Search results for "Providing employees" in Home Design Ideas

Facts About ButterfliesDifferent Types Of Butterflies And Butterfly Facts
Natural butterfly habitats have been destroyed or affected by construction of housing and shopping developments, as well as by the use of pesticides and other chemicals. You can provide a suitable butterfly habitat that will help fortify the butterfly population, and as an added bonus, the habitat will bring you enjoyment in watching beautiful butterflies in your yard.
The butterfly habitat should be relatively sunny (5-6 hours per day) and out of the wind. Butterflies can get their required nutrients and minerals from a mud puddle in a sunny area. A successful butterfly habitat will contain the plants favored by both caterpillars and butterflies. This means that you should include plants like Queen Anne’s Lace, violets, marigolds, and maybe even milkweed for the caterpillars to eat, since they are able to chew their food. In particular, monarch caterpillars eat milkweed because it makes them an unpleasant-tasting meal to predators. For the butterflies, which are able to suck and are unable to chew, you should include nectar plants with different colors of flowers, such as zinnias, lilacs, and the butterfly bush.
Butterfly habitats should last all summer, meaning that you should select plants that bloom at different times so that something is always blooming. You might be able to take inspiration in your planting selections from a butterfly garden or inside a butterfly house if you are lucky to live close enough to one of these carefully planned attractions. Often, landscapers and nursery employees will be able to advise you as to what possible additions to your butterfly habitat will grow well in your area.
Copyright © Facts About Butterflies | All Rights Reserved.
Content provided and copywritten by http://factsaboutbutterflies.net

This 100 room assisted living housing center had been purchased by new owners. Their primary motive for the exterior of the property was to create an inviting and interactive setting for residents, visitors, employees, and family. Healthcare research shows that comfortable and stimulating seating areas close to the daily activity of the front doors are generally well used and popular areas among seniors and employees as well to prevent "workplace burnout". A crushed granite seating area, wooden benches, a recirculating waterfall, and a variety of plantings surround the front entry island. Seasonal color, texture, motion, shade, wildlife interest, mass and scale is provided by the mix of entryway, foundation, and entry island plantings.

Chula- cool modern, glass blue and gray back splash (FB & Houzz)
This galley style San Diego kitchen is located in Chula Vista, California. The kitchen was designed with a modern theme. The cappuccino finish Starmark cabinets compliments the white granite countertops with a smooth waterfall edge that wraps around the kitchen. Also, the cappuccino finish, floor-to-ceiling cabinets provide abundant storage space above the counter and surrounding the refrigerator, microwave, and oven. Additionally, the blue/gray toned brick pattern backsplash behind the hood range and stove provides a beautiful accent for the floating shelves. Overall, this kitchen remodel was designed to update and provide an exquisite place for the homeowners to cook their meals in.
Employee of the Week
This intrinsic master suite remodel is located in Scripps Ranch, California. The bathroom designed followed a contemporary style. The StarMark maple ridgeville caramel chocolate vanity pairs well with the gorgeous granite countertop and backsplash. Also, the amazing biscuit soaking tub is designed to sit side by side with a beautiful walk-in shower. The existing travertine floor is integrated beautifully into the design that it makes it seem like they are brand new. Overall, this splendid bathroom remodel showcases what we can turn any bathroom to a dream oasis.
This L-shaped style kitchen with an island is located in Scripps Ranch, California. The kitchen was designed with a modern theme. The kitchen features marshmallow cream colored StarMark cabinets with a bronze glaze. The StarMark cabinets are made from maple wood and they compliment the quartz countertops nicely. Also, the cabinets have a bit in variation such as the clear glass panel doors and the amazing area for the homeowners to store their wine collection. The 4"x4" travertine tile backsplash provides an additional aesthetic appeal to the entire kitchen. Overall, this kitchen was designed to not only update and provide the homeowners with a dream kitchen, but also a place to call the heart of the home. Photos by Scott Basile.
Find the right local pro for your project

Stuart Wade, Envision Virtual Tours
The second-largest and most developed of Georgia's barrier islands, St. Simons is approximately twelve miles long and nearly three miles wide at its widest stretch (roughly the size of Manhattan Island in New York). The island is located in Glynn County on Georgia's coast and lies east of Brunswick (the seat of Glynn County), south of Little St. Simons Island and the Hampton River, and north of Jekyll Island. The resort community of Sea Island is separated from St. Simons on the east by the Black Banks River. Known for its oak tree canopies and historic landmarks, St. Simons is both a tourist destination and, according to the 2010 U.S. census, home to 12,743 residents.
Early History
The earliest
St. Simons Island Village
record of human habitation on the island dates to the Late Archaic Period, about 5,000 to 3,000 years ago. Remnants of shell rings left behind by Native Americans from this era survive on many of the barrier islands, including St. Simons. Centuries later, during the period known by historians as the chiefdom era, the Guale Indians established a chiefdom centered on St. Catherines Island and used St. Simons as their hunting and fishing grounds. By 1500 the Guale had established a permanent village of about 200 people on St. Simons, which they called Guadalquini.
Beginning in 1568, the Spanish attempted to create missions along the Georgia coast. Catholic missions were the primary means by which Georgia's indigenous Native American chiefdoms were assimilated into the Spanish colonial system along the northern frontier of greater Spanish Florida. In the 1600s St. Simons became home to two Spanish missions: San Buenaventura de Guadalquini, on the southern tip of the island, and Santo Domingo de Asao (or Asajo), on the northern tip. Located on the inland side of the island were the pagan refugee villages of San Simón, the island's namesake, and Ocotonico. In 1684 pirate raids left the missions and villages largely abandoned.
Colonial History
As
Fort Frederica
early as 1670, with Great Britain's establishment of the colony of Carolina and its expansion into Georgia territory, Spanish rule was threatened by the English. The Georgia coast was considered "debatable land" by England and Spain, even though Spain had fully retreated from St. Simons by 1702. Thirty-one years later General James Edward Oglethorpe founded the English settlement of Savannah. In 1736 he established Fort Frederica, named after the heir to the British throne, Frederick Louis, prince of Wales, on the west side of St. Simons Island to protect Savannah and the Carolinas from the Spanish threat.
Between 1736 and 1749 Fort Frederica was the hub of British military operations along the Georgia frontier. A town of the same name grew up around the fort and was of great importance to the new colony. By 1740 Frederica's population was 1,000. In 1736 the congregation of what would become Christ Church was organized within Fort Frederica as a mission of the Church of England. Charles Wesley led the first services. In 1742 Britain's decisive victory over Spain in the Battle of Bloody Marsh, during the War of Jenkins' Ear, ended the Spanish threat to the Georgia coast. When the British regimen disbanded in 1749, most of the townspeople relocated to the mainland. Fort Frederica went into decline and, except for a short time of prosperity during the 1760s and 1770s under the leadership of merchant James Spalding, never fully recovered. Today the historic citadel's tabby ruins are maintained by the National Park Service.
Plantation Era
By the start of the American Revolution (1775-83), Fort Frederica was obsolete, and St. Simons was left largely uninhabited as most of its residents joined the patriot army. Besides hosting a small Georgia naval victory on the Fort Frederica River, providing guns from its famous fort for use at Fort Morris in Sunbury, and serving as an arena for pillaging by privateers and British soldiers, the island played almost no role in the war.
Following the war, many of the townspeople, their businesses destroyed, turned to agriculture. The island was transformed into fourteen cotton plantations after acres of live oak trees were cleared for farm land and used for building American warships, including the famous USS Constitution, or "Old Ironsides." Although rice was the predominant crop along the neighboring Altamaha River, St. Simons was known for its production of long-staple cotton, which soon came to be known as Sea Island cotton.
Between
Ebos Landing
the 1780s and the outbreak of the Civil War (1861-65), St. Simons's plantation culture flourished. The saline atmosphere and the availability of cheap slave labor proved an ideal combination for the cultivation of Sea Island cotton. In 1803 a group of Ebo slaves who survived the Middle Passage and arrived on the west side of St. Simons staged a rebellion and drowned themselves. The sacred site is known today as Ebos Landing.
One of the largest owners of land and slaves on St. Simons was Pierce Butler, master of Hampton Point Plantation, located on the northern end of the island. By 1793 Butler owned more than 500 slaves, who cultivated 800 acres of cotton on St. Simons and 300 acres of rice on Butler's Island in the Altamaha River delta. Butler's grandson, Pierce Mease Butler, who at the age of sixteen inherited a share of his grandfather's estate in 1826, was responsible for the largest sale of human beings in the history of the United States: in 1859, to restore his squandered fortune, he sold 429 slaves in Savannah for more than $300,000. The British actress and writer Fanny Kemble, whose tumultuous marriage to Pierce ended in divorce in 1849, published an eyewitness account of the evils of slavery on St. Simons in her book Journal of a Residence on a Georgian Plantation in 1838-1839 (1863).
Another
Retreat Plantation
large owner of land and slaves on St. Simons was Major William Page, a friend and employee of Pierce Butler Sr. Before purchasing Retreat Plantation on the southwestern tip of the island in 1804, Page managed the Hampton plantation and Butler's Island. Upon Page's death in 1827, Thomas Butler King inherited the land together with his wife, Page's daughter, Anna Matilda Page King. King expanded his father-in-law's planting empire on St. Simons as well as on the mainland, and by 1835 Retreat Plantation alone was home to as many as 355 slaves.
The center of life during the island's plantation era was Christ Church, Frederica. Organized in 1807 by a group of island planters, the Episcopal church is the second oldest in the Diocese of Georgia. Embargoes imposed by the War of 1812 (1812-15) prevented the parishioners from building a church structure, so they worshiped in the home of John Beck, which stood on the site of Oglethorpe's only St. Simons residence, Orange Hall.
The first Christ Church building, finished on the present site in 1820, was ruined by occupying Union troops during the Civil War. In 1884 the Reverend Anson Dodge Jr. rebuilt the church as a memorial to his first wife, Ellen. The cruciform building with a trussed gothic roof and stained-glass windows remains active today as Christ Church.
Civil War and Beyond
The
St. Simons Island Lighthouse
outbreak of the Civil War in 1861 put a sudden end to St. Simons's lucrative plantation era. In January of that year, Confederate troops were stationed at the south end of the island to guard the entrance to Brunswick Harbor. Slaves from Retreat Plantation, owned by Thomas Butler King, built earthworks and batteries. Plantation residents were scattered—the men joined the Confederate army and their families moved to the mainland. Cannon fire was heard on the island in December 1861, and Confederate troops retreated in February 1862, after dynamiting the lighthouse to keep its beacon from aiding Union troops. Soon thereafter, Union troops occupied the island, which was used as a camp for freed slaves. By August 1862 more than 500 former slaves lived on St. Simons, including Susie King Taylor, who organized a school for freed slave children. But in November the ex-slaves were taken to Hilton Head, South Carolina, and Fernandina, Florida, leaving the island abandoned.
After the Civil War the island never returned to its status as an agricultural community. The plantations lay dormant because there were no slaves to work the fields. After Union general William T. Sherman's January 1865 Special Field Order No. 15 —a demand that former plantations be divided and distributed to former slaves—was overturned by U.S. president Andrew Johnson less than a year later, freedmen and women were forced to work as sharecroppers on the small farms that dotted the land previously occupied by the sprawling plantations.
By
St. Simons Lumber Mills
1870 real economic recovery began with the reestablishment of the timber industry. Norman Dodge and Titus G. Meigs of New York set up lumber mill operations at Gascoigne Bluff, formerly Hamilton Plantation. The lumber mills provided welcome employment for both blacks and whites and also provided mail and passenger boats to the mainland. Such water traffic, together with the construction of a new lighthouse in 1872, designed by architect Charles B. Cluskey, marked the beginning of St. Simons's tourism industry. The keeper of the lighthouse created a small amusement park, which drew many visitors, as did the seemingly miraculous light that traveled from the top of the lighthouse tower to the bottom. The island became a summer retreat for families from the mainland, particularly from Baxley, Brunswick, and Waycross.
The island's resort industry was thriving by the 1880s. Beachfront structures, such as a new pier and grand hotel, were built on the southeastern end of the island and could be accessed by ferry. Around this time wealthy northerners began vacationing on the island.
Twentieth Century
The
St. Simons Island Pier and Village
opening in 1924 of the Brunswick–St. Simons Highway, today known as the Torras Causeway, was a milestone in the development of resorts in the area. St. Simons's beaches were now easily accessible to locals and tourists alike. More than 5,000 automobiles took the short drive from Brunswick to St. Simons via the causeway on its opening day, paving the way for convenient residential and resort development.
In 1926 automotive pioneer Howard Coffin of Detroit, Michigan, bought large tracts of land on St. Simons, including the former Retreat Plantation, and constructed a golf course, yacht club, paved roads, and a residential subdivision. Although the causeway had brought large numbers of summer people to the island, St. Simons remained a small community with only a few hundred permanent residents until the 1940s.
The
St. Simons Island
outbreak of World War II (1941-45) brought more visitors and residents to St. Simons. Troops stationed at Jacksonville, Florida; Savannah; and nearby Camp Stewart took weekend vacations on the island, and a new naval air base and radar school became home to even more officers and soldiers. The increased wartime population brought the island its first public school. With a major shipyard for the production of Liberty ships in nearby Brunswick, the waters of St. Simons became active with German U-boats. In April 1942, just off the coast, the Texas Company oil tanker S. S. Oklahoma and the S. S. Esso Baton Rouge were torpedoed by the Germans, bringing the war very close to home for island residents.
Due in large part to the military's improvement of the island's infrastructure during the war, development on the island boomed in the 1950s and 1960s. More permanent homes and subdivisions were built, and the island was no longer just a summer resort but also a thriving community. In 1950 the Methodist conference and retreat center Epworth by the Sea opened on Gascoigne Bluff. In 1961 novelist Eugenia Price visited St. Simons and began work on her first works of fiction, known as the St. Simons Trilogy. Inspired by real events on the island, Price's trilogy renewed interest in the history of Georgia's coast, and the novelist herself relocated to the island in 1965 and lived there for thirty-one years. St. Simons is also home to contemporary Georgia writer Tina McElroy Ansa.
Since
Epworth by the Sea
1980 St. Simons's population has doubled. The island's continued status as a vacation destination and its ongoing development boom have put historic landmarks and natural areas at risk. While such landmarks as the Fort Frederica ruins and the Battle of Bloody Marsh site are preserved and maintained by the National Park Service, and while the historic lighthouse is maintained by the Coastal Georgia Historical Society, historic Ebos Landing has been taken over by a sewage treatment plant.
Several coastal organizations have formed in recent years to save natural areas on the island. The St. Simons Land Trust, for example, has received donations of large tracts of land and plans to protect property in the island's three traditional African American neighborhoods. Despite its rapid growth and development, St. Simons remains one of the most beautiful and important islands on the Georgia coast.

This 100 room assisted living housing center had been purchased by new owners. Their primary motive for the exterior of the property was to create an inviting and interactive setting for residents, visitors, employees, and family. Healthcare research shows that comfortable and stimulating seating areas close to the daily activity of the front doors are generally well used and popular areas among seniors and employees as well to prevent "workplace burnout". A crushed granite seating area, wooden benches, a recirculating waterfall, and a variety of plantings surround the front entry island. Seasonal color, texture, motion, shade, wildlife interest, mass and scale is provided by the mix of entryway, foundation, and entry island plantings.

This historic home renovation off Music Row in Nashville underwent a full gut and remodel, transforming it from a residential space into a high-end commercial property while preserving its architectural charm. The renovation included refurbished hardwood flooring, blending timeless appeal with durable hardwood flooring solutions that ensure long-lasting performance.
The kitchen remodel features state-of-the-art appliances, modern countertops, custom cabinetry design, and modern kitchen hardware, offering a sleek yet functional layout. The addition of new cabinets and storage solutions maximizes efficiency, making the space ideal for commercial use. Recessed lighting and chandeliers provide elegant illumination throughout, enhancing the interior’s refined aesthetic.
One of the standout features of this renovation is the three-story deck, designed with custom construction and deck building expertise. Built for both leisure and functionality, the custom deck seamlessly integrates an elevator, providing accessibility and convenience for guests and employees. The architectural planning ensured that the outdoor space remains both practical and visually striking.
As Nashville general contractors specializing in luxury renovations, commercial and residential remodeling, and design-build projects, we focus on custom millwork, eco-friendly renovations, and high-end homes. Whether modernizing historic homes or crafting custom construction solutions, our work reflects superior craftsmanship, innovative design, and a commitment to excellence.

This project involved the construction of a large circular deck at a confidential federal headquarters, designed to enhance employee wellness and outdoor engagement. The deck functions as a relaxing park-like space where employees can step outside, walk, and enjoy a break in a natural setting.
A second large circular walking deck was also constructed to encourage movement throughout the workday, providing a functional and inviting space for daily activity. Together, these outdoor elements support well-being while maintaining discretion and simplicity appropriate for a federal facility.

Stuart Wade, Envision Virtual Tours
The second-largest and most developed of Georgia's barrier islands, St. Simons is approximately twelve miles long and nearly three miles wide at its widest stretch (roughly the size of Manhattan Island in New York). The island is located in Glynn County on Georgia's coast and lies east of Brunswick (the seat of Glynn County), south of Little St. Simons Island and the Hampton River, and north of Jekyll Island. The resort community of Sea Island is separated from St. Simons on the east by the Black Banks River. Known for its oak tree canopies and historic landmarks, St. Simons is both a tourist destination and, according to the 2010 U.S. census, home to 12,743 residents.
Early History
The earliest
St. Simons Island Village
record of human habitation on the island dates to the Late Archaic Period, about 5,000 to 3,000 years ago. Remnants of shell rings left behind by Native Americans from this era survive on many of the barrier islands, including St. Simons. Centuries later, during the period known by historians as the chiefdom era, the Guale Indians established a chiefdom centered on St. Catherines Island and used St. Simons as their hunting and fishing grounds. By 1500 the Guale had established a permanent village of about 200 people on St. Simons, which they called Guadalquini.
Beginning in 1568, the Spanish attempted to create missions along the Georgia coast. Catholic missions were the primary means by which Georgia's indigenous Native American chiefdoms were assimilated into the Spanish colonial system along the northern frontier of greater Spanish Florida. In the 1600s St. Simons became home to two Spanish missions: San Buenaventura de Guadalquini, on the southern tip of the island, and Santo Domingo de Asao (or Asajo), on the northern tip. Located on the inland side of the island were the pagan refugee villages of San Simón, the island's namesake, and Ocotonico. In 1684 pirate raids left the missions and villages largely abandoned.
Colonial History
As
Fort Frederica
early as 1670, with Great Britain's establishment of the colony of Carolina and its expansion into Georgia territory, Spanish rule was threatened by the English. The Georgia coast was considered "debatable land" by England and Spain, even though Spain had fully retreated from St. Simons by 1702. Thirty-one years later General James Edward Oglethorpe founded the English settlement of Savannah. In 1736 he established Fort Frederica, named after the heir to the British throne, Frederick Louis, prince of Wales, on the west side of St. Simons Island to protect Savannah and the Carolinas from the Spanish threat.
Between 1736 and 1749 Fort Frederica was the hub of British military operations along the Georgia frontier. A town of the same name grew up around the fort and was of great importance to the new colony. By 1740 Frederica's population was 1,000. In 1736 the congregation of what would become Christ Church was organized within Fort Frederica as a mission of the Church of England. Charles Wesley led the first services. In 1742 Britain's decisive victory over Spain in the Battle of Bloody Marsh, during the War of Jenkins' Ear, ended the Spanish threat to the Georgia coast. When the British regimen disbanded in 1749, most of the townspeople relocated to the mainland. Fort Frederica went into decline and, except for a short time of prosperity during the 1760s and 1770s under the leadership of merchant James Spalding, never fully recovered. Today the historic citadel's tabby ruins are maintained by the National Park Service.
Plantation Era
By the start of the American Revolution (1775-83), Fort Frederica was obsolete, and St. Simons was left largely uninhabited as most of its residents joined the patriot army. Besides hosting a small Georgia naval victory on the Fort Frederica River, providing guns from its famous fort for use at Fort Morris in Sunbury, and serving as an arena for pillaging by privateers and British soldiers, the island played almost no role in the war.
Following the war, many of the townspeople, their businesses destroyed, turned to agriculture. The island was transformed into fourteen cotton plantations after acres of live oak trees were cleared for farm land and used for building American warships, including the famous USS Constitution, or "Old Ironsides." Although rice was the predominant crop along the neighboring Altamaha River, St. Simons was known for its production of long-staple cotton, which soon came to be known as Sea Island cotton.
Between
Ebos Landing
the 1780s and the outbreak of the Civil War (1861-65), St. Simons's plantation culture flourished. The saline atmosphere and the availability of cheap slave labor proved an ideal combination for the cultivation of Sea Island cotton. In 1803 a group of Ebo slaves who survived the Middle Passage and arrived on the west side of St. Simons staged a rebellion and drowned themselves. The sacred site is known today as Ebos Landing.
One of the largest owners of land and slaves on St. Simons was Pierce Butler, master of Hampton Point Plantation, located on the northern end of the island. By 1793 Butler owned more than 500 slaves, who cultivated 800 acres of cotton on St. Simons and 300 acres of rice on Butler's Island in the Altamaha River delta. Butler's grandson, Pierce Mease Butler, who at the age of sixteen inherited a share of his grandfather's estate in 1826, was responsible for the largest sale of human beings in the history of the United States: in 1859, to restore his squandered fortune, he sold 429 slaves in Savannah for more than $300,000. The British actress and writer Fanny Kemble, whose tumultuous marriage to Pierce ended in divorce in 1849, published an eyewitness account of the evils of slavery on St. Simons in her book Journal of a Residence on a Georgian Plantation in 1838-1839 (1863).
Another
Retreat Plantation
large owner of land and slaves on St. Simons was Major William Page, a friend and employee of Pierce Butler Sr. Before purchasing Retreat Plantation on the southwestern tip of the island in 1804, Page managed the Hampton plantation and Butler's Island. Upon Page's death in 1827, Thomas Butler King inherited the land together with his wife, Page's daughter, Anna Matilda Page King. King expanded his father-in-law's planting empire on St. Simons as well as on the mainland, and by 1835 Retreat Plantation alone was home to as many as 355 slaves.
The center of life during the island's plantation era was Christ Church, Frederica. Organized in 1807 by a group of island planters, the Episcopal church is the second oldest in the Diocese of Georgia. Embargoes imposed by the War of 1812 (1812-15) prevented the parishioners from building a church structure, so they worshiped in the home of John Beck, which stood on the site of Oglethorpe's only St. Simons residence, Orange Hall.
The first Christ Church building, finished on the present site in 1820, was ruined by occupying Union troops during the Civil War. In 1884 the Reverend Anson Dodge Jr. rebuilt the church as a memorial to his first wife, Ellen. The cruciform building with a trussed gothic roof and stained-glass windows remains active today as Christ Church.
Civil War and Beyond
The
St. Simons Island Lighthouse
outbreak of the Civil War in 1861 put a sudden end to St. Simons's lucrative plantation era. In January of that year, Confederate troops were stationed at the south end of the island to guard the entrance to Brunswick Harbor. Slaves from Retreat Plantation, owned by Thomas Butler King, built earthworks and batteries. Plantation residents were scattered—the men joined the Confederate army and their families moved to the mainland. Cannon fire was heard on the island in December 1861, and Confederate troops retreated in February 1862, after dynamiting the lighthouse to keep its beacon from aiding Union troops. Soon thereafter, Union troops occupied the island, which was used as a camp for freed slaves. By August 1862 more than 500 former slaves lived on St. Simons, including Susie King Taylor, who organized a school for freed slave children. But in November the ex-slaves were taken to Hilton Head, South Carolina, and Fernandina, Florida, leaving the island abandoned.
After the Civil War the island never returned to its status as an agricultural community. The plantations lay dormant because there were no slaves to work the fields. After Union general William T. Sherman's January 1865 Special Field Order No. 15 —a demand that former plantations be divided and distributed to former slaves—was overturned by U.S. president Andrew Johnson less than a year later, freedmen and women were forced to work as sharecroppers on the small farms that dotted the land previously occupied by the sprawling plantations.
By
St. Simons Lumber Mills
1870 real economic recovery began with the reestablishment of the timber industry. Norman Dodge and Titus G. Meigs of New York set up lumber mill operations at Gascoigne Bluff, formerly Hamilton Plantation. The lumber mills provided welcome employment for both blacks and whites and also provided mail and passenger boats to the mainland. Such water traffic, together with the construction of a new lighthouse in 1872, designed by architect Charles B. Cluskey, marked the beginning of St. Simons's tourism industry. The keeper of the lighthouse created a small amusement park, which drew many visitors, as did the seemingly miraculous light that traveled from the top of the lighthouse tower to the bottom. The island became a summer retreat for families from the mainland, particularly from Baxley, Brunswick, and Waycross.
The island's resort industry was thriving by the 1880s. Beachfront structures, such as a new pier and grand hotel, were built on the southeastern end of the island and could be accessed by ferry. Around this time wealthy northerners began vacationing on the island.
Twentieth Century
The
St. Simons Island Pier and Village
opening in 1924 of the Brunswick–St. Simons Highway, today known as the Torras Causeway, was a milestone in the development of resorts in the area. St. Simons's beaches were now easily accessible to locals and tourists alike. More than 5,000 automobiles took the short drive from Brunswick to St. Simons via the causeway on its opening day, paving the way for convenient residential and resort development.
In 1926 automotive pioneer Howard Coffin of Detroit, Michigan, bought large tracts of land on St. Simons, including the former Retreat Plantation, and constructed a golf course, yacht club, paved roads, and a residential subdivision. Although the causeway had brought large numbers of summer people to the island, St. Simons remained a small community with only a few hundred permanent residents until the 1940s.
The
St. Simons Island
outbreak of World War II (1941-45) brought more visitors and residents to St. Simons. Troops stationed at Jacksonville, Florida; Savannah; and nearby Camp Stewart took weekend vacations on the island, and a new naval air base and radar school became home to even more officers and soldiers. The increased wartime population brought the island its first public school. With a major shipyard for the production of Liberty ships in nearby Brunswick, the waters of St. Simons became active with German U-boats. In April 1942, just off the coast, the Texas Company oil tanker S. S. Oklahoma and the S. S. Esso Baton Rouge were torpedoed by the Germans, bringing the war very close to home for island residents.
Due in large part to the military's improvement of the island's infrastructure during the war, development on the island boomed in the 1950s and 1960s. More permanent homes and subdivisions were built, and the island was no longer just a summer resort but also a thriving community. In 1950 the Methodist conference and retreat center Epworth by the Sea opened on Gascoigne Bluff. In 1961 novelist Eugenia Price visited St. Simons and began work on her first works of fiction, known as the St. Simons Trilogy. Inspired by real events on the island, Price's trilogy renewed interest in the history of Georgia's coast, and the novelist herself relocated to the island in 1965 and lived there for thirty-one years. St. Simons is also home to contemporary Georgia writer Tina McElroy Ansa.
Since
Epworth by the Sea
1980 St. Simons's population has doubled. The island's continued status as a vacation destination and its ongoing development boom have put historic landmarks and natural areas at risk. While such landmarks as the Fort Frederica ruins and the Battle of Bloody Marsh site are preserved and maintained by the National Park Service, and while the historic lighthouse is maintained by the Coastal Georgia Historical Society, historic Ebos Landing has been taken over by a sewage treatment plant.
Several coastal organizations have formed in recent years to save natural areas on the island. The St. Simons Land Trust, for example, has received donations of large tracts of land and plans to protect property in the island's three traditional African American neighborhoods. Despite its rapid growth and development, St. Simons remains one of the most beautiful and important islands on the Georgia coast.

This historic home renovation off Music Row in Nashville underwent a full gut and remodel, transforming it from a residential space into a high-end commercial property while preserving its architectural charm. The renovation included refurbished hardwood flooring, blending timeless appeal with durable hardwood flooring solutions that ensure long-lasting performance.
The kitchen remodel features state-of-the-art appliances, modern countertops, custom cabinetry design, and modern kitchen hardware, offering a sleek yet functional layout. The addition of new cabinets and storage solutions maximizes efficiency, making the space ideal for commercial use. Recessed lighting and chandeliers provide elegant illumination throughout, enhancing the interior’s refined aesthetic.
One of the standout features of this renovation is the three-story deck, designed with custom construction and deck building expertise. Built for both leisure and functionality, the custom deck seamlessly integrates an elevator, providing accessibility and convenience for guests and employees. The architectural planning ensured that the outdoor space remains both practical and visually striking.
As Nashville general contractors specializing in luxury renovations, commercial and residential remodeling, and design-build projects, we focus on custom millwork, eco-friendly renovations, and high-end homes. Whether modernizing historic homes or crafting custom construction solutions, our work reflects superior craftsmanship, innovative design, and a commitment to excellence.

Free ebook, CREATING THE IDEAL KITCHEN
Download now → http://bit.ly/idealkitchen
The homeowners came to us with the desire to update their master bathroom into a more spa-like retreat that was also more functional for their daily needs. The existing space was large with a vaulted ceiling, lots of natural light and an existing private water closet. So the bones of the space were great and the room just needed a few tweaks.
We started by relocating the cramped shower that shared the water closet room, to the existing tub location. The giant whirlpool tub took up more than its share of real estate in the room, and the beautiful new shower, which gets used daily, now sits in its spot. The new shower features beautiful lass tile accents as well as a bench seat and frameless shower door.
The new tub is freestanding and sits in front of an updated slightly smaller window, providing a sculptural focal point upon entry to the room. There was still plenty of room for two large vanities, and a corner storage cabinet and appliance garage that hides small bathroom necessities.
The water closet remains in its own private room and the area that once housed the shower, is now an additional closet for the master bedroom. The room is a pallet of soft grays and whites with the cherry vanities adding some warmth. Polished chrome and glass accents bring some sparkle to the space.
Designed by: Susan Klimala, CKD, CBD
Photography by: Mike Kaskel
For more information on kitchen and bath design ideas go to: www.kitchenstudio-ge.com

Chula- cool modern, glass blue and gray back splash (FB & Houzz)
This galley style San Diego kitchen is located in Chula Vista, California. The kitchen was designed with a modern theme. The cappuccino finish Starmark cabinets compliments the white granite countertops with a smooth waterfall edge that wraps around the kitchen. Also, the cappuccino finish, floor-to-ceiling cabinets provide abundant storage space above the counter and surrounding the refrigerator, microwave, and oven. Additionally, the blue/gray toned brick pattern backsplash behind the hood range and stove provides a beautiful accent for the floating shelves. Overall, this kitchen remodel was designed to update and provide an exquisite place for the homeowners to cook their meals in.
Employee of the Week
This intrinsic master suite remodel is located in Scripps Ranch, California. The bathroom designed followed a contemporary style. The StarMark maple ridgeville caramel chocolate vanity pairs well with the gorgeous granite countertop and backsplash. Also, the amazing biscuit soaking tub is designed to sit side by side with a beautiful walk-in shower. The existing travertine floor is integrated beautifully into the design that it makes it seem like they are brand new. Overall, this splendid bathroom remodel showcases what we can turn any bathroom to a dream oasis.
This L-shaped style kitchen with an island is located in Scripps Ranch, California. The kitchen was designed with a modern theme. The kitchen features marshmallow cream colored StarMark cabinets with a bronze glaze. The StarMark cabinets are made from maple wood and they compliment the quartz countertops nicely. Also, the cabinets have a bit in variation such as the clear glass panel doors and the amazing area for the homeowners to store their wine collection. The 4"x4" travertine tile backsplash provides an additional aesthetic appeal to the entire kitchen. Overall, this kitchen was designed to not only update and provide the homeowners with a dream kitchen, but also a place to call the heart of the home. Photos by Scott Basile.

This historic home renovation off Music Row in Nashville underwent a full gut and remodel, transforming it from a residential space into a high-end commercial property while preserving its architectural charm. The renovation included refurbished hardwood flooring, blending timeless appeal with durable hardwood flooring solutions that ensure long-lasting performance.
The kitchen remodel features state-of-the-art appliances, modern countertops, custom cabinetry design, and modern kitchen hardware, offering a sleek yet functional layout. The addition of new cabinets and storage solutions maximizes efficiency, making the space ideal for commercial use. Recessed lighting and chandeliers provide elegant illumination throughout, enhancing the interior’s refined aesthetic.
One of the standout features of this renovation is the three-story deck, designed with custom construction and deck building expertise. Built for both leisure and functionality, the custom deck seamlessly integrates an elevator, providing accessibility and convenience for guests and employees. The architectural planning ensured that the outdoor space remains both practical and visually striking.
As Nashville general contractors specializing in luxury renovations, commercial and residential remodeling, and design-build projects, we focus on custom millwork, eco-friendly renovations, and high-end homes. Whether modernizing historic homes or crafting custom construction solutions, our work reflects superior craftsmanship, innovative design, and a commitment to excellence.

This historic home renovation off Music Row in Nashville underwent a full gut and remodel, transforming it from a residential space into a high-end commercial property while preserving its architectural charm. The renovation included refurbished hardwood flooring, blending timeless appeal with durable hardwood flooring solutions that ensure long-lasting performance.
The kitchen remodel features state-of-the-art appliances, modern countertops, custom cabinetry design, and modern kitchen hardware, offering a sleek yet functional layout. The addition of new cabinets and storage solutions maximizes efficiency, making the space ideal for commercial use. Recessed lighting and chandeliers provide elegant illumination throughout, enhancing the interior’s refined aesthetic.
One of the standout features of this renovation is the three-story deck, designed with custom construction and deck building expertise. Built for both leisure and functionality, the custom deck seamlessly integrates an elevator, providing accessibility and convenience for guests and employees. The architectural planning ensured that the outdoor space remains both practical and visually striking.
As Nashville general contractors specializing in luxury renovations, commercial and residential remodeling, and design-build projects, we focus on custom millwork, eco-friendly renovations, and high-end homes. Whether modernizing historic homes or crafting custom construction solutions, our work reflects superior craftsmanship, innovative design, and a commitment to excellence.

Sponsored
Columbus, OH
Free consultation for landscape design!
Peabody Landscape Group
Franklin County's Reliable Landscape Design & Contracting

This historic home renovation off Music Row in Nashville underwent a full gut and remodel, transforming it from a residential space into a high-end commercial property while preserving its architectural charm. The renovation included refurbished hardwood flooring, blending timeless appeal with durable hardwood flooring solutions that ensure long-lasting performance.
The kitchen remodel features state-of-the-art appliances, modern countertops, custom cabinetry design, and modern kitchen hardware, offering a sleek yet functional layout. The addition of new cabinets and storage solutions maximizes efficiency, making the space ideal for commercial use. Recessed lighting and chandeliers provide elegant illumination throughout, enhancing the interior’s refined aesthetic.
One of the standout features of this renovation is the three-story deck, designed with custom construction and deck building expertise. Built for both leisure and functionality, the custom deck seamlessly integrates an elevator, providing accessibility and convenience for guests and employees. The architectural planning ensured that the outdoor space remains both practical and visually striking.
As Nashville general contractors specializing in luxury renovations, commercial and residential remodeling, and design-build projects, we focus on custom millwork, eco-friendly renovations, and high-end homes. Whether modernizing historic homes or crafting custom construction solutions, our work reflects superior craftsmanship, innovative design, and a commitment to excellence.

Chula- cool modern, glass blue and gray back splash (FB & Houzz)
This galley style San Diego kitchen is located in Chula Vista, California. The kitchen was designed with a modern theme. The cappuccino finish Starmark cabinets compliments the white granite countertops with a smooth waterfall edge that wraps around the kitchen. Also, the cappuccino finish, floor-to-ceiling cabinets provide abundant storage space above the counter and surrounding the refrigerator, microwave, and oven. Additionally, the blue/gray toned brick pattern backsplash behind the hood range and stove provides a beautiful accent for the floating shelves. Overall, this kitchen remodel was designed to update and provide an exquisite place for the homeowners to cook their meals in.
Employee of the Week
This intrinsic master suite remodel is located in Scripps Ranch, California. The bathroom designed followed a contemporary style. The StarMark maple ridgeville caramel chocolate vanity pairs well with the gorgeous granite countertop and backsplash. Also, the amazing biscuit soaking tub is designed to sit side by side with a beautiful walk-in shower. The existing travertine floor is integrated beautifully into the design that it makes it seem like they are brand new. Overall, this splendid bathroom remodel showcases what we can turn any bathroom to a dream oasis.
This L-shaped style kitchen with an island is located in Scripps Ranch, California. The kitchen was designed with a modern theme. The kitchen features marshmallow cream colored StarMark cabinets with a bronze glaze. The StarMark cabinets are made from maple wood and they compliment the quartz countertops nicely. Also, the cabinets have a bit in variation such as the clear glass panel doors and the amazing area for the homeowners to store their wine collection. The 4"x4" travertine tile backsplash provides an additional aesthetic appeal to the entire kitchen. Overall, this kitchen was designed to not only update and provide the homeowners with a dream kitchen, but also a place to call the heart of the home. Photos by Scott Basile.

The sealer we use is NEYRA FORCE Sealer . NEYRA FORCE
Sealer is a Premium Alternative to Coal Tar and Asphalt Emulsion.
Neyra Force is a water-based, petroleum resin sealer that outperforms traditional pavement sealers. While providing the benefits of coal tar sealer, it is also environmentally friendly and safe for your employees to apply. Neyra Force is a high performance alternative to both coal tar and asphalt emulsion sealers providing exceptional coverage, durability and color stability.
Technical Information
Neyra Force Marketing Piece
A PREMIUM ALTERNATIVE
A high performance alternative to both coal tar and asphalt emulsion sealers providing exceptional coverage, durability and color stability.
DURABLE & LONG LASTING
Proprietary engineered resin is formulated to create tough and long lasting protection.
PROTECT & BEAUTIFIES
A tight seal forms an impenetrable barrier to protect against the destructive affects of sun, oxidation, water and chemicals, giving pavement a jet black color.
GAS & OIL RESISTANT
Resists damage caused by gasoline, oil jet fuel leaks and spills.
ENVIRONMENTALLY FRIENDLY
A low VOC, non-flammable coating that contains NO coal tar.
COOL WEATHER FORMULA AVAILABLE
Neyra Force is also available in Neyra’s cool weather formula, providing exceptional curing in cooler temperatures down to 40°F.
To learn more, contact Neyra Industries at customerservice@neyra.com or 1-800-543-7077. Or visits their website @ https://neyra.com/products/sealers/neyra-force/
Pavement Sealers
Neyra AE
Neyra Force
GuardTop
Tarconite
PaveShield
SunShield
Jennite
Jennite AE
Additives
Crack Fillers, Primers & Paint
Supplies, Tools & Equipment
Sports Surfacing
Contractor Contractor
Property Manager Property Manager
Road Maintenance Road Maintenance
Architect/Engineer Architect/Engineer
Sport Surfacing Sport Surfacing
Product Catalog Product Catalog
Phone: 1-800-543-7077
Fax: 513-733-3989
customerservice@neyra.com
Corporate Headquarters
10700 Evendale Drive
Cincinnati, OH 45241
Neyra Logo
© 2021 Neyra

This historic home renovation off Music Row in Nashville underwent a full gut and remodel, transforming it from a residential space into a high-end commercial property while preserving its architectural charm. The renovation included refurbished hardwood flooring, blending timeless appeal with durable hardwood flooring solutions that ensure long-lasting performance.
The kitchen remodel features state-of-the-art appliances, modern countertops, custom cabinetry design, and modern kitchen hardware, offering a sleek yet functional layout. The addition of new cabinets and storage solutions maximizes efficiency, making the space ideal for commercial use. Recessed lighting and chandeliers provide elegant illumination throughout, enhancing the interior’s refined aesthetic.
One of the standout features of this renovation is the three-story deck, designed with custom construction and deck building expertise. Built for both leisure and functionality, the custom deck seamlessly integrates an elevator, providing accessibility and convenience for guests and employees. The architectural planning ensured that the outdoor space remains both practical and visually striking.
As Nashville general contractors specializing in luxury renovations, commercial and residential remodeling, and design-build projects, we focus on custom millwork, eco-friendly renovations, and high-end homes. Whether modernizing historic homes or crafting custom construction solutions, our work reflects superior craftsmanship, innovative design, and a commitment to excellence.

Sponsored
Delaware, OH
Buckeye Basements, Inc.
Central Ohio's Basement Finishing ExpertsBest Of Houzz '13-'21

This historic home renovation off Music Row in Nashville underwent a full gut and remodel, transforming it from a residential space into a high-end commercial property while preserving its architectural charm. The renovation included refurbished hardwood flooring, blending timeless appeal with durable hardwood flooring solutions that ensure long-lasting performance.
The kitchen remodel features state-of-the-art appliances, modern countertops, custom cabinetry design, and modern kitchen hardware, offering a sleek yet functional layout. The addition of new cabinets and storage solutions maximizes efficiency, making the space ideal for commercial use. Recessed lighting and chandeliers provide elegant illumination throughout, enhancing the interior’s refined aesthetic.
One of the standout features of this renovation is the three-story deck, designed with custom construction and deck building expertise. Built for both leisure and functionality, the custom deck seamlessly integrates an elevator, providing accessibility and convenience for guests and employees. The architectural planning ensured that the outdoor space remains both practical and visually striking.
As Nashville general contractors specializing in luxury renovations, commercial and residential remodeling, and design-build projects, we focus on custom millwork, eco-friendly renovations, and high-end homes. Whether modernizing historic homes or crafting custom construction solutions, our work reflects superior craftsmanship, innovative design, and a commitment to excellence.

We are very excited to share this project with you! As you probably know, Reborn Cabinets constantly strives to manufacture the best kitchen and bathroom cabinets and Signature Refacing products! But above and beyond that, our real focus is to provide “The Ultimate Remodeling Experience!” In-line with this vision, we partnered with Wellborn Cabinets a little over a year ago, and we are thrilled with the quality and variety that Wellborn has opened-up for our clients!
This kitchen began with cabinets that were over 30 years old, and that had been painted over many, many times. While Reborn Cabinets can reface most cabinets surfaces, sometimes the cabinetry is just too old to reface and achieve the look our client is looking for and deserves. This is a perfect opportunity for our Reborn Designers to introduce our clients to Wellborn!
The Wellborn family has owned and operated Wellborn Cabinet, Inc. since 1961. Their goal is to provide kitchen and bath cabinets crafted by dedicated Wellborn employees with the utmost quality and care…see? It’s a great culture fit for Reborn Cabinets, and a reliable product to offer our clients who are interested in replacing their cabinets, while keeping their existing layout!
As you can see, new cabinets (maple with a sienna finish), new counters (Stilestone quartz, Lena color), and a new sink (Blanco) is a dramatic change!
6

