Your shopping cart is empty.
forneysp

Spreadsheets and preserving

Scott
February 1, 2019

Hello,

This year I'm trying to get more organized to hopefully be able to harvest more and preserve more food for my family. I decided to make a spread sheet with sowing/seed starting dates, days to maturity, and expected harvest dates. I'm also going to try to plan how many plants to plant per person, and then maybe use this list to make goals for myself on specific days.

A little about me... I have a community garden that is about 20 minutes away. I have the summer off because I'm a teacher, but when school starts again I get very busy and don't have as much time to get to the garden. My hope is that I can plan better when things will be ready to pick, and then make it over to the garden to pick/preserve them. Every year I end up loosing a lot of veggies that rot on the plants because I miss the harvest window (especially with tomatoes). Not having the garden in my backyard makes it a lot harder to keep an eye on things.

Usually I can green beans and strawberry jam every year. I'm hoping to preserve the following this year in addition to beans and berries: Potatoes, tomatoes, summer squash, kale, winter squash. I also want to make some baby food because we are expecting a baby in August. :)

I've included a link to my plating schedule spreadsheet - I would love to hear how others have used spreadsheets, pitfalls, suggestions to make mine better, as well as just any advice you would have to help preserve more food (it takes a lot of time!!)

Thanks so much,

Planting Schedule (still have some empty spaces to fill in)

Also, here is the calculator that I used that might be helpful when calculating harvest dates https://www.vitegreenhouses.com/HarvestDateCalculator.asp

Scott

zone 6

Comments (10)

• floral_uk z.8/9 SW UK