Search results for "Fortunate" in Home Design Ideas

Stuart Wade, Envision Virtual Tours
The second-largest and most developed of Georgia's barrier islands, St. Simons is approximately twelve miles long and nearly three miles wide at its widest stretch (roughly the size of Manhattan Island in New York). The island is located in Glynn County on Georgia's coast and lies east of Brunswick (the seat of Glynn County), south of Little St. Simons Island and the Hampton River, and north of Jekyll Island. The resort community of Sea Island is separated from St. Simons on the east by the Black Banks River. Known for its oak tree canopies and historic landmarks, St. Simons is both a tourist destination and, according to the 2010 U.S. census, home to 12,743 residents.
Early History
The earliest
St. Simons Island Village
record of human habitation on the island dates to the Late Archaic Period, about 5,000 to 3,000 years ago. Remnants of shell rings left behind by Native Americans from this era survive on many of the barrier islands, including St. Simons. Centuries later, during the period known by historians as the chiefdom era, the Guale Indians established a chiefdom centered on St. Catherines Island and used St. Simons as their hunting and fishing grounds. By 1500 the Guale had established a permanent village of about 200 people on St. Simons, which they called Guadalquini.
Beginning in 1568, the Spanish attempted to create missions along the Georgia coast. Catholic missions were the primary means by which Georgia's indigenous Native American chiefdoms were assimilated into the Spanish colonial system along the northern frontier of greater Spanish Florida. In the 1600s St. Simons became home to two Spanish missions: San Buenaventura de Guadalquini, on the southern tip of the island, and Santo Domingo de Asao (or Asajo), on the northern tip. Located on the inland side of the island were the pagan refugee villages of San Simón, the island's namesake, and Ocotonico. In 1684 pirate raids left the missions and villages largely abandoned.
Colonial History
As
Fort Frederica
early as 1670, with Great Britain's establishment of the colony of Carolina and its expansion into Georgia territory, Spanish rule was threatened by the English. The Georgia coast was considered "debatable land" by England and Spain, even though Spain had fully retreated from St. Simons by 1702. Thirty-one years later General James Edward Oglethorpe founded the English settlement of Savannah. In 1736 he established Fort Frederica, named after the heir to the British throne, Frederick Louis, prince of Wales, on the west side of St. Simons Island to protect Savannah and the Carolinas from the Spanish threat.
Between 1736 and 1749 Fort Frederica was the hub of British military operations along the Georgia frontier. A town of the same name grew up around the fort and was of great importance to the new colony. By 1740 Frederica's population was 1,000. In 1736 the congregation of what would become Christ Church was organized within Fort Frederica as a mission of the Church of England. Charles Wesley led the first services. In 1742 Britain's decisive victory over Spain in the Battle of Bloody Marsh, during the War of Jenkins' Ear, ended the Spanish threat to the Georgia coast. When the British regimen disbanded in 1749, most of the townspeople relocated to the mainland. Fort Frederica went into decline and, except for a short time of prosperity during the 1760s and 1770s under the leadership of merchant James Spalding, never fully recovered. Today the historic citadel's tabby ruins are maintained by the National Park Service.
Plantation Era
By the start of the American Revolution (1775-83), Fort Frederica was obsolete, and St. Simons was left largely uninhabited as most of its residents joined the patriot army. Besides hosting a small Georgia naval victory on the Fort Frederica River, providing guns from its famous fort for use at Fort Morris in Sunbury, and serving as an arena for pillaging by privateers and British soldiers, the island played almost no role in the war.
Following the war, many of the townspeople, their businesses destroyed, turned to agriculture. The island was transformed into fourteen cotton plantations after acres of live oak trees were cleared for farm land and used for building American warships, including the famous USS Constitution, or "Old Ironsides." Although rice was the predominant crop along the neighboring Altamaha River, St. Simons was known for its production of long-staple cotton, which soon came to be known as Sea Island cotton.
Between
Ebos Landing
the 1780s and the outbreak of the Civil War (1861-65), St. Simons's plantation culture flourished. The saline atmosphere and the availability of cheap slave labor proved an ideal combination for the cultivation of Sea Island cotton. In 1803 a group of Ebo slaves who survived the Middle Passage and arrived on the west side of St. Simons staged a rebellion and drowned themselves. The sacred site is known today as Ebos Landing.
One of the largest owners of land and slaves on St. Simons was Pierce Butler, master of Hampton Point Plantation, located on the northern end of the island. By 1793 Butler owned more than 500 slaves, who cultivated 800 acres of cotton on St. Simons and 300 acres of rice on Butler's Island in the Altamaha River delta. Butler's grandson, Pierce Mease Butler, who at the age of sixteen inherited a share of his grandfather's estate in 1826, was responsible for the largest sale of human beings in the history of the United States: in 1859, to restore his squandered fortune, he sold 429 slaves in Savannah for more than $300,000. The British actress and writer Fanny Kemble, whose tumultuous marriage to Pierce ended in divorce in 1849, published an eyewitness account of the evils of slavery on St. Simons in her book Journal of a Residence on a Georgian Plantation in 1838-1839 (1863).
Another
Retreat Plantation
large owner of land and slaves on St. Simons was Major William Page, a friend and employee of Pierce Butler Sr. Before purchasing Retreat Plantation on the southwestern tip of the island in 1804, Page managed the Hampton plantation and Butler's Island. Upon Page's death in 1827, Thomas Butler King inherited the land together with his wife, Page's daughter, Anna Matilda Page King. King expanded his father-in-law's planting empire on St. Simons as well as on the mainland, and by 1835 Retreat Plantation alone was home to as many as 355 slaves.
The center of life during the island's plantation era was Christ Church, Frederica. Organized in 1807 by a group of island planters, the Episcopal church is the second oldest in the Diocese of Georgia. Embargoes imposed by the War of 1812 (1812-15) prevented the parishioners from building a church structure, so they worshiped in the home of John Beck, which stood on the site of Oglethorpe's only St. Simons residence, Orange Hall.
The first Christ Church building, finished on the present site in 1820, was ruined by occupying Union troops during the Civil War. In 1884 the Reverend Anson Dodge Jr. rebuilt the church as a memorial to his first wife, Ellen. The cruciform building with a trussed gothic roof and stained-glass windows remains active today as Christ Church.
Civil War and Beyond
The
St. Simons Island Lighthouse
outbreak of the Civil War in 1861 put a sudden end to St. Simons's lucrative plantation era. In January of that year, Confederate troops were stationed at the south end of the island to guard the entrance to Brunswick Harbor. Slaves from Retreat Plantation, owned by Thomas Butler King, built earthworks and batteries. Plantation residents were scattered—the men joined the Confederate army and their families moved to the mainland. Cannon fire was heard on the island in December 1861, and Confederate troops retreated in February 1862, after dynamiting the lighthouse to keep its beacon from aiding Union troops. Soon thereafter, Union troops occupied the island, which was used as a camp for freed slaves. By August 1862 more than 500 former slaves lived on St. Simons, including Susie King Taylor, who organized a school for freed slave children. But in November the ex-slaves were taken to Hilton Head, South Carolina, and Fernandina, Florida, leaving the island abandoned.
After the Civil War the island never returned to its status as an agricultural community. The plantations lay dormant because there were no slaves to work the fields. After Union general William T. Sherman's January 1865 Special Field Order No. 15 —a demand that former plantations be divided and distributed to former slaves—was overturned by U.S. president Andrew Johnson less than a year later, freedmen and women were forced to work as sharecroppers on the small farms that dotted the land previously occupied by the sprawling plantations.
By
St. Simons Lumber Mills
1870 real economic recovery began with the reestablishment of the timber industry. Norman Dodge and Titus G. Meigs of New York set up lumber mill operations at Gascoigne Bluff, formerly Hamilton Plantation. The lumber mills provided welcome employment for both blacks and whites and also provided mail and passenger boats to the mainland. Such water traffic, together with the construction of a new lighthouse in 1872, designed by architect Charles B. Cluskey, marked the beginning of St. Simons's tourism industry. The keeper of the lighthouse created a small amusement park, which drew many visitors, as did the seemingly miraculous light that traveled from the top of the lighthouse tower to the bottom. The island became a summer retreat for families from the mainland, particularly from Baxley, Brunswick, and Waycross.
The island's resort industry was thriving by the 1880s. Beachfront structures, such as a new pier and grand hotel, were built on the southeastern end of the island and could be accessed by ferry. Around this time wealthy northerners began vacationing on the island.
Twentieth Century
The
St. Simons Island Pier and Village
opening in 1924 of the Brunswick–St. Simons Highway, today known as the Torras Causeway, was a milestone in the development of resorts in the area. St. Simons's beaches were now easily accessible to locals and tourists alike. More than 5,000 automobiles took the short drive from Brunswick to St. Simons via the causeway on its opening day, paving the way for convenient residential and resort development.
In 1926 automotive pioneer Howard Coffin of Detroit, Michigan, bought large tracts of land on St. Simons, including the former Retreat Plantation, and constructed a golf course, yacht club, paved roads, and a residential subdivision. Although the causeway had brought large numbers of summer people to the island, St. Simons remained a small community with only a few hundred permanent residents until the 1940s.
The
St. Simons Island
outbreak of World War II (1941-45) brought more visitors and residents to St. Simons. Troops stationed at Jacksonville, Florida; Savannah; and nearby Camp Stewart took weekend vacations on the island, and a new naval air base and radar school became home to even more officers and soldiers. The increased wartime population brought the island its first public school. With a major shipyard for the production of Liberty ships in nearby Brunswick, the waters of St. Simons became active with German U-boats. In April 1942, just off the coast, the Texas Company oil tanker S. S. Oklahoma and the S. S. Esso Baton Rouge were torpedoed by the Germans, bringing the war very close to home for island residents.
Due in large part to the military's improvement of the island's infrastructure during the war, development on the island boomed in the 1950s and 1960s. More permanent homes and subdivisions were built, and the island was no longer just a summer resort but also a thriving community. In 1950 the Methodist conference and retreat center Epworth by the Sea opened on Gascoigne Bluff. In 1961 novelist Eugenia Price visited St. Simons and began work on her first works of fiction, known as the St. Simons Trilogy. Inspired by real events on the island, Price's trilogy renewed interest in the history of Georgia's coast, and the novelist herself relocated to the island in 1965 and lived there for thirty-one years. St. Simons is also home to contemporary Georgia writer Tina McElroy Ansa.
Since
Epworth by the Sea
1980 St. Simons's population has doubled. The island's continued status as a vacation destination and its ongoing development boom have put historic landmarks and natural areas at risk. While such landmarks as the Fort Frederica ruins and the Battle of Bloody Marsh site are preserved and maintained by the National Park Service, and while the historic lighthouse is maintained by the Coastal Georgia Historical Society, historic Ebos Landing has been taken over by a sewage treatment plant.
Several coastal organizations have formed in recent years to save natural areas on the island. The St. Simons Land Trust, for example, has received donations of large tracts of land and plans to protect property in the island's three traditional African American neighborhoods. Despite its rapid growth and development, St. Simons remains one of the most beautiful and important islands on the Georgia coast.

My clients had always been inspired by the grand Tudor Revival homes of the early 20th century and commissioned Hull Historical to recreate the authentic custom millwork, paneling and doors for their new Tudor Revival home. Our inspiration came from 2 great English homes, Stan Hywett, a great Tudor Revival home in Ohio, built for the founder of Goodyear Tires. Also, the Woodbine Mansion, built in 1911 for the son of the Pabst Brewing Company. We were fortunate to purchase three rooms of architectural millwork from the woodbine home, which was originally fabricated by the Huber Company of New York. Upon completion of this project, the architectural salvage comprised 15% of the final quantity of paneling installed. The remainder was custom fabricated by Hull Historical at our shop in Fort Worth, TX and installed at the clients home.
The commission, based on historic precedent, constituted antique paneling on the main floor, beamed ceilings and all the doors in the home. The new paneling, including the kitchen cabinetry is made from a combination of new quarter-sawn white oak and antique white oak salvaged from old barns and buildings. All the oak was fumed in an ammonia-filled chamber to produce a cocoa color and deep feel giving the millwork rough character and a timeless look that my client loved.
The millwork also served to give the home a hierarchy, with simple paneling combined with board and batten doors downstairs, then more ornate paneling, with carvings on the main floor. Additionally, the main floor features mostly 8 and 10 panel doors. All woodwork was hand-pegged with oak pegs. Some of the paneling features a unique Mason’s Miter, a historic joinery technique inspired from stone work.
For more information on residential renovation and new construction projects by Hull Historical, visit http://brenthullcompanies.com/residential.html

Buxus x 'Green Velvet,' Hosta x 'Guacamole,' Agastache x 'Blue Fortune.' Rudbeckia fulgida 'Goldsturm,' and Astilbe chinensis 'Purpurkerze' brighten up a shady corner of the house.
Westhauser Photography
Find the right local pro for your project

The flagstone patio was the most expensive and difficult part of the whole project. I had never done a patio before, and I didn’t realize how much dirt would need to be removed to create the gravel base. Fortunately, my wife was working for a landscaping company at the time, and they let us borrow a Dingo mini excavator. Since our house backs up to a hill, the Dingo was also very helpful in bringing the crushed stone several hundred feet from where the dump truck dropped it. However, we had to return the Dingo before the job was finished, and a good friend helped me move about 15,000 lbs. of gravel in wheel barrows from the front driveway to the back yard. He also helped me pick up the flagstone from the local stone yard (another 6,000 lbs.).

Shoot 2 Sell
Example of a mid-sized transitional backyard deck design in Dallas with no cover
Example of a mid-sized transitional backyard deck design in Dallas with no cover

30 Years of Construction Experience in the Bay Area | Best of Houzz!
We are a passionate, family owned/operated local business in the Bay Area, California. At Lavan Construction, we create a fresh and fit environment with over 30 years of experience in building and construction in both domestic and international markets. We have a unique blend of leadership combining expertise in construction contracting and management experience from Fortune 500 companies. We commit to deliver you a world class experience within your budget and timeline while maintaining trust and transparency. At Lavan Construction, we believe relationships are the main component of any successful business and we stand by our motto: “Trust is the foundation we build on.”

K&P Builders' Amazing Lancaster Floor Plan, available to be built at Kingsview!
The exterior of this home features a brick front with white mortar, a side sunroom, a sideload 2-car garage, a beautiful 4 column portico, and a box bay.
The white white mortar really sets off the brick! And, although the contrast of the white trim is subtle against the brick, it has an overall, formal, appeal.
This floor plan is over 3300sf above grade, not counting the sunroom addition, morning room addition and master bedroom sitting room addition. Of course, this home also has a full basement.
The Lancaster floor plan is available to be built in K&P's Charles County community, in Kingsview. Kingsview is conveniently located in White Plains, MD, and offers an easy commute to Washington DC, Virginia, and area Bases.
Kingsview is convenient to shopping and restaurants in 2 nearby towns, but fortunately is outside of the traffic and noise.
The residents of Kingsview enjoy community amenities that promote an active lifestyle, like walking trails, a pool, tennis courts and more, The community has vast common areas that are meticulously maintained and landscaped. Kingsview's park-like setting is awesome!

“Since we entertain frequently, we wanted to have lots of counter space for food and drinks. We also had unused space in the corner that we were unsure what to do with. Fortunately, working with the IKEA kitchen design team at IKD, we came up with a design that is better than we could have hoped for,” he says.

The Johnson-Thompson House, built c. 1750, has the distinct title as being the oldest structure in Winchester. Many alterations were made over the years to keep up with the times, but most recently it had the great fortune to get just the right family who appreciated and capitalized on its legacy. From the newly installed pine floors with cut, hand driven nails to the authentic rustic plaster walls, to the original timber frame, this 300 year old Georgian farmhouse is a masterpiece of old and new. Together with the homeowners and Cummings Architects, Windhill Builders embarked on a journey to salvage all of the best from this home and recreate what had been lost over time. To celebrate its history and the stories within, rooms and details were preserved where possible, woodwork and paint colors painstakingly matched and blended; the hall and parlor refurbished; the three run open string staircase lovingly restored; and details like an authentic front door with period hinges masterfully created. To accommodate its modern day family an addition was constructed to house a brand new, farmhouse style kitchen with an oversized island topped with reclaimed oak and a unique backsplash fashioned out of brick that was sourced from the home itself. Bathrooms were added and upgraded, including a spa-like retreat in the master bath, but include features like a claw foot tub, a niche with exposed brick and a magnificent barn door, as nods to the past. This renovation is one for the history books!
Eric Roth

Our homeowner approached us first in order to remodel her master suite. Her shower was leaking and she wanted to turn 2 separate closets into one enviable walk in closet. This homeowners projects have been completed in multiple phases. The second phase was focused on the kitchen, laundry room and converting the dining room to an office. View before and after images of the project here:
http://www.houzz.com/discussions/4412085/m=23/dining-room-turned-office-in-los-angeles-ca
https://www.houzz.com/discussions/4425079/m=23/laundry-room-refresh-in-la
https://www.houzz.com/discussions/4440223/m=23/banquette-driven-kitchen-remodel-in-la
We feel fortunate that she has such great taste and furnished her home so well!
Dining Room turned Office: There is a white washed oak barn door separating the new office from the living room. The blue accent wall is the perfect backdrop for the mirror. This room features both recessed lighting and a stunning pendant chandelier. It also has both a pocket door and barn door. The view to the backyard was a part of this remodel and makes it a lovely office for the homeowner.

Example of a mid-sized transitional light wood floor and beige floor enclosed dining room design in Sacramento with beige walls

On this project, a bright and modern apartment on central park west, we were fortunate enough to have already established a strong working relationship with the architect. having collaborated on a number of projects in the past, we were already acquainted with working as a team, which allowed us to hit the ground running.

A traditional look and feel was required for this farmhouse full bath remodel. Period touches such as a Carrera marble basket weave floor tile design and Jado’s Savina pedestal sink maximized the visual impact of this bath originally built in the late 1800’s. 3”x6” White Subway tile walls contributed to the clean, simple, yet classic look and feel. Custom wood linen tower and framed medicine cabinet in painted white finish ensure plenty of personal storage and convenience yet provide a streamline appearance, keeping with the period of this lovely antique.

On this project, a bright and modern apartment on central park west, we were fortunate enough to have already established a strong working relationship with the architect. having collaborated on a number of projects in the past, we were already acquainted with working as a team, which allowed us to hit the ground running.

The balanced Federal-style kitchen, based on Martha's first home, is designed with glass-paneled cabinetry and fluted fillers to frame its richness and color. It makes a charming setting, whether you are preparing a simple supper or a large holiday feast.
Martha Stewart Living Turkey Hill PureStyle cabinetry in Fortune Cookie.
Martha Stewart Living Corian countertop in Laurel Branch.
Martha Stewart Living hardware in Polished Nickel.
All available exclusively at The Home Depot.

This project was an LED upgrade and repair to an older, existing outdoor lighting system that was in not working. Many of the lighting wires had been cut and a good many of the fixtures needed to be relocated due to the more mature landscape. The system was cleaned, repaired and the old halogen lamps were replaced with high quality, energy efficient, LED lamps. This fortunate homeowner will now get to enjoy night after night of flawless light around the garden and pool spaces, and not have to worry about changing a bulb on this current system ever again.
Photo by : Tim Ryan- Lite4 Outdoor Lighting

Located in Steamboat Springs, Colorado is Ideal Mountain Property’s newest fractionally owned property offering. This brand new, custom built lodge is located at the base of Steamboat Ski Mountain, in one of Steamboat Springs newest resort communities, Wildhorse Meadows. Center stage is the Wildhorse gondola providing incredible access to the ski mountain and village while offering owners and guests a spacious single family residence right in the heart of the mountain area.
Builder | Greg Fortune & Rory Witzel
Designer | Tara Bender
Starmark Cabinetry

The Johnson-Thompson House, built c. 1750, has the distinct title as being the oldest structure in Winchester. Many alterations were made over the years to keep up with the times, but most recently it had the great fortune to get just the right family who appreciated and capitalized on its legacy. From the newly installed pine floors with cut, hand driven nails to the authentic rustic plaster walls, to the original timber frame, this 300 year old Georgian farmhouse is a masterpiece of old and new. Together with the homeowners and Cummings Architects, Windhill Builders embarked on a journey to salvage all of the best from this home and recreate what had been lost over time. To celebrate its history and the stories within, rooms and details were preserved where possible, woodwork and paint colors painstakingly matched and blended; the hall and parlor refurbished; the three run open string staircase lovingly restored; and details like an authentic front door with period hinges masterfully created. To accommodate its modern day family an addition was constructed to house a brand new, farmhouse style kitchen with an oversized island topped with reclaimed oak and a unique backsplash fashioned out of brick that was sourced from the home itself. Bathrooms were added and upgraded, including a spa-like retreat in the master bath, but include features like a claw foot tub, a niche with exposed brick and a magnificent barn door, as nods to the past. This renovation is one for the history books!
Eric Roth

Located in Steamboat Springs, Colorado is Ideal Mountain Property’s newest fractionally owned property offering. This brand new, custom built lodge is located at the base of Steamboat Ski Mountain, in one of Steamboat Springs newest resort communities, Wildhorse Meadows. Center stage is the Wildhorse gondola providing incredible access to the ski mountain and village while offering owners and guests a spacious single family residence right in the heart of the mountain area.
Builder | Greg Fortune & Rory Witzel
Designer | Tara Bender
Starmark Cabinetry
76
