Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
nerak_gw

white fly how to prep. soil for next yr.

nerak
12 years ago

I have been growing tomato's for 25 yrs. and never had this problem until last yr. This yr. in knowing about the white fly problem from last yr I bought live lady beetles in a series of 3 deliveries. At first my tomato's looked good/normal with no sign of the pest.Around the middle of August I noticed that the white fly was back and worst than last yr. My crop was 1/4 of what I got last yr.

Also the white fly last yr seemed to be on only orange Brandywine so I dug them up and disposed of them in garbage bags. I think the larva is in the soil because this yr. was so much worst.

I resorted to all season oil-no help. I tried hot pepper wax this helped for about 2 wks. Insectide soap 2 wks.

I have picked the tomato's when they just start to turn pink. But the plants are not producing as they should.

I would like to know if there is anything that I can do to my soil now to kill the larva so I do not have the problem next yr. We are almost ready to start clean up of the gardens for the winter.

The live lady bugs did not work! I also bought lacewings and they did not work. Is there something I can add to the soil to correct this problem. I'm worried that next yr. I won't have any tomato's.

Thanks for any help.

karen

Comments (11)

• jean001a
    12 years ago

Whiteflies spend their entire life on plants. They're not in the soil.

Grow healthy plants and you will have few if any whitefly problems except late in the season when the tomato plants are stressed.

• missingtheobvious
    12 years ago

I've never bought ladybugs or lacewings. I've heard the I-bought-them-and-they-all-disappeared story a few times; have you read up on what keeps them happy?

This article talks about plants which are attractive to ladybugs:
    http://oldfashionedliving.com/ladybugs.html

This article talks about how different varieties of ladybugs are attracted by different things: