Search results for "Low pay" in Home Design Ideas

Kitchens
Traditional transitional, or modern….
Whatever style you chose, we will design, build, and install the custom kitchen of your dreams.
•Superior Quality
- All of the materials used to build our cabinets are the highest grade, eco friendly materials that are available in North America.
- Every part of every cabinet, door, and drawer are 3/4” thick. Quality and durability is what we strive for…
- Soft close slides and hinges are standard on all of our kitchen cabinets.
•Unbeatable Quality
- There is no need to settle on stock size cabinets or pay the high price for custom cabinets.
- Our high quality custom cabinets cost less than most low quality stock cabinets available on the market.
•Perfect Installation
- Not only will we design and build your custom cabinets, we will see your vision through to completion. Our “on staff” cabinet installers will keep your kitchen renovation on schedule when we install your custom made cabinets. We handle every step of the kitchen cabinet process. Design, build, and install. All of you have to do is relax and enjoy your new kitchen cabinets.
The math is simple…
Superior Quality + Unbeatable Value + Perfect installation = A Huntington Kitchen

Keith and Amy loved their home in quiet Wake Forest neighborhood on a large corner lot on a cul-de-sac. Over time, Amy had developed allergic reactions to unknown allergens in their home. As her condition worsened, it became impossible for her to spend much time in the home, and they were forced to move out and find temporary housing accommodations.
After months of talking with other home improvement providers and indoor air “experts” and trying other solutions to no avail including having their HVAC ducting cleaned, they turned to Paradise Found Construction and our expertise and experience in transforming indoor environments in homes into healthy and clean living spaces. Because many of the improvements we undertook to create a cleaner environment also provided energy savings, we had our work certified under the 2012 National Green Building Standards (NGBS) and were award a Bronze level certification for the home.
We conducted a thorough investigation and testing regimen that included bringing in our team industry leading air quality and HVAC experts, we developed a comprehensive plan of action that would solve their “sick home syndrome”.
We removed all of the carpeting and pad from the home and thoroughly cleaned all surfaces and filtered the air with advanced HEPA filtration units. There were a few areas of mold in the crawl space which we mitigated as well. We thoroughly air sealed the home, paying particular attention to the ground level and attic floor system. Since the HVAC systems and ducting had become re-contaminated, we cleaned both units and all associated duct work.
To eliminate unhealthy air being drawn into the home from the crawl space, we completely sealed and conditioned the crawl. In order to provide a controlled entry point for clean fresh air into the home we installed an energy efficient stand-alone Energy Recovery Ventilator (ERV).
We installed wood flooring in all of the living areas that did not have wood flooring, and finished all of the flooring using a NO-VOC water-based floor finish. All of the painted surfaces of the home were sealed and painted with NO-VOC latex paint.
To further improve the energy performance of the home in addition to thoroughly air-sealing and sealing and conditioning the crawl space, we installed 100% LED lighting in the home. We improved the water efficiency of the home by installing low-flow EPA WaterSense rated toilets and shower heads, converted all of the bathroom and kitchen faucets to be more water efficient.
Upon completion, Amy and her family was able to move back into their cozy and clean “new home”, and are once again able to enjoy and be comfortable in their home.

The Yountville Residence was designed to accommodate three family generations coming together over food, wine, outdoor living and the land. Located amongst continuous vineyards on the broad flood plain of the Napa River, creating a strong sense of place was foremost. Rich in a culture of wine making and production from the land, the site demanded a design solution that honored its history and elevated the experience of the land.
The house pays homage to its context by creating a reimagined agrarian compound. Conceived as a family of smaller buildings, the architecture comes together around a shaded patio and pool. The kitchen, dining, and living spaces all flow onto the shaded outdoor patio and gardens. Low-sloped gable roofs evoke the agricultural history of the region and echo the gentle slope of the foothills beyond.
The home remains understated – quietly drawing one’s attention back to the magnificent natural features of the landscape. Gently pulled back into the heart of the serene vineyards, it is carefully oriented with Stag’s Leap at the foot of the Vaca Mountains to the East and the Mayacamas Range to the West. Scenic views continue uninterrupted through the home. Large window walls slide open and pocket on either side of the house, connecting the family to the outdoors and building a personal experience of place on the Valley floor.
“If we can enrich people’s lives, and just maybe inspire them to do something beyond what they might otherwise have done, that brings us great satisfaction.” – Stan Field, fA Principal
The connection of the architecture to the land goes beyond its visual connectivity. The design sensitively responds to land and place by recognizing key passive cooling and natural daylighting strategies present on the site. Broad overhanging roofs and the large slide away doors capture prevailing breezes up the valley. The patio, which is pulled close into a recessed cut-out in the main living space of the house, allows summer breezes across the pool to cool the house. Expansive windows and a narrow cross-section allow natural daylight to penetrate deep into the spaces and illuminate the rich and earthy palette of natural materials.
The architecture created is a vehicle through which the powerful forms of the landscape craft a powerful experience of place. It is a respite from urban life, designed to bring one back to the basics: a love of family, land, food, and of course, wine.
Find the right local pro for your project

Keith and Amy loved their home in quiet Wake Forest neighborhood on a large corner lot on a cul-de-sac. Over time, Amy had developed allergic reactions to unknown allergens in their home. As her condition worsened, it became impossible for her to spend much time in the home, and they were forced to move out and find temporary housing accommodations.
After months of talking with other home improvement providers and indoor air “experts” and trying other solutions to no avail including having their HVAC ducting cleaned, they turned to Paradise Found Construction and our expertise and experience in transforming indoor environments in homes into healthy and clean living spaces. Because many of the improvements we undertook to create a cleaner environment also provided energy savings, we had our work certified under the 2012 National Green Building Standards (NGBS) and were award a Bronze level certification for the home.
We conducted a thorough investigation and testing regimen that included bringing in our team industry leading air quality and HVAC experts, we developed a comprehensive plan of action that would solve their “sick home syndrome”.
We removed all of the carpeting and pad from the home and thoroughly cleaned all surfaces and filtered the air with advanced HEPA filtration units. There were a few areas of mold in the crawl space which we mitigated as well. We thoroughly air sealed the home, paying particular attention to the ground level and attic floor system. Since the HVAC systems and ducting had become re-contaminated, we cleaned both units and all associated duct work.
To eliminate unhealthy air being drawn into the home from the crawl space, we completely sealed and conditioned the crawl. In order to provide a controlled entry point for clean fresh air into the home we installed an energy efficient stand-alone Energy Recovery Ventilator (ERV).
We installed wood flooring in all of the living areas that did not have wood flooring, and finished all of the flooring using a NO-VOC water-based floor finish. All of the painted surfaces of the home were sealed and painted with NO-VOC latex paint.
To further improve the energy performance of the home in addition to thoroughly air-sealing and sealing and conditioning the crawl space, we installed 100% LED lighting in the home. We improved the water efficiency of the home by installing low-flow EPA WaterSense rated toilets and shower heads, converted all of the bathroom and kitchen faucets to be more water efficient.
Upon completion, Amy and her family was able to move back into their cozy and clean “new home”, and are once again able to enjoy and be comfortable in their home.

Stuart Wade, Envision Virtual Tours
Envision Virtual Tours and High Resolution Photography is your best choice to find just what you are looking for in the Ellijay, Ga. area .Ellijay, Georgia, known as the “Apple Capital” of Georgia, is located between the Ellijay and Cartecay Rivers where they join to make the Coosawattee River and is the county seat of Gilmer County, Georgia. The origin of the city’s name is not certain but thought to be the English derivative of an Indian word(s) meaning “many waters”, “place of green things” or “new ground”. Some histories say it may have been named for an Indian chief.
Inhabited for countless years by the Cherokee people indigenous to the North Georgia, the area was first mentioned as a village and trade center before the onslaught of white settlers inhabited the region. During the 1830’s both white settlers and Indians occupied Ellijay. During the original land lottery in 1832, Martin Scalf acquired the 160 acre lot where the town now stands. In 1833, Clemonds Quinland bought 10 acres from Scalf, retained one acre for himself and donated the rest of the purchase to the County. A plan for twenty town lots, streets and a public square was created and the streets were oriented to allow maximum sunlight exposure to the buildings.
Proceeds from lot sales were used to build a jail and courthouse and pay other city expenses. During this same year, Gilmer County was appropriated $800.00 from the State to build a school, and a three-acre lot was donated for the city cemetery. On December 29, l834, Ellijay was incorporated and designated as the County seat of Gilmer County. By 1837, the town had twenty dwellings, three stores and one attorney. Most of these early buildings were of log construction.
Many roads led to Ellijay by 1849. The population had grown to 150 by 1850 and the town at five stores. Some wood-frame buildings were being constructed at this time and in 1854, a new courthouse was built in the center of the square, replacing the earlier building. The County’s first newspaper was the Ellijay Courier, started in 1875, and during this time period, Ellijay was a stop on the stagecoach line. The railroad bridge over the Cartecay River was completed in 1884 and the town now had rail service.
With the arrival of the railroad and subsequent tracks to White Path, Ellijay began to grow much faster. Many hotels were constructed and land was donated for a depot east of town. More industries, such as a cheese factory and the Shippen Brothers Lumber Mill, located in Ellijay. By 1898, the city had expanded its limits in every direction and now included the depot.
By 1900, all the buildings on the town square were brick. This included the recently completed Hyatt Hotel. Most of the other buildings in town were still of log construction, but new wood-frame buildings were being built. The Shippen Brothers Lumber Company production was expanding and exporting their lumber to Europe. Within the next few decades, this company grew to be one of the largest employers in Ellijay, often with five to six million feet of lumber in the yard at one time.
The population of Ellijay grew to 659 by 1910, and began to acquire many new modern conveniences such as electric lights and power, a telephone company and many new businesses.
Then in 1912, a fire ravaged the city, destroying 23 buildings. As a result, many new buildings were constructed under new and stricter fire and safety guidelines. The population, however, decreased slightly at this time to 632 in 1920.
During the 1920’s the town’s population began to grow again and, by this time, apples were being shipped out of the county and new storage facilities were built. Chickens were also shipped to markets outside of Ellijay and Gilmer County.
From the mid 1930’s to 1950, Ellijay received much assistance from the Federal WPA Programs. The old courthouse was removed from the center of town square and the Hyatt Hotel was remodeled to be the new courthouse. A park was created on the site of the old courthouse and the streets around the square were paved. A new street was built at this time entering town from the northeast. Other new roads, bridges, sidewalks and gutters were constructed to improve the city. A school and gymnasium were also built and other structures improved.
This growth began to impact the city’s infrastructure and in the l950’s and l960’s, a period of upgrading water systems, roads, and power supplies began. New low-rent housing appeared in l960 and a new hospital was built in l957. Georgia Highway 5 was widened in l962, new buildings around the square replaced old ones and some were remodeled. In 1974, the hospital was enlarged.
Currently, Ellijay attracts tourists who love the small-town feel and friendly atmosphere. Hotels and restaurants, unique shops, antiques and art galleries lend their charms to those who visit. A new courthouse constructed to resemble the old one, new streetscaping, family-oriented downtown events and the beautification of the square have stepped up the social and economic activity and have made Ellijay a popular destination.

Architect: Andre Tchelistcheff Architects New York. NY
Builder: Xhema of Greenwich CT
Installer: TRM Enterprises Bridgehampton NY
Back story.
Northern has worked with both Xhema and TRM many tiles. We have worked with Andre before he branched out on his own.
Originally Xhema’s contact was to replace the roof and repair the garage, which as some point had been made into an indoor swimming pool without adequate ventilation. The budget was about $8m and there were 20 drawings.
By the time the job was 6 months old the scope of work has expanded to over $30m and over 200 drawings had been produced.
Northern was contacted to visit the site and evaluate the existing roof. Although the house had been added to over the years the same tile was used but due to the location of the house the color of the tile varied considerably from the front to the back.
Northern identified a large number of custom details which would require us to:
1) Match the existing Field tile in size, thickness (it was actually thicker at the butt and reduced to ½” where the tile is overlapped) , surface texture and the color.
2) Make tiles that are curved in their length to suit the curved rafter on the gabled dormers.
3) Make the curved tiles to suit the low slope octagonal tower.
4) Make the curved tiles and Arris style hips to suit the hipped dormers with the curved rafters.
5) Make the segmented tiles to suit the round turret.
6) Make the custom arris style hip tiles for the octagonal tower.
7) Make the custom Arris style hip to suit the different roof pitches as well as the varying splays at the eaves.
8) Make the custom pieces to suit the swept valleys
Simon broke down each section of the roof. He indented all items for each section and agreed the measure etc with the installers. This ‘Project Bible’ became an invaluable tool for the installer, our tile makers and us.
We shipped some samples from the original roof to Sahtas who replicated tall the details. I was visiting factory and delayed my return to the Saturday so that the tiles coming out of the kiln late Friday night could be wrapped and packed into newly purchase suit cases. I arrived home late Saturday evening and Simon picked me up Sunday afternoon and drove us down to Greenwich for an 8 am meeting with the clients. When we unpacked the tiles they were still warm and Hilfiger signed off on the color, although his wife suggested we make them a bit darker a ‘as he has a dreadful sense of color!’
We took Vincent Liot, owner of TRM to the factory twice so that he could oversee the prototyping of all the myriad custom pieces. This was an invaluable move as he pre-approved all the pieces before they were shipped.
The installation was completed and everyone was very pleased with the final outcome.
The Hilfiger’s estate manager told me that a group of friends who were staying the weekend after all the work was completed were heard to ask Mr. Hilfiger ‘I thought you were having a new roof’…to which he responded ‘we did but you can’t tell, which as the plan” …perfect!
In refection this is probably the most complicated roof Northern has ever had the pleasure to supply. We learned a lot of very valuable lessons but in future when we are asked how did we do it we will answer ‘that is for us to know and for you to pay for!’

As you can see, we spent a lot of time working on creating the perfect legs for this media console. But the hard work did pay off in the end.
Large transitional home design photo in San Diego
Large transitional home design photo in San Diego

Sponsored
Columbus, OH
Structural Remodeling
Franklin County's Heavy Timber Specialists | Best of Houzz 2020!

The Yountville Residence was designed to accommodate three family generations coming together over food, wine, outdoor living and the land. Located amongst continuous vineyards on the broad flood plain of the Napa River, creating a strong sense of place was foremost. Rich in a culture of wine making and production from the land, the site demanded a design solution that honored its history and elevated the experience of the land.
The house pays homage to its context by creating a reimagined agrarian compound. Conceived as a family of smaller buildings, the architecture comes together around a shaded patio and pool. The kitchen, dining, and living spaces all flow onto the shaded outdoor patio and gardens. Low-sloped gable roofs evoke the agricultural history of the region and echo the gentle slope of the foothills beyond.
The home remains understated – quietly drawing one’s attention back to the magnificent natural features of the landscape. Gently pulled back into the heart of the serene vineyards, it is carefully oriented with Stag’s Leap at the foot of the Vaca Mountains to the East and the Mayacamas Range to the West. Scenic views continue uninterrupted through the home. Large window walls slide open and pocket on either side of the house, connecting the family to the outdoors and building a personal experience of place on the Valley floor.
“If we can enrich people’s lives, and just maybe inspire them to do something beyond what they might otherwise have done, that brings us great satisfaction.” – Stan Field, fA Principal
The connection of the architecture to the land goes beyond its visual connectivity. The design sensitively responds to land and place by recognizing key passive cooling and natural daylighting strategies present on the site. Broad overhanging roofs and the large slide away doors capture prevailing breezes up the valley. The patio, which is pulled close into a recessed cut-out in the main living space of the house, allows summer breezes across the pool to cool the house. Expansive windows and a narrow cross-section allow natural daylight to penetrate deep into the spaces and illuminate the rich and earthy palette of natural materials.
The architecture created is a vehicle through which the powerful forms of the landscape craft a powerful experience of place. It is a respite from urban life, designed to bring one back to the basics: a love of family, land, food, and of course, wine.

This beautiful blue bathroom gives you such a calm, coastal vibe. Quartz walls in the shower and a generous double sink vanity gives this space a touch of luxury while the linen roman blind and bright white space makes it feel spa-like. There is lots of storage for the client in the two built-in units beside the shower and the extensive vanity.

Our clients wanted to update their kitchen and create more storage space. They also needed a desk area in the kitchen and a display area for family keepsakes. With small children, they were not using the breakfast bar on the island, so we chose when redesigning the island to add storage instead of having the countertop overhang for seating. We extended the height of the cabinetry also. A desk area with 2 file drawers and mail sorting cubbies was created so the homeowners could have a place to organize their bills, charge their electronics, and pay bills. We also installed 2 plugs into the narrow bookcase to the right of the desk area with USB plugs for charging phones and tablets.
Our clients chose a cherry craftsman cabinet style with simple cups and knobs in brushed stainless steel. For the countertops, Silestone Copper Mist was chosen. It is a gorgeous slate blue hue with copper flecks. To compliment this choice, I custom designed this slate backsplash using multiple colors of slate. This unique, natural stone, geometric backsplash complemented the countertops and the cabinetry style perfectly.
We installed a pot filler over the cooktop and a pull-out spice cabinet to the right of the cooktop. To utilize counterspace, the microwave was installed into a wall cabinet to the right of the cooktop. We moved the sink and dishwasher into the island and placed a pull-out garbage and recycling drawer to the left of the sink. An appliance lift was also installed for a Kitchenaid mixer to be stored easily without ever having to lift it.
To improve the lighting in the kitchen and great room which has a vaulted pine tongue and groove ceiling, we designed and installed hollow beams to run the electricity through from the kitchen to the fireplace. For the island we installed 3 pendants and 4 down lights to provide ample lighting at the island. All lighting was put onto dimmer switches. We installed new down lighting along the cooktop wall. For the great room, we installed track lighting and attached it to the sides of the beams and used directional lights to provide lighting for the great room and to light up the fireplace.
The beautiful home in the woods, now has an updated, modern kitchen and fantastic lighting which our clients love.

As you brush past the planting an aroma fills the air.
Inspiration for a modern full sun backyard stone landscaping in London for summer.
Inspiration for a modern full sun backyard stone landscaping in London for summer.

Kitchens
Traditional transitional, or modern….
Whatever style you chose, we will design, build, and install the custom kitchen of your dreams.
•Superior Quality
- All of the materials used to build our cabinets are the highest grade, eco friendly materials that are available in North America.
- Every part of every cabinet, door, and drawer are 3/4” thick. Quality and durability is what we strive for…
- Soft close slides and hinges are standard on all of our kitchen cabinets.
•Unbeatable Quality
- There is no need to settle on stock size cabinets or pay the high price for custom cabinets.
- Our high quality custom cabinets cost less than most low quality stock cabinets available on the market.
•Perfect Installation
- Not only will we design and build your custom cabinets, we will see your vision through to completion. Our “on staff” cabinet installers will keep your kitchen renovation on schedule when we install your custom made cabinets. We handle every step of the kitchen cabinet process. Design, build, and install. All of you have to do is relax and enjoy your new kitchen cabinets.
The math is simple…
Superior Quality + Unbeatable Value + Perfect installation = A Huntington Kitchen

Stuart Wade, Envision Virtual Tours
Envision Virtual Tours and High Resolution Photography is your best choice to find just what you are looking for in the Ellijay, Ga. area .Ellijay, Georgia, known as the “Apple Capital” of Georgia, is located between the Ellijay and Cartecay Rivers where they join to make the Coosawattee River and is the county seat of Gilmer County, Georgia. The origin of the city’s name is not certain but thought to be the English derivative of an Indian word(s) meaning “many waters”, “place of green things” or “new ground”. Some histories say it may have been named for an Indian chief.
Inhabited for countless years by the Cherokee people indigenous to the North Georgia, the area was first mentioned as a village and trade center before the onslaught of white settlers inhabited the region. During the 1830’s both white settlers and Indians occupied Ellijay. During the original land lottery in 1832, Martin Scalf acquired the 160 acre lot where the town now stands. In 1833, Clemonds Quinland bought 10 acres from Scalf, retained one acre for himself and donated the rest of the purchase to the County. A plan for twenty town lots, streets and a public square was created and the streets were oriented to allow maximum sunlight exposure to the buildings.
Proceeds from lot sales were used to build a jail and courthouse and pay other city expenses. During this same year, Gilmer County was appropriated $800.00 from the State to build a school, and a three-acre lot was donated for the city cemetery. On December 29, l834, Ellijay was incorporated and designated as the County seat of Gilmer County. By 1837, the town had twenty dwellings, three stores and one attorney. Most of these early buildings were of log construction.
Many roads led to Ellijay by 1849. The population had grown to 150 by 1850 and the town at five stores. Some wood-frame buildings were being constructed at this time and in 1854, a new courthouse was built in the center of the square, replacing the earlier building. The County’s first newspaper was the Ellijay Courier, started in 1875, and during this time period, Ellijay was a stop on the stagecoach line. The railroad bridge over the Cartecay River was completed in 1884 and the town now had rail service.
With the arrival of the railroad and subsequent tracks to White Path, Ellijay began to grow much faster. Many hotels were constructed and land was donated for a depot east of town. More industries, such as a cheese factory and the Shippen Brothers Lumber Mill, located in Ellijay. By 1898, the city had expanded its limits in every direction and now included the depot.
By 1900, all the buildings on the town square were brick. This included the recently completed Hyatt Hotel. Most of the other buildings in town were still of log construction, but new wood-frame buildings were being built. The Shippen Brothers Lumber Company production was expanding and exporting their lumber to Europe. Within the next few decades, this company grew to be one of the largest employers in Ellijay, often with five to six million feet of lumber in the yard at one time.
The population of Ellijay grew to 659 by 1910, and began to acquire many new modern conveniences such as electric lights and power, a telephone company and many new businesses.
Then in 1912, a fire ravaged the city, destroying 23 buildings. As a result, many new buildings were constructed under new and stricter fire and safety guidelines. The population, however, decreased slightly at this time to 632 in 1920.
During the 1920’s the town’s population began to grow again and, by this time, apples were being shipped out of the county and new storage facilities were built. Chickens were also shipped to markets outside of Ellijay and Gilmer County.
From the mid 1930’s to 1950, Ellijay received much assistance from the Federal WPA Programs. The old courthouse was removed from the center of town square and the Hyatt Hotel was remodeled to be the new courthouse. A park was created on the site of the old courthouse and the streets around the square were paved. A new street was built at this time entering town from the northeast. Other new roads, bridges, sidewalks and gutters were constructed to improve the city. A school and gymnasium were also built and other structures improved.
This growth began to impact the city’s infrastructure and in the l950’s and l960’s, a period of upgrading water systems, roads, and power supplies began. New low-rent housing appeared in l960 and a new hospital was built in l957. Georgia Highway 5 was widened in l962, new buildings around the square replaced old ones and some were remodeled. In 1974, the hospital was enlarged.
Currently, Ellijay attracts tourists who love the small-town feel and friendly atmosphere. Hotels and restaurants, unique shops, antiques and art galleries lend their charms to those who visit. A new courthouse constructed to resemble the old one, new streetscaping, family-oriented downtown events and the beautification of the square have stepped up the social and economic activity and have made Ellijay a popular destination.

Sponsored
Delaware, OH
Buckeye Basements, Inc.
Central Ohio's Basement Finishing ExpertsBest Of Houzz '13-'21

When you see the before photos of this kitchen, the finished product is nearly unrecognizable! This is because the original kitchen was 10x10, and wall separated the kitchen area from the eating area. Opening up the 2 spaces was exactly what this new kitchen needed!
Since the dining area was directly adjacent to the family room, the designer at Advance Design created a low wall of matching decorative book case cabinets with a granite top to create separation needed between the spaces. This bank also eloquently held a beautifully wood appointed supporting column necessary for the structural ceiling load.
The focal point of the new kitchen is the hand-painted backsplash centered under a wooden hood in the chef’s special cooking area. A completely functional island now has space for several stools, and even has a decorative touch with the shelving unit facing the eating area.
The space next to the refrigerator became an efficiently organized bill paying area for the lady of the house, complete with pull out file drawers hidden behind matching kitchen cabinets. Replacing the “black hole” of a pantry; pull out shelves grace the interior of new pantry units suitable for the family of five busy people.
Existing hardwood oak was repaired and refinished on the entire first floor. A light patterned gold granite works effortlessly with the tumbled marble backsplash that enjoys hints of weathered iron looking details that coordinate nicely with the cabinetry hardware.
What makes this kitchen special is how elegant it appears despite the rustic feel of the knotty alder cabinetry. Clean design lines lend an air of sophistication to the otherwise “rustic” looking materials. Now this active family can enjoy the open space, cooking and hanging out together is now an enjoyable pastime.

Architect: Andre Tchelistcheff Architects New York. NY
Builder: Xhema of Greenwich CT
Installer: TRM Enterprises Bridgehampton NY
Back story.
Northern has worked with both Xhema and TRM many tiles. We have worked with Andre before he branched out on his own.
Originally Xhema’s contact was to replace the roof and repair the garage, which as some point had been made into an indoor swimming pool without adequate ventilation. The budget was about $8m and there were 20 drawings.
By the time the job was 6 months old the scope of work has expanded to over $30m and over 200 drawings had been produced.
Northern was contacted to visit the site and evaluate the existing roof. Although the house had been added to over the years the same tile was used but due to the location of the house the color of the tile varied considerably from the front to the back.
Northern identified a large number of custom details which would require us to:
1) Match the existing Field tile in size, thickness (it was actually thicker at the butt and reduced to ½” where the tile is overlapped) , surface texture and the color.
2) Make tiles that are curved in their length to suit the curved rafter on the gabled dormers.
3) Make the curved tiles to suit the low slope octagonal tower.
4) Make the curved tiles and Arris style hips to suit the hipped dormers with the curved rafters.
5) Make the segmented tiles to suit the round turret.
6) Make the custom arris style hip tiles for the octagonal tower.
7) Make the custom Arris style hip to suit the different roof pitches as well as the varying splays at the eaves.
8) Make the custom pieces to suit the swept valleys
Simon broke down each section of the roof. He indented all items for each section and agreed the measure etc with the installers. This ‘Project Bible’ became an invaluable tool for the installer, our tile makers and us.
We shipped some samples from the original roof to Sahtas who replicated tall the details. I was visiting factory and delayed my return to the Saturday so that the tiles coming out of the kiln late Friday night could be wrapped and packed into newly purchase suit cases. I arrived home late Saturday evening and Simon picked me up Sunday afternoon and drove us down to Greenwich for an 8 am meeting with the clients. When we unpacked the tiles they were still warm and Hilfiger signed off on the color, although his wife suggested we make them a bit darker a ‘as he has a dreadful sense of color!’
We took Vincent Liot, owner of TRM to the factory twice so that he could oversee the prototyping of all the myriad custom pieces. This was an invaluable move as he pre-approved all the pieces before they were shipped.
The installation was completed and everyone was very pleased with the final outcome.
The Hilfiger’s estate manager told me that a group of friends who were staying the weekend after all the work was completed were heard to ask Mr. Hilfiger ‘I thought you were having a new roof’…to which he responded ‘we did but you can’t tell, which as the plan” …perfect!
In refection this is probably the most complicated roof Northern has ever had the pleasure to supply. We learned a lot of very valuable lessons but in future when we are asked how did we do it we will answer ‘that is for us to know and for you to pay for!’

Stuart Wade, Envision Virtual Tours
Envision Virtual Tours and High Resolution Photography is your best choice to find just what you are looking for in the Ellijay, Ga. area .Ellijay, Georgia, known as the “Apple Capital” of Georgia, is located between the Ellijay and Cartecay Rivers where they join to make the Coosawattee River and is the county seat of Gilmer County, Georgia. The origin of the city’s name is not certain but thought to be the English derivative of an Indian word(s) meaning “many waters”, “place of green things” or “new ground”. Some histories say it may have been named for an Indian chief.
Inhabited for countless years by the Cherokee people indigenous to the North Georgia, the area was first mentioned as a village and trade center before the onslaught of white settlers inhabited the region. During the 1830’s both white settlers and Indians occupied Ellijay. During the original land lottery in 1832, Martin Scalf acquired the 160 acre lot where the town now stands. In 1833, Clemonds Quinland bought 10 acres from Scalf, retained one acre for himself and donated the rest of the purchase to the County. A plan for twenty town lots, streets and a public square was created and the streets were oriented to allow maximum sunlight exposure to the buildings.
Proceeds from lot sales were used to build a jail and courthouse and pay other city expenses. During this same year, Gilmer County was appropriated $800.00 from the State to build a school, and a three-acre lot was donated for the city cemetery. On December 29, l834, Ellijay was incorporated and designated as the County seat of Gilmer County. By 1837, the town had twenty dwellings, three stores and one attorney. Most of these early buildings were of log construction.
Many roads led to Ellijay by 1849. The population had grown to 150 by 1850 and the town at five stores. Some wood-frame buildings were being constructed at this time and in 1854, a new courthouse was built in the center of the square, replacing the earlier building. The County’s first newspaper was the Ellijay Courier, started in 1875, and during this time period, Ellijay was a stop on the stagecoach line. The railroad bridge over the Cartecay River was completed in 1884 and the town now had rail service.
With the arrival of the railroad and subsequent tracks to White Path, Ellijay began to grow much faster. Many hotels were constructed and land was donated for a depot east of town. More industries, such as a cheese factory and the Shippen Brothers Lumber Mill, located in Ellijay. By 1898, the city had expanded its limits in every direction and now included the depot.
By 1900, all the buildings on the town square were brick. This included the recently completed Hyatt Hotel. Most of the other buildings in town were still of log construction, but new wood-frame buildings were being built. The Shippen Brothers Lumber Company production was expanding and exporting their lumber to Europe. Within the next few decades, this company grew to be one of the largest employers in Ellijay, often with five to six million feet of lumber in the yard at one time.
The population of Ellijay grew to 659 by 1910, and began to acquire many new modern conveniences such as electric lights and power, a telephone company and many new businesses.
Then in 1912, a fire ravaged the city, destroying 23 buildings. As a result, many new buildings were constructed under new and stricter fire and safety guidelines. The population, however, decreased slightly at this time to 632 in 1920.
During the 1920’s the town’s population began to grow again and, by this time, apples were being shipped out of the county and new storage facilities were built. Chickens were also shipped to markets outside of Ellijay and Gilmer County.
From the mid 1930’s to 1950, Ellijay received much assistance from the Federal WPA Programs. The old courthouse was removed from the center of town square and the Hyatt Hotel was remodeled to be the new courthouse. A park was created on the site of the old courthouse and the streets around the square were paved. A new street was built at this time entering town from the northeast. Other new roads, bridges, sidewalks and gutters were constructed to improve the city. A school and gymnasium were also built and other structures improved.
This growth began to impact the city’s infrastructure and in the l950’s and l960’s, a period of upgrading water systems, roads, and power supplies began. New low-rent housing appeared in l960 and a new hospital was built in l957. Georgia Highway 5 was widened in l962, new buildings around the square replaced old ones and some were remodeled. In 1974, the hospital was enlarged.
Currently, Ellijay attracts tourists who love the small-town feel and friendly atmosphere. Hotels and restaurants, unique shops, antiques and art galleries lend their charms to those who visit. A new courthouse constructed to resemble the old one, new streetscaping, family-oriented downtown events and the beautification of the square have stepped up the social and economic activity and have made Ellijay a popular destination.

We transform thirsty unnatractive lawns into colorful, interesting presentations of your property.
Even better, the inner beauty of our work is that you will work less, fertilize less, water less, worry less and pay less every month for your beautiful new landscape.

Stuart Wade, Envision Virtual Tours
Envision Virtual Tours and High Resolution Photography is your best choice to find just what you are looking for in the Ellijay, Ga. area .Ellijay, Georgia, known as the “Apple Capital” of Georgia, is located between the Ellijay and Cartecay Rivers where they join to make the Coosawattee River and is the county seat of Gilmer County, Georgia. The origin of the city’s name is not certain but thought to be the English derivative of an Indian word(s) meaning “many waters”, “place of green things” or “new ground”. Some histories say it may have been named for an Indian chief.
Inhabited for countless years by the Cherokee people indigenous to the North Georgia, the area was first mentioned as a village and trade center before the onslaught of white settlers inhabited the region. During the 1830’s both white settlers and Indians occupied Ellijay. During the original land lottery in 1832, Martin Scalf acquired the 160 acre lot where the town now stands. In 1833, Clemonds Quinland bought 10 acres from Scalf, retained one acre for himself and donated the rest of the purchase to the County. A plan for twenty town lots, streets and a public square was created and the streets were oriented to allow maximum sunlight exposure to the buildings.
Proceeds from lot sales were used to build a jail and courthouse and pay other city expenses. During this same year, Gilmer County was appropriated $800.00 from the State to build a school, and a three-acre lot was donated for the city cemetery. On December 29, l834, Ellijay was incorporated and designated as the County seat of Gilmer County. By 1837, the town had twenty dwellings, three stores and one attorney. Most of these early buildings were of log construction.
Many roads led to Ellijay by 1849. The population had grown to 150 by 1850 and the town at five stores. Some wood-frame buildings were being constructed at this time and in 1854, a new courthouse was built in the center of the square, replacing the earlier building. The County’s first newspaper was the Ellijay Courier, started in 1875, and during this time period, Ellijay was a stop on the stagecoach line. The railroad bridge over the Cartecay River was completed in 1884 and the town now had rail service.
With the arrival of the railroad and subsequent tracks to White Path, Ellijay began to grow much faster. Many hotels were constructed and land was donated for a depot east of town. More industries, such as a cheese factory and the Shippen Brothers Lumber Mill, located in Ellijay. By 1898, the city had expanded its limits in every direction and now included the depot.
By 1900, all the buildings on the town square were brick. This included the recently completed Hyatt Hotel. Most of the other buildings in town were still of log construction, but new wood-frame buildings were being built. The Shippen Brothers Lumber Company production was expanding and exporting their lumber to Europe. Within the next few decades, this company grew to be one of the largest employers in Ellijay, often with five to six million feet of lumber in the yard at one time.
The population of Ellijay grew to 659 by 1910, and began to acquire many new modern conveniences such as electric lights and power, a telephone company and many new businesses.
Then in 1912, a fire ravaged the city, destroying 23 buildings. As a result, many new buildings were constructed under new and stricter fire and safety guidelines. The population, however, decreased slightly at this time to 632 in 1920.
During the 1920’s the town’s population began to grow again and, by this time, apples were being shipped out of the county and new storage facilities were built. Chickens were also shipped to markets outside of Ellijay and Gilmer County.
From the mid 1930’s to 1950, Ellijay received much assistance from the Federal WPA Programs. The old courthouse was removed from the center of town square and the Hyatt Hotel was remodeled to be the new courthouse. A park was created on the site of the old courthouse and the streets around the square were paved. A new street was built at this time entering town from the northeast. Other new roads, bridges, sidewalks and gutters were constructed to improve the city. A school and gymnasium were also built and other structures improved.
This growth began to impact the city’s infrastructure and in the l950’s and l960’s, a period of upgrading water systems, roads, and power supplies began. New low-rent housing appeared in l960 and a new hospital was built in l957. Georgia Highway 5 was widened in l962, new buildings around the square replaced old ones and some were remodeled. In 1974, the hospital was enlarged.
Currently, Ellijay attracts tourists who love the small-town feel and friendly atmosphere. Hotels and restaurants, unique shops, antiques and art galleries lend their charms to those who visit. A new courthouse constructed to resemble the old one, new streetscaping, family-oriented downtown events and the beautification of the square have stepped up the social and economic activity and have made Ellijay a popular destination.

When you see the before photos of this kitchen, the finished product is nearly unrecognizable! This is because the original kitchen was 10x10, and wall separated the kitchen area from the eating area. Opening up the 2 spaces was exactly what this new kitchen needed!
Since the dining area was directly adjacent to the family room, the designer at Advance Design created a low wall of matching decorative book case cabinets with a granite top to create separation needed between the spaces. This bank also eloquently held a beautifully wood appointed supporting column necessary for the structural ceiling load.
The focal point of the new kitchen is the hand-painted backsplash centered under a wooden hood in the chef’s special cooking area. A completely functional island now has space for several stools, and even has a decorative touch with the shelving unit facing the eating area.
The space next to the refrigerator became an efficiently organized bill paying area for the lady of the house, complete with pull out file drawers hidden behind matching kitchen cabinets. Replacing the “black hole” of a pantry; pull out shelves grace the interior of new pantry units suitable for the family of five busy people.
Existing hardwood oak was repaired and refinished on the entire first floor. A light patterned gold granite works effortlessly with the tumbled marble backsplash that enjoys hints of weathered iron looking details that coordinate nicely with the cabinetry hardware.
What makes this kitchen special is how elegant it appears despite the rustic feel of the knotty alder cabinetry. Clean design lines lend an air of sophistication to the otherwise “rustic” looking materials. Now this active family can enjoy the open space, cooking and hanging out together is now an enjoyable pastime.

Stuart Wade, Envision Virtual Tours
Envision Virtual Tours and High Resolution Photography is your best choice to find just what you are looking for in the Ellijay, Ga. area .Ellijay, Georgia, known as the “Apple Capital” of Georgia, is located between the Ellijay and Cartecay Rivers where they join to make the Coosawattee River and is the county seat of Gilmer County, Georgia. The origin of the city’s name is not certain but thought to be the English derivative of an Indian word(s) meaning “many waters”, “place of green things” or “new ground”. Some histories say it may have been named for an Indian chief.
Inhabited for countless years by the Cherokee people indigenous to the North Georgia, the area was first mentioned as a village and trade center before the onslaught of white settlers inhabited the region. During the 1830’s both white settlers and Indians occupied Ellijay. During the original land lottery in 1832, Martin Scalf acquired the 160 acre lot where the town now stands. In 1833, Clemonds Quinland bought 10 acres from Scalf, retained one acre for himself and donated the rest of the purchase to the County. A plan for twenty town lots, streets and a public square was created and the streets were oriented to allow maximum sunlight exposure to the buildings.
Proceeds from lot sales were used to build a jail and courthouse and pay other city expenses. During this same year, Gilmer County was appropriated $800.00 from the State to build a school, and a three-acre lot was donated for the city cemetery. On December 29, l834, Ellijay was incorporated and designated as the County seat of Gilmer County. By 1837, the town had twenty dwellings, three stores and one attorney. Most of these early buildings were of log construction.
Many roads led to Ellijay by 1849. The population had grown to 150 by 1850 and the town at five stores. Some wood-frame buildings were being constructed at this time and in 1854, a new courthouse was built in the center of the square, replacing the earlier building. The County’s first newspaper was the Ellijay Courier, started in 1875, and during this time period, Ellijay was a stop on the stagecoach line. The railroad bridge over the Cartecay River was completed in 1884 and the town now had rail service.
With the arrival of the railroad and subsequent tracks to White Path, Ellijay began to grow much faster. Many hotels were constructed and land was donated for a depot east of town. More industries, such as a cheese factory and the Shippen Brothers Lumber Mill, located in Ellijay. By 1898, the city had expanded its limits in every direction and now included the depot.
By 1900, all the buildings on the town square were brick. This included the recently completed Hyatt Hotel. Most of the other buildings in town were still of log construction, but new wood-frame buildings were being built. The Shippen Brothers Lumber Company production was expanding and exporting their lumber to Europe. Within the next few decades, this company grew to be one of the largest employers in Ellijay, often with five to six million feet of lumber in the yard at one time.
The population of Ellijay grew to 659 by 1910, and began to acquire many new modern conveniences such as electric lights and power, a telephone company and many new businesses.
Then in 1912, a fire ravaged the city, destroying 23 buildings. As a result, many new buildings were constructed under new and stricter fire and safety guidelines. The population, however, decreased slightly at this time to 632 in 1920.
During the 1920’s the town’s population began to grow again and, by this time, apples were being shipped out of the county and new storage facilities were built. Chickens were also shipped to markets outside of Ellijay and Gilmer County.
From the mid 1930’s to 1950, Ellijay received much assistance from the Federal WPA Programs. The old courthouse was removed from the center of town square and the Hyatt Hotel was remodeled to be the new courthouse. A park was created on the site of the old courthouse and the streets around the square were paved. A new street was built at this time entering town from the northeast. Other new roads, bridges, sidewalks and gutters were constructed to improve the city. A school and gymnasium were also built and other structures improved.
This growth began to impact the city’s infrastructure and in the l950’s and l960’s, a period of upgrading water systems, roads, and power supplies began. New low-rent housing appeared in l960 and a new hospital was built in l957. Georgia Highway 5 was widened in l962, new buildings around the square replaced old ones and some were remodeled. In 1974, the hospital was enlarged.
Currently, Ellijay attracts tourists who love the small-town feel and friendly atmosphere. Hotels and restaurants, unique shops, antiques and art galleries lend their charms to those who visit. A new courthouse constructed to resemble the old one, new streetscaping, family-oriented downtown events and the beautification of the square have stepped up the social and economic activity and have made Ellijay a popular destination.
16
