Search results for "Low pay" in Home Design Ideas

Kitchens
Traditional transitional, or modern….
Whatever style you chose, we will design, build, and install the custom kitchen of your dreams.
•Superior Quality
- All of the materials used to build our cabinets are the highest grade, eco friendly materials that are available in North America.
- Every part of every cabinet, door, and drawer are 3/4” thick. Quality and durability is what we strive for…
- Soft close slides and hinges are standard on all of our kitchen cabinets.
•Unbeatable Quality
- There is no need to settle on stock size cabinets or pay the high price for custom cabinets.
- Our high quality custom cabinets cost less than most low quality stock cabinets available on the market.
•Perfect Installation
- Not only will we design and build your custom cabinets, we will see your vision through to completion. Our “on staff” cabinet installers will keep your kitchen renovation on schedule when we install your custom made cabinets. We handle every step of the kitchen cabinet process. Design, build, and install. All of you have to do is relax and enjoy your new kitchen cabinets.
The math is simple…
Superior Quality + Unbeatable Value + Perfect installation = A Huntington Kitchen

The Yountville Residence was designed to accommodate three family generations coming together over food, wine, outdoor living and the land. Located amongst continuous vineyards on the broad flood plain of the Napa River, creating a strong sense of place was foremost. Rich in a culture of wine making and production from the land, the site demanded a design solution that honored its history and elevated the experience of the land.
The house pays homage to its context by creating a reimagined agrarian compound. Conceived as a family of smaller buildings, the architecture comes together around a shaded patio and pool. The kitchen, dining, and living spaces all flow onto the shaded outdoor patio and gardens. Low-sloped gable roofs evoke the agricultural history of the region and echo the gentle slope of the foothills beyond.
The home remains understated – quietly drawing one’s attention back to the magnificent natural features of the landscape. Gently pulled back into the heart of the serene vineyards, it is carefully oriented with Stag’s Leap at the foot of the Vaca Mountains to the East and the Mayacamas Range to the West. Scenic views continue uninterrupted through the home. Large window walls slide open and pocket on either side of the house, connecting the family to the outdoors and building a personal experience of place on the Valley floor.
“If we can enrich people’s lives, and just maybe inspire them to do something beyond what they might otherwise have done, that brings us great satisfaction.” – Stan Field, fA Principal
The connection of the architecture to the land goes beyond its visual connectivity. The design sensitively responds to land and place by recognizing key passive cooling and natural daylighting strategies present on the site. Broad overhanging roofs and the large slide away doors capture prevailing breezes up the valley. The patio, which is pulled close into a recessed cut-out in the main living space of the house, allows summer breezes across the pool to cool the house. Expansive windows and a narrow cross-section allow natural daylight to penetrate deep into the spaces and illuminate the rich and earthy palette of natural materials.
The architecture created is a vehicle through which the powerful forms of the landscape craft a powerful experience of place. It is a respite from urban life, designed to bring one back to the basics: a love of family, land, food, and of course, wine.

© Peter Zimmerman Architects, Inc.
John Toates, AIA Principle in Charge of Design
Example of a country exterior home design in New York
Example of a country exterior home design in New York
Find the right local pro for your project

The Yountville Residence was designed to accommodate three family generations coming together over food, wine, outdoor living and the land. Located amongst continuous vineyards on the broad flood plain of the Napa River, creating a strong sense of place was foremost. Rich in a culture of wine making and production from the land, the site demanded a design solution that honored its history and elevated the experience of the land.
The house pays homage to its context by creating a reimagined agrarian compound. Conceived as a family of smaller buildings, the architecture comes together around a shaded patio and pool. The kitchen, dining, and living spaces all flow onto the shaded outdoor patio and gardens. Low-sloped gable roofs evoke the agricultural history of the region and echo the gentle slope of the foothills beyond.
The home remains understated – quietly drawing one’s attention back to the magnificent natural features of the landscape. Gently pulled back into the heart of the serene vineyards, it is carefully oriented with Stag’s Leap at the foot of the Vaca Mountains to the East and the Mayacamas Range to the West. Scenic views continue uninterrupted through the home. Large window walls slide open and pocket on either side of the house, connecting the family to the outdoors and building a personal experience of place on the Valley floor.
“If we can enrich people’s lives, and just maybe inspire them to do something beyond what they might otherwise have done, that brings us great satisfaction.” – Stan Field, fA Principal
The connection of the architecture to the land goes beyond its visual connectivity. The design sensitively responds to land and place by recognizing key passive cooling and natural daylighting strategies present on the site. Broad overhanging roofs and the large slide away doors capture prevailing breezes up the valley. The patio, which is pulled close into a recessed cut-out in the main living space of the house, allows summer breezes across the pool to cool the house. Expansive windows and a narrow cross-section allow natural daylight to penetrate deep into the spaces and illuminate the rich and earthy palette of natural materials.
The architecture created is a vehicle through which the powerful forms of the landscape craft a powerful experience of place. It is a respite from urban life, designed to bring one back to the basics: a love of family, land, food, and of course, wine.

A modern glass fireplace an Ortal Space Creator 120 organically separates this sunken den and dining room. Wide flagstone steps capped with oak slabs lead the way to the dining room. The base of the espresso stained dining table is accented with zebra wood and rests on an ombre rug in shades of soft green and orange. Hanging above the table is a striking modern light fixture with glass globes. The ivory walls and ceiling are punctuated with warm, honey stained alder trim. Orange piping against a tone on tone chocolate fabric covers the dining chairs paying homage to the warm tones of the stained oak floor.

The Yountville Residence was designed to accommodate three family generations coming together over food, wine, outdoor living and the land. Located amongst continuous vineyards on the broad flood plain of the Napa River, creating a strong sense of place was foremost. Rich in a culture of wine making and production from the land, the site demanded a design solution that honored its history and elevated the experience of the land.
The house pays homage to its context by creating a reimagined agrarian compound. Conceived as a family of smaller buildings, the architecture comes together around a shaded patio and pool. The kitchen, dining, and living spaces all flow onto the shaded outdoor patio and gardens. Low-sloped gable roofs evoke the agricultural history of the region and echo the gentle slope of the foothills beyond.
The home remains understated – quietly drawing one’s attention back to the magnificent natural features of the landscape. Gently pulled back into the heart of the serene vineyards, it is carefully oriented with Stag’s Leap at the foot of the Vaca Mountains to the East and the Mayacamas Range to the West. Scenic views continue uninterrupted through the home. Large window walls slide open and pocket on either side of the house, connecting the family to the outdoors and building a personal experience of place on the Valley floor.
“If we can enrich people’s lives, and just maybe inspire them to do something beyond what they might otherwise have done, that brings us great satisfaction.” – Stan Field, fA Principal
The connection of the architecture to the land goes beyond its visual connectivity. The design sensitively responds to land and place by recognizing key passive cooling and natural daylighting strategies present on the site. Broad overhanging roofs and the large slide away doors capture prevailing breezes up the valley. The patio, which is pulled close into a recessed cut-out in the main living space of the house, allows summer breezes across the pool to cool the house. Expansive windows and a narrow cross-section allow natural daylight to penetrate deep into the spaces and illuminate the rich and earthy palette of natural materials.
The architecture created is a vehicle through which the powerful forms of the landscape craft a powerful experience of place. It is a respite from urban life, designed to bring one back to the basics: a love of family, land, food, and of course, wine.

Architect: Andre Tchelistcheff Architects New York. NY
Builder: Xhema of Greenwich CT
Installer: TRM Enterprises Bridgehampton NY
Back story.
Northern has worked with both Xhema and TRM many tiles. We have worked with Andre before he branched out on his own.
Originally Xhema’s contact was to replace the roof and repair the garage, which as some point had been made into an indoor swimming pool without adequate ventilation. The budget was about $8m and there were 20 drawings.
By the time the job was 6 months old the scope of work has expanded to over $30m and over 200 drawings had been produced.
Northern was contacted to visit the site and evaluate the existing roof. Although the house had been added to over the years the same tile was used but due to the location of the house the color of the tile varied considerably from the front to the back.
Northern identified a large number of custom details which would require us to:
1) Match the existing Field tile in size, thickness (it was actually thicker at the butt and reduced to ½” where the tile is overlapped) , surface texture and the color.
2) Make tiles that are curved in their length to suit the curved rafter on the gabled dormers.
3) Make the curved tiles to suit the low slope octagonal tower.
4) Make the curved tiles and Arris style hips to suit the hipped dormers with the curved rafters.
5) Make the segmented tiles to suit the round turret.
6) Make the custom arris style hip tiles for the octagonal tower.
7) Make the custom Arris style hip to suit the different roof pitches as well as the varying splays at the eaves.
8) Make the custom pieces to suit the swept valleys
Simon broke down each section of the roof. He indented all items for each section and agreed the measure etc with the installers. This ‘Project Bible’ became an invaluable tool for the installer, our tile makers and us.
We shipped some samples from the original roof to Sahtas who replicated tall the details. I was visiting factory and delayed my return to the Saturday so that the tiles coming out of the kiln late Friday night could be wrapped and packed into newly purchase suit cases. I arrived home late Saturday evening and Simon picked me up Sunday afternoon and drove us down to Greenwich for an 8 am meeting with the clients. When we unpacked the tiles they were still warm and Hilfiger signed off on the color, although his wife suggested we make them a bit darker a ‘as he has a dreadful sense of color!’
We took Vincent Liot, owner of TRM to the factory twice so that he could oversee the prototyping of all the myriad custom pieces. This was an invaluable move as he pre-approved all the pieces before they were shipped.
The installation was completed and everyone was very pleased with the final outcome.
The Hilfiger’s estate manager told me that a group of friends who were staying the weekend after all the work was completed were heard to ask Mr. Hilfiger ‘I thought you were having a new roof’…to which he responded ‘we did but you can’t tell, which as the plan” …perfect!
In refection this is probably the most complicated roof Northern has ever had the pleasure to supply. We learned a lot of very valuable lessons but in future when we are asked how did we do it we will answer ‘that is for us to know and for you to pay for!’

Sponsored
Delaware, OH
Buckeye Basements, Inc.
Central Ohio's Basement Finishing ExpertsBest Of Houzz '13-'21

Stuart Wade, Envision Virtual Tours
Envision Virtual Tours and High Resolution Photography is your best choice to find just what you are looking for in the Ellijay, Ga. area .Ellijay, Georgia, known as the “Apple Capital” of Georgia, is located between the Ellijay and Cartecay Rivers where they join to make the Coosawattee River and is the county seat of Gilmer County, Georgia. The origin of the city’s name is not certain but thought to be the English derivative of an Indian word(s) meaning “many waters”, “place of green things” or “new ground”. Some histories say it may have been named for an Indian chief.
Inhabited for countless years by the Cherokee people indigenous to the North Georgia, the area was first mentioned as a village and trade center before the onslaught of white settlers inhabited the region. During the 1830’s both white settlers and Indians occupied Ellijay. During the original land lottery in 1832, Martin Scalf acquired the 160 acre lot where the town now stands. In 1833, Clemonds Quinland bought 10 acres from Scalf, retained one acre for himself and donated the rest of the purchase to the County. A plan for twenty town lots, streets and a public square was created and the streets were oriented to allow maximum sunlight exposure to the buildings.
Proceeds from lot sales were used to build a jail and courthouse and pay other city expenses. During this same year, Gilmer County was appropriated $800.00 from the State to build a school, and a three-acre lot was donated for the city cemetery. On December 29, l834, Ellijay was incorporated and designated as the County seat of Gilmer County. By 1837, the town had twenty dwellings, three stores and one attorney. Most of these early buildings were of log construction.
Many roads led to Ellijay by 1849. The population had grown to 150 by 1850 and the town at five stores. Some wood-frame buildings were being constructed at this time and in 1854, a new courthouse was built in the center of the square, replacing the earlier building. The County’s first newspaper was the Ellijay Courier, started in 1875, and during this time period, Ellijay was a stop on the stagecoach line. The railroad bridge over the Cartecay River was completed in 1884 and the town now had rail service.
With the arrival of the railroad and subsequent tracks to White Path, Ellijay began to grow much faster. Many hotels were constructed and land was donated for a depot east of town. More industries, such as a cheese factory and the Shippen Brothers Lumber Mill, located in Ellijay. By 1898, the city had expanded its limits in every direction and now included the depot.
By 1900, all the buildings on the town square were brick. This included the recently completed Hyatt Hotel. Most of the other buildings in town were still of log construction, but new wood-frame buildings were being built. The Shippen Brothers Lumber Company production was expanding and exporting their lumber to Europe. Within the next few decades, this company grew to be one of the largest employers in Ellijay, often with five to six million feet of lumber in the yard at one time.
The population of Ellijay grew to 659 by 1910, and began to acquire many new modern conveniences such as electric lights and power, a telephone company and many new businesses.
Then in 1912, a fire ravaged the city, destroying 23 buildings. As a result, many new buildings were constructed under new and stricter fire and safety guidelines. The population, however, decreased slightly at this time to 632 in 1920.
During the 1920’s the town’s population began to grow again and, by this time, apples were being shipped out of the county and new storage facilities were built. Chickens were also shipped to markets outside of Ellijay and Gilmer County.
From the mid 1930’s to 1950, Ellijay received much assistance from the Federal WPA Programs. The old courthouse was removed from the center of town square and the Hyatt Hotel was remodeled to be the new courthouse. A park was created on the site of the old courthouse and the streets around the square were paved. A new street was built at this time entering town from the northeast. Other new roads, bridges, sidewalks and gutters were constructed to improve the city. A school and gymnasium were also built and other structures improved.
This growth began to impact the city’s infrastructure and in the l950’s and l960’s, a period of upgrading water systems, roads, and power supplies began. New low-rent housing appeared in l960 and a new hospital was built in l957. Georgia Highway 5 was widened in l962, new buildings around the square replaced old ones and some were remodeled. In 1974, the hospital was enlarged.
Currently, Ellijay attracts tourists who love the small-town feel and friendly atmosphere. Hotels and restaurants, unique shops, antiques and art galleries lend their charms to those who visit. A new courthouse constructed to resemble the old one, new streetscaping, family-oriented downtown events and the beautification of the square have stepped up the social and economic activity and have made Ellijay a popular destination.

Kitchens
Traditional transitional, or modern….
Whatever style you chose, we will design, build, and install the custom kitchen of your dreams.
•Superior Quality
- All of the materials used to build our cabinets are the highest grade, eco friendly materials that are available in North America.
- Every part of every cabinet, door, and drawer are 3/4” thick. Quality and durability is what we strive for…
- Soft close slides and hinges are standard on all of our kitchen cabinets.
•Unbeatable Quality
- There is no need to settle on stock size cabinets or pay the high price for custom cabinets.
- Our high quality custom cabinets cost less than most low quality stock cabinets available on the market.
•Perfect Installation
- Not only will we design and build your custom cabinets, we will see your vision through to completion. Our “on staff” cabinet installers will keep your kitchen renovation on schedule when we install your custom made cabinets. We handle every step of the kitchen cabinet process. Design, build, and install. All of you have to do is relax and enjoy your new kitchen cabinets.
The math is simple…
Superior Quality + Unbeatable Value + Perfect installation = A Huntington Kitchen

Stuart Wade, Envision Virtual Tours
Envision Virtual Tours and High Resolution Photography is your best choice to find just what you are looking for in the Ellijay, Ga. area .Ellijay, Georgia, known as the “Apple Capital” of Georgia, is located between the Ellijay and Cartecay Rivers where they join to make the Coosawattee River and is the county seat of Gilmer County, Georgia. The origin of the city’s name is not certain but thought to be the English derivative of an Indian word(s) meaning “many waters”, “place of green things” or “new ground”. Some histories say it may have been named for an Indian chief.
Inhabited for countless years by the Cherokee people indigenous to the North Georgia, the area was first mentioned as a village and trade center before the onslaught of white settlers inhabited the region. During the 1830’s both white settlers and Indians occupied Ellijay. During the original land lottery in 1832, Martin Scalf acquired the 160 acre lot where the town now stands. In 1833, Clemonds Quinland bought 10 acres from Scalf, retained one acre for himself and donated the rest of the purchase to the County. A plan for twenty town lots, streets and a public square was created and the streets were oriented to allow maximum sunlight exposure to the buildings.
Proceeds from lot sales were used to build a jail and courthouse and pay other city expenses. During this same year, Gilmer County was appropriated $800.00 from the State to build a school, and a three-acre lot was donated for the city cemetery. On December 29, l834, Ellijay was incorporated and designated as the County seat of Gilmer County. By 1837, the town had twenty dwellings, three stores and one attorney. Most of these early buildings were of log construction.
Many roads led to Ellijay by 1849. The population had grown to 150 by 1850 and the town at five stores. Some wood-frame buildings were being constructed at this time and in 1854, a new courthouse was built in the center of the square, replacing the earlier building. The County’s first newspaper was the Ellijay Courier, started in 1875, and during this time period, Ellijay was a stop on the stagecoach line. The railroad bridge over the Cartecay River was completed in 1884 and the town now had rail service.
With the arrival of the railroad and subsequent tracks to White Path, Ellijay began to grow much faster. Many hotels were constructed and land was donated for a depot east of town. More industries, such as a cheese factory and the Shippen Brothers Lumber Mill, located in Ellijay. By 1898, the city had expanded its limits in every direction and now included the depot.
By 1900, all the buildings on the town square were brick. This included the recently completed Hyatt Hotel. Most of the other buildings in town were still of log construction, but new wood-frame buildings were being built. The Shippen Brothers Lumber Company production was expanding and exporting their lumber to Europe. Within the next few decades, this company grew to be one of the largest employers in Ellijay, often with five to six million feet of lumber in the yard at one time.
The population of Ellijay grew to 659 by 1910, and began to acquire many new modern conveniences such as electric lights and power, a telephone company and many new businesses.
Then in 1912, a fire ravaged the city, destroying 23 buildings. As a result, many new buildings were constructed under new and stricter fire and safety guidelines. The population, however, decreased slightly at this time to 632 in 1920.
During the 1920’s the town’s population began to grow again and, by this time, apples were being shipped out of the county and new storage facilities were built. Chickens were also shipped to markets outside of Ellijay and Gilmer County.
From the mid 1930’s to 1950, Ellijay received much assistance from the Federal WPA Programs. The old courthouse was removed from the center of town square and the Hyatt Hotel was remodeled to be the new courthouse. A park was created on the site of the old courthouse and the streets around the square were paved. A new street was built at this time entering town from the northeast. Other new roads, bridges, sidewalks and gutters were constructed to improve the city. A school and gymnasium were also built and other structures improved.
This growth began to impact the city’s infrastructure and in the l950’s and l960’s, a period of upgrading water systems, roads, and power supplies began. New low-rent housing appeared in l960 and a new hospital was built in l957. Georgia Highway 5 was widened in l962, new buildings around the square replaced old ones and some were remodeled. In 1974, the hospital was enlarged.
Currently, Ellijay attracts tourists who love the small-town feel and friendly atmosphere. Hotels and restaurants, unique shops, antiques and art galleries lend their charms to those who visit. A new courthouse constructed to resemble the old one, new streetscaping, family-oriented downtown events and the beautification of the square have stepped up the social and economic activity and have made Ellijay a popular destination.

Kitchens
Traditional transitional, or modern….
Whatever style you chose, we will design, build, and install the custom kitchen of your dreams.
•Superior Quality
- All of the materials used to build our cabinets are the highest grade, eco friendly materials that are available in North America.
- Every part of every cabinet, door, and drawer are 3/4” thick. Quality and durability is what we strive for…
- Soft close slides and hinges are standard on all of our kitchen cabinets.
•Unbeatable Quality
- There is no need to settle on stock size cabinets or pay the high price for custom cabinets.
- Our high quality custom cabinets cost less than most low quality stock cabinets available on the market.
•Perfect Installation
- Not only will we design and build your custom cabinets, we will see your vision through to completion. Our “on staff” cabinet installers will keep your kitchen renovation on schedule when we install your custom made cabinets. We handle every step of the kitchen cabinet process. Design, build, and install. All of you have to do is relax and enjoy your new kitchen cabinets.
The math is simple…
Superior Quality + Unbeatable Value + Perfect installation = A Huntington Kitchen

Stuart Wade, Envision Virtual Tours
Envision Virtual Tours and High Resolution Photography is your best choice to find just what you are looking for in the Ellijay, Ga. area .Ellijay, Georgia, known as the “Apple Capital” of Georgia, is located between the Ellijay and Cartecay Rivers where they join to make the Coosawattee River and is the county seat of Gilmer County, Georgia. The origin of the city’s name is not certain but thought to be the English derivative of an Indian word(s) meaning “many waters”, “place of green things” or “new ground”. Some histories say it may have been named for an Indian chief.
Inhabited for countless years by the Cherokee people indigenous to the North Georgia, the area was first mentioned as a village and trade center before the onslaught of white settlers inhabited the region. During the 1830’s both white settlers and Indians occupied Ellijay. During the original land lottery in 1832, Martin Scalf acquired the 160 acre lot where the town now stands. In 1833, Clemonds Quinland bought 10 acres from Scalf, retained one acre for himself and donated the rest of the purchase to the County. A plan for twenty town lots, streets and a public square was created and the streets were oriented to allow maximum sunlight exposure to the buildings.
Proceeds from lot sales were used to build a jail and courthouse and pay other city expenses. During this same year, Gilmer County was appropriated $800.00 from the State to build a school, and a three-acre lot was donated for the city cemetery. On December 29, l834, Ellijay was incorporated and designated as the County seat of Gilmer County. By 1837, the town had twenty dwellings, three stores and one attorney. Most of these early buildings were of log construction.
Many roads led to Ellijay by 1849. The population had grown to 150 by 1850 and the town at five stores. Some wood-frame buildings were being constructed at this time and in 1854, a new courthouse was built in the center of the square, replacing the earlier building. The County’s first newspaper was the Ellijay Courier, started in 1875, and during this time period, Ellijay was a stop on the stagecoach line. The railroad bridge over the Cartecay River was completed in 1884 and the town now had rail service.
With the arrival of the railroad and subsequent tracks to White Path, Ellijay began to grow much faster. Many hotels were constructed and land was donated for a depot east of town. More industries, such as a cheese factory and the Shippen Brothers Lumber Mill, located in Ellijay. By 1898, the city had expanded its limits in every direction and now included the depot.
By 1900, all the buildings on the town square were brick. This included the recently completed Hyatt Hotel. Most of the other buildings in town were still of log construction, but new wood-frame buildings were being built. The Shippen Brothers Lumber Company production was expanding and exporting their lumber to Europe. Within the next few decades, this company grew to be one of the largest employers in Ellijay, often with five to six million feet of lumber in the yard at one time.
The population of Ellijay grew to 659 by 1910, and began to acquire many new modern conveniences such as electric lights and power, a telephone company and many new businesses.
Then in 1912, a fire ravaged the city, destroying 23 buildings. As a result, many new buildings were constructed under new and stricter fire and safety guidelines. The population, however, decreased slightly at this time to 632 in 1920.
During the 1920’s the town’s population began to grow again and, by this time, apples were being shipped out of the county and new storage facilities were built. Chickens were also shipped to markets outside of Ellijay and Gilmer County.
From the mid 1930’s to 1950, Ellijay received much assistance from the Federal WPA Programs. The old courthouse was removed from the center of town square and the Hyatt Hotel was remodeled to be the new courthouse. A park was created on the site of the old courthouse and the streets around the square were paved. A new street was built at this time entering town from the northeast. Other new roads, bridges, sidewalks and gutters were constructed to improve the city. A school and gymnasium were also built and other structures improved.
This growth began to impact the city’s infrastructure and in the l950’s and l960’s, a period of upgrading water systems, roads, and power supplies began. New low-rent housing appeared in l960 and a new hospital was built in l957. Georgia Highway 5 was widened in l962, new buildings around the square replaced old ones and some were remodeled. In 1974, the hospital was enlarged.
Currently, Ellijay attracts tourists who love the small-town feel and friendly atmosphere. Hotels and restaurants, unique shops, antiques and art galleries lend their charms to those who visit. A new courthouse constructed to resemble the old one, new streetscaping, family-oriented downtown events and the beautification of the square have stepped up the social and economic activity and have made Ellijay a popular destination.

Sponsored
Columbus, OH
Structural Remodeling
Franklin County's Heavy Timber Specialists | Best of Houzz 2020!

Running a small restaurant is a high-wire act - delicious plates on one end, razor-thin margins on the other. With food costs averaging 28-35 percent of revenue and labor at 30 percent, every dollar counts. The good news? Targeted tweaks can shave 10-20 percent off your bottom line without sacrificing quality. From smarter sourcing to streamlined waste handling, these strategies empower independents to thrive. One underrated gem: Efficient waste management via roll-off dumpster rentals, which can slash disposal fees by up to 40 percent. Let's break it down.
Optimize Inventory: Waste Less, Save More
Overstocked pantries are profit killers - U.S. restaurants toss $25 billion in food yearly. Audit weekly. Track sales data to forecast demand, using apps like Toast or MarketMan for real-time insights. Trim your menu to 12-15 core items, focusing on seasonal, high-margin stars like farm-fresh salads over imported proteins. Portion control is key - pre-weighed scoops cut overuse by 15 percent.
Repurpose scraps creatively. Veggie peels into stocks, bread ends for croutons. Donate extras to food banks via apps like Too Good To Go, earning tax deductions up to $5,000 annually. These habits reclaim 5-10 percent of food budgets, freeing cash for upgrades. Additionally, consider using citrus rinds for infused oils or desserts, and coffee grounds for compost to support local gardens. Engaging staff in sustainability efforts also builds morale and can be highlighted in marketing materials to attract eco-conscious diners.
Trim Energy and Utilities: Go Green for Greenbacks
Utilities gobble 4-10 percent of expenses. Swap to LED bulbs and energy-star appliances - upfront costs pay back in 6-12 months via 20-30 percent bill drops. Install low-flow faucets and programmable thermostats; during off-hours, dial down to 55°F to save $200/month on HVAC.
Use induction cooktops for precise heat, reducing gas by 15 percent. Train staff on "last out" protocols - unplugging idle equipment. Solar panels? For rooftops under 1,000 sq ft, incentives cover 30 percent installation, yielding ROI in 5 years.
Master Waste Management: Dumpsters as Cost Commanders
Trash isn't just garbage - it's a budget black hole, with disposal eating 2-5 percent of revenues. Small spots generate 1-2 tons monthly from food scraps, packaging, and grease. Ditch overflowing bins and irregular hauls for roll-off dumpster rentals. A 10-15 yard unit centralizes waste, handling bulk like fryer oil drums or produce crates without daily pickups.
Efficiency Over Headcount
Labor's your biggest line item - cross-train staff for multi-roles, like servers prepping during lulls, trimming overtime 10-15 percent. Shift scheduling software optimizes based on reservations, avoiding idle payroll.
Negotiate bulk buys with local suppliers for 5-10 percent discounts; loyalty programs from Sysco yield free deliveries. Go digital - QR menus cut printing costs, speed table turnover, and allow menu updates in real time without waste. Loyalty apps boost repeat visits without increasing your advertising budget, making it easier to track customer preferences and send targeted promotions. Consider bundling purchases with other area restaurants to unlock deeper discounts and leverage supplier relationships for exclusive seasonal specials. These strategies can reduce overhead, improve customer retention, and keep operations flexible as trends shift.

Stuart Wade, Envision Virtual Tours
Envision Virtual Tours and High Resolution Photography is your best choice to find just what you are looking for in the Ellijay, Ga. area .Ellijay, Georgia, known as the “Apple Capital” of Georgia, is located between the Ellijay and Cartecay Rivers where they join to make the Coosawattee River and is the county seat of Gilmer County, Georgia. The origin of the city’s name is not certain but thought to be the English derivative of an Indian word(s) meaning “many waters”, “place of green things” or “new ground”. Some histories say it may have been named for an Indian chief.
Inhabited for countless years by the Cherokee people indigenous to the North Georgia, the area was first mentioned as a village and trade center before the onslaught of white settlers inhabited the region. During the 1830’s both white settlers and Indians occupied Ellijay. During the original land lottery in 1832, Martin Scalf acquired the 160 acre lot where the town now stands. In 1833, Clemonds Quinland bought 10 acres from Scalf, retained one acre for himself and donated the rest of the purchase to the County. A plan for twenty town lots, streets and a public square was created and the streets were oriented to allow maximum sunlight exposure to the buildings.
Proceeds from lot sales were used to build a jail and courthouse and pay other city expenses. During this same year, Gilmer County was appropriated $800.00 from the State to build a school, and a three-acre lot was donated for the city cemetery. On December 29, l834, Ellijay was incorporated and designated as the County seat of Gilmer County. By 1837, the town had twenty dwellings, three stores and one attorney. Most of these early buildings were of log construction.
Many roads led to Ellijay by 1849. The population had grown to 150 by 1850 and the town at five stores. Some wood-frame buildings were being constructed at this time and in 1854, a new courthouse was built in the center of the square, replacing the earlier building. The County’s first newspaper was the Ellijay Courier, started in 1875, and during this time period, Ellijay was a stop on the stagecoach line. The railroad bridge over the Cartecay River was completed in 1884 and the town now had rail service.
With the arrival of the railroad and subsequent tracks to White Path, Ellijay began to grow much faster. Many hotels were constructed and land was donated for a depot east of town. More industries, such as a cheese factory and the Shippen Brothers Lumber Mill, located in Ellijay. By 1898, the city had expanded its limits in every direction and now included the depot.
By 1900, all the buildings on the town square were brick. This included the recently completed Hyatt Hotel. Most of the other buildings in town were still of log construction, but new wood-frame buildings were being built. The Shippen Brothers Lumber Company production was expanding and exporting their lumber to Europe. Within the next few decades, this company grew to be one of the largest employers in Ellijay, often with five to six million feet of lumber in the yard at one time.
The population of Ellijay grew to 659 by 1910, and began to acquire many new modern conveniences such as electric lights and power, a telephone company and many new businesses.
Then in 1912, a fire ravaged the city, destroying 23 buildings. As a result, many new buildings were constructed under new and stricter fire and safety guidelines. The population, however, decreased slightly at this time to 632 in 1920.
During the 1920’s the town’s population began to grow again and, by this time, apples were being shipped out of the county and new storage facilities were built. Chickens were also shipped to markets outside of Ellijay and Gilmer County.
From the mid 1930’s to 1950, Ellijay received much assistance from the Federal WPA Programs. The old courthouse was removed from the center of town square and the Hyatt Hotel was remodeled to be the new courthouse. A park was created on the site of the old courthouse and the streets around the square were paved. A new street was built at this time entering town from the northeast. Other new roads, bridges, sidewalks and gutters were constructed to improve the city. A school and gymnasium were also built and other structures improved.
This growth began to impact the city’s infrastructure and in the l950’s and l960’s, a period of upgrading water systems, roads, and power supplies began. New low-rent housing appeared in l960 and a new hospital was built in l957. Georgia Highway 5 was widened in l962, new buildings around the square replaced old ones and some were remodeled. In 1974, the hospital was enlarged.
Currently, Ellijay attracts tourists who love the small-town feel and friendly atmosphere. Hotels and restaurants, unique shops, antiques and art galleries lend their charms to those who visit. A new courthouse constructed to resemble the old one, new streetscaping, family-oriented downtown events and the beautification of the square have stepped up the social and economic activity and have made Ellijay a popular destination.

Stuart Wade, Envision Virtual Tours
Envision Virtual Tours and High Resolution Photography is your best choice to find just what you are looking for in the Ellijay, Ga. area .Ellijay, Georgia, known as the “Apple Capital” of Georgia, is located between the Ellijay and Cartecay Rivers where they join to make the Coosawattee River and is the county seat of Gilmer County, Georgia. The origin of the city’s name is not certain but thought to be the English derivative of an Indian word(s) meaning “many waters”, “place of green things” or “new ground”. Some histories say it may have been named for an Indian chief.
Inhabited for countless years by the Cherokee people indigenous to the North Georgia, the area was first mentioned as a village and trade center before the onslaught of white settlers inhabited the region. During the 1830’s both white settlers and Indians occupied Ellijay. During the original land lottery in 1832, Martin Scalf acquired the 160 acre lot where the town now stands. In 1833, Clemonds Quinland bought 10 acres from Scalf, retained one acre for himself and donated the rest of the purchase to the County. A plan for twenty town lots, streets and a public square was created and the streets were oriented to allow maximum sunlight exposure to the buildings.
Proceeds from lot sales were used to build a jail and courthouse and pay other city expenses. During this same year, Gilmer County was appropriated $800.00 from the State to build a school, and a three-acre lot was donated for the city cemetery. On December 29, l834, Ellijay was incorporated and designated as the County seat of Gilmer County. By 1837, the town had twenty dwellings, three stores and one attorney. Most of these early buildings were of log construction.
Many roads led to Ellijay by 1849. The population had grown to 150 by 1850 and the town at five stores. Some wood-frame buildings were being constructed at this time and in 1854, a new courthouse was built in the center of the square, replacing the earlier building. The County’s first newspaper was the Ellijay Courier, started in 1875, and during this time period, Ellijay was a stop on the stagecoach line. The railroad bridge over the Cartecay River was completed in 1884 and the town now had rail service.
With the arrival of the railroad and subsequent tracks to White Path, Ellijay began to grow much faster. Many hotels were constructed and land was donated for a depot east of town. More industries, such as a cheese factory and the Shippen Brothers Lumber Mill, located in Ellijay. By 1898, the city had expanded its limits in every direction and now included the depot.
By 1900, all the buildings on the town square were brick. This included the recently completed Hyatt Hotel. Most of the other buildings in town were still of log construction, but new wood-frame buildings were being built. The Shippen Brothers Lumber Company production was expanding and exporting their lumber to Europe. Within the next few decades, this company grew to be one of the largest employers in Ellijay, often with five to six million feet of lumber in the yard at one time.
The population of Ellijay grew to 659 by 1910, and began to acquire many new modern conveniences such as electric lights and power, a telephone company and many new businesses.
Then in 1912, a fire ravaged the city, destroying 23 buildings. As a result, many new buildings were constructed under new and stricter fire and safety guidelines. The population, however, decreased slightly at this time to 632 in 1920.
During the 1920’s the town’s population began to grow again and, by this time, apples were being shipped out of the county and new storage facilities were built. Chickens were also shipped to markets outside of Ellijay and Gilmer County.
From the mid 1930’s to 1950, Ellijay received much assistance from the Federal WPA Programs. The old courthouse was removed from the center of town square and the Hyatt Hotel was remodeled to be the new courthouse. A park was created on the site of the old courthouse and the streets around the square were paved. A new street was built at this time entering town from the northeast. Other new roads, bridges, sidewalks and gutters were constructed to improve the city. A school and gymnasium were also built and other structures improved.
This growth began to impact the city’s infrastructure and in the l950’s and l960’s, a period of upgrading water systems, roads, and power supplies began. New low-rent housing appeared in l960 and a new hospital was built in l957. Georgia Highway 5 was widened in l962, new buildings around the square replaced old ones and some were remodeled. In 1974, the hospital was enlarged.
Currently, Ellijay attracts tourists who love the small-town feel and friendly atmosphere. Hotels and restaurants, unique shops, antiques and art galleries lend their charms to those who visit. A new courthouse constructed to resemble the old one, new streetscaping, family-oriented downtown events and the beautification of the square have stepped up the social and economic activity and have made Ellijay a popular destination.

Custom Media Cabinet by Komandor. It’s the small details that count in this media cabinet…the turquoise panel peppered in a couple of cubbies and the natural wood color fronts are the perfect touches to bring the color scheme in this room together. As the room opens up before us…we see how paying attention to these fine points can bring coherence and elevate this room to the next level.

Stuart Wade, Envision Virtual Tours
Envision Virtual Tours and High Resolution Photography is your best choice to find just what you are looking for in the Ellijay, Ga. area .Ellijay, Georgia, known as the “Apple Capital” of Georgia, is located between the Ellijay and Cartecay Rivers where they join to make the Coosawattee River and is the county seat of Gilmer County, Georgia. The origin of the city’s name is not certain but thought to be the English derivative of an Indian word(s) meaning “many waters”, “place of green things” or “new ground”. Some histories say it may have been named for an Indian chief.
Inhabited for countless years by the Cherokee people indigenous to the North Georgia, the area was first mentioned as a village and trade center before the onslaught of white settlers inhabited the region. During the 1830’s both white settlers and Indians occupied Ellijay. During the original land lottery in 1832, Martin Scalf acquired the 160 acre lot where the town now stands. In 1833, Clemonds Quinland bought 10 acres from Scalf, retained one acre for himself and donated the rest of the purchase to the County. A plan for twenty town lots, streets and a public square was created and the streets were oriented to allow maximum sunlight exposure to the buildings.
Proceeds from lot sales were used to build a jail and courthouse and pay other city expenses. During this same year, Gilmer County was appropriated $800.00 from the State to build a school, and a three-acre lot was donated for the city cemetery. On December 29, l834, Ellijay was incorporated and designated as the County seat of Gilmer County. By 1837, the town had twenty dwellings, three stores and one attorney. Most of these early buildings were of log construction.
Many roads led to Ellijay by 1849. The population had grown to 150 by 1850 and the town at five stores. Some wood-frame buildings were being constructed at this time and in 1854, a new courthouse was built in the center of the square, replacing the earlier building. The County’s first newspaper was the Ellijay Courier, started in 1875, and during this time period, Ellijay was a stop on the stagecoach line. The railroad bridge over the Cartecay River was completed in 1884 and the town now had rail service.
With the arrival of the railroad and subsequent tracks to White Path, Ellijay began to grow much faster. Many hotels were constructed and land was donated for a depot east of town. More industries, such as a cheese factory and the Shippen Brothers Lumber Mill, located in Ellijay. By 1898, the city had expanded its limits in every direction and now included the depot.
By 1900, all the buildings on the town square were brick. This included the recently completed Hyatt Hotel. Most of the other buildings in town were still of log construction, but new wood-frame buildings were being built. The Shippen Brothers Lumber Company production was expanding and exporting their lumber to Europe. Within the next few decades, this company grew to be one of the largest employers in Ellijay, often with five to six million feet of lumber in the yard at one time.
The population of Ellijay grew to 659 by 1910, and began to acquire many new modern conveniences such as electric lights and power, a telephone company and many new businesses.
Then in 1912, a fire ravaged the city, destroying 23 buildings. As a result, many new buildings were constructed under new and stricter fire and safety guidelines. The population, however, decreased slightly at this time to 632 in 1920.
During the 1920’s the town’s population began to grow again and, by this time, apples were being shipped out of the county and new storage facilities were built. Chickens were also shipped to markets outside of Ellijay and Gilmer County.
From the mid 1930’s to 1950, Ellijay received much assistance from the Federal WPA Programs. The old courthouse was removed from the center of town square and the Hyatt Hotel was remodeled to be the new courthouse. A park was created on the site of the old courthouse and the streets around the square were paved. A new street was built at this time entering town from the northeast. Other new roads, bridges, sidewalks and gutters were constructed to improve the city. A school and gymnasium were also built and other structures improved.
This growth began to impact the city’s infrastructure and in the l950’s and l960’s, a period of upgrading water systems, roads, and power supplies began. New low-rent housing appeared in l960 and a new hospital was built in l957. Georgia Highway 5 was widened in l962, new buildings around the square replaced old ones and some were remodeled. In 1974, the hospital was enlarged.
Currently, Ellijay attracts tourists who love the small-town feel and friendly atmosphere. Hotels and restaurants, unique shops, antiques and art galleries lend their charms to those who visit. A new courthouse constructed to resemble the old one, new streetscaping, family-oriented downtown events and the beautification of the square have stepped up the social and economic activity and have made Ellijay a popular destination.

Custom Media Cabinet by Komandor. It’s the small details that count in this media cabinet…the turquoise panel peppered in a couple of cubbies and the natural wood color fronts are the perfect touches to bring the color scheme in this room together. As the room opens up before us…we see how paying attention to these fine points can bring coherence and elevate this room to the next level.

Stuart Wade, Envision Virtual Tours
Envision Virtual Tours and High Resolution Photography is your best choice to find just what you are looking for in the Ellijay, Ga. area .Ellijay, Georgia, known as the “Apple Capital” of Georgia, is located between the Ellijay and Cartecay Rivers where they join to make the Coosawattee River and is the county seat of Gilmer County, Georgia. The origin of the city’s name is not certain but thought to be the English derivative of an Indian word(s) meaning “many waters”, “place of green things” or “new ground”. Some histories say it may have been named for an Indian chief.
Inhabited for countless years by the Cherokee people indigenous to the North Georgia, the area was first mentioned as a village and trade center before the onslaught of white settlers inhabited the region. During the 1830’s both white settlers and Indians occupied Ellijay. During the original land lottery in 1832, Martin Scalf acquired the 160 acre lot where the town now stands. In 1833, Clemonds Quinland bought 10 acres from Scalf, retained one acre for himself and donated the rest of the purchase to the County. A plan for twenty town lots, streets and a public square was created and the streets were oriented to allow maximum sunlight exposure to the buildings.
Proceeds from lot sales were used to build a jail and courthouse and pay other city expenses. During this same year, Gilmer County was appropriated $800.00 from the State to build a school, and a three-acre lot was donated for the city cemetery. On December 29, l834, Ellijay was incorporated and designated as the County seat of Gilmer County. By 1837, the town had twenty dwellings, three stores and one attorney. Most of these early buildings were of log construction.
Many roads led to Ellijay by 1849. The population had grown to 150 by 1850 and the town at five stores. Some wood-frame buildings were being constructed at this time and in 1854, a new courthouse was built in the center of the square, replacing the earlier building. The County’s first newspaper was the Ellijay Courier, started in 1875, and during this time period, Ellijay was a stop on the stagecoach line. The railroad bridge over the Cartecay River was completed in 1884 and the town now had rail service.
With the arrival of the railroad and subsequent tracks to White Path, Ellijay began to grow much faster. Many hotels were constructed and land was donated for a depot east of town. More industries, such as a cheese factory and the Shippen Brothers Lumber Mill, located in Ellijay. By 1898, the city had expanded its limits in every direction and now included the depot.
By 1900, all the buildings on the town square were brick. This included the recently completed Hyatt Hotel. Most of the other buildings in town were still of log construction, but new wood-frame buildings were being built. The Shippen Brothers Lumber Company production was expanding and exporting their lumber to Europe. Within the next few decades, this company grew to be one of the largest employers in Ellijay, often with five to six million feet of lumber in the yard at one time.
The population of Ellijay grew to 659 by 1910, and began to acquire many new modern conveniences such as electric lights and power, a telephone company and many new businesses.
Then in 1912, a fire ravaged the city, destroying 23 buildings. As a result, many new buildings were constructed under new and stricter fire and safety guidelines. The population, however, decreased slightly at this time to 632 in 1920.
During the 1920’s the town’s population began to grow again and, by this time, apples were being shipped out of the county and new storage facilities were built. Chickens were also shipped to markets outside of Ellijay and Gilmer County.
From the mid 1930’s to 1950, Ellijay received much assistance from the Federal WPA Programs. The old courthouse was removed from the center of town square and the Hyatt Hotel was remodeled to be the new courthouse. A park was created on the site of the old courthouse and the streets around the square were paved. A new street was built at this time entering town from the northeast. Other new roads, bridges, sidewalks and gutters were constructed to improve the city. A school and gymnasium were also built and other structures improved.
This growth began to impact the city’s infrastructure and in the l950’s and l960’s, a period of upgrading water systems, roads, and power supplies began. New low-rent housing appeared in l960 and a new hospital was built in l957. Georgia Highway 5 was widened in l962, new buildings around the square replaced old ones and some were remodeled. In 1974, the hospital was enlarged.
Currently, Ellijay attracts tourists who love the small-town feel and friendly atmosphere. Hotels and restaurants, unique shops, antiques and art galleries lend their charms to those who visit. A new courthouse constructed to resemble the old one, new streetscaping, family-oriented downtown events and the beautification of the square have stepped up the social and economic activity and have made Ellijay a popular destination.
14

