Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
webuser_38592847

Crimson maple health question

Hello everyone I'm a tree noob. I bought my first tree a little over a year ago and it seems healthy but I was hoping someone could take a look at this leaf and let me know for sure. Thank you in advance

Comments (12)

• ken_adrian Adrian MI cold Z5
    2 years ago

location.. big city name ..

weather since spring ... drought?? .. heat ... ???

can we see the root flare??

how do you water

how did you plant ...

ugly leaves arent that big a deal in mid summer ... i would want to know whats going on before jumping to direct leaf issues ... already damaged leaves pick up all kinds of things.. as they decline.. that doesnt mean that is what caused the problem ...

ken

• Jason Eckelstafer
    Original Author
    2 years ago

West Michigan, summer started hotter than normal but has turned cooler and wetter than normal, I water with a soaker bucket that I can measure gallons and it'll slowly release the water over about an hour or so, I planted last July by digging a hole twice as big as the degradable pot the nursery sent it in and didn't add soil above what was in the pot. I will take a picture of the flare at lunch but I have a weed whacker plastic shroud at the bar of the tree to protect it from me.

2 years ago

did you remove the fiber pot?

my variegated maple is covered with half dead leaves from MI drought and severe heat ..

see section one at this link .. and the rest of course:

https://sites.google.com/site/tnarboretum/Home/planting-a-tree-or-shrub

ken

• Jason Eckelstafer
    2 years ago

I did not remove the pot... they told me not to. Yours is a cool looking maple. What you're saying is probably the case for mine as well then. It's got maximum sun.

2 years ago

maybe .... but if never hurts to keep going on figuring it out ...

is any part of the fiber above ground... it could be wicking water out of the soil at root depth ...