Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
oldalgebra

Best way to remove part this upper cabinet . . . (pics)

oldalgebra
14 years ago

This was posted on Woodworking as well, but I fear my only response will be a carpenter looking for work.

My son and his wife have just purchased a first home. They are planning to remodel the kitchen at some future date, so large appliance purchases will be done with that in mind.

They would like to remove the right bottom portion of this upper cabinet (just below the shelf) so that they can buy and install a larger refrig. What is the best approach and the best tool for this job? They can't afford to call a carpenter and must do the work themselves.

Thanks.

{{!gwi}}....{{!gwi}}

Comments (10)

• callie8799
    14 years ago

first, I'm not a professional but I'm looking at it as a 1st time home owner w/ little money. :)

Can they take the cabinet in question off the wall then using a reciprocating saw (I think that's the one they want)cut off on a premeasured line?

I can't see any other way w/o damaging the attached cabinet. It appears that that the thickness of that wood will make it too much to cut into slightly (like scoring wallboard) to wiggle the piece back and forth to cut off. Then taking a sander-smoothing the rough edges. I really wouldn't recommend that way.

I hope you can get a good and quick reply soon!

• nkkp
    14 years ago