Your shopping cart is empty.

Pantry Paralysis

mezzsop
January 10, 2019
Our entire kitchen is being redone. The pantry area somehow got sidelined and now decisions need to be made. I am out of my league. Right now there are two adjoining areas, both 36” wide with a 3/4” wall between ( we have a single wall redwood house). The R side is 24” deep, the L 36”.
The original dream was making it all 3’ deep and having a bit of a walk in, behind doors. The wall between can come out with no problem, but it turns out we cannot extend the R side back to that depth. The openings (see picture) are on a wall that will face one end of a 10x5 island. At a right angle to the R opening is a door to the back of the house. To the L, our main living space.
The specific needs are a coffee bar in the space and a spot for the microwave (very little used). Whatever storage, etc the rest generates is bonus. We have plenty. Can you suggest a layout and door style? I’m at a loss. I’m no designer. We live in rural tropics, if that matters for inspiration.

I would so appreciate ideas. I thought I had someone working on this for me and that now isn’t happening. Miscommunication.

Comments (7)

• mezzsop
    I should have added, the new cabinetry is white shaker style with black granite counters
  • shead

Albeit expensive, what if you had tall pullout pantry cabinets made to fill into this space? They could be different depths to account for your wall variance but visually, no one would ever see the difference.

• acarna

Maybe knock out the wall between the two areas and have "wrap around" shelving built in. (More shallow on the right side for canned goods or smaller/more narrow items, and deeper on the left side for items that need more depth. Double doors that open out, perhaps?

• PRO
    Patricia Colwell Consulting

I would rip out that whole space and get some pullout pantries to fill the space and match your kitchen cabinets.

mezzsop thanked Patricia Colwell Consulting
  • ci_lantro