Your shopping cart is empty.

Wolf 15" modular gas + 24" induction cooktop - functional set up?

ostrich
January 12, 2019

Just as I thought that I was done with the cooktop/rangetop decision (gas vs induction), I just saw the Wolf 15" modular gas cooktop + 24" induction cooktop option!

I just did a search and know that there had been many threads about this, but I could not find the answers to my questions so please bear with me. While this sounds like a great combo for me (induction for the "clean" daily cooking, while the powerful gas burner (22K BTU) would be great for wok cooking, here are my questions:

1. The Wolf 24" induction cooktop only has a maximum power output of 3100W (with boost) for the largest zone). This is much less than what their 36" induction cooktop offers (3600W max). Since I have never used an induction cooktop before, is this power output going to be too low for pan frying with a 12" pan? If the 24" induction cooktop had the 3600W output (with boost) then it's a bit of a no-brainer for me....

2. For those of you with this (or similar) set up - as the gas burner will be sitting right on the side of this set up, do you find that stirring fry there will cause a big messy splash everywhere on the countertop?

3. Do you find it inconvenient to have 2 relatively small cooktop areas that are on 2 different levels, so that moving the cookware from one spot to another to be annoying? Or is this not an issue?

4. For the ventilation set up, will you then go with a 42" vent hood?

Thank you so much in advance for your help!

Comments (27)
  • PRO
    GreenDesigns

No one who put in both uses the gas. And they all regret putting in the gas. Get all induction for everything. Don't look back.

ostrich thanked GreenDesigns
  • ostrich

Thank you. I personally want to go all induction, but my family wants to keep gas, that's why I am trying to compromise!

• PRO
    GreenDesigns