Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
yannick_epp

My bedroom project

Yannick Epp
9 years ago

So this is my little bedroom remodeling I was working on. Maybe a little bit of background informations about myself and the starting situation: I am still a student living in Switzerland, so my budget was very limited. As I love to get inspired by many interior projects and I loved to look trough all those Before & After projects I decided to write about mine as well.

My bedroom

So this was my bedroom before I started to rearrangement.

I actually already started to redesign it when I bought my first Full sized bed one year beforehand. I am sorry about the mess. I wasn't planning on posting my project at that time so they were basically just some random photos I took of my room. I used a wide angle lens, that's why the place looks quite narrow but in fact it isn't.

The change

My primary goal was to get more free space while increasing the space for storage. I also wanted to gain a tidy, simple and bright atmosphere throughout the whole room. I started off by rearranging the furnitures.

This was my first attempt. I moved the bed to the other side just to see what it does to the room. I knew I would have to replace some of the furnitures with some more simple and practical ones in order to be able to get more free space and that desired atmosphere.

I loved the free space I gained after I sold my old, bulky desk. A problem was the black USM shelf, which is a lovely piece of design but it was just not suitable for what I have planned. I replaced both the shelf with a simple, white IKEA shelf, which wasn't used by my family anymore and the desk with another beautiful IKEA desk. The result was very satisfactorily.

Another change were the walls. I had one wall painted in yellow before which I didn't like anymore. I decided to paint both walls in a light grey.

So before I bore you with all my changes I want to skip right to the result ;-)

The result