Search results for "Middle aged" in Home Design Ideas

This project features a six-foot addition on the back of the home, allowing us to open up the kitchen and family room for this young and active family. These spaces were redesigned to accommodate a large open kitchen, featuring cabinets in a beautiful sage color, that opens onto the dining area and family room. Natural stone countertops add texture to the space without dominating the room.
The powder room footprint stayed the same, but new cabinetry, mirrors, and fixtures compliment the bold wallpaper, making this space surprising and fun, like a piece of statement jewelry in the middle of the home.
The kid's bathroom is youthful while still being able to age with the children. An ombre pink and white floor tile is complimented by a greenish/blue vanity and a coordinating shower niche accent tile. White walls and gold fixtures complete the space.
The primary bathroom is more sophisticated but still colorful and full of life. The wood-style chevron floor tiles anchor the room while more light and airy tones of white, blue, and cream finish the rest of the space. The freestanding tub and large shower make this the perfect retreat after a long day.

The before and after photos really do the talking for these pictures. By painting the paneled walls and pulling up the aged carpet this home was completely transformed. The architectural details such as the arched doorways and vaulted ceiling are much more noticeable. The original wood floor hidden beneath the carpet was the perfect color match to the trim work and created the perfect anchor to pull the entire room together. The furniture being arranged on the far end of the room (rather than the middle) allows for easy TV viewing and true 'living space'. This also allowed ample space for a wine bar and easy walk through to the screened in porch area.

Stuart Wade, Envision Virtual Tours
The second-largest and most developed of Georgia's barrier islands, St. Simons is approximately twelve miles long and nearly three miles wide at its widest stretch (roughly the size of Manhattan Island in New York). The island is located in Glynn County on Georgia's coast and lies east of Brunswick (the seat of Glynn County), south of Little St. Simons Island and the Hampton River, and north of Jekyll Island. The resort community of Sea Island is separated from St. Simons on the east by the Black Banks River. Known for its oak tree canopies and historic landmarks, St. Simons is both a tourist destination and, according to the 2010 U.S. census, home to 12,743 residents.
Early History
The earliest
St. Simons Island Village
record of human habitation on the island dates to the Late Archaic Period, about 5,000 to 3,000 years ago. Remnants of shell rings left behind by Native Americans from this era survive on many of the barrier islands, including St. Simons. Centuries later, during the period known by historians as the chiefdom era, the Guale Indians established a chiefdom centered on St. Catherines Island and used St. Simons as their hunting and fishing grounds. By 1500 the Guale had established a permanent village of about 200 people on St. Simons, which they called Guadalquini.
Beginning in 1568, the Spanish attempted to create missions along the Georgia coast. Catholic missions were the primary means by which Georgia's indigenous Native American chiefdoms were assimilated into the Spanish colonial system along the northern frontier of greater Spanish Florida. In the 1600s St. Simons became home to two Spanish missions: San Buenaventura de Guadalquini, on the southern tip of the island, and Santo Domingo de Asao (or Asajo), on the northern tip. Located on the inland side of the island were the pagan refugee villages of San Simón, the island's namesake, and Ocotonico. In 1684 pirate raids left the missions and villages largely abandoned.
Colonial History
As
Fort Frederica
early as 1670, with Great Britain's establishment of the colony of Carolina and its expansion into Georgia territory, Spanish rule was threatened by the English. The Georgia coast was considered "debatable land" by England and Spain, even though Spain had fully retreated from St. Simons by 1702. Thirty-one years later General James Edward Oglethorpe founded the English settlement of Savannah. In 1736 he established Fort Frederica, named after the heir to the British throne, Frederick Louis, prince of Wales, on the west side of St. Simons Island to protect Savannah and the Carolinas from the Spanish threat.
Between 1736 and 1749 Fort Frederica was the hub of British military operations along the Georgia frontier. A town of the same name grew up around the fort and was of great importance to the new colony. By 1740 Frederica's population was 1,000. In 1736 the congregation of what would become Christ Church was organized within Fort Frederica as a mission of the Church of England. Charles Wesley led the first services. In 1742 Britain's decisive victory over Spain in the Battle of Bloody Marsh, during the War of Jenkins' Ear, ended the Spanish threat to the Georgia coast. When the British regimen disbanded in 1749, most of the townspeople relocated to the mainland. Fort Frederica went into decline and, except for a short time of prosperity during the 1760s and 1770s under the leadership of merchant James Spalding, never fully recovered. Today the historic citadel's tabby ruins are maintained by the National Park Service.
Plantation Era
By the start of the American Revolution (1775-83), Fort Frederica was obsolete, and St. Simons was left largely uninhabited as most of its residents joined the patriot army. Besides hosting a small Georgia naval victory on the Fort Frederica River, providing guns from its famous fort for use at Fort Morris in Sunbury, and serving as an arena for pillaging by privateers and British soldiers, the island played almost no role in the war.
Following the war, many of the townspeople, their businesses destroyed, turned to agriculture. The island was transformed into fourteen cotton plantations after acres of live oak trees were cleared for farm land and used for building American warships, including the famous USS Constitution, or "Old Ironsides." Although rice was the predominant crop along the neighboring Altamaha River, St. Simons was known for its production of long-staple cotton, which soon came to be known as Sea Island cotton.
Between
Ebos Landing
the 1780s and the outbreak of the Civil War (1861-65), St. Simons's plantation culture flourished. The saline atmosphere and the availability of cheap slave labor proved an ideal combination for the cultivation of Sea Island cotton. In 1803 a group of Ebo slaves who survived the Middle Passage and arrived on the west side of St. Simons staged a rebellion and drowned themselves. The sacred site is known today as Ebos Landing.
One of the largest owners of land and slaves on St. Simons was Pierce Butler, master of Hampton Point Plantation, located on the northern end of the island. By 1793 Butler owned more than 500 slaves, who cultivated 800 acres of cotton on St. Simons and 300 acres of rice on Butler's Island in the Altamaha River delta. Butler's grandson, Pierce Mease Butler, who at the age of sixteen inherited a share of his grandfather's estate in 1826, was responsible for the largest sale of human beings in the history of the United States: in 1859, to restore his squandered fortune, he sold 429 slaves in Savannah for more than $300,000. The British actress and writer Fanny Kemble, whose tumultuous marriage to Pierce ended in divorce in 1849, published an eyewitness account of the evils of slavery on St. Simons in her book Journal of a Residence on a Georgian Plantation in 1838-1839 (1863).
Another
Retreat Plantation
large owner of land and slaves on St. Simons was Major William Page, a friend and employee of Pierce Butler Sr. Before purchasing Retreat Plantation on the southwestern tip of the island in 1804, Page managed the Hampton plantation and Butler's Island. Upon Page's death in 1827, Thomas Butler King inherited the land together with his wife, Page's daughter, Anna Matilda Page King. King expanded his father-in-law's planting empire on St. Simons as well as on the mainland, and by 1835 Retreat Plantation alone was home to as many as 355 slaves.
The center of life during the island's plantation era was Christ Church, Frederica. Organized in 1807 by a group of island planters, the Episcopal church is the second oldest in the Diocese of Georgia. Embargoes imposed by the War of 1812 (1812-15) prevented the parishioners from building a church structure, so they worshiped in the home of John Beck, which stood on the site of Oglethorpe's only St. Simons residence, Orange Hall.
The first Christ Church building, finished on the present site in 1820, was ruined by occupying Union troops during the Civil War. In 1884 the Reverend Anson Dodge Jr. rebuilt the church as a memorial to his first wife, Ellen. The cruciform building with a trussed gothic roof and stained-glass windows remains active today as Christ Church.
Civil War and Beyond
The
St. Simons Island Lighthouse
outbreak of the Civil War in 1861 put a sudden end to St. Simons's lucrative plantation era. In January of that year, Confederate troops were stationed at the south end of the island to guard the entrance to Brunswick Harbor. Slaves from Retreat Plantation, owned by Thomas Butler King, built earthworks and batteries. Plantation residents were scattered—the men joined the Confederate army and their families moved to the mainland. Cannon fire was heard on the island in December 1861, and Confederate troops retreated in February 1862, after dynamiting the lighthouse to keep its beacon from aiding Union troops. Soon thereafter, Union troops occupied the island, which was used as a camp for freed slaves. By August 1862 more than 500 former slaves lived on St. Simons, including Susie King Taylor, who organized a school for freed slave children. But in November the ex-slaves were taken to Hilton Head, South Carolina, and Fernandina, Florida, leaving the island abandoned.
After the Civil War the island never returned to its status as an agricultural community. The plantations lay dormant because there were no slaves to work the fields. After Union general William T. Sherman's January 1865 Special Field Order No. 15 —a demand that former plantations be divided and distributed to former slaves—was overturned by U.S. president Andrew Johnson less than a year later, freedmen and women were forced to work as sharecroppers on the small farms that dotted the land previously occupied by the sprawling plantations.
By
St. Simons Lumber Mills
1870 real economic recovery began with the reestablishment of the timber industry. Norman Dodge and Titus G. Meigs of New York set up lumber mill operations at Gascoigne Bluff, formerly Hamilton Plantation. The lumber mills provided welcome employment for both blacks and whites and also provided mail and passenger boats to the mainland. Such water traffic, together with the construction of a new lighthouse in 1872, designed by architect Charles B. Cluskey, marked the beginning of St. Simons's tourism industry. The keeper of the lighthouse created a small amusement park, which drew many visitors, as did the seemingly miraculous light that traveled from the top of the lighthouse tower to the bottom. The island became a summer retreat for families from the mainland, particularly from Baxley, Brunswick, and Waycross.
The island's resort industry was thriving by the 1880s. Beachfront structures, such as a new pier and grand hotel, were built on the southeastern end of the island and could be accessed by ferry. Around this time wealthy northerners began vacationing on the island.
Twentieth Century
The
St. Simons Island Pier and Village
opening in 1924 of the Brunswick–St. Simons Highway, today known as the Torras Causeway, was a milestone in the development of resorts in the area. St. Simons's beaches were now easily accessible to locals and tourists alike. More than 5,000 automobiles took the short drive from Brunswick to St. Simons via the causeway on its opening day, paving the way for convenient residential and resort development.
In 1926 automotive pioneer Howard Coffin of Detroit, Michigan, bought large tracts of land on St. Simons, including the former Retreat Plantation, and constructed a golf course, yacht club, paved roads, and a residential subdivision. Although the causeway had brought large numbers of summer people to the island, St. Simons remained a small community with only a few hundred permanent residents until the 1940s.
The
St. Simons Island
outbreak of World War II (1941-45) brought more visitors and residents to St. Simons. Troops stationed at Jacksonville, Florida; Savannah; and nearby Camp Stewart took weekend vacations on the island, and a new naval air base and radar school became home to even more officers and soldiers. The increased wartime population brought the island its first public school. With a major shipyard for the production of Liberty ships in nearby Brunswick, the waters of St. Simons became active with German U-boats. In April 1942, just off the coast, the Texas Company oil tanker S. S. Oklahoma and the S. S. Esso Baton Rouge were torpedoed by the Germans, bringing the war very close to home for island residents.
Due in large part to the military's improvement of the island's infrastructure during the war, development on the island boomed in the 1950s and 1960s. More permanent homes and subdivisions were built, and the island was no longer just a summer resort but also a thriving community. In 1950 the Methodist conference and retreat center Epworth by the Sea opened on Gascoigne Bluff. In 1961 novelist Eugenia Price visited St. Simons and began work on her first works of fiction, known as the St. Simons Trilogy. Inspired by real events on the island, Price's trilogy renewed interest in the history of Georgia's coast, and the novelist herself relocated to the island in 1965 and lived there for thirty-one years. St. Simons is also home to contemporary Georgia writer Tina McElroy Ansa.
Since
Epworth by the Sea
1980 St. Simons's population has doubled. The island's continued status as a vacation destination and its ongoing development boom have put historic landmarks and natural areas at risk. While such landmarks as the Fort Frederica ruins and the Battle of Bloody Marsh site are preserved and maintained by the National Park Service, and while the historic lighthouse is maintained by the Coastal Georgia Historical Society, historic Ebos Landing has been taken over by a sewage treatment plant.
Several coastal organizations have formed in recent years to save natural areas on the island. The St. Simons Land Trust, for example, has received donations of large tracts of land and plans to protect property in the island's three traditional African American neighborhoods. Despite its rapid growth and development, St. Simons remains one of the most beautiful and important islands on the Georgia coast.
Find the right local pro for your project

Stuart Wade, Envision Virtual Tours
The second-largest and most developed of Georgia's barrier islands, St. Simons is approximately twelve miles long and nearly three miles wide at its widest stretch (roughly the size of Manhattan Island in New York). The island is located in Glynn County on Georgia's coast and lies east of Brunswick (the seat of Glynn County), south of Little St. Simons Island and the Hampton River, and north of Jekyll Island. The resort community of Sea Island is separated from St. Simons on the east by the Black Banks River. Known for its oak tree canopies and historic landmarks, St. Simons is both a tourist destination and, according to the 2010 U.S. census, home to 12,743 residents.
Early History
The earliest
St. Simons Island Village
record of human habitation on the island dates to the Late Archaic Period, about 5,000 to 3,000 years ago. Remnants of shell rings left behind by Native Americans from this era survive on many of the barrier islands, including St. Simons. Centuries later, during the period known by historians as the chiefdom era, the Guale Indians established a chiefdom centered on St. Catherines Island and used St. Simons as their hunting and fishing grounds. By 1500 the Guale had established a permanent village of about 200 people on St. Simons, which they called Guadalquini.
Beginning in 1568, the Spanish attempted to create missions along the Georgia coast. Catholic missions were the primary means by which Georgia's indigenous Native American chiefdoms were assimilated into the Spanish colonial system along the northern frontier of greater Spanish Florida. In the 1600s St. Simons became home to two Spanish missions: San Buenaventura de Guadalquini, on the southern tip of the island, and Santo Domingo de Asao (or Asajo), on the northern tip. Located on the inland side of the island were the pagan refugee villages of San Simón, the island's namesake, and Ocotonico. In 1684 pirate raids left the missions and villages largely abandoned.
Colonial History
As
Fort Frederica
early as 1670, with Great Britain's establishment of the colony of Carolina and its expansion into Georgia territory, Spanish rule was threatened by the English. The Georgia coast was considered "debatable land" by England and Spain, even though Spain had fully retreated from St. Simons by 1702. Thirty-one years later General James Edward Oglethorpe founded the English settlement of Savannah. In 1736 he established Fort Frederica, named after the heir to the British throne, Frederick Louis, prince of Wales, on the west side of St. Simons Island to protect Savannah and the Carolinas from the Spanish threat.
Between 1736 and 1749 Fort Frederica was the hub of British military operations along the Georgia frontier. A town of the same name grew up around the fort and was of great importance to the new colony. By 1740 Frederica's population was 1,000. In 1736 the congregation of what would become Christ Church was organized within Fort Frederica as a mission of the Church of England. Charles Wesley led the first services. In 1742 Britain's decisive victory over Spain in the Battle of Bloody Marsh, during the War of Jenkins' Ear, ended the Spanish threat to the Georgia coast. When the British regimen disbanded in 1749, most of the townspeople relocated to the mainland. Fort Frederica went into decline and, except for a short time of prosperity during the 1760s and 1770s under the leadership of merchant James Spalding, never fully recovered. Today the historic citadel's tabby ruins are maintained by the National Park Service.
Plantation Era
By the start of the American Revolution (1775-83), Fort Frederica was obsolete, and St. Simons was left largely uninhabited as most of its residents joined the patriot army. Besides hosting a small Georgia naval victory on the Fort Frederica River, providing guns from its famous fort for use at Fort Morris in Sunbury, and serving as an arena for pillaging by privateers and British soldiers, the island played almost no role in the war.
Following the war, many of the townspeople, their businesses destroyed, turned to agriculture. The island was transformed into fourteen cotton plantations after acres of live oak trees were cleared for farm land and used for building American warships, including the famous USS Constitution, or "Old Ironsides." Although rice was the predominant crop along the neighboring Altamaha River, St. Simons was known for its production of long-staple cotton, which soon came to be known as Sea Island cotton.
Between
Ebos Landing
the 1780s and the outbreak of the Civil War (1861-65), St. Simons's plantation culture flourished. The saline atmosphere and the availability of cheap slave labor proved an ideal combination for the cultivation of Sea Island cotton. In 1803 a group of Ebo slaves who survived the Middle Passage and arrived on the west side of St. Simons staged a rebellion and drowned themselves. The sacred site is known today as Ebos Landing.
One of the largest owners of land and slaves on St. Simons was Pierce Butler, master of Hampton Point Plantation, located on the northern end of the island. By 1793 Butler owned more than 500 slaves, who cultivated 800 acres of cotton on St. Simons and 300 acres of rice on Butler's Island in the Altamaha River delta. Butler's grandson, Pierce Mease Butler, who at the age of sixteen inherited a share of his grandfather's estate in 1826, was responsible for the largest sale of human beings in the history of the United States: in 1859, to restore his squandered fortune, he sold 429 slaves in Savannah for more than $300,000. The British actress and writer Fanny Kemble, whose tumultuous marriage to Pierce ended in divorce in 1849, published an eyewitness account of the evils of slavery on St. Simons in her book Journal of a Residence on a Georgian Plantation in 1838-1839 (1863).
Another
Retreat Plantation
large owner of land and slaves on St. Simons was Major William Page, a friend and employee of Pierce Butler Sr. Before purchasing Retreat Plantation on the southwestern tip of the island in 1804, Page managed the Hampton plantation and Butler's Island. Upon Page's death in 1827, Thomas Butler King inherited the land together with his wife, Page's daughter, Anna Matilda Page King. King expanded his father-in-law's planting empire on St. Simons as well as on the mainland, and by 1835 Retreat Plantation alone was home to as many as 355 slaves.
The center of life during the island's plantation era was Christ Church, Frederica. Organized in 1807 by a group of island planters, the Episcopal church is the second oldest in the Diocese of Georgia. Embargoes imposed by the War of 1812 (1812-15) prevented the parishioners from building a church structure, so they worshiped in the home of John Beck, which stood on the site of Oglethorpe's only St. Simons residence, Orange Hall.
The first Christ Church building, finished on the present site in 1820, was ruined by occupying Union troops during the Civil War. In 1884 the Reverend Anson Dodge Jr. rebuilt the church as a memorial to his first wife, Ellen. The cruciform building with a trussed gothic roof and stained-glass windows remains active today as Christ Church.
Civil War and Beyond
The
St. Simons Island Lighthouse
outbreak of the Civil War in 1861 put a sudden end to St. Simons's lucrative plantation era. In January of that year, Confederate troops were stationed at the south end of the island to guard the entrance to Brunswick Harbor. Slaves from Retreat Plantation, owned by Thomas Butler King, built earthworks and batteries. Plantation residents were scattered—the men joined the Confederate army and their families moved to the mainland. Cannon fire was heard on the island in December 1861, and Confederate troops retreated in February 1862, after dynamiting the lighthouse to keep its beacon from aiding Union troops. Soon thereafter, Union troops occupied the island, which was used as a camp for freed slaves. By August 1862 more than 500 former slaves lived on St. Simons, including Susie King Taylor, who organized a school for freed slave children. But in November the ex-slaves were taken to Hilton Head, South Carolina, and Fernandina, Florida, leaving the island abandoned.
After the Civil War the island never returned to its status as an agricultural community. The plantations lay dormant because there were no slaves to work the fields. After Union general William T. Sherman's January 1865 Special Field Order No. 15 —a demand that former plantations be divided and distributed to former slaves—was overturned by U.S. president Andrew Johnson less than a year later, freedmen and women were forced to work as sharecroppers on the small farms that dotted the land previously occupied by the sprawling plantations.
By
St. Simons Lumber Mills
1870 real economic recovery began with the reestablishment of the timber industry. Norman Dodge and Titus G. Meigs of New York set up lumber mill operations at Gascoigne Bluff, formerly Hamilton Plantation. The lumber mills provided welcome employment for both blacks and whites and also provided mail and passenger boats to the mainland. Such water traffic, together with the construction of a new lighthouse in 1872, designed by architect Charles B. Cluskey, marked the beginning of St. Simons's tourism industry. The keeper of the lighthouse created a small amusement park, which drew many visitors, as did the seemingly miraculous light that traveled from the top of the lighthouse tower to the bottom. The island became a summer retreat for families from the mainland, particularly from Baxley, Brunswick, and Waycross.
The island's resort industry was thriving by the 1880s. Beachfront structures, such as a new pier and grand hotel, were built on the southeastern end of the island and could be accessed by ferry. Around this time wealthy northerners began vacationing on the island.
Twentieth Century
The
St. Simons Island Pier and Village
opening in 1924 of the Brunswick–St. Simons Highway, today known as the Torras Causeway, was a milestone in the development of resorts in the area. St. Simons's beaches were now easily accessible to locals and tourists alike. More than 5,000 automobiles took the short drive from Brunswick to St. Simons via the causeway on its opening day, paving the way for convenient residential and resort development.
In 1926 automotive pioneer Howard Coffin of Detroit, Michigan, bought large tracts of land on St. Simons, including the former Retreat Plantation, and constructed a golf course, yacht club, paved roads, and a residential subdivision. Although the causeway had brought large numbers of summer people to the island, St. Simons remained a small community with only a few hundred permanent residents until the 1940s.
The
St. Simons Island
outbreak of World War II (1941-45) brought more visitors and residents to St. Simons. Troops stationed at Jacksonville, Florida; Savannah; and nearby Camp Stewart took weekend vacations on the island, and a new naval air base and radar school became home to even more officers and soldiers. The increased wartime population brought the island its first public school. With a major shipyard for the production of Liberty ships in nearby Brunswick, the waters of St. Simons became active with German U-boats. In April 1942, just off the coast, the Texas Company oil tanker S. S. Oklahoma and the S. S. Esso Baton Rouge were torpedoed by the Germans, bringing the war very close to home for island residents.
Due in large part to the military's improvement of the island's infrastructure during the war, development on the island boomed in the 1950s and 1960s. More permanent homes and subdivisions were built, and the island was no longer just a summer resort but also a thriving community. In 1950 the Methodist conference and retreat center Epworth by the Sea opened on Gascoigne Bluff. In 1961 novelist Eugenia Price visited St. Simons and began work on her first works of fiction, known as the St. Simons Trilogy. Inspired by real events on the island, Price's trilogy renewed interest in the history of Georgia's coast, and the novelist herself relocated to the island in 1965 and lived there for thirty-one years. St. Simons is also home to contemporary Georgia writer Tina McElroy Ansa.
Since
Epworth by the Sea
1980 St. Simons's population has doubled. The island's continued status as a vacation destination and its ongoing development boom have put historic landmarks and natural areas at risk. While such landmarks as the Fort Frederica ruins and the Battle of Bloody Marsh site are preserved and maintained by the National Park Service, and while the historic lighthouse is maintained by the Coastal Georgia Historical Society, historic Ebos Landing has been taken over by a sewage treatment plant.
Several coastal organizations have formed in recent years to save natural areas on the island. The St. Simons Land Trust, for example, has received donations of large tracts of land and plans to protect property in the island's three traditional African American neighborhoods. Despite its rapid growth and development, St. Simons remains one of the most beautiful and important islands on the Georgia coast.

Stuart Wade, Envision Virtual Tours
The second-largest and most developed of Georgia's barrier islands, St. Simons is approximately twelve miles long and nearly three miles wide at its widest stretch (roughly the size of Manhattan Island in New York). The island is located in Glynn County on Georgia's coast and lies east of Brunswick (the seat of Glynn County), south of Little St. Simons Island and the Hampton River, and north of Jekyll Island. The resort community of Sea Island is separated from St. Simons on the east by the Black Banks River. Known for its oak tree canopies and historic landmarks, St. Simons is both a tourist destination and, according to the 2010 U.S. census, home to 12,743 residents.
Early History
The earliest
St. Simons Island Village
record of human habitation on the island dates to the Late Archaic Period, about 5,000 to 3,000 years ago. Remnants of shell rings left behind by Native Americans from this era survive on many of the barrier islands, including St. Simons. Centuries later, during the period known by historians as the chiefdom era, the Guale Indians established a chiefdom centered on St. Catherines Island and used St. Simons as their hunting and fishing grounds. By 1500 the Guale had established a permanent village of about 200 people on St. Simons, which they called Guadalquini.
Beginning in 1568, the Spanish attempted to create missions along the Georgia coast. Catholic missions were the primary means by which Georgia's indigenous Native American chiefdoms were assimilated into the Spanish colonial system along the northern frontier of greater Spanish Florida. In the 1600s St. Simons became home to two Spanish missions: San Buenaventura de Guadalquini, on the southern tip of the island, and Santo Domingo de Asao (or Asajo), on the northern tip. Located on the inland side of the island were the pagan refugee villages of San Simón, the island's namesake, and Ocotonico. In 1684 pirate raids left the missions and villages largely abandoned.
Colonial History
As
Fort Frederica
early as 1670, with Great Britain's establishment of the colony of Carolina and its expansion into Georgia territory, Spanish rule was threatened by the English. The Georgia coast was considered "debatable land" by England and Spain, even though Spain had fully retreated from St. Simons by 1702. Thirty-one years later General James Edward Oglethorpe founded the English settlement of Savannah. In 1736 he established Fort Frederica, named after the heir to the British throne, Frederick Louis, prince of Wales, on the west side of St. Simons Island to protect Savannah and the Carolinas from the Spanish threat.
Between 1736 and 1749 Fort Frederica was the hub of British military operations along the Georgia frontier. A town of the same name grew up around the fort and was of great importance to the new colony. By 1740 Frederica's population was 1,000. In 1736 the congregation of what would become Christ Church was organized within Fort Frederica as a mission of the Church of England. Charles Wesley led the first services. In 1742 Britain's decisive victory over Spain in the Battle of Bloody Marsh, during the War of Jenkins' Ear, ended the Spanish threat to the Georgia coast. When the British regimen disbanded in 1749, most of the townspeople relocated to the mainland. Fort Frederica went into decline and, except for a short time of prosperity during the 1760s and 1770s under the leadership of merchant James Spalding, never fully recovered. Today the historic citadel's tabby ruins are maintained by the National Park Service.
Plantation Era
By the start of the American Revolution (1775-83), Fort Frederica was obsolete, and St. Simons was left largely uninhabited as most of its residents joined the patriot army. Besides hosting a small Georgia naval victory on the Fort Frederica River, providing guns from its famous fort for use at Fort Morris in Sunbury, and serving as an arena for pillaging by privateers and British soldiers, the island played almost no role in the war.
Following the war, many of the townspeople, their businesses destroyed, turned to agriculture. The island was transformed into fourteen cotton plantations after acres of live oak trees were cleared for farm land and used for building American warships, including the famous USS Constitution, or "Old Ironsides." Although rice was the predominant crop along the neighboring Altamaha River, St. Simons was known for its production of long-staple cotton, which soon came to be known as Sea Island cotton.
Between
Ebos Landing
the 1780s and the outbreak of the Civil War (1861-65), St. Simons's plantation culture flourished. The saline atmosphere and the availability of cheap slave labor proved an ideal combination for the cultivation of Sea Island cotton. In 1803 a group of Ebo slaves who survived the Middle Passage and arrived on the west side of St. Simons staged a rebellion and drowned themselves. The sacred site is known today as Ebos Landing.
One of the largest owners of land and slaves on St. Simons was Pierce Butler, master of Hampton Point Plantation, located on the northern end of the island. By 1793 Butler owned more than 500 slaves, who cultivated 800 acres of cotton on St. Simons and 300 acres of rice on Butler's Island in the Altamaha River delta. Butler's grandson, Pierce Mease Butler, who at the age of sixteen inherited a share of his grandfather's estate in 1826, was responsible for the largest sale of human beings in the history of the United States: in 1859, to restore his squandered fortune, he sold 429 slaves in Savannah for more than $300,000. The British actress and writer Fanny Kemble, whose tumultuous marriage to Pierce ended in divorce in 1849, published an eyewitness account of the evils of slavery on St. Simons in her book Journal of a Residence on a Georgian Plantation in 1838-1839 (1863).
Another
Retreat Plantation
large owner of land and slaves on St. Simons was Major William Page, a friend and employee of Pierce Butler Sr. Before purchasing Retreat Plantation on the southwestern tip of the island in 1804, Page managed the Hampton plantation and Butler's Island. Upon Page's death in 1827, Thomas Butler King inherited the land together with his wife, Page's daughter, Anna Matilda Page King. King expanded his father-in-law's planting empire on St. Simons as well as on the mainland, and by 1835 Retreat Plantation alone was home to as many as 355 slaves.
The center of life during the island's plantation era was Christ Church, Frederica. Organized in 1807 by a group of island planters, the Episcopal church is the second oldest in the Diocese of Georgia. Embargoes imposed by the War of 1812 (1812-15) prevented the parishioners from building a church structure, so they worshiped in the home of John Beck, which stood on the site of Oglethorpe's only St. Simons residence, Orange Hall.
The first Christ Church building, finished on the present site in 1820, was ruined by occupying Union troops during the Civil War. In 1884 the Reverend Anson Dodge Jr. rebuilt the church as a memorial to his first wife, Ellen. The cruciform building with a trussed gothic roof and stained-glass windows remains active today as Christ Church.
Civil War and Beyond
The
St. Simons Island Lighthouse
outbreak of the Civil War in 1861 put a sudden end to St. Simons's lucrative plantation era. In January of that year, Confederate troops were stationed at the south end of the island to guard the entrance to Brunswick Harbor. Slaves from Retreat Plantation, owned by Thomas Butler King, built earthworks and batteries. Plantation residents were scattered—the men joined the Confederate army and their families moved to the mainland. Cannon fire was heard on the island in December 1861, and Confederate troops retreated in February 1862, after dynamiting the lighthouse to keep its beacon from aiding Union troops. Soon thereafter, Union troops occupied the island, which was used as a camp for freed slaves. By August 1862 more than 500 former slaves lived on St. Simons, including Susie King Taylor, who organized a school for freed slave children. But in November the ex-slaves were taken to Hilton Head, South Carolina, and Fernandina, Florida, leaving the island abandoned.
After the Civil War the island never returned to its status as an agricultural community. The plantations lay dormant because there were no slaves to work the fields. After Union general William T. Sherman's January 1865 Special Field Order No. 15 —a demand that former plantations be divided and distributed to former slaves—was overturned by U.S. president Andrew Johnson less than a year later, freedmen and women were forced to work as sharecroppers on the small farms that dotted the land previously occupied by the sprawling plantations.
By
St. Simons Lumber Mills
1870 real economic recovery began with the reestablishment of the timber industry. Norman Dodge and Titus G. Meigs of New York set up lumber mill operations at Gascoigne Bluff, formerly Hamilton Plantation. The lumber mills provided welcome employment for both blacks and whites and also provided mail and passenger boats to the mainland. Such water traffic, together with the construction of a new lighthouse in 1872, designed by architect Charles B. Cluskey, marked the beginning of St. Simons's tourism industry. The keeper of the lighthouse created a small amusement park, which drew many visitors, as did the seemingly miraculous light that traveled from the top of the lighthouse tower to the bottom. The island became a summer retreat for families from the mainland, particularly from Baxley, Brunswick, and Waycross.
The island's resort industry was thriving by the 1880s. Beachfront structures, such as a new pier and grand hotel, were built on the southeastern end of the island and could be accessed by ferry. Around this time wealthy northerners began vacationing on the island.
Twentieth Century
The
St. Simons Island Pier and Village
opening in 1924 of the Brunswick–St. Simons Highway, today known as the Torras Causeway, was a milestone in the development of resorts in the area. St. Simons's beaches were now easily accessible to locals and tourists alike. More than 5,000 automobiles took the short drive from Brunswick to St. Simons via the causeway on its opening day, paving the way for convenient residential and resort development.
In 1926 automotive pioneer Howard Coffin of Detroit, Michigan, bought large tracts of land on St. Simons, including the former Retreat Plantation, and constructed a golf course, yacht club, paved roads, and a residential subdivision. Although the causeway had brought large numbers of summer people to the island, St. Simons remained a small community with only a few hundred permanent residents until the 1940s.
The
St. Simons Island
outbreak of World War II (1941-45) brought more visitors and residents to St. Simons. Troops stationed at Jacksonville, Florida; Savannah; and nearby Camp Stewart took weekend vacations on the island, and a new naval air base and radar school became home to even more officers and soldiers. The increased wartime population brought the island its first public school. With a major shipyard for the production of Liberty ships in nearby Brunswick, the waters of St. Simons became active with German U-boats. In April 1942, just off the coast, the Texas Company oil tanker S. S. Oklahoma and the S. S. Esso Baton Rouge were torpedoed by the Germans, bringing the war very close to home for island residents.
Due in large part to the military's improvement of the island's infrastructure during the war, development on the island boomed in the 1950s and 1960s. More permanent homes and subdivisions were built, and the island was no longer just a summer resort but also a thriving community. In 1950 the Methodist conference and retreat center Epworth by the Sea opened on Gascoigne Bluff. In 1961 novelist Eugenia Price visited St. Simons and began work on her first works of fiction, known as the St. Simons Trilogy. Inspired by real events on the island, Price's trilogy renewed interest in the history of Georgia's coast, and the novelist herself relocated to the island in 1965 and lived there for thirty-one years. St. Simons is also home to contemporary Georgia writer Tina McElroy Ansa.
Since
Epworth by the Sea
1980 St. Simons's population has doubled. The island's continued status as a vacation destination and its ongoing development boom have put historic landmarks and natural areas at risk. While such landmarks as the Fort Frederica ruins and the Battle of Bloody Marsh site are preserved and maintained by the National Park Service, and while the historic lighthouse is maintained by the Coastal Georgia Historical Society, historic Ebos Landing has been taken over by a sewage treatment plant.
Several coastal organizations have formed in recent years to save natural areas on the island. The St. Simons Land Trust, for example, has received donations of large tracts of land and plans to protect property in the island's three traditional African American neighborhoods. Despite its rapid growth and development, St. Simons remains one of the most beautiful and important islands on the Georgia coast.

Old maple cabinets get "aged finish". and NEW middle section with glass door medicine cabinet is blended in
Bethany McGrath http;//chasingtumbleweed.com

This project features a six-foot addition on the back of the home, allowing us to open up the kitchen and family room for this young and active family. These spaces were redesigned to accommodate a large open kitchen, featuring cabinets in a beautiful sage color, that opens onto the dining area and family room. Natural stone countertops add texture to the space without dominating the room.
The powder room footprint stayed the same, but new cabinetry, mirrors, and fixtures compliment the bold wallpaper, making this space surprising and fun, like a piece of statement jewelry in the middle of the home.
The kid's bathroom is youthful while still being able to age with the children. An ombre pink and white floor tile is complimented by a greenish/blue vanity and a coordinating shower niche accent tile. White walls and gold fixtures complete the space.
The primary bathroom is more sophisticated but still colorful and full of life. The wood-style chevron floor tiles anchor the room while more light and airy tones of white, blue, and cream finish the rest of the space. The freestanding tub and large shower make this the perfect retreat after a long day.

Sponsored
Columbus, OH
Snider & Metcalf Interior Design, LTD
Leading Interior Designers in Columbus, Ohio & Ponte Vedra, Florida

Our clients came to us seeking our design expertise to help them re-work their bathroom and create a spa-like oasis. By removing a wall with vanity in the middle of the room, the fiberglass shower and walls, and eliminating the oversize tub deck we were able to work with a large open space and create the bathroom of our clients’ dreams.
Originally, there was a wall with a single vanity behind it when you first walked into the bathroom which really closed off the space and made it feel quite small. By eliminating the wall and single vanity, fiberglass shower, and built-in bathtub, we were able to enlarge the water closet 2 ½’ and create an open, airy bathroom.
We designed a curbless shower so our clients can age-in-place and always have accessibility into their shower. A long shower bench was added to provide a comfortable spot to sit and enjoy the shower. At the end of the open shower space was the perfect spot to put the freestanding bathtub with easy access from either end of the bathtub. Large windows allow the shower or bath user to enjoy the gorgeous views of nature right outside the window.
A double vanity was installed with a seating area for doing make-up and hair. Toe kick lighting was added to provide soft lighting for the nighttime trips to the bathroom with a built-in motion sensor so no need to try and find light switches in the dark. This toe kick lighting can also be used during relaxing, bubbly soaks in the tub to provide a nice soft light to relax in. Gorgeous pendant fixtures over the vanity provide lovely light and have dimmer switches for times when you do not need full lighting.
Heated tile flooring throughout the bathroom, along with a heat lamp with fan, and towel warmer will leave the clients feeling so warm and cozy after a relaxing shower or long soak they may never want to leave their bathroom.

This project features a six-foot addition on the back of the home, allowing us to open up the kitchen and family room for this young and active family. These spaces were redesigned to accommodate a large open kitchen, featuring cabinets in a beautiful sage color, that opens onto the dining area and family room. Natural stone countertops add texture to the space without dominating the room.
The powder room footprint stayed the same, but new cabinetry, mirrors, and fixtures compliment the bold wallpaper, making this space surprising and fun, like a piece of statement jewelry in the middle of the home.
The kid's bathroom is youthful while still being able to age with the children. An ombre pink and white floor tile is complimented by a greenish/blue vanity and a coordinating shower niche accent tile. White walls and gold fixtures complete the space.
The primary bathroom is more sophisticated but still colorful and full of life. The wood-style chevron floor tiles anchor the room while more light and airy tones of white, blue, and cream finish the rest of the space. The freestanding tub and large shower make this the perfect retreat after a long day.

Excellent vintage condition . Extremely well made and has gorgeous brass details in the inlay brass handles.This three piece unit can be displayed together or separated with the side units to fit corner spaces. Minor wear for its age. This piece is signed.
Color: Honey Stained
Material: Wood / Brass
Brand: Drexel
Dimensions :
Side Units:
20" L X 20'' D X 80.25" H
Middle Unit:
22.5" L X 20" D X 80.25" H
www.buyfoundobjects.com

What do you do when your master suite addition is limited in width. It is not an issue for the bedroom since it enjoys the full width of the 16' but what about the bathroom and closet that you need to be grand in design as well?
In this bathroom you can see the solution to this age-old question, how to make a narrow space look grand.
The end of this bathroom boosts a huge 9' wide by 6' deep shower wet area with a freestanding tub on one side and a bench, niche and window on the other.
The vaulted ceiling above has 3 large skylights with one of them directly above the shower area. The skylights provide a huge amount of natural light that cancels any need for artificial lighting to be used during the daytime.
The main wall is dark Pietra grigio porcelain book matched slabs, while the sides are 48"x48" off-white porcelain tiles. The plumbing fixtures are Kohler Anthem digital control for the minimalistic look.
Right before you get into the wet area you will have a niche with a built-in seating area the doubles as a storage/laundry cabinet and two thick shelves made of Alder wood to compliment the vanity, the beam and the water closet door.
A 10' vanity with a large 9.5' mirror is a great trick to create a sensation of space in the narrow 5' passageway.
The final touch is the hidden water closet, the space was taken from the Walk-in closet entry area to hide the toilet from the beautiful spa looking bathroom.
The last item to be mentioned is the heated floor that is controlled by a timer to make sure the flooring is warm to the touch on the cold winter nights.
The walk-in closet was custom built to accommodate all the client’s storage requirements, the different deeper and shallower niches that were created by space added to the bathroom are used for shallow wall led mirror or a deeper suites hanger and the crown jewel of this closet the steam closet by LG that provide the capabilities of a steamer / dry-cleaning in your private closet space.
A center drawer cabinet with glass top cabinets with built-in LED strips and puck lights create a lovely ambient lighting if needed and show casing the different perfumes and handbags.
Talking about show casing, how about the his/hers shoes towers on each side of the cabinets in the middle?
The master bedroom is a bit more craftsman and cozy.
Whitewashed shiplap on the vaulted ceiling creates a more of a countryside look with vast number of windows and a sliding door to allow both eastern and western light to penetrate the room.

Our clients came to us seeking our design expertise to help them re-work their bathroom and create a spa-like oasis. By removing a wall with vanity in the middle of the room, the fiberglass shower and walls, and eliminating the oversize tub deck we were able to work with a large open space and create the bathroom of our clients’ dreams.
Originally, there was a wall with a single vanity behind it when you first walked into the bathroom which really closed off the space and made it feel quite small. By eliminating the wall and single vanity, fiberglass shower, and built-in bathtub, we were able to enlarge the water closet 2 ½’ and create an open, airy bathroom.
We designed a curbless shower so our clients can age-in-place and always have accessibility into their shower. A long shower bench was added to provide a comfortable spot to sit and enjoy the shower. At the end of the open shower space was the perfect spot to put the freestanding bathtub with easy access from either end of the bathtub. Large windows allow the shower or bath user to enjoy the gorgeous views of nature right outside the window.
A double vanity was installed with a seating area for doing make-up and hair. Toe kick lighting was added to provide soft lighting for the nighttime trips to the bathroom with a built-in motion sensor so no need to try and find light switches in the dark. This toe kick lighting can also be used during relaxing, bubbly soaks in the tub to provide a nice soft light to relax in. Gorgeous pendant fixtures over the vanity provide lovely light and have dimmer switches for times when you do not need full lighting.
Heated tile flooring throughout the bathroom, along with a heat lamp with fan, and towel warmer will leave the clients feeling so warm and cozy after a relaxing shower or long soak they may never want to leave their bathroom.

The Space Everything you need is near the apartment. Safe neighborhood. Bedroom has a queen size Tempurpedic memory foam cloud bed. Kitchen had great counter space, easy for cooking meals in. Living room has cozy couches, flat screen TV and is a great lounging and relaxing area.
There is cable and Wifi in apartment. Full bathroom-shower and tub. Just 3 blocks from an Express Subway stop (4,5,6 line) and Express and Local Bus on the same block. The subway will take you to Times Square in 5 minutes, and all the way to the Southern tip of the city (Freedom Towers - 9/11 Memorial) within 30 minutes. 59th street transit stop is close by (N,R,Q,W and the 4-5-6 lines all servicing up and downtown).
The Apartment includes
* Large living room with nice decoration. * Plasma 50"" TV LCD * Cable TV * Sofa that can be converted to queen size bed * High Speed Internet - WiFi * Fully Equipped Kitchen * Bright bathroom (shared) * High ceiling * Lot of closet space. * Table with 4 Chairs * Air-conditioning and Heating * Private parking available in the building (hourly rates) * Iron * A/C and heater * Laundry and Dry Cleaning (for a fee) across the street and in the basement
Guest access
Apartment comes fully equipped with linens, towels, blankets and sufficient furnishings, shampoo, conditioner, body wash, soap, lotion. COMPLIMENTARY
Neighborhood
Near some of New York's best shops such as Bloomingdale's, Victoria Secret, the Apple Store on Fifth Avenue. You only have 5 min walks from Central Park and the Metropolitan Museum Of Art. And you are surrounded by Restaurants and bars.
Close enough to all the tourist attractions, yet you get the quiet beauty of NYC. * Central Park is minutes away * Safe neighborhood, 3 blocks from an Express Subway stop (4,5,6 line) and Express and Local Bus on the same block. The subway will take you to Times Square in 5 minutes, and all the way to the Southern tip of the city (Freedom Towers - 9/11 Memorial) within 30 minutes. 59th street transit stop is close by (N,R,Q,W and the 4-5-6 lines all servicing up and downtown).
Interaction with Guests
This is the Master Bedroom in a 3 Bedroom apartment with ONE shared bathroom. Apartment comes fully equipped with linens, towels,blankets and sufficient furnishings. Just bring you and be right at home, in the center, of the center of the world! The Neighborhood The neighborhood is extremely central. Many restaurants, shops, entertainments and NYC distractions right on your door! Your home is the quintessential NYC location, safe and convenient, exciting and right in the middle of it all! Close To Bloomingdale's Apple Fifth Avenue Close to Rockefeller Center and Radio City Music Hall Broadway theaters are all within walking distance.
Well lit, never (ever) empty, and well policed Plenty for families to do including shopping, movies, Toys R Us, and mega candy stores Getting Around 3 blocks from an Express Subway stop (4,5,6 line) and Express and Local Bus on the same block. The subway will take you to Times Square in 5 minutes, and all the way to the Southern tip of the city (Freedom Towers - 9/11 Memorial) within 30 minutes. 59th street transit stop is close by (N,R,Q,W and the 4-5-6 lines all servicing up and downtown). Other Things to Note I lead a very busy schedule, however, I am always available to assist you with anything you may need.
I can suggest places to eat, shop and gain entertainment. You will have complete privacy, should you choose and discretion is appreciated for both parties.
Interaction with guest
We are always available to assist you with anything you may need. Regarding check-in please contact us 48h prior your arrival, to schedule your check-in with one of our concierge/agent. We can suggest places to eat, shop and gain entertainment. You will have complete privacy, should you choose and discretion is appreciated for both parties.
Rules
CHECK IN is at 4:00 PM - CHECK OUT is at 11:00AM
LATE CHECK IN FEE may apply if the check in after 8pm. Must contact us few days before arrival to arrange the check in time.
Please, be respectful of the neighbors.
Please call 48h prior to arrival to arrange key pick up by contacting booking@bedrose.com
Absolutely no smoking in the apartment.
Absolutely no parties in the apartment.
We require a 30 night min stay on this apartment.
Only guests included in your confirmed reservation are permitted to be in the apartment.
Complete names and ages of all guests should be provided before check in.
Please leave the apartment in the same condition you entered.
Have a great time, be respectful and enjoy your stay!

Sponsored
Fredericksburg, OH
High Point Cabinets
Columbus' Experienced Custom Cabinet Builder | 4x Best of Houzz Winner

Our clients came to us seeking our design expertise to help them re-work their bathroom and create a spa-like oasis. By removing a wall with vanity in the middle of the room, the fiberglass shower and walls, and eliminating the oversize tub deck we were able to work with a large open space and create the bathroom of our clients’ dreams.
Originally, there was a wall with a single vanity behind it when you first walked into the bathroom which really closed off the space and made it feel quite small. By eliminating the wall and single vanity, fiberglass shower, and built-in bathtub, we were able to enlarge the water closet 2 ½’ and create an open, airy bathroom.
We designed a curbless shower so our clients can age-in-place and always have accessibility into their shower. A long shower bench was added to provide a comfortable spot to sit and enjoy the shower. At the end of the open shower space was the perfect spot to put the freestanding bathtub with easy access from either end of the bathtub. Large windows allow the shower or bath user to enjoy the gorgeous views of nature right outside the window.
A double vanity was installed with a seating area for doing make-up and hair. Toe kick lighting was added to provide soft lighting for the nighttime trips to the bathroom with a built-in motion sensor so no need to try and find light switches in the dark. This toe kick lighting can also be used during relaxing, bubbly soaks in the tub to provide a nice soft light to relax in. Gorgeous pendant fixtures over the vanity provide lovely light and have dimmer switches for times when you do not need full lighting.
Heated tile flooring throughout the bathroom, along with a heat lamp with fan, and towel warmer will leave the clients feeling so warm and cozy after a relaxing shower or long soak they may never want to leave their bathroom.

This photo was taken before the copper tile backsplash was installed. You will see a sample of the large tile on the right side of the photo.
The Hood was constructed of wood and then faux finished to give an aged copper and wood finish. It is beautiful in person.
All of the cabinets were made by hand and distressed and finished.
The Island was doubl thickness granite to make a statement in the middle.

What do you do when your master suite addition is limited in width. It is not an issue for the bedroom since it enjoys the full width of the 16' but what about the bathroom and closet that you need to be grand in design as well?
In this bathroom you can see the solution to this age-old question, how to make a narrow space look grand.
The end of this bathroom boosts a huge 9' wide by 6' deep shower wet area with a freestanding tub on one side and a bench, niche and window on the other.
The vaulted ceiling above has 3 large skylights with one of them directly above the shower area. The skylights provide a huge amount of natural light that cancels any need for artificial lighting to be used during the daytime.
The main wall is dark Pietra grigio porcelain book matched slabs, while the sides are 48"x48" off-white porcelain tiles. The plumbing fixtures are Kohler Anthem digital control for the minimalistic look.
Right before you get into the wet area you will have a niche with a built-in seating area the doubles as a storage/laundry cabinet and two thick shelves made of Alder wood to compliment the vanity, the beam and the water closet door.
A 10' vanity with a large 9.5' mirror is a great trick to create a sensation of space in the narrow 5' passageway.
The final touch is the hidden water closet, the space was taken from the Walk-in closet entry area to hide the toilet from the beautiful spa looking bathroom.
The last item to be mentioned is the heated floor that is controlled by a timer to make sure the flooring is warm to the touch on the cold winter nights.
The walk-in closet was custom built to accommodate all the client’s storage requirements, the different deeper and shallower niches that were created by space added to the bathroom are used for shallow wall led mirror or a deeper suites hanger and the crown jewel of this closet the steam closet by LG that provide the capabilities of a steamer / dry-cleaning in your private closet space.
A center drawer cabinet with glass top cabinets with built-in LED strips and puck lights create a lovely ambient lighting if needed and show casing the different perfumes and handbags.
Talking about show casing, how about the his/hers shoes towers on each side of the cabinets in the middle?
The master bedroom is a bit more craftsman and cozy.
Whitewashed shiplap on the vaulted ceiling creates a more of a countryside look with vast number of windows and a sliding door to allow both eastern and western light to penetrate the room.

Located in Sonoma on 2.5 acres with sweeping canyon views, our client's home was built on a long, rectangular lot in 1972. They had owned it for just over ten years and used it for weekend escapes and entertaining. The home burnt down during the 2017 Tubbs fire, and our firm was engaged to design the rebuild. The site did not offer much wiggle room for a new footprint, given the flat bench area that had been graded into a steep hillside when the original subdivision and road were developed. This resulted in a plan that would mostly remain the same; a linear rectangle designed to fit between the driveway and the pool.
The primary site strategy move was to change the front entry from the driveway end of the site to the middle of the rectangle, improving the privacy between the master bedroom and public space. We were also able to add a partial second floor to relocate the guest bedrooms from the main level upstairs, thereby enlarging the entertaining spaces to expand graciously to the pool (which remained undamaged). A large pantry and kitchen area were also essential.
Fireproof materials include fiber cement board siding and soffits, standing seam metal roofing, and concrete slab porch floors which do not catch embers underneath. The renovated pool was outfitted for fire prevention.
The interiors showcase light and distant views and connect seamlessly to the flat areas outside, providing ample space for entertaining year-round and the clients' two springer spaniels.
Materials:
• HardiePlank and board for firesafe siding, panels, trim, per CalFire WUI approved exterior wall siding and sheathing
• Town & Country fireplace
• Western Window Systems and Loewen Doors/Windows
• Thermador appliances
• Flooring: Brushed & Aged French Oak Hardwood Flooring - Mediterranean Kerrew French Oak,
• StoneK2 Black Pearl Ledgestone,
• Utopia Series Florence Hot Tub

Sponsored
Columbus, OH
Hope Restoration & General Contracting
Columbus Design-Build, Kitchen & Bath Remodeling, Historic Renovations

This well-loved 1960’s split-level home was in need of a makeover both in terms of design and function!
OPEN CONCEPT
Our clients wanted an open-concept layout for their Lower-Level and Main Floor spaces. This was no easy feat, given that the split-level construction of this home isolated the Kitchen and Family Room from the rest of the house. But we rose to the challenge!
How did we do it?!
To bring more harmony to this 1960’s closed off split-level construction, we enlarged the entryways of the Kitchen and the Dining Room across the Hallway to brighten up the two rooms and allow for better traffic flow between them.
The worn out mixed flooring materials were replaced with new porcelain tiles in the Foyer and new beautiful engineered hardwood floors unified all three levels.
The 3 sets of staircases were updated for safety by raising the railing to Building Code Standards. Then they were redressed with new black metal pickets, Oak treads, posts and handrails.
KITCHEN
The tight kitchen with a dysfunctional layout was brought back to life with the creation of new dining and working zones and plenty of counter space and concealed storage.
How did we do it?!
A peninsula serving as the Breakfast table was installed along shallow-depth cabinetry as you enter the Kitchen. The fridge, stove and sink were relocated to the end of the Kitchen with big windows and more counter space. A row of tall pantries and an appliance garage were installed along one side of the room to offer plenty of storage and hide frequently used small appliances.
FAMILY ROOM
Our Clients spent a lot of time in their Family Room but felt isolated from the rest of the house when they were in it. The room was dim and the stone-clad wood burning fireplace, which they rarely used, took up a lot of space.
Here’s how we gave this Family Room a makeover
Removing dated wainscoting and wallpaper and replacing it with freshly painted walls in neutral tones with an accent colour catapulted this Family Room out of the stone ages!
The stone-clad fireplace in the middle of the room was removed and replaced with a slim electric fireplace at one end of the room. Add on the beautiful built-out clad with porcelain tiles and you’ve got a cozy and stylish reading nook.
When you and your home are ready for an upgrade, we're the Renovator You Can Count On™. It's our promise. Contact us to get started!

This primary bathroom underwent a stunning transformation. We completely reorientated the bathroom and by taking out a large closet, we were able to create space for a generous walk-in shower for two and a double vanity. The curbless walk-in shower and the open layout of the bathroom were designed for the homeowners to age in place. With this improved layout and the light finishes, the bathroom is now much brighter and more open.
A statement patterned tile runs along the floor and into the shower giving personality and shape to this bathroom. The ocean blue subway tile runs up the shower walls vertically to give height to the room. In the niche, a scalloped tile mimics the pattern of the floor tile. A large, integrated bench runs across the back of the shower topped with a stunning white quartz. The frameless glass disappears, making the already spacious shower feel even more open. The light grey custom double vanity is perfectly balanced with a tower cabinet in the middle and open shelving below. The soft blue and grey tones carried through this bathroom are timeless, restful, and calming.
Selections: Floor Tile-(Glazzio Tiles Retro Neuve Ocean Star); Shower Tile-(United Tile Equipe Country); Shower Niche Tile-(Daltile Revalia Remix Exquisite Sky Gloss).

This little alcove was designed to accommodate the lounge chairs without interrupting circulation around the patio. The client had a number of school aged children and enjoyed entertaining so there would always be a 'herd' of children running around! The goal was to be able to watch them without being in the middle of things.
30