Search results for "Indigenous" in Home Design Ideas

Stuart Wade, Envision Virtual Tours
Envision Virtual Tours and High Resolution Photography is your best choice to find just what you are looking for in the Ellijay, Ga. area .Ellijay, Georgia, known as the “Apple Capital” of Georgia, is located between the Ellijay and Cartecay Rivers where they join to make the Coosawattee River and is the county seat of Gilmer County, Georgia. The origin of the city’s name is not certain but thought to be the English derivative of an Indian word(s) meaning “many waters”, “place of green things” or “new ground”. Some histories say it may have been named for an Indian chief.
Inhabited for countless years by the Cherokee people indigenous to the North Georgia, the area was first mentioned as a village and trade center before the onslaught of white settlers inhabited the region. During the 1830’s both white settlers and Indians occupied Ellijay. During the original land lottery in 1832, Martin Scalf acquired the 160 acre lot where the town now stands. In 1833, Clemonds Quinland bought 10 acres from Scalf, retained one acre for himself and donated the rest of the purchase to the County. A plan for twenty town lots, streets and a public square was created and the streets were oriented to allow maximum sunlight exposure to the buildings.
Proceeds from lot sales were used to build a jail and courthouse and pay other city expenses. During this same year, Gilmer County was appropriated $800.00 from the State to build a school, and a three-acre lot was donated for the city cemetery. On December 29, l834, Ellijay was incorporated and designated as the County seat of Gilmer County. By 1837, the town had twenty dwellings, three stores and one attorney. Most of these early buildings were of log construction.
Many roads led to Ellijay by 1849. The population had grown to 150 by 1850 and the town at five stores. Some wood-frame buildings were being constructed at this time and in 1854, a new courthouse was built in the center of the square, replacing the earlier building. The County’s first newspaper was the Ellijay Courier, started in 1875, and during this time period, Ellijay was a stop on the stagecoach line. The railroad bridge over the Cartecay River was completed in 1884 and the town now had rail service.
With the arrival of the railroad and subsequent tracks to White Path, Ellijay began to grow much faster. Many hotels were constructed and land was donated for a depot east of town. More industries, such as a cheese factory and the Shippen Brothers Lumber Mill, located in Ellijay. By 1898, the city had expanded its limits in every direction and now included the depot.
By 1900, all the buildings on the town square were brick. This included the recently completed Hyatt Hotel. Most of the other buildings in town were still of log construction, but new wood-frame buildings were being built. The Shippen Brothers Lumber Company production was expanding and exporting their lumber to Europe. Within the next few decades, this company grew to be one of the largest employers in Ellijay, often with five to six million feet of lumber in the yard at one time.
The population of Ellijay grew to 659 by 1910, and began to acquire many new modern conveniences such as electric lights and power, a telephone company and many new businesses.
Then in 1912, a fire ravaged the city, destroying 23 buildings. As a result, many new buildings were constructed under new and stricter fire and safety guidelines. The population, however, decreased slightly at this time to 632 in 1920.
During the 1920’s the town’s population began to grow again and, by this time, apples were being shipped out of the county and new storage facilities were built. Chickens were also shipped to markets outside of Ellijay and Gilmer County.
From the mid 1930’s to 1950, Ellijay received much assistance from the Federal WPA Programs. The old courthouse was removed from the center of town square and the Hyatt Hotel was remodeled to be the new courthouse. A park was created on the site of the old courthouse and the streets around the square were paved. A new street was built at this time entering town from the northeast. Other new roads, bridges, sidewalks and gutters were constructed to improve the city. A school and gymnasium were also built and other structures improved.
This growth began to impact the city’s infrastructure and in the l950’s and l960’s, a period of upgrading water systems, roads, and power supplies began. New low-rent housing appeared in l960 and a new hospital was built in l957. Georgia Highway 5 was widened in l962, new buildings around the square replaced old ones and some were remodeled. In 1974, the hospital was enlarged.
Currently, Ellijay attracts tourists who love the small-town feel and friendly atmosphere. Hotels and restaurants, unique shops, antiques and art galleries lend their charms to those who visit. A new courthouse constructed to resemble the old one, new streetscaping, family-oriented downtown events and the beautification of the square have stepped up the social and economic activity and have made Ellijay a popular destination.

Reference: BB514EW-US
Model: PEGASUS WHITE
Color: White
Shape: rectangular
Finish: polished
US Dimensions: 23.62''x15.75''x4.72''
EU Dimensions: 60x40x12cm
US Drain size: 1-1/2"
Faucet hole size: 1.38" - 35mm
Weight: 88 lbs - 40 Kgs
Material: Guangxi White marble grade A
Rectangular Natural stone vessel sink PEGASUS WHITE - 23.62''x15.75''x4.72'' - genuine interior decoration Guangxi White marble. The "Exceptional" cut in the block without any comparison with plastic and other chemical resin market often unaffordable. You will definitely not let anyone feel indifferent with this 100% natural stone unique in the US and exclusively available on Living'ROC.net.
How to make your bathroom unique! Made from a superb block of Guangxi White Marble this basin will delight lovers of beautiful work, looking for rare, products. Add value to your home by transforming your bathroom into an oasis of elegance, calm, and tranquillity. Discover the well-being and the restful feeling our creation can offer you.
PEGASUS WHITE is one of the most fashionable in our bathrooms range. This vessel sink is not only beautiful to look at it is also functional with its height and its edges allowing a large amount of water. Guangxi marble is dominant in strength of great value and authentic in look and feel.
Our creation is delivered without an overflow drain and faucet (not included) - every US drains and faucets models you can find on the market will fit perfectly on Living'ROC vessel sink. This model is ready to use over the countertop.
The photos you see online have been taken with extreme care by our Founder CEO - Florent LEPVREAU to give our visitors an idea on how it might looks like. However product may vary from block to block as only mother nature decides what you may receive because each sink is unique. Therefore, we invite you to browse on our product portfolio to see the differences in each piece. We also draw your attention to the fact that veining, crystallization, that may appear to be cracks, but are actually indigenous to the stone, and other variations of colors up to 30% and more sometime (often on marble and onyx) and various stone features make all the charm of the stone and distinguish it from non-natural materials! Torrence White , Bali White, Toji White, Pegasus white, tahiti White, Rondo White are all made and carved from the same Guangxi White Marble and it can't be considered as a pure white as you can see. Our Quality Control photos shown on our portfolio are not available to choose by numbers.

A rustic-modern house designed to grow organically from its site, overlooking a cornfield, river and mountains in the distance. Indigenous stone and wood materials were taken from the site and incorporated into the structure, which was articulated to honestly express the means of construction. Notable features include an open living/dining/kitchen space with window walls taking in the surrounding views, and an internally-focused circular library celebrating the home owner’s love of literature.
Phillip Spears Photographer
Find the right local pro for your project

Patrick Coulie
Inspiration for a large rustic brown two-story wood exterior home remodel in Denver
Inspiration for a large rustic brown two-story wood exterior home remodel in Denver

Tuscan freestanding desk home studio photo in Los Angeles with white walls, a standard fireplace and a stone fireplace

Stuart Wade, Envision Virtual Tours
Envision Virtual Tours and High Resolution Photography is your best choice to find just what you are looking for in the Ellijay, Ga. area .Ellijay, Georgia, known as the “Apple Capital” of Georgia, is located between the Ellijay and Cartecay Rivers where they join to make the Coosawattee River and is the county seat of Gilmer County, Georgia. The origin of the city’s name is not certain but thought to be the English derivative of an Indian word(s) meaning “many waters”, “place of green things” or “new ground”. Some histories say it may have been named for an Indian chief.
Inhabited for countless years by the Cherokee people indigenous to the North Georgia, the area was first mentioned as a village and trade center before the onslaught of white settlers inhabited the region. During the 1830’s both white settlers and Indians occupied Ellijay. During the original land lottery in 1832, Martin Scalf acquired the 160 acre lot where the town now stands. In 1833, Clemonds Quinland bought 10 acres from Scalf, retained one acre for himself and donated the rest of the purchase to the County. A plan for twenty town lots, streets and a public square was created and the streets were oriented to allow maximum sunlight exposure to the buildings.
Proceeds from lot sales were used to build a jail and courthouse and pay other city expenses. During this same year, Gilmer County was appropriated $800.00 from the State to build a school, and a three-acre lot was donated for the city cemetery. On December 29, l834, Ellijay was incorporated and designated as the County seat of Gilmer County. By 1837, the town had twenty dwellings, three stores and one attorney. Most of these early buildings were of log construction.
Many roads led to Ellijay by 1849. The population had grown to 150 by 1850 and the town at five stores. Some wood-frame buildings were being constructed at this time and in 1854, a new courthouse was built in the center of the square, replacing the earlier building. The County’s first newspaper was the Ellijay Courier, started in 1875, and during this time period, Ellijay was a stop on the stagecoach line. The railroad bridge over the Cartecay River was completed in 1884 and the town now had rail service.
With the arrival of the railroad and subsequent tracks to White Path, Ellijay began to grow much faster. Many hotels were constructed and land was donated for a depot east of town. More industries, such as a cheese factory and the Shippen Brothers Lumber Mill, located in Ellijay. By 1898, the city had expanded its limits in every direction and now included the depot.
By 1900, all the buildings on the town square were brick. This included the recently completed Hyatt Hotel. Most of the other buildings in town were still of log construction, but new wood-frame buildings were being built. The Shippen Brothers Lumber Company production was expanding and exporting their lumber to Europe. Within the next few decades, this company grew to be one of the largest employers in Ellijay, often with five to six million feet of lumber in the yard at one time.
The population of Ellijay grew to 659 by 1910, and began to acquire many new modern conveniences such as electric lights and power, a telephone company and many new businesses.
Then in 1912, a fire ravaged the city, destroying 23 buildings. As a result, many new buildings were constructed under new and stricter fire and safety guidelines. The population, however, decreased slightly at this time to 632 in 1920.
During the 1920’s the town’s population began to grow again and, by this time, apples were being shipped out of the county and new storage facilities were built. Chickens were also shipped to markets outside of Ellijay and Gilmer County.
From the mid 1930’s to 1950, Ellijay received much assistance from the Federal WPA Programs. The old courthouse was removed from the center of town square and the Hyatt Hotel was remodeled to be the new courthouse. A park was created on the site of the old courthouse and the streets around the square were paved. A new street was built at this time entering town from the northeast. Other new roads, bridges, sidewalks and gutters were constructed to improve the city. A school and gymnasium were also built and other structures improved.
This growth began to impact the city’s infrastructure and in the l950’s and l960’s, a period of upgrading water systems, roads, and power supplies began. New low-rent housing appeared in l960 and a new hospital was built in l957. Georgia Highway 5 was widened in l962, new buildings around the square replaced old ones and some were remodeled. In 1974, the hospital was enlarged.
Currently, Ellijay attracts tourists who love the small-town feel and friendly atmosphere. Hotels and restaurants, unique shops, antiques and art galleries lend their charms to those who visit. A new courthouse constructed to resemble the old one, new streetscaping, family-oriented downtown events and the beautification of the square have stepped up the social and economic activity and have made Ellijay a popular destination.

If you're looking for a unique dining table with a mid-century modern design, look no further. The raw beauty of this African Mahogany tree is highlighted in this one of a kind dining table designed by Jamar Simien.
All of our work is handmade of repurposed indigenous materials. The character of the grain pattern on this Mahogany slab is stunning.
Dimensions for the table: Height: 30" x Width: 36" x Length: 72" x Thickness: 1.5"
Dimensions for the benches: Height: 18" x Width: 16” x Length: 60" x Thickness: 1.5"

All photographs of this project are copyright Robin Lee Reed.
Inspiration for a modern landscaping in Milwaukee.
Inspiration for a modern landscaping in Milwaukee.

Cape Courtyard is a vacation house in the Greek Revival tradition so richly characteristic of Cape Cod. A temple-like entry portico in an enigmatic shingled wall is one’s first view on approaching the house.
The view of the water is to the north, but there was a desire for a sunny, wind-sheltered southern courtyard. The house looks inward to the courtyard and outward to the bay. Set behind dunes, preserving indigenous plantings, the house is approached from the south. The wall with the entry portico screens the courtyard from the driveway.
Only after passing through the portico does one discover the courtyard. The house is arrayed around the court like a village of small Greek Revival houses, connected by an intimately-scaled colonnade. The main block of the house is two stories, one room wide, running east–west, open both to the north water view and the southern courtyard. A wing containing service functions and garage defines the east side of the courtyard. The shape of the compact lot gave rise to the angled plan and dynamic courtyard geometry.
Photography by Robert Benson

Vienna Addition Skill Construction & Design, LLC, Design/Build a two-story addition to include remodeling the kitchen and connecting to the adjoining rooms, creating a great room for this family of four. After removing the side office and back patio, it was replaced with a great room connected to the newly renovated kitchen with an eating area that doubles as a homework area for the children. There was plenty of space left over for a walk-in pantry, powder room, and office/craft room. The second story design was for an Adult’s Only oasis; this was designed for the parents to have a permitted Staycation. This space includes a Grand Master bedroom with three walk-in closets, and a sitting area, with plenty of room for a king size bed. This room was not been completed until we brought the outdoors in; this was created with the three big picture windows allowing the parents to look out at their Zen Patio. The Master Bathroom includes a double size jet tub, his & her walk-in shower, and his & her double vanity with plenty of storage and two hideaway hampers. The exterior was created to bring a modern craftsman style feel, these rich architectural details are displayed around the windows with simple geometric lines and symmetry throughout. Craftsman style is an extension of its natural surroundings. This addition is a reflection of indigenous wood and stone sturdy, defined structure with clean yet prominent lines and exterior details, while utilizing low-maintenance, high-performance materials. We love the artisan style of intricate details and the use of natural materials of this Vienna, VA addition. We especially loved working with the family to Design & Build a space that meets their family’s needs as they grow.

Located on an extraordinary hillside site above the San Fernando Valley, the Sherman Residence was designed to unite indoors and outdoors. The house is made up of as a series of board-formed concrete, wood and glass pavilions connected via intersticial gallery spaces that together define a central courtyard. From each room one can see the rich and varied landscape, which includes indigenous large oaks, sycamores, “working” plants such as orange and avocado trees, palms and succulents. A singular low-slung wood roof with deep overhangs shades and unifies the overall composition.
CLIENT: Jerry & Zina Sherman
PROJECT TEAM: Peter Tolkin, John R. Byram, Christopher Girt, Craig Rizzo, Angela Uriu, Eric Townsend, Anthony Denzer
ENGINEERS: Joseph Perazzelli (Structural), John Ott & Associates (Civil), Brian A. Robinson & Associates (Geotechnical)
LANDSCAPE: Wade Graham Landscape Studio
CONSULTANTS: Tree Life Concern Inc. (Arborist), E&J Engineering & Energy Designs (Title-24 Energy)
GENERAL CONTRACTOR: A-1 Construction
PHOTOGRAPHER: Peter Tolkin, Grant Mudford
AWARDS: 2001 Excellence Award Southern California Ready Mixed Concrete Association

Perched on a ridge 20 feet above a private lake in Stillwater, Minnesota, the clients wanted an age-in-place home where strong design influenced by the natural surroundings informed the space and shape of the project. CITYDESKSTUDIO carefully sited the home in one of the many natural clearings within their wooded property alongside a private lake, maximizing connection to the land, while preserving trees and natural topography. The home is distinguished by a light-filled, vaulted living area, a continuous timber loggia forming the entry court and connection to the garage, and a landscape design filled with rain gardens and indigenous rocks and plantings. The home features one-level living with a walk-out lower level which maintains a low profile upon approach, allowing the home to fit gracefully within its context. Sustainable features include landscaping with rain gardens to control rainwater, thermal mass concrete, geothermal in-floor heating, and a 10 kilowatt photovoltaic array with home batteries to allow fully off-grid living. Locally sourced building materials were used where possible for cedar siding and patio paving, including re-used soapstone counters. Select trees were harvested directly off the land for the staircase, interior wall finishes and the 10-foot dining table.
Project Team:
Ben Awes AIA, Principal-In-Charge

The driveway leading down to the house blends indigenous and non-native plantings to provide season color and interesting textures.
Photo by Jon Walsh

NIK-FULL-NAT-NAT - Nīkau - Bamboo Pendant - Full - Natural
Nikau is the only indigenous palm tree in New Zealand, named apparently because unlike the coconut palm familiar to Polynesians, it has no nuts. The fronds from the palm were traditionally used for thatching and weaving. It has a large bulb at the top of its trunk and its leaves overlap in the criss-cross patterns which inspired this light.

Perched high above the desert floor, this exclusive community of homes was designed specifically to take full advantage of close indoor/outdoor relationships, to showcase panoramic views and directional breezes. Adjacent mountains sweep across the site, and varied massing combined with rustic stone and wood beams recall historic European hill-towns. Each of the three plans incorporates multiple courtyards and porticos with a centralized, formal entry experience. The interplay of interior volumes articulates natural light and dramatic textures. Public and private spaces have been carefully zoned, to provide pockets of seclusion, balanced with generous entertainment areas. Inclusion of multiple water features combined with indigenous landscape seamlessly blend with the architecture to create a stunning sense of place among the rugged desert terrain.
Eldorado Stone featured: Veneto Fieldledge
Eldorado Brick featured: Brolio RomaBrick
Architect: Steve Sennikoff
Architecture Firm: Mark Scheurer Architect
Mason: Dan Stringer Masonry

Stuart Wade, Envision Virtual Tours
Envision Virtual Tours and High Resolution Photography is your best choice to find just what you are looking for in the Ellijay, Ga. area .Ellijay, Georgia, known as the “Apple Capital” of Georgia, is located between the Ellijay and Cartecay Rivers where they join to make the Coosawattee River and is the county seat of Gilmer County, Georgia. The origin of the city’s name is not certain but thought to be the English derivative of an Indian word(s) meaning “many waters”, “place of green things” or “new ground”. Some histories say it may have been named for an Indian chief.
Inhabited for countless years by the Cherokee people indigenous to the North Georgia, the area was first mentioned as a village and trade center before the onslaught of white settlers inhabited the region. During the 1830’s both white settlers and Indians occupied Ellijay. During the original land lottery in 1832, Martin Scalf acquired the 160 acre lot where the town now stands. In 1833, Clemonds Quinland bought 10 acres from Scalf, retained one acre for himself and donated the rest of the purchase to the County. A plan for twenty town lots, streets and a public square was created and the streets were oriented to allow maximum sunlight exposure to the buildings.
Proceeds from lot sales were used to build a jail and courthouse and pay other city expenses. During this same year, Gilmer County was appropriated $800.00 from the State to build a school, and a three-acre lot was donated for the city cemetery. On December 29, l834, Ellijay was incorporated and designated as the County seat of Gilmer County. By 1837, the town had twenty dwellings, three stores and one attorney. Most of these early buildings were of log construction.
Many roads led to Ellijay by 1849. The population had grown to 150 by 1850 and the town at five stores. Some wood-frame buildings were being constructed at this time and in 1854, a new courthouse was built in the center of the square, replacing the earlier building. The County’s first newspaper was the Ellijay Courier, started in 1875, and during this time period, Ellijay was a stop on the stagecoach line. The railroad bridge over the Cartecay River was completed in 1884 and the town now had rail service.
With the arrival of the railroad and subsequent tracks to White Path, Ellijay began to grow much faster. Many hotels were constructed and land was donated for a depot east of town. More industries, such as a cheese factory and the Shippen Brothers Lumber Mill, located in Ellijay. By 1898, the city had expanded its limits in every direction and now included the depot.
By 1900, all the buildings on the town square were brick. This included the recently completed Hyatt Hotel. Most of the other buildings in town were still of log construction, but new wood-frame buildings were being built. The Shippen Brothers Lumber Company production was expanding and exporting their lumber to Europe. Within the next few decades, this company grew to be one of the largest employers in Ellijay, often with five to six million feet of lumber in the yard at one time.
The population of Ellijay grew to 659 by 1910, and began to acquire many new modern conveniences such as electric lights and power, a telephone company and many new businesses.
Then in 1912, a fire ravaged the city, destroying 23 buildings. As a result, many new buildings were constructed under new and stricter fire and safety guidelines. The population, however, decreased slightly at this time to 632 in 1920.
During the 1920’s the town’s population began to grow again and, by this time, apples were being shipped out of the county and new storage facilities were built. Chickens were also shipped to markets outside of Ellijay and Gilmer County.
From the mid 1930’s to 1950, Ellijay received much assistance from the Federal WPA Programs. The old courthouse was removed from the center of town square and the Hyatt Hotel was remodeled to be the new courthouse. A park was created on the site of the old courthouse and the streets around the square were paved. A new street was built at this time entering town from the northeast. Other new roads, bridges, sidewalks and gutters were constructed to improve the city. A school and gymnasium were also built and other structures improved.
This growth began to impact the city’s infrastructure and in the l950’s and l960’s, a period of upgrading water systems, roads, and power supplies began. New low-rent housing appeared in l960 and a new hospital was built in l957. Georgia Highway 5 was widened in l962, new buildings around the square replaced old ones and some were remodeled. In 1974, the hospital was enlarged.
Currently, Ellijay attracts tourists who love the small-town feel and friendly atmosphere. Hotels and restaurants, unique shops, antiques and art galleries lend their charms to those who visit. A new courthouse constructed to resemble the old one, new streetscaping, family-oriented downtown events and the beautification of the square have stepped up the social and economic activity and have made Ellijay a popular destination.

Saturday, May 30, 3:30 to 5:00pm | Pacific Palisades
Amalfi
Jay Griffith of Jay Griffith
This one-acre site at a 120-foot elevation overlooking Rustic Canyon has breathtaking, panoramic views. Though the California Monterrey colonial style house was built in 1933 for the silent film star Billie Dove, every aspect of the garden is new except for the Eucalyptus. A long interwoven hedge acts as a green plinth transforming the 150-wide house into a giant sculptural element. Giant raw steel planters created in homage to sculptor Richard Serra repeat this theme. The front garden is patterned after the Court of the Myrtles at the Alhambra in Seville, Spain, while the rear garden embraces the expansive view and is toned in aqueous colored succulent plantings that tie into the rectangular swimming pool. The muted color palette focuses attention on the contrasting plant textures and sculptural qualities, from arcing white Agaves, giant blue Fan Palms, and sinuous Eucalyptus. The south facing kitchen courtyard showcases indigenous California pottery materials and an extensive collection of Hollywood movie garden furniture memorabilia. Photos by Jorge Rafael

A fresh interpretation of the western farmhouse, The Sycamore, with its high pitch rooflines, custom interior trusses, and reclaimed hardwood floors offers irresistible modern warmth.
When merging the past indigenous citrus farms with today’s modern aesthetic, the result is a celebration of the Western Farmhouse. The goal was to craft a community canvas where homes exist as a supporting cast to an overall community composition. The extreme continuity in form, materials, and function allows the residents and their lives to be the focus rather than architecture. The unified architectural canvas catalyzes a sense of community rather than the singular aesthetic expression of 16 individual homes. This sense of community is the basis for the culture of The Sycamore.
The western farmhouse revival style embodied at The Sycamore features elegant, gabled structures, open living spaces, porches, and balconies. Utilizing the ideas, methods, and materials of today, we have created a modern twist on an American tradition. While the farmhouse essence is nostalgic, the cool, modern vibe brings a balance of beauty and efficiency. The modern aura of the architecture offers calm, restoration, and revitalization.
Located at 37th Street and Campbell in the western portion of the popular Arcadia residential neighborhood in Central Phoenix, the Sycamore is surrounded by some of Central Phoenix’s finest amenities, including walkable access to premier eateries such as La Grande Orange, Postino, North, and Chelsea’s Kitchen.
Project Details: The Sycamore, Phoenix, AZ
Architecture: Drewett Works
Builder: Sonora West Development
Developer: EW Investment Funding
Interior Designer: Homes by 1962
Photography: Alexander Vertikoff
Awards:
Best in American Living Award for Best Single Family Production Home 4,501-5,000 sq ft Built for Sale
Gold Nugget Award of Merit – Best Residential Detached Collection of the Year
33

