Your shopping cart is empty.

Fall Dahlia blooms

Tiffandrew-So.CA/9b
November 5, 2018
  1. Spartacus 2. Snowbound 3. Dark side of the sun 4. Unknown burgundy

The first 3 were new dahlias to me this year. I'm thinking of adding for next year labyrinth, cafe au lait rose, maybe Wynn's moonlight sonata? Any fun dahlia pictures from your gardens? I would love to see or hear about them!

Comments (12)
  • CA Kate z9

Beautiful. I love dahlias, but rarely grow them successfully.

• hoovb zone 9 sunset 23

Your Dahlias are lovely! Mine are all finished and already cut down for the winter.

Back in August...

• Tiffandrew-So.CA/9b

Thanks Kate and HoovB. I'm a newbie at dahlias, but am loving them more and more.

Beautiful blooms HoovB, I love the warm colors. Thank you for sharing. I should get mine cut back soon, I'm just holding out a bit longer. Mine were late bloomers this year, so I'm just now getting Snowbound and Spartacus blooms. There look to be only a few more left and then I'll cut them back. It's fun to plan for next year too though!

• Tiffandrew-So.CA/9b

I had to post another of Spartacus. He just fell over from the weight of him, but it was a good excuse to bring him inside. He's his own bouquet!

• Sillyglue

when do you start planting these in southern california? do you mostly plant in pots (how big?) or in the ground? thanks! - dahlia newbie =)

• Tiffandrew-So.CA/9b
    Hi Sillyglue! I'm a dahlia newbie too and definitely learning as I go. So we are in it together! Mid March seems to be a good time to get them in the ground here in San Diego county. I made the mistake last year of getting a few tubers in too late ( late June) and they just had pretty plants but no flowers.