webuser_272040095

Peach tree help!! Can we save it?

Tim M
August 11, 2019

We had aphids in our 3 year old peach. I really thought it was dead, but now we have new growth on the bottom. What do I do to save it?!? (This is a very important tree, I bought it for my wife when we bought the house)

we are in SW Florida, lots of rain lately.

Comments (11)

• Embothrium

Really looks like you are growing a rootstock and not the variety you bought, that was grafted onto whatever the roots are.

• rayrose SC 8

It's beyond help. Buy a new tree.

• sonni1

I'm not an expert on peach trees. I have two that I've had for about 2 - 3 years. Tough to grow in S Florida. I do think that those branches growing up from the bottom of the trunk are to be cut off. I think it's possible that you may see new growth, but it may not ever grow into a properly shaped tree.(should look like a Y but with 4 -5 extending branches from the "V", so yes, I concur with rayrose and suggest getting a new tree.

• Embothrium

If you get another tree plant it with at least 3' of mulched, grass free area around it.

• sharon2079

Before digging it out I would try to use Azomite on it.... I read about a person who revived some fruit trees (don't remember which ones) and another person saved his crape myrtle trees that were half dead.... so I tried this on a grapefruit tree that had SEVERE damage from borers... and the tree made it..... so I personally would try to same it.... to me I would want to at least try because I would do it for the sentiments.

But that is me....

• Embothrium

Current crop of shoots all leads back to a single stem that is coming out of the ground, next to the original, quite dead looking top.

• dirtygardener -- Z9a, N. Central Florida

I grew up in SC, the second largest peach producing state in the country, behind CA. This is what I would do.