Search results for "St m provide" in Home Design Ideas

Georgia Coast Design & Construction - Southern Living Custom Builder Showcase Home at St. Simons Island, GA
Built on a one-acre, lakefront lot on the north end of St. Simons Island, the Southern Living Custom Builder Showcase Home is characterized as Old World European featuring exterior finishes of Mosstown brick and Old World stucco, Weathered Wood colored designer shingles, cypress beam accents and a handcrafted Mahogany door.
Inside the three-bedroom, 2,400-square-foot showcase home, Old World rustic and modern European style blend with high craftsmanship to create a sense of timeless quality, stability, and tranquility. Behind the scenes, energy efficient technologies combine with low maintenance materials to create a home that is economical to maintain for years to come. The home's open floor plan offers a dining room/kitchen/great room combination with an easy flow for entertaining or family interaction. The interior features arched doorways, textured walls and distressed hickory floors.

Stuart Wade, Envision Virtual Tours
The second-largest and most developed of Georgia's barrier islands, St. Simons is approximately twelve miles long and nearly three miles wide at its widest stretch (roughly the size of Manhattan Island in New York). The island is located in Glynn County on Georgia's coast and lies east of Brunswick (the seat of Glynn County), south of Little St. Simons Island and the Hampton River, and north of Jekyll Island. The resort community of Sea Island is separated from St. Simons on the east by the Black Banks River. Known for its oak tree canopies and historic landmarks, St. Simons is both a tourist destination and, according to the 2010 U.S. census, home to 12,743 residents.
Early History
The earliest
St. Simons Island Village
record of human habitation on the island dates to the Late Archaic Period, about 5,000 to 3,000 years ago. Remnants of shell rings left behind by Native Americans from this era survive on many of the barrier islands, including St. Simons. Centuries later, during the period known by historians as the chiefdom era, the Guale Indians established a chiefdom centered on St. Catherines Island and used St. Simons as their hunting and fishing grounds. By 1500 the Guale had established a permanent village of about 200 people on St. Simons, which they called Guadalquini.
Beginning in 1568, the Spanish attempted to create missions along the Georgia coast. Catholic missions were the primary means by which Georgia's indigenous Native American chiefdoms were assimilated into the Spanish colonial system along the northern frontier of greater Spanish Florida. In the 1600s St. Simons became home to two Spanish missions: San Buenaventura de Guadalquini, on the southern tip of the island, and Santo Domingo de Asao (or Asajo), on the northern tip. Located on the inland side of the island were the pagan refugee villages of San Simón, the island's namesake, and Ocotonico. In 1684 pirate raids left the missions and villages largely abandoned.
Colonial History
As
Fort Frederica
early as 1670, with Great Britain's establishment of the colony of Carolina and its expansion into Georgia territory, Spanish rule was threatened by the English. The Georgia coast was considered "debatable land" by England and Spain, even though Spain had fully retreated from St. Simons by 1702. Thirty-one years later General James Edward Oglethorpe founded the English settlement of Savannah. In 1736 he established Fort Frederica, named after the heir to the British throne, Frederick Louis, prince of Wales, on the west side of St. Simons Island to protect Savannah and the Carolinas from the Spanish threat.
Between 1736 and 1749 Fort Frederica was the hub of British military operations along the Georgia frontier. A town of the same name grew up around the fort and was of great importance to the new colony. By 1740 Frederica's population was 1,000. In 1736 the congregation of what would become Christ Church was organized within Fort Frederica as a mission of the Church of England. Charles Wesley led the first services. In 1742 Britain's decisive victory over Spain in the Battle of Bloody Marsh, during the War of Jenkins' Ear, ended the Spanish threat to the Georgia coast. When the British regimen disbanded in 1749, most of the townspeople relocated to the mainland. Fort Frederica went into decline and, except for a short time of prosperity during the 1760s and 1770s under the leadership of merchant James Spalding, never fully recovered. Today the historic citadel's tabby ruins are maintained by the National Park Service.
Plantation Era
By the start of the American Revolution (1775-83), Fort Frederica was obsolete, and St. Simons was left largely uninhabited as most of its residents joined the patriot army. Besides hosting a small Georgia naval victory on the Fort Frederica River, providing guns from its famous fort for use at Fort Morris in Sunbury, and serving as an arena for pillaging by privateers and British soldiers, the island played almost no role in the war.
Following the war, many of the townspeople, their businesses destroyed, turned to agriculture. The island was transformed into fourteen cotton plantations after acres of live oak trees were cleared for farm land and used for building American warships, including the famous USS Constitution, or "Old Ironsides." Although rice was the predominant crop along the neighboring Altamaha River, St. Simons was known for its production of long-staple cotton, which soon came to be known as Sea Island cotton.
Between
Ebos Landing
the 1780s and the outbreak of the Civil War (1861-65), St. Simons's plantation culture flourished. The saline atmosphere and the availability of cheap slave labor proved an ideal combination for the cultivation of Sea Island cotton. In 1803 a group of Ebo slaves who survived the Middle Passage and arrived on the west side of St. Simons staged a rebellion and drowned themselves. The sacred site is known today as Ebos Landing.
One of the largest owners of land and slaves on St. Simons was Pierce Butler, master of Hampton Point Plantation, located on the northern end of the island. By 1793 Butler owned more than 500 slaves, who cultivated 800 acres of cotton on St. Simons and 300 acres of rice on Butler's Island in the Altamaha River delta. Butler's grandson, Pierce Mease Butler, who at the age of sixteen inherited a share of his grandfather's estate in 1826, was responsible for the largest sale of human beings in the history of the United States: in 1859, to restore his squandered fortune, he sold 429 slaves in Savannah for more than $300,000. The British actress and writer Fanny Kemble, whose tumultuous marriage to Pierce ended in divorce in 1849, published an eyewitness account of the evils of slavery on St. Simons in her book Journal of a Residence on a Georgian Plantation in 1838-1839 (1863).
Another
Retreat Plantation
large owner of land and slaves on St. Simons was Major William Page, a friend and employee of Pierce Butler Sr. Before purchasing Retreat Plantation on the southwestern tip of the island in 1804, Page managed the Hampton plantation and Butler's Island. Upon Page's death in 1827, Thomas Butler King inherited the land together with his wife, Page's daughter, Anna Matilda Page King. King expanded his father-in-law's planting empire on St. Simons as well as on the mainland, and by 1835 Retreat Plantation alone was home to as many as 355 slaves.
The center of life during the island's plantation era was Christ Church, Frederica. Organized in 1807 by a group of island planters, the Episcopal church is the second oldest in the Diocese of Georgia. Embargoes imposed by the War of 1812 (1812-15) prevented the parishioners from building a church structure, so they worshiped in the home of John Beck, which stood on the site of Oglethorpe's only St. Simons residence, Orange Hall.
The first Christ Church building, finished on the present site in 1820, was ruined by occupying Union troops during the Civil War. In 1884 the Reverend Anson Dodge Jr. rebuilt the church as a memorial to his first wife, Ellen. The cruciform building with a trussed gothic roof and stained-glass windows remains active today as Christ Church.
Civil War and Beyond
The
St. Simons Island Lighthouse
outbreak of the Civil War in 1861 put a sudden end to St. Simons's lucrative plantation era. In January of that year, Confederate troops were stationed at the south end of the island to guard the entrance to Brunswick Harbor. Slaves from Retreat Plantation, owned by Thomas Butler King, built earthworks and batteries. Plantation residents were scattered—the men joined the Confederate army and their families moved to the mainland. Cannon fire was heard on the island in December 1861, and Confederate troops retreated in February 1862, after dynamiting the lighthouse to keep its beacon from aiding Union troops. Soon thereafter, Union troops occupied the island, which was used as a camp for freed slaves. By August 1862 more than 500 former slaves lived on St. Simons, including Susie King Taylor, who organized a school for freed slave children. But in November the ex-slaves were taken to Hilton Head, South Carolina, and Fernandina, Florida, leaving the island abandoned.
After the Civil War the island never returned to its status as an agricultural community. The plantations lay dormant because there were no slaves to work the fields. After Union general William T. Sherman's January 1865 Special Field Order No. 15 —a demand that former plantations be divided and distributed to former slaves—was overturned by U.S. president Andrew Johnson less than a year later, freedmen and women were forced to work as sharecroppers on the small farms that dotted the land previously occupied by the sprawling plantations.
By
St. Simons Lumber Mills
1870 real economic recovery began with the reestablishment of the timber industry. Norman Dodge and Titus G. Meigs of New York set up lumber mill operations at Gascoigne Bluff, formerly Hamilton Plantation. The lumber mills provided welcome employment for both blacks and whites and also provided mail and passenger boats to the mainland. Such water traffic, together with the construction of a new lighthouse in 1872, designed by architect Charles B. Cluskey, marked the beginning of St. Simons's tourism industry. The keeper of the lighthouse created a small amusement park, which drew many visitors, as did the seemingly miraculous light that traveled from the top of the lighthouse tower to the bottom. The island became a summer retreat for families from the mainland, particularly from Baxley, Brunswick, and Waycross.
The island's resort industry was thriving by the 1880s. Beachfront structures, such as a new pier and grand hotel, were built on the southeastern end of the island and could be accessed by ferry. Around this time wealthy northerners began vacationing on the island.
Twentieth Century
The
St. Simons Island Pier and Village
opening in 1924 of the Brunswick–St. Simons Highway, today known as the Torras Causeway, was a milestone in the development of resorts in the area. St. Simons's beaches were now easily accessible to locals and tourists alike. More than 5,000 automobiles took the short drive from Brunswick to St. Simons via the causeway on its opening day, paving the way for convenient residential and resort development.
In 1926 automotive pioneer Howard Coffin of Detroit, Michigan, bought large tracts of land on St. Simons, including the former Retreat Plantation, and constructed a golf course, yacht club, paved roads, and a residential subdivision. Although the causeway had brought large numbers of summer people to the island, St. Simons remained a small community with only a few hundred permanent residents until the 1940s.
The
St. Simons Island
outbreak of World War II (1941-45) brought more visitors and residents to St. Simons. Troops stationed at Jacksonville, Florida; Savannah; and nearby Camp Stewart took weekend vacations on the island, and a new naval air base and radar school became home to even more officers and soldiers. The increased wartime population brought the island its first public school. With a major shipyard for the production of Liberty ships in nearby Brunswick, the waters of St. Simons became active with German U-boats. In April 1942, just off the coast, the Texas Company oil tanker S. S. Oklahoma and the S. S. Esso Baton Rouge were torpedoed by the Germans, bringing the war very close to home for island residents.
Due in large part to the military's improvement of the island's infrastructure during the war, development on the island boomed in the 1950s and 1960s. More permanent homes and subdivisions were built, and the island was no longer just a summer resort but also a thriving community. In 1950 the Methodist conference and retreat center Epworth by the Sea opened on Gascoigne Bluff. In 1961 novelist Eugenia Price visited St. Simons and began work on her first works of fiction, known as the St. Simons Trilogy. Inspired by real events on the island, Price's trilogy renewed interest in the history of Georgia's coast, and the novelist herself relocated to the island in 1965 and lived there for thirty-one years. St. Simons is also home to contemporary Georgia writer Tina McElroy Ansa.
Since
Epworth by the Sea
1980 St. Simons's population has doubled. The island's continued status as a vacation destination and its ongoing development boom have put historic landmarks and natural areas at risk. While such landmarks as the Fort Frederica ruins and the Battle of Bloody Marsh site are preserved and maintained by the National Park Service, and while the historic lighthouse is maintained by the Coastal Georgia Historical Society, historic Ebos Landing has been taken over by a sewage treatment plant.
Several coastal organizations have formed in recent years to save natural areas on the island. The St. Simons Land Trust, for example, has received donations of large tracts of land and plans to protect property in the island's three traditional African American neighborhoods. Despite its rapid growth and development, St. Simons remains one of the most beautiful and important islands on the Georgia coast.

Without leaving the comfort of their home, our clients are able to relax and enjoy themselves in their own resort-like poolside cabana. This beautiful outdoor living space is located in the backyard of a European style luxury home. Surrounded by a wooded lot and lush landscaping and a stunning pool with a spa, this "dreamscape" is amazing. The cabana was built with natural full thickness stone and a vaulted ceiling complete with a fireplace and television. The ceiling is lined in cedar a holds two outdoor fans. The eyebrow arch widow above the front opening adds great interest and character. All outdoor furnishings were provided by our design teams that are comfortable as well as gorgeous. This space is open to a beautiful pool surrounded by gardens and many other amenities providing great oasis for family & friends to gather.
Find the right local pro for your project

Stuart Wade, Envision Virtual Tours
The second-largest and most developed of Georgia's barrier islands, St. Simons is approximately twelve miles long and nearly three miles wide at its widest stretch (roughly the size of Manhattan Island in New York). The island is located in Glynn County on Georgia's coast and lies east of Brunswick (the seat of Glynn County), south of Little St. Simons Island and the Hampton River, and north of Jekyll Island. The resort community of Sea Island is separated from St. Simons on the east by the Black Banks River. Known for its oak tree canopies and historic landmarks, St. Simons is both a tourist destination and, according to the 2010 U.S. census, home to 12,743 residents.
Early History
The earliest
St. Simons Island Village
record of human habitation on the island dates to the Late Archaic Period, about 5,000 to 3,000 years ago. Remnants of shell rings left behind by Native Americans from this era survive on many of the barrier islands, including St. Simons. Centuries later, during the period known by historians as the chiefdom era, the Guale Indians established a chiefdom centered on St. Catherines Island and used St. Simons as their hunting and fishing grounds. By 1500 the Guale had established a permanent village of about 200 people on St. Simons, which they called Guadalquini.
Beginning in 1568, the Spanish attempted to create missions along the Georgia coast. Catholic missions were the primary means by which Georgia's indigenous Native American chiefdoms were assimilated into the Spanish colonial system along the northern frontier of greater Spanish Florida. In the 1600s St. Simons became home to two Spanish missions: San Buenaventura de Guadalquini, on the southern tip of the island, and Santo Domingo de Asao (or Asajo), on the northern tip. Located on the inland side of the island were the pagan refugee villages of San Simón, the island's namesake, and Ocotonico. In 1684 pirate raids left the missions and villages largely abandoned.
Colonial History
As
Fort Frederica
early as 1670, with Great Britain's establishment of the colony of Carolina and its expansion into Georgia territory, Spanish rule was threatened by the English. The Georgia coast was considered "debatable land" by England and Spain, even though Spain had fully retreated from St. Simons by 1702. Thirty-one years later General James Edward Oglethorpe founded the English settlement of Savannah. In 1736 he established Fort Frederica, named after the heir to the British throne, Frederick Louis, prince of Wales, on the west side of St. Simons Island to protect Savannah and the Carolinas from the Spanish threat.
Between 1736 and 1749 Fort Frederica was the hub of British military operations along the Georgia frontier. A town of the same name grew up around the fort and was of great importance to the new colony. By 1740 Frederica's population was 1,000. In 1736 the congregation of what would become Christ Church was organized within Fort Frederica as a mission of the Church of England. Charles Wesley led the first services. In 1742 Britain's decisive victory over Spain in the Battle of Bloody Marsh, during the War of Jenkins' Ear, ended the Spanish threat to the Georgia coast. When the British regimen disbanded in 1749, most of the townspeople relocated to the mainland. Fort Frederica went into decline and, except for a short time of prosperity during the 1760s and 1770s under the leadership of merchant James Spalding, never fully recovered. Today the historic citadel's tabby ruins are maintained by the National Park Service.
Plantation Era
By the start of the American Revolution (1775-83), Fort Frederica was obsolete, and St. Simons was left largely uninhabited as most of its residents joined the patriot army. Besides hosting a small Georgia naval victory on the Fort Frederica River, providing guns from its famous fort for use at Fort Morris in Sunbury, and serving as an arena for pillaging by privateers and British soldiers, the island played almost no role in the war.
Following the war, many of the townspeople, their businesses destroyed, turned to agriculture. The island was transformed into fourteen cotton plantations after acres of live oak trees were cleared for farm land and used for building American warships, including the famous USS Constitution, or "Old Ironsides." Although rice was the predominant crop along the neighboring Altamaha River, St. Simons was known for its production of long-staple cotton, which soon came to be known as Sea Island cotton.
Between
Ebos Landing
the 1780s and the outbreak of the Civil War (1861-65), St. Simons's plantation culture flourished. The saline atmosphere and the availability of cheap slave labor proved an ideal combination for the cultivation of Sea Island cotton. In 1803 a group of Ebo slaves who survived the Middle Passage and arrived on the west side of St. Simons staged a rebellion and drowned themselves. The sacred site is known today as Ebos Landing.
One of the largest owners of land and slaves on St. Simons was Pierce Butler, master of Hampton Point Plantation, located on the northern end of the island. By 1793 Butler owned more than 500 slaves, who cultivated 800 acres of cotton on St. Simons and 300 acres of rice on Butler's Island in the Altamaha River delta. Butler's grandson, Pierce Mease Butler, who at the age of sixteen inherited a share of his grandfather's estate in 1826, was responsible for the largest sale of human beings in the history of the United States: in 1859, to restore his squandered fortune, he sold 429 slaves in Savannah for more than $300,000. The British actress and writer Fanny Kemble, whose tumultuous marriage to Pierce ended in divorce in 1849, published an eyewitness account of the evils of slavery on St. Simons in her book Journal of a Residence on a Georgian Plantation in 1838-1839 (1863).
Another
Retreat Plantation
large owner of land and slaves on St. Simons was Major William Page, a friend and employee of Pierce Butler Sr. Before purchasing Retreat Plantation on the southwestern tip of the island in 1804, Page managed the Hampton plantation and Butler's Island. Upon Page's death in 1827, Thomas Butler King inherited the land together with his wife, Page's daughter, Anna Matilda Page King. King expanded his father-in-law's planting empire on St. Simons as well as on the mainland, and by 1835 Retreat Plantation alone was home to as many as 355 slaves.
The center of life during the island's plantation era was Christ Church, Frederica. Organized in 1807 by a group of island planters, the Episcopal church is the second oldest in the Diocese of Georgia. Embargoes imposed by the War of 1812 (1812-15) prevented the parishioners from building a church structure, so they worshiped in the home of John Beck, which stood on the site of Oglethorpe's only St. Simons residence, Orange Hall.
The first Christ Church building, finished on the present site in 1820, was ruined by occupying Union troops during the Civil War. In 1884 the Reverend Anson Dodge Jr. rebuilt the church as a memorial to his first wife, Ellen. The cruciform building with a trussed gothic roof and stained-glass windows remains active today as Christ Church.
Civil War and Beyond
The
St. Simons Island Lighthouse
outbreak of the Civil War in 1861 put a sudden end to St. Simons's lucrative plantation era. In January of that year, Confederate troops were stationed at the south end of the island to guard the entrance to Brunswick Harbor. Slaves from Retreat Plantation, owned by Thomas Butler King, built earthworks and batteries. Plantation residents were scattered—the men joined the Confederate army and their families moved to the mainland. Cannon fire was heard on the island in December 1861, and Confederate troops retreated in February 1862, after dynamiting the lighthouse to keep its beacon from aiding Union troops. Soon thereafter, Union troops occupied the island, which was used as a camp for freed slaves. By August 1862 more than 500 former slaves lived on St. Simons, including Susie King Taylor, who organized a school for freed slave children. But in November the ex-slaves were taken to Hilton Head, South Carolina, and Fernandina, Florida, leaving the island abandoned.
After the Civil War the island never returned to its status as an agricultural community. The plantations lay dormant because there were no slaves to work the fields. After Union general William T. Sherman's January 1865 Special Field Order No. 15 —a demand that former plantations be divided and distributed to former slaves—was overturned by U.S. president Andrew Johnson less than a year later, freedmen and women were forced to work as sharecroppers on the small farms that dotted the land previously occupied by the sprawling plantations.
By
St. Simons Lumber Mills
1870 real economic recovery began with the reestablishment of the timber industry. Norman Dodge and Titus G. Meigs of New York set up lumber mill operations at Gascoigne Bluff, formerly Hamilton Plantation. The lumber mills provided welcome employment for both blacks and whites and also provided mail and passenger boats to the mainland. Such water traffic, together with the construction of a new lighthouse in 1872, designed by architect Charles B. Cluskey, marked the beginning of St. Simons's tourism industry. The keeper of the lighthouse created a small amusement park, which drew many visitors, as did the seemingly miraculous light that traveled from the top of the lighthouse tower to the bottom. The island became a summer retreat for families from the mainland, particularly from Baxley, Brunswick, and Waycross.
The island's resort industry was thriving by the 1880s. Beachfront structures, such as a new pier and grand hotel, were built on the southeastern end of the island and could be accessed by ferry. Around this time wealthy northerners began vacationing on the island.
Twentieth Century
The
St. Simons Island Pier and Village
opening in 1924 of the Brunswick–St. Simons Highway, today known as the Torras Causeway, was a milestone in the development of resorts in the area. St. Simons's beaches were now easily accessible to locals and tourists alike. More than 5,000 automobiles took the short drive from Brunswick to St. Simons via the causeway on its opening day, paving the way for convenient residential and resort development.
In 1926 automotive pioneer Howard Coffin of Detroit, Michigan, bought large tracts of land on St. Simons, including the former Retreat Plantation, and constructed a golf course, yacht club, paved roads, and a residential subdivision. Although the causeway had brought large numbers of summer people to the island, St. Simons remained a small community with only a few hundred permanent residents until the 1940s.
The
St. Simons Island
outbreak of World War II (1941-45) brought more visitors and residents to St. Simons. Troops stationed at Jacksonville, Florida; Savannah; and nearby Camp Stewart took weekend vacations on the island, and a new naval air base and radar school became home to even more officers and soldiers. The increased wartime population brought the island its first public school. With a major shipyard for the production of Liberty ships in nearby Brunswick, the waters of St. Simons became active with German U-boats. In April 1942, just off the coast, the Texas Company oil tanker S. S. Oklahoma and the S. S. Esso Baton Rouge were torpedoed by the Germans, bringing the war very close to home for island residents.
Due in large part to the military's improvement of the island's infrastructure during the war, development on the island boomed in the 1950s and 1960s. More permanent homes and subdivisions were built, and the island was no longer just a summer resort but also a thriving community. In 1950 the Methodist conference and retreat center Epworth by the Sea opened on Gascoigne Bluff. In 1961 novelist Eugenia Price visited St. Simons and began work on her first works of fiction, known as the St. Simons Trilogy. Inspired by real events on the island, Price's trilogy renewed interest in the history of Georgia's coast, and the novelist herself relocated to the island in 1965 and lived there for thirty-one years. St. Simons is also home to contemporary Georgia writer Tina McElroy Ansa.
Since
Epworth by the Sea
1980 St. Simons's population has doubled. The island's continued status as a vacation destination and its ongoing development boom have put historic landmarks and natural areas at risk. While such landmarks as the Fort Frederica ruins and the Battle of Bloody Marsh site are preserved and maintained by the National Park Service, and while the historic lighthouse is maintained by the Coastal Georgia Historical Society, historic Ebos Landing has been taken over by a sewage treatment plant.
Several coastal organizations have formed in recent years to save natural areas on the island. The St. Simons Land Trust, for example, has received donations of large tracts of land and plans to protect property in the island's three traditional African American neighborhoods. Despite its rapid growth and development, St. Simons remains one of the most beautiful and important islands on the Georgia coast.

Russell Hirshon Photography
Ann Kenkel Interiors
beach home blue chesapeake coastal home family room great room green xsunroom living room luxury living room luxury coastal living room Coastal Estate in St. Michael's Maryland on the Chesapeake Bay. House was designed after the original 1770's house on the property. Home was designed to be a formal house but was now being used as a weekend retreat. Ann Kenkel had to decorate the house in a manner which was coastal enough so owner's felt like they were on vacation yet formal enough for the style of the house.
AK found the house filled with wallpaper from the 1980's. Wallpaper from every room was removed and all trim had to be painted a neutral color.
The formal dining room only had one entry. AK opened up a second entry into the dining room which provided a view of the Chesapeake Bay.
Keywords: coastal estate, bay estate, luxury estate on Chesapeake Bay, St. Michael's home, best designer in St. Michael's, best coastal designer, best Chesapeake bay designer, window treatments, window treatments for over transom windows, chenille sofas, silk pillows, TV over fireplace, blue and yellow bedroom, coral and beige bedroom, british plantation style, blue toile bedroom, blue and green bedroom, coral dining room, red dining room, hand planed table, neutral living room, neutral sunroom, blue and green kitchen, blue family room, cherry paneled library, Ralph Lauren leather chairs, yellow chinoiserie wallpaper, shell mirror, tole lamps, gated drive, pea gravel drive, circular drive, piano, zebra fabric, trim on pillows, trim on draperies, panels and valances, georgian house, sunburst mirror, glass coffee table, star lamps, red and yellow toile draperies, ivory painted chairs, white painted chairs, nautical accessories, coastal coral bedroom, coastal blue bedroom, coastal yellow bedroom, blue and green toile bedroom, stables, paddock, outdoor stainless kitchen, dock, tan draperies, neutral chenille sofas, blue sofas, blue chairs with white frame, needlepoint rug, shell plates, bamboo silverware, white bedroom furniture, dark wood bedroom furniture, plaid chairs, wilton carpet, bright sunroom, chairs and ottomans, regency valance, scarf swags, swags, red leopard pillows, toile bedding, game table, game table chairs on coaster, shells, hydrangeas, shell lamp, sailboat art, sailboat paintings, cane headboard, 4 poster bed.

With an ideal location in the Pacific Heights neighborhood of San Francisco, this dated Victorian residence had "beautiful bones" but had been sitting on the market for a year before being purchased with plans to revitalize the interior. Interior designer, Noel Han, explained, "Historical Victorian homes in this area often have beautiful architectural elements that I aim to preserve, but the floor plan and layout tend to be stuffy, not live-able and not light filled. Modern families want bright, light-filled, spacious rooms that take advantage of outdoor views and living spaces, and function well for storage, meals and entertaining."
Preserving the architectural integrity and special features of the home was one of Han's goals but at the same time, she re-designed the space, moving walls and adding windows to create an open floorplan that flowed easily between the kitchen and outdoor living spaces. Where the range once stood in the original design, now an entire wall of windows provides panoramic views of the outdoors and fills the kitchen with light. Below the windows, Han designed a long bank of base cabinets with drawers to provide plenty of storage and work surface. Light now pours into the space even on foggy days. The range was moved to the opposite wall so that beautiful window views could be added to the kitchen.
Han selected a palette of finishes with an eye toward creating a "soft color aesthetic". "White painted finishes are very popular right now but would have felt stark and cold in this space," she explained. "The French grey paint from Dura Supreme was a perfect complement for this vintage Victorian home, to create a classic color scheme".
"This beautiful home already had hardware elements with a vintage brass finish, so I carefully selected antiqued, brushed brass hardware, plumbing and metal finishes to blend with the original elements," said Han. She continued, "The La Cornue French Range adds modern function with a French antique look."
"I appreciate working with Dura Supreme cabinetry because of the quality of the cabinetry, fast delivery and the custom options. I'm able to create beautiful architectural details like the pull-out columns on both sides of the range and the curved mullion doors on the furniture hutch, and they offer a stunning palette of finishes and styles," explained Han. For the bath cabinetry, Han created a similar palette of finishes and styles to create a complementary look throughout the entire home.
Product Details:
Perimeter: Dura Supreme Cabinetry shown in the St. Augustine door style and Mullion Pattern #15 door style with a “Zinc” painted finish.
Kitchen Island: Dura Supreme Cabinetry shown in the St. Augustine door style with a Clove stain and Black Accent finish on Cherry wood.
For more information about Noel Han, Interior Designer, click to her website here www.atelnoel.com.
For more information about Gilmans Kitchens and Baths, click to their website here www.gkandb.com.
Photography by: Ned Bonzi www.nedbonzi.com.
Request a FREE Dura Supreme Brochure Packet:
http://www.durasupreme.com/request-brochure

Photo Credit: Annie M Design
Inspiration for a cottage dark wood floor eat-in kitchen remodel in Other with a farmhouse sink, shaker cabinets, white cabinets and an island
Inspiration for a cottage dark wood floor eat-in kitchen remodel in Other with a farmhouse sink, shaker cabinets, white cabinets and an island

Sponsored
Delaware, OH
Buckeye Basements, Inc.
Central Ohio's Basement Finishing ExpertsBest Of Houzz '13-'21

Ann Kenkel Interiors
Russell Hirshon Photography
Guest Bedroom in 10,000 sq. ft Manor House in St. Michael's Maryland on the Chesapeake Bay.Coastal Estate in St. Michael's Maryland on the Chesapeake Bay. House was designed after the original 1770's house on the property. Home was designed to be a formal house but was now being used as a weekend retreat. Ann Kenkel had to decorate the house in a manner which was coastal enough so owner's felt like they were on vacation yet formal enough for the style of the house.
AK found the house filled with wallpaper from the 1980's. Wallpaper from every room was removed and all trim had to be painted a neutral color.
The formal dining room only had one entry. AK opened up a second entry into the dining room which provided a view of the Chesapeake Bay.
Keywords: coastal estate, bay estate, luxury estate on Chesapeake Bay, St. Michael's home, best designer in St. Michael's, best coastal designer, best Chesapeake bay designer, window treatments, window treatments for over transom windows, chenille sofas, silk pillows, TV over fireplace, blue and yellow bedroom, coral and beige bedroom, british plantation style, blue toile bedroom, blue and green bedroom, coral dining room, red dining room, hand planed table, neutral living room, neutral sunroom, blue and green kitchen, blue family room, cherry paneled library, Ralph Lauren leather chairs, yellow chinoiserie wallpaper, shell mirror, tole lamps, gated drive, pea gravel drive, circular drive, piano, zebra fabric, trim on pillows, trim on draperies, panels and valances, georgian house, sunburst mirror, glass coffee table, star lamps, red and yellow toile draperies, ivory painted chairs, white painted chairs, nautical accessories, coastal coral bedroom, coastal blue bedroom, coastal yellow bedroom, blue and green toile bedroom, stables, paddock, outdoor stainless kitchen, dock, tan draperies, neutral chenille sofas, blue sofas, blue chairs with white frame, needlepoint rug, shell plates, bamboo silverware, white bedroom furniture, dark wood bedroom furniture, plaid chairs, wilton carpet, bright sunroom, chairs and ottomans, regency valance, scarf swags, swags, red leopard pillows, toile bedding, game table, game table chairs on coaster, shells, hydrangeas, shell lamp, sailboat art, sailboat paintings, cane headboard, 4 poster bed.Coastal Estate in St. Michael's Maryland on the Chesapeake Bay. House was designed after the original 1770's house on the property. Home was designed to be a formal house but was now being used as a weekend retreat. Ann Kenkel had to decorate the house in a manner which was coastal enough so owner's felt like they were on vacation yet formal enough for the style of the house.
AK found the house filled with wallpaper from the 1980's. Wallpaper from every room was removed and all trim had to be painted a neutral color.
The formal dining room only had one entry. AK opened up a second entry into the dining room which provided a view of the Chesapeake Bay.
Keywords: coastal estate, bay estate, luxury estate on Chesapeake Bay, St. Michael's home, best designer in St. Michael's, best coastal designer, best Chesapeake bay designer, window treatments, window treatments for over transom windows, chenille sofas, silk pillows, TV over fireplace, blue and yellow bedroom, coral and beige bedroom, british plantation style, blue toile bedroom, blue and green bedroom, coral dining room, red dining room, hand planed table, neutral living room, neutral sunroom, blue and green kitchen, blue family room, cherry paneled library, Ralph Lauren leather chairs, yellow chinoiserie wallpaper, shell mirror, tole lamps, gated drive, pea gravel drive, circular drive, piano, zebra fabric, trim on pillows, trim on draperies, panels and valances, georgian house, sunburst mirror, glass coffee table, star lamps, red and yellow toile draperies, ivory painted chairs, white painted chairs, nautical accessories, coastal coral bedroom, coastal blue bedroom, coastal yellow bedroom, blue and green toile bedroom, stables, paddock, outdoor stainless kitchen, dock, tan draperies, neutral chenille sofas, blue sofas, blue chairs with white frame, needlepoint rug, shell plates, bamboo silverware, white bedroom furniture, dark wood bedroom furniture, plaid chairs, wilton carpet, bright sunroom, chairs and ottomans, regency valance, scarf swags, swags, red leopard pillows, toile bedding, game table, game table chairs on coaster, shells, hydrangeas, shell lamp, sailboat art, sailboat paintings, cane headboard, 4 poster bed.

This is the first of three sets of bunks along the 34' wall in the 700 sq. ft. bunk room at Deja View Villa, a Caribbean vacation rental in St. John USVI. This section features a king bed on the bottom with shelves on both sides and a twin XL on the top. Each bunk has it's own lamps, plugs with usb's, a miniature fan and a beach picture with led lighting. A 6" wide full bed length granite shelf is on the side of each twin xl bed between the mattress and the wall to provide a wider, more spacious bunk! With the ceilings being 11' 3" tall, the bunks were custom built extra tall to ensure all guests, no matter what their height, can sit comfortably. The walls and ceilings are white painted tongue and groove cypress. Each of the six bunks have individual beach pictures and hand painted bunk signs to make ever guest feel special! The custom orange curtains provide privacy and the cable railing safety for the top bunks. This massive wall of bunks was made in Texas, trucked to Florida and shipped to the Caribbean for install.
www.dejaviewvilla.com
Steve Simonsen Photography

This stunning custom home in Clarksburg, MD serves as both Home and Corporate Office for Ambition Custom Homes. Nestled on 5 acres in Clarksburg, Maryland, this new home features unique privacy and beautiful year round views of Little Bennett Regional Park. This spectacular, true Modern Farmhouse features large windows, natural stone and rough hewn beams throughout.
Special features of this 10,000+ square foot home include an open floorplan on the first floor; a first floor Master Suite with Balcony and His/Hers Walk-in Closets and Spa Bath; a spacious gourmet kitchen with oversized butler pantry and large banquette eat in breakfast area; a large four-season screened-in porch which connects to an outdoor BBQ & Outdoor Kitchen area. The Lower Level boasts a separate entrance, reception area and offices for Ambition Custom Homes; and for the family provides ample room for entertaining, exercise and family activities including a game room, pottery room and sauna. The Second Floor Level has three en-suite Bedrooms with views overlooking the 1st Floor. Ample storage, a 4-Car Garage and separate Bike Storage & Work room complete the unique features of this custom home.

Photo by Jody Dole
This was a fast-track design-build project which began design in July and ended construction before Christmas. The scope included additions and first and second floor renovations. The house is an early 1900’s gambrel style with painted wood shingle siding and mission style detailing. On the first and second floor we removed previously constructed awkward additions and extended the gambrel style roof to make room for a large kitchen on the first floor and a master bathroom and bedroom on the second floor. We also added two new dormers to match the existing dormers to bring light into the master shower and new bedroom. We refinished the wood floors, repainted all of the walls and trim, added new vintage style light fixtures, and created a new half and kid’s bath. We also added new millwork features to continue the existing level of detail and texture within the house. A wrap-around covered porch with a corner trellis was also added, which provides a perfect opportunity to enjoy the back-yard. A wonderful project!

With adjacent neighbors within a fairly dense section of Paradise Valley, Arizona, C.P. Drewett sought to provide a tranquil retreat for a new-to-the-Valley surgeon and his family who were seeking the modernism they loved though had never lived in. With a goal of consuming all possible site lines and views while maintaining autonomy, a portion of the house — including the entry, office, and master bedroom wing — is subterranean. This subterranean nature of the home provides interior grandeur for guests but offers a welcoming and humble approach, fully satisfying the clients requests.
While the lot has an east-west orientation, the home was designed to capture mainly north and south light which is more desirable and soothing. The architecture’s interior loftiness is created with overlapping, undulating planes of plaster, glass, and steel. The woven nature of horizontal planes throughout the living spaces provides an uplifting sense, inviting a symphony of light to enter the space. The more voluminous public spaces are comprised of stone-clad massing elements which convert into a desert pavilion embracing the outdoor spaces. Every room opens to exterior spaces providing a dramatic embrace of home to natural environment.
Grand Award winner for Best Interior Design of a Custom Home
The material palette began with a rich, tonal, large-format Quartzite stone cladding. The stone’s tones gaveforth the rest of the material palette including a champagne-colored metal fascia, a tonal stucco system, and ceilings clad with hemlock, a tight-grained but softer wood that was tonally perfect with the rest of the materials. The interior case goods and wood-wrapped openings further contribute to the tonal harmony of architecture and materials.
Grand Award Winner for Best Indoor Outdoor Lifestyle for a Home This award-winning project was recognized at the 2020 Gold Nugget Awards with two Grand Awards, one for Best Indoor/Outdoor Lifestyle for a Home, and another for Best Interior Design of a One of a Kind or Custom Home.
At the 2020 Design Excellence Awards and Gala presented by ASID AZ North, Ownby Design received five awards for Tonal Harmony. The project was recognized for 1st place – Bathroom; 3rd place – Furniture; 1st place – Kitchen; 1st place – Outdoor Living; and 2nd place – Residence over 6,000 square ft. Congratulations to Claire Ownby, Kalysha Manzo, and the entire Ownby Design team.
Tonal Harmony was also featured on the cover of the July/August 2020 issue of Luxe Interiors + Design and received a 14-page editorial feature entitled “A Place in the Sun” within the magazine.

Lots of seating, lots of storage, and stylish built-ins provide functional elegance to this busy family's active lifestyle. The sandstone fireplace surround replaced with linear marble mosaic, and integrated flat screen, and flush fireplace update the space with timeless materials in a fresh setting.
Jerry Hayes Photography

2222 NE STANTON ST, PORTLAND OR
Our team represented the Seller in the sale of this property.
Staging services provided by Spade & Archer Design Agency.
THE DETAILS
MID-CENTURY MODERN
One-of-a-kind home in the heart of Irvington. NW modern architecture with luxury finishes throughout. The wide open layout is an entertainer's dream. The living room is anchored by a custom fireplace & opens to an outside balcony. The Zen master suite features a spa like bath, great closets & built-ins. Unique modernism meets eco-friendly functionality.
Contact us for more information about this neighborhood and a list of available properties contact us via email at info@danagriggs.com or by visiting our website at www.DanaGriggs.com

With adjacent neighbors within a fairly dense section of Paradise Valley, Arizona, C.P. Drewett sought to provide a tranquil retreat for a new-to-the-Valley surgeon and his family who were seeking the modernism they loved though had never lived in. With a goal of consuming all possible site lines and views while maintaining autonomy, a portion of the house — including the entry, office, and master bedroom wing — is subterranean. This subterranean nature of the home provides interior grandeur for guests but offers a welcoming and humble approach, fully satisfying the clients requests.
While the lot has an east-west orientation, the home was designed to capture mainly north and south light which is more desirable and soothing. The architecture’s interior loftiness is created with overlapping, undulating planes of plaster, glass, and steel. The woven nature of horizontal planes throughout the living spaces provides an uplifting sense, inviting a symphony of light to enter the space. The more voluminous public spaces are comprised of stone-clad massing elements which convert into a desert pavilion embracing the outdoor spaces. Every room opens to exterior spaces providing a dramatic embrace of home to natural environment.
Grand Award winner for Best Interior Design of a Custom Home
The material palette began with a rich, tonal, large-format Quartzite stone cladding. The stone’s tones gaveforth the rest of the material palette including a champagne-colored metal fascia, a tonal stucco system, and ceilings clad with hemlock, a tight-grained but softer wood that was tonally perfect with the rest of the materials. The interior case goods and wood-wrapped openings further contribute to the tonal harmony of architecture and materials.
Grand Award Winner for Best Indoor Outdoor Lifestyle for a Home This award-winning project was recognized at the 2020 Gold Nugget Awards with two Grand Awards, one for Best Indoor/Outdoor Lifestyle for a Home, and another for Best Interior Design of a One of a Kind or Custom Home.
At the 2020 Design Excellence Awards and Gala presented by ASID AZ North, Ownby Design received five awards for Tonal Harmony. The project was recognized for 1st place – Bathroom; 3rd place – Furniture; 1st place – Kitchen; 1st place – Outdoor Living; and 2nd place – Residence over 6,000 square ft. Congratulations to Claire Ownby, Kalysha Manzo, and the entire Ownby Design team.
Tonal Harmony was also featured on the cover of the July/August 2020 issue of Luxe Interiors + Design and received a 14-page editorial feature entitled “A Place in the Sun” within the magazine.

This light and airy kitchen is the definition of elegance. It has white shaker cabinets with satin gold pulls topped with white quartz counters. The matching white quartz backsplash provides a clean look. The center piece of the room is the large island! With seating for four, the deep blue island is loaded with storage and has a drawer microwave. For a special touch on the white quartz counter, we used an extra thick quartz slab. The striking gold pendants are from Ferguson Lighting.
Sleek and contemporary, this beautiful home is located in Villanova, PA. Blue, white and gold are the palette of this transitional design. With custom touches and an emphasis on flow and an open floor plan, the renovation included the kitchen, family room, butler’s pantry, mudroom, two powder rooms and floors.
Rudloff Custom Builders has won Best of Houzz for Customer Service in 2014, 2015 2016, 2017 and 2019. We also were voted Best of Design in 2016, 2017, 2018, 2019 which only 2% of professionals receive. Rudloff Custom Builders has been featured on Houzz in their Kitchen of the Week, What to Know About Using Reclaimed Wood in the Kitchen as well as included in their Bathroom WorkBook article. We are a full service, certified remodeling company that covers all of the Philadelphia suburban area. This business, like most others, developed from a friendship of young entrepreneurs who wanted to make a difference in their clients’ lives, one household at a time. This relationship between partners is much more than a friendship. Edward and Stephen Rudloff are brothers who have renovated and built custom homes together paying close attention to detail. They are carpenters by trade and understand concept and execution. Rudloff Custom Builders will provide services for you with the highest level of professionalism, quality, detail, punctuality and craftsmanship, every step of the way along our journey together.
Specializing in residential construction allows us to connect with our clients early in the design phase to ensure that every detail is captured as you imagined. One stop shopping is essentially what you will receive with Rudloff Custom Builders from design of your project to the construction of your dreams, executed by on-site project managers and skilled craftsmen. Our concept: envision our client’s ideas and make them a reality. Our mission: CREATING LIFETIME RELATIONSHIPS BUILT ON TRUST AND INTEGRITY.
Photo Credit: Linda McManus Images

The grand living room needed large focal pieces, so our design team began by selecting the large iron chandelier to anchor the space. The black iron of the chandelier echoes the black window trim of the two story windows and fills the volume of space nicely. The plain fireplace wall was underwhelming, so our team selected four slabs of premium Calcutta gold marble and butterfly bookmatched the slabs to add a sophisticated focal point. Tall sheer drapes add height and subtle drama to the space. The comfortable sectional sofa and woven side chairs provide the perfect space for relaxing or for entertaining guests. Woven end tables, a woven table lamp, woven baskets and tall olive trees add texture and a casual touch to the space. The expansive sliding glass doors provide indoor/outdoor entertainment and ease of traffic flow when a large number of guests are gathered.

Sponsored
Columbus, OH
Free consultation for landscape design!
Peabody Landscape Group
Franklin County's Reliable Landscape Design & Contracting

Our goal of providing a clean design with great functional lighting was achieved by working with the architect, contractor and interior designer to perfect the details in this bathroom. Inverse coves provide the illusion of daylight coming from above while the mirrors illuminate occupants by lighting above their heads and below their chins for maximum function. Trimless recessed lights in the ceiling add to the rectilinear geometry of the interiors.
Brent Moss - Photographer
David Finholm - Architect
Interior Design - Atelier A.M.
General Contractor - Hansen Construction

Without leaving the comfort of their home, our clients are able to relax and enjoy themselves in their own resort-like poolside cabana. This beautiful outdoor living space is located in the backyard of a European style luxury home. Surrounded by a wooded lot and lush landscaping and a stunning pool with a spa, this "dreamscape" is amazing. The cabana was built with natural full thickness stone and a vaulted ceiling complete with a fireplace and television. The ceiling is lined in cedar a holds two outdoor fans. The eyebrow arch widow above the front opening adds great interest and character. All outdoor furnishings were provided by our design teams that are comfortable as well as gorgeous. This space is open to a beautiful pool surrounded by gardens and many other amenities providing great oasis for family & friends to gather. Photo Credit-Hall of Portraits

The 800 square-foot guest cottage is located on the footprint of a slightly smaller original cottage that was built three generations ago. With a failing structural system, the existing cottage had a very low sloping roof, did not provide for a lot of natural light and was not energy efficient. Utilizing high performing windows, doors and insulation, a total transformation of the structure occurred. A combination of clapboard and shingle siding, with standout touches of modern elegance, welcomes guests to their cozy retreat.
The cottage consists of the main living area, a small galley style kitchen, master bedroom, bathroom and sleeping loft above. The loft construction was a timber frame system utilizing recycled timbers from the Balsams Resort in northern New Hampshire. The stones for the front steps and hearth of the fireplace came from the existing cottage’s granite chimney. Stylistically, the design is a mix of both a “Cottage” style of architecture with some clean and simple “Tech” style features, such as the air-craft cable and metal railing system. The color red was used as a highlight feature, accentuated on the shed dormer window exterior frames, the vintage looking range, the sliding doors and other interior elements.
Photographer: John Hession
1
