the island boomed in the 1950s and 1960s. More permanent homes and subdivisions were built, and the island was no longer just a summer resort but also a thriving community. In 1950 the Methodist conference and retreat center Epworth by the Sea opened on Gascoigne Bluff. In 1961 novelist Eugenia Price visited St. Simons and began work on her first works of fiction, known as the St. Simons Trilogy. Inspired by real events on the island, Price's trilogy renewed interest in the history of Georgia's coast, and the novelist herself relocated to the island in 1965 and lived there for thirty-one years. St. Simons is also home to contemporary Georgia writer Tina McElroy Ansa.
Since
Epworth by the Sea
1980 St. Simons's population has doubled. The island's continued status as a vacation destination and its ongoing development boom have put historic landmarks and natural areas at risk. While such landmarks as the Fort Frederica ruins and the Battle of Bloody Marsh site are preserved and maintained by the National Park Service, and while the historic lighthouse is maintained by the Coastal Georgia Historical Society, historic Ebos Landing has been taken over by a sewage treatment plant.
Several coastal organizations have formed in recent years to save natural areas on the island. The St. Simons Land Trust, for example, has received donations of large tracts of land and plans to protect property in the island's three traditional African American neighborhoods. Despite its rapid growth and development, St. Simons remains one of the most beautiful and important islands on the Georgia coast.

Completely custom reclaimed timber & stone veneer hood surrounding Thermador 48" professional range and hood insert. Custom distressed rustic cherry cabinetry and honed granite counter tops. Herringbone tile back splash. Reclaimed lumber ceiling and sliding barn door.
Photo by: Tom Martineau (Martineau Design)

Sponsored
Sunbury, OH
J.Holderby - Renovations
Franklin County's Leading General Contractors - 2X Best of Houzz!

Reclaimed original patina hand hewn
© Carolina Timberworks
Open concept kitchen - mid-sized rustic u-shaped concrete floor open concept kitchen idea in Charlotte with a single-bowl sink, shaker cabinets, red cabinets, granite countertops, white backsplash, stainless steel appliances and an island
Open concept kitchen - mid-sized rustic u-shaped concrete floor open concept kitchen idea in Charlotte with a single-bowl sink, shaker cabinets, red cabinets, granite countertops, white backsplash, stainless steel appliances and an island

Incorporating a reclaimed wood wall into this newly renovated East Village Duplex, brought in warm materials into an open stairwell.
© Devon Banks
Inspiration for a mid-sized contemporary dark wood floor and brown floor hallway remodel in New York with white walls
Inspiration for a mid-sized contemporary dark wood floor and brown floor hallway remodel in New York with white walls

This late 70's ranch style home was recently renovated with a clean, modern twist on the ranch style architecture of the existing residence. AquaTerra was hired to create the entire outdoor environment including the new pool and spa. Similar to the renovated home, this aquatic environment was designed to take a traditional pool and gives it a clean, modern twist. The site proved to be perfect for a long, sweeping curved water feature that can be seen from all of the outdoor gathering spaces as well as many rooms inside the residence. This design draws people outside and allows them to explore all of the features of the pool and outdoor spaces. Features of this resort like outdoor environment include:
-Play pool with two lounge areas with LED lit bubblers
-Pebble Tec Pebble Sheen Luminous series pool finish
-Lightstreams glass tile
-spa with six custom copper Bobe water spillway scuppers
-water feature wall with three custom copper Bobe water scuppers
-Fully automated with Pentair Equipment
-LED lighting throughout the pool and spa
-Gathering space with automated fire pit
-Lounge deck area
-Synthetic turf between step pads and deck
-Gourmet outdoor kitchen to meet all the entertaining needs.
This outdoor environment cohesively brings the clean & modern finishes of the renovated home seamlessly to the outdoors to a pool and spa for play, exercise and relaxation.
Photography: Daniel Driensky

Photos by Audrey Hall
Inspiration for a rustic open concept family room remodel in Other with a standard fireplace and a stone fireplace
Inspiration for a rustic open concept family room remodel in Other with a standard fireplace and a stone fireplace

Sponsored
Sunbury, OH
J.Holderby - Renovations
Franklin County's Leading General Contractors - 2X Best of Houzz!

rootARCH: Solid sawn oak timbers from reclaimed storm debris. timbers were coated with wood filler sanded and urethaned for a distinctive finished look that highlights the natural imperfections of the wood grain.

Art Gray Photography
Trendy brown two-story mixed siding exterior home photo in Los Angeles with a green roof
Trendy brown two-story mixed siding exterior home photo in Los Angeles with a green roof
5

