Search results for "Features expanded" in Home Design Ideas

Includes one 18" leaf to extend to 78" and seat up to 6.
Inspired by European 19th Century antiques that create an eclectic mix of found unique items. Features a Smoked Oak finish and the hardware features classic revival style with knobs and rings and Directoire shield back plates finished in a Dark Antique Brass finish

We expanded the owner's suite bathroom by a few feet to accommodate a double vanity. Hexagon tile in a soothing shade of jade green adds eye-catching character to this spa-like bathroom. Modern matte black fixtures provide just the right contrast against the green tile and warm wood vanity to complete the design.

The classic clawfoot tub serves as a luxurious focal point, inviting relaxation with its timeless design. Its smooth curves and freestanding style add an elegant touch, perfectly complementing the room’s serene, vintage-inspired ambiance.
Find the right local pro for your project

Reagen Taylor
Family room - small 1950s enclosed medium tone wood floor family room idea in Portland with white walls
Family room - small 1950s enclosed medium tone wood floor family room idea in Portland with white walls

This Transitional Farmhouse Kitchen was completely remodeled and the home is nestled on the border of Pasadena and South Pasadena. Our goal was to keep the original charm of our client’s home while updating the kitchen in a way that was fresh and current.
Our design inspiration began with a deep green soapstone counter top paired with creamy white cabinetry. Carrera marble subway tile for the backsplash is a luxurious splurge and adds classic elegance to the space. The stainless steel appliances and sink create a more transitional feel, while the shaker style cabinetry doors and schoolhouse light fixture are in keeping with the original style of the home.
Tile flooring resembling concrete is clean and simple and seeded glass in the upper cabinet doors help make the space feel open and light. This kitchen has a hidden microwave and custom range hood design, as well as a new pantry area, for added storage. The pantry area features an appliance garage and deep-set counter top for multi-purpose use. These features add value to this small space.
The finishing touches are polished nickel cabinet hardware, which add a vintage look and the cafe curtains are the handiwork of the homeowner. We truly enjoyed the collaborative effort in this kitchen.
Photography by Erika Beirman

Stuart Wade, Envision Virtual Tours
The second-largest and most developed of Georgia's barrier islands, St. Simons is approximately twelve miles long and nearly three miles wide at its widest stretch (roughly the size of Manhattan Island in New York). The island is located in Glynn County on Georgia's coast and lies east of Brunswick (the seat of Glynn County), south of Little St. Simons Island and the Hampton River, and north of Jekyll Island. The resort community of Sea Island is separated from St. Simons on the east by the Black Banks River. Known for its oak tree canopies and historic landmarks, St. Simons is both a tourist destination and, according to the 2010 U.S. census, home to 12,743 residents.
Early History
The earliest
St. Simons Island Village
record of human habitation on the island dates to the Late Archaic Period, about 5,000 to 3,000 years ago. Remnants of shell rings left behind by Native Americans from this era survive on many of the barrier islands, including St. Simons. Centuries later, during the period known by historians as the chiefdom era, the Guale Indians established a chiefdom centered on St. Catherines Island and used St. Simons as their hunting and fishing grounds. By 1500 the Guale had established a permanent village of about 200 people on St. Simons, which they called Guadalquini.
Beginning in 1568, the Spanish attempted to create missions along the Georgia coast. Catholic missions were the primary means by which Georgia's indigenous Native American chiefdoms were assimilated into the Spanish colonial system along the northern frontier of greater Spanish Florida. In the 1600s St. Simons became home to two Spanish missions: San Buenaventura de Guadalquini, on the southern tip of the island, and Santo Domingo de Asao (or Asajo), on the northern tip. Located on the inland side of the island were the pagan refugee villages of San Simón, the island's namesake, and Ocotonico. In 1684 pirate raids left the missions and villages largely abandoned.
Colonial History
As
Fort Frederica
early as 1670, with Great Britain's establishment of the colony of Carolina and its expansion into Georgia territory, Spanish rule was threatened by the English. The Georgia coast was considered "debatable land" by England and Spain, even though Spain had fully retreated from St. Simons by 1702. Thirty-one years later General James Edward Oglethorpe founded the English settlement of Savannah. In 1736 he established Fort Frederica, named after the heir to the British throne, Frederick Louis, prince of Wales, on the west side of St. Simons Island to protect Savannah and the Carolinas from the Spanish threat.
Between 1736 and 1749 Fort Frederica was the hub of British military operations along the Georgia frontier. A town of the same name grew up around the fort and was of great importance to the new colony. By 1740 Frederica's population was 1,000. In 1736 the congregation of what would become Christ Church was organized within Fort Frederica as a mission of the Church of England. Charles Wesley led the first services. In 1742 Britain's decisive victory over Spain in the Battle of Bloody Marsh, during the War of Jenkins' Ear, ended the Spanish threat to the Georgia coast. When the British regimen disbanded in 1749, most of the townspeople relocated to the mainland. Fort Frederica went into decline and, except for a short time of prosperity during the 1760s and 1770s under the leadership of merchant James Spalding, never fully recovered. Today the historic citadel's tabby ruins are maintained by the National Park Service.
Plantation Era
By the start of the American Revolution (1775-83), Fort Frederica was obsolete, and St. Simons was left largely uninhabited as most of its residents joined the patriot army. Besides hosting a small Georgia naval victory on the Fort Frederica River, providing guns from its famous fort for use at Fort Morris in Sunbury, and serving as an arena for pillaging by privateers and British soldiers, the island played almost no role in the war.
Following the war, many of the townspeople, their businesses destroyed, turned to agriculture. The island was transformed into fourteen cotton plantations after acres of live oak trees were cleared for farm land and used for building American warships, including the famous USS Constitution, or "Old Ironsides." Although rice was the predominant crop along the neighboring Altamaha River, St. Simons was known for its production of long-staple cotton, which soon came to be known as Sea Island cotton.
Between
Ebos Landing
the 1780s and the outbreak of the Civil War (1861-65), St. Simons's plantation culture flourished. The saline atmosphere and the availability of cheap slave labor proved an ideal combination for the cultivation of Sea Island cotton. In 1803 a group of Ebo slaves who survived the Middle Passage and arrived on the west side of St. Simons staged a rebellion and drowned themselves. The sacred site is known today as Ebos Landing.
One of the largest owners of land and slaves on St. Simons was Pierce Butler, master of Hampton Point Plantation, located on the northern end of the island. By 1793 Butler owned more than 500 slaves, who cultivated 800 acres of cotton on St. Simons and 300 acres of rice on Butler's Island in the Altamaha River delta. Butler's grandson, Pierce Mease Butler, who at the age of sixteen inherited a share of his grandfather's estate in 1826, was responsible for the largest sale of human beings in the history of the United States: in 1859, to restore his squandered fortune, he sold 429 slaves in Savannah for more than $300,000. The British actress and writer Fanny Kemble, whose tumultuous marriage to Pierce ended in divorce in 1849, published an eyewitness account of the evils of slavery on St. Simons in her book Journal of a Residence on a Georgian Plantation in 1838-1839 (1863).
Another
Retreat Plantation
large owner of land and slaves on St. Simons was Major William Page, a friend and employee of Pierce Butler Sr. Before purchasing Retreat Plantation on the southwestern tip of the island in 1804, Page managed the Hampton plantation and Butler's Island. Upon Page's death in 1827, Thomas Butler King inherited the land together with his wife, Page's daughter, Anna Matilda Page King. King expanded his father-in-law's planting empire on St. Simons as well as on the mainland, and by 1835 Retreat Plantation alone was home to as many as 355 slaves.
The center of life during the island's plantation era was Christ Church, Frederica. Organized in 1807 by a group of island planters, the Episcopal church is the second oldest in the Diocese of Georgia. Embargoes imposed by the War of 1812 (1812-15) prevented the parishioners from building a church structure, so they worshiped in the home of John Beck, which stood on the site of Oglethorpe's only St. Simons residence, Orange Hall.
The first Christ Church building, finished on the present site in 1820, was ruined by occupying Union troops during the Civil War. In 1884 the Reverend Anson Dodge Jr. rebuilt the church as a memorial to his first wife, Ellen. The cruciform building with a trussed gothic roof and stained-glass windows remains active today as Christ Church.
Civil War and Beyond
The
St. Simons Island Lighthouse
outbreak of the Civil War in 1861 put a sudden end to St. Simons's lucrative plantation era. In January of that year, Confederate troops were stationed at the south end of the island to guard the entrance to Brunswick Harbor. Slaves from Retreat Plantation, owned by Thomas Butler King, built earthworks and batteries. Plantation residents were scattered—the men joined the Confederate army and their families moved to the mainland. Cannon fire was heard on the island in December 1861, and Confederate troops retreated in February 1862, after dynamiting the lighthouse to keep its beacon from aiding Union troops. Soon thereafter, Union troops occupied the island, which was used as a camp for freed slaves. By August 1862 more than 500 former slaves lived on St. Simons, including Susie King Taylor, who organized a school for freed slave children. But in November the ex-slaves were taken to Hilton Head, South Carolina, and Fernandina, Florida, leaving the island abandoned.
After the Civil War the island never returned to its status as an agricultural community. The plantations lay dormant because there were no slaves to work the fields. After Union general William T. Sherman's January 1865 Special Field Order No. 15 —a demand that former plantations be divided and distributed to former slaves—was overturned by U.S. president Andrew Johnson less than a year later, freedmen and women were forced to work as sharecroppers on the small farms that dotted the land previously occupied by the sprawling plantations.
By
St. Simons Lumber Mills
1870 real economic recovery began with the reestablishment of the timber industry. Norman Dodge and Titus G. Meigs of New York set up lumber mill operations at Gascoigne Bluff, formerly Hamilton Plantation. The lumber mills provided welcome employment for both blacks and whites and also provided mail and passenger boats to the mainland. Such water traffic, together with the construction of a new lighthouse in 1872, designed by architect Charles B. Cluskey, marked the beginning of St. Simons's tourism industry. The keeper of the lighthouse created a small amusement park, which drew many visitors, as did the seemingly miraculous light that traveled from the top of the lighthouse tower to the bottom. The island became a summer retreat for families from the mainland, particularly from Baxley, Brunswick, and Waycross.
The island's resort industry was thriving by the 1880s. Beachfront structures, such as a new pier and grand hotel, were built on the southeastern end of the island and could be accessed by ferry. Around this time wealthy northerners began vacationing on the island.
Twentieth Century
The
St. Simons Island Pier and Village
opening in 1924 of the Brunswick–St. Simons Highway, today known as the Torras Causeway, was a milestone in the development of resorts in the area. St. Simons's beaches were now easily accessible to locals and tourists alike. More than 5,000 automobiles took the short drive from Brunswick to St. Simons via the causeway on its opening day, paving the way for convenient residential and resort development.
In 1926 automotive pioneer Howard Coffin of Detroit, Michigan, bought large tracts of land on St. Simons, including the former Retreat Plantation, and constructed a golf course, yacht club, paved roads, and a residential subdivision. Although the causeway had brought large numbers of summer people to the island, St. Simons remained a small community with only a few hundred permanent residents until the 1940s.
The
St. Simons Island
outbreak of World War II (1941-45) brought more visitors and residents to St. Simons. Troops stationed at Jacksonville, Florida; Savannah; and nearby Camp Stewart took weekend vacations on the island, and a new naval air base and radar school became home to even more officers and soldiers. The increased wartime population brought the island its first public school. With a major shipyard for the production of Liberty ships in nearby Brunswick, the waters of St. Simons became active with German U-boats. In April 1942, just off the coast, the Texas Company oil tanker S. S. Oklahoma and the S. S. Esso Baton Rouge were torpedoed by the Germans, bringing the war very close to home for island residents.
Due in large part to the military's improvement of the island's infrastructure during the war, development on the island boomed in the 1950s and 1960s. More permanent homes and subdivisions were built, and the island was no longer just a summer resort but also a thriving community. In 1950 the Methodist conference and retreat center Epworth by the Sea opened on Gascoigne Bluff. In 1961 novelist Eugenia Price visited St. Simons and began work on her first works of fiction, known as the St. Simons Trilogy. Inspired by real events on the island, Price's trilogy renewed interest in the history of Georgia's coast, and the novelist herself relocated to the island in 1965 and lived there for thirty-one years. St. Simons is also home to contemporary Georgia writer Tina McElroy Ansa.
Since
Epworth by the Sea
1980 St. Simons's population has doubled. The island's continued status as a vacation destination and its ongoing development boom have put historic landmarks and natural areas at risk. While such landmarks as the Fort Frederica ruins and the Battle of Bloody Marsh site are preserved and maintained by the National Park Service, and while the historic lighthouse is maintained by the Coastal Georgia Historical Society, historic Ebos Landing has been taken over by a sewage treatment plant.
Several coastal organizations have formed in recent years to save natural areas on the island. The St. Simons Land Trust, for example, has received donations of large tracts of land and plans to protect property in the island's three traditional African American neighborhoods. Despite its rapid growth and development, St. Simons remains one of the most beautiful and important islands on the Georgia coast.

Request Free Quote
This freeform swimming pool in Wheeling, IL holds 33,000 gallons. The raised hot tub is 7'0" round, and has a spillover water feature into the swimming pool. The coping for the pool and spa is poured-in-place concrete. The water feature and slide complete the recreational residential compact water park for this family.

We expanded the owner's suite bathroom by a few feet to accommodate a double vanity. Hexagon tile in a soothing shade of jade green adds eye-catching character to this spa-like bathroom. Modern matte black fixtures provide just the right contrast against the green tile and warm wood vanity to complete the design.

This is a luxury master bathroom remodeled by Cal Green Remodeling. This bathroom was taken down to the studs and expanded to accommodate a large shower with a standalone tub.
This bathroom is one of three bathrooms in a full home remodel, where all three bathrooms have matching finishes, marble floors, beautiful modern floating vanities, and light up vanity mirror.

Kitchen - transitional l-shaped medium tone wood floor and brown floor kitchen idea in Charleston with an undermount sink, shaker cabinets, green cabinets, gray backsplash, stone slab backsplash, paneled appliances, an island and white countertops

Photo of a small modern drought-tolerant, rock and partial sun courtyard river rock landscaping in Seattle for winter.

This outdoor kitchen (complete with a barbecue pit and bar seating), sits on the natural stone deck right next to the infinity pool (which has a very unique fire feature). This is a great place to invite friends over for a cookout.

Residing in Philadelphia, it only seemed natural for a blue and white color scheme. The combination of Satin White and Colonial Blue creates instant drama in this refaced kitchen. Cambria countertop in Weybourne, include a waterfall side on the peninsula that elevate the design. An elegant backslash in a taupe ceramic adds a subtle backdrop.
Photography: Christian Giannelli
www.christiangiannelli.com/

Juliana Franco
Dedicated laundry room - mid-sized mid-century modern single-wall porcelain tile and gray floor dedicated laundry room idea in Houston with flat-panel cabinets, white walls, a stacked washer/dryer and green cabinets
Dedicated laundry room - mid-sized mid-century modern single-wall porcelain tile and gray floor dedicated laundry room idea in Houston with flat-panel cabinets, white walls, a stacked washer/dryer and green cabinets

Major gut renovation of this coastal estate preserved its basic layout while expanding the kitchen. A veranda and a pair of gazebos were also added to the home to maximize outdoor living and the water views. The interior merged the homeowners eclectic style with the traditional style of the home.
Photographer: James R. Salomon
Contractor: Carl Anderson, Anderson Contracting Services

Sponsored
Sunbury, OH
J.Holderby - Renovations
Franklin County's Leading General Contractors - 2X Best of Houzz!

Bathroom Remodeling Project in Newtown Grant by BMR Belmax Remodeling
BMR Belmax Remodeling recently completed a stunning transformation of an outdated master bathroom in Newtown Grant. The original layout featured a small corner shower and a soaking tub, but the homeowner envisioned a more spacious and functional design.
Key upgrades included:
Expanded Shower with Bench: The shower was enlarged to create a more comfortable space, complete with a built-in bench for convenience.
Freestanding Tub: The new freestanding tub adds a touch of elegance and serves as a modern centerpiece in the updated bathroom.
Repositioned Toilet: To expand the shower area, we relocated the toilet, optimizing the layout for both space and flow.
Double Sink Vanity: The existing single sink was converted to a double, with new plumbing installed to accommodate the upgrade.
Enhanced Lighting: Recessed lighting was added to the shower, and new mirrors and lights were installed above the vanity for improved functionality and ambiance.
The final result is a modern, luxurious bathroom that combines style, functionality, and comfort—perfect for the homeowner’s everyday retreat!

Bathroom Remodeling Project in Newtown Grant by BMR Belmax Remodeling
BMR Belmax Remodeling recently completed a stunning transformation of an outdated master bathroom in Newtown Grant. The original layout featured a small corner shower and a soaking tub, but the homeowner envisioned a more spacious and functional design.
Key upgrades included:
Expanded Shower with Bench: The shower was enlarged to create a more comfortable space, complete with a built-in bench for convenience.
Freestanding Tub: The new freestanding tub adds a touch of elegance and serves as a modern centerpiece in the updated bathroom.
Repositioned Toilet: To expand the shower area, we relocated the toilet, optimizing the layout for both space and flow.
Double Sink Vanity: The existing single sink was converted to a double, with new plumbing installed to accommodate the upgrade.
Enhanced Lighting: Recessed lighting was added to the shower, and new mirrors and lights were installed above the vanity for improved functionality and ambiance.
The final result is a modern, luxurious bathroom that combines style, functionality, and comfort—perfect for the homeowner’s everyday retreat!

Designed by Jen Denham of Reico Kitchen & Bath in White Plains MD in collaboration with Personal Touch Installation, this transitional bathroom features Merillat Basics cabinets in the Collins door style with a Cotton finish. The vanity countertops are Steel Gray Granite Leathered.
The bathroom includes Kohler fixtures, Gaya Onyx Blue Wavy 12x24 (shower wall tiles), Glazzio Martine Blue NWG-793 (accent tiles) and Arpa Expo Wood Multicolor 5x32 Planks (flooring tiles).
“It was a strangely laid out bathroom, with a large garden tub that was never used. The clients wanted to expand the shower as much as possible, keeping in mind of the window hampering our ability to expand the shower length wise,” said Jen. “We made the shower look as large as possible with the space we had by taking tile to the ceiling and creating two waterfall accents to bring the blue from the floor into the shower. The clients wanted to create a more spa like feel with the pebble tile flooring and Kohler Hydrorail Shower column. We also worked in a knee wall with glass panel to keep the space feeling more open and worked in a small corner bench as well.”
“We tried to create as much storage and function as possible. We were able to design a window bench, make up area, and squeeze in a tall pantry cabinet for more storage. They really liked the gray/blue color scheme that is present in the rest of the house so we tried to tie that in as best we could to make the primary bath gel with the look of the rest of the house,” said Jen.
“We had a vision of what we wanted our bathroom to look like and they made it happen. It turned out beautiful and everyone was so wonderful to work with,” said the clients.
Photos courtesy of BTW Images LLC.
53



