Search results for "Creating events" in Home Design Ideas

When the owner of this petite c. 1910 cottage in Riverside, RI first considered purchasing it, he fell for its charming front façade and the stunning rear water views. But it needed work. The weather-worn, water-facing back of the house was in dire need of attention. The first-floor kitchen/living/dining areas were cramped. There was no first-floor bathroom, and the second-floor bathroom was a fright. Most surprisingly, there was no rear-facing deck off the kitchen or living areas to allow for outdoor living along the Providence River.
In collaboration with the homeowner, KHS proposed a number of renovations and additions. The first priority was a new cantilevered rear deck off an expanded kitchen/dining area and reconstructed sunroom, which was brought up to the main floor level. The cantilever of the deck prevents the need for awkwardly tall supporting posts that could potentially be undermined by a future storm event or rising sea level.
To gain more first-floor living space, KHS also proposed capturing the corner of the wrapping front porch as interior kitchen space in order to create a more generous open kitchen/dining/living area, while having minimal impact on how the cottage appears from the curb. Underutilized space in the existing mudroom was also reconfigured to contain a modest full bath and laundry closet. Upstairs, a new full bath was created in an addition between existing bedrooms. It can be accessed from both the master bedroom and the stair hall. Additional closets were added, too.
New windows and doors, new heart pine flooring stained to resemble the patina of old pine flooring that remained upstairs, new tile and countertops, new cabinetry, new plumbing and lighting fixtures, as well as a new color palette complete the updated look. Upgraded insulation in areas exposed during the construction and augmented HVAC systems also greatly improved indoor comfort. Today, the cottage continues to charm while also accommodating modern amenities and features.

Stuart Wade, Envision Virtual Tours
The second-largest and most developed of Georgia's barrier islands, St. Simons is approximately twelve miles long and nearly three miles wide at its widest stretch (roughly the size of Manhattan Island in New York). The island is located in Glynn County on Georgia's coast and lies east of Brunswick (the seat of Glynn County), south of Little St. Simons Island and the Hampton River, and north of Jekyll Island. The resort community of Sea Island is separated from St. Simons on the east by the Black Banks River. Known for its oak tree canopies and historic landmarks, St. Simons is both a tourist destination and, according to the 2010 U.S. census, home to 12,743 residents.
Early History
The earliest
St. Simons Island Village
record of human habitation on the island dates to the Late Archaic Period, about 5,000 to 3,000 years ago. Remnants of shell rings left behind by Native Americans from this era survive on many of the barrier islands, including St. Simons. Centuries later, during the period known by historians as the chiefdom era, the Guale Indians established a chiefdom centered on St. Catherines Island and used St. Simons as their hunting and fishing grounds. By 1500 the Guale had established a permanent village of about 200 people on St. Simons, which they called Guadalquini.
Beginning in 1568, the Spanish attempted to create missions along the Georgia coast. Catholic missions were the primary means by which Georgia's indigenous Native American chiefdoms were assimilated into the Spanish colonial system along the northern frontier of greater Spanish Florida. In the 1600s St. Simons became home to two Spanish missions: San Buenaventura de Guadalquini, on the southern tip of the island, and Santo Domingo de Asao (or Asajo), on the northern tip. Located on the inland side of the island were the pagan refugee villages of San Simón, the island's namesake, and Ocotonico. In 1684 pirate raids left the missions and villages largely abandoned.
Colonial History
As
Fort Frederica
early as 1670, with Great Britain's establishment of the colony of Carolina and its expansion into Georgia territory, Spanish rule was threatened by the English. The Georgia coast was considered "debatable land" by England and Spain, even though Spain had fully retreated from St. Simons by 1702. Thirty-one years later General James Edward Oglethorpe founded the English settlement of Savannah. In 1736 he established Fort Frederica, named after the heir to the British throne, Frederick Louis, prince of Wales, on the west side of St. Simons Island to protect Savannah and the Carolinas from the Spanish threat.
Between 1736 and 1749 Fort Frederica was the hub of British military operations along the Georgia frontier. A town of the same name grew up around the fort and was of great importance to the new colony. By 1740 Frederica's population was 1,000. In 1736 the congregation of what would become Christ Church was organized within Fort Frederica as a mission of the Church of England. Charles Wesley led the first services. In 1742 Britain's decisive victory over Spain in the Battle of Bloody Marsh, during the War of Jenkins' Ear, ended the Spanish threat to the Georgia coast. When the British regimen disbanded in 1749, most of the townspeople relocated to the mainland. Fort Frederica went into decline and, except for a short time of prosperity during the 1760s and 1770s under the leadership of merchant James Spalding, never fully recovered. Today the historic citadel's tabby ruins are maintained by the National Park Service.
Plantation Era
By the start of the American Revolution (1775-83), Fort Frederica was obsolete, and St. Simons was left largely uninhabited as most of its residents joined the patriot army. Besides hosting a small Georgia naval victory on the Fort Frederica River, providing guns from its famous fort for use at Fort Morris in Sunbury, and serving as an arena for pillaging by privateers and British soldiers, the island played almost no role in the war.
Following the war, many of the townspeople, their businesses destroyed, turned to agriculture. The island was transformed into fourteen cotton plantations after acres of live oak trees were cleared for farm land and used for building American warships, including the famous USS Constitution, or "Old Ironsides." Although rice was the predominant crop along the neighboring Altamaha River, St. Simons was known for its production of long-staple cotton, which soon came to be known as Sea Island cotton.
Between
Ebos Landing
the 1780s and the outbreak of the Civil War (1861-65), St. Simons's plantation culture flourished. The saline atmosphere and the availability of cheap slave labor proved an ideal combination for the cultivation of Sea Island cotton. In 1803 a group of Ebo slaves who survived the Middle Passage and arrived on the west side of St. Simons staged a rebellion and drowned themselves. The sacred site is known today as Ebos Landing.
One of the largest owners of land and slaves on St. Simons was Pierce Butler, master of Hampton Point Plantation, located on the northern end of the island. By 1793 Butler owned more than 500 slaves, who cultivated 800 acres of cotton on St. Simons and 300 acres of rice on Butler's Island in the Altamaha River delta. Butler's grandson, Pierce Mease Butler, who at the age of sixteen inherited a share of his grandfather's estate in 1826, was responsible for the largest sale of human beings in the history of the United States: in 1859, to restore his squandered fortune, he sold 429 slaves in Savannah for more than $300,000. The British actress and writer Fanny Kemble, whose tumultuous marriage to Pierce ended in divorce in 1849, published an eyewitness account of the evils of slavery on St. Simons in her book Journal of a Residence on a Georgian Plantation in 1838-1839 (1863).
Another
Retreat Plantation
large owner of land and slaves on St. Simons was Major William Page, a friend and employee of Pierce Butler Sr. Before purchasing Retreat Plantation on the southwestern tip of the island in 1804, Page managed the Hampton plantation and Butler's Island. Upon Page's death in 1827, Thomas Butler King inherited the land together with his wife, Page's daughter, Anna Matilda Page King. King expanded his father-in-law's planting empire on St. Simons as well as on the mainland, and by 1835 Retreat Plantation alone was home to as many as 355 slaves.
The center of life during the island's plantation era was Christ Church, Frederica. Organized in 1807 by a group of island planters, the Episcopal church is the second oldest in the Diocese of Georgia. Embargoes imposed by the War of 1812 (1812-15) prevented the parishioners from building a church structure, so they worshiped in the home of John Beck, which stood on the site of Oglethorpe's only St. Simons residence, Orange Hall.
The first Christ Church building, finished on the present site in 1820, was ruined by occupying Union troops during the Civil War. In 1884 the Reverend Anson Dodge Jr. rebuilt the church as a memorial to his first wife, Ellen. The cruciform building with a trussed gothic roof and stained-glass windows remains active today as Christ Church.
Civil War and Beyond
The
St. Simons Island Lighthouse
outbreak of the Civil War in 1861 put a sudden end to St. Simons's lucrative plantation era. In January of that year, Confederate troops were stationed at the south end of the island to guard the entrance to Brunswick Harbor. Slaves from Retreat Plantation, owned by Thomas Butler King, built earthworks and batteries. Plantation residents were scattered—the men joined the Confederate army and their families moved to the mainland. Cannon fire was heard on the island in December 1861, and Confederate troops retreated in February 1862, after dynamiting the lighthouse to keep its beacon from aiding Union troops. Soon thereafter, Union troops occupied the island, which was used as a camp for freed slaves. By August 1862 more than 500 former slaves lived on St. Simons, including Susie King Taylor, who organized a school for freed slave children. But in November the ex-slaves were taken to Hilton Head, South Carolina, and Fernandina, Florida, leaving the island abandoned.
After the Civil War the island never returned to its status as an agricultural community. The plantations lay dormant because there were no slaves to work the fields. After Union general William T. Sherman's January 1865 Special Field Order No. 15 —a demand that former plantations be divided and distributed to former slaves—was overturned by U.S. president Andrew Johnson less than a year later, freedmen and women were forced to work as sharecroppers on the small farms that dotted the land previously occupied by the sprawling plantations.
By
St. Simons Lumber Mills
1870 real economic recovery began with the reestablishment of the timber industry. Norman Dodge and Titus G. Meigs of New York set up lumber mill operations at Gascoigne Bluff, formerly Hamilton Plantation. The lumber mills provided welcome employment for both blacks and whites and also provided mail and passenger boats to the mainland. Such water traffic, together with the construction of a new lighthouse in 1872, designed by architect Charles B. Cluskey, marked the beginning of St. Simons's tourism industry. The keeper of the lighthouse created a small amusement park, which drew many visitors, as did the seemingly miraculous light that traveled from the top of the lighthouse tower to the bottom. The island became a summer retreat for families from the mainland, particularly from Baxley, Brunswick, and Waycross.
The island's resort industry was thriving by the 1880s. Beachfront structures, such as a new pier and grand hotel, were built on the southeastern end of the island and could be accessed by ferry. Around this time wealthy northerners began vacationing on the island.
Twentieth Century
The
St. Simons Island Pier and Village
opening in 1924 of the Brunswick–St. Simons Highway, today known as the Torras Causeway, was a milestone in the development of resorts in the area. St. Simons's beaches were now easily accessible to locals and tourists alike. More than 5,000 automobiles took the short drive from Brunswick to St. Simons via the causeway on its opening day, paving the way for convenient residential and resort development.
In 1926 automotive pioneer Howard Coffin of Detroit, Michigan, bought large tracts of land on St. Simons, including the former Retreat Plantation, and constructed a golf course, yacht club, paved roads, and a residential subdivision. Although the causeway had brought large numbers of summer people to the island, St. Simons remained a small community with only a few hundred permanent residents until the 1940s.
The
St. Simons Island
outbreak of World War II (1941-45) brought more visitors and residents to St. Simons. Troops stationed at Jacksonville, Florida; Savannah; and nearby Camp Stewart took weekend vacations on the island, and a new naval air base and radar school became home to even more officers and soldiers. The increased wartime population brought the island its first public school. With a major shipyard for the production of Liberty ships in nearby Brunswick, the waters of St. Simons became active with German U-boats. In April 1942, just off the coast, the Texas Company oil tanker S. S. Oklahoma and the S. S. Esso Baton Rouge were torpedoed by the Germans, bringing the war very close to home for island residents.
Due in large part to the military's improvement of the island's infrastructure during the war, development on the island boomed in the 1950s and 1960s. More permanent homes and subdivisions were built, and the island was no longer just a summer resort but also a thriving community. In 1950 the Methodist conference and retreat center Epworth by the Sea opened on Gascoigne Bluff. In 1961 novelist Eugenia Price visited St. Simons and began work on her first works of fiction, known as the St. Simons Trilogy. Inspired by real events on the island, Price's trilogy renewed interest in the history of Georgia's coast, and the novelist herself relocated to the island in 1965 and lived there for thirty-one years. St. Simons is also home to contemporary Georgia writer Tina McElroy Ansa.
Since
Epworth by the Sea
1980 St. Simons's population has doubled. The island's continued status as a vacation destination and its ongoing development boom have put historic landmarks and natural areas at risk. While such landmarks as the Fort Frederica ruins and the Battle of Bloody Marsh site are preserved and maintained by the National Park Service, and while the historic lighthouse is maintained by the Coastal Georgia Historical Society, historic Ebos Landing has been taken over by a sewage treatment plant.
Several coastal organizations have formed in recent years to save natural areas on the island. The St. Simons Land Trust, for example, has received donations of large tracts of land and plans to protect property in the island's three traditional African American neighborhoods. Despite its rapid growth and development, St. Simons remains one of the most beautiful and important islands on the Georgia coast.

We were hired to combine the main hall bath and a 1/2 bath of the master bedroom. The main bathroom was partially gutted when we started the design project as a severe water event had occurred. The client wanted an economical, but modern looking remodel that would be appealing to buyers in the future when she needed to sell and move to a retirement community as she currently lived alone.
The new tub/shower is in the location of the original 1/2 bath. Our homeowner wanted an easy to clean. but modern looking shower and vanity. Lanmark by Lane Marble was chosen as it has no grout and is a seamless product similar to Corian. We created 2 niches in the shower to store bottles to keep them off the tub deck and prevent them from slipping into the shower. An American Standard Princeton bathtub was chosen, so when the client eventually left her home, her home would be appealing to families with small children. For the vanity the same Lanmark color was chosen with 2 integrated sinks for easy cleaning.
Delta and Moen faucets, showerheads, and accessories were mix and matched to update the bathroom. Vinyl flooring was also chosen for its ease of cleaning and care.
Bamboo cabinetry was added to provide a modern,, timeless, and warm wood tone to the space. In this small home, storage is badly needed so I created a large linen cabinet with a pull-out shelf on the lower shelf for easier access for that shelf.
The original 1/2 bath window in the new tub/shower area was replaced with a new vinyl window and wrapped with Lanmark to provide a watertight system.
To give plenty of lighting at the vanity, George Kovacs LED lights fixtures were installed over each sink. This bathroom is now a light and bright space that will be functional and beautiful for years to come.
This project was designed for and completed by Corvallis Custom Kitchens and Baths.
Photos by: H. Needham
Find the right local pro for your project

THE SETUP
When we first encountered this basement for a family with three boys, we saw a space with untapped potential. Though previously remodeled, it lacked a cohesive design strategy. The expansive area housed various entertainment pieces (a shuffleboard table, air hockey, foosball, etc.) scattered haphazardly throughout the space.
While the basement included a workout room and a rudimentary kitchen area, it lacked a dedicated game room or proper bar. Excessive storage closets along the back wall consumed valuable real estate that could be repurposed for more engaging uses.
In essence, the basement was spacious but disjointed—functional for family use but falling short as an entertainment hub. It didn’t align with the sophistication of the rest of the home. Our clients envisioned a transformation: a fresh, organized space that would not only serve their family’s needs but also shine as an inviting arena for entertaining friends and hosting gatherings – especially sports-focused gatherings!
Design Objectives:
Reimagine the basement layout, creating distinct zones for varied activities.
Expand the workout area to accommodate new equipment, including a Smith machine.
Implement a multi-screen setup inspired by high-end sports bars, allowing guests to follow multiple games while socializing.
Enhance existing features while developing new areas:
Optimize a workout space for all equipment needs
Establish a dedicated children’s space with guest room capabilities
Create an integrated bar and entertainment area
Retain and incorporate the existing projector setup
Design Challenges:
Navigate layout constraints in the new workout room due to fixed utility areas.
Carve out a distinct space for kids within the open plan.
Revitalize an underutilized section of the basement.
Elevate the existing big screen area with purposeful design elements.
Develop a full-fledged bar area while maintaining kitchen functions applicable for hangout snacking.
Work around immovable structural elements (soffits, load-bearing support columns)
THE RENEWED SPACE
Design Solutions:
Install a stylish barn door for the utility area of the new workout space, improving aesthetics and accessibility.
Repurpose the former workout room into a dedicated game room for kids, utilizing couches with pull-out beds so the area can double as overflow guest accommodations.
Transform the unused area into a vibrant pub-style area for card and table games.
Enhance the big screen area with elegant wainscoting and ambient theatre-style lighting.
Design a multi-functional wet bar area featuring varied seating, prep areas, and a microwave.
Base the bar sink area width off the soffit above it.
In the big screen area, use the soffit to inform the width of a wainscoting section.
For the immovable support columns, dress one up to match the wainscoting of the nearby big screen wall. Hide the other one in a new wall.
Final Thoughts:
The reimagined basement has exceeded our clients’ expectations, evolving into the ultimate entertainment hub. With seven strategically placed screens, it’s perfect for gatherings focused on major sporting events and casual gatherings, as well. The space strikes a balance between adult sophistication and family-friendly functionality, featuring distinct zones for various activities.
The new design not only maximizes functionality for modern, multi-screen entertainment but also elevates the aesthetic appeal. It integrates flawlessly with the rest of the home’s transitional style while allowing each basement section to maintain its unique character. The result is a versatile space that caters to both intimate family time and large-scale entertaining.

Stuart Wade, Envision Virtual Tours
Envision Virtual Tours and High Resolution Photography is your best choice to find just what you are looking for in the Ellijay, Ga. area .Ellijay, Georgia, known as the “Apple Capital” of Georgia, is located between the Ellijay and Cartecay Rivers where they join to make the Coosawattee River and is the county seat of Gilmer County, Georgia. The origin of the city’s name is not certain but thought to be the English derivative of an Indian word(s) meaning “many waters”, “place of green things” or “new ground”. Some histories say it may have been named for an Indian chief.
Inhabited for countless years by the Cherokee people indigenous to the North Georgia, the area was first mentioned as a village and trade center before the onslaught of white settlers inhabited the region. During the 1830’s both white settlers and Indians occupied Ellijay. During the original land lottery in 1832, Martin Scalf acquired the 160 acre lot where the town now stands. In 1833, Clemonds Quinland bought 10 acres from Scalf, retained one acre for himself and donated the rest of the purchase to the County. A plan for twenty town lots, streets and a public square was created and the streets were oriented to allow maximum sunlight exposure to the buildings.
Proceeds from lot sales were used to build a jail and courthouse and pay other city expenses. During this same year, Gilmer County was appropriated $800.00 from the State to build a school, and a three-acre lot was donated for the city cemetery. On December 29, l834, Ellijay was incorporated and designated as the County seat of Gilmer County. By 1837, the town had twenty dwellings, three stores and one attorney. Most of these early buildings were of log construction.
Many roads led to Ellijay by 1849. The population had grown to 150 by 1850 and the town at five stores. Some wood-frame buildings were being constructed at this time and in 1854, a new courthouse was built in the center of the square, replacing the earlier building. The County’s first newspaper was the Ellijay Courier, started in 1875, and during this time period, Ellijay was a stop on the stagecoach line. The railroad bridge over the Cartecay River was completed in 1884 and the town now had rail service.
With the arrival of the railroad and subsequent tracks to White Path, Ellijay began to grow much faster. Many hotels were constructed and land was donated for a depot east of town. More industries, such as a cheese factory and the Shippen Brothers Lumber Mill, located in Ellijay. By 1898, the city had expanded its limits in every direction and now included the depot.
By 1900, all the buildings on the town square were brick. This included the recently completed Hyatt Hotel. Most of the other buildings in town were still of log construction, but new wood-frame buildings were being built. The Shippen Brothers Lumber Company production was expanding and exporting their lumber to Europe. Within the next few decades, this company grew to be one of the largest employers in Ellijay, often with five to six million feet of lumber in the yard at one time.
The population of Ellijay grew to 659 by 1910, and began to acquire many new modern conveniences such as electric lights and power, a telephone company and many new businesses.
Then in 1912, a fire ravaged the city, destroying 23 buildings. As a result, many new buildings were constructed under new and stricter fire and safety guidelines. The population, however, decreased slightly at this time to 632 in 1920.
During the 1920’s the town’s population began to grow again and, by this time, apples were being shipped out of the county and new storage facilities were built. Chickens were also shipped to markets outside of Ellijay and Gilmer County.
From the mid 1930’s to 1950, Ellijay received much assistance from the Federal WPA Programs. The old courthouse was removed from the center of town square and the Hyatt Hotel was remodeled to be the new courthouse. A park was created on the site of the old courthouse and the streets around the square were paved. A new street was built at this time entering town from the northeast. Other new roads, bridges, sidewalks and gutters were constructed to improve the city. A school and gymnasium were also built and other structures improved.
This growth began to impact the city’s infrastructure and in the l950’s and l960’s, a period of upgrading water systems, roads, and power supplies began. New low-rent housing appeared in l960 and a new hospital was built in l957. Georgia Highway 5 was widened in l962, new buildings around the square replaced old ones and some were remodeled. In 1974, the hospital was enlarged.
Currently, Ellijay attracts tourists who love the small-town feel and friendly atmosphere. Hotels and restaurants, unique shops, antiques and art galleries lend their charms to those who visit. A new courthouse constructed to resemble the old one, new streetscaping, family-oriented downtown events and the beautification of the square have stepped up the social and economic activity and have made Ellijay a popular destination.

Adding an 2nd story to an existing ranch bungalow from the 50's can certainly dish out some challenges and surprises. With this project we were working with a boring rectangle design, so we added two bump outs at the front and one at the back to create some definition/curb appeal, giving the main floor a better flow, extending the existing two bedrooms, two baths, spacious kitchen, large pantry and a mudroom. The 2nd story was added to create a Master bedroom retreat featuring a spa-like bath, massive walk-in closet, loft area with bar and guest suite with a Murphy bed. Then there was the decisions with what to do with the space above the garage - the clients did not want cold floors, or any living space above non heated areas, so we designed this incredible covered porch with Tongue & Groove Cedar, a waterproof floor, and an exterior Fireplace clad in matching stone. Its become a true 3 season room for the family to enjoy outdoor movie nights by the fire, entertaining guests (after the kids go to sleep) and giving that option of outdoor living even in the event of rain. The clients built the home in a very unique neighbourhood. They wanted to design something unique, so the super modern exterior cladding, the 3rd dimension features, and the 2 covered porches gives the home a modern look in what they feel will be a timeless design for many decades to come.

THE SETUP
When we first encountered this basement for a family with three boys, we saw a space with untapped potential. Though previously remodeled, it lacked a cohesive design strategy. The expansive area housed various entertainment pieces (a shuffleboard table, air hockey, foosball, etc.) scattered haphazardly throughout the space.
While the basement included a workout room and a rudimentary kitchen area, it lacked a dedicated game room or proper bar. Excessive storage closets along the back wall consumed valuable real estate that could be repurposed for more engaging uses.
In essence, the basement was spacious but disjointed—functional for family use but falling short as an entertainment hub. It didn’t align with the sophistication of the rest of the home. Our clients envisioned a transformation: a fresh, organized space that would not only serve their family’s needs but also shine as an inviting arena for entertaining friends and hosting gatherings – especially sports-focused gatherings!
Design Objectives:
Reimagine the basement layout, creating distinct zones for varied activities.
Expand the workout area to accommodate new equipment, including a Smith machine.
Implement a multi-screen setup inspired by high-end sports bars, allowing guests to follow multiple games while socializing.
Enhance existing features while developing new areas:
Optimize a workout space for all equipment needs
Establish a dedicated children’s space with guest room capabilities
Create an integrated bar and entertainment area
Retain and incorporate the existing projector setup
Design Challenges:
Navigate layout constraints in the new workout room due to fixed utility areas.
Carve out a distinct space for kids within the open plan.
Revitalize an underutilized section of the basement.
Elevate the existing big screen area with purposeful design elements.
Develop a full-fledged bar area while maintaining kitchen functions applicable for hangout snacking.
Work around immovable structural elements (soffits, load-bearing support columns)
THE RENEWED SPACE
Design Solutions:
Install a stylish barn door for the utility area of the new workout space, improving aesthetics and accessibility.
Repurpose the former workout room into a dedicated game room for kids, utilizing couches with pull-out beds so the area can double as overflow guest accommodations.
Transform the unused area into a vibrant pub-style area for card and table games.
Enhance the big screen area with elegant wainscoting and ambient theatre-style lighting.
Design a multi-functional wet bar area featuring varied seating, prep areas, and a microwave.
Base the bar sink area width off the soffit above it.
In the big screen area, use the soffit to inform the width of a wainscoting section.
For the immovable support columns, dress one up to match the wainscoting of the nearby big screen wall. Hide the other one in a new wall.
Final Thoughts:
The reimagined basement has exceeded our clients’ expectations, evolving into the ultimate entertainment hub. With seven strategically placed screens, it’s perfect for gatherings focused on major sporting events and casual gatherings, as well. The space strikes a balance between adult sophistication and family-friendly functionality, featuring distinct zones for various activities.
The new design not only maximizes functionality for modern, multi-screen entertainment but also elevates the aesthetic appeal. It integrates flawlessly with the rest of the home’s transitional style while allowing each basement section to maintain its unique character. The result is a versatile space that caters to both intimate family time and large-scale entertaining.

Sponsored
Delaware, OH
Buckeye Basements, Inc.
Central Ohio's Basement Finishing ExpertsBest Of Houzz '13-'21

This was a much needed and long overdue remodel of the lodge for a local chapter of an internationally recognized organization. I was brought in during the demo phase of the build out to work with the building committee on the overall aesthetic which included space planning, finishes, fixtures, furniture and lighting throughout the space. The kitchen area has two cooking stations, two sinks and tons of prep area, as well as an eat-in bar. The wet bar is located near the lounge area and the dining area, with high top cafe style tables, can also be used for overflow at the lounge. The cafe tables can be lined up together to create one long dramatic dining table when needed for events. This all lends itself to the space being quite versatile, which works well for the various events hosted at the lodge.

This was a big project as the homeowner wanted a full kitchen, dining room, bar, living room, laundry room, bathroom, and office remodel. The home is now a beautiful family focused area with a gorgeous color palette. Opening up the walls between the kitchen, dining room, and living room created a clear line of sight, allowed for symmetry and cohesion between the spaces. By relocating the bar to under the stairs, previously wasted space, was utilized while creating a new focal point and allowing for a larger dining room – perfect for holidays and large events. Organization of laundry is easy with the new layout of the laundry room. Safety for a growing family was key to this design so a baby gate was added to the top and bottom of the staircase to help keep everyone safe.

Tucked away in this private property mountainside Total Pool + Patio, LLC designed a one of a kind oasis that delivers the ultimate feeling of privacy, nature, and relaxation. Our Award Winning Pool Construction company using the existing ledge and natural stones from the property this pool uses the unique elevations changes to its advantage. To create the ultimate hosting environment the project includes surround sound outdoor speakers, a pool house, outdoor television, outdoor kitchen, and abundance of LED uplighting which creates a vibrant atmosphere for events.

Adding an 2nd story to an existing ranch bungalow from the 50's can certainly dish out some challenges and surprises. With this project we were working with a boring rectangle design, so we added two bump outs at the front and one at the back to create some definition/curb appeal, giving the main floor a better flow, extending the existing two bedrooms, two baths, spacious kitchen, large pantry and a mudroom. The 2nd story was added to create a Master bedroom retreat featuring a spa-like bath, massive walk-in closet, loft area with bar and guest suite with a Murphy bed. Then there was the decisions with what to do with the space above the garage - the clients did not want cold floors, or any living space above non heated areas, so we designed this incredible covered porch with Tongue & Groove Cedar, a waterproof floor, and an exterior Fireplace clad in matching stone. Its become a true 3 season room for the family to enjoy outdoor movie nights by the fire, entertaining guests (after the kids go to sleep) and giving that option of outdoor living even in the event of rain. The clients built the home in a very unique neighbourhood. They wanted to design something unique, so the super modern exterior cladding, the 3rd dimension features, and the 2 covered porches gives the home a modern look in what they feel will be a timeless design for many decades to come.

Asheville is a city that hosts many families who come to enjoy our mountains, trails and events. These homeowners wanted to create a haven for their guests to come home to and recharge after a day of exploring. We used the foundation this “builder basic” house gave us: grey walls and basic lighting to create a backdrop for fun colors and textures!

When the owner of this petite c. 1910 cottage in Riverside, RI first considered purchasing it, he fell for its charming front façade and the stunning rear water views. But it needed work. The weather-worn, water-facing back of the house was in dire need of attention. The first-floor kitchen/living/dining areas were cramped. There was no first-floor bathroom, and the second-floor bathroom was a fright. Most surprisingly, there was no rear-facing deck off the kitchen or living areas to allow for outdoor living along the Providence River.
In collaboration with the homeowner, KHS proposed a number of renovations and additions. The first priority was a new cantilevered rear deck off an expanded kitchen/dining area and reconstructed sunroom, which was brought up to the main floor level. The cantilever of the deck prevents the need for awkwardly tall supporting posts that could potentially be undermined by a future storm event or rising sea level.
To gain more first-floor living space, KHS also proposed capturing the corner of the wrapping front porch as interior kitchen space in order to create a more generous open kitchen/dining/living area, while having minimal impact on how the cottage appears from the curb. Underutilized space in the existing mudroom was also reconfigured to contain a modest full bath and laundry closet. Upstairs, a new full bath was created in an addition between existing bedrooms. It can be accessed from both the master bedroom and the stair hall. Additional closets were added, too.
New windows and doors, new heart pine flooring stained to resemble the patina of old pine flooring that remained upstairs, new tile and countertops, new cabinetry, new plumbing and lighting fixtures, as well as a new color palette complete the updated look. Upgraded insulation in areas exposed during the construction and augmented HVAC systems also greatly improved indoor comfort. Today, the cottage continues to charm while also accommodating modern amenities and features.

Sponsored
Delaware, OH
Buckeye Basements, Inc.
Central Ohio's Basement Finishing ExpertsBest Of Houzz '13-'21

This lakefront property set in a nice quiet cove on Lake Sam Rayburn. The entire project was planned and built by carter & company for large family events.
The 3 1/2 level structure is designed with craftsman influences and functions well as a large fishing lodge designed for year-round entertaining.
Ground level includes outdoor kitchen/dining area,separate outdoor living/gaming area with custom cypress beamed furniture built by carter & company. A 1700 Sq deck overlooks beautiful Sam Rayburn and garage doors open across front and rear elevations to create open breeze ways throughout all downstairs areas.
Second floor includes living dining and master suite .an enclosed screen porch extends all the way across the lake side with an old wooden cistern structure which houses an outdoor hot tub. The screen porch has it own 5 ton central unit which is only shared with the downstairs shop area.it also has a 50,000 but ventless fireplace on one end which creates a ( winter area ) on the screen porch.
The open spaces of living/dining also share aux heating via early 1900's
Wood stove (pot belly) which was refurbished and was originally used in a girls dormitory somewhere in Colorado. Kitchen amenities include professional series equipment, a baking center, dumb waiter to downstairs kitchen, pressed tin ceilings. The entire structure touts custom made knotty alder moldings cabinets and doors. The interior walls are also slatted knotty alder with paint stained finishes.
The third floor houses 3 guest bedrooms 1 full bath 1 jack and Jill bath, a 10 x 10 sleeping tent with chandelier, queen mattress, and lake view window. Attic does not exist, instead we incorporated open air vaulted ceilings with turnbuckle collar ties and an upper sleeping loft for kids accessed by custom ships ladder. Other areas of interest include front open air materials lift, 100 ft redneck water slide assembled during summertime and rolling boat dock for lake activities.

Basement designed for entertaining. Created wine tasting bourboun room, custom bar using Benjamin Moore Baby Seal Black. LVP floooring with stairs stained to match, new railing, Phillip Jeffries wallpaper. Created entire space including all lighting and furnishings.

The homeowner wanted to “refresh” his current backyard waterfront oasis. For the retaining walls, the homeowner wanted a “new” look, something different in a multi-piece system with colors to accentuate the house and landscaping. The retaining wall product had to be flexible enough to go above-grade, turn curves, do 90 degree corners, build columns and create steps. The homeowner chose the Allan Block 4-Piece Ashlar wall in the Quarry Ridge Blend color manufactured by Titan Block and sold through Florida Silica Sand. The total backyard renovation included the complete demo of an existing swimming pool, retaining walls, walkways, planters and reconstruction of a brand new swimming pool, retaining walls, planters and pavers – not just your basic renovation. The main objective from the homeowner was to create large areas for backyard entertainment. Not just your standard backyard Bar-B-Q, but events that could accommodate a band, dance floor, fire pit, outdoor grill, outdoor fireplace and have a large enough paved area for equipment to maintain the rare and expensive palm trees.
Allan Block

Stuart Wade, Envision Virtual Tours
Envision Virtual Tours and High Resolution Photography is your best choice to find just what you are looking for in the Ellijay, Ga. area .Ellijay, Georgia, known as the “Apple Capital” of Georgia, is located between the Ellijay and Cartecay Rivers where they join to make the Coosawattee River and is the county seat of Gilmer County, Georgia. The origin of the city’s name is not certain but thought to be the English derivative of an Indian word(s) meaning “many waters”, “place of green things” or “new ground”. Some histories say it may have been named for an Indian chief.
Inhabited for countless years by the Cherokee people indigenous to the North Georgia, the area was first mentioned as a village and trade center before the onslaught of white settlers inhabited the region. During the 1830’s both white settlers and Indians occupied Ellijay. During the original land lottery in 1832, Martin Scalf acquired the 160 acre lot where the town now stands. In 1833, Clemonds Quinland bought 10 acres from Scalf, retained one acre for himself and donated the rest of the purchase to the County. A plan for twenty town lots, streets and a public square was created and the streets were oriented to allow maximum sunlight exposure to the buildings.
Proceeds from lot sales were used to build a jail and courthouse and pay other city expenses. During this same year, Gilmer County was appropriated $800.00 from the State to build a school, and a three-acre lot was donated for the city cemetery. On December 29, l834, Ellijay was incorporated and designated as the County seat of Gilmer County. By 1837, the town had twenty dwellings, three stores and one attorney. Most of these early buildings were of log construction.
Many roads led to Ellijay by 1849. The population had grown to 150 by 1850 and the town at five stores. Some wood-frame buildings were being constructed at this time and in 1854, a new courthouse was built in the center of the square, replacing the earlier building. The County’s first newspaper was the Ellijay Courier, started in 1875, and during this time period, Ellijay was a stop on the stagecoach line. The railroad bridge over the Cartecay River was completed in 1884 and the town now had rail service.
With the arrival of the railroad and subsequent tracks to White Path, Ellijay began to grow much faster. Many hotels were constructed and land was donated for a depot east of town. More industries, such as a cheese factory and the Shippen Brothers Lumber Mill, located in Ellijay. By 1898, the city had expanded its limits in every direction and now included the depot.
By 1900, all the buildings on the town square were brick. This included the recently completed Hyatt Hotel. Most of the other buildings in town were still of log construction, but new wood-frame buildings were being built. The Shippen Brothers Lumber Company production was expanding and exporting their lumber to Europe. Within the next few decades, this company grew to be one of the largest employers in Ellijay, often with five to six million feet of lumber in the yard at one time.
The population of Ellijay grew to 659 by 1910, and began to acquire many new modern conveniences such as electric lights and power, a telephone company and many new businesses.
Then in 1912, a fire ravaged the city, destroying 23 buildings. As a result, many new buildings were constructed under new and stricter fire and safety guidelines. The population, however, decreased slightly at this time to 632 in 1920.
During the 1920’s the town’s population began to grow again and, by this time, apples were being shipped out of the county and new storage facilities were built. Chickens were also shipped to markets outside of Ellijay and Gilmer County.
From the mid 1930’s to 1950, Ellijay received much assistance from the Federal WPA Programs. The old courthouse was removed from the center of town square and the Hyatt Hotel was remodeled to be the new courthouse. A park was created on the site of the old courthouse and the streets around the square were paved. A new street was built at this time entering town from the northeast. Other new roads, bridges, sidewalks and gutters were constructed to improve the city. A school and gymnasium were also built and other structures improved.
This growth began to impact the city’s infrastructure and in the l950’s and l960’s, a period of upgrading water systems, roads, and power supplies began. New low-rent housing appeared in l960 and a new hospital was built in l957. Georgia Highway 5 was widened in l962, new buildings around the square replaced old ones and some were remodeled. In 1974, the hospital was enlarged.
Currently, Ellijay attracts tourists who love the small-town feel and friendly atmosphere. Hotels and restaurants, unique shops, antiques and art galleries lend their charms to those who visit. A new courthouse constructed to resemble the old one, new streetscaping, family-oriented downtown events and the beautification of the square have stepped up the social and economic activity and have made Ellijay a popular destination.

Sponsored
Delaware, OH
Buckeye Basements, Inc.
Central Ohio's Basement Finishing ExpertsBest Of Houzz '13-'21

When the owner of this petite c. 1910 cottage in Riverside, RI first considered purchasing it, he fell for its charming front façade and the stunning rear water views. But it needed work. The weather-worn, water-facing back of the house was in dire need of attention. The first-floor kitchen/living/dining areas were cramped. There was no first-floor bathroom, and the second-floor bathroom was a fright. Most surprisingly, there was no rear-facing deck off the kitchen or living areas to allow for outdoor living along the Providence River.
In collaboration with the homeowner, KHS proposed a number of renovations and additions. The first priority was a new cantilevered rear deck off an expanded kitchen/dining area and reconstructed sunroom, which was brought up to the main floor level. The cantilever of the deck prevents the need for awkwardly tall supporting posts that could potentially be undermined by a future storm event or rising sea level.
To gain more first-floor living space, KHS also proposed capturing the corner of the wrapping front porch as interior kitchen space in order to create a more generous open kitchen/dining/living area, while having minimal impact on how the cottage appears from the curb. Underutilized space in the existing mudroom was also reconfigured to contain a modest full bath and laundry closet. Upstairs, a new full bath was created in an addition between existing bedrooms. It can be accessed from both the master bedroom and the stair hall. Additional closets were added, too.
New windows and doors, new heart pine flooring stained to resemble the patina of old pine flooring that remained upstairs, new tile and countertops, new cabinetry, new plumbing and lighting fixtures, as well as a new color palette complete the updated look. Upgraded insulation in areas exposed during the construction and augmented HVAC systems also greatly improved indoor comfort. Today, the cottage continues to charm while also accommodating modern amenities and features.

Adding an 2nd story to an existing ranch bungalow from the 50's can certainly dish out some challenges and surprises. With this project we were working with a boring rectangle design, so we added two bump outs at the front and one at the back to create some definition/curb appeal, giving the main floor a better flow, extending the existing two bedrooms, two baths, spacious kitchen, large pantry and a mudroom. The 2nd story was added to create a Master bedroom retreat featuring a spa-like bath, massive walk-in closet, loft area with bar and guest suite with a Murphy bed. Then there was the decisions with what to do with the space above the garage - the clients did not want cold floors, or any living space above non heated areas, so we designed this incredible covered porch with Tongue & Groove Cedar, a waterproof floor, and an exterior Fireplace clad in matching stone. Its become a true 3 season room for the family to enjoy outdoor movie nights by the fire, entertaining guests (after the kids go to sleep) and giving that option of outdoor living even in the event of rain. The clients built the home in a very unique neighbourhood. They wanted to design something unique, so the super modern exterior cladding, the 3rd dimension features, and the 2 covered porches gives the home a modern look in what they feel will be a timeless design for many decades to come.

When the owner of this petite c. 1910 cottage in Riverside, RI first considered purchasing it, he fell for its charming front façade and the stunning rear water views. But it needed work. The weather-worn, water-facing back of the house was in dire need of attention. The first-floor kitchen/living/dining areas were cramped. There was no first-floor bathroom, and the second-floor bathroom was a fright. Most surprisingly, there was no rear-facing deck off the kitchen or living areas to allow for outdoor living along the Providence River.
In collaboration with the homeowner, KHS proposed a number of renovations and additions. The first priority was a new cantilevered rear deck off an expanded kitchen/dining area and reconstructed sunroom, which was brought up to the main floor level. The cantilever of the deck prevents the need for awkwardly tall supporting posts that could potentially be undermined by a future storm event or rising sea level.
To gain more first-floor living space, KHS also proposed capturing the corner of the wrapping front porch as interior kitchen space in order to create a more generous open kitchen/dining/living area, while having minimal impact on how the cottage appears from the curb. Underutilized space in the existing mudroom was also reconfigured to contain a modest full bath and laundry closet. Upstairs, a new full bath was created in an addition between existing bedrooms. It can be accessed from both the master bedroom and the stair hall. Additional closets were added, too.
New windows and doors, new heart pine flooring stained to resemble the patina of old pine flooring that remained upstairs, new tile and countertops, new cabinetry, new plumbing and lighting fixtures, as well as a new color palette complete the updated look. Upgraded insulation in areas exposed during the construction and augmented HVAC systems also greatly improved indoor comfort. Today, the cottage continues to charm while also accommodating modern amenities and features.
43