Search results for "Neighboring" in Home Design Ideas

The client wanted a better flow throughout their landscape, as well as introduce straight lines to a space to modernize the irregular shaped pool.
Their upper deck was where they did a majority of their entertaining so ensuring this space was large enough for both dining and lounge was the starting point of the design. Introducing privacy from the many on looking neighbours, without completely blocking it off from the rest of their own yard was important. Laser cut privacy screens added this filtered privacy.
A round hot tub was added to the back corner of the property, which otherwise seemed like wasted space. Highlighted by the privacy panels in the same pattern used on the deck to create some consistency.
Trees were both maintained and added where needs along the property to add greenery and privacy. The entire space now feels open within the backyard, but private from neighbours.

Our clients for this project are a professional couple with a young family. They approached us to help with extending and improving their home in London SW2 to create an enhanced space both aesthetically and functionally for their growing family. We were appointed to provide a full architectural and interior design service, including the design of some bespoke furniture too.
A core element of the brief was to design a kitchen living and dining space that opened into the garden and created clear links from inside to out. This new space would provide a large family area they could enjoy all year around. We were also asked to retain the good bits of the current period living spaces while creating a more modern day area in an extension to the rear.
It was also a key requirement to refurbish the upstairs bathrooms while the extension and refurbishment works were underway.
The solution was a 21m2 extension to the rear of the property that mirrored the neighbouring property in shape and size. However, we added some additional features, such as the projecting glass box window seat. The new kitchen features a large island unit to create a workspace with storage, but also room for seating that is perfect for entertaining friends, or homework when the family gets to that age.
The sliding folding doors, paired with floor tiling that ran from inside to out, created a clear link from the garden to the indoor living space. Exposed brick blended with clean white walls creates a very contemporary finish throughout the extension, while the period features have been retained in the original parts of the house.
Find the right local pro for your project

Stuart Wade, Envision Virtual Tours
The second-largest and most developed of Georgia's barrier islands, St. Simons is approximately twelve miles long and nearly three miles wide at its widest stretch (roughly the size of Manhattan Island in New York). The island is located in Glynn County on Georgia's coast and lies east of Brunswick (the seat of Glynn County), south of Little St. Simons Island and the Hampton River, and north of Jekyll Island. The resort community of Sea Island is separated from St. Simons on the east by the Black Banks River. Known for its oak tree canopies and historic landmarks, St. Simons is both a tourist destination and, according to the 2010 U.S. census, home to 12,743 residents.
Early History
The earliest
St. Simons Island Village
record of human habitation on the island dates to the Late Archaic Period, about 5,000 to 3,000 years ago. Remnants of shell rings left behind by Native Americans from this era survive on many of the barrier islands, including St. Simons. Centuries later, during the period known by historians as the chiefdom era, the Guale Indians established a chiefdom centered on St. Catherines Island and used St. Simons as their hunting and fishing grounds. By 1500 the Guale had established a permanent village of about 200 people on St. Simons, which they called Guadalquini.
Beginning in 1568, the Spanish attempted to create missions along the Georgia coast. Catholic missions were the primary means by which Georgia's indigenous Native American chiefdoms were assimilated into the Spanish colonial system along the northern frontier of greater Spanish Florida. In the 1600s St. Simons became home to two Spanish missions: San Buenaventura de Guadalquini, on the southern tip of the island, and Santo Domingo de Asao (or Asajo), on the northern tip. Located on the inland side of the island were the pagan refugee villages of San Simón, the island's namesake, and Ocotonico. In 1684 pirate raids left the missions and villages largely abandoned.
Colonial History
As
Fort Frederica
early as 1670, with Great Britain's establishment of the colony of Carolina and its expansion into Georgia territory, Spanish rule was threatened by the English. The Georgia coast was considered "debatable land" by England and Spain, even though Spain had fully retreated from St. Simons by 1702. Thirty-one years later General James Edward Oglethorpe founded the English settlement of Savannah. In 1736 he established Fort Frederica, named after the heir to the British throne, Frederick Louis, prince of Wales, on the west side of St. Simons Island to protect Savannah and the Carolinas from the Spanish threat.
Between 1736 and 1749 Fort Frederica was the hub of British military operations along the Georgia frontier. A town of the same name grew up around the fort and was of great importance to the new colony. By 1740 Frederica's population was 1,000. In 1736 the congregation of what would become Christ Church was organized within Fort Frederica as a mission of the Church of England. Charles Wesley led the first services. In 1742 Britain's decisive victory over Spain in the Battle of Bloody Marsh, during the War of Jenkins' Ear, ended the Spanish threat to the Georgia coast. When the British regimen disbanded in 1749, most of the townspeople relocated to the mainland. Fort Frederica went into decline and, except for a short time of prosperity during the 1760s and 1770s under the leadership of merchant James Spalding, never fully recovered. Today the historic citadel's tabby ruins are maintained by the National Park Service.
Plantation Era
By the start of the American Revolution (1775-83), Fort Frederica was obsolete, and St. Simons was left largely uninhabited as most of its residents joined the patriot army. Besides hosting a small Georgia naval victory on the Fort Frederica River, providing guns from its famous fort for use at Fort Morris in Sunbury, and serving as an arena for pillaging by privateers and British soldiers, the island played almost no role in the war.
Following the war, many of the townspeople, their businesses destroyed, turned to agriculture. The island was transformed into fourteen cotton plantations after acres of live oak trees were cleared for farm land and used for building American warships, including the famous USS Constitution, or "Old Ironsides." Although rice was the predominant crop along the neighboring Altamaha River, St. Simons was known for its production of long-staple cotton, which soon came to be known as Sea Island cotton.
Between
Ebos Landing
the 1780s and the outbreak of the Civil War (1861-65), St. Simons's plantation culture flourished. The saline atmosphere and the availability of cheap slave labor proved an ideal combination for the cultivation of Sea Island cotton. In 1803 a group of Ebo slaves who survived the Middle Passage and arrived on the west side of St. Simons staged a rebellion and drowned themselves. The sacred site is known today as Ebos Landing.
One of the largest owners of land and slaves on St. Simons was Pierce Butler, master of Hampton Point Plantation, located on the northern end of the island. By 1793 Butler owned more than 500 slaves, who cultivated 800 acres of cotton on St. Simons and 300 acres of rice on Butler's Island in the Altamaha River delta. Butler's grandson, Pierce Mease Butler, who at the age of sixteen inherited a share of his grandfather's estate in 1826, was responsible for the largest sale of human beings in the history of the United States: in 1859, to restore his squandered fortune, he sold 429 slaves in Savannah for more than $300,000. The British actress and writer Fanny Kemble, whose tumultuous marriage to Pierce ended in divorce in 1849, published an eyewitness account of the evils of slavery on St. Simons in her book Journal of a Residence on a Georgian Plantation in 1838-1839 (1863).
Another
Retreat Plantation
large owner of land and slaves on St. Simons was Major William Page, a friend and employee of Pierce Butler Sr. Before purchasing Retreat Plantation on the southwestern tip of the island in 1804, Page managed the Hampton plantation and Butler's Island. Upon Page's death in 1827, Thomas Butler King inherited the land together with his wife, Page's daughter, Anna Matilda Page King. King expanded his father-in-law's planting empire on St. Simons as well as on the mainland, and by 1835 Retreat Plantation alone was home to as many as 355 slaves.
The center of life during the island's plantation era was Christ Church, Frederica. Organized in 1807 by a group of island planters, the Episcopal church is the second oldest in the Diocese of Georgia. Embargoes imposed by the War of 1812 (1812-15) prevented the parishioners from building a church structure, so they worshiped in the home of John Beck, which stood on the site of Oglethorpe's only St. Simons residence, Orange Hall.
The first Christ Church building, finished on the present site in 1820, was ruined by occupying Union troops during the Civil War. In 1884 the Reverend Anson Dodge Jr. rebuilt the church as a memorial to his first wife, Ellen. The cruciform building with a trussed gothic roof and stained-glass windows remains active today as Christ Church.
Civil War and Beyond
The
St. Simons Island Lighthouse
outbreak of the Civil War in 1861 put a sudden end to St. Simons's lucrative plantation era. In January of that year, Confederate troops were stationed at the south end of the island to guard the entrance to Brunswick Harbor. Slaves from Retreat Plantation, owned by Thomas Butler King, built earthworks and batteries. Plantation residents were scattered—the men joined the Confederate army and their families moved to the mainland. Cannon fire was heard on the island in December 1861, and Confederate troops retreated in February 1862, after dynamiting the lighthouse to keep its beacon from aiding Union troops. Soon thereafter, Union troops occupied the island, which was used as a camp for freed slaves. By August 1862 more than 500 former slaves lived on St. Simons, including Susie King Taylor, who organized a school for freed slave children. But in November the ex-slaves were taken to Hilton Head, South Carolina, and Fernandina, Florida, leaving the island abandoned.
After the Civil War the island never returned to its status as an agricultural community. The plantations lay dormant because there were no slaves to work the fields. After Union general William T. Sherman's January 1865 Special Field Order No. 15 —a demand that former plantations be divided and distributed to former slaves—was overturned by U.S. president Andrew Johnson less than a year later, freedmen and women were forced to work as sharecroppers on the small farms that dotted the land previously occupied by the sprawling plantations.
By
St. Simons Lumber Mills
1870 real economic recovery began with the reestablishment of the timber industry. Norman Dodge and Titus G. Meigs of New York set up lumber mill operations at Gascoigne Bluff, formerly Hamilton Plantation. The lumber mills provided welcome employment for both blacks and whites and also provided mail and passenger boats to the mainland. Such water traffic, together with the construction of a new lighthouse in 1872, designed by architect Charles B. Cluskey, marked the beginning of St. Simons's tourism industry. The keeper of the lighthouse created a small amusement park, which drew many visitors, as did the seemingly miraculous light that traveled from the top of the lighthouse tower to the bottom. The island became a summer retreat for families from the mainland, particularly from Baxley, Brunswick, and Waycross.
The island's resort industry was thriving by the 1880s. Beachfront structures, such as a new pier and grand hotel, were built on the southeastern end of the island and could be accessed by ferry. Around this time wealthy northerners began vacationing on the island.
Twentieth Century
The
St. Simons Island Pier and Village
opening in 1924 of the Brunswick–St. Simons Highway, today known as the Torras Causeway, was a milestone in the development of resorts in the area. St. Simons's beaches were now easily accessible to locals and tourists alike. More than 5,000 automobiles took the short drive from Brunswick to St. Simons via the causeway on its opening day, paving the way for convenient residential and resort development.
In 1926 automotive pioneer Howard Coffin of Detroit, Michigan, bought large tracts of land on St. Simons, including the former Retreat Plantation, and constructed a golf course, yacht club, paved roads, and a residential subdivision. Although the causeway had brought large numbers of summer people to the island, St. Simons remained a small community with only a few hundred permanent residents until the 1940s.
The
St. Simons Island
outbreak of World War II (1941-45) brought more visitors and residents to St. Simons. Troops stationed at Jacksonville, Florida; Savannah; and nearby Camp Stewart took weekend vacations on the island, and a new naval air base and radar school became home to even more officers and soldiers. The increased wartime population brought the island its first public school. With a major shipyard for the production of Liberty ships in nearby Brunswick, the waters of St. Simons became active with German U-boats. In April 1942, just off the coast, the Texas Company oil tanker S. S. Oklahoma and the S. S. Esso Baton Rouge were torpedoed by the Germans, bringing the war very close to home for island residents.
Due in large part to the military's improvement of the island's infrastructure during the war, development on the island boomed in the 1950s and 1960s. More permanent homes and subdivisions were built, and the island was no longer just a summer resort but also a thriving community. In 1950 the Methodist conference and retreat center Epworth by the Sea opened on Gascoigne Bluff. In 1961 novelist Eugenia Price visited St. Simons and began work on her first works of fiction, known as the St. Simons Trilogy. Inspired by real events on the island, Price's trilogy renewed interest in the history of Georgia's coast, and the novelist herself relocated to the island in 1965 and lived there for thirty-one years. St. Simons is also home to contemporary Georgia writer Tina McElroy Ansa.
Since
Epworth by the Sea
1980 St. Simons's population has doubled. The island's continued status as a vacation destination and its ongoing development boom have put historic landmarks and natural areas at risk. While such landmarks as the Fort Frederica ruins and the Battle of Bloody Marsh site are preserved and maintained by the National Park Service, and while the historic lighthouse is maintained by the Coastal Georgia Historical Society, historic Ebos Landing has been taken over by a sewage treatment plant.
Several coastal organizations have formed in recent years to save natural areas on the island. The St. Simons Land Trust, for example, has received donations of large tracts of land and plans to protect property in the island's three traditional African American neighborhoods. Despite its rapid growth and development, St. Simons remains one of the most beautiful and important islands on the Georgia coast.

This log outdoor structure, a grand backyard pavilion features an outdoor kitchen, bar and bathrooms for changing. Produced By: PrecisionCraft Log & Timber Homes Photo Credit: Mountain Photographics, Inc.

Two levels of South-facing (and lake-facing) outdoor spaces wrap the home and provide ample excuses to spend leisure time outside. Acting as an added room to the home, this area connects the interior to the gorgeous neighboring countryside, even featuring an outdoor grill and barbecue area. A massive two-story rock-faced wood burning fireplace with subtle copper accents define both the interior and exterior living spaces. Providing warmth, comfort, and a stunning focal point, this fireplace serves as a central gathering place in any season. A chef’s kitchen is equipped with a 48” professional range which allows for gourmet cooking with a phenomenal view. With an expansive bunk room for guests, the home has been designed with a grand master suite that exudes luxury and takes in views from the North, West, and South sides of the panoramic beauty.

Getting your homeowner's association board to approve your new custom garage doors can seem daunting. Dynamic Garage Door as a custom design and manufacturing firm has come across this situation quite frequently with a phenomenal success approval rate!
In order to get approval for your custom garage door approval there are a few basic points you must understand. First off, your HOA is committed to preserving the neighborhood's curb appeal integrity by focusing on the impact your new custom garage doors might have on your house and the houses of your neighbors. It is important to understand that your curb appeal decisions will impact your home and neighborhood alike. Too many companies offer semi-custom wood doors without the true understanding of the client's need and the essence of their home's architectural style. The garage door design you choose needs to comply with neighborhood regulations while complement your home's architecture. At Dynamic Garage Door, our designers are well-rounded in the garage door industry and so we can suggest or develop designs that will reinforce the natural appearance of your home's style. If you can prove to your HOA that you've done your homework and that the garage door design you chose will complement not only your home but the neighborhood you'll be surprised when your proposal is marked with the approval stamp!
This garage door is actually a single double-car door not two as it appears. The reason is that this garage used to have two separate doors with a post in the middle. The post in the middle made it difficult to use the garage on a daily basis so the post was removed to facilitate the use of the garage. The HOA wasn't too happy about the removal of the post as it was an essential part of the arches located right above the garage doors. You can clearly see how that would have been disruptive if the homeowner went with a regular wood door and not one custom designed and manufactured by Dynamic Garage Door.
This garage door was specifically designed to address the HOA's concern about the center post removal and the effect it would have on the curb appeal of the home with the incomplete double arch look. So we addressed this by crafting the door with a false center post in the middle that was textured and painted the same color of the house to give off that illusion that the post is still there. Overall, it gives the home a complete finished appearance with two independent-looking doors and original post. The homeowner got the entire width of the opening to use at the push of a button so having a larger car won't be a problem anymore. The neighbors are all happy and no one seems to notice the center post is actually fake!
Got an interesting garage door project you want our designers to review and price out for you? Give us a call at (855) 343-DOOR

Screened in outdoor porch and living space with grill and entertaining area. Shiplap walls, metal ceiling, steel doors and concrete floors. Construction by CAM Construction.

This expansive traditional kitchen by senior designer, Randy O'Kane and Architect, Clark Neuringer, features Bilotta Collection cabinet in a custom color. Randy says, the best part about working with this client was that she loves design – and not just interior but she also loves holiday decorating and she has a beautiful sense of aesthetic (and does everything to the nines). For her kitchen she wanted a barn-like feel and it absolutely had to be functional because she both bakes and cooks for her family and neighbors every day. And as the mother of four teenage girls she has a lot of people coming in and out of her home all the time. She wanted her kitchen to be comfortable – not untouchable and not too “done”. When she first met with Bilotta senior designer Randy O’Kane, her #1 comment was: “I’m experiencing white kitchen fatigue”. So right from the start finding the perfect color was the prime focus. The challenge was infusing a center hall colonial with a sense of warmth, comfort and that barn aesthetic without being too rustic which is why they went with a straight greenish grey paint vs. something distressed. The flooring, by Artisan Wood floors, looks reclaimed with its wider long planks and fumed finish. The barn door separating the laundry room and the kitchen was made from hand selected barn wood, made custom according to the client’s detailed specifications, and hung with sliding hardware. The kitchen hardware was really a window sash pull from Rocky Mountain that was repurposed as handles in a living bronze finish mounted horizontally. Glazed brick tile, by Ann Sacks, really helped to embrace the overall concept. Since a lot of parties are hosted out of that space, the kitchen, and butler’s pantry off to the side, needed a good flow as well as areas to bake and stage the creations. Double ovens were a must as well as a 48” Wolf Range and a Rangecraft hood – four ovens are going all the time. Beverage drawers were added to allow others to flow through the kitchen without disturbing the cook. Lots of storage was added for a well-stocked kitchen. A unique detail is double door wall cabinets, some with wire mesh to allow to see their dishes for easy access. In the butler’s pantry, instead of mesh they opted for antique mirror glass fronts. Countertops are a natural quartzite for care free use and a solid wood table, by Brooks Custom, extends of the island, removable for flexibility, making the kitchen and dining area very functional. One of the client’s antique pieces (a hutch) was incorporated into the kitchen to give it a more authentic look as well as another surface to decorate and provide storage. The lighting over the island and breakfast table has exposed Edison bulbs which hearkens to that “barn” lighting. For the sinks, they used a fireclay Herbeau farmhouse on the perimeter and an undermount Rohl sink on the island. Faucets are by Waterworks. Standing back and taking it all in it’s a wonderful collaboration of carefully designed working space and a warm gathering space for family and guests. Bilotta Designer: Randy O’Kane, Architect: Clark Neuringer Architects, posthumously. Photo Credit: Peter Krupenye

A covered porch so functional you’ll actually use it! Starting with skylights allowing daylight to pour in, we added heaters for those long winter months, a powerful fireplace and a fan to circulate air. Accent lighting and built in Sonos speakers for entertaining and a swing bed the size of a twin mattress. What's not to love?

Photo: Carolyn Reyes © 2015 Houzz
Example of an urban concrete floor living room design in Los Angeles with white walls
Example of an urban concrete floor living room design in Los Angeles with white walls

Landscape Design by Lisa Gimmy, www.lglalandscape.com
Bedroom - mid-sized mediterranean guest dark wood floor and brown floor bedroom idea in Los Angeles with white walls
Bedroom - mid-sized mediterranean guest dark wood floor and brown floor bedroom idea in Los Angeles with white walls

Living room - contemporary open concept medium tone wood floor living room idea in Denver with beige walls, no fireplace and no tv

photographer Nick Smith
www.nsphotography.co.uk
designer : Fatima Fernandez
Example of a trendy study room design in London with white walls
Example of a trendy study room design in London with white walls

Example of a trendy backyard stone patio design in Miami with a roof extension and a fireplace

Randy Angell, Designer GOLD International Award of Excellence winner - The transitional modern home was designed with large amounts of glass opening into the courtyard, creating an indoor-outdoor feel, and a visual connection among the spaces that could not be ignored. The neighboring wall, however, was not only rather imposing, but also of a style completely disconnected from our clients home. Our goal was to create a layering effect, with features of varying heights, both to add depth and dimension to the space, and to take the focus of the viewer off of the neighbor's wall.

“This design originated with the client’s desire to duplicate the warmth of Tuscan Architecture,” says Stolz. “The vision that South Coast Architects set forth was to create the feel of an old Tuscan Village as a private residence at their golf community, ‘The Hideaway’ in La Quinta, California. However, we had to keep in mind that we were still designing for a desert lifestyle, which meant an emphasis on indoor/outdoor living and capturing the spectacular views of the golf course and neighboring mountains,” Stolz adds.
“The owners had spent a lot of time in Europe and knew exactly what they wanted when it came to the overall look of the home, especially the stone,” says Muth. “The mason ended up creating a dozen mock-ups of various stone profiles and blends to help the family decide what really worked for them. Ultimately, they selected Eldorado Stone’s Orchard Cypress Ridge profile that offers a beautiful blend of stone sizes and colors.”
“The generous use of Eldorado Stone with brick detailing over the majority of the exterior of the home added the authenticity and timelessness that we were striving for in the design,” says Stolz.
“Our clients want the very best, but if we can duplicate something and save money, what client would say no? That’s why we use Eldorado Stone whenever we can. It gives us the opportunity to save money and gives clients exactly the look they desire so we can use more of their budget in other areas.”
Stolz explained that Eldorado Stone was also brought into the interior to continue that feel of authenticity and historical accuracy. Stone is used floor to ceiling in the kitchen for a pizza oven, as well as on the fireplace in the Great Room and on an entire wall in the master bedroom. “Using a material like Eldorado Stone allows for the seamless continuation of space” says Stolz.
“Stone is what made the house so authentic-looking” says Muth. “It’s such an integral part of the house that it either was going to be a make or break scenario if we made the wrong choice. Luckily, Eldorado Stone really made it!”
Eldorado Stone Profile Featured: Orchard Cypress Ridge with a khaki grout color (overgrout technique)
Eldorado Brick Profile Featured: Cassis ModenaBrick with a khaki grout color (overgrout technique)
Architect: South Coast Architects
Website: www.southcoastarchitects.com
Builder: Andrew Pierce Corporation, Palm Desert, CA
Website: www. andrewpiercecorp.com
Mason: RAS Masonry, Inc. Bob Serna, Corona, CA
Phone: 760-774-0090
Photography: Eric Figge Photography, Inc.
99



