Search results for "Maintaining wellness" in Home Design Ideas

This home, which was originally built in 1960, is a classic example of Mid-Century Modern Design. Over the years, the home had fallen into disrepair. The clients, who had recently purchased the home, approached Pelletier+Schaar because they wanted to upgrade and modernize the bathroom, master and laundry as well as add an expanded deck with a covered portion while simultaneously maintaining the aesthetics characteristic of mid-century modern design.

Sitting in one of Capital Hill’s beautiful neighborhoods, the exterior of this residence portrays a
bungalow style home as from the Arts and Craft era. By adding a large dormer to east side of the house,
the street appeal was maintained which allowed for a large master suite to be added to the second
floor. As a result, the two guest bedrooms and bathroom were relocated to give to master suite the
space it needs. Although much renovation was done to the Federalist interior, the original charm was
kept by continuing the formal molding and other architectural details throughout the house. In addition
to opening up the stair to the entry and floor above, the sense of gained space was furthered by opening
up the kitchen to the dining room and remodeling the space to provide updated finishes and appliances
as well as custom cabinetry and a hutch. The main level also features an added powder room with a
beautiful black walnut vanity.

This meticulously restored mid-century modern bathroom evokes the era's signature style with a touch of modern luxury. Channeling the era's love of clean lines and geometric forms, vertical stacked tile graces the walls in a timeless arrangement. This design element creates a sense of height and spaciousness, while the frameless glass shower enclosure maintains an open and airy feel. The warm wood grain of the vanity and the soft lighting add warmth to the otherwise minimalist space. The natural stone countertop and polished nickel fixtures add a touch of luxury and elegance, while the simple lines and understated design remain true to the home's mid-century roots. The skylight allows ample natural light to flood the space, creating a bright and inviting atmosphere.
Find the right local pro for your project

This basement area was a complete renovation, down to the studs. We had walls removed, and reinvented the space to include a theatre room, a gym, a bathroom complete with steam shower, a lounge area as well as the recreation and bar area.
The whole area maintains the elegance and colour schemes of the upper levels, but was carefully designed to accommodate the husband’s collection of sports memorabilia and allow lots of room for billiards or watching the game with friends.
The limestone wall behind the bar carries over to a wall in the gym as well as the fireplaces on the basement and main level great room.
We used smooth granite on the main bar counter, while a leathered version with a chiseled edge accents the seating bar. Custom cabinets, oil rubbed bronze hardware, high-end faucets, along with a hammered copper sink maintain the luxury of the rest of the home. Even the billiards table was carefully chosen to maintain a furniture look in keeping with the other pieces.
Photo by Graham Twomey

The unique opportunity and challenge for the Joshua Tree project was to enable the architecture to prioritize views. Set in the valley between Mummy and Camelback mountains, two iconic landforms located in Paradise Valley, Arizona, this lot “has it all” regarding views. The challenge was answered with what we refer to as the desert pavilion.
This highly penetrated piece of architecture carefully maintains a one-room deep composition. This allows each space to leverage the majestic mountain views. The material palette is executed in a panelized massing composition. The home, spawned from mid-century modern DNA, opens seamlessly to exterior living spaces providing for the ultimate in indoor/outdoor living.
Project Details:
Architecture: Drewett Works, Scottsdale, AZ // C.P. Drewett, AIA, NCARB // www.drewettworks.com
Builder: Bedbrock Developers, Paradise Valley, AZ // http://www.bedbrock.com
Interior Designer: Est Est, Scottsdale, AZ // http://www.estestinc.com
Photographer: Michael Duerinckx, Phoenix, AZ // www.inckx.com

This home, which was originally built in 1960, is a classic example of Mid-Century Modern Design. Over the years, the home had fallen into disrepair. The clients, who had recently purchased the home, approached Pelletier+Schaar because they wanted to upgrade and modernize the bathroom, master and laundry as well as add an expanded deck with a covered portion while simultaneously maintaining the aesthetics characteristic of mid-century modern design.

Jeff McNeill
Outdoor patio shower - mid-sized transitional backyard concrete paver outdoor patio shower idea in Toronto
Outdoor patio shower - mid-sized transitional backyard concrete paver outdoor patio shower idea in Toronto

The clients wanted a comfortable home fun for entertaining, pet-friendly, and easy to maintain — soothing, yet exciting. Bold colors and fun accents bring this home to life!
Project designed by Boston interior design studio Dane Austin Design. They serve Boston, Cambridge, Hingham, Cohasset, Newton, Weston, Lexington, Concord, Dover, Andover, Gloucester, as well as surrounding areas.
For more about Dane Austin Design, click here: https://daneaustindesign.com/
To learn more about this project, click here:
https://daneaustindesign.com/logan-townhouse

At Velène Design House, we revived the home’s vintage charm, balancing original mid‑century elements, like stone fireplaces and wood paneling, with clean, contemporary lines, subtle traditional touches, and thoughtful textures.
This mid‑century ranch remodel transformed a largely untouched 1960s home into a refined, family‑ready retreat.

The client wanted a better flow throughout their landscape, as well as introduce straight lines to a space to modernize the irregular shaped pool.
Their upper deck was where they did a majority of their entertaining so ensuring this space was large enough for both dining and lounge was the starting point of the design. Introducing privacy from the many on looking neighbours, without completely blocking it off from the rest of their own yard was important. Laser cut privacy screens added this filtered privacy.
A round hot tub was added to the back corner of the property, which otherwise seemed like wasted space. Highlighted by the privacy panels in the same pattern used on the deck to create some consistency.
Trees were both maintained and added where needs along the property to add greenery and privacy. The entire space now feels open within the backyard, but private from neighbours.

Dan Cutrona
Inspiration for a small timeless entryway remodel in Boston with a black front door
Inspiration for a small timeless entryway remodel in Boston with a black front door

Sponsored
Delaware, OH
Buckeye Basements, Inc.
Central Ohio's Basement Finishing ExpertsBest Of Houzz '13-'21

This custom home was artfully designed by the architects at Historical Concepts. The “Stemwinder Camp” home is located in the beautiful Balsam Mountain Preserve community. Balsam Mountain Preserve is a private, gated, mountain, golf and equestrian community in the western North Carolina Mountains. The details and design of the craftsman style cottage provide every room with a sunny and bright interior. Stemwinder Camp incorporates many detailed elements that help create a contemporary feel while still maintaining the craftsman style principles.

The main objective for this project was to create a beautiful outdoor cooking and entertaining space. The clients wanted the new space to have an open concept while being protected from the elements year round. Stylistically they wanted the design to have a Pacific Northwest feel, to blend with the existing house and work well among their natural, forested backyard. We needed to include a BBQ, smoker, sink, refrigerator, gas fireplace and wall mounted heater as well as a large screen TV. The details were going to be a main focus for the design process, as we knew this would ensure the cohesive blend of function and aesthetic appeal.
One of the main challenges was working with the existing deck. The 1000 SF deck needed new decking and guardrails as well as some framing repair. We were worried that the existing deck structure would not support the weight of the new construction.
Another challenge we faced was designing the roof planes to aesthetically blend with the existing house. The layout of the first and second floor had us working through multiple design revisions until we landed on the final stepped roof structure.
We designed the new roof to be supported by the house and columns set directly on the ground, thereby minimizing weight added to the existing deck. This allowed us to use the deck to support the lighter components, including the kitchen and BBQ area.
Oversized beams, exposed raw wood rafters, and sealed car decking worked well with the new cedar deck surface. Stainless steel cabinetry and appliances are accented by solid surface countertops and small mosaic backsplash. All colors were selected to fall within the natural hues of the seasonally changing foliage surrounding the clients’ property.
Maintaining the same footprint of the existing deck, we used the angles to our advantage and created additional seating with a custom built storage bench. New powder coated posts and cable guardrails were topped with an LED lined wood handrail. A decorative chandelier and subtle metal pendants provide ambient light. An electric heater mounted to the inside of one of the beams as well as the gas fireplace provides ample heat for colder months.
The clerestory windows between the two roof planes provide additional light to the space while protecting against the elements. The gas fireplace and cultured stone wrapped chimney is a visual anchor and centerpiece for the deck. The chimney provided an opportunity to hide one of the supporting columns as well as a protected space for the wall mounted TV and soundbar.
The cabinetry layout was selected to offer plenty of storage and special features including a pull out garbage and recycling center, drawers for dishes and utensils, and a concealed paper towel holder.

Sponsored
Sunbury, OH
J.Holderby - Renovations
Franklin County's Leading General Contractors - 2X Best of Houzz!

The main objective for this project was to create a beautiful outdoor cooking and entertaining space. The clients wanted the new space to have an open concept while being protected from the elements year round. Stylistically they wanted the design to have a Pacific Northwest feel, to blend with the existing house and work well among their natural, forested backyard. We needed to include a BBQ, smoker, sink, refrigerator, gas fireplace and wall mounted heater as well as a large screen TV. The details were going to be a main focus for the design process, as we knew this would ensure the cohesive blend of function and aesthetic appeal.
One of the main challenges was working with the existing deck. The 1000 SF deck needed new decking and guardrails as well as some framing repair. We were worried that the existing deck structure would not support the weight of the new construction.
Another challenge we faced was designing the roof planes to aesthetically blend with the existing house. The layout of the first and second floor had us working through multiple design revisions until we landed on the final stepped roof structure.
We designed the new roof to be supported by the house and columns set directly on the ground, thereby minimizing weight added to the existing deck. This allowed us to use the deck to support the lighter components, including the kitchen and BBQ area.
Oversized beams, exposed raw wood rafters, and sealed car decking worked well with the new cedar deck surface. Stainless steel cabinetry and appliances are accented by solid surface countertops and small mosaic backsplash. All colors were selected to fall within the natural hues of the seasonally changing foliage surrounding the clients’ property.
Maintaining the same footprint of the existing deck, we used the angles to our advantage and created additional seating with a custom built storage bench. New powder coated posts and cable guardrails were topped with an LED lined wood handrail. A decorative chandelier and subtle metal pendants provide ambient light. An electric heater mounted to the inside of one of the beams as well as the gas fireplace provides ample heat for colder months.
The clerestory windows between the two roof planes provide additional light to the space while protecting against the elements. The gas fireplace and cultured stone wrapped chimney is a visual anchor and centerpiece for the deck. The chimney provided an opportunity to hide one of the supporting columns as well as a protected space for the wall mounted TV and soundbar.
The cabinetry layout was selected to offer plenty of storage and special features including a pull out garbage and recycling center, drawers for dishes and utensils, and a concealed paper towel holder.

Stuart Wade, Envision Virtual Tours
The second-largest and most developed of Georgia's barrier islands, St. Simons is approximately twelve miles long and nearly three miles wide at its widest stretch (roughly the size of Manhattan Island in New York). The island is located in Glynn County on Georgia's coast and lies east of Brunswick (the seat of Glynn County), south of Little St. Simons Island and the Hampton River, and north of Jekyll Island. The resort community of Sea Island is separated from St. Simons on the east by the Black Banks River. Known for its oak tree canopies and historic landmarks, St. Simons is both a tourist destination and, according to the 2010 U.S. census, home to 12,743 residents.
Early History
The earliest
St. Simons Island Village
record of human habitation on the island dates to the Late Archaic Period, about 5,000 to 3,000 years ago. Remnants of shell rings left behind by Native Americans from this era survive on many of the barrier islands, including St. Simons. Centuries later, during the period known by historians as the chiefdom era, the Guale Indians established a chiefdom centered on St. Catherines Island and used St. Simons as their hunting and fishing grounds. By 1500 the Guale had established a permanent village of about 200 people on St. Simons, which they called Guadalquini.
Beginning in 1568, the Spanish attempted to create missions along the Georgia coast. Catholic missions were the primary means by which Georgia's indigenous Native American chiefdoms were assimilated into the Spanish colonial system along the northern frontier of greater Spanish Florida. In the 1600s St. Simons became home to two Spanish missions: San Buenaventura de Guadalquini, on the southern tip of the island, and Santo Domingo de Asao (or Asajo), on the northern tip. Located on the inland side of the island were the pagan refugee villages of San Simón, the island's namesake, and Ocotonico. In 1684 pirate raids left the missions and villages largely abandoned.
Colonial History
As
Fort Frederica
early as 1670, with Great Britain's establishment of the colony of Carolina and its expansion into Georgia territory, Spanish rule was threatened by the English. The Georgia coast was considered "debatable land" by England and Spain, even though Spain had fully retreated from St. Simons by 1702. Thirty-one years later General James Edward Oglethorpe founded the English settlement of Savannah. In 1736 he established Fort Frederica, named after the heir to the British throne, Frederick Louis, prince of Wales, on the west side of St. Simons Island to protect Savannah and the Carolinas from the Spanish threat.
Between 1736 and 1749 Fort Frederica was the hub of British military operations along the Georgia frontier. A town of the same name grew up around the fort and was of great importance to the new colony. By 1740 Frederica's population was 1,000. In 1736 the congregation of what would become Christ Church was organized within Fort Frederica as a mission of the Church of England. Charles Wesley led the first services. In 1742 Britain's decisive victory over Spain in the Battle of Bloody Marsh, during the War of Jenkins' Ear, ended the Spanish threat to the Georgia coast. When the British regimen disbanded in 1749, most of the townspeople relocated to the mainland. Fort Frederica went into decline and, except for a short time of prosperity during the 1760s and 1770s under the leadership of merchant James Spalding, never fully recovered. Today the historic citadel's tabby ruins are maintained by the National Park Service.
Plantation Era
By the start of the American Revolution (1775-83), Fort Frederica was obsolete, and St. Simons was left largely uninhabited as most of its residents joined the patriot army. Besides hosting a small Georgia naval victory on the Fort Frederica River, providing guns from its famous fort for use at Fort Morris in Sunbury, and serving as an arena for pillaging by privateers and British soldiers, the island played almost no role in the war.
Following the war, many of the townspeople, their businesses destroyed, turned to agriculture. The island was transformed into fourteen cotton plantations after acres of live oak trees were cleared for farm land and used for building American warships, including the famous USS Constitution, or "Old Ironsides." Although rice was the predominant crop along the neighboring Altamaha River, St. Simons was known for its production of long-staple cotton, which soon came to be known as Sea Island cotton.
Between
Ebos Landing
the 1780s and the outbreak of the Civil War (1861-65), St. Simons's plantation culture flourished. The saline atmosphere and the availability of cheap slave labor proved an ideal combination for the cultivation of Sea Island cotton. In 1803 a group of Ebo slaves who survived the Middle Passage and arrived on the west side of St. Simons staged a rebellion and drowned themselves. The sacred site is known today as Ebos Landing.
One of the largest owners of land and slaves on St. Simons was Pierce Butler, master of Hampton Point Plantation, located on the northern end of the island. By 1793 Butler owned more than 500 slaves, who cultivated 800 acres of cotton on St. Simons and 300 acres of rice on Butler's Island in the Altamaha River delta. Butler's grandson, Pierce Mease Butler, who at the age of sixteen inherited a share of his grandfather's estate in 1826, was responsible for the largest sale of human beings in the history of the United States: in 1859, to restore his squandered fortune, he sold 429 slaves in Savannah for more than $300,000. The British actress and writer Fanny Kemble, whose tumultuous marriage to Pierce ended in divorce in 1849, published an eyewitness account of the evils of slavery on St. Simons in her book Journal of a Residence on a Georgian Plantation in 1838-1839 (1863).
Another
Retreat Plantation
large owner of land and slaves on St. Simons was Major William Page, a friend and employee of Pierce Butler Sr. Before purchasing Retreat Plantation on the southwestern tip of the island in 1804, Page managed the Hampton plantation and Butler's Island. Upon Page's death in 1827, Thomas Butler King inherited the land together with his wife, Page's daughter, Anna Matilda Page King. King expanded his father-in-law's planting empire on St. Simons as well as on the mainland, and by 1835 Retreat Plantation alone was home to as many as 355 slaves.
The center of life during the island's plantation era was Christ Church, Frederica. Organized in 1807 by a group of island planters, the Episcopal church is the second oldest in the Diocese of Georgia. Embargoes imposed by the War of 1812 (1812-15) prevented the parishioners from building a church structure, so they worshiped in the home of John Beck, which stood on the site of Oglethorpe's only St. Simons residence, Orange Hall.
The first Christ Church building, finished on the present site in 1820, was ruined by occupying Union troops during the Civil War. In 1884 the Reverend Anson Dodge Jr. rebuilt the church as a memorial to his first wife, Ellen. The cruciform building with a trussed gothic roof and stained-glass windows remains active today as Christ Church.
Civil War and Beyond
The
St. Simons Island Lighthouse
outbreak of the Civil War in 1861 put a sudden end to St. Simons's lucrative plantation era. In January of that year, Confederate troops were stationed at the south end of the island to guard the entrance to Brunswick Harbor. Slaves from Retreat Plantation, owned by Thomas Butler King, built earthworks and batteries. Plantation residents were scattered—the men joined the Confederate army and their families moved to the mainland. Cannon fire was heard on the island in December 1861, and Confederate troops retreated in February 1862, after dynamiting the lighthouse to keep its beacon from aiding Union troops. Soon thereafter, Union troops occupied the island, which was used as a camp for freed slaves. By August 1862 more than 500 former slaves lived on St. Simons, including Susie King Taylor, who organized a school for freed slave children. But in November the ex-slaves were taken to Hilton Head, South Carolina, and Fernandina, Florida, leaving the island abandoned.
After the Civil War the island never returned to its status as an agricultural community. The plantations lay dormant because there were no slaves to work the fields. After Union general William T. Sherman's January 1865 Special Field Order No. 15 —a demand that former plantations be divided and distributed to former slaves—was overturned by U.S. president Andrew Johnson less than a year later, freedmen and women were forced to work as sharecroppers on the small farms that dotted the land previously occupied by the sprawling plantations.
By
St. Simons Lumber Mills
1870 real economic recovery began with the reestablishment of the timber industry. Norman Dodge and Titus G. Meigs of New York set up lumber mill operations at Gascoigne Bluff, formerly Hamilton Plantation. The lumber mills provided welcome employment for both blacks and whites and also provided mail and passenger boats to the mainland. Such water traffic, together with the construction of a new lighthouse in 1872, designed by architect Charles B. Cluskey, marked the beginning of St. Simons's tourism industry. The keeper of the lighthouse created a small amusement park, which drew many visitors, as did the seemingly miraculous light that traveled from the top of the lighthouse tower to the bottom. The island became a summer retreat for families from the mainland, particularly from Baxley, Brunswick, and Waycross.
The island's resort industry was thriving by the 1880s. Beachfront structures, such as a new pier and grand hotel, were built on the southeastern end of the island and could be accessed by ferry. Around this time wealthy northerners began vacationing on the island.
Twentieth Century
The
St. Simons Island Pier and Village
opening in 1924 of the Brunswick–St. Simons Highway, today known as the Torras Causeway, was a milestone in the development of resorts in the area. St. Simons's beaches were now easily accessible to locals and tourists alike. More than 5,000 automobiles took the short drive from Brunswick to St. Simons via the causeway on its opening day, paving the way for convenient residential and resort development.
In 1926 automotive pioneer Howard Coffin of Detroit, Michigan, bought large tracts of land on St. Simons, including the former Retreat Plantation, and constructed a golf course, yacht club, paved roads, and a residential subdivision. Although the causeway had brought large numbers of summer people to the island, St. Simons remained a small community with only a few hundred permanent residents until the 1940s.
The
St. Simons Island
outbreak of World War II (1941-45) brought more visitors and residents to St. Simons. Troops stationed at Jacksonville, Florida; Savannah; and nearby Camp Stewart took weekend vacations on the island, and a new naval air base and radar school became home to even more officers and soldiers. The increased wartime population brought the island its first public school. With a major shipyard for the production of Liberty ships in nearby Brunswick, the waters of St. Simons became active with German U-boats. In April 1942, just off the coast, the Texas Company oil tanker S. S. Oklahoma and the S. S. Esso Baton Rouge were torpedoed by the Germans, bringing the war very close to home for island residents.
Due in large part to the military's improvement of the island's infrastructure during the war, development on the island boomed in the 1950s and 1960s. More permanent homes and subdivisions were built, and the island was no longer just a summer resort but also a thriving community. In 1950 the Methodist conference and retreat center Epworth by the Sea opened on Gascoigne Bluff. In 1961 novelist Eugenia Price visited St. Simons and began work on her first works of fiction, known as the St. Simons Trilogy. Inspired by real events on the island, Price's trilogy renewed interest in the history of Georgia's coast, and the novelist herself relocated to the island in 1965 and lived there for thirty-one years. St. Simons is also home to contemporary Georgia writer Tina McElroy Ansa.
Since
Epworth by the Sea
1980 St. Simons's population has doubled. The island's continued status as a vacation destination and its ongoing development boom have put historic landmarks and natural areas at risk. While such landmarks as the Fort Frederica ruins and the Battle of Bloody Marsh site are preserved and maintained by the National Park Service, and while the historic lighthouse is maintained by the Coastal Georgia Historical Society, historic Ebos Landing has been taken over by a sewage treatment plant.
Several coastal organizations have formed in recent years to save natural areas on the island. The St. Simons Land Trust, for example, has received donations of large tracts of land and plans to protect property in the island's three traditional African American neighborhoods. Despite its rapid growth and development, St. Simons remains one of the most beautiful and important islands on the Georgia coast.
24





