Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
mkhodges

Just repainted; need help

mkhodges
10 years ago
Just made the change from the dark gold walls (main color) and faded red kitchen. Trying to update with more neutrals in Greige family. Some of the photos have a green cast; this in not true in reality. I changed the long foyer from dark gold to accessible beige, left my LR and DR in a dark brown/bronze. Will change those rooms later. Went to a slightly darker shade, BM northern cliffs, for den and connected sunroom. Kitchen...from red to accessible beige. I wanted a lighter and airier space. I still have color in bedrooms which is nice. But I need so much help adapting to the new colors in the main space. I am traditional in style but hoping to achieve a cleaner, more transitional look. I have put very few of my old accessories back in place. Hoping not to change too much furniture but would welcome all suggestions. Accent colors, art style, lamps....I'm listening. Thank you. I'm new to Houzz so hope I can get pictures posted.

Comments (126)

• mkhodges
    Original Author
    10 years ago
    House....I think you must be referring to what I'm calling the black/gold rug which I am presently trying to work with. And in reality, it is not really all that gold. It has some green and a bit of rusty red in it. The reason I'm having difficulty working with it now is that it is bold, darker than I want for the new look....but it is actually quite pretty in the right setting. In total, I have four rugs about same size, same basic style, just different colorations. So I will use it somewhere for sure. I bought all of them locally....import rug store....but I will see if there is any info on back of the one you asked about so you could try to find one if still interested. You spoke of using it with existing red furniture....check out the rusty red pillow in my black chair....that is the shade in the rug....but only small amounts.
  • PRO
    Angelina Vick
    10 years ago