Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
loisflan

One Block Wonder top is finally finished

6 years ago

I bought the fabric for this top about three years ago, and I've been working off and on to finish it for about two years. I found the perfect border and backing fabric for it just last month when Blue Bamboo was going out of business. The outer border is a two-tone coppery brown fabric and the inner border has some metallic threads (or dyes) in it too. I bordered it to look like a piece of art, not like a quilt particularly. I'm quite happy with the results except for two things. The center doesn't lay as flat as I would like (I hope the quilting takes care of that), and it's probably too big to fit on the wall where I planned to put it. We'll have to see after it's quilted, and who knows how long that will take.

Comments (31)

• 6 years ago

OMG,!!! That is all I can say. I am speechless.

Theresa

• 6 years ago

That looks awesome!!!

• 6 years ago

Wowzers!

• 6 years ago

Very nice, Lois! Congratulations on getting the top finished.

Donna

• 6 years ago

Wow, gorgeous!

• 6 years ago

that's always been one of my favorite techniques. It's like a work of art. Do you happen to have a picture of the fabric before you cut it up? I'd be curious to see what produced that combination of colors.

• 6 years ago
    last modified: 6 years ago

Thanks for you kind comments, everyone. Linda, I should have posted a photo of the original fabric. Here is one repeat. I bought an extra to use on the backing, but now I'm not so sure I want to. Thanks for reminding me to post it.

• 6 years ago

That is stunning!

• 6 years ago

August 28. 2015. You did post a picture of the fabric. I was curious when I saw the completed top and searched the forum. Search One Block Wonder

But it is nice to see it again.

Theresa

• 6 years ago

That's amazing! TBH, I'm not all that enamoured of the original fabric, but your blocks are truly lovely.

• 6 years ago