Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
letsgo4321

Front yard landscaping help

letsgo4321
9 years ago
This is my first time designing a garden and I would love some guidance. The tree shown in the picture is a white crape myrtle and it is staying. All the red bark and other plants will be removed. Should I plant white roses under and the around the tree? I also don't know what to plant by the walkway...nothing with thorns:)

We love in so cal, zone 10

Thank you!!

Comments (31)

• fissfiss
    9 years ago
    We spent 4 years in SoCal and I still miss my garden there. Are you going for tropical with palms, or more of an English cottage look with roses and such?
  • letsgo4321
    Original Author
    9 years ago
    Not tropical. More English garden or even Mediterranean but not super drought tolerant looking. We like white roses, rosemary, lavender, hydrangeas, gardenias and so on.
  • letsgo4321
    Original Author
    9 years ago
    Maybe two small trees in front of the posts that flank the front floor?
  • Carolina
    9 years ago
    It depends on where you are in the world. What kind of plants do well in your area? (look at the neighbouring gardens to get an idea). How much sun do the different areas get. Which zone are you in?
  • fissfiss
    9 years ago
    Hydrangeas might be unsuitable...gardenias and camellias need deep shade. White groundcover roses, David Austen shrub roses, rosemary, both upright and prostrate, lavender, santolina, agapanthus. Italian cypress is a SoCal cliche for screening, but I loved it. Yaupon holly, ilex vomitoria 'Sky Pencil' will do the same job and look more like English holly. Tea trees, have to go away and look up botanical names! Do you have irrigation in the beds?
  • letsgo4321
    Original Author
    9 years ago
    I love all the plants u suggested!! I just don't know how to put it all together.

Yes, we have a sprinkler systems throughout the front and backyard
  • fissfiss
    9 years ago