Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
lily_akopyan

Help: Living room

Lily Akopyan
8 years ago

I have a beautiful space for a living room. I'm not sure if what I did really works. I know I am missing things to get it together. I don't even know if where my sofa is works.

Is that a good place for it? Should I move it where the dining table is?? The hutch is a keeper?? What to add/remove.... please help.

Thanks.

Comments (23)

• Trine Vig
    8 years ago

A warmer beige color for the wall, maybe with a trim would also make it look more in place.

Bring in some more furniture,*rugs, ottomans and remember lighting is essentiel.

I think the lower celing works just as perfect for the sofas as well as the high celing works with the dining room.

Visit Pinterest for dining table decoration solutions.

Lily Akopyan thanked Trine Vig
  • decoenthusiaste
    8 years ago
    last modified: 8 years ago

I think the cool blue paint isn't working with all the other warm wood, stone and leather tones. The sheer window treatment is a bit flimsy looking beside the massive leather sofas. The coffee table is too large for the sofas. Ideally it should be no longer than 2/3 of the length between the sofa arms. the width should be 1/3 - 1/2 of the sofa's overall length. Try a linear chandelier for the dining room and a rug 4' wider and longer than the table top. Keep the dining area near the kitchen. The art at the keyboard is hung too high. Center points of art alone should be 5' above the floor. When hanging above furniture, the lower frame should be 5' above the furniture. Keep pieces no wider than 75% of the furniture they hang with. Pieces in the living room look about right. The dining side needs more furniture - maybe a buffet on the long wall at the end with art above it.

Lily Akopyan thanked decoenthusiaste
  • susan2494
    8 years ago