Search results for "Traditionally maintained" in Home Design Ideas

We transformed a Georgian brick two-story built in 1998 into an elegant, yet comfortable home for an active family that includes children and dogs. Although this Dallas home’s traditional bones were intact, the interior dark stained molding, paint, and distressed cabinetry, along with dated bathrooms and kitchen were in desperate need of an overhaul. We honored the client’s European background by using time-tested marble mosaics, slabs and countertops, and vintage style plumbing fixtures throughout the kitchen and bathrooms. We balanced these traditional elements with metallic and unique patterned wallpapers, transitional light fixtures and clean-lined furniture frames to give the home excitement while maintaining a graceful and inviting presence. We used nickel lighting and plumbing finishes throughout the home to give regal punctuation to each room. The intentional, detailed styling in this home is evident in that each room boasts its own character while remaining cohesive overall.

Brian Klaas Inc designed and built this traditional white cabinet kitchen but maintained function as well as form. This traditional kitchen has all the amenities you would expect to find in a modern kitchen while maintaining the stylistic integrity and vision of the owners!

Brian Klaas Inc designed and built this traditional white cabinet kitchen but maintained function as well as form. This traditional kitchen has all the amenities you would expect to find in a modern kitchen while maintaining the stylistic integrity and vision of the owners!
Find the right local pro for your project

We designed a second story addition on the back of this Park Keeper's residence circa 1897. The main challenge was ensuring that the new addition maintained the aesthetic of the original architecture. Warm offwhite details off set against mossy green shingles for the exterior finishes of this Queen Anne style home.

Our clients in Ann Arbor wanted to maintain the esthetic integrity of their traditional home but update to todays standards. This Rochman Design Build project included a 2 floor addition. On the 1st floor was a kitchen remodel and addition plus a mudroom and office addition. On the 2nd floor, we added a master suite.

Welcome to one of the most prestigious addresses in Rockliffe. While the exterior frontage looks narrow, it is surprising spacious on the inside. Being anxious to view the space, the interior was disappointingly dated. Clearly a home that was well loved, but never maintained. Renovations were not in the budget, so with fresh paint and a new look, we truly transformed this property into an up and coming space. Simply lovely with an outstanding view of the pond!

Brian Klaas Inc designed and built this traditional white cabinet kitchen but maintained function as well as form. This traditional kitchen has all the amenities you would expect to find in a modern kitchen while maintaining the stylistic integrity and vision of the owners!

The building known as the “Stable” exists within the Historic District of Fairfield, Connecticut on Old Academy Road. As such, any work performed on the structure required prior approval of the Historic District Commission.
Domus Constructors was hired to completely gut and remodel this historic structure to maintain the historic significance while bringing the building’s mechanical and electrical systems up to date and restoring the structural integrity.
Some of the more prominent architectural features of the building include a very large center cupola which needed much restoration, a wood roof that was covered over by asphalt shingles and exterior doors that were historically significant and needed extensive restoration.
While these items were all constraints, Domus also excavated an existing dirt subfloor and replaced the entire area with a vapor barrier and concrete slab crawl space to allow access to plumbing, etc.
Other special features include the wooden ceiling and exposed hand hewn oak beams and columns installed throughout using antique reclaimed wood, and the antique reclaimed wood flooring and restoring the multi-colored slate entrance terrace.
The overall size of the structure is 63 feet in length by 26 feet deep for an approximate total of 1,638 square feet.

Our clients in Ann Arbor wanted to maintain the esthetic integrity of their traditional home but update to todays standards. This Rochman Design Build project included a 2 floor addition. On the 1st floor was a kitchen remodel and addition plus a mudroom and office addition. On the 2nd floor, we added a master suite.

"Man Cave" game room above garage. Luxury vinyl floor that is durable and easy to maintain. Spiral stair case has complimentary wool stair treads.
Inspiration for a mid-sized timeless enclosed vinyl floor game room remodel in Boston with orange walls, no fireplace and a wall-mounted tv
Inspiration for a mid-sized timeless enclosed vinyl floor game room remodel in Boston with orange walls, no fireplace and a wall-mounted tv

Spring pictures of a 25 years old garden that we have been maintaining.
Inspiration for a large traditional backyard formal garden in New York.
Inspiration for a large traditional backyard formal garden in New York.

Brian Klaas Inc designed and built this traditional white cabinet kitchen but maintained function as well as form. This traditional kitchen has all the amenities you would expect to find in a modern kitchen while maintaining the stylistic integrity and vision of the owners!

"Man Cave" game room above garage. Luxury vinyl floor that is durable and easy to maintain. Spiral stair case has complimentary wool stair treads.
Example of a mid-sized eclectic enclosed vinyl floor game room design in Boston with orange walls, no fireplace and a wall-mounted tv
Example of a mid-sized eclectic enclosed vinyl floor game room design in Boston with orange walls, no fireplace and a wall-mounted tv

Sponsored
Plain City, OH
Kuhns Contracting, Inc.
Central Ohio's Trusted Home Remodeler Specializing in Kitchens & Baths

Our Atlanta studio renovated this traditional home with new furniture, accessories, art, and window treatments, so it flaunts a light, fresh look while maintaining its traditional charm. The fully renovated kitchen and breakfast area exude style and functionality, while the formal dining showcases elegant curves and ornate statement lighting. The family room and formal sitting room are perfect for spending time with loved ones and entertaining, and the powder room juxtaposes dark cabinets with Damask wallpaper and sleek lighting. The lush, calming master suite provides a perfect oasis for unwinding and rejuvenating.
---
Project designed by Atlanta interior design firm, VRA Interiors. They serve the entire Atlanta metropolitan area including Buckhead, Dunwoody, Sandy Springs, Cobb County, and North Fulton County.
For more about VRA Interior Design, see here: https://www.vrainteriors.com/
To learn more about this project, see here:
https://www.vrainteriors.com/portfolio/traditional-atlanta-home-renovation/

The grand salon emphasizes architectural detailing while embracing an intimate arrangement of furniture to maintain proper conversational proportion and scale. The rich textiles add layered texture and luxury while embodying comfort and beauty.
photo credit: Gordon Beall

Stuart Wade, Envision Virtual Tours
The second-largest and most developed of Georgia's barrier islands, St. Simons is approximately twelve miles long and nearly three miles wide at its widest stretch (roughly the size of Manhattan Island in New York). The island is located in Glynn County on Georgia's coast and lies east of Brunswick (the seat of Glynn County), south of Little St. Simons Island and the Hampton River, and north of Jekyll Island. The resort community of Sea Island is separated from St. Simons on the east by the Black Banks River. Known for its oak tree canopies and historic landmarks, St. Simons is both a tourist destination and, according to the 2010 U.S. census, home to 12,743 residents.
Early History
The earliest
St. Simons Island Village
record of human habitation on the island dates to the Late Archaic Period, about 5,000 to 3,000 years ago. Remnants of shell rings left behind by Native Americans from this era survive on many of the barrier islands, including St. Simons. Centuries later, during the period known by historians as the chiefdom era, the Guale Indians established a chiefdom centered on St. Catherines Island and used St. Simons as their hunting and fishing grounds. By 1500 the Guale had established a permanent village of about 200 people on St. Simons, which they called Guadalquini.
Beginning in 1568, the Spanish attempted to create missions along the Georgia coast. Catholic missions were the primary means by which Georgia's indigenous Native American chiefdoms were assimilated into the Spanish colonial system along the northern frontier of greater Spanish Florida. In the 1600s St. Simons became home to two Spanish missions: San Buenaventura de Guadalquini, on the southern tip of the island, and Santo Domingo de Asao (or Asajo), on the northern tip. Located on the inland side of the island were the pagan refugee villages of San Simón, the island's namesake, and Ocotonico. In 1684 pirate raids left the missions and villages largely abandoned.
Colonial History
As
Fort Frederica
early as 1670, with Great Britain's establishment of the colony of Carolina and its expansion into Georgia territory, Spanish rule was threatened by the English. The Georgia coast was considered "debatable land" by England and Spain, even though Spain had fully retreated from St. Simons by 1702. Thirty-one years later General James Edward Oglethorpe founded the English settlement of Savannah. In 1736 he established Fort Frederica, named after the heir to the British throne, Frederick Louis, prince of Wales, on the west side of St. Simons Island to protect Savannah and the Carolinas from the Spanish threat.
Between 1736 and 1749 Fort Frederica was the hub of British military operations along the Georgia frontier. A town of the same name grew up around the fort and was of great importance to the new colony. By 1740 Frederica's population was 1,000. In 1736 the congregation of what would become Christ Church was organized within Fort Frederica as a mission of the Church of England. Charles Wesley led the first services. In 1742 Britain's decisive victory over Spain in the Battle of Bloody Marsh, during the War of Jenkins' Ear, ended the Spanish threat to the Georgia coast. When the British regimen disbanded in 1749, most of the townspeople relocated to the mainland. Fort Frederica went into decline and, except for a short time of prosperity during the 1760s and 1770s under the leadership of merchant James Spalding, never fully recovered. Today the historic citadel's tabby ruins are maintained by the National Park Service.
Plantation Era
By the start of the American Revolution (1775-83), Fort Frederica was obsolete, and St. Simons was left largely uninhabited as most of its residents joined the patriot army. Besides hosting a small Georgia naval victory on the Fort Frederica River, providing guns from its famous fort for use at Fort Morris in Sunbury, and serving as an arena for pillaging by privateers and British soldiers, the island played almost no role in the war.
Following the war, many of the townspeople, their businesses destroyed, turned to agriculture. The island was transformed into fourteen cotton plantations after acres of live oak trees were cleared for farm land and used for building American warships, including the famous USS Constitution, or "Old Ironsides." Although rice was the predominant crop along the neighboring Altamaha River, St. Simons was known for its production of long-staple cotton, which soon came to be known as Sea Island cotton.
Between
Ebos Landing
the 1780s and the outbreak of the Civil War (1861-65), St. Simons's plantation culture flourished. The saline atmosphere and the availability of cheap slave labor proved an ideal combination for the cultivation of Sea Island cotton. In 1803 a group of Ebo slaves who survived the Middle Passage and arrived on the west side of St. Simons staged a rebellion and drowned themselves. The sacred site is known today as Ebos Landing.
One of the largest owners of land and slaves on St. Simons was Pierce Butler, master of Hampton Point Plantation, located on the northern end of the island. By 1793 Butler owned more than 500 slaves, who cultivated 800 acres of cotton on St. Simons and 300 acres of rice on Butler's Island in the Altamaha River delta. Butler's grandson, Pierce Mease Butler, who at the age of sixteen inherited a share of his grandfather's estate in 1826, was responsible for the largest sale of human beings in the history of the United States: in 1859, to restore his squandered fortune, he sold 429 slaves in Savannah for more than $300,000. The British actress and writer Fanny Kemble, whose tumultuous marriage to Pierce ended in divorce in 1849, published an eyewitness account of the evils of slavery on St. Simons in her book Journal of a Residence on a Georgian Plantation in 1838-1839 (1863).
Another
Retreat Plantation
large owner of land and slaves on St. Simons was Major William Page, a friend and employee of Pierce Butler Sr. Before purchasing Retreat Plantation on the southwestern tip of the island in 1804, Page managed the Hampton plantation and Butler's Island. Upon Page's death in 1827, Thomas Butler King inherited the land together with his wife, Page's daughter, Anna Matilda Page King. King expanded his father-in-law's planting empire on St. Simons as well as on the mainland, and by 1835 Retreat Plantation alone was home to as many as 355 slaves.
The center of life during the island's plantation era was Christ Church, Frederica. Organized in 1807 by a group of island planters, the Episcopal church is the second oldest in the Diocese of Georgia. Embargoes imposed by the War of 1812 (1812-15) prevented the parishioners from building a church structure, so they worshiped in the home of John Beck, which stood on the site of Oglethorpe's only St. Simons residence, Orange Hall.
The first Christ Church building, finished on the present site in 1820, was ruined by occupying Union troops during the Civil War. In 1884 the Reverend Anson Dodge Jr. rebuilt the church as a memorial to his first wife, Ellen. The cruciform building with a trussed gothic roof and stained-glass windows remains active today as Christ Church.
Civil War and Beyond
The
St. Simons Island Lighthouse
outbreak of the Civil War in 1861 put a sudden end to St. Simons's lucrative plantation era. In January of that year, Confederate troops were stationed at the south end of the island to guard the entrance to Brunswick Harbor. Slaves from Retreat Plantation, owned by Thomas Butler King, built earthworks and batteries. Plantation residents were scattered—the men joined the Confederate army and their families moved to the mainland. Cannon fire was heard on the island in December 1861, and Confederate troops retreated in February 1862, after dynamiting the lighthouse to keep its beacon from aiding Union troops. Soon thereafter, Union troops occupied the island, which was used as a camp for freed slaves. By August 1862 more than 500 former slaves lived on St. Simons, including Susie King Taylor, who organized a school for freed slave children. But in November the ex-slaves were taken to Hilton Head, South Carolina, and Fernandina, Florida, leaving the island abandoned.
After the Civil War the island never returned to its status as an agricultural community. The plantations lay dormant because there were no slaves to work the fields. After Union general William T. Sherman's January 1865 Special Field Order No. 15 —a demand that former plantations be divided and distributed to former slaves—was overturned by U.S. president Andrew Johnson less than a year later, freedmen and women were forced to work as sharecroppers on the small farms that dotted the land previously occupied by the sprawling plantations.
By
St. Simons Lumber Mills
1870 real economic recovery began with the reestablishment of the timber industry. Norman Dodge and Titus G. Meigs of New York set up lumber mill operations at Gascoigne Bluff, formerly Hamilton Plantation. The lumber mills provided welcome employment for both blacks and whites and also provided mail and passenger boats to the mainland. Such water traffic, together with the construction of a new lighthouse in 1872, designed by architect Charles B. Cluskey, marked the beginning of St. Simons's tourism industry. The keeper of the lighthouse created a small amusement park, which drew many visitors, as did the seemingly miraculous light that traveled from the top of the lighthouse tower to the bottom. The island became a summer retreat for families from the mainland, particularly from Baxley, Brunswick, and Waycross.
The island's resort industry was thriving by the 1880s. Beachfront structures, such as a new pier and grand hotel, were built on the southeastern end of the island and could be accessed by ferry. Around this time wealthy northerners began vacationing on the island.
Twentieth Century
The
St. Simons Island Pier and Village
opening in 1924 of the Brunswick–St. Simons Highway, today known as the Torras Causeway, was a milestone in the development of resorts in the area. St. Simons's beaches were now easily accessible to locals and tourists alike. More than 5,000 automobiles took the short drive from Brunswick to St. Simons via the causeway on its opening day, paving the way for convenient residential and resort development.
In 1926 automotive pioneer Howard Coffin of Detroit, Michigan, bought large tracts of land on St. Simons, including the former Retreat Plantation, and constructed a golf course, yacht club, paved roads, and a residential subdivision. Although the causeway had brought large numbers of summer people to the island, St. Simons remained a small community with only a few hundred permanent residents until the 1940s.
The
St. Simons Island
outbreak of World War II (1941-45) brought more visitors and residents to St. Simons. Troops stationed at Jacksonville, Florida; Savannah; and nearby Camp Stewart took weekend vacations on the island, and a new naval air base and radar school became home to even more officers and soldiers. The increased wartime population brought the island its first public school. With a major shipyard for the production of Liberty ships in nearby Brunswick, the waters of St. Simons became active with German U-boats. In April 1942, just off the coast, the Texas Company oil tanker S. S. Oklahoma and the S. S. Esso Baton Rouge were torpedoed by the Germans, bringing the war very close to home for island residents.
Due in large part to the military's improvement of the island's infrastructure during the war, development on the island boomed in the 1950s and 1960s. More permanent homes and subdivisions were built, and the island was no longer just a summer resort but also a thriving community. In 1950 the Methodist conference and retreat center Epworth by the Sea opened on Gascoigne Bluff. In 1961 novelist Eugenia Price visited St. Simons and began work on her first works of fiction, known as the St. Simons Trilogy. Inspired by real events on the island, Price's trilogy renewed interest in the history of Georgia's coast, and the novelist herself relocated to the island in 1965 and lived there for thirty-one years. St. Simons is also home to contemporary Georgia writer Tina McElroy Ansa.
Since
Epworth by the Sea
1980 St. Simons's population has doubled. The island's continued status as a vacation destination and its ongoing development boom have put historic landmarks and natural areas at risk. While such landmarks as the Fort Frederica ruins and the Battle of Bloody Marsh site are preserved and maintained by the National Park Service, and while the historic lighthouse is maintained by the Coastal Georgia Historical Society, historic Ebos Landing has been taken over by a sewage treatment plant.
Several coastal organizations have formed in recent years to save natural areas on the island. The St. Simons Land Trust, for example, has received donations of large tracts of land and plans to protect property in the island's three traditional African American neighborhoods. Despite its rapid growth and development, St. Simons remains one of the most beautiful and important islands on the Georgia coast.

Sponsored
Fredericksburg, OH
High Point Cabinets
Columbus' Experienced Custom Cabinet Builder | 4x Best of Houzz Winner

In Katy, Texas, Tradition Outdoor Living designed an outdoor living space, transforming the average backyard into a Texas Ranch-style retreat.
Entering this outdoor addition, the scene boasts Texan Ranch with custom made cedar Barn-style doors creatively encasing the recessed TV above the fireplace. Maintaining the appeal of the doors, the fireplace cedar mantel is adorned with accent rustic hardware. The 60” electric fireplace, remote controlled with LED lights, flickers warm colors for a serene evening on the patio. An extended hearth continues along the perimeter of living room, creating bench seating for all.
This combination of Rustic Taloka stack stone, from the fireplace and columns, and the polished Verano stone, capping the hearth and columns, perfectly pairs together enhancing the feel of this outdoor living room. The cedar-trimmed coffered beams in the tongue and groove ceiling and the wood planked stamped concrete make this space even more unique!
In the large Outdoor Kitchen, beautifully polished New Venetian Gold granite countertops allow the chef plenty of space for serving food and chatting with guests at the bar. The stainless steel appliances sparkle in the evening while the custom, color-changing LED lighting glows underneath the kitchen granite.
In the cooler months, this outdoor space is wired for electric radiant heat. And if anyone is up for a night of camping at the ranch, this outdoor living space is ready and complete with an outdoor bathroom addition!
Photo Credit: Jennifer Sue Photography

NuCore Basic Golden Oak Plank |
This NuCore Basic Golden Oak Plank is 4mm and has a 25 year residential warranty.
Found exclusively at Floor & Decor, NuCore is a 100% waterproof floor that looks and feels like real hardwood. NuCore can be installed in virtually any room in the home or business including kitchens, full bathrooms and basements. NuCore is quick and easy to install! It features a floating locking installation method that can be installed immediately with no acclimation waiting time needed. The planks are extra rigid and can be installed directly over most existing floors and slightly irregular subfloors with no subfloor telegraphing concerns. No glue, nails or underlayment are needed for installation. To cut the product, simply score it with a knife and snap, or use a laminate flooring cutter. To maintain, simply sweep or wet mop.
12


