Search results for "Creating events" in Home Design Ideas

Historic 1880s farmhouse renovation in Spring City, Utah by certified kitchen & bath designer Cindy McCarley. Traditional meets farmhouse chic with sage green cabinetry, marble backsplash, floral wallpaper & copper details. Award-winning interior design preserving vintage charm with modern luxury.

Design: Jules Duffy Design; This kitchen was gutted to the studs and renovated TWICE after 2 burst pipe events! It's finally complete! With windows and doors on 3 sides, the kitchen is flooded with amazing light and beautiful breezes. The finishes were selected from a driftwood palate as a nod to the beach one block away, The limestone floor (beyond practical) dares all to find the sand traveling in on kids' feet. Tons of storage and seating make this kitchen a hub for entertaining. Photography: Laura Moss
Find the right local pro for your project

The side of the staircase was a natural place to create a built-in TV and entertainment center with adjustable shelving and lots of storage. This space is bright and welcoming, and the open floor plan allows for easy entertaining. Dual sliding barn doors with black pipe handles form the entrance to the home gym.
Welcome to this sports lover’s paradise in West Chester, PA! We started with the completely blank palette of an unfinished basement and created space for everyone in the family by adding a main television watching space, a play area, a bar area, a full bathroom and an exercise room. The floor is COREtek engineered hardwood, which is waterproof and durable, and great for basements and floors that might take a beating. Combining wood, steel, tin and brick, this modern farmhouse looking basement is chic and ready to host family and friends to watch sporting events!
Rudloff Custom Builders has won Best of Houzz for Customer Service in 2014, 2015 2016, 2017 and 2019. We also were voted Best of Design in 2016, 2017, 2018, 2019 which only 2% of professionals receive. Rudloff Custom Builders has been featured on Houzz in their Kitchen of the Week, What to Know About Using Reclaimed Wood in the Kitchen as well as included in their Bathroom WorkBook article. We are a full service, certified remodeling company that covers all of the Philadelphia suburban area. This business, like most others, developed from a friendship of young entrepreneurs who wanted to make a difference in their clients’ lives, one household at a time. This relationship between partners is much more than a friendship. Edward and Stephen Rudloff are brothers who have renovated and built custom homes together paying close attention to detail. They are carpenters by trade and understand concept and execution. Rudloff Custom Builders will provide services for you with the highest level of professionalism, quality, detail, punctuality and craftsmanship, every step of the way along our journey together.
Specializing in residential construction allows us to connect with our clients early in the design phase to ensure that every detail is captured as you imagined. One stop shopping is essentially what you will receive with Rudloff Custom Builders from design of your project to the construction of your dreams, executed by on-site project managers and skilled craftsmen. Our concept: envision our client’s ideas and make them a reality. Our mission: CREATING LIFETIME RELATIONSHIPS BUILT ON TRUST AND INTEGRITY.
Photo Credit: Linda McManus Images

Photographer: Dan Piassick
Large elegant formal and open concept porcelain tile living room photo in Dallas with blue walls and a standard fireplace
Large elegant formal and open concept porcelain tile living room photo in Dallas with blue walls and a standard fireplace

“Greensboro’s Grandest House” was recently selected as the 2013 ShowHouse presented by the Junior League of Greensboro and national media sponsor Traditional Home. Among the local and national design talent featured in this special fundraising event was design duo Patti Allen and Stephanie James of Furnitureland South, who transformed the estate’s patio into a classic, colorful and cozy space.
Built in the early 1920s, the Adamsleigh estate is more than 15,000 square feet and covers 13.5 acres that include pools, a lake, tennis courts, a stone gazebo and a five-car garage. The 30×60 patio presented a special design challenge – the space was in disrepair and sat unevenly on a downward slope. Rising to the challenge, Patti and Stephanie partnered with Outer Space Landscapes to change the elevation of the patio in order to draw attention to the focal point and inspiration of the project: a beautiful canopy sofa by Century Furniture.
The addition of 6 tons of landscaping material included Pennsylvania blue stone, pebbles, sand, cherry trees, azaleas and geraniums all blooming in the colors of the latest Sunbrella fabrics featured in the outdoor furnishings: crisp, sandy white, fuchsia and tangerine. Patti and Stephanie wanted to showcase clean and classic outdoor style with an edge of color and unexpected elements. Playful ottomans by Baker float in the space for multiple functions, adding an extra pop of color to the sophisticated setting which includes a dining table by Oscar de la Renta, organic spot tables from Phillips Collection, and daybeds and seating from Century Furniture.
Combining their passion for interior spaces with signature designs, Allen and James Designs gave this outdoor space the comfort, color and style it deserved.
Patti and Stephanie, co-founders of Allen and James Designs, are committed to inspire and influence unique spaces for home, work, play and relaxation. With over 25 years of experience and a dedication to client relationships, their infusion of international inspiration with style, color, texture and vision make Patti and Stephanie a creative duo capable of exceeding the expectations of any client’s design project. By forming over 400 connections with key manufactures such as Henredon, Century, Lillian August, Dovetail, Maitland Smith and Huntington House, Allen and James Designs can provide a broad range of options that virtually meet any need a client has to create their dream home.

Sponsored
Columbus, OH
Hope Restoration & General Contracting
Columbus Design-Build, Kitchen & Bath Remodeling, Historic Renovations

This kitchen, laundry room, and bathroom in Elkins Park, PA was completely renovated and re-envisioned to create a fresh and inviting space with refined farmhouse details and maximum functionality that speaks not only to the client's taste but to and the architecture and feel of the entire home.
The design includes functional cabinetry with a focus on organization. We enlarged the window above the farmhouse sink to allow as much natural light as possible and created a striking focal point with a custom vent hood and handpainted terra cotta tile. High-end materials were used throughout including quartzite countertops, beautiful tile, brass lighting, and classic European plumbing fixtures.

Stuart Wade, Envision Virtual Tours
The second-largest and most developed of Georgia's barrier islands, St. Simons is approximately twelve miles long and nearly three miles wide at its widest stretch (roughly the size of Manhattan Island in New York). The island is located in Glynn County on Georgia's coast and lies east of Brunswick (the seat of Glynn County), south of Little St. Simons Island and the Hampton River, and north of Jekyll Island. The resort community of Sea Island is separated from St. Simons on the east by the Black Banks River. Known for its oak tree canopies and historic landmarks, St. Simons is both a tourist destination and, according to the 2010 U.S. census, home to 12,743 residents.
Early History
The earliest
St. Simons Island Village
record of human habitation on the island dates to the Late Archaic Period, about 5,000 to 3,000 years ago. Remnants of shell rings left behind by Native Americans from this era survive on many of the barrier islands, including St. Simons. Centuries later, during the period known by historians as the chiefdom era, the Guale Indians established a chiefdom centered on St. Catherines Island and used St. Simons as their hunting and fishing grounds. By 1500 the Guale had established a permanent village of about 200 people on St. Simons, which they called Guadalquini.
Beginning in 1568, the Spanish attempted to create missions along the Georgia coast. Catholic missions were the primary means by which Georgia's indigenous Native American chiefdoms were assimilated into the Spanish colonial system along the northern frontier of greater Spanish Florida. In the 1600s St. Simons became home to two Spanish missions: San Buenaventura de Guadalquini, on the southern tip of the island, and Santo Domingo de Asao (or Asajo), on the northern tip. Located on the inland side of the island were the pagan refugee villages of San Simón, the island's namesake, and Ocotonico. In 1684 pirate raids left the missions and villages largely abandoned.
Colonial History
As
Fort Frederica
early as 1670, with Great Britain's establishment of the colony of Carolina and its expansion into Georgia territory, Spanish rule was threatened by the English. The Georgia coast was considered "debatable land" by England and Spain, even though Spain had fully retreated from St. Simons by 1702. Thirty-one years later General James Edward Oglethorpe founded the English settlement of Savannah. In 1736 he established Fort Frederica, named after the heir to the British throne, Frederick Louis, prince of Wales, on the west side of St. Simons Island to protect Savannah and the Carolinas from the Spanish threat.
Between 1736 and 1749 Fort Frederica was the hub of British military operations along the Georgia frontier. A town of the same name grew up around the fort and was of great importance to the new colony. By 1740 Frederica's population was 1,000. In 1736 the congregation of what would become Christ Church was organized within Fort Frederica as a mission of the Church of England. Charles Wesley led the first services. In 1742 Britain's decisive victory over Spain in the Battle of Bloody Marsh, during the War of Jenkins' Ear, ended the Spanish threat to the Georgia coast. When the British regimen disbanded in 1749, most of the townspeople relocated to the mainland. Fort Frederica went into decline and, except for a short time of prosperity during the 1760s and 1770s under the leadership of merchant James Spalding, never fully recovered. Today the historic citadel's tabby ruins are maintained by the National Park Service.
Plantation Era
By the start of the American Revolution (1775-83), Fort Frederica was obsolete, and St. Simons was left largely uninhabited as most of its residents joined the patriot army. Besides hosting a small Georgia naval victory on the Fort Frederica River, providing guns from its famous fort for use at Fort Morris in Sunbury, and serving as an arena for pillaging by privateers and British soldiers, the island played almost no role in the war.
Following the war, many of the townspeople, their businesses destroyed, turned to agriculture. The island was transformed into fourteen cotton plantations after acres of live oak trees were cleared for farm land and used for building American warships, including the famous USS Constitution, or "Old Ironsides." Although rice was the predominant crop along the neighboring Altamaha River, St. Simons was known for its production of long-staple cotton, which soon came to be known as Sea Island cotton.
Between
Ebos Landing
the 1780s and the outbreak of the Civil War (1861-65), St. Simons's plantation culture flourished. The saline atmosphere and the availability of cheap slave labor proved an ideal combination for the cultivation of Sea Island cotton. In 1803 a group of Ebo slaves who survived the Middle Passage and arrived on the west side of St. Simons staged a rebellion and drowned themselves. The sacred site is known today as Ebos Landing.
One of the largest owners of land and slaves on St. Simons was Pierce Butler, master of Hampton Point Plantation, located on the northern end of the island. By 1793 Butler owned more than 500 slaves, who cultivated 800 acres of cotton on St. Simons and 300 acres of rice on Butler's Island in the Altamaha River delta. Butler's grandson, Pierce Mease Butler, who at the age of sixteen inherited a share of his grandfather's estate in 1826, was responsible for the largest sale of human beings in the history of the United States: in 1859, to restore his squandered fortune, he sold 429 slaves in Savannah for more than $300,000. The British actress and writer Fanny Kemble, whose tumultuous marriage to Pierce ended in divorce in 1849, published an eyewitness account of the evils of slavery on St. Simons in her book Journal of a Residence on a Georgian Plantation in 1838-1839 (1863).
Another
Retreat Plantation
large owner of land and slaves on St. Simons was Major William Page, a friend and employee of Pierce Butler Sr. Before purchasing Retreat Plantation on the southwestern tip of the island in 1804, Page managed the Hampton plantation and Butler's Island. Upon Page's death in 1827, Thomas Butler King inherited the land together with his wife, Page's daughter, Anna Matilda Page King. King expanded his father-in-law's planting empire on St. Simons as well as on the mainland, and by 1835 Retreat Plantation alone was home to as many as 355 slaves.
The center of life during the island's plantation era was Christ Church, Frederica. Organized in 1807 by a group of island planters, the Episcopal church is the second oldest in the Diocese of Georgia. Embargoes imposed by the War of 1812 (1812-15) prevented the parishioners from building a church structure, so they worshiped in the home of John Beck, which stood on the site of Oglethorpe's only St. Simons residence, Orange Hall.
The first Christ Church building, finished on the present site in 1820, was ruined by occupying Union troops during the Civil War. In 1884 the Reverend Anson Dodge Jr. rebuilt the church as a memorial to his first wife, Ellen. The cruciform building with a trussed gothic roof and stained-glass windows remains active today as Christ Church.
Civil War and Beyond
The
St. Simons Island Lighthouse
outbreak of the Civil War in 1861 put a sudden end to St. Simons's lucrative plantation era. In January of that year, Confederate troops were stationed at the south end of the island to guard the entrance to Brunswick Harbor. Slaves from Retreat Plantation, owned by Thomas Butler King, built earthworks and batteries. Plantation residents were scattered—the men joined the Confederate army and their families moved to the mainland. Cannon fire was heard on the island in December 1861, and Confederate troops retreated in February 1862, after dynamiting the lighthouse to keep its beacon from aiding Union troops. Soon thereafter, Union troops occupied the island, which was used as a camp for freed slaves. By August 1862 more than 500 former slaves lived on St. Simons, including Susie King Taylor, who organized a school for freed slave children. But in November the ex-slaves were taken to Hilton Head, South Carolina, and Fernandina, Florida, leaving the island abandoned.
After the Civil War the island never returned to its status as an agricultural community. The plantations lay dormant because there were no slaves to work the fields. After Union general William T. Sherman's January 1865 Special Field Order No. 15 —a demand that former plantations be divided and distributed to former slaves—was overturned by U.S. president Andrew Johnson less than a year later, freedmen and women were forced to work as sharecroppers on the small farms that dotted the land previously occupied by the sprawling plantations.
By
St. Simons Lumber Mills
1870 real economic recovery began with the reestablishment of the timber industry. Norman Dodge and Titus G. Meigs of New York set up lumber mill operations at Gascoigne Bluff, formerly Hamilton Plantation. The lumber mills provided welcome employment for both blacks and whites and also provided mail and passenger boats to the mainland. Such water traffic, together with the construction of a new lighthouse in 1872, designed by architect Charles B. Cluskey, marked the beginning of St. Simons's tourism industry. The keeper of the lighthouse created a small amusement park, which drew many visitors, as did the seemingly miraculous light that traveled from the top of the lighthouse tower to the bottom. The island became a summer retreat for families from the mainland, particularly from Baxley, Brunswick, and Waycross.
The island's resort industry was thriving by the 1880s. Beachfront structures, such as a new pier and grand hotel, were built on the southeastern end of the island and could be accessed by ferry. Around this time wealthy northerners began vacationing on the island.
Twentieth Century
The
St. Simons Island Pier and Village
opening in 1924 of the Brunswick–St. Simons Highway, today known as the Torras Causeway, was a milestone in the development of resorts in the area. St. Simons's beaches were now easily accessible to locals and tourists alike. More than 5,000 automobiles took the short drive from Brunswick to St. Simons via the causeway on its opening day, paving the way for convenient residential and resort development.
In 1926 automotive pioneer Howard Coffin of Detroit, Michigan, bought large tracts of land on St. Simons, including the former Retreat Plantation, and constructed a golf course, yacht club, paved roads, and a residential subdivision. Although the causeway had brought large numbers of summer people to the island, St. Simons remained a small community with only a few hundred permanent residents until the 1940s.
The
St. Simons Island
outbreak of World War II (1941-45) brought more visitors and residents to St. Simons. Troops stationed at Jacksonville, Florida; Savannah; and nearby Camp Stewart took weekend vacations on the island, and a new naval air base and radar school became home to even more officers and soldiers. The increased wartime population brought the island its first public school. With a major shipyard for the production of Liberty ships in nearby Brunswick, the waters of St. Simons became active with German U-boats. In April 1942, just off the coast, the Texas Company oil tanker S. S. Oklahoma and the S. S. Esso Baton Rouge were torpedoed by the Germans, bringing the war very close to home for island residents.
Due in large part to the military's improvement of the island's infrastructure during the war, development on the island boomed in the 1950s and 1960s. More permanent homes and subdivisions were built, and the island was no longer just a summer resort but also a thriving community. In 1950 the Methodist conference and retreat center Epworth by the Sea opened on Gascoigne Bluff. In 1961 novelist Eugenia Price visited St. Simons and began work on her first works of fiction, known as the St. Simons Trilogy. Inspired by real events on the island, Price's trilogy renewed interest in the history of Georgia's coast, and the novelist herself relocated to the island in 1965 and lived there for thirty-one years. St. Simons is also home to contemporary Georgia writer Tina McElroy Ansa.
Since
Epworth by the Sea
1980 St. Simons's population has doubled. The island's continued status as a vacation destination and its ongoing development boom have put historic landmarks and natural areas at risk. While such landmarks as the Fort Frederica ruins and the Battle of Bloody Marsh site are preserved and maintained by the National Park Service, and while the historic lighthouse is maintained by the Coastal Georgia Historical Society, historic Ebos Landing has been taken over by a sewage treatment plant.
Several coastal organizations have formed in recent years to save natural areas on the island. The St. Simons Land Trust, for example, has received donations of large tracts of land and plans to protect property in the island's three traditional African American neighborhoods. Despite its rapid growth and development, St. Simons remains one of the most beautiful and important islands on the Georgia coast.

Angle Eye Photography
Inspiration for a rustic built-in desk carpeted study room remodel in Philadelphia with white walls
Inspiration for a rustic built-in desk carpeted study room remodel in Philadelphia with white walls

An under used whirlpool tub and inefficient layout were rectified by removing the tub and outdated glass block shower to create a generous walk-in shower area and dual vanity with built ins for storage. Woods and textured materials add warmth and sophistication to the space.

This project was featured in Midwest Home magazine as the winner of ASID Life in Color. The addition of a kitchen with custom shaker-style cabinetry and a large shiplap island is perfect for entertaining and hosting events for family and friends. Quartz counters that mimic the look of marble were chosen for their durability and ease of maintenance. Open shelving with brass sconces above the sink create a focal point for the large open space.
Putting a modern spin on the traditional nautical/coastal theme was a goal. We took the quintessential palette of navy and white and added pops of green, stylish patterns, and unexpected artwork to create a fresh bright space. Grasscloth on the back of the built in bookshelves and console table along with rattan and the bentwood side table add warm texture. Finishes and furnishings were selected with a practicality to fit their lifestyle and the connection to the outdoors. A large sectional along with the custom cocktail table in the living room area provide ample room for game night or a quiet evening watching movies with the kids.
To learn more visit https://k2interiordesigns.com
To view article in Midwest Home visit https://midwesthome.com/interior-spaces/life-in-color-2019/
Photography - Spacecrafting

Sponsored
Columbus, OH
Hope Restoration & General Contracting
Columbus Design-Build, Kitchen & Bath Remodeling, Historic Renovations

Features:
Intricate Carving: The door showcases a stunning, deeply carved scene featuring a moose walking through a winter landscape. The level of detail in the carving is impressive, capturing the textures of the moose's fur, the snow, and the trees.
Winter Theme: The design evokes a strong connection to winter with its depiction of snow and a moose in a snowy landscape.
Textured Background: The background of the door features a textured pattern, adding depth and visual interest.
Material and Construction:
Wood: The door appears to be constructed from a rich, dark wood, likely walnut or a similar hardwood.
Sturdiness: The door appears to be well-constructed and sturdy, with a solid frame.
Application
The moose door, with its unique and captivating design, would be well-suited for a variety of applications where a connection to nature and a touch of rustic elegance are desired. Here are some potential applications:
Residential:
Homes with a Rustic or Nature-Inspired Aesthetic: The door would be a striking addition to homes with a rustic, log cabin, or country-style design. It would also be a perfect fit for homes with a mountain or winter theme.
Mountain Cabins and Lodges: The door's winter theme would perfectly complement the ambiance of a mountain cabin or lodge.
Homes with a Hunting Theme: The door's depiction of a moose would be a perfect fit for homes with a hunting theme.
Game Rooms and Man Caves: The door could create a unique and impressive entrance for a game room or man cave.
Commercial:
Eco-Lodges and Retreats: The door's natural theme would align well with the ethos of eco-friendly accommodations.
Hunting Lodges: The door would be a perfect fit for hunting lodges, creating a welcoming and inviting entrance.
Restaurants and Bars with a Nature Theme: The door could create a unique and captivating entrance for restaurants and bars with a nature theme.
Outdoor Gear Stores and Outfitters: The door could be used to create a striking entrance for outdoor gear stores and outfitters, showcasing their connection to nature and adventure.
Other Applications:
Nature-Themed Event Spaces: The door could add a touch of rustic elegance to event spaces such as wedding venues or nature-themed retreats.
Art Galleries and Museums: The door's artistic nature could make it a suitable addition to spaces dedicated to art and nature.
Overall, the moose door's unique design and high-quality craftsmanship make it a versatile and appealing option for a variety of applications where a connection to nature and a touch of rustic elegance are desired.

Transitional built-in desk dark wood floor and brown floor study room photo in Dallas with white walls

This large side yard in the Lakeshore Historic District was redeveloped into a natural woodland clearing. Stormwater from the roof has been directed through a steel runnel into a native rain garden where it replenishes the cistern for a bubbling stone fountain. Weathered concrete slabs act as a thread from a firepit seating area, across the rain garden to the rear yard. This additional garden has a lawn parking pad, extensive kitchen gardens and a custom-built garden shower for visits to the beach.
Darris Lee Harris Photography

Inspiration for a mid-sized contemporary 3/4 gray floor bathroom remodel in Miami with flat-panel cabinets, white cabinets, gray walls, a two-piece toilet, an integrated sink, marble countertops and white countertops

Tricia Shay Photography
Inspiration for a mid-sized contemporary wooden straight open and cable railing staircase remodel in Milwaukee
Inspiration for a mid-sized contemporary wooden straight open and cable railing staircase remodel in Milwaukee
1




