anthony_jutchenko

Rustic? Traditional? Help!

Anthony J
last month

Hi all, just moved into my new house yesterday so pardon our mess. The previous owner left a piece for us in the front, but other than that we don’t have much in terms of furniture. I don’t know how which style to go with. I am a young man and people have been telling me traditional furniture is for old people but I think it kind of fits with the house lol. All of the faucets, light fixtures, door handles and hinges are oil rubbed bronze or a dark metal. This is really my first time decorating so if someone can point me in a direction or link a few furniture pieces that would be great. Thanks!

Comments (17)

• Jessica
    last month

Congrats on your new home! First, I am not a pro. However, My instinct is telling me that the furniture they left for you in the entry way is very traditional/formal and your amazing stonework is not. What do you like? May I suggest that you start to accumulate some idea books here on Houzz and keep track of pics that you like. You can also search for styles in the search function . try: Traditional, Transitional, etc. Which style do you identify with? I learned that I like "transitional" Its your home. Do what you love and what moves you.

• PRO
    BeverlyFLADeziner
    last month

Yep, less traditional and more rustic

Why is that area next to the fireplace raised on the floor??? Are you really supposed to place furniture up on that riser and not expect people to trip and fall???? There is hardly enough room for furniture that is large enough for this room.

Tables like these would be better in the foyer.

• decorpatti
    last month