Search results for "Fortunate" in Home Design Ideas

The property is one of the original farm houses located on the main street of a small town. It has been in the family for many years and our client just inherited the property. They were trying to have balance of preserving the old while realizing modern day living has its benefits too. The house had a large addition added using mostly old style materials, but designed with function and modern day luxuries. Our goal was to carry that theme to the outside.
Our first problem we had to address was how to transition between the first floor elevation changes. The lower room was the husband’s office. He stated in the future he may have clients over and it would be nice to have an area to sit outside. The wife’s main concern was to renew the four corner garden. She also felt it was very important to be able to see it from the kitchen area. Finally there was an old wishing well stuck right outside the kitchen. They both felt it would be neat to be able to incorporate this in some how. They wanted a patio area with a built in grill to accommodate there family and friends. They also wanted to keep a large play area for the kids.
We were able to pull this off successfully. We addressed the first issue by having a small lower level flagstone area. This area is large enough for 1 to 2 people to sit comfortably. It also provides a transition from his office to the larger patio area. We installed a simple small gravel sitting area opposite of the main patio. This provides our client a secluded place to relax or do business. Mrs.... told me she is amazed how much her and her husband enjoys this area. It is so peaceful looking at the small creek over a glass of wine.
We built a natural limestone retaining wall to create the patio terrace. The stone was chosen to extend the houses architectural elements into the landscape. Irregular broken flagstone was used to give it a more casual feel. We installed three Serviceberries into the patio terrace to replace some trees that were taken down during the remodeling. She was very concern that they would block the view of the four corner garden. We new they were crucial to nestle in the terrace, so we placed them for a couple days for her to decide. Fortunately she agreed they not only kept the view open, but helped frame the garden.
The four corner garden was designed to be viewed from afar and experienced up close. We wanted the space to have some formal structure while keeping with the casual farm house feel. Another natural limestone retaining wall was created. This leveled the garden terrace and helped associate it with the rest of the property. The four corner garden is nestled into the existing woods edge. This provides three distinct experiences to entering the garden; a more formal from the driveway, an open feel from the lower lawn, and a more natural / casual experience from the wooded area. The Plymouth brown gravel was used for the center of the garden. This helped highlight the stone post that was found during construction. The gravel also brings the sense of sound into the garden space. Lamb’s ear was chosen as a fun way to get kids interest in horticulture.
The balance of using the new to create the old feel is what makes this project a success. The property has already hosted a local historical society event and won an award for its preservation efforts. When Mrs.... can’t find her husband, she knows he is either reading the newspaper by the grill or resting in the hammock along the wood’s path.

While we typically focus on high end homes, this small 1980's house in Stafford sold for under $200,000. . We did a remodel and make ready for the homeowner prior to listing so they could take advantage of our hot market. This house is proof that good design can make inexpensive material selections look really good, and that you don't have to spend a fortune on a nice remodel.
Floors: Emser Tile 6x24 Heritage Walnut
Backsplash: Emser Tile 6x6 Ancient Tumbled Travertine
Backsplash Insert: Emser Tile Lucente Grazia Mosaic 5/8"
Bath Floors: Emser Tile 18x18 St Moritz Silver
Bath Insert: Emser Tile Lucente Grazia Linear
Kitchen Granite: Diamond Arrow
Master Bath Granite: Diamond Arrow
Guest Bath Granite: White Galaxy
Wall Paint: PPG Grey Marble
Trim Paint: PPG Arctic Cotton
Ceiling Paint: PPG Arctic Cotton
All Photos by Curtis Lawson

Our company is based on the belief that our customer's needs are of the utmost importance. Our entire team is committed to meeting those needs. As a result, a high percentage of our business is from repeat customers and referrals. Stone Creations of Long Island specializes in hardscape designs and outdoor living (retaining walls, patios and walkways, water features, outdoor kitchens). We also compliment the hardscapes with beautiful and distinct softscapes (edging, mulching, plantings, low voltage lighting, sodding). The products we offer and use in our projects are the best and most field proven in the industry and our craftsmanship warranties show our commitment to customer satisfaction. Our crews model a level of professionalism often not seen in the Hardscaping industry! We are committed to detail, quality work, and customer satisfaction. At Stone Creations Of Long Island, most importantly, we enjoy what we do and feel fortunate to have the opportunity to create such beautiful environments..... We would welcome the opportunity to earn your trust and deliver you the best service in the industry.
CALL TODAY!!
Office: 631-678-6896
Mobile: 631-404-5410
Find the right local pro for your project

Create a place to display and access your favorite wine selections and glassware with cabinetry perfect for entertaining.
Martha Stewart Living Turkey Hill PureStyle cabinetry in Fortune Cookie
Martha Stewart Living hardware in Bronze with Copper Highlights

Melanie's inspiration for this sunroom was the grand era of the 1920’s when the prosperous gold coast of Long Island was built. The Sun Room pays homage to the glamorous, opulent lifestyles of the wealthy industrialists who were the residents of the Gold Coast estates in the 1920’s. We preserved the original aged brick walls and intricate metal work in the windows and chose materials for the room that would reflect and refresh the original design. Melanie chose two teal and white Mamounia rugs from The Rug Company in silk and wool to reflect the pattern in the metal work on the windows. Natural light was a major component when designing the sun room so we used reflective objects from mirrored pillows, brass light fixtures, brass objects in addition to a huge brass wall mirror to capture the natural sun light in the room. The estate is set on 6 rolling acres of land, so we used oversized planters with boxwood, and a huge aceda palm tree in the oversized ottoman to bring that outdoors into the room. A one-of-a-kind natural, driftwood table with teal resin from Andrianna Shamara's brings more nature into the room and sits in front of the waterproof Vondom sofa which was custom-made in Valencia Spain. All of the seating in the Sun Room is outdoor furniture and waterproof. A huge Brass sputnik light fixture sits above the sun room reflecting more light into the large brass mirror. An Ironies honeycomb table brings in texture to the room and holds reflective brass candlesticks and large piece of turquoise Slag Glass sits on an Oscar De La Renta book, another American style icon. A Milo Baughman brass bar carts holds a Christofle Martini shaker, martini glasses and a Gabriella Crespi brass and crystal ice bucket would service the captains of industries who displayed their fortunes from the industrial revolution with lavish parties in the their grand estates to celebrate the opportunities and accomplishments that they had worked so hard to achieve. The unprecedented economic prosperity was a distinctly unique aspect of Americana when wealthy industrialists, a hard working generation, helped promote American design and American Dreams. Photo by Alan Barry.

Impact was fortunate to be engaged by a dynamic couple that asked us to rebuild a dilapidated garage and turn it into an all purpose entertainment room with kitchenette. The project features over-sized, full length accordion doors and exposed rafters. The build transforms the property by shifting the soul of the home from inside to the outdoors. What was once the home’s weakness is now a beautiful strength.

Heidi Pribell Interiors puts a fresh twist on classic design serving the major Boston metro area. By blending grandeur with bohemian flair, Heidi creates inviting interiors with an elegant and sophisticated appeal. Confident in mixing eras, style and color, she brings her expertise and love of antiques, art and objects to every project.

'Red Volunteer' daylily, 'Blue Fortune' agastache, and 'Spice Island' Koreanspice viburnum planted beside the screened porch.
Westhauser Photography
Design ideas for a mid-sized traditional backyard brick garden path in Milwaukee.
Design ideas for a mid-sized traditional backyard brick garden path in Milwaukee.

'Blue Fortune' agastache contrasts against the bright golden yellow of 'Goldsturm' rudbeckia.
Westhauser Photography
Design ideas for a traditional full sun landscaping in Milwaukee for summer.
Design ideas for a traditional full sun landscaping in Milwaukee for summer.

'Blue Fortune' agastache provides a cool tone against the warmth of 'Goldsturm' rudbeckia.
Westhauser Photography
Photo of a mid-sized transitional backyard landscaping in Milwaukee.
Photo of a mid-sized transitional backyard landscaping in Milwaukee.

Double perennial border with Agastache ‘Blue Fortune’, Baptisia australis, and Rosa ‘Radrazz’
Inspiration for a traditional landscaping in Columbus.
Inspiration for a traditional landscaping in Columbus.

The Twin Peaks Passive House + ADU was designed and built to remain resilient in the face of natural disasters. Fortunately, the same great building strategies and design that provide resilience also provide a home that is incredibly comfortable and healthy while also visually stunning.
This home’s journey began with a desire to design and build a house that meets the rigorous standards of Passive House. Before beginning the design/ construction process, the homeowners had already spent countless hours researching ways to minimize their global climate change footprint. As with any Passive House, a large portion of this research was focused on building envelope design and construction. The wall assembly is combination of six inch Structurally Insulated Panels (SIPs) and 2x6 stick frame construction filled with blown in insulation. The roof assembly is a combination of twelve inch SIPs and 2x12 stick frame construction filled with batt insulation. The pairing of SIPs and traditional stick framing allowed for easy air sealing details and a continuous thermal break between the panels and the wall framing.
Beyond the building envelope, a number of other high performance strategies were used in constructing this home and ADU such as: battery storage of solar energy, ground source heat pump technology, Heat Recovery Ventilation, LED lighting, and heat pump water heating technology.
In addition to the time and energy spent on reaching Passivhaus Standards, thoughtful design and carefully chosen interior finishes coalesce at the Twin Peaks Passive House + ADU into stunning interiors with modern farmhouse appeal. The result is a graceful combination of innovation, durability, and aesthetics that will last for a century to come.
Despite the requirements of adhering to some of the most rigorous environmental standards in construction today, the homeowners chose to certify both their main home and their ADU to Passive House Standards. From a meticulously designed building envelope that tested at 0.62 ACH50, to the extensive solar array/ battery bank combination that allows designated circuits to function, uninterrupted for at least 48 hours, the Twin Peaks Passive House has a long list of high performance features that contributed to the completion of this arduous certification process. The ADU was also designed and built with these high standards in mind. Both homes have the same wall and roof assembly ,an HRV, and a Passive House Certified window and doors package. While the main home includes a ground source heat pump that warms both the radiant floors and domestic hot water tank, the more compact ADU is heated with a mini-split ductless heat pump. The end result is a home and ADU built to last, both of which are a testament to owners’ commitment to lessen their impact on the environment.

Meadow, two months after planting, in early Summer. The planting is now hitting its stride, with Jacob Cline Bee Balm, Blue Fortune Anise Hyssop and Terra Cotta Yarrow all in full bloom.

'Blue Fortune' agastache, 'Red Volunteer' daylily, 'Spice Island' Koreanspice viburnum, and 'Green Velvet' boxwood are planted along the new brick walk, leading you into the new backyard space.
Westhauser Photography

A mixed planting bed of 'Kobold' liatris, 'Goldsturm' rudbeckia, 'Feuerland' achillea, 'Blue Fortune' agastache, 'Summer Beauty' allium, and 'Seward' physocarpus balances the visual weight of the patio. Ornamental grasses including 'Skyracer' molinia and 'Cassian' pennisetum add a soft texture to the mix.
Westhauser Photography

Photo: Carolyn Reyes © 2016 Houzz
Design: Kelly Mack Home
Inspiration for an eclectic deck remodel in Los Angeles
Inspiration for an eclectic deck remodel in Los Angeles

The Twin Peaks Passive House + ADU was designed and built to remain resilient in the face of natural disasters. Fortunately, the same great building strategies and design that provide resilience also provide a home that is incredibly comfortable and healthy while also visually stunning.
This home’s journey began with a desire to design and build a house that meets the rigorous standards of Passive House. Before beginning the design/ construction process, the homeowners had already spent countless hours researching ways to minimize their global climate change footprint. As with any Passive House, a large portion of this research was focused on building envelope design and construction. The wall assembly is combination of six inch Structurally Insulated Panels (SIPs) and 2x6 stick frame construction filled with blown in insulation. The roof assembly is a combination of twelve inch SIPs and 2x12 stick frame construction filled with batt insulation. The pairing of SIPs and traditional stick framing allowed for easy air sealing details and a continuous thermal break between the panels and the wall framing.
Beyond the building envelope, a number of other high performance strategies were used in constructing this home and ADU such as: battery storage of solar energy, ground source heat pump technology, Heat Recovery Ventilation, LED lighting, and heat pump water heating technology.
In addition to the time and energy spent on reaching Passivhaus Standards, thoughtful design and carefully chosen interior finishes coalesce at the Twin Peaks Passive House + ADU into stunning interiors with modern farmhouse appeal. The result is a graceful combination of innovation, durability, and aesthetics that will last for a century to come.
Despite the requirements of adhering to some of the most rigorous environmental standards in construction today, the homeowners chose to certify both their main home and their ADU to Passive House Standards. From a meticulously designed building envelope that tested at 0.62 ACH50, to the extensive solar array/ battery bank combination that allows designated circuits to function, uninterrupted for at least 48 hours, the Twin Peaks Passive House has a long list of high performance features that contributed to the completion of this arduous certification process. The ADU was also designed and built with these high standards in mind. Both homes have the same wall and roof assembly ,an HRV, and a Passive House Certified window and doors package. While the main home includes a ground source heat pump that warms both the radiant floors and domestic hot water tank, the more compact ADU is heated with a mini-split ductless heat pump. The end result is a home and ADU built to last, both of which are a testament to owners’ commitment to lessen their impact on the environment.

Walking through this property for the first time with the homeowner was interesting. We really do love historical properties and always want to see them returned to safe, comfortable, and very livable spaces. We saw a lot of opportunities in what some may have walked away from.
The transformation was met with some challenges along the way as you might expect from a 101 year old home that had not been updated. We saw them as opportunities and created solutions for each one that we met.
We started with structural engineering, and testing for asbestos and lead. Fortunately no Asbestos was present. We took everything down to studs and made sure the house was level and safe. We removed some walls, moved staircases and created a more functional layout for kitchen, hall bathroom, and added a bathroom to the master suite.
The end result is a beautiful “new” home with all the charm of its long history in a gorgeous and quaint neighborhood in Madison, WI.

Stuart Wade, Envision Virtual Tours
The second-largest and most developed of Georgia's barrier islands, St. Simons is approximately twelve miles long and nearly three miles wide at its widest stretch (roughly the size of Manhattan Island in New York). The island is located in Glynn County on Georgia's coast and lies east of Brunswick (the seat of Glynn County), south of Little St. Simons Island and the Hampton River, and north of Jekyll Island. The resort community of Sea Island is separated from St. Simons on the east by the Black Banks River. Known for its oak tree canopies and historic landmarks, St. Simons is both a tourist destination and, according to the 2010 U.S. census, home to 12,743 residents.
Early History
The earliest
St. Simons Island Village
record of human habitation on the island dates to the Late Archaic Period, about 5,000 to 3,000 years ago. Remnants of shell rings left behind by Native Americans from this era survive on many of the barrier islands, including St. Simons. Centuries later, during the period known by historians as the chiefdom era, the Guale Indians established a chiefdom centered on St. Catherines Island and used St. Simons as their hunting and fishing grounds. By 1500 the Guale had established a permanent village of about 200 people on St. Simons, which they called Guadalquini.
Beginning in 1568, the Spanish attempted to create missions along the Georgia coast. Catholic missions were the primary means by which Georgia's indigenous Native American chiefdoms were assimilated into the Spanish colonial system along the northern frontier of greater Spanish Florida. In the 1600s St. Simons became home to two Spanish missions: San Buenaventura de Guadalquini, on the southern tip of the island, and Santo Domingo de Asao (or Asajo), on the northern tip. Located on the inland side of the island were the pagan refugee villages of San Simón, the island's namesake, and Ocotonico. In 1684 pirate raids left the missions and villages largely abandoned.
Colonial History
As
Fort Frederica
early as 1670, with Great Britain's establishment of the colony of Carolina and its expansion into Georgia territory, Spanish rule was threatened by the English. The Georgia coast was considered "debatable land" by England and Spain, even though Spain had fully retreated from St. Simons by 1702. Thirty-one years later General James Edward Oglethorpe founded the English settlement of Savannah. In 1736 he established Fort Frederica, named after the heir to the British throne, Frederick Louis, prince of Wales, on the west side of St. Simons Island to protect Savannah and the Carolinas from the Spanish threat.
Between 1736 and 1749 Fort Frederica was the hub of British military operations along the Georgia frontier. A town of the same name grew up around the fort and was of great importance to the new colony. By 1740 Frederica's population was 1,000. In 1736 the congregation of what would become Christ Church was organized within Fort Frederica as a mission of the Church of England. Charles Wesley led the first services. In 1742 Britain's decisive victory over Spain in the Battle of Bloody Marsh, during the War of Jenkins' Ear, ended the Spanish threat to the Georgia coast. When the British regimen disbanded in 1749, most of the townspeople relocated to the mainland. Fort Frederica went into decline and, except for a short time of prosperity during the 1760s and 1770s under the leadership of merchant James Spalding, never fully recovered. Today the historic citadel's tabby ruins are maintained by the National Park Service.
Plantation Era
By the start of the American Revolution (1775-83), Fort Frederica was obsolete, and St. Simons was left largely uninhabited as most of its residents joined the patriot army. Besides hosting a small Georgia naval victory on the Fort Frederica River, providing guns from its famous fort for use at Fort Morris in Sunbury, and serving as an arena for pillaging by privateers and British soldiers, the island played almost no role in the war.
Following the war, many of the townspeople, their businesses destroyed, turned to agriculture. The island was transformed into fourteen cotton plantations after acres of live oak trees were cleared for farm land and used for building American warships, including the famous USS Constitution, or "Old Ironsides." Although rice was the predominant crop along the neighboring Altamaha River, St. Simons was known for its production of long-staple cotton, which soon came to be known as Sea Island cotton.
Between
Ebos Landing
the 1780s and the outbreak of the Civil War (1861-65), St. Simons's plantation culture flourished. The saline atmosphere and the availability of cheap slave labor proved an ideal combination for the cultivation of Sea Island cotton. In 1803 a group of Ebo slaves who survived the Middle Passage and arrived on the west side of St. Simons staged a rebellion and drowned themselves. The sacred site is known today as Ebos Landing.
One of the largest owners of land and slaves on St. Simons was Pierce Butler, master of Hampton Point Plantation, located on the northern end of the island. By 1793 Butler owned more than 500 slaves, who cultivated 800 acres of cotton on St. Simons and 300 acres of rice on Butler's Island in the Altamaha River delta. Butler's grandson, Pierce Mease Butler, who at the age of sixteen inherited a share of his grandfather's estate in 1826, was responsible for the largest sale of human beings in the history of the United States: in 1859, to restore his squandered fortune, he sold 429 slaves in Savannah for more than $300,000. The British actress and writer Fanny Kemble, whose tumultuous marriage to Pierce ended in divorce in 1849, published an eyewitness account of the evils of slavery on St. Simons in her book Journal of a Residence on a Georgian Plantation in 1838-1839 (1863).
Another
Retreat Plantation
large owner of land and slaves on St. Simons was Major William Page, a friend and employee of Pierce Butler Sr. Before purchasing Retreat Plantation on the southwestern tip of the island in 1804, Page managed the Hampton plantation and Butler's Island. Upon Page's death in 1827, Thomas Butler King inherited the land together with his wife, Page's daughter, Anna Matilda Page King. King expanded his father-in-law's planting empire on St. Simons as well as on the mainland, and by 1835 Retreat Plantation alone was home to as many as 355 slaves.
The center of life during the island's plantation era was Christ Church, Frederica. Organized in 1807 by a group of island planters, the Episcopal church is the second oldest in the Diocese of Georgia. Embargoes imposed by the War of 1812 (1812-15) prevented the parishioners from building a church structure, so they worshiped in the home of John Beck, which stood on the site of Oglethorpe's only St. Simons residence, Orange Hall.
The first Christ Church building, finished on the present site in 1820, was ruined by occupying Union troops during the Civil War. In 1884 the Reverend Anson Dodge Jr. rebuilt the church as a memorial to his first wife, Ellen. The cruciform building with a trussed gothic roof and stained-glass windows remains active today as Christ Church.
Civil War and Beyond
The
St. Simons Island Lighthouse
outbreak of the Civil War in 1861 put a sudden end to St. Simons's lucrative plantation era. In January of that year, Confederate troops were stationed at the south end of the island to guard the entrance to Brunswick Harbor. Slaves from Retreat Plantation, owned by Thomas Butler King, built earthworks and batteries. Plantation residents were scattered—the men joined the Confederate army and their families moved to the mainland. Cannon fire was heard on the island in December 1861, and Confederate troops retreated in February 1862, after dynamiting the lighthouse to keep its beacon from aiding Union troops. Soon thereafter, Union troops occupied the island, which was used as a camp for freed slaves. By August 1862 more than 500 former slaves lived on St. Simons, including Susie King Taylor, who organized a school for freed slave children. But in November the ex-slaves were taken to Hilton Head, South Carolina, and Fernandina, Florida, leaving the island abandoned.
After the Civil War the island never returned to its status as an agricultural community. The plantations lay dormant because there were no slaves to work the fields. After Union general William T. Sherman's January 1865 Special Field Order No. 15 —a demand that former plantations be divided and distributed to former slaves—was overturned by U.S. president Andrew Johnson less than a year later, freedmen and women were forced to work as sharecroppers on the small farms that dotted the land previously occupied by the sprawling plantations.
By
St. Simons Lumber Mills
1870 real economic recovery began with the reestablishment of the timber industry. Norman Dodge and Titus G. Meigs of New York set up lumber mill operations at Gascoigne Bluff, formerly Hamilton Plantation. The lumber mills provided welcome employment for both blacks and whites and also provided mail and passenger boats to the mainland. Such water traffic, together with the construction of a new lighthouse in 1872, designed by architect Charles B. Cluskey, marked the beginning of St. Simons's tourism industry. The keeper of the lighthouse created a small amusement park, which drew many visitors, as did the seemingly miraculous light that traveled from the top of the lighthouse tower to the bottom. The island became a summer retreat for families from the mainland, particularly from Baxley, Brunswick, and Waycross.
The island's resort industry was thriving by the 1880s. Beachfront structures, such as a new pier and grand hotel, were built on the southeastern end of the island and could be accessed by ferry. Around this time wealthy northerners began vacationing on the island.
Twentieth Century
The
St. Simons Island Pier and Village
opening in 1924 of the Brunswick–St. Simons Highway, today known as the Torras Causeway, was a milestone in the development of resorts in the area. St. Simons's beaches were now easily accessible to locals and tourists alike. More than 5,000 automobiles took the short drive from Brunswick to St. Simons via the causeway on its opening day, paving the way for convenient residential and resort development.
In 1926 automotive pioneer Howard Coffin of Detroit, Michigan, bought large tracts of land on St. Simons, including the former Retreat Plantation, and constructed a golf course, yacht club, paved roads, and a residential subdivision. Although the causeway had brought large numbers of summer people to the island, St. Simons remained a small community with only a few hundred permanent residents until the 1940s.
The
St. Simons Island
outbreak of World War II (1941-45) brought more visitors and residents to St. Simons. Troops stationed at Jacksonville, Florida; Savannah; and nearby Camp Stewart took weekend vacations on the island, and a new naval air base and radar school became home to even more officers and soldiers. The increased wartime population brought the island its first public school. With a major shipyard for the production of Liberty ships in nearby Brunswick, the waters of St. Simons became active with German U-boats. In April 1942, just off the coast, the Texas Company oil tanker S. S. Oklahoma and the S. S. Esso Baton Rouge were torpedoed by the Germans, bringing the war very close to home for island residents.
Due in large part to the military's improvement of the island's infrastructure during the war, development on the island boomed in the 1950s and 1960s. More permanent homes and subdivisions were built, and the island was no longer just a summer resort but also a thriving community. In 1950 the Methodist conference and retreat center Epworth by the Sea opened on Gascoigne Bluff. In 1961 novelist Eugenia Price visited St. Simons and began work on her first works of fiction, known as the St. Simons Trilogy. Inspired by real events on the island, Price's trilogy renewed interest in the history of Georgia's coast, and the novelist herself relocated to the island in 1965 and lived there for thirty-one years. St. Simons is also home to contemporary Georgia writer Tina McElroy Ansa.
Since
Epworth by the Sea
1980 St. Simons's population has doubled. The island's continued status as a vacation destination and its ongoing development boom have put historic landmarks and natural areas at risk. While such landmarks as the Fort Frederica ruins and the Battle of Bloody Marsh site are preserved and maintained by the National Park Service, and while the historic lighthouse is maintained by the Coastal Georgia Historical Society, historic Ebos Landing has been taken over by a sewage treatment plant.
Several coastal organizations have formed in recent years to save natural areas on the island. The St. Simons Land Trust, for example, has received donations of large tracts of land and plans to protect property in the island's three traditional African American neighborhoods. Despite its rapid growth and development, St. Simons remains one of the most beautiful and important islands on the Georgia coast.

My clients had always been inspired by the grand Tudor Revival homes of the early 20th century and commissioned Hull Historical to recreate the authentic custom millwork, paneling and doors for their new Tudor Revival home. Our inspiration came from 2 great English homes, Stan Hywett, a great Tudor Revival home in Ohio, built for the founder of Goodyear Tires. Also, the Woodbine Mansion, built in 1911 for the son of the Pabst Brewing Company. We were fortunate to purchase three rooms of architectural millwork from the woodbine home, which was originally fabricated by the Huber Company of New York. Upon completion of this project, the architectural salvage comprised 15% of the final quantity of paneling installed. The remainder was custom fabricated by Hull Historical at our shop in Fort Worth, TX and installed at the clients home.
The commission, based on historic precedent, constituted antique paneling on the main floor, beamed ceilings and all the doors in the home. The new paneling, including the kitchen cabinetry is made from a combination of new quarter-sawn white oak and antique white oak salvaged from old barns and buildings. All the oak was fumed in an ammonia-filled chamber to produce a cocoa color and deep feel giving the millwork rough character and a timeless look that my client loved.
The millwork also served to give the home a hierarchy, with simple paneling combined with board and batten doors downstairs, then more ornate paneling, with carvings on the main floor. Additionally, the main floor features mostly 8 and 10 panel doors. All woodwork was hand-pegged with oak pegs. Some of the paneling features a unique Mason’s Miter, a historic joinery technique inspired from stone work.
For more information on residential renovation and new construction projects by Hull Historical, visit http://brenthullcompanies.com/residential.html
75