Search results for "Attempt" in Home Design Ideas

Location: Denver, CO, USA
Dado designed this 4,000 SF condo from top to bottom. A full-scale buildout was required, with custom fittings throughout. The brief called for design solutions that catered to both the client’s desire for comfort and easy functionality, along with a modern aesthetic that could support their bold and colorful art collection.
The name of the game - calm modernism. Neutral colors and natural materials were used throughout.
"After a couple of failed attempts with other design firms we were fortunate to find Megan Moore. We were looking for a modern, somewhat minimalist design for our newly built condo in Cherry Creek North. We especially liked Megan’s approach to design: specifically to look at the entire space and consider its flow from every perspective. Megan is a gifted designer who understands the needs of her clients. She spent considerable time talking to us to fully understand what we wanted. Our work together felt like a collaboration and partnership. We always felt engaged and informed. We also appreciated the transparency with product selection and pricing.
Megan brought together a talented team of artisans and skilled craftsmen to complete the design vision. From wall coverings to custom furniture pieces we were always impressed with the quality of the workmanship. And, we were never surprised about costs or timing.
We’ve gone back to Megan several times since our first project together. Our condo is now a Zen-like place of calm and beauty that we enjoy every day. We highly recommend Megan as a designer."
Dado Interior Design

James Golden's Federal Twist garden. Photo by Jay Sifford.
Inspiration for a landscaping in Philadelphia.
Inspiration for a landscaping in Philadelphia.

This delightful couple purchased this home with renovation in mind. It was situated in an ideal location, but required a serious update bringing modernization while keeping it’s 1940’s period charm. They asked us to design an elegant Master Suite, complete with a bedroom, master closet and elegant bathroom. While we make every attempt to maintain original walls and floors, this renovation required complete gutting of two bedrooms and closets to open the space and allow for all they wanted. In this process we were able to bring uneven floors and walls into level allowing for great end results. The finishing touches on this bathroom included custom white painted vanity and make-up table with White Carrara Marble countertops and a custom tile floor design using Carrara Marble tile. A free-standing tub and bridge faucets/ tub spout upped the game on a modern take on an old-world plumbing fixture. The glass shower completes this sophisticated space, which gives this master bath a modern twist on traditional.
Find the right local pro for your project

Stuart Wade, Envision Virtual Tours
The second-largest and most developed of Georgia's barrier islands, St. Simons is approximately twelve miles long and nearly three miles wide at its widest stretch (roughly the size of Manhattan Island in New York). The island is located in Glynn County on Georgia's coast and lies east of Brunswick (the seat of Glynn County), south of Little St. Simons Island and the Hampton River, and north of Jekyll Island. The resort community of Sea Island is separated from St. Simons on the east by the Black Banks River. Known for its oak tree canopies and historic landmarks, St. Simons is both a tourist destination and, according to the 2010 U.S. census, home to 12,743 residents.
Early History
The earliest
St. Simons Island Village
record of human habitation on the island dates to the Late Archaic Period, about 5,000 to 3,000 years ago. Remnants of shell rings left behind by Native Americans from this era survive on many of the barrier islands, including St. Simons. Centuries later, during the period known by historians as the chiefdom era, the Guale Indians established a chiefdom centered on St. Catherines Island and used St. Simons as their hunting and fishing grounds. By 1500 the Guale had established a permanent village of about 200 people on St. Simons, which they called Guadalquini.
Beginning in 1568, the Spanish attempted to create missions along the Georgia coast. Catholic missions were the primary means by which Georgia's indigenous Native American chiefdoms were assimilated into the Spanish colonial system along the northern frontier of greater Spanish Florida. In the 1600s St. Simons became home to two Spanish missions: San Buenaventura de Guadalquini, on the southern tip of the island, and Santo Domingo de Asao (or Asajo), on the northern tip. Located on the inland side of the island were the pagan refugee villages of San Simón, the island's namesake, and Ocotonico. In 1684 pirate raids left the missions and villages largely abandoned.
Colonial History
As
Fort Frederica
early as 1670, with Great Britain's establishment of the colony of Carolina and its expansion into Georgia territory, Spanish rule was threatened by the English. The Georgia coast was considered "debatable land" by England and Spain, even though Spain had fully retreated from St. Simons by 1702. Thirty-one years later General James Edward Oglethorpe founded the English settlement of Savannah. In 1736 he established Fort Frederica, named after the heir to the British throne, Frederick Louis, prince of Wales, on the west side of St. Simons Island to protect Savannah and the Carolinas from the Spanish threat.
Between 1736 and 1749 Fort Frederica was the hub of British military operations along the Georgia frontier. A town of the same name grew up around the fort and was of great importance to the new colony. By 1740 Frederica's population was 1,000. In 1736 the congregation of what would become Christ Church was organized within Fort Frederica as a mission of the Church of England. Charles Wesley led the first services. In 1742 Britain's decisive victory over Spain in the Battle of Bloody Marsh, during the War of Jenkins' Ear, ended the Spanish threat to the Georgia coast. When the British regimen disbanded in 1749, most of the townspeople relocated to the mainland. Fort Frederica went into decline and, except for a short time of prosperity during the 1760s and 1770s under the leadership of merchant James Spalding, never fully recovered. Today the historic citadel's tabby ruins are maintained by the National Park Service.
Plantation Era
By the start of the American Revolution (1775-83), Fort Frederica was obsolete, and St. Simons was left largely uninhabited as most of its residents joined the patriot army. Besides hosting a small Georgia naval victory on the Fort Frederica River, providing guns from its famous fort for use at Fort Morris in Sunbury, and serving as an arena for pillaging by privateers and British soldiers, the island played almost no role in the war.
Following the war, many of the townspeople, their businesses destroyed, turned to agriculture. The island was transformed into fourteen cotton plantations after acres of live oak trees were cleared for farm land and used for building American warships, including the famous USS Constitution, or "Old Ironsides." Although rice was the predominant crop along the neighboring Altamaha River, St. Simons was known for its production of long-staple cotton, which soon came to be known as Sea Island cotton.
Between
Ebos Landing
the 1780s and the outbreak of the Civil War (1861-65), St. Simons's plantation culture flourished. The saline atmosphere and the availability of cheap slave labor proved an ideal combination for the cultivation of Sea Island cotton. In 1803 a group of Ebo slaves who survived the Middle Passage and arrived on the west side of St. Simons staged a rebellion and drowned themselves. The sacred site is known today as Ebos Landing.
One of the largest owners of land and slaves on St. Simons was Pierce Butler, master of Hampton Point Plantation, located on the northern end of the island. By 1793 Butler owned more than 500 slaves, who cultivated 800 acres of cotton on St. Simons and 300 acres of rice on Butler's Island in the Altamaha River delta. Butler's grandson, Pierce Mease Butler, who at the age of sixteen inherited a share of his grandfather's estate in 1826, was responsible for the largest sale of human beings in the history of the United States: in 1859, to restore his squandered fortune, he sold 429 slaves in Savannah for more than $300,000. The British actress and writer Fanny Kemble, whose tumultuous marriage to Pierce ended in divorce in 1849, published an eyewitness account of the evils of slavery on St. Simons in her book Journal of a Residence on a Georgian Plantation in 1838-1839 (1863).
Another
Retreat Plantation
large owner of land and slaves on St. Simons was Major William Page, a friend and employee of Pierce Butler Sr. Before purchasing Retreat Plantation on the southwestern tip of the island in 1804, Page managed the Hampton plantation and Butler's Island. Upon Page's death in 1827, Thomas Butler King inherited the land together with his wife, Page's daughter, Anna Matilda Page King. King expanded his father-in-law's planting empire on St. Simons as well as on the mainland, and by 1835 Retreat Plantation alone was home to as many as 355 slaves.
The center of life during the island's plantation era was Christ Church, Frederica. Organized in 1807 by a group of island planters, the Episcopal church is the second oldest in the Diocese of Georgia. Embargoes imposed by the War of 1812 (1812-15) prevented the parishioners from building a church structure, so they worshiped in the home of John Beck, which stood on the site of Oglethorpe's only St. Simons residence, Orange Hall.
The first Christ Church building, finished on the present site in 1820, was ruined by occupying Union troops during the Civil War. In 1884 the Reverend Anson Dodge Jr. rebuilt the church as a memorial to his first wife, Ellen. The cruciform building with a trussed gothic roof and stained-glass windows remains active today as Christ Church.
Civil War and Beyond
The
St. Simons Island Lighthouse
outbreak of the Civil War in 1861 put a sudden end to St. Simons's lucrative plantation era. In January of that year, Confederate troops were stationed at the south end of the island to guard the entrance to Brunswick Harbor. Slaves from Retreat Plantation, owned by Thomas Butler King, built earthworks and batteries. Plantation residents were scattered—the men joined the Confederate army and their families moved to the mainland. Cannon fire was heard on the island in December 1861, and Confederate troops retreated in February 1862, after dynamiting the lighthouse to keep its beacon from aiding Union troops. Soon thereafter, Union troops occupied the island, which was used as a camp for freed slaves. By August 1862 more than 500 former slaves lived on St. Simons, including Susie King Taylor, who organized a school for freed slave children. But in November the ex-slaves were taken to Hilton Head, South Carolina, and Fernandina, Florida, leaving the island abandoned.
After the Civil War the island never returned to its status as an agricultural community. The plantations lay dormant because there were no slaves to work the fields. After Union general William T. Sherman's January 1865 Special Field Order No. 15 —a demand that former plantations be divided and distributed to former slaves—was overturned by U.S. president Andrew Johnson less than a year later, freedmen and women were forced to work as sharecroppers on the small farms that dotted the land previously occupied by the sprawling plantations.
By
St. Simons Lumber Mills
1870 real economic recovery began with the reestablishment of the timber industry. Norman Dodge and Titus G. Meigs of New York set up lumber mill operations at Gascoigne Bluff, formerly Hamilton Plantation. The lumber mills provided welcome employment for both blacks and whites and also provided mail and passenger boats to the mainland. Such water traffic, together with the construction of a new lighthouse in 1872, designed by architect Charles B. Cluskey, marked the beginning of St. Simons's tourism industry. The keeper of the lighthouse created a small amusement park, which drew many visitors, as did the seemingly miraculous light that traveled from the top of the lighthouse tower to the bottom. The island became a summer retreat for families from the mainland, particularly from Baxley, Brunswick, and Waycross.
The island's resort industry was thriving by the 1880s. Beachfront structures, such as a new pier and grand hotel, were built on the southeastern end of the island and could be accessed by ferry. Around this time wealthy northerners began vacationing on the island.
Twentieth Century
The
St. Simons Island Pier and Village
opening in 1924 of the Brunswick–St. Simons Highway, today known as the Torras Causeway, was a milestone in the development of resorts in the area. St. Simons's beaches were now easily accessible to locals and tourists alike. More than 5,000 automobiles took the short drive from Brunswick to St. Simons via the causeway on its opening day, paving the way for convenient residential and resort development.
In 1926 automotive pioneer Howard Coffin of Detroit, Michigan, bought large tracts of land on St. Simons, including the former Retreat Plantation, and constructed a golf course, yacht club, paved roads, and a residential subdivision. Although the causeway had brought large numbers of summer people to the island, St. Simons remained a small community with only a few hundred permanent residents until the 1940s.
The
St. Simons Island
outbreak of World War II (1941-45) brought more visitors and residents to St. Simons. Troops stationed at Jacksonville, Florida; Savannah; and nearby Camp Stewart took weekend vacations on the island, and a new naval air base and radar school became home to even more officers and soldiers. The increased wartime population brought the island its first public school. With a major shipyard for the production of Liberty ships in nearby Brunswick, the waters of St. Simons became active with German U-boats. In April 1942, just off the coast, the Texas Company oil tanker S. S. Oklahoma and the S. S. Esso Baton Rouge were torpedoed by the Germans, bringing the war very close to home for island residents.
Due in large part to the military's improvement of the island's infrastructure during the war, development on the island boomed in the 1950s and 1960s. More permanent homes and subdivisions were built, and the island was no longer just a summer resort but also a thriving community. In 1950 the Methodist conference and retreat center Epworth by the Sea opened on Gascoigne Bluff. In 1961 novelist Eugenia Price visited St. Simons and began work on her first works of fiction, known as the St. Simons Trilogy. Inspired by real events on the island, Price's trilogy renewed interest in the history of Georgia's coast, and the novelist herself relocated to the island in 1965 and lived there for thirty-one years. St. Simons is also home to contemporary Georgia writer Tina McElroy Ansa.
Since
Epworth by the Sea
1980 St. Simons's population has doubled. The island's continued status as a vacation destination and its ongoing development boom have put historic landmarks and natural areas at risk. While such landmarks as the Fort Frederica ruins and the Battle of Bloody Marsh site are preserved and maintained by the National Park Service, and while the historic lighthouse is maintained by the Coastal Georgia Historical Society, historic Ebos Landing has been taken over by a sewage treatment plant.
Several coastal organizations have formed in recent years to save natural areas on the island. The St. Simons Land Trust, for example, has received donations of large tracts of land and plans to protect property in the island's three traditional African American neighborhoods. Despite its rapid growth and development, St. Simons remains one of the most beautiful and important islands on the Georgia coast.

The kitchen was designed two years ago and was then erased and redesigned when the world became a different place a year later. As everyone attempted to flatten the curve, our goal in this regard was to create a kitchen that looked forward to a sharp curve down and of a happier time To that promise for happier times, the redesign, a goal was to make the kitchen brighter and more optimistic. This was done by using simple, primary shapes and circular pendants and emphasizing them in contrast, adding a playful countenance. The selection of a dynamic grain of figured walnut also contributes as this once-living material and its sinuous grain adds motion, rhythm, and scale.
Proud of their 1970s home, one challenge of the design was to balance a 1970's feel and stay current. However, many ‘70s references looked and felt outdated. The first step was a changed mindset. Just like the return of the ‘40s bath and the retro movement a few years ago, every era returns in some way. Chronologically, the '70s will soon be here. Our design looked to era-specific furniture and materials of the decade. Figured walnut was so pervasive in the era: this motif was used on car exteriors such as the 1970 Town and Country Station Wagon, which debuted the same year the existing home was built. We also looked at furniture specific to the decade. The console stereo is referenced not only by high legs on the island but also by the knurled metal cabinet knobs reminiscent of often-used stereo dials. Knurled metalwork is also used on the kitchen faucet. The design references the second piece of '70s furniture in our modern TV tray, which is angled to face the television in the family room. Its round pencil and mug holder cutouts follow the design of walnut consoles and dashboard of the station wagon and other elements of the time.

Stuart Wade, Envision Virtual Tours
The second-largest and most developed of Georgia's barrier islands, St. Simons is approximately twelve miles long and nearly three miles wide at its widest stretch (roughly the size of Manhattan Island in New York). The island is located in Glynn County on Georgia's coast and lies east of Brunswick (the seat of Glynn County), south of Little St. Simons Island and the Hampton River, and north of Jekyll Island. The resort community of Sea Island is separated from St. Simons on the east by the Black Banks River. Known for its oak tree canopies and historic landmarks, St. Simons is both a tourist destination and, according to the 2010 U.S. census, home to 12,743 residents.
Early History
The earliest
St. Simons Island Village
record of human habitation on the island dates to the Late Archaic Period, about 5,000 to 3,000 years ago. Remnants of shell rings left behind by Native Americans from this era survive on many of the barrier islands, including St. Simons. Centuries later, during the period known by historians as the chiefdom era, the Guale Indians established a chiefdom centered on St. Catherines Island and used St. Simons as their hunting and fishing grounds. By 1500 the Guale had established a permanent village of about 200 people on St. Simons, which they called Guadalquini.
Beginning in 1568, the Spanish attempted to create missions along the Georgia coast. Catholic missions were the primary means by which Georgia's indigenous Native American chiefdoms were assimilated into the Spanish colonial system along the northern frontier of greater Spanish Florida. In the 1600s St. Simons became home to two Spanish missions: San Buenaventura de Guadalquini, on the southern tip of the island, and Santo Domingo de Asao (or Asajo), on the northern tip. Located on the inland side of the island were the pagan refugee villages of San Simón, the island's namesake, and Ocotonico. In 1684 pirate raids left the missions and villages largely abandoned.
Colonial History
As
Fort Frederica
early as 1670, with Great Britain's establishment of the colony of Carolina and its expansion into Georgia territory, Spanish rule was threatened by the English. The Georgia coast was considered "debatable land" by England and Spain, even though Spain had fully retreated from St. Simons by 1702. Thirty-one years later General James Edward Oglethorpe founded the English settlement of Savannah. In 1736 he established Fort Frederica, named after the heir to the British throne, Frederick Louis, prince of Wales, on the west side of St. Simons Island to protect Savannah and the Carolinas from the Spanish threat.
Between 1736 and 1749 Fort Frederica was the hub of British military operations along the Georgia frontier. A town of the same name grew up around the fort and was of great importance to the new colony. By 1740 Frederica's population was 1,000. In 1736 the congregation of what would become Christ Church was organized within Fort Frederica as a mission of the Church of England. Charles Wesley led the first services. In 1742 Britain's decisive victory over Spain in the Battle of Bloody Marsh, during the War of Jenkins' Ear, ended the Spanish threat to the Georgia coast. When the British regimen disbanded in 1749, most of the townspeople relocated to the mainland. Fort Frederica went into decline and, except for a short time of prosperity during the 1760s and 1770s under the leadership of merchant James Spalding, never fully recovered. Today the historic citadel's tabby ruins are maintained by the National Park Service.
Plantation Era
By the start of the American Revolution (1775-83), Fort Frederica was obsolete, and St. Simons was left largely uninhabited as most of its residents joined the patriot army. Besides hosting a small Georgia naval victory on the Fort Frederica River, providing guns from its famous fort for use at Fort Morris in Sunbury, and serving as an arena for pillaging by privateers and British soldiers, the island played almost no role in the war.
Following the war, many of the townspeople, their businesses destroyed, turned to agriculture. The island was transformed into fourteen cotton plantations after acres of live oak trees were cleared for farm land and used for building American warships, including the famous USS Constitution, or "Old Ironsides." Although rice was the predominant crop along the neighboring Altamaha River, St. Simons was known for its production of long-staple cotton, which soon came to be known as Sea Island cotton.
Between
Ebos Landing
the 1780s and the outbreak of the Civil War (1861-65), St. Simons's plantation culture flourished. The saline atmosphere and the availability of cheap slave labor proved an ideal combination for the cultivation of Sea Island cotton. In 1803 a group of Ebo slaves who survived the Middle Passage and arrived on the west side of St. Simons staged a rebellion and drowned themselves. The sacred site is known today as Ebos Landing.
One of the largest owners of land and slaves on St. Simons was Pierce Butler, master of Hampton Point Plantation, located on the northern end of the island. By 1793 Butler owned more than 500 slaves, who cultivated 800 acres of cotton on St. Simons and 300 acres of rice on Butler's Island in the Altamaha River delta. Butler's grandson, Pierce Mease Butler, who at the age of sixteen inherited a share of his grandfather's estate in 1826, was responsible for the largest sale of human beings in the history of the United States: in 1859, to restore his squandered fortune, he sold 429 slaves in Savannah for more than $300,000. The British actress and writer Fanny Kemble, whose tumultuous marriage to Pierce ended in divorce in 1849, published an eyewitness account of the evils of slavery on St. Simons in her book Journal of a Residence on a Georgian Plantation in 1838-1839 (1863).
Another
Retreat Plantation
large owner of land and slaves on St. Simons was Major William Page, a friend and employee of Pierce Butler Sr. Before purchasing Retreat Plantation on the southwestern tip of the island in 1804, Page managed the Hampton plantation and Butler's Island. Upon Page's death in 1827, Thomas Butler King inherited the land together with his wife, Page's daughter, Anna Matilda Page King. King expanded his father-in-law's planting empire on St. Simons as well as on the mainland, and by 1835 Retreat Plantation alone was home to as many as 355 slaves.
The center of life during the island's plantation era was Christ Church, Frederica. Organized in 1807 by a group of island planters, the Episcopal church is the second oldest in the Diocese of Georgia. Embargoes imposed by the War of 1812 (1812-15) prevented the parishioners from building a church structure, so they worshiped in the home of John Beck, which stood on the site of Oglethorpe's only St. Simons residence, Orange Hall.
The first Christ Church building, finished on the present site in 1820, was ruined by occupying Union troops during the Civil War. In 1884 the Reverend Anson Dodge Jr. rebuilt the church as a memorial to his first wife, Ellen. The cruciform building with a trussed gothic roof and stained-glass windows remains active today as Christ Church.
Civil War and Beyond
The
St. Simons Island Lighthouse
outbreak of the Civil War in 1861 put a sudden end to St. Simons's lucrative plantation era. In January of that year, Confederate troops were stationed at the south end of the island to guard the entrance to Brunswick Harbor. Slaves from Retreat Plantation, owned by Thomas Butler King, built earthworks and batteries. Plantation residents were scattered—the men joined the Confederate army and their families moved to the mainland. Cannon fire was heard on the island in December 1861, and Confederate troops retreated in February 1862, after dynamiting the lighthouse to keep its beacon from aiding Union troops. Soon thereafter, Union troops occupied the island, which was used as a camp for freed slaves. By August 1862 more than 500 former slaves lived on St. Simons, including Susie King Taylor, who organized a school for freed slave children. But in November the ex-slaves were taken to Hilton Head, South Carolina, and Fernandina, Florida, leaving the island abandoned.
After the Civil War the island never returned to its status as an agricultural community. The plantations lay dormant because there were no slaves to work the fields. After Union general William T. Sherman's January 1865 Special Field Order No. 15 —a demand that former plantations be divided and distributed to former slaves—was overturned by U.S. president Andrew Johnson less than a year later, freedmen and women were forced to work as sharecroppers on the small farms that dotted the land previously occupied by the sprawling plantations.
By
St. Simons Lumber Mills
1870 real economic recovery began with the reestablishment of the timber industry. Norman Dodge and Titus G. Meigs of New York set up lumber mill operations at Gascoigne Bluff, formerly Hamilton Plantation. The lumber mills provided welcome employment for both blacks and whites and also provided mail and passenger boats to the mainland. Such water traffic, together with the construction of a new lighthouse in 1872, designed by architect Charles B. Cluskey, marked the beginning of St. Simons's tourism industry. The keeper of the lighthouse created a small amusement park, which drew many visitors, as did the seemingly miraculous light that traveled from the top of the lighthouse tower to the bottom. The island became a summer retreat for families from the mainland, particularly from Baxley, Brunswick, and Waycross.
The island's resort industry was thriving by the 1880s. Beachfront structures, such as a new pier and grand hotel, were built on the southeastern end of the island and could be accessed by ferry. Around this time wealthy northerners began vacationing on the island.
Twentieth Century
The
St. Simons Island Pier and Village
opening in 1924 of the Brunswick–St. Simons Highway, today known as the Torras Causeway, was a milestone in the development of resorts in the area. St. Simons's beaches were now easily accessible to locals and tourists alike. More than 5,000 automobiles took the short drive from Brunswick to St. Simons via the causeway on its opening day, paving the way for convenient residential and resort development.
In 1926 automotive pioneer Howard Coffin of Detroit, Michigan, bought large tracts of land on St. Simons, including the former Retreat Plantation, and constructed a golf course, yacht club, paved roads, and a residential subdivision. Although the causeway had brought large numbers of summer people to the island, St. Simons remained a small community with only a few hundred permanent residents until the 1940s.
The
St. Simons Island
outbreak of World War II (1941-45) brought more visitors and residents to St. Simons. Troops stationed at Jacksonville, Florida; Savannah; and nearby Camp Stewart took weekend vacations on the island, and a new naval air base and radar school became home to even more officers and soldiers. The increased wartime population brought the island its first public school. With a major shipyard for the production of Liberty ships in nearby Brunswick, the waters of St. Simons became active with German U-boats. In April 1942, just off the coast, the Texas Company oil tanker S. S. Oklahoma and the S. S. Esso Baton Rouge were torpedoed by the Germans, bringing the war very close to home for island residents.
Due in large part to the military's improvement of the island's infrastructure during the war, development on the island boomed in the 1950s and 1960s. More permanent homes and subdivisions were built, and the island was no longer just a summer resort but also a thriving community. In 1950 the Methodist conference and retreat center Epworth by the Sea opened on Gascoigne Bluff. In 1961 novelist Eugenia Price visited St. Simons and began work on her first works of fiction, known as the St. Simons Trilogy. Inspired by real events on the island, Price's trilogy renewed interest in the history of Georgia's coast, and the novelist herself relocated to the island in 1965 and lived there for thirty-one years. St. Simons is also home to contemporary Georgia writer Tina McElroy Ansa.
Since
Epworth by the Sea
1980 St. Simons's population has doubled. The island's continued status as a vacation destination and its ongoing development boom have put historic landmarks and natural areas at risk. While such landmarks as the Fort Frederica ruins and the Battle of Bloody Marsh site are preserved and maintained by the National Park Service, and while the historic lighthouse is maintained by the Coastal Georgia Historical Society, historic Ebos Landing has been taken over by a sewage treatment plant.
Several coastal organizations have formed in recent years to save natural areas on the island. The St. Simons Land Trust, for example, has received donations of large tracts of land and plans to protect property in the island's three traditional African American neighborhoods. Despite its rapid growth and development, St. Simons remains one of the most beautiful and important islands on the Georgia coast.

As you can tell from the before pictures, this client was attempting to organize their growing family as best they could using this laundry room and surrounding areas for many purposes.
For every problem, John Rogers Renovations designed a beautiful solution!

As you can tell from the before pictures, this client was attempting to organize their growing family as best they could using this laundry room and surrounding areas for many purposes.
For every problem, John Rogers Renovations designed a beautiful solution!

A family that spends a lot of time in and around their beautiful saltwater pool, did not have a place in their home that provided them a visual or physical connection. They also lacked any storage for all their pool “stuff”. With small children and a love for entertaining, they needed a room that served and supported their watery lifestyle. We took over an empty and unused notch along the back of the house adjacent to the pool patio to create a new bright and airy pool house.
The new out building attempts to unify 4 areas; an existing deck, an upper master bedroom balcony, a lower lawn, and the pool itself, and provide the missing storage. By locating the pool house at the juxtaposition of these areas, the new room was able to provide a new expanded rooftop balcony for the master, anchor and define the dining and barbeque deck, extend and connect to the pool and patio, and create a new access to integrate the lower lawn – and carve out the much needed storage for the variety of pool toys and equipment.
The building itself is 400 sf with bath, laundry, storage, mechanical, kitchen, and living. A single new secure connection is made into the house through the existing mudroom. Clad with crisply detailed ship lap cedar, it draws on the existing material palate of the house and nods to the boat aesthetic in expression and efficiency. With pocketing glass walls the pool house is both the utility building needed, and an expansion of the vibrant pool scene itself, inside and outside, along the poolside.
Photographer: Brandon Stengelwww.farmkidstudios.com
Location: Edina, MN
Completed: 2013
Project Team:
Ben Awes AIA, Principal-In-Charge
Bob Ganser AIA
Christian Dean AIA
Nate Dodge

This Mequon master on-suite from the 80's was in serious need of a face lift! While it may be a large bathroom, it certainly was not up to date and did not meet the needs of the client.
We designed a complete gut and re-build including the removal of a window that only looked over the solarium below!
The result is a timeless design that allowed the homeowner to sell his home, after many failed attempts with the old bathroom, and meets the needs of the future buyers!

At the end of 2012, Danberry came across what was then a rundown home in the Casco Point neighborhood of Orono, in desperate need of some design help. A failed attempt by the previous owner to remodel it as an investment had left it abandoned for years. But when the Danberry’s got a glimpse of this diamond in the rough, they knew it had potential. The project included a completely remodeled kitchen, bathroom, basement and living room.

The project consists of three primary additions, one a workshop and garage, the second a basement expansion that juts out over the lake, and a third, which expands the existing living areas with a wall of glass. This third addition, originally not part of the project, was a recommendation by Architecture Office well received by the client because of how it transformed the existing living areas.
The existing architecture consists of a historic neo-classical house with a less purist addition that attempts to mimic the original. We took the approach of contrasting the existing to avoid having two additions lacking the craft and integrity of the original. This contrast is a welcoming change to previously dark interiors. The concept opens up opportunities for capturing lake views, creating modern living areas that flow from one to the next.
The rear garage and second floor workshop compliment the owners entrepreneurial spirit, a person who enjoys the act of a making. The form is simple but clearly delineates itself form the brick construction with black metal siding and a glass walkway connecting the two. The structure draws from old factory buildings that gather daylight from above, synthesized through a milky polycarbonate portion of roof.
The basement addition expands on an existing subterranean space used for storage and utilities. This room is converted into a living space with sleeping quarters, wet bar, and restroom facilities. This living room is a mini oasis from the rest of the house with views secluded to the water and sky. The openness of the balcony expand the view in all directions, with the sun blocked under a cantilevered shade cover.

At the end of 2012, Danberry came across what was then a rundown home in the Casco Point neighborhood of Orono, in desperate need of some design help. A failed attempt by the previous owner to remodel it as an investment had left it abandoned for years. But when the Danberry’s got a glimpse of this diamond in the rough, they knew it had potential. The project included a completely remodeled kitchen, bathroom, basement and living room.

The Churchill corner electric fireplace inspired by MagikFlame is the ideal unit for going into the corner of your home or condo/apartment where two walls come together. Discover our electric fireplaces: https://magikflame.com/product-category/buy-electric-fireplaces/
The triangular shape goes perfectly into the 90 degree angle between your walls, and a TV can be placed above. Clean, beautiful styling is perfect for modern and traditional homes. Built in America with our patented Holographic projection technology. Also includes a heater and can be operated with an iPhone app or built in touch screen. Includes a 5,200 BTU heater to warm 800 sq/ft.
Dimensions: 52"W x 42"T x 40.5"D
At MagikFlame, our goal is to create the most realistic electric fireplaces ever made. We also believe in improving quality of life by providing people with the best possible cozy and relaxing environment every night. Using our patented holoflame technology, we've innovated the electric fireplace to bring you effortless cozy with friends and family. Because quality family time and relaxation after a hard workday or activity is life changing.
Experience 30 Flames. Built-In Heater. Sound.
Subscribe to our channel for tips on how to enhance your interior design, accessories, and focal points. Learn more about fireplace technology and the cozy, relaxation, and family atmosphere improvements to your home. We have everything you need to guide you on a journey to forge the American home and better living atmosphere.
Shop With Us Online: https://magikflame.com
Like MagikFlame on Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/MagikFlame
Follow MagikFlame on Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/magikflamefireplaces/
Tweet With Us: https://twitter.com/MagikFlameFire
Pin With Us: https://www.pinterest.com/MagikFlameElectricFireplaces
We attempt to be as accurate as possible. However, MagikFlame cannot guarantee that product descriptions, images or other content of products or services are 100% accurate, complete, reliable, current, or error-free. Some items may appear slightly larger or smaller than the actual size due to screen defaults and photography techniques. This also includes any momentary stutters or artifacts in frames of the flame video loop. Other items may be represented at a larger than the actual size in order to clearly show details, or smaller than the actual size to show the entire item.

This Mequon master on-suite from the 80's was in serious need of a face lift! While it may be a large bathroom, it certainly was not up to date and did not meet the needs of the client.
We designed a complete gut and re-build including the removal of a window that only looked over the solarium below!
The result is a timeless design that allowed the homeowner to sell his home, after many failed attempts with the old bathroom, and meets the needs of the future buyers!

The Ossido line stems from a wager against time, in an attempt to crystallise a material at a specific point in its life and have it stay that way forever. Specifically, it entails the reproduction of a oxidation process on slabs of copper and metal, which generates a very strong and rich colour, yet which inevitably disappears as the oxidation process progresses.

The Brooke Residence ‘Addi- tion by Subtraction’ remodeling project was recognized with numerous regional and national awards and was selected for Fine Homebuilding’s Annual Issue on Houses.
This 1920’s Craftsman Bungalow had been poorly modified in the 70’s in an attempt to address poor energy performance with a scabbed on solarium. The design solution removed the solarium and completely reimagined the floor plan: The kitchen was relocated to the rear; the stairway was relocated to enhance function, and a better connection to the family room was created.

Originally built in 1938, this bungalow cottage had enduring character, but its traditional closed kitchen layout – typical of the era – didn’t align with the way the homeowners envisioned living in the space. Inspired by their travels through England’s Cotswolds, the French countryside, and Carmel’s whimsical Storybook Cottages by the Sea, the homeowners dreamed of a home that captured the romance of cottages and one that would seamlessly connect with their stunning English-style garden.
After years of attempting to reimagine the kitchen in its original location the homeowners realized it would never truly suit the way they lived & wanted to entertain. The original kitchen was historical & was built when the kitchen was the last room you wanted guests to see. It was tucked into the front corner of the home off a hallway leading to the main level bedrooms and bath. To reach the dining room, you passed through a servery swing door, then continued into the living room. While the original door had charm, it disrupted the flow and connection between the kitchen and the main living areas.
To bring the homeowners’ vision to life, the design called for a bold move—relocating the kitchen entirely. We designed a 560-square-foot addition off the living room – placing the kitchen at the heart of the home and connecting it to the gardens. The new space includes a sunlit breakfast nook, a charming butler’s pantry, a garden vestibule with its own entry porch, and a wraparound porch that encourages indoor-outdoor living. The main level remodel also redefined existing spaces: the old dining room was transformed into a cozy study library, while a former bedroom became an elegant dining room just off the new kitchen.
Every design decision honored the home’s original 1938 architecture and character. Matching the home’s original 1.5-story proportions, the new kitchen wing was designed with intersecting gables that echo the scale and pitch of the existing roofline. A stone-wrapped chimney topped with a handcrafted copper cap is straight from the pages of a storybook. Decorative corbels, intricate window trim, and cedar shake in the gable ends further connect the new architecture to the home’s historic detailing.
Finishes and fixtures were thoughtfully chosen to marry the home’s moodier, character-rich original rooms with the brighter, lighter new spaces. The result is a timeless transformation that feels as though it has always been part of the home – an enchanting blend of storybook charm, functional design, and garden-centered living.
At the ground level, a Pennsylvania bluestone porch and stone skirting ground the addition in traditional materials. Inside, a tongue-and-groove ceiling with hand-hewn beams gives purpose and intimacy to the heightened kitchen ceiling. The home’s signature arched openings were meticulously replicated in the new kitchen, breakfast nook, and dining room, ensuring a seamless transition between old and new. Every element – inside and out – was chosen to honor the original home while enhancing the charm, character, and connection to the garden.
Photos by MK Photography

Simply Stated, this was the worst floor to attempt. Cracks, Holes, extremely rough profile, and permeated with gear oil for 40+ years.
Garage - mid-sized modern detached two-car garage idea in Calgary
Garage - mid-sized modern detached two-car garage idea in Calgary
20
